Overture Films | Release Date: February 26, 2010
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 163 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
49
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
BenMMar 1, 2010
Incredibly average. The same, "you stay here by yourself while I go explore the dark part of the building by myself," conventions. Little gore and a waste of an always reliable Timothy Olyphant. A good rental.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
The movie is good in places but so predictable and so cliche. The acting was mildly believeable which was a bonus. I loved the concept but the way it was directed led to a festival of stereotypical horror. This is definetley one for theThe movie is good in places but so predictable and so cliche. The acting was mildly believeable which was a bonus. I loved the concept but the way it was directed led to a festival of stereotypical horror. This is definetley one for the popular horror market rather than the hardcore followers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
PYRiAHDec 13, 2010
"The Crazies" was crazy! (That wasn't cliché was it?) This 2010 movie is a remake of George Romero's 1973 film also called "The Crazies". Director Breck Eisner completely modernizes the original story, turning "The Crazies into"The Crazies" was crazy! (That wasn't cliché was it?) This 2010 movie is a remake of George Romero's 1973 film also called "The Crazies". Director Breck Eisner completely modernizes the original story, turning "The Crazies into more than just your average zombie film where everyone just runs around biting people. Also any movie that starts off playing John Cash has to be half way decent, right?

Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Entertainment with style! For those who think zombie movies are just for fun, here is an example of the genre also includes aesthetic sophistication and can get rid of superficiality. I expected much less, I was pleasantly surprised by theEntertainment with style! For those who think zombie movies are just for fun, here is an example of the genre also includes aesthetic sophistication and can get rid of superficiality. I expected much less, I was pleasantly surprised by the embellishments added to the tension, horror, grief and a great script. Some parts are a bit predictable but it's still a really movie breathtaking. Recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
snowheaven98Jul 31, 2011
this movie was like one of those okay movies, but i do have to that jim carry was very good in this movie especially when he got licked by a dinosaur and puked out his large intestine out, and like said nothing great about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
DonV.Mar 1, 2010
Cliche ridden and over stylised. Seen and now dismissed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyencokeMar 2, 2010
This was without question the absolute most predictable movie I have ever seen. And to top if off, the most cliched. Acting was pretty good. The overall concept of the story was superb, but poorly portrayed. Would I suggest seeing it? Yeah, This was without question the absolute most predictable movie I have ever seen. And to top if off, the most cliched. Acting was pretty good. The overall concept of the story was superb, but poorly portrayed. Would I suggest seeing it? Yeah, maybe. Since there is just absolute garbage that is being released every week now. This may be one of your better choices. Would not buy it, only worth a single watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PeteO.Feb 26, 2010
A brilliant horror film until the last 5 minutes where any plausibility goes out the window. But at leas the ride is worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KundKAug 27, 2010
You will have seen this movie many times before and there was no real reason for a remake (since they didn't bother with updating the subtext much), but if the dawn of the zombie apocalypse holds strange fascination for you, you will not mindYou will have seen this movie many times before and there was no real reason for a remake (since they didn't bother with updating the subtext much), but if the dawn of the zombie apocalypse holds strange fascination for you, you will not mind seeing ih again Midwestern-style. Far from great, this was still more fun than the latest two Romero offerings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dijavantewowOct 17, 2010
An actual good zombie(ish) movie. This one is a little different then the rest, because the people maintain some personality, they simply wish to kill more. Kind of weird and creepy near the end, but overall pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
eTurkeyJun 16, 2012
For what It's worth, it must be hard to make a zombie-esque film as they've been done like dinner. Overcooked and all! Did 'The Crazies' feature characteristic, horror film cliches? Why yes, it did. Truthfully it would be hard not too givenFor what It's worth, it must be hard to make a zombie-esque film as they've been done like dinner. Overcooked and all! Did 'The Crazies' feature characteristic, horror film cliches? Why yes, it did. Truthfully it would be hard not too given the genre is overstuffed with these type of movies. However the finished product (in truth) turned out to be a lot more fresh and original than most living dead features these days. Not too shabby for a remake. As long as you're not expecting to bare witness to a Academy award-winning screenplay you'll be fine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
It is scary and smart until the crappy and disappointing ending it has. It also features lackluster performances and predictable plot elements that have a major role in the film. I give this movie 55%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Surprising solid. Definitely a few too many "convenient" moments, but that's common for horror films. Overall, I really liked this one. I definitely recommend it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
The Crazies was actually not that bad of a film i didnt really care to see this when it first came out as most remakes tend to end up being crap and seeing thats its a remake of a George A. Romero cult classic i really had no intentions ofThe Crazies was actually not that bad of a film i didnt really care to see this when it first came out as most remakes tend to end up being crap and seeing thats its a remake of a George A. Romero cult classic i really had no intentions of seeing it. Now i had heard that the film wasnt that bad but i just never got around to watching it. Well seeing that i had bought it on dvd at one point im not sure when because sometimes ill just buy like 50 movies at a time when they are on sale. Anyways for a remake stand point its one of the better ones that either stands with its original or passes it depending on the viewer.

In the quiet small town of Ogden Marsh Iowa strange things are starting to happen to its residents making them extremely violent killing people. David (Timothy Olyphant) the towns sheriff investigates a body floating in the towns swamp found by some hunters. David and Russell (Joe Anderson) his deputy discover a military plane under the water in which David quickly figures out that the plane has contaminated the water that supplies the town. From here he follow David as him and a few others kill to survive and escape the town that by this time has already gone to ****

Overall i give it a 6.5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews