Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: A comedy adventure that takes us back to the beginning - to a previously undiscovered era known as the Croodacious - a time when Mother Nature was still experimenting and the flora and fauna we know today hasn't evolved yet.
  • Director: Chris Sanders and Kirk De Micco
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 98 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Mar 20, 2013
    78
    A spirited and eye-popping stealth charmer.
  2. Reviewed by: Nell Minow
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    Familiar family dynamics are amusingly exaggerated in the Paleolithic setting, where the most basic necessities require everyone's full-time attention.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean Daly
    Mar 27, 2013
    67
    Although The Croods has lazy patches throughout, the conclusion is exciting and, lo and behold, surprising.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 21, 2013
    60
    The movie is at its most interesting and amusing when riffing on how cavemen might have reacted to new experiences and ideas, like fire and shoes. Whether the kiddies will appreciate that is unclear, but they’ll certainly like the voice work done by Emma Stone as Eep.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Mar 20, 2013
    58
    A handful of adrenalizing sequences of animated anarchy can't save this story from feeling overly primitive.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Good stuff comes when bad stuff happens; that's when some of the movie animation prowess kicks into high gear. But too many of the "solutions" the guys concoct are so impossibly complex or just downright ridiculous — puppetry comes to mind — that like the continents, it's a little too easy to drift away.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 21, 2013
    25
    I’d like to take back all those times I said Nicolas Cage was one of the most annoying actors on film. It turns out he’s equally terrible when he’s only on the soundtrack. And yet Cage is the least of the problems with The Croods.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 67
  2. Negative: 2 out of 67
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This may be not first or the second best animation i have ever seen. but the movie is very good, it maskes us laugh and happy
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    I love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teachesI love this movie! The story line and the animation ticked my senses and captivated my mind. What a great movie! I like how it teaches children that no matter how much your parents don't say that they love you, they are always thinking it, no matter how much a brat they can be. I love unique movies and this one is simply that. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    If you're looking for anachronisms in this movie you'll find plenty. If you're looking for sweet moments, funny moments, clever storytelling,If you're looking for anachronisms in this movie you'll find plenty. If you're looking for sweet moments, funny moments, clever storytelling, and universal age appeal, you'll also find plenty. Flat out, this is a great movie to share with your young children. There is no villain, no actual heartbreak although there are some extremely touching father/daughter exchanges just adventure and stunning animation. While Monsters University will provide laughs and gags, this movie provides simple heart... along the lines of How to Train Your Dragon. Don't look for complexity, don't look for twists or the unpredictable, just sit back and enjoy the ride... your kids will. Expand
  4. May 5, 2013
    8
    Lot of 3-D films don't technically work but The Croods proved my theory wrong. It used 3-D very good (But still not enough). To say the leastLot of 3-D films don't technically work but The Croods proved my theory wrong. It used 3-D very good (But still not enough). To say the least this movie is similar to Madagascar but still not enough to complete that franchise. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    7
    Took my 2.5 yr old to see this, her first ever cinema experience so will always be special for her a cross between Flintstones, Ice Age &Took my 2.5 yr old to see this, her first ever cinema experience so will always be special for her a cross between Flintstones, Ice Age & Lion King, a little too many scenes featuring characters falling down but some highly original scenes and a lot of fun. The Metascore is off in this case. Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    One of the cleanest family movies in a long time, "The Croods" is a fun and brilliantly animated adventure that is high on laughs and yet, lowOne of the cleanest family movies in a long time, "The Croods" is a fun and brilliantly animated adventure that is high on laughs and yet, low on plot. The voice actors do a solid job, and solid messages on family and the importance of parenthood are present. The animation is both amazing and 3D-worthy.

    The film is near-perfectly clean, with the only possible (slight) objections being some silly slapsticky violence and Eep's outfit maybe qualifying to be too short. However, "The Croods" screenplay is thin in places, it has some tonal inconsistency, and the relatively rough-housing main characters aren't as memorable as the mild-mannered "Flintstones". Its' still something to take the whole family to, but those looking for an original, groundbreaking film may be a bit disappointed here.

    For a more detailed review, visit www.moviestakenseriously.blogspot.com.
    Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    3
    The plot was incredibly predictable, the comedy was bad and the pacing was way too fast during the first three quarters. The film was notThe plot was incredibly predictable, the comedy was bad and the pacing was way too fast during the first three quarters. The film was not creative, the extent of the creativity being animal other animal/plant. The characters to me were annoying and the majority were completely static, with the exception of Grugg and Eep. After the Tar pit scene, the plot becomes a lot less predictable, and the pacing is better, but I still couldn't care about them. The conflicts were born out of pure stupidity, and there were plenty of plotholes to go around. (Where are the trees? You can't simply survive on eggs you have to risk death to get. At least kill the bloody things.) Collapse

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers