Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: A comedy adventure that takes us back to the beginning - to a previously undiscovered era known as the Croodacious - a time when Mother Nature was still experimenting and the flora and fauna we know today hasn't evolved yet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Mar 20, 2013
    78
    A spirited and eye-popping stealth charmer.
  2. Reviewed by: Nell Minow
    Mar 20, 2013
    75
    Familiar family dynamics are amusingly exaggerated in the Paleolithic setting, where the most basic necessities require everyone's full-time attention.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean Daly
    Mar 27, 2013
    67
    Although The Croods has lazy patches throughout, the conclusion is exciting and, lo and behold, surprising.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 21, 2013
    60
    The movie is at its most interesting and amusing when riffing on how cavemen might have reacted to new experiences and ideas, like fire and shoes. Whether the kiddies will appreciate that is unclear, but they’ll certainly like the voice work done by Emma Stone as Eep.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Mar 20, 2013
    58
    A handful of adrenalizing sequences of animated anarchy can't save this story from feeling overly primitive.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Mar 21, 2013
    50
    Good stuff comes when bad stuff happens; that's when some of the movie animation prowess kicks into high gear. But too many of the "solutions" the guys concoct are so impossibly complex or just downright ridiculous — puppetry comes to mind — that like the continents, it's a little too easy to drift away.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 21, 2013
    25
    I’d like to take back all those times I said Nicolas Cage was one of the most annoying actors on film. It turns out he’s equally terrible when he’s only on the soundtrack. And yet Cage is the least of the problems with The Croods.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This may be not first or the second best animation i have ever seen. but the movie is very good, it maskes us laugh and happy
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    This film is amazing the more you watch it the better it gets. My kids are addicted to it and i have to watch it every day (or part of) don't just watch it once watch it a few times. as good as toy story 3. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    Again movie critica show us that their jobs are meaningless, especially high end pompeous ones who cant seem to generate an objective review if their lives depended on it. They could at least rephrase "review" to "my opinion". This movie is heartwarming and fits its TARGET AUDIENCE well. Also pretty funny! Expand
  4. May 6, 2013
    8
    This is a great family movie. I went with my little kid on her birthday and she loved it. On the way back she kept saying the lines over and over again. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a family comedy without any drawbacks.

    I even hope they make croods 2 lol
    Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    A lot funnier than i expected, guess it kinda took my by surprise. Not much to say of it. I had fun, that's that. It ain't gonna win any awards or nothing but hey, over all a great kids movie that i enjoyed more than i thought i would. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Croods, in a nutshell, is a pretty decent film; it offers exhilarating fast paced and comedic action scenes and slow, story based scenes (also comedic). Although the dialogue isn't particularly clever, it'll do for a simple Dreamworks feature film; it's more visual than vocal for the laughs. The film uses a simple but charming plot causing a simple family of cavemen to go on a long, crazy journey to "Tomorrow" by following the incredibly close sun. It's packed with mildly funny, action-packed, and emotional sequences. The film doesn't really end, as such. It kind of ends with them "going on" towards "Tomorrow". So I give this film a... 72/100! Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    3
    The plot was incredibly predictable, the comedy was bad and the pacing was way too fast during the first three quarters. The film was not creative, the extent of the creativity being animal other animal/plant. The characters to me were annoying and the majority were completely static, with the exception of Grugg and Eep. After the Tar pit scene, the plot becomes a lot less predictable, and the pacing is better, but I still couldn't care about them. The conflicts were born out of pure stupidity, and there were plenty of plotholes to go around. (Where are the trees? You can't simply survive on eggs you have to risk death to get. At least kill the bloody things.) Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers