User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 504 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 504
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "His body's failing him before his life's begun." As the title implies, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a curious one indeed. Yet the plot was predictable and not curious in the slightest, save the fact that Benjamin ages backwards. It almost reminded me of a twist on Tuck Everlasting. Horribly star-crossed lovers that can never truly be together.

    I always knew there was some significance in the fact that Daisy's daughter, Caroline, was reading the story to her dying mother. It's her life as well, and as her mother lies on her death bed, she sees her mother's world, one that had never previously existed.

    Benjamin's life is probably the highlight of the movie. It's interesting to see how the disconnect between his age and his body relate to the outside world. Yet the movie itself is long and drawn out – at points even painful to watch. Perhaps like Benjamin's life, painful to watch those he loves age as he just becomes younger and younger. Daisy and Benjamin may not have been able to grow old together, but they died together. The movie is tied together with stringent relations like the lightning strikes, the final glances of love, and the mutterings of "If I didn't know better I'd think this man was old/young."

    This movie is no slouch, but it's not going to be anything to write home about. A mediocre (and almost disturbing?) life and lessons that could have been figured on your own, the Buttons aren't as spectacular as I had hoped.
    Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2015
    9
    One of David Fincher's best masterpieces. Though the movie maybe pretty long and some what boring, it still had some action and comedy, interesting characters, an interesting story and concept, and heart wrenching moments that will make you cry, truly they will. The acting is fantastic. This is truly a masterpiece of the 2000s.
  3. Jun 6, 2015
    10
    There is nothing I can say about what's wrong with this movie, because there is nothing wrong with this movie. If you have a problem with it, the problem is you!
  4. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    The premise underlying The Curious Case of Benjamin Button might sound more appropriate for a science fiction tale than a meditative drama. Indeed, the concept of a man aging backward has formed the basis for more than one sci-fi tinged story - from novels to an animated Star Trek episode - but the source material for this film is a 1922 short written by acclaimed novelist F. ScottThe premise underlying The Curious Case of Benjamin Button might sound more appropriate for a science fiction tale than a meditative drama. Indeed, the concept of a man aging backward has formed the basis for more than one sci-fi tinged story - from novels to an animated Star Trek episode - but the source material for this film is a 1922 short written by acclaimed novelist F. Scott Fitzgerald. The original "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" functions as little more than an inspiration for this movie, which takes the idea and the name and follows a divergent path from the one mapped out by Fitzgerald. David Fincher's film is its own entity and, despite some minor flaws, it is undeniably engrossing and one of the more intriguing and emotionally resonant features of the 2008 holiday season.

    Chaos theory - the idea that small perturbations in the natural order in one place can cause ripple effects to be felt far and wide - lies at the heart and soul of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. The only constant in life is change and it happens whether driven by fate (or kismet) or chance. One delicious vignette provides an explicit example as a car accident results from a series of small, seemingly unrelated interim incidents. Remove any one and that accident would not have happened. And, take away the accident and the rest of the movie would have moved on a different path toward a alternate ending. Life is like that. We never know whether any given action will vanish like a stone tossed into a pond or whether the ripples of that toss will build into a tsunami.

    If there's a Forrest Gump quality to the movie, that's unsurprising, considering that the screenwriter, Eric Roth, was responsible for both scripts. Like Forrest, Benjamin is an outcast of society, and history marches by him in a series of vignettes. But director David Fincher's darker side is in evidence. Benjamin does not share Forrest's charmed existence. For him, life is not a box of chocolates, and Jenny does not lie at the end of the rainbow. The ending of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button may feel a little rushed, but it is also elegiac. Many may see this as a more grown-up version of Forrest Gump, but it feels to me like something from the pen of Charlie Kaufman, who enjoys playing with time and conventions in much the way Fincher and Roth do here.

    The film is structured to comprise three major segments. The first represents Benjamin's childhood, when his seemingly failing physical appearance is belied by his increasing mental agility. For someone with his disability, he is surprisingly well adjusted, but some of that comes from having a loving mother. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button's second act occurs just before, during, and after World War II. That's when the main character enters into an affair with a middle-aged British woman (Tilda Swinton) in Russia, serves aboard a tugboat during the conflict, and returns home looking more hale and healthy than when he left. Finally, the third piece of the puzzle follows Benjamin from middle age into his golden years, when he learns a few things about sacrifice and redefining life and happiness.

    For the most part, the acting is of the highest quality, with supporting performers like Tilda Swinton, Jared Harris (as the captain of the tugboat aboard which Benjamin finds service), and Julia Ormond making the most of limited screen time. Cate Blanchett brings vibrancy and spirit to Daisy. Brad Pitt, however, is marginally less successful. His portrayal is solid but lacks the extra element necessary to catapult it into greatness. When Benjamin looks old, Pitt plays him as old, not as a young man trapped in a much older body. And when Benjamin looks young, Pitt plays him with the verve of a young man, not as an "old soul." The subtleties are missing and this may be the single element that could make it difficult for some to accept the premise.

    Although the movie is presented as a series of vignettes, its full impact is not felt until the whole is absorbed. Even the 2005 scenes with Caroline by her mother's bedside feed into what Fincher and Roth are saying about chaos theory, fate, and the sometimes unforgiving jolts imparted by change. In the end, Benjamin's reverse-aging is just a filter that allows us to gain a slightly skewed perception about the process of living and, perhaps by looking through that glass darkly, a better understanding of human nature. Is that too much for a mainstream movie to achieve? Perhaps, and I'm not sure The Curious Case of Benjamin Button takes us as far down that path as it might hope to. But there's no denying the film's power of compulsion and the sense that, when it's all over, it means something. Most viewers will be entertained and moved, and some will find their intellect aroused. The source material may be F. Scott Fitzgerald, but The Curious Case of Benjamin Button has come a long way from where it started 86 years ago.
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    فیلم سعی داره که تاثیر زمان رو بر زندگی با معکوس نشون دادنش بهتر نشون بده که با کارگردانی و بازی خوب موفق هم شده. ولی نقطه ضعف فیلم زمان زیاد فیلمه که ممکنه تماشاگر رو خسته کنه.
  6. Mar 12, 2015
    8
    The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a weird little - it’s a 2 hours and half - film. The subject is intriguing enough to get you to watch it but you stay because it’s simply captivating. I was so invested in the story that I cried several times while watching it. The film is touching and heartwarming, and also subtle. It seamlessly breezes through times and really brings to life whatThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a weird little - it’s a 2 hours and half - film. The subject is intriguing enough to get you to watch it but you stay because it’s simply captivating. I was so invested in the story that I cried several times while watching it. The film is touching and heartwarming, and also subtle. It seamlessly breezes through times and really brings to life what the tagline is about “Life isn’t measured in minutes but in moments.”

    The film does go through Benjamin Button’s life and really shows every step, moments, that defined who he is. The movie is very much grounded in reality which makes the fantasy elements of the story real. You quickly believe that a boy born old but with the mind of baby is possible. So the magic is there, grounded in the reality of Benjamin’s life. I don’t know who to accredit this to but it’s very clear, palpable, that when Benjamin is growing up, looking like a man in his nineties his youthful energy shines through.

    Brad Pitt, being the title character is just stunning in this film. He helps make the weird aspects of the film OK. The same goes for Taraji P. Henson, she makes the old wrinkled baby the most normal thing, she brought the dramatic gut wrenching emotions of a mother’s love in all her scenes. They all have their moments Julia Ormond, Tilda Swinton and Cate Blanchett all bring another layer, another moment in Benjamin’s life. Blanchett evokes the undeniable question of love, and a lasting one as that. Benjamin’s condition raises a valid question about age and love, which is interestingly dealt with in the film.

    More than a riveting story with great acting, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a technical prowess. The make up, the cinematography, and the special effects are mind-blowing Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett look older and then younger and it’s done beautifully. The darkness and lighting in David Fincher’s style of film making really compliments the story but more so the technicality of the film. He was the perfect director for and did an amazing job throughout.

    The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a wonderful film about time, life, and love. It’s another David Fincher masterpiece that is timeless.

    @wornoutspines
    Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2015
    3
    Benjamin Button is well directed, well lit and filled with some beautiful imagery. Almost everything else is a problem. There are several dramatic moments in the film, enough to fool an audience into thinking that something profound is happening. But when you start asking the "why's?" the entire premise breaks down and the film has no answers. The events that unfold have no purpose, otherBenjamin Button is well directed, well lit and filled with some beautiful imagery. Almost everything else is a problem. There are several dramatic moments in the film, enough to fool an audience into thinking that something profound is happening. But when you start asking the "why's?" the entire premise breaks down and the film has no answers. The events that unfold have no purpose, other than to create an "earnest" atmosphere. The characters are portrayed in a monotonous and self-obsessed manner and Cate Blanchett, despite here far-fetched talent, turns out to be the most annoying character on screen. The aspect of Button that separates it from most nonsensical melodramas of its sort is that, at its centre it's about a man living life backwards. The most disappointing part of it is that, after watching the movie, I learnt almost nothing about it, certainly not anything I couldn't have predicted myself. Button is no more than a sappy and pretentious remake of Forrest Gump, the only difference is that it has been done backwards this time. Expand
  8. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    Probably one of the more unique films I have ever seen, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a moving film about life and truly wraps you up into its world and never lets you go, ultimately leaving you deeply affected and moved by the film. The direction by David Fincher is fantastic as usual. The cinematography is also gorgeous and perfect for a film of this type. The costume andProbably one of the more unique films I have ever seen, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a moving film about life and truly wraps you up into its world and never lets you go, ultimately leaving you deeply affected and moved by the film. The direction by David Fincher is fantastic as usual. The cinematography is also gorgeous and perfect for a film of this type. The costume and production design are also pitch perfect, as is the stunning makeup. The makeup is some of the best I have ever seen in a film, honestly. The acting from Brad Pitt, Cate Blanchett, and Taraji P. Henson, is also very powerful and very good. The unique story of a man born old and who gets younger as time goes on, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is a touching, brilliantly made film that is a tad long, but never feels as long as it is, especially since you wish there was more to see once the credits start rolling. While the romance elements have been done before, the unique twist thrown in here adds a certain freshness to it that elevates it above your usual romantic film. This is a film you need to see. Expand
  9. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    In ways, Benjamin Button is a new age Forrest Gump. At the same time, they are nothing alike. What they do share is an unique adventure through their troublesome yet exciting lives. Brad Pitt gives a first-rate performance along with Cate Blanchett and Taraji P. Henson.
  10. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    As an elderly woman lies on her deathbed she recounts the peculiar story of Benjamin Button, a man whose life is inexplicably tied to a mysterious backwards-running clock. After Benjamin’s mother dies in childbirth, the father abandons baby Benjamin because of his stark physical defects. Luckily Queenie, a black woman who manages a senior’s care home, finds newborn Benjamin and raises himAs an elderly woman lies on her deathbed she recounts the peculiar story of Benjamin Button, a man whose life is inexplicably tied to a mysterious backwards-running clock. After Benjamin’s mother dies in childbirth, the father abandons baby Benjamin because of his stark physical defects. Luckily Queenie, a black woman who manages a senior’s care home, finds newborn Benjamin and raises him herself. For the rest of his life Benjamin calls Queenie mother.

    When Benjamin is born, he emerges prematurely aged. Medical tests show that he has the physical characteristics of a person in his eighties. Originally penned by F. Scott Fitzgerald, makes Benjamin Button tells a peculiar life story that forays in the world of the fantastic: the crux of the story is that, just as the clock ticks backwards, Benjamin too ages in reverse. He gets younger and younger over time.

    The task of dealing with this massive disconnect between his physically aged exterior, and his inner infantile self, forces Benjamin to attempt to act like an adult (to match his aged exterior), but no matter how hard he tries his true inner child shines through, especially whenever it comes to booze and women, areas where he has zero experience. Benjamin wins the adoration of most every character he meets, and along the way he breaks through the prejudicial barriers that age and race typically erect.

    This film is a diversion for Fincher. Many of the defining qualities of David Fincher’s films are not so very present in Benjamin Button. This charmed, almost magical tale shares none of the characteristic of other Fincher scripts. It is not filtered through the darkened lens of hyper awareness; there is none of the desolation and bleak deconstruction of modern culture that fills Zodiac, the most recently released Fincher film before this one.

    Benjamin Button seems to be the only film in Fincher's body of work that is not a dark, psychological thriller. Here, Fincher proves that he can work in drama just as well as he can work in action and suspense, however he does have expert help.

    The director of photography Claudio Miranda, who had worked on a number of Fincher’s earlier pictures, sets the tones and temperature of the images so they project like a thriller, dark with shadows, slight, almost sepia toned. A highly refined picture quality.

    Once again, this film features Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter, the brilliant editing team that would go on to win multiple Oscars for best editing in The Social Network and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. They brilliantly let visuals alone tell as much of the story as possible. As with Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Benjamin Button has tons of shots and locations. The exact opposite of Panic Room.

    Eric Roth & David Fincher

    The technique of recounting the story through recollection as a series of flashbacks, as well as Benjamin’s unexpected success despite his handicap, make Benjamin Button bear an off-putting resemblance to the structure of Forest Gump (1994). This is no coincidence.

    The same writer who won an Oscar for his Forest Gump screenplay, Eric Roth, is also the writer of Benjamin Button.

    As characters both Forest and Benjamin worked on boats, both took part in World Wars, and both perpetually pursue women from their childhood. What is great thought is that Fincher is able to divert this potential redundancy. While Forest bumbles along, simply falling into phenomenal situations, Benjamin paves his own way. It’s existential drive versus dumb luck.
    Expand
  11. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    The scene in Grand Central Terminal with the clock that showcased the WWI battle and the fathers only wish to rewind time so that he may see his son again left an impression with me for life. Let it be known that War, for better or worse, will scar the immediate families of the fallen for eternity in ways which those that have not sacrificed will never know. If I was the authority, I wouldThe scene in Grand Central Terminal with the clock that showcased the WWI battle and the fathers only wish to rewind time so that he may see his son again left an impression with me for life. Let it be known that War, for better or worse, will scar the immediate families of the fallen for eternity in ways which those that have not sacrificed will never know. If I was the authority, I would have made sure that the clock would have stayed in place forever. Expand
  12. Oct 25, 2013
    6
    Benjamin Button told an unbelievable story with acting that was superb but what was lacking was something to be felt after its over two and half hour length. The movie passed all measures with story, acting, score and scenery but never pushed the limits to make it excellent.
  13. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    what a magical pile of before even watching this movie I correctly guessed that Blanchett and Pitt would meet halfway through his "lifecycle". This is not a movie for me I guess. This is for suckers who are into feel good movies like Forrest Gump.
  14. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    First of all, I don't think the realist elements have done good to this movie. I mean, if the protagonist is meant to be fantastic why is it necessary for us to know when he was born, where is he going, what (real) wars he fought? Superman is like this movie's protagonist, he defies natural laws, like gravity for example. Benjamin Button is doing the same thing with biological laws when heFirst of all, I don't think the realist elements have done good to this movie. I mean, if the protagonist is meant to be fantastic why is it necessary for us to know when he was born, where is he going, what (real) wars he fought? Superman is like this movie's protagonist, he defies natural laws, like gravity for example. Benjamin Button is doing the same thing with biological laws when he rejuvenates, but despite the realistic context where he is placed, no-one seems to be so affected by his unusual nature (and that makes realistic characters behave artificially). Just pay some attention to the title: The curious case..., why case? "Cases" exist only in reality. If the movie would have dwelled in the fantastic, fictional, or whatever you call it domain of the narrative it certainly had been better.

    Secondly, and more important, my opinion is that this movie doesn't eventually say much. During the almost three hours length I questioned myself about Benjamin's nature and what philosophical facts should it reveal. But as I tried and tried to build-up my logic I couldn't reach any destination. In fact, Benjamin looked like a simple, ordinary men that lives his life from start to end. He's different from us only because his appearance evolves from old men to infant child. But he is born a child and mentally he's just like us (as he admits).

    All my respect to everyone in the production crew because they made a very well-done job, from special effects to acting performances. The story is the major problem here.
    Expand
  15. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    Spectacular story about the journey of a life. To see this movie go though all the different decades was incredible. An emotional movie that has something valuable to share. Just splendid. Also, wonderful directing and art direction.
  16. May 27, 2013
    10
    Probably Mick LaSalle, from San Francisco Chronicle, wouldn't recognize drama even if it danced in front of him without pants. This is the most dramatic and touching movie ever, full of surprises of a whole life story, with all the emotional events that could and couldn't happen.
  17. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    Very good movie. Cry, your heart will suffer, but not leave wing time to enjoy.
  18. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    This movie is LONGGG. Very long. So it pays to be into a deep psychological mood or even pondering the meaning of life. Brad Pitt stars as Ben Button. This film, while some complain it is too long, too boring,etc., it is very REWARDING in the end. Sure, complain that it doesn't have a story. It is not one of those light-hearted movies, it is not a comedy; but a genius film that depictsThis movie is LONGGG. Very long. So it pays to be into a deep psychological mood or even pondering the meaning of life. Brad Pitt stars as Ben Button. This film, while some complain it is too long, too boring,etc., it is very REWARDING in the end. Sure, complain that it doesn't have a story. It is not one of those light-hearted movies, it is not a comedy; but a genius film that depicts life in a different way. I thought it was a magical movie, and offered the very best. The camera tells the story, and as a result, I did actually cry at the end. Decide for yourself if you really like it, but I know I did. B+ Expand
  19. Nov 8, 2012
    7
    The Curious case of Benjamine button is verryyyyyyy longgggggg. Brad Pitt does a great job and i like the narration. It was suprisingly sadder then i expected, but still felt longer then it should.
  20. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest movies in existence. It's two hours and forty-six minutes of an eerily creative movie that makes you view life differently after it's finished. You won't feel the same after the screen goes black. A pure masterpiece.
  21. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Beautiful movie, you kinda tear up at the end inside. It makes you soft. Very soft. Watch this with your family or gf, but not your bros. Unless you want to feel a homo moment with your bros.
  22. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    Absolutely beautiful! Long but I didn't feel it because I was caught by the story. Scott Fitzgerald was indeed a great author, and I loved the fact that they were able to portray his work in this wonderful movie. Just because a movie is not 'realistic' and is based in fantasy doesn't mean that there are not important issues to be explored. This movie is about inner strength about havingAbsolutely beautiful! Long but I didn't feel it because I was caught by the story. Scott Fitzgerald was indeed a great author, and I loved the fact that they were able to portray his work in this wonderful movie. Just because a movie is not 'realistic' and is based in fantasy doesn't mean that there are not important issues to be explored. This movie is about inner strength about having the ability to get through life with faith, acknowledging one's limitations yet, fighting to acomplish our goals. It is also about loyalty and courage... and about frustration too, because not everything can be changed since there are things that escape to our hands. It may be over emotional and overly 'optimistic', but it does not diminish its value. It is not a drama, it is not a thriller, it is not a comedy.I wouldn't put it in a specific category...this just IS a wonderful story, written by a great novelist...and brought to be enjoyed in a total different way...the big screen! Expand
  23. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    First off, It's a wonderful film. But the great films seem to make you think. You could take the film and state that it was rather "hallmark-ish", but you could also look at the brilliance in it. One of the most down to earth films in recent years, Brad Pitt shines along with the film's stunning cinematography. The only thing weak here is Fincher's decision to direct a film that totals toFirst off, It's a wonderful film. But the great films seem to make you think. You could take the film and state that it was rather "hallmark-ish", but you could also look at the brilliance in it. One of the most down to earth films in recent years, Brad Pitt shines along with the film's stunning cinematography. The only thing weak here is Fincher's decision to direct a film that totals to just way too long, and way too sulky. Though performance weight out substance here. Expand
  24. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    First of all, they actually make Cate Blanchett look kinda hot in this movie with the heavy use of CGI, and I do not find Cate Blanchett hot. That is impressive.

    Ok, this is basically Forrest Gump but gloomier, less colorful, and more boring. The main character here is not retarded, but merely aging backwards. Instead of a bird's feather, there's a hummingbird. Instead of a girl named
    First of all, they actually make Cate Blanchett look kinda hot in this movie with the heavy use of CGI, and I do not find Cate Blanchett hot. That is impressive.

    Ok, this is basically Forrest Gump but gloomier, less colorful, and more boring. The main character here is not retarded, but merely aging backwards. Instead of a bird's feather, there's a hummingbird. Instead of a girl named Jenny, it's a girl named Daisy. Instead of a son played by Haley Joel Osmont, it's a daughter played by Julia Ormond. And instead of Vietnam, it's World War II. I repeat, this is a more boring Forrest Gump.

    Now with that said, I still recommend this, because Forrest Gump was a hell of a picture. That movie made me cry quite a bit, this movie merely made my eyes tear up. It's incredibly shot, and of course the special effects are amazing. Brad Pitt looks like a freak for the first half, and Cate Blanchett gets turned into an 20 year old. It's long at 2 hours and 47 minutes, so be prepared for that.

    Oh yea... while it was enjoyable, this movie does not deserve to be nominated for Best Picture. It's completely crafted to be Oscar bait, but is nowhere near as good as something like The Dark Knight.
    Expand
  25. Aug 28, 2011
    5
    Benjamin Button is a great mixed bag of a film. Despite it's many problems (length, similarity to Forrest Gump), however, aren't its undoing. The undoing comes in the form of a distinct clash of ideas, inappropriately trying to mesh screenwriter Eric Roth's sentimental and wonderful view of the world with director David Fincher's cold nihilism and rewarding distance from connection. It isBenjamin Button is a great mixed bag of a film. Despite it's many problems (length, similarity to Forrest Gump), however, aren't its undoing. The undoing comes in the form of a distinct clash of ideas, inappropriately trying to mesh screenwriter Eric Roth's sentimental and wonderful view of the world with director David Fincher's cold nihilism and rewarding distance from connection. It is these two moods that tear apart Benjamin Button. Expand
  26. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON didn't take so long to watch, I would give it either a 9 or a 10. That's how good it really is. It asks (and, in a "curious" way, answers) some of life's biggest and most complex questions. This is Brad Pitt at his absolute best, and even though he's given credit for the role of Benjamin Button, he's only one of seven actors, and we see him as the titular character for about twenty minutes. Expand
  27. May 21, 2011
    10
    This movie. I don't know where to begin. Its not just Forrest Gump without the personality. It may be impersonal but thats in part because of the extreme technical quality. I hated this movie the first time I saw it because I missed something and only saw how long it was and how it dragged in many places. Upon second look, I fell in love with it. It has so much charm and magic. Pitt actedThis movie. I don't know where to begin. Its not just Forrest Gump without the personality. It may be impersonal but thats in part because of the extreme technical quality. I hated this movie the first time I saw it because I missed something and only saw how long it was and how it dragged in many places. Upon second look, I fell in love with it. It has so much charm and magic. Pitt acted his role with the perfect amount of humility to make him the character he needed to be. I suggest anybody who hated it the first time take a second look. Expand
  28. May 16, 2011
    10
    the best film of 2008 hands down. brilliantly directed by david fincher, flawlessly acted especially by its lead actors - brad and cate, from its musical score to cinematography, production design, make up, and its incredibly outstanding visual effects what more could anyone ask for but to witness and enjoy this masterful film.
  29. May 11, 2011
    3
    Dissappointing. This is one of those movies that pretends to be deep but just isnt. The whole plot just seems to be constructed for Brad Pitt to get younger and better looking as the movie progresses. However there is no reason for this other than to increase box office sales. Forest Gump did not need an unoffcial follow up.
  30. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perfect in all ways. Never has a film made me so emotionally attached to the characters. This film is very much deserving of every little award it receives, and also the ones it didn't. The simplicity of a love stoy told in such perfection is outstanding. The directing, cinematography, acting, and every part else should have been nominated for anThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perfect in all ways. Never has a film made me so emotionally attached to the characters. This film is very much deserving of every little award it receives, and also the ones it didn't. The simplicity of a love stoy told in such perfection is outstanding. The directing, cinematography, acting, and every part else should have been nominated for an acedmy award. The story follows a person who was abandoned by his family, left to be cared by a nursing home. He was born, and he started to age- but backwards. A women named Queenie (Taraji P. Henson) takes him up and names him Benjamin. Once a little older, he meets a young girl named Daisy (Cate Blanchett). He falls in in love with her at first sight. Ands the life of Benjamin Button begins. The avast ray of characters through out the whole film impresses me a lot. I enjoyed meeting the new characters and how they affected Benjamin's life. They always brought warmth and happiness to the audience, telling them that someone is always there for you. The film begins and ends fantastically. It's like no other story ever told. Next, I move on to the acting. This is Brad Pitts best acting ever. Never has he known the character so well and portrayed him with so much emotion. He knows what he's doing as an actor now, and if he keeps this up, he's going to start rolling the Oscar gold in pretty soon. Cate Blanchett was well acted, although we didn't get as much screen time of herself than I would've liked. But that's because the story revolved around Benjamin, not Daisy. So I'm glad we did bet more Pitt than Blanchett. Next, I move on to the visual effects and make up. Basically I'm mentioning them because they played such a big role in this film. The makeup used to make Brad Pitt look older were spectacular. Especially when they used a smaller actor for the body and stuck Brad Pitt's head on top. Amazing. David Fincher's job as a director was spectacular, as well. Every scene he made, he took and changed it into a masterpiece. Never have I seen a movie this well directed. In the end, the message sent in the film, as it is quoted from the film, "We are meant to lose the people we love. How else would we know how important they are?"
    10/10
    Expand
  31. Dec 25, 2010
    7
    The movie's long but they got numerous good scenes that they offer. The story of Benjamin Button getting younger in age is still like ageing to other people. I don't know if that's the point of the story though. I do know Benjamin getting younger adds conflict to the romance between him and his lover but that's about it. I'm still loving the love story of the main characters, although veryThe movie's long but they got numerous good scenes that they offer. The story of Benjamin Button getting younger in age is still like ageing to other people. I don't know if that's the point of the story though. I do know Benjamin getting younger adds conflict to the romance between him and his lover but that's about it. I'm still loving the love story of the main characters, although very depressing. Expand
  32. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    Despite the fact that Brade Pit can't act, once more he gives a feeble attempt at an accent that is terrible. BUT, they keep him quiet most of the time and the movie works well. I loved this flick, really good in spite of Brad's inability to act. Kate is awesome as always and delivers a wonderful performance.. Well worth seeing.
  33. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Crafting a story like this is a feat that is rarely seen in cinema. There is a real chemistry between Pitt and Blanchett and this is coupled by a storyline which gripped me as soon as I had seen the trailer. The story never gets old, much the same as its protagonist.
  34. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    David Fincher has transformed a strange plotline of a man who ages backwards into an epic love story, and it is the most touching and beautiful film I've ever seen. You forget the fictional storyline because the direction and storytelling is so flawless. It is a very different look on life, as they say in the film, "Sometimes to understand life you have to look at it backwards". The actingDavid Fincher has transformed a strange plotline of a man who ages backwards into an epic love story, and it is the most touching and beautiful film I've ever seen. You forget the fictional storyline because the direction and storytelling is so flawless. It is a very different look on life, as they say in the film, "Sometimes to understand life you have to look at it backwards". The acting is superb, the make-up and effects flawless and the length of the film goes unnoticed until you look at your watch when the film is over. An absolute masterpiece, and the best film of 2008. Expand
  35. Oct 1, 2010
    4
    Despite the fact that this movie was trumpeted upon it's release (two years already?) it's hard to ignore that Button hasn't got much to it. It was quite the opposite to what I thought it would be and it was a very slow and far too long for it's own good. More than anything else though, the movie did nothing but bore once you got past the basic premise, which is admittedly interesting.
  36. Sep 19, 2010
    2
    Before I launch into the many negative things I have to write about this movie, I'm going to start with the positive elements of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

    First, it was cinematically stunning. Visually, it was breathtaking. The money spent on this movie was worth it...to the eyes. Second...well, there isn't a second positive thing I can point out. That's right. I am so
    Before I launch into the many negative things I have to write about this movie, I'm going to start with the positive elements of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

    First, it was cinematically stunning. Visually, it was breathtaking. The money spent on this movie was worth it...to the eyes.

    Second...well, there isn't a second positive thing I can point out.

    That's right. I am so disappointed in this film that I am literally typing this minutes after leaving the theater.

    Where to begin...

    There are numerous small things that bothered me about the movie, but didn't necessarily HURT the film. It was entirely too long. And for the length, there was never enough to make me care about the characters. However, the main small component that bothered me is Brad Pitt's complete inability to act. Not that the script called for him to do much, other than look beautiful when he reached the right age, and he did that wonderfully. However, he had very little script with which recite, so when he did, it was mostly in soft-spoken mumbles. And he pulled it off just fine. However, if he gets nominated for an Oscar, I will officially boycott it. There is NOTHING Brad Pitt did in this movie for which he should be nominated. It's pathetic enough that he got a Golden Globe nomination. He did a fine job, but I can name double-digit numbers of performances that deserve recognition over this one.

    Those small things didn't destroy the film for me though.

    No, what I absolutely hated about this movie was...the script.

    The screenplay, based on a short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald, which I have not read but I hear is SO different than this movie that it was hard to even compare the two. The screenplay was written by Forrest Gump penner, Eric Roth. And how he got away with submitting this script proves that all Hollywood is interested in doing is rehashing popular movies or concepts from the past. And, like lambs to the slaughter, viewers are being sucked in.

    So let's compare the job Eric Roth did in Forrest Gump and the work he did with The Curious Case of Benjamin Button...


    Forrest Gump centers around the life story of a very a unique male character, complete with all the lessons learned therein. So does Benjamin Button. In both, that central male character narrates his own story.

    Forrest Gump has a very strong motherly character that has a very strong influence on the type of person he becomes. So does Benjamin Button. In fact, they both even have a mother-coined catch phrase repeated throughout the movie. In Forrest, "Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're going to get." In Button, momma always said, "You never know what's coming for you."

    Forrest Gump had "Lieutenant Dan" on the SS Jenny. Benjamin had "Captain Mike" on the SS Chelsea.

    Forrest is in love with Jenny who enters, exits and re-enters his life on a regular basis. Benjamin is in love with Daisy who enters, exits and re-enters his life on a regular basis.

    Forrest becomes insecure and scared when he realizes he's about to be a father with Jenny. Benjamin becomes insecue and scared when he realizes he's about to be a father with Daisy.

    Forrest interacts with historical figures throughout his story and finds himself in wartime situations. Benjamin finds himself in wartime situations and crossing paths with seemingly historical figures, like the first woman to swim the English Channel and Daisy herself being the first American to be invited to dance with the Bolshoi.

    Lieutenant Dan talks about trying out his "sea legs" when Forrest asks him why he's on the boat. When Benjamin wants to join Captain Mike's boating crew, Captain Mike asks him if he has his sea legs.

    This one may sound like a stretch, but how often does a script call for a character to announce so blatantly that they need to go pee. Well, Forrest did unexpectedly while in a conversation with John F Kennedy, while Daisy unexpectedly announces to Benjamin in the middle of a conversation that SHE needs to go pee.

    A couple of times in Forrest Gump, a floating feather takes center-screen symbolically representing how we float through life and how things happen because they are meant to happen. A couple of times in Benjamin Button, a hummingbird unexpectedly takes center-screen to symbolically represent...well, you get the picture.

    I could go on, but I'm too disgusted to.

    It's plagiarism...or is it just Mad Libs with all the main subjects and names replaced with new ones?

    I'm sorry...a good movie starts with a good script. And if the SAME screenwriter writes essentially the SAME script from a previously popular movie, feeds it to me and thinks I'm simple enough to swallow it, I'm going to notice it. And it will remove any ability for me enjoy the film. No matter how many intentional heart-tugging moments this film tries toshove down our throats, I wasn't able to be affected by any emotion in the movie or connect with any of the characters.
    Expand
  37. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    The movie has its little pleasures (such as the man getting struck by lightning and the tugboat captain), but it feels like the "aging-backwards" basis is no more than a playful trick to tell an otherwise normal and uninteresting (and loooonng) story.
  38. SebastianS
    Aug 24, 2009
    2
    Just boring. Exactly like forrest gump, except his travels weren't interesting.
  39. AndrewG.
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Such a Magical movie, with a great cast, and an inspiring and emotional concept. Beautifully crafted, it deserved best picture.
  40. BobbyB.
    Jul 26, 2009
    5
    Benjamin Button went from being elderly to middle-aged in just four years, in this film's hurry to give us a handsome, salable Brad Pitt. That's not the only thing that bothered me about "The Curious Case...". Elderly whites did not shake hands with blacks in the 1920s South. Men did not wear shoulder-length hair in the 1930s. Unless he was very psychic, Benjamin could not have Benjamin Button went from being elderly to middle-aged in just four years, in this film's hurry to give us a handsome, salable Brad Pitt. That's not the only thing that bothered me about "The Curious Case...". Elderly whites did not shake hands with blacks in the 1920s South. Men did not wear shoulder-length hair in the 1930s. Unless he was very psychic, Benjamin could not have known the long list of factors that led up to the Cate Blanchet character being hit by a cab. If the premise is Benjamin aging in reverse and growing mentally sharper each year, why does the film depart from that theme and have Benjamin getting Alzheimer's as a child? When an entire movie is built around a gimmick, I think the gimmick should be given more care than this one was. Some good performances and excellent technology, but unfortunately the movie doesn't live up to the interesting concept. Expand
  41. BrunoF.
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    An interesting concept, but a loooong boring movie.
  42. JamesC
    Jun 29, 2009
    5
    All I could think of during this whole movie was "Life is like a bowl of chocolates, mmm hhmmmm" because it really brought to mind Gump, another insultingly self-important movie that got heaps o' recognition and that time has proven to be a dog. Like Ol' Gumparoo, Benjie's Buttons wants to be a "classic" really, really bad--so bad, it forgets that it has to actually have a All I could think of during this whole movie was "Life is like a bowl of chocolates, mmm hhmmmm" because it really brought to mind Gump, another insultingly self-important movie that got heaps o' recognition and that time has proven to be a dog. Like Ol' Gumparoo, Benjie's Buttons wants to be a "classic" really, really bad--so bad, it forgets that it has to actually have a story you care about. It's everything you've read, a minor film pretending to be a major film--gorgeous, well-acted, and yet curiously empty. Everything about the production screams "quality," and it is difficult to say where the blame lies--is it the direction? the script? Brad Pitt's odd but proven inability to lead a film? I regret to say the film is also a waste of your time--a regret only because it is at least an unjustifiable half hour too long. Were it not, it would certainly be worth a rental. If you still think Gump was a great movie, you'll like this one. Expand
  43. JasonR
    Jun 20, 2009
    1
    I really didn't like it, reminded me alot of the notebook (which I hated) and a wannabe Forest Gump. Personally I think the movie had some weak morals, not to get all preachy. I couldn't wait for it to end, because of my girlfriend. It's only enduring quality was wondering what would happen to Mr. Button, although I really didn't care. Pure Cheese.
  44. EliasC
    Jun 11, 2009
    5
    Despite the seamless CGI work, this film is seriously flawed and bears little resemblance to the F. Scott short story of the same name. Very good acting does not save this overlong film. 'The film version of the 'Time Traveler's Wife', with a similar theme, promises to be better.
  45. MiKE
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    The movie had its moments. but overall it felt silly with a serious story. The special effects were excellent! And Brad Pitt is a good actor. He was very enjoyable in this movie.
  46. FilipeM
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Excellent/Superb/Fantastic film, takes you places.
  47. RyanF
    Jun 8, 2009
    9
    This movie was very well made. A lot of my friends agree that it was extremely boring, but that's just because they lack poetic patience and creativity. If you like a good love story and you think the Notebook is slightly generic and un-original you'll like this film. It is very unique but still is very emotional. It seems dumb that he is old to begin and gets younger as the This movie was very well made. A lot of my friends agree that it was extremely boring, but that's just because they lack poetic patience and creativity. If you like a good love story and you think the Notebook is slightly generic and un-original you'll like this film. It is very unique but still is very emotional. It seems dumb that he is old to begin and gets younger as the movies progresses but it is by no means a pointless film. I highly recommend it and I don't normally like Brad Pitt. Expand
  48. RyanK
    Jun 5, 2009
    0
    I was no longer curious after this movie wasted 2 hours of my life. One of the worst movies I have ever seen.
  49. James
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    Wonderful movie because it is not a ordinary story. Acting was great,movie sets terrific Comparable to Forrest Gump..
  50. ThomasH
    Jun 3, 2009
    8
    Scenery, cinematography are great in this film. The concept of having your my character age backwards was fascinating, and the makeup team should be congratulated for a superb effort.
  51. JeffF
    Jun 1, 2009
    0
    Excruciating. Long. Like Forrest Gump without the humor or wit.
  52. elp
    May 31, 2009
    5
    Can't fault the art direction, cinematography, or the acting, but it's three hours of one depressing scenario after another. if there's anything to take away from it it's that everything is pointless and doomed to misery, not exactly a feel-good movie.
  53. TerribleMovie
    May 31, 2009
    0
    This movie was terrible. We ended up leaving half way through, as one was asleep, and the rest of us where about to as well. This movie had a terrible plot, was really creepy and just not very interesting to watch.
  54. Hollyc
    May 30, 2009
    5
    Held my attention the first third, then began to fall into tepid interest. I could tell it wanted me to care about these great moments, but I just didn't. Also came the epiphany of seeing this before, when it was called "Forrest Gump" --- This really affected the rest of the movie for me as I was constantly comparing everything that was happening in Button to Gump (Roth is shameless, Held my attention the first third, then began to fall into tepid interest. I could tell it wanted me to care about these great moments, but I just didn't. Also came the epiphany of seeing this before, when it was called "Forrest Gump" --- This really affected the rest of the movie for me as I was constantly comparing everything that was happening in Button to Gump (Roth is shameless, for sure). However, the direction, cinematography, VFX and Tilda Swinton were all terrific. Expand
  55. halb
    May 23, 2009
    8
    Definitely a brilliantly made film, but one that is -- as other reviewers have noted -- difficult to love. I agree with David Ansen (Newsweek), who wrote: "anyone who has contemplated his own mortality will find it hard not to be moved by Fincher's evocation of the fickleness of fate". A somber tale that stretches out for 3 hours, but that held my interest throughout. Pitt is Definitely a brilliantly made film, but one that is -- as other reviewers have noted -- difficult to love. I agree with David Ansen (Newsweek), who wrote: "anyone who has contemplated his own mortality will find it hard not to be moved by Fincher's evocation of the fickleness of fate". A somber tale that stretches out for 3 hours, but that held my interest throughout. Pitt is fantastic here, as is the supporting cast. Definitely worth renting. Expand
  56. ArielleF.
    May 22, 2009
    7
    "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" started out with a good plot and high expectations for me. But it ended in such a cliche way I almost forgot how good the beginning of the movie was. And am I the only one that felt deja vu? With another movie...let's say...."Forrest Gump" perhaps?
  57. DW
    May 17, 2009
    3
    3 for the tech. The plot, dialog, and acting deserve almost a zero. An interminable length for one Hallmark moment after another, punctuated by annoying voiceover and a pointless wraparound story that dragged hurricane Katrina into it. And just awful attempts at "folksy" southern accents. Ick.
  58. bradb
    May 15, 2009
    9
    I think this film is easier to appreciate when you have experienced many years of life. I'm 50, and felt very comfortable with where the film was going and what it was trying to say - I absolutely loved it, and I don't say that very often about a movie, and I see lot's of em. Alexandre Desplat's score was amazing! If you are under 35, there is less chance of an I think this film is easier to appreciate when you have experienced many years of life. I'm 50, and felt very comfortable with where the film was going and what it was trying to say - I absolutely loved it, and I don't say that very often about a movie, and I see lot's of em. Alexandre Desplat's score was amazing! If you are under 35, there is less chance of an appreciation. Top 5 on my list of films for 2008! Expand
  59. BojanaM
    May 15, 2009
    8
    I liked it in very weird way. I could say that the story is refreshing but yet very unusual. if the time could just go backwards nothing would really change. Anyway, it´s a good movie.
  60. GeorgeM
    May 12, 2009
    8
    The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perhaps one of the more unique films I've seen in some time...its not necessarily a "great" movie as it stands on its own as something different. Benjamin Button is born unwanted, as he is an infant with the physical appearance of an 80 year old man...and as he grows up he gets younger, and throughout his life (despite his reverse aging) he The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is perhaps one of the more unique films I've seen in some time...its not necessarily a "great" movie as it stands on its own as something different. Benjamin Button is born unwanted, as he is an infant with the physical appearance of an 80 year old man...and as he grows up he gets younger, and throughout his life (despite his reverse aging) he meets people of all walks of life, learns about life and death living in a retirement home, and yearns to find some place in this world given his circumstances. He approaches life with a sense of "awe" in everywhere he goes and everyone he meets. He seems like a genuine person that truly absorbs the world around him and he is calmly fascinated by the world around him...that things are much bigger and its good to feel small sometimes, yet he seems to carry around this gloomy outlook...no doubt brought on by his growing up around those old folks that are on the virge of passing away...in essence, life is short no matter which way youre aging. Brad Pitt does a great job of portraying the rather innocent, shy, but ever desperate for love Benjamin Button...he seems to really grow with the character and Cate Blanchett does an adequate job of portraying the "love interest" with a certain fascination, reservation, but ever apparent love for Benjamin. Overall its a very interesting film...one that should not be overlooked, it IS a bit long and at times it seems to drag but its just a fascinating watch. The FX are amazing...the design is exquisite, and the direction is solid (even if some of the exchanged dialogue seems..."cut off" and forced). The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is NOT what I consider a great film...a very competant one but its not something I will watch time and time again but something to pull out every once and a while...it dosen't have that "classic" film status but its not to be missed. RECOMMENDED. Expand
  61. jethroa
    May 7, 2009
    5
    Another hollywood trying to be deep and profound and moving movie that just doesn't cut it. Pretty tepid, but mildly interesting.
  62. JayJay
    May 4, 2009
    3
    Tries to be interesting, but only succeeds on being slow and boring.
  63. PeterG
    May 4, 2009
    8
    One of the best movies I've seen in last years. It's worth of success. By me personally it's better than Titanic.
  64. JayH
    May 2, 2009
    8
    Impressive production - the art direction, make-up, and cinematography are magnificent. Brad Pitt is amazing. The story is fascinating. It did seem it's 2 1/2 hour length, a little cutting would have helped, but overall a top notch film that is outstanding.
  65. TomM.
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    Brilliant and classy movie. ignore the 0 votes cast by ignorant people who would rather be saturated with violence or 'transformers' or whatnot. how bout this, you people go back to watching street fighter the legend of chun li and stop knocking this brilliantly made film.
  66. JohnS
    Apr 18, 2009
    2
    As others have said. It deserves at least 2 for the make up and effects. But that is it. What a bore. The guy knows he is going to age in reverse but does nothing with his life. He was a loser. Aside from ading in reverse, he was not the kind of person that you make a movie about. He was dull, got his money from inheritance. Did nothing to improve society. And was not even intriguing in As others have said. It deserves at least 2 for the make up and effects. But that is it. What a bore. The guy knows he is going to age in reverse but does nothing with his life. He was a loser. Aside from ading in reverse, he was not the kind of person that you make a movie about. He was dull, got his money from inheritance. Did nothing to improve society. And was not even intriguing in some quirky way. Go watch Adventureland! Expand
  67. BrianS.
    Apr 8, 2009
    6
    I find it intensely irritating (and telling) that the general opinion of people who saw and loved this movie was because it was not an action movie/focused on people/was completely "unique". These are the people who really don't spend time watching dramas in the first place, more or less independent or relationship dramas, or never saw movies as anything but passing entertainment I find it intensely irritating (and telling) that the general opinion of people who saw and loved this movie was because it was not an action movie/focused on people/was completely "unique". These are the people who really don't spend time watching dramas in the first place, more or less independent or relationship dramas, or never saw movies as anything but passing entertainment with friends to begin with (if you're just discovering the power of films, I really have no words to say to you). So from that alone, I can tell you that if you don't know what American Beauty or Reprise (Little Children, Six Feet Under, etc) are, you'll probably think this movie is astounding, perfect, brilliant, emotional, all of the above--who knows. To anyone else, not so much. Truly, the reason people keep saying this is because it's true: Forrest Gump 2. Both FG and BB are written by Eric Roth, and both have almost entirely parallel storylines--even characters and personalities. From a technical aspect and for the last parts, this film works itself up to a 6. I never said this was a bad film--it's just nothing special outside of the aging effects. Expand
  68. PauloA.
    Apr 3, 2009
    0
    I was first afraid to watch this (child) but i turned from afraid to ashamed.i mean its like watching a cocoon turn into a butterfly. the promotion of it is getting younger with age, but i just DO NOT FEEL THAT.(SPOILERS) I MEAN SAILING?(SPOILERS END), come on man,everyone of my family members who went with me agreed that it was too long.my dad even said you could use a DVD of it as a I was first afraid to watch this (child) but i turned from afraid to ashamed.i mean its like watching a cocoon turn into a butterfly. the promotion of it is getting younger with age, but i just DO NOT FEEL THAT.(SPOILERS) I MEAN SAILING?(SPOILERS END), come on man,everyone of my family members who went with me agreed that it was too long.my dad even said you could use a DVD of it as a torturing device.if you ask me,i think the director foucused more on the sexual scenes than anything else. i mean come on.but then again,its all me, im sorry if i said somethings that you liked about the movie(not sarcasam).but really, its just too long and meaningless for its own good. Expand
  69. EugeneS
    Mar 26, 2009
    1
    This movie is appalling, 2 hours and 45 minutes of pure monotony. Nothing particularly riveting happens. The plot rolls on at a snails pace with absolutely pointless asides. It's trying very hard to be a mix between Forest Gump and perhaps Titanic without any of the good things those movies had. Best avoided.
  70. SamS.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Get ready to cry. This movie deserves more than a 70, proving that the "critics" are not always correct.
  71. LynneK.
    Feb 24, 2009
    3
    i give this movie a 3 on 10, and its only because of the great make-up they made on pitt's face. i thought brad pitt's acting was horrible, as it always is, and the story wasnt intriguing at all. i wasnt captured by the story, because it was like a series of events happening in benjamin's life and him getting younger and younger, nothing more. The movie is only made to make i give this movie a 3 on 10, and its only because of the great make-up they made on pitt's face. i thought brad pitt's acting was horrible, as it always is, and the story wasnt intriguing at all. i wasnt captured by the story, because it was like a series of events happening in benjamin's life and him getting younger and younger, nothing more. The movie is only made to make viewers imagine how life would be if the clock was turning the other way, but theres no story behind the idea. Kate blanchett is a great actress, but i didnt think she had much to do with what they gave her. Expand
  72. TomS.
    Feb 23, 2009
    8
    Good Movie.Lots going on, hard to keep up with. However, if you are able to keep up with the changing of Pitt, then the movie is great to watch.
  73. GailW.
    Feb 21, 2009
    4
    This move was poorly edited, too long, and boring. There was no chemistry between Bard Pitt and Cate Blanchette. A real disappointment - typical Hollywood schlock.
  74. AllyS
    Feb 20, 2009
    8
    Great Movie. An old fashioned story but brilliantly told with great performances and stunning special effects. Perhaps the perfect date movie, my girlfriend loved it and so did I and that never happens!
  75. LuisG
    Feb 18, 2009
    5
    heres a film that has all the potential of being a grand masterpiece but falls flat on its ego... fincher has a tendency to being a perfectionist ... button.. is long, tedious and lost in its attempt to being more than forrest gump with pitt in the lead .... ZODIAC last year offered what fincher is known for a shame that the academy ignored it...
  76. AdrianV
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    Thank god, great story, nicely told ,and great acting ...as close as u can get to perfection. I am sick of that overwhelming action just for the sake of it, they did great to keep their feet on the ground as they did.
  77. BecquerM
    Feb 15, 2009
    2
    Only for its visual achievement does it deserve any regard, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is Oscar-winning-cinema at its most cliche (it could, possibly, rival the likes of Titanic); it is a drawn-out story that reveals little about the human condition, the nature of relationships - and, by extension, love -, or what life would be like aging backwards, thereby crushing F. Scott Only for its visual achievement does it deserve any regard, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is Oscar-winning-cinema at its most cliche (it could, possibly, rival the likes of Titanic); it is a drawn-out story that reveals little about the human condition, the nature of relationships - and, by extension, love -, or what life would be like aging backwards, thereby crushing F. Scott Fitzgerald's quaint story that is packed with so much meaning. Expand
  78. NerijusD.
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    Really overrated film. A simple fable with rather average shaping and kinda boring experiences. Only special effects could be considered Oscar-worthy.
  79. EmilyK
    Feb 11, 2009
    3
    This movie was unnecessarily long; it was well over 2 hours. This movie is extremely slow. The worst part of the movie was Cate Blanchett's narration as an old woman. Her accent was annoying and her words were barely decipherable. This movie tries to be more meaningful than it actually is.
  80. aideenM
    Feb 10, 2009
    2
    Boring, trite--with absolutely no character development or insight. Nearly 3 hours of tedium with excellent special effects. But who goes to the movies for merely special effects?
  81. KatieS
    Feb 7, 2009
    3
    Ponderous, boring. BB's reverse aging actually contributes little to the plot, since he has the mind of a young person in the beginning, and of an old person at the end, so what you're left with is just a conventional life story that has no real individuating elements, just a bunch of nearly randomly assembled elements pulled out of the grabbag of movie cliches: overwrought Ponderous, boring. BB's reverse aging actually contributes little to the plot, since he has the mind of a young person in the beginning, and of an old person at the end, so what you're left with is just a conventional life story that has no real individuating elements, just a bunch of nearly randomly assembled elements pulled out of the grabbag of movie cliches: overwrought military death scenes already a subject for parody in Tropic Thunder. The everything could have been different montage before the tragic accident. Etc. The only real unique interest in the reverse physical aging plot could have come in the last 20 years of Button's life, and there was a potentially good short movie inside this unfortunately long one. It would have involved B having a continuous relationship with his family. An interesting and courageous movie could have shown him as an experienced man in a child's body, treated like a child in society, eventually not allowed to make his own decisions, interacting with his child in the body of a child, having sex with his aging wife as a teenager until they have to stop--the conflict between desire, repulsion, and social restraint there *could* have been an amazing story. But it wasn't to be. And further it was poorly cast; Pitt and Blanchett have no chemistry and aren't plausible as a couple, and Pitt seems a little too dumb in his affect to play "simple" without becoming totally insipid and boring. I didn't like much Forrest Gump much, and in fact thought it's entire value system (Forest's disengagement is purity/Jenny's engagement is corruption) was messed up, but at least in its messed up value system it was an interesting social text. This was just maudlin kitsch. Expand
  82. maxj
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    An amazing, magical, sad, heartwarming and a classic piece of theater. the best movie i've ever seen in my entire life. every bit is pure freshness and absaloutley perfect in every way.
  83. JamesH.
    Feb 6, 2009
    1
    The film seemed to have no point other than to show authentic costumes and sets from its various time periods. I felt no connection to the characters during the almost 3 hour running time. Did the story have a point?
  84. ChipL
    Feb 4, 2009
    4
    A poor man's Forrest Gump. Every scene tries to be heartwarming, meaningful, important, prophetic....But it comes out cold and creepy without a likable or realistic character. Brad PItt is especially unmoving and even the always capable Cate Blanchett comes across as shrill and false. The worst of the "prestige" movie is all here.
  85. BettyL
    Feb 3, 2009
    3
    If you want to know what it would be like if a man was born old and then grew younger, watch this. However it is a long tedious movie experience with little redeeming qualities, great visually, but the plot lacks certain elements for a good story, such as, characters that make you feel for them.
  86. RobertA.
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    It was very uplifting and had a moral to the story, which is unusual nowadays.
  87. JohnH.
    Jan 29, 2009
    8
    This well-done movie makes one think about life through the story and acting -- A very credible, well told story that keeps one engaged throughout. How one could rate this movie a "0" or even a "1" or "2" - is unclear. What the movie lacked in whirlwind 'blow em up and shoot em dead' movies with an excess of obscenity, gratuitous sex and gore --- it more than made up for in an This well-done movie makes one think about life through the story and acting -- A very credible, well told story that keeps one engaged throughout. How one could rate this movie a "0" or even a "1" or "2" - is unclear. What the movie lacked in whirlwind 'blow em up and shoot em dead' movies with an excess of obscenity, gratuitous sex and gore --- it more than made up for in an insiteful, absorbing story. Who among us has not said, "boy, if I only knew then, what I know now" Or contemplated the cycle of life from a relatively helpless baby --- back to a relatively helpless elderly person? It's difficult to find movies that develop character and a storyline (versus special effects and noise) -- This one is a 'thumbs-up' for good adult entertainment. Expand
  88. AlanD.
    Jan 29, 2009
    3
    Everybody keeps talking about how this ripped off Forest Gump, which is true, but nobody talks about how it also stole a lot from the notebook (which i didn't really like in the first place) It had good special effects but like an hour of the movie wasn't needed it was way too melodramatic and it was too unoriginal. so many better movies from last year. It will probably win best Everybody keeps talking about how this ripped off Forest Gump, which is true, but nobody talks about how it also stole a lot from the notebook (which i didn't really like in the first place) It had good special effects but like an hour of the movie wasn't needed it was way too melodramatic and it was too unoriginal. so many better movies from last year. It will probably win best picture though the academy is due to make a bad pick they've been on a good streak. Expand
  89. JasonC
    Jan 27, 2009
    4
    Most overrated movie of 2008. Extremely tedious and self-indulgent. I was looking for some type of underlying point to this whole story and couldn't find one. I have never walked out on a movie but I almost walked out on this one with an hour left to go.
  90. AntfromUk
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen. I've read some of the comments below and wonder if they saw the same movie as me (Helena O....pass the bong on, you're not supposed to keep it!). Its an absolute masterpiece, a triumph of movie making, and a worthy winner of Best Picture if ever there was one. All thats left to say... is go see it.
  91. KeithJ
    Jan 26, 2009
    6
    Cut this movie by 30 minutes, and show some acknowledgment by the people around Button that he's more than mildly unusual, and this movie could be an 8. I love the various times and places it depicts and many of the characters are great. But it ultimately feels tedious.
  92. Anonymous
    Jan 25, 2009
    4
    Don't fall for the hype. An average film at best. If you have the time, spend it watching Forrest Gump again and you'll be better off.
  93. SecretLover
    Jan 24, 2009
    8
    A good movie. Proper mix of emotions.
  94. PhilipY.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Original, creative, great movie.
  95. StanT.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    As an actor, and director of plays I deem this movie the most beautiful film ever, ever ever, made. Acting was superb, most beautiful photography, sound, special effects, scenes, make-up, costumes....if it doesn't win every Oscar category something is definitely wrong with Hollywood
  96. HelenaO.
    Jan 24, 2009
    0
    This was the worst movie I have seen in my life. I am so mad that its getting all the Oscar nominations, because Brad Pitt can't act, and the actor couldn't string together a good story to save his life. What was with the guy getting struck by lighting? Did that have a point? And please do NOT compare it to Forrest Gump, because that was a masterpiece, and Button was garbage.
  97. KyleW.
    Jan 23, 2009
    1
    This movie takes an idea that existed in a short story, and went all the most obvious ways with it. there was nothing special about this story. there are other stories that involve a man aging backwards that are done with such emotion that watching this movie was extremely disappointing. also, the characters have no personality or redeeming characteristics.
  98. EvanL.
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    The most amazingly elegant and subtle movie I have ever seen. Never have I watched a movie so rich with message and real life truths. Completely mesmerizing.
  99. BethC.
    Jan 21, 2009
    6
    The good parts: the cinematography, makeup (which should win an Oscar) and the scenes with Tilda Swinton. Somehow, she made all her scenes moving and magical. But I couldn't believe Brad Pitt as a kid in an old man's body. Also, the settings weren't realistic enough. Pitt grew up in New Orleans under segregation, but you wouldn't know it from the movie. Similarly, he The good parts: the cinematography, makeup (which should win an Oscar) and the scenes with Tilda Swinton. Somehow, she made all her scenes moving and magical. But I couldn't believe Brad Pitt as a kid in an old man's body. Also, the settings weren't realistic enough. Pitt grew up in New Orleans under segregation, but you wouldn't know it from the movie. Similarly, he was in Russia during World War II (which began in Sept. 1939) but the war doesn't exist until America entered it over two years later. And it was just TOO long for what it had to say. Expand
  100. LevS.
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Beautiful and moving film about the 'human condition,' proving that cinema can be more than just distraction. Yes, it's three hours long but I could've watched it for another three (after a short bathroom break).
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Lyrical, original, misshapen and deeply felt, this is one flawed beauty of a movie.
  2. Superbly made and winningly acted by Brad Pitt in his most impressive outing to date.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    This odd, epic tale of a man who ages backwards is presented in an impeccable classical manner, every detail tended to with fastidious devotion.