User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 499 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 499
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimM
    Jan 7, 2009
    8
    A mesmerising and heartwarming film from start to finish. There is no big message perhaps apart from enjoying every moment of life while you can and appreciating it in all it's richness. Go see.
  2. CarlyU.
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    My best film for 2008. david fincher is genius. cate is wondergul actress.
  3. AnnW.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Found this film to be extremely touching and very creative. Brad Pitt is superb.
  4. TonyB.
    Jan 6, 2009
    9
    Extremely well-acted, meticulously designed, beautifully photographed, meaningful and quite moving, a mature film for mature adults...who could ask for anything more?
  5. JayH
    May 2, 2009
    8
    Impressive production - the art direction, make-up, and cinematography are magnificent. Brad Pitt is amazing. The story is fascinating. It did seem it's 2 1/2 hour length, a little cutting would have helped, but overall a top notch film that is outstanding.
  6. PaulF.
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Any movie who can make Brad pit look either really really old, or even more impressive, move young and handsome than he already is has really accomplished something. Whoever did the make up for this movie really knew what they were doing. When old Button really looked nearly bald he did so without any cheesy looking head mask lines or anything. It looked totally realistic. But really the Any movie who can make Brad pit look either really really old, or even more impressive, move young and handsome than he already is has really accomplished something. Whoever did the make up for this movie really knew what they were doing. When old Button really looked nearly bald he did so without any cheesy looking head mask lines or anything. It looked totally realistic. But really the masterpiece of the movie was the story itself. It was very original and thought provoking. It really made me think about my own life and what it means to age and face death. Also the qualities of who we really are inside and not only our outside appearances were really exemplified by this movie. In short this was not simply entertainment but something that could nourish the intellect and soul if one was receptive its wisdoms. If the movie had any faults, and I can only think of two, is that it was way too long especially for this culture of short attention spans, and that it rushed over the younger years. The movie seemed to spend forever in his elder and mid years. Basically the movie was so centric on Brad pit it did not allow the chance for other actors to really shine. Not that I have anything against Brad Pitt who did a wonderful Job in the movie. Brad Pitt is an actor you want to hate because he's too darn good looking and in way too many movies. But honestly is really good at what he does. Despite the few minor flaws this movie is a real gem in a sea of superficial movies meant solely to entertain and then be forgotten for the next distraction. Truly The Curious Case of Benjamin Button was a 1 in a 100 movies you only get to see if you are paying attention. Expand
  7. JohnH.
    Jan 29, 2009
    8
    This well-done movie makes one think about life through the story and acting -- A very credible, well told story that keeps one engaged throughout. How one could rate this movie a "0" or even a "1" or "2" - is unclear. What the movie lacked in whirlwind 'blow em up and shoot em dead' movies with an excess of obscenity, gratuitous sex and gore --- it more than made up for in an This well-done movie makes one think about life through the story and acting -- A very credible, well told story that keeps one engaged throughout. How one could rate this movie a "0" or even a "1" or "2" - is unclear. What the movie lacked in whirlwind 'blow em up and shoot em dead' movies with an excess of obscenity, gratuitous sex and gore --- it more than made up for in an insiteful, absorbing story. Who among us has not said, "boy, if I only knew then, what I know now" Or contemplated the cycle of life from a relatively helpless baby --- back to a relatively helpless elderly person? It's difficult to find movies that develop character and a storyline (versus special effects and noise) -- This one is a 'thumbs-up' for good adult entertainment. Expand
  8. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    Spectacular story about the journey of a life. To see this movie go though all the different decades was incredible. An emotional movie that has something valuable to share. Just splendid. Also, wonderful directing and art direction.
  9. May 27, 2013
    10
    Probably Mick LaSalle, from San Francisco Chronicle, wouldn't recognize drama even if it danced in front of him without pants. This is the most dramatic and touching movie ever, full of surprises of a whole life story, with all the emotional events that could and couldn't happen.
  10. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    The scene in Grand Central Terminal with the clock that showcased the WWI battle and the fathers only wish to rewind time so that he may see his son again left an impression with me for life. Let it be known that War, for better or worse, will scar the immediate families of the fallen for eternity in ways which those that have not sacrificed will never know. If I was the authority, I wouldThe scene in Grand Central Terminal with the clock that showcased the WWI battle and the fathers only wish to rewind time so that he may see his son again left an impression with me for life. Let it be known that War, for better or worse, will scar the immediate families of the fallen for eternity in ways which those that have not sacrificed will never know. If I was the authority, I would have made sure that the clock would have stayed in place forever. Expand
  11. SamS.
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Get ready to cry. This movie deserves more than a 70, proving that the "critics" are not always correct.
  12. AndrewG.
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Such a Magical movie, with a great cast, and an inspiring and emotional concept. Beautifully crafted, it deserved best picture.
  13. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    Crafting a story like this is a feat that is rarely seen in cinema. There is a real chemistry between Pitt and Blanchett and this is coupled by a storyline which gripped me as soon as I had seen the trailer. The story never gets old, much the same as its protagonist.
  14. Jan 19, 2012
    9
    Absolutely beautiful! Long but I didn't feel it because I was caught by the story. Scott Fitzgerald was indeed a great author, and I loved the fact that they were able to portray his work in this wonderful movie. Just because a movie is not 'realistic' and is based in fantasy doesn't mean that there are not important issues to be explored. This movie is about inner strength about havingAbsolutely beautiful! Long but I didn't feel it because I was caught by the story. Scott Fitzgerald was indeed a great author, and I loved the fact that they were able to portray his work in this wonderful movie. Just because a movie is not 'realistic' and is based in fantasy doesn't mean that there are not important issues to be explored. This movie is about inner strength about having the ability to get through life with faith, acknowledging one's limitations yet, fighting to acomplish our goals. It is also about loyalty and courage... and about frustration too, because not everything can be changed since there are things that escape to our hands. It may be over emotional and overly 'optimistic', but it does not diminish its value. It is not a drama, it is not a thriller, it is not a comedy.I wouldn't put it in a specific category...this just IS a wonderful story, written by a great novelist...and brought to be enjoyed in a total different way...the big screen! Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    Very good movie. Cry, your heart will suffer, but not leave wing time to enjoy.
  16. Aug 28, 2011
    5
    Benjamin Button is a great mixed bag of a film. Despite it's many problems (length, similarity to Forrest Gump), however, aren't its undoing. The undoing comes in the form of a distinct clash of ideas, inappropriately trying to mesh screenwriter Eric Roth's sentimental and wonderful view of the world with director David Fincher's cold nihilism and rewarding distance from connection. It isBenjamin Button is a great mixed bag of a film. Despite it's many problems (length, similarity to Forrest Gump), however, aren't its undoing. The undoing comes in the form of a distinct clash of ideas, inappropriately trying to mesh screenwriter Eric Roth's sentimental and wonderful view of the world with director David Fincher's cold nihilism and rewarding distance from connection. It is these two moods that tear apart Benjamin Button. Expand
  17. AlanD.
    Jan 29, 2009
    3
    Everybody keeps talking about how this ripped off Forest Gump, which is true, but nobody talks about how it also stole a lot from the notebook (which i didn't really like in the first place) It had good special effects but like an hour of the movie wasn't needed it was way too melodramatic and it was too unoriginal. so many better movies from last year. It will probably win best Everybody keeps talking about how this ripped off Forest Gump, which is true, but nobody talks about how it also stole a lot from the notebook (which i didn't really like in the first place) It had good special effects but like an hour of the movie wasn't needed it was way too melodramatic and it was too unoriginal. so many better movies from last year. It will probably win best picture though the academy is due to make a bad pick they've been on a good streak. Expand
  18. LawrenceH.
    Jan 5, 2009
    6
    This movie is just too long. I don't have a problem with long movies when there is a justifiable reason for the length...
  19. JoetheCritic
    Jan 7, 2009
    4
    Absurdly long, I was glad it was over. The movie was nothing more of a love story, and had nothing to do with the actual reason to why he was born an old man. Don't waste your time. Too much hype for such a dull movie.
  20. aideenM
    Feb 10, 2009
    2
    Boring, trite--with absolutely no character development or insight. Nearly 3 hours of tedium with excellent special effects. But who goes to the movies for merely special effects?
  21. JamesH.
    Feb 6, 2009
    1
    The film seemed to have no point other than to show authentic costumes and sets from its various time periods. I felt no connection to the characters during the almost 3 hour running time. Did the story have a point?
  22. elp
    May 31, 2009
    5
    Can't fault the art direction, cinematography, or the acting, but it's three hours of one depressing scenario after another. if there's anything to take away from it it's that everything is pointless and doomed to misery, not exactly a feel-good movie.
  23. Hollyc
    May 30, 2009
    5
    Held my attention the first third, then began to fall into tepid interest. I could tell it wanted me to care about these great moments, but I just didn't. Also came the epiphany of seeing this before, when it was called "Forrest Gump" --- This really affected the rest of the movie for me as I was constantly comparing everything that was happening in Button to Gump (Roth is shameless, Held my attention the first third, then began to fall into tepid interest. I could tell it wanted me to care about these great moments, but I just didn't. Also came the epiphany of seeing this before, when it was called "Forrest Gump" --- This really affected the rest of the movie for me as I was constantly comparing everything that was happening in Button to Gump (Roth is shameless, for sure). However, the direction, cinematography, VFX and Tilda Swinton were all terrific. Expand
  24. BobbyB.
    Jul 26, 2009
    5
    Benjamin Button went from being elderly to middle-aged in just four years, in this film's hurry to give us a handsome, salable Brad Pitt. That's not the only thing that bothered me about "The Curious Case...". Elderly whites did not shake hands with blacks in the 1920s South. Men did not wear shoulder-length hair in the 1930s. Unless he was very psychic, Benjamin could not have Benjamin Button went from being elderly to middle-aged in just four years, in this film's hurry to give us a handsome, salable Brad Pitt. That's not the only thing that bothered me about "The Curious Case...". Elderly whites did not shake hands with blacks in the 1920s South. Men did not wear shoulder-length hair in the 1930s. Unless he was very psychic, Benjamin could not have known the long list of factors that led up to the Cate Blanchet character being hit by a cab. If the premise is Benjamin aging in reverse and growing mentally sharper each year, why does the film depart from that theme and have Benjamin getting Alzheimer's as a child? When an entire movie is built around a gimmick, I think the gimmick should be given more care than this one was. Some good performances and excellent technology, but unfortunately the movie doesn't live up to the interesting concept. Expand
  25. RonL.
    Jan 15, 2009
    3
    It never ended. It was a rehash of Gump. It was flat out boring. IIf you do want to see it wait for it on Netflix. Not worth the ordeal.
  26. JohnHartman
    Jan 16, 2009
    2
    This entire movie is like the ending of "The return of the King", multiplied by 1000.
  27. HelenaO.
    Jan 24, 2009
    0
    This was the worst movie I have seen in my life. I am so mad that its getting all the Oscar nominations, because Brad Pitt can't act, and the actor couldn't string together a good story to save his life. What was with the guy getting struck by lighting? Did that have a point? And please do NOT compare it to Forrest Gump, because that was a masterpiece, and Button was garbage.
  28. VerminD.
    Jan 4, 2009
    4
    Way too long, and wreaking of Forest Gump. Also, Brad seems to have been taking acting lessons from Keanu, because his expression hardly changed throughout the whole film. I say expression, when for the most part he was expressionless, his mug showing nothing more than a slightly confused twinge. Tilda Swinton, as normal, saved the day and acted everyone else off the screen, even though Way too long, and wreaking of Forest Gump. Also, Brad seems to have been taking acting lessons from Keanu, because his expression hardly changed throughout the whole film. I say expression, when for the most part he was expressionless, his mug showing nothing more than a slightly confused twinge. Tilda Swinton, as normal, saved the day and acted everyone else off the screen, even though her subplot was of no consequence. A lot has been said about the CGI used during the movie. I didn Expand
  29. QBeing
    Jan 5, 2009
    3
    I agree with Mike la Salle. Long tedious, and without anything memorable. I saw three films the Day I saw button. And I had to be reminded I saw it. Nothing about it was stand out. The title describes it best. Curious. But that's it. otherwise dull, and flaccid. Was happy when it ended.
  30. TM
    Jan 5, 2009
    2
    Very long and uninteresting. While we observe the character throughout his life, there is exactly one line about how it is for him to live this backward life. Except for a few scenes in this three hour movie, there is little to differentiate this from any other movie about the life of a mostly uninteresting person. Button's character may be uninteresting, but the female lead is just Very long and uninteresting. While we observe the character throughout his life, there is exactly one line about how it is for him to live this backward life. Except for a few scenes in this three hour movie, there is little to differentiate this from any other movie about the life of a mostly uninteresting person. Button's character may be uninteresting, but the female lead is just unlikable so the romance narative becomes unbelievable and unable to hold the movie together. Expand
  31. GailW.
    Feb 21, 2009
    4
    This move was poorly edited, too long, and boring. There was no chemistry between Bard Pitt and Cate Blanchette. A real disappointment - typical Hollywood schlock.
  32. LynneK.
    Feb 24, 2009
    3
    i give this movie a 3 on 10, and its only because of the great make-up they made on pitt's face. i thought brad pitt's acting was horrible, as it always is, and the story wasnt intriguing at all. i wasnt captured by the story, because it was like a series of events happening in benjamin's life and him getting younger and younger, nothing more. The movie is only made to make i give this movie a 3 on 10, and its only because of the great make-up they made on pitt's face. i thought brad pitt's acting was horrible, as it always is, and the story wasnt intriguing at all. i wasnt captured by the story, because it was like a series of events happening in benjamin's life and him getting younger and younger, nothing more. The movie is only made to make viewers imagine how life would be if the clock was turning the other way, but theres no story behind the idea. Kate blanchett is a great actress, but i didnt think she had much to do with what they gave her. Expand
  33. BettyL
    Feb 3, 2009
    3
    If you want to know what it would be like if a man was born old and then grew younger, watch this. However it is a long tedious movie experience with little redeeming qualities, great visually, but the plot lacks certain elements for a good story, such as, characters that make you feel for them.
  34. KatieS
    Feb 7, 2009
    3
    Ponderous, boring. BB's reverse aging actually contributes little to the plot, since he has the mind of a young person in the beginning, and of an old person at the end, so what you're left with is just a conventional life story that has no real individuating elements, just a bunch of nearly randomly assembled elements pulled out of the grabbag of movie cliches: overwrought Ponderous, boring. BB's reverse aging actually contributes little to the plot, since he has the mind of a young person in the beginning, and of an old person at the end, so what you're left with is just a conventional life story that has no real individuating elements, just a bunch of nearly randomly assembled elements pulled out of the grabbag of movie cliches: overwrought military death scenes already a subject for parody in Tropic Thunder. The everything could have been different montage before the tragic accident. Etc. The only real unique interest in the reverse physical aging plot could have come in the last 20 years of Button's life, and there was a potentially good short movie inside this unfortunately long one. It would have involved B having a continuous relationship with his family. An interesting and courageous movie could have shown him as an experienced man in a child's body, treated like a child in society, eventually not allowed to make his own decisions, interacting with his child in the body of a child, having sex with his aging wife as a teenager until they have to stop--the conflict between desire, repulsion, and social restraint there *could* have been an amazing story. But it wasn't to be. And further it was poorly cast; Pitt and Blanchett have no chemistry and aren't plausible as a couple, and Pitt seems a little too dumb in his affect to play "simple" without becoming totally insipid and boring. I didn't like much Forrest Gump much, and in fact thought it's entire value system (Forest's disengagement is purity/Jenny's engagement is corruption) was messed up, but at least in its messed up value system it was an interesting social text. This was just maudlin kitsch. Expand
  35. PauloA.
    Apr 3, 2009
    0
    I was first afraid to watch this (child) but i turned from afraid to ashamed.i mean its like watching a cocoon turn into a butterfly. the promotion of it is getting younger with age, but i just DO NOT FEEL THAT.(SPOILERS) I MEAN SAILING?(SPOILERS END), come on man,everyone of my family members who went with me agreed that it was too long.my dad even said you could use a DVD of it as a I was first afraid to watch this (child) but i turned from afraid to ashamed.i mean its like watching a cocoon turn into a butterfly. the promotion of it is getting younger with age, but i just DO NOT FEEL THAT.(SPOILERS) I MEAN SAILING?(SPOILERS END), come on man,everyone of my family members who went with me agreed that it was too long.my dad even said you could use a DVD of it as a torturing device.if you ask me,i think the director foucused more on the sexual scenes than anything else. i mean come on.but then again,its all me, im sorry if i said somethings that you liked about the movie(not sarcasam).but really, its just too long and meaningless for its own good. Expand
  36. jethroa
    May 7, 2009
    5
    Another hollywood trying to be deep and profound and moving movie that just doesn't cut it. Pretty tepid, but mildly interesting.
  37. EliasC
    Jun 11, 2009
    5
    Despite the seamless CGI work, this film is seriously flawed and bears little resemblance to the F. Scott short story of the same name. Very good acting does not save this overlong film. 'The film version of the 'Time Traveler's Wife', with a similar theme, promises to be better.
  38. JeffF
    Jun 1, 2009
    0
    Excruciating. Long. Like Forrest Gump without the humor or wit.
  39. JasonR
    Jun 20, 2009
    1
    I really didn't like it, reminded me alot of the notebook (which I hated) and a wannabe Forest Gump. Personally I think the movie had some weak morals, not to get all preachy. I couldn't wait for it to end, because of my girlfriend. It's only enduring quality was wondering what would happen to Mr. Button, although I really didn't care. Pure Cheese.
  40. RyanK
    Jun 5, 2009
    0
    I was no longer curious after this movie wasted 2 hours of my life. One of the worst movies I have ever seen.
  41. SebastianS
    Aug 24, 2009
    2
    Just boring. Exactly like forrest gump, except his travels weren't interesting.
  42. KevanM.
    Dec 25, 2008
    3
    Everything was exquisite except for the story. Very boring!!
  43. JohnG.
    Dec 25, 2008
    4
    Soooo slow ... After 2 hours and 40 minutes, I still couldn't tell you what the actual story was about.
  44. KimA
    Dec 27, 2008
    5
    Brad Pitt seemed to have no way into this role. When he wasn't in his beautiful prime, his Benjamin felt like an empty cipher. The make up on the "old looking" Benjamin was distracting; as if a powdery layer was smothering not only the face, but the personality, of Brad Pitt's Benjamin. This was not a movie about a human being, but a movie about an idea. The Ideas were Brad Pitt seemed to have no way into this role. When he wasn't in his beautiful prime, his Benjamin felt like an empty cipher. The make up on the "old looking" Benjamin was distracting; as if a powdery layer was smothering not only the face, but the personality, of Brad Pitt's Benjamin. This was not a movie about a human being, but a movie about an idea. The Ideas were interesting for a time but the lack of truly interesting, felt characters could not keep those ideas alive for two and a half hours. Expand
  45. DoctorTerrific
    Dec 30, 2008
    5
    Halfway into this movie I turned to my lover and both agreed that this movie was terrific. Unfortunately this is a tale that, in my opinion, cannot be brought to a satisfying conclusion. Nice try, Fincher, but I left the theater troubled and disappointed.
  46. ED
    Jan 10, 2009
    3
    Way too long and uninteresting. We get no insight from the title character and do not care about either of the leads. We could not wait for this to be over.
  47. SteveA.
    Jan 15, 2009
    1
    This gets a 1 for Special Effects, a 0 for script, direction and audience-numbing duration. My nephew left after 50 minutes. I envied him for the next long, long 2 hours. Unmitigated codswallop.
  48. Fionaman
    Jan 15, 2009
    2
    Overlong, self indulgent, cliche ridden dreck. It gets a 2 because the cinematography was good. The acting was soulless, the score generic and overwrought. Everything about this film failed. Absolutely hated it.
  49. JenniferM.
    Jan 2, 2009
    0
    This is worst movie I have ever seen. Painfully boring and slow moving. Where the only interesting characters developed during the tugboat scenes and the war they were too soon gone and all we were left with was Cate Blanchett as Katherine Hepburn playing Daisy and Brad Pitt as Forrest Gump playing Benjamin Buttons. Horrible!!
  50. DWilly
    Jan 2, 2009
    0
    This film went from dull to infuriating to jaw-droppingly laughable. There were many others in the theater with me also guffawing out loud, so I know, regardless of the "Million Dollar Baby" like wildly favorable reviews, not everyone swallows this tripe. Pitt is totally clueless about what to do with his part, but then so apparently was the screenwriter who has his droning narration at This film went from dull to infuriating to jaw-droppingly laughable. There were many others in the theater with me also guffawing out loud, so I know, regardless of the "Million Dollar Baby" like wildly favorable reviews, not everyone swallows this tripe. Pitt is totally clueless about what to do with his part, but then so apparently was the screenwriter who has his droning narration at one point launch into a godlike knowingness of events his character couldn't possibly be aware of. Even the great Kate Blanchette makes a fool of herself. It's sad to think of all the wonderful human stories that could have been told with the money spent on this clockwork mess and what is says about an era that embraces it. Expand
  51. KyleW.
    Jan 23, 2009
    1
    This movie takes an idea that existed in a short story, and went all the most obvious ways with it. there was nothing special about this story. there are other stories that involve a man aging backwards that are done with such emotion that watching this movie was extremely disappointing. also, the characters have no personality or redeeming characteristics.
  52. AlexF.
    Jan 3, 2009
    4
    Way too long especially because nothing happens. if it had been only 2 hrs. long it would have been alot better.
  53. WilliamT.
    Jan 4, 2009
    2
    It took $10 and nearly 3 hours for Hollywood to tell me to cherish every moment no matter what the circumstances of your life? What bloated fatuousness..."The Curious Case of Dick Button" would have been as uplifting. The 2/10 rating is for the serviceable technical aspects of the film.
  54. IgorA.
    Jan 7, 2009
    3
    Uninteresting and too long for it's own good. The style, acting and special effects are great but nothing really happen in it.
  55. Niv
    Jan 9, 2009
    3
    This film is overhyped. Acting was good but the plot is quite predictable and cliched from the start. The long 3hours runtime didnt help either for it seems the some scenes on the film are just for stalling. No one would even bother watching this film if it weren't for brad pitt and cate blanchett on the starrer.
  56. EmilyK
    Feb 11, 2009
    3
    This movie was unnecessarily long; it was well over 2 hours. This movie is extremely slow. The worst part of the movie was Cate Blanchett's narration as an old woman. Her accent was annoying and her words were barely decipherable. This movie tries to be more meaningful than it actually is.
  57. NerijusD.
    Feb 14, 2009
    7
    Really overrated film. A simple fable with rather average shaping and kinda boring experiences. Only special effects could be considered Oscar-worthy.
  58. BecquerM
    Feb 15, 2009
    2
    Only for its visual achievement does it deserve any regard, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is Oscar-winning-cinema at its most cliche (it could, possibly, rival the likes of Titanic); it is a drawn-out story that reveals little about the human condition, the nature of relationships - and, by extension, love -, or what life would be like aging backwards, thereby crushing F. Scott Only for its visual achievement does it deserve any regard, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" is Oscar-winning-cinema at its most cliche (it could, possibly, rival the likes of Titanic); it is a drawn-out story that reveals little about the human condition, the nature of relationships - and, by extension, love -, or what life would be like aging backwards, thereby crushing F. Scott Fitzgerald's quaint story that is packed with so much meaning. Expand
  59. ChipL
    Feb 4, 2009
    4
    A poor man's Forrest Gump. Every scene tries to be heartwarming, meaningful, important, prophetic....But it comes out cold and creepy without a likable or realistic character. Brad PItt is especially unmoving and even the always capable Cate Blanchett comes across as shrill and false. The worst of the "prestige" movie is all here.
  60. EugeneS
    Mar 26, 2009
    1
    This movie is appalling, 2 hours and 45 minutes of pure monotony. Nothing particularly riveting happens. The plot rolls on at a snails pace with absolutely pointless asides. It's trying very hard to be a mix between Forest Gump and perhaps Titanic without any of the good things those movies had. Best avoided.
  61. TerribleMovie
    May 31, 2009
    0
    This movie was terrible. We ended up leaving half way through, as one was asleep, and the rest of us where about to as well. This movie had a terrible plot, was really creepy and just not very interesting to watch.
  62. JayJay
    May 4, 2009
    3
    Tries to be interesting, but only succeeds on being slow and boring.
  63. DW
    May 17, 2009
    3
    3 for the tech. The plot, dialog, and acting deserve almost a zero. An interminable length for one Hallmark moment after another, punctuated by annoying voiceover and a pointless wraparound story that dragged hurricane Katrina into it. And just awful attempts at "folksy" southern accents. Ick.
  64. BrunoF.
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    An interesting concept, but a loooong boring movie.
  65. JulieD.
    Dec 26, 2008
    0
    This movie was so incredible boring. I experienced zero connection with the characters and couldn't care less what happened to them. I just wanted the movie to end.
  66. Oct 1, 2010
    4
    Despite the fact that this movie was trumpeted upon it's release (two years already?) it's hard to ignore that Button hasn't got much to it. It was quite the opposite to what I thought it would be and it was a very slow and far too long for it's own good. More than anything else though, the movie did nothing but bore once you got past the basic premise, which is admittedly interesting.
  67. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    The movie has its little pleasures (such as the man getting struck by lightning and the tugboat captain), but it feels like the "aging-backwards" basis is no more than a playful trick to tell an otherwise normal and uninteresting (and loooonng) story.
  68. Sep 19, 2010
    2
    Before I launch into the many negative things I have to write about this movie, I'm going to start with the positive elements of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

    First, it was cinematically stunning. Visually, it was breathtaking. The money spent on this movie was worth it...to the eyes. Second...well, there isn't a second positive thing I can point out. That's right. I am so
    Before I launch into the many negative things I have to write about this movie, I'm going to start with the positive elements of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

    First, it was cinematically stunning. Visually, it was breathtaking. The money spent on this movie was worth it...to the eyes.

    Second...well, there isn't a second positive thing I can point out.

    That's right. I am so disappointed in this film that I am literally typing this minutes after leaving the theater.

    Where to begin...

    There are numerous small things that bothered me about the movie, but didn't necessarily HURT the film. It was entirely too long. And for the length, there was never enough to make me care about the characters. However, the main small component that bothered me is Brad Pitt's complete inability to act. Not that the script called for him to do much, other than look beautiful when he reached the right age, and he did that wonderfully. However, he had very little script with which recite, so when he did, it was mostly in soft-spoken mumbles. And he pulled it off just fine. However, if he gets nominated for an Oscar, I will officially boycott it. There is NOTHING Brad Pitt did in this movie for which he should be nominated. It's pathetic enough that he got a Golden Globe nomination. He did a fine job, but I can name double-digit numbers of performances that deserve recognition over this one.

    Those small things didn't destroy the film for me though.

    No, what I absolutely hated about this movie was...the script.

    The screenplay, based on a short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald, which I have not read but I hear is SO different than this movie that it was hard to even compare the two. The screenplay was written by Forrest Gump penner, Eric Roth. And how he got away with submitting this script proves that all Hollywood is interested in doing is rehashing popular movies or concepts from the past. And, like lambs to the slaughter, viewers are being sucked in.

    So let's compare the job Eric Roth did in Forrest Gump and the work he did with The Curious Case of Benjamin Button...


    Forrest Gump centers around the life story of a very a unique male character, complete with all the lessons learned therein. So does Benjamin Button. In both, that central male character narrates his own story.

    Forrest Gump has a very strong motherly character that has a very strong influence on the type of person he becomes. So does Benjamin Button. In fact, they both even have a mother-coined catch phrase repeated throughout the movie. In Forrest, "Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're going to get." In Button, momma always said, "You never know what's coming for you."

    Forrest Gump had "Lieutenant Dan" on the SS Jenny. Benjamin had "Captain Mike" on the SS Chelsea.

    Forrest is in love with Jenny who enters, exits and re-enters his life on a regular basis. Benjamin is in love with Daisy who enters, exits and re-enters his life on a regular basis.

    Forrest becomes insecure and scared when he realizes he's about to be a father with Jenny. Benjamin becomes insecue and scared when he realizes he's about to be a father with Daisy.

    Forrest interacts with historical figures throughout his story and finds himself in wartime situations. Benjamin finds himself in wartime situations and crossing paths with seemingly historical figures, like the first woman to swim the English Channel and Daisy herself being the first American to be invited to dance with the Bolshoi.

    Lieutenant Dan talks about trying out his "sea legs" when Forrest asks him why he's on the boat. When Benjamin wants to join Captain Mike's boating crew, Captain Mike asks him if he has his sea legs.

    This one may sound like a stretch, but how often does a script call for a character to announce so blatantly that they need to go pee. Well, Forrest did unexpectedly while in a conversation with John F Kennedy, while Daisy unexpectedly announces to Benjamin in the middle of a conversation that SHE needs to go pee.

    A couple of times in Forrest Gump, a floating feather takes center-screen symbolically representing how we float through life and how things happen because they are meant to happen. A couple of times in Benjamin Button, a hummingbird unexpectedly takes center-screen to symbolically represent...well, you get the picture.

    I could go on, but I'm too disgusted to.

    It's plagiarism...or is it just Mad Libs with all the main subjects and names replaced with new ones?

    I'm sorry...a good movie starts with a good script. And if the SAME screenwriter writes essentially the SAME script from a previously popular movie, feeds it to me and thinks I'm simple enough to swallow it, I'm going to notice it. And it will remove any ability for me enjoy the film. No matter how many intentional heart-tugging moments this film tries toshove down our throats, I wasn't able to be affected by any emotion in the movie or connect with any of the characters.
    Expand
  69. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    David Fincher has transformed a strange plotline of a man who ages backwards into an epic love story, and it is the most touching and beautiful film I've ever seen. You forget the fictional storyline because the direction and storytelling is so flawless. It is a very different look on life, as they say in the film, "Sometimes to understand life you have to look at it backwards". The actingDavid Fincher has transformed a strange plotline of a man who ages backwards into an epic love story, and it is the most touching and beautiful film I've ever seen. You forget the fictional storyline because the direction and storytelling is so flawless. It is a very different look on life, as they say in the film, "Sometimes to understand life you have to look at it backwards". The acting is superb, the make-up and effects flawless and the length of the film goes unnoticed until you look at your watch when the film is over. An absolute masterpiece, and the best film of 2008. Expand
  70. May 11, 2011
    3
    Dissappointing. This is one of those movies that pretends to be deep but just isnt. The whole plot just seems to be constructed for Brad Pitt to get younger and better looking as the movie progresses. However there is no reason for this other than to increase box office sales. Forest Gump did not need an unoffcial follow up.
  71. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    what a magical pile of before even watching this movie I correctly guessed that Blanchett and Pitt would meet halfway through his "lifecycle". This is not a movie for me I guess. This is for suckers who are into feel good movies like Forrest Gump.
  72. SteveB
    Jan 1, 2009
    4
    Don't believe the hype! This is not a very good movie. Similar to Forrest Gump, but less engaging. An epic tale about a boy born old, grows up and gets younger as ages, this theme has actually very little to do with the plot, and is really a skeleton on which to hang a a rather dull, rambling story. Brad and Cate are nice to look at, but it's a snoozer with no real conclusion.
  73. DT
    Jan 3, 2009
    4
    It was the same crap that gets eaten up by award judges every year. Nothing new.
  74. ArjunS.
    Dec 30, 2008
    8
    Director David Fincher, does a great job at making a well crafted story and uses great filming techniques to show it. The problem however, lies in the story rather then the way it was pulled off. The story resembles Forrest Gump incredibly and because of this seemed to lack an original flare. This was counteracted though by a stellar performance from Brad Pitt who played the role of a New Director David Fincher, does a great job at making a well crafted story and uses great filming techniques to show it. The problem however, lies in the story rather then the way it was pulled off. The story resembles Forrest Gump incredibly and because of this seemed to lack an original flare. This was counteracted though by a stellar performance from Brad Pitt who played the role of a New Orleans man, as if he was raised there his whole life. The combination of this and Fincher's direction make the film worth seeing. Expand
  75. GregoryR.
    Jan 3, 2009
    9
    Great movie. Visually stunning, moving, and a great adaptation to a bland short story that works itself into a masterful screenplay. Director, David Fincher, does an excellent job with atmosphere, New Orleans is shown in new light. Great movie, one of the best of 2008.
  76. RobertA.
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    It was very uplifting and had a moral to the story, which is unusual nowadays.
  77. RonD.
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    Visually breathtaking.
  78. JimL.
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    Engaging, moving. Terrific soundtrack.
  79. DannyW.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    WOW! This was a great movie! I saw it with PGA and loved it! The end was so sad and you can tell what will happen to him so when it all comes together at the end it is so sad. But it is left with a giant ? so thats why I gave it a 9. I highly recommend it!
  80. AlwinD.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Magical! best of 2008 hands down.
  81. EmmaN
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    See this movie. Kate Blanchett and Brad Pitt's performances are amazing. I was thoroughly entertained from start to finish.
  82. AdrianV
    Feb 17, 2009
    9
    Thank god, great story, nicely told ,and great acting ...as close as u can get to perfection. I am sick of that overwhelming action just for the sake of it, they did great to keep their feet on the ground as they did.
  83. ArielleF.
    May 22, 2009
    7
    "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" started out with a good plot and high expectations for me. But it ended in such a cliche way I almost forgot how good the beginning of the movie was. And am I the only one that felt deja vu? With another movie...let's say...."Forrest Gump" perhaps?
  84. PeterG
    May 4, 2009
    8
    One of the best movies I've seen in last years. It's worth of success. By me personally it's better than Titanic.
  85. James
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    Wonderful movie because it is not a ordinary story. Acting was great,movie sets terrific Comparable to Forrest Gump..
  86. MiKE
    Jun 8, 2009
    6
    The movie had its moments. but overall it felt silly with a serious story. The special effects were excellent! And Brad Pitt is a good actor. He was very enjoyable in this movie.
  87. GemmaE.
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    The acting, the themes, the cinematography, the meaning of life and death - this film has it all down pact in the most beautiful and perfect way imaginable.
  88. bobbob
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    Easy to criticize this movie for length , sentimentality and a likeness to Forrest Gump but truth be told this is a finely crafted work of art with brilliant performances from an all star cast. Movie of the year for me.
  89. VinnieG.
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    Great movie. Touching story. Fantastic acting. joy to watch. Must see for movie lovers.
  90. ChadS.
    Dec 28, 2008
    6
    Dislocation is what piques our interest in "The Curious Case of Benjamin Buttons"; dislocation is the tool of all good science fiction. As a youth imprisoned in an old man's body, or a geezer returning to the womb, that's what distinguishes Benjamin(Brad Pitt) from other protagonists in epics that depict the life and times of the titular person. But the film squanders too much Dislocation is what piques our interest in "The Curious Case of Benjamin Buttons"; dislocation is the tool of all good science fiction. As a youth imprisoned in an old man's body, or a geezer returning to the womb, that's what distinguishes Benjamin(Brad Pitt) from other protagonists in epics that depict the life and times of the titular person. But the film squanders too much time on this would-be carnival sideshow act during Benjamin's middle period, when the difference between his chronological age and his perceived age doesn't seem all that disparate. Perhaps it's the fault of the actor for not conveying that gap; he plays Benjamin as being too comfortable in his own skin. In Penny Marshall's "Big", Josh's(Tom Hanks) actions belie his perceived age, most hillariously, when he takes the top bunk at a sleepover with his co-worker. The Elizabeth Perkins character senses something is unusual about this guy. That's why "The Curious Case of Benjamin Buttons" drags. He seems too normal. Shouldn't this guy be touched by a little madness? There's nothing particularly maladjusted about Benjamin that the film can exploit for comic or dramatic purposes. Lucky for Pitt, his leading lady(Cate Blanchett) more than picks up the slack. Daisy's capacity to love Benjamin romantically, then maternally, would have been made even more powerful if this staid exercise in science fiction were informed more by maverick instincts, than Oscar instincts. Their relationship should be put through a similar bathtub test as Nicole Kidman and her partner in Jonathan Glazer's "Birth". In other words, what would Mindy(Pam Dawber) do had she and Mork(Robin Williams) made it to their golden years? Expand
  91. anne8
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing movie. instant classic.
  92. R.Lopez
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    Exceptional!!!The curious case of Benjamin Button is a truly amazing dedication to life and how you should live it. David Fincher's amazing drama tells the story of a man named Benjamin Button, Benjamin isn't like other kids his age. In fact he's like nothing the world has ever seen before, He was a man born old, and as time went by Benjamin started to get younger and Exceptional!!!The curious case of Benjamin Button is a truly amazing dedication to life and how you should live it. David Fincher's amazing drama tells the story of a man named Benjamin Button, Benjamin isn't like other kids his age. In fact he's like nothing the world has ever seen before, He was a man born old, and as time went by Benjamin started to get younger and younger while the people around him get older and die. The curious case of Benjamin Button is a celebration about the meaning of living life to it's fullest. It's an inspiration to all people young and old that just because your getting older doesn't mean you can't live life like there's no tomorrow. I very,very highly recommended this truly exceptional film. Expand
  93. JLR.
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Great movie... this generation has found its Forrest Gump.
  94. MargaretM.
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed the movie! I was completely captivated by the story and found the "pearls of wisdom" scattered throughout the narration very thought provoking.
  95. DianeM
    Jan 1, 2009
    6
    A fantasy film that is a tribute to certain historical events, as well as New Orleans. Good performances, naturally, (especially "Queenie"), but a little long in getting to the point. My husband complained that I didn't tell him it was a 'chick flick'.
  96. PatG.
    Jan 1, 2009
    9
    This movie is intriguing and thought-provoking. And I barely felt the three-hour length. We've all seen dozens of movies about a long life coming to an end. Somehow, seeing one in reverse casts new lights on loss and love and the search for meaning. Very interesting! I do recommend it.
  97. jessD.
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    I enjoyed the film. Outstanding Performances and the story which is always interesting and while long moves along at a leisurely pace detailing Ben Button life from birth to death in age reversal. Excellent photography, music score and a great job from Director Fincher.
  98. JW
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    A great movie. Some sections of the movie are a bit slow and the hospital scenes are awkward. Yet the positives far out weigh the negative. This is a very well paced 3 hr moves, about life, death and the love espierienced within.
  99. blankalibi
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    Just so good. Great acting and an interesting story.
  100. TyW,
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    Seriously, this was a great film. It wasn't like "gump" (where on earth do the "experts" get that?) And it's feature length. Remember No Country for old Men? It was 2 and a half hours. So was There Will be blood. And Assasination of Jesse James. It's called a MOVIE people. It's supposed to be long. This movie was well made, well acted, and well done. The story was Seriously, this was a great film. It wasn't like "gump" (where on earth do the "experts" get that?) And it's feature length. Remember No Country for old Men? It was 2 and a half hours. So was There Will be blood. And Assasination of Jesse James. It's called a MOVIE people. It's supposed to be long. This movie was well made, well acted, and well done. The story was weaved through the eyes of a dying woman (much more like Titanic than Forrest Gump) and it was an emotional roller-coaster throughout. Honestly the best movie of the year, and I highly recommend it to anyone with any taste in good cinema. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Lyrical, original, misshapen and deeply felt, this is one flawed beauty of a movie.
  2. Superbly made and winningly acted by Brad Pitt in his most impressive outing to date.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    This odd, epic tale of a man who ages backwards is presented in an impeccable classical manner, every detail tended to with fastidious devotion.