The Damned United

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. springonion
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Superb film which sees Sheen capture the memory of Clough in his own way. Indeed the whole movie seems to capture the era that was 1970s football in Britain; wonderfully engaging.
  2. Nov 30, 2014
    8
    Overall, The Damned United is a good film. Great performances from Michael Sheen and Timothy Spall, as well as assured direction from Tom Hooper ensure that The Damned United always stays entirely riveting and fulfilling. It feels a bit short at just a little over 90 minutes, but all the same, I would not change much here. It may not be the most historically accurate film ever, butOverall, The Damned United is a good film. Great performances from Michael Sheen and Timothy Spall, as well as assured direction from Tom Hooper ensure that The Damned United always stays entirely riveting and fulfilling. It feels a bit short at just a little over 90 minutes, but all the same, I would not change much here. It may not be the most historically accurate film ever, but watching Clough's career unfold was incredibly dramatic and, as a soccer fan, informative as well as entertaining. The shots of soccer were done brilliantly as well, as were the interactions between the managers and players. As a whole, there is not a ton to say about this one, other than: you will enjoy this even if you are not soccer fan, but if you are a soccer fan, boy do I have the movie for you. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2010
    9
    Not only the best football film ever, but also one of the best films of 2009. Admittedly, football fans will get a lot more out of it than non-believers, but anyone can appreciate the very well done script (though sometimes a bit off) and excellent performances. Not a big, blockbuster drama about blue men, but at least this has something to keep your attention. With a certain film alsoNot only the best football film ever, but also one of the best films of 2009. Admittedly, football fans will get a lot more out of it than non-believers, but anyone can appreciate the very well done script (though sometimes a bit off) and excellent performances. Not a big, blockbuster drama about blue men, but at least this has something to keep your attention. With a certain film also out this year that was a case of style over substance, The Damned United delivers a solid, realistic and genuinely great film. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2010
    5
    I watched and thoroughly enjoyed this film - some excellent performances, great sets and a fine script - but it left a sour taste in my mouth afterwards when I found out just how much of this had just been fabricated. I mean, I understand about artistic license and all that, but altering the actual football results just to tell a better story? That's madness! There are so many irrefutableI watched and thoroughly enjoyed this film - some excellent performances, great sets and a fine script - but it left a sour taste in my mouth afterwards when I found out just how much of this had just been fabricated. I mean, I understand about artistic license and all that, but altering the actual football results just to tell a better story? That's madness! There are so many irrefutable factual inaccuracies here it beggars belief. Treat it as a work of fiction and it won't disappoint. Just don't expect to learn anything. Expand
  5. Qwerty
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    Michael Sheen is superb, and Colm Meany and the rest of the cast are great as well. And, you need know nothing about soccer (or, as the Brits call it, football) to enjoy and appreciate the film.
  6. eggyg.
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Capture all the football drama & moments without any of sport movie cliche..incredible. Another superb Michael sheen's movie.
  7. AndresB.
    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    Wonderful. Sheen gave a terrific performance.
  8. ChrisJ.
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Just simply personal favorite movie of the year.
  9. Teri
    Nov 21, 2009
    9
    Excellent film, great acting.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    60
    Sheen thrives in the guise of the idiosyncratic Clough in a brilliantly candid, if bitty, football parable.
  2. Director Tom Hooper ("John Adams") ably balances the games (surprisingly little football footage, actually), the personalities and the drama.
  3. 70
    Telling with a light, surefooted touch a legendary tale from British soccer history, The Damned United reps the latest collaboration in factual fiction between chameleon thesp Michael Sheen, screenwriter Peter Morgan and producer Andy Harries ("Frost/Nixon," "The Queen").