thinkfilm | Release Date: June 14, 2002
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
3
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
EmmaR.Mar 11, 2003
Love the movie! I especially like the way the comic bits are used to portray escapism and the fantasy world of the boys. Fits beautifully with the storyline. If not for the tragic ending, though, the plot would have been predictable. Good Love the movie! I especially like the way the comic bits are used to portray escapism and the fantasy world of the boys. Fits beautifully with the storyline. If not for the tragic ending, though, the plot would have been predictable. Good acting, great soundtrack! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Mar 2, 2003
This movie was so great the second it ended it was instantly my favorite movie. I probably enjoyed this movie so much because i come from a catholic school myself. The school that i went to is exactly the way this school is and i can reallyThis movie was so great the second it ended it was instantly my favorite movie. I probably enjoyed this movie so much because i come from a catholic school myself. The school that i went to is exactly the way this school is and i can really relate to what the kids are going through in this film. all of the friends that i have showed this movie to loved it also. this is such a great film and sadly it is overlooked but i am glad that i found it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianaSVNov 20, 2004
Hi!.. I´m from Argentina, and i ve to say that i love this movie... It s a great film to make us see differentt situations or emotions where the love or the friendship are the most umbreakebles things... I really laugh, cry and stay Hi!.. I´m from Argentina, and i ve to say that i love this movie... It s a great film to make us see differentt situations or emotions where the love or the friendship are the most umbreakebles things... I really laugh, cry and stay very quite to cacht any scene... I believe this´s a great movie not just for the great script or the ambientation; the people who made that possible really did a good job... Emile Hirsch is one of the most realist actors that i ve seen...he is just great!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lil'BuddyNov 8, 2002
The movie was really great. i'm going to buy it now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 8, 2002
The idea of getting inside the mind of an adolescent boy by showing his comic book fantasies come to life as an escape from church dogma and small-town ennui looks good on paper, but it doesn't quite come together on the screen. Just The idea of getting inside the mind of an adolescent boy by showing his comic book fantasies come to life as an escape from church dogma and small-town ennui looks good on paper, but it doesn't quite come together on the screen. Just when the Todd McFarlane sequences get the audience's adrenaline pumping, the languor of the storytelling and methodical pacing might jar and possibly, polarize the audience. The animation, or the live actors, might be perceived as a disruption, depending on who you are. But this movie is well-worth seeing. You have to admire and respect a filmmaker who tried this hard. A lot of work went into this enterprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElenaAug 30, 2002
Oh, it really was wonderful. Emile Hirsch was splendid and Kieran Culkin as well. I was completely happy with this movie. Film doesn't get any better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KendallFeb 16, 2003
This was such a great movie. Kieran Culkin is so good and he had such a hard character to play. (I'm a huge fan) Emile Hirsch was great as well, but I think had a less challenging role. Jena Malone was good, but it just seems to me that This was such a great movie. Kieran Culkin is so good and he had such a hard character to play. (I'm a huge fan) Emile Hirsch was great as well, but I think had a less challenging role. Jena Malone was good, but it just seems to me that she plays the same character in every movie. Jodie Foster was fantastic as always. I also really liked Jake Richardson and Tyler Long. This movie was so deep and it really showed it from a great point of view. Definitely a must see if you enjoy movies that actually have meaning... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraB.Apr 11, 2004
I love this movie to death. I recommend it to anyone anywhere. The book rocks harder than the movie so you may want to check it out, too. It's a shame that Chris Fuhrman died of cancer in 1991, only completing The Dangerous Lives of I love this movie to death. I recommend it to anyone anywhere. The book rocks harder than the movie so you may want to check it out, too. It's a shame that Chris Fuhrman died of cancer in 1991, only completing The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys, but that just makes it even more precious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyL.Jan 21, 2005
This movie was awesome hirsch and culkin are reallllyyyyy hott!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasmineS.Oct 20, 2005
This movie was really amazing to watch, it makes me think of real life situations, and how it really is like growing up. With tragedy and some predictable, yet unexpected twists.. I loved it! The acting was just great from young people.. I This movie was really amazing to watch, it makes me think of real life situations, and how it really is like growing up. With tragedy and some predictable, yet unexpected twists.. I loved it! The acting was just great from young people.. I really recommend watching this movie. It touched me, and I loved watching it. It's like me & my friends! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraP.Nov 10, 2002
I read the book before i saw the movie so i had an idea of what it'd be like. I thought the movie was beautifully executed. The innovative animation cuts in between live action was great, unique. I've loved the honesty of this I read the book before i saw the movie so i had an idea of what it'd be like. I thought the movie was beautifully executed. The innovative animation cuts in between live action was great, unique. I've loved the honesty of this story since reading Chris Furhman's novel; Care did a great job of making the story into something so visually interesting. I'm a big Jena Malone fan- she did great as always. Emile embodied Francis perfectly and did a great job with the dramatic scenes. The music for the film was also very good...i believe Joshua Homme did most of it. Everyone needs to go buy this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HollyeC.Nov 11, 2003
I loved this movie, i thought it was great. i would've given it a 10 but it was a bit of a shocker when ...(spoilers omitted)... i guess having a dramatic turn is good in a movie but it did get a bit boring and somewhat lost myI loved this movie, i thought it was great. i would've given it a 10 but it was a bit of a shocker when ...(spoilers omitted)... i guess having a dramatic turn is good in a movie but it did get a bit boring and somewhat lost my attention, maybe i just have a short attention span, oh well. i really liked it because emilie hirsch and kieran culkin are very hott and good actors. that's my review on the movie, it's not very specific, but whatever. oh yeah, it would've been a lot better if joey wasn't in the movie, he was kind of wierd.. no offense to you joey lovers out there.. since i know he has so many. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
This movie was recommended to me by someone and I was honestly a little hesitant to watch it. It's a young cast, with a first time director, and lets face it, nuns and altar boys? ...it was actually a GREAT movie. It was the perfect balanceThis movie was recommended to me by someone and I was honestly a little hesitant to watch it. It's a young cast, with a first time director, and lets face it, nuns and altar boys? ...it was actually a GREAT movie. It was the perfect balance of comedy and drama, that kept you interested throughout. There were also flashes of animation that just added to the story and made it even better. It's hard to describe this movie without spoilers, but I would defiantly suggest you take a chance and check it out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews