Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: September 29, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 215 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
161
Mixed:
30
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
BillyB.Oct 13, 2007
Spoonfed drivel. Neither cute nor clever. Style over substance. Formula fatigue. Borderline cliché. So sad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
WadeT.Nov 2, 2007
'The Darjeeling Limited' reveals why Seinfeld never could work as a movie. The reality is Wes Anderson's latest movies rolls along with a lifeless rhythm, at times trying to be funny, but none-the-less accomplishing nothing in 'The Darjeeling Limited' reveals why Seinfeld never could work as a movie. The reality is Wes Anderson's latest movies rolls along with a lifeless rhythm, at times trying to be funny, but none-the-less accomplishing nothing in its story of three brothers trying to reconnect after a year apart. The performances never are engaging enough to totally consume you, so you are left with a lifeless piece of filmmaking set in the dessert. I literally wondered if something was going to happen and when it did the storytelling felt forced and unnatural. Anderson's best movies are quirky enough to keep your attention while still providing a unique experience. The Darjeeling Limited is quirky, but that's about it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AramisG.Oct 20, 2007
This movie is about as boring as watching emotionally crippled rich NY brats go on a "spiritual" journey in a impoverished country...oh wait. Every shot is centered. Even when the movie gets serious it is cliché (the music kicks in This movie is about as boring as watching emotionally crippled rich NY brats go on a "spiritual" journey in a impoverished country...oh wait. Every shot is centered. Even when the movie gets serious it is cliché (the music kicks in and it goes into slow motion) and you have seen it before in other Wes Anderson movies. There are a few funny parts and at the very least the movie isn't offensive. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DamianP.Mar 14, 2008
While the movie had some good, fresh moments, it chose the easy options too often, especially towards the end. I felt that the director could see that the relationships were over simplified so he contrived some stuff (it's so While the movie had some good, fresh moments, it chose the easy options too often, especially towards the end. I felt that the director could see that the relationships were over simplified so he contrived some stuff (it's so simplistic, I think "stuff" is a good enough word) to make them less bland. The ending was uninspired and made the whole exercise seem pointless. A waste of talented actors. I definately won't watch this one again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Nov 5, 2007
The Darjeeling Limited, while not a total flop, is a pretty big let down to this long time Wes Anderson fan. Anderson has always managed to weave an ensemble cast with a great story filled with characters that were not only unique but also The Darjeeling Limited, while not a total flop, is a pretty big let down to this long time Wes Anderson fan. Anderson has always managed to weave an ensemble cast with a great story filled with characters that were not only unique but also interesting. The same can not be said for Darjeeling. I found all the characters extremely pretentious, and felt like I had no emotional connection to them. This most likely stems from the fact that Anderson really drops the ball when developing these characters. Another inconsistency from previous movies is a overall lack of comedy. There are some quips here and there that got a slight chuckle but on the whole there isn't really any good laughs. One of the most common complaints that have been raised against the movie is that nothing happens. I agree with this and found it to be even more irritating to sit through this 2 hour movie with no real resolutions to many of the conflicts in the movie. Most other Wes Anderson movies are wrapped up in a neat little package at the end of the movie, not this one though. Really the only aspect of the movie I enjoyed was the cinematography, all the camera work, set design, and wardrobe were excellent. These were the only aspect of the movie to carry over from previous Anderson movies. Hopefully Anderson will return to his previous writing partners from Rushmore and Tennenbaums, and give us a much more interesting and entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelE.Oct 27, 2007
I'm not sure about this one... I may have to see it again. I liked it, despite the presence of numerous flaws, but I didn't like it as much as The Life Aqauatic. Not much more I can say than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DroogNov 12, 2007
I am a big Wes Anderson fan, and I have to say this movie is pretty darn bad. In contrast with Anderson's earlier films, which are generally well-paced and funny, Darjeeling is slow and boring. Nothing really happens, and when something I am a big Wes Anderson fan, and I have to say this movie is pretty darn bad. In contrast with Anderson's earlier films, which are generally well-paced and funny, Darjeeling is slow and boring. Nothing really happens, and when something actually does happen, both the event and the significance it is meant to convey feels forced. Worse of all is Darjeeling's dialogue. This is often Anderson's strength -- the witty repartee, oddball non-sequiturs, deadpan delivery. In this film the writing is tepid and humorless. The only redeemable aspect of the movie is the cinematography and set design. But cool camera shots alone do not make a good movie. Like all the characters within this film, Darjeeling Limited is all style and no substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatrickDOct 15, 2007
A lot looser than the stiff The Life Aquatic, Wes Anderson has made clear his dirty secret: he's a shallow film maker. All the trappings and details are extravagant, but you could have set this movie in Japan or Czech Republic and you A lot looser than the stiff The Life Aquatic, Wes Anderson has made clear his dirty secret: he's a shallow film maker. All the trappings and details are extravagant, but you could have set this movie in Japan or Czech Republic and you would have come out with the same film. Sure there are jarring moments, but none of them take hold. It's a fun little film, but don't expect too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JMOct 15, 2007
Wes Anderson is all over this film, in front of characters, and he's in the way of what could have been a fascinating picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayH.Feb 14, 2008
I don't care for Wes Anderson's pretentious style of filmmaking, and this one did not impress me at all. Adrien Brody and Anjelica Huston are bright spots, but Owen Wilson is awful. The score is so annoying. It is well photographed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AaronR.Mar 12, 2008
(sigh) this movie was a major disappointment. the movie's plot and characters, which Wes Anderson is usually dead on with, really suffered. Word of advice, avoid this movie. Go see his other films which are all masterpieces to the (sigh) this movie was a major disappointment. the movie's plot and characters, which Wes Anderson is usually dead on with, really suffered. Word of advice, avoid this movie. Go see his other films which are all masterpieces to the truest sense of the word. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
It's sterile, slow-moving, and does like to remind you of how much it loves itself. But it is also a large step forward for Wes Anderson. It is a film of maturity, deeper ideas, richer symbolism, more carefully tailored performances, andIt's sterile, slow-moving, and does like to remind you of how much it loves itself. But it is also a large step forward for Wes Anderson. It is a film of maturity, deeper ideas, richer symbolism, more carefully tailored performances, and above all else, genuine emotion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Although not as exciting as its precursor short film, Hotel Chevalier. Darjeeling is an adventure through India and through the minds of three of the most peculiar brothers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
axelkochMar 2, 2013
While the cast is very good, the screenplay including all these hilarious running gags is great and the Indian setting is amiable, the meaning of this 2007 road movie falls by the wayside. After the jump-off-the-train scene, the audience isWhile the cast is very good, the screenplay including all these hilarious running gags is great and the Indian setting is amiable, the meaning of this 2007 road movie falls by the wayside. After the jump-off-the-train scene, the audience is just as the lead characters: confused. Not even the ending is fulfilling and therefore, The Darjeeling Limited is nothing more than a weird Asia trip that isn't able to build an enjoyable ensemble on its many enjoyable moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews