Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: September 29, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 215 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
161
Mixed:
30
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
talisencrwMay 25, 2016
This was really enjoyable. I know I over-rate Anderson films but it's because I highly enjoy both his visual sensibility and the quirky style of humanistic humour that's pervasive in his work. I also greatly admire Adrien Brody's acting--soThis was really enjoyable. I know I over-rate Anderson films but it's because I highly enjoy both his visual sensibility and the quirky style of humanistic humour that's pervasive in his work. I also greatly admire Adrien Brody's acting--so taken together, even though this isn't considered one of his better efforts, it was 4.5/5 or 9/10 for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGAug 26, 2015
It's artistic simplicity in representing India and it's ability to warm you up inside is second to none. What this film needed was some inspiration from the country it's set in, some spice. Something relatively unexpected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
tonyGreenDec 20, 2014
Easily my favourite Wes Anderson movie. A little heavier than some of his other movies, this one packs a genuine emotional punch. Great / perfect performances from the three lead roles. Beautifully shot in Anderson's signature style.Easily my favourite Wes Anderson movie. A little heavier than some of his other movies, this one packs a genuine emotional punch. Great / perfect performances from the three lead roles. Beautifully shot in Anderson's signature style. Fantastic locations. Some genuinely funny scenes and lines. Great soundtrack. 'Nuff said. Worth watching several times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Although not as exciting as its precursor short film, Hotel Chevalier. Darjeeling is an adventure through India and through the minds of three of the most peculiar brothers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 11, 2014
This is undeniably typical Wes Anderson fare and completely reminiscent of The Royal Tenenbaums in terms of story and mood. Though, I think I like this one a bit more than 'Tenenbaums', though the other is quite good as well. Here, we seeThis is undeniably typical Wes Anderson fare and completely reminiscent of The Royal Tenenbaums in terms of story and mood. Though, I think I like this one a bit more than 'Tenenbaums', though the other is quite good as well. Here, we see three brothers journey through India trying to reunite after being apart for far too long. The laughs are not many, but there are certainly enough to call this one a comedy and the drama elements work very well here. Wes Anderson's direction is brilliant as usual and the cinematography fantastic. The three leads, Adrien Brody, Jason Schwartzman, and Owen Wilson, all turn in good performances and do a great job making themselves feel "real" and the relationships authentic. Ultimately, this one is charming, touching film about family and the things that drive us away from one another and then the things that bring us back together. Overall, a good film that may not be one of Anderson's best works, but certainly fits very well in his filmography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kisu999Sep 7, 2013
My favorite movie ever, just perfect. It's hard to explain why it's so good, to somebody who hasn't seen it. Every man, woman and child in the world should watch it at least 10 000 times...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonAug 5, 2013
In The Darjeeling Limited writer/director Wes Anderson takes his talent for long, uncomfortable silences and shoves it into a series of extreme close-ups by shooting a large portion of his film on a cramped, moving train. It starts with aIn The Darjeeling Limited writer/director Wes Anderson takes his talent for long, uncomfortable silences and shoves it into a series of extreme close-ups by shooting a large portion of his film on a cramped, moving train. It starts with a brilliantly sequenced slow motion nod to his fans, in an opening cameo where Anderson regular Bill Murray chases down and barely misses the train that starts the film’s journey, only to be replaced on board by the much more fleet of foot Anderson newcomer Adrien Brody. The train is the Darjeeling Limited, part of a cross country railway in India. Brody plays Peter and he’s just leaped on board at the last minute in order to meet up with his two brothers. They’re on a vacation planned by oldest brother Francis (Owen Wilson) who, after the death of their father a year ago, wants to use the trip as a spiritual journey that will reconnect the three of them or, at the least, help them figure out a way to get along with one another. Peter is hesitant but willing to give it a try. Youngest brother Jack’s (Jason Schwartzman) head is somewhere else entirely, having just left behind an on again off again girlfriend who all three seem to agree is just no good for him. The girlfriend is played by Natalie Portman, who really has nothing to with the movie but appears in a short film called Hotel Chevalier shown before Darjeeling at film festivals. The short is a sensual piece of work, Anderson’s first real attempt at eroticism. It’s ten minutes of awkward meetings and sexual preludes followed by the stripping of Portman by Schwartzman’s character and then some naked cuddling. It sets up the character of Jack nicely, so it’s unfortunate that it won’t be seen in theaters when Darjeeling is finally released. Instead Fox has announced that they’re using Chevalier as some sort of awful, viral marketing scheme. They won’t show it before the movie, but they feel it’s essential to the movie so they’re making it available online and recommending everyone go to their website and watch it. I guess they’re hoping Portman’s partial nudity in the short will generate online ad revenues or drum up interest in the larger film, but if they really believe it’s important to Darjeeling well then you have to wonder why it’s not being included with its theatrical release. Maybe they’ll change their mind. Darjeeling is full of fantastic individual moments and more than a few full throated laughs. Wilson, Brody, and Schwartzman give great, intentionally understated performances. Owen and Jason are used to working with Anderson and know almost instinctively what he wants while Adrien Brody slides right into Wes’s signature style almost as if he’s been in all of his movies somewhere and we’ve somehow overlooked him. Still, I can't quite shake the feeling that what the movie really needed was for Bill Murray to catch that train. Anderson's talent has always been in finding humor and heart by turning the weird into the mundane and the mundane into the weird. He does it again in Darjeeling, but the film strikes a more muted pose than his previous efforts and doesn't entirely fit together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
axelkochMar 2, 2013
While the cast is very good, the screenplay including all these hilarious running gags is great and the Indian setting is amiable, the meaning of this 2007 road movie falls by the wayside. After the jump-off-the-train scene, the audience isWhile the cast is very good, the screenplay including all these hilarious running gags is great and the Indian setting is amiable, the meaning of this 2007 road movie falls by the wayside. After the jump-off-the-train scene, the audience is just as the lead characters: confused. Not even the ending is fulfilling and therefore, The Darjeeling Limited is nothing more than a weird Asia trip that isn't able to build an enjoyable ensemble on its many enjoyable moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BestponyJan 2, 2013
The Darjeeling Limited might be the best way to test how much you really like Anderson. The story gets lost along with the titular train and never really comes back, it's moral is delivered in an almost embarrassingly literal scene, theThe Darjeeling Limited might be the best way to test how much you really like Anderson. The story gets lost along with the titular train and never really comes back, it's moral is delivered in an almost embarrassingly literal scene, the cameos (Murray, Portman) are entirely unnecessary, and the cooler-than-your-playlist soundtrack seems designed to make you buy a book on Indian film music. But if you love Anderson unmistakable style, you'll gladly hop on the train along with the three fantastic main actors, content to let the director take you wherever he wishes. It's a warm, laid-back, colorful experience, essentially comfort food for a particular type of moviegoer. If "Anderson being Anderson" sounds good to you, you won't be disappointed. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJul 9, 2012
Although The Darjeeling Limited is one of Wes Anderson's weaker movies, it still offers up a delightful journey. Rich with local color and Anderson's trademark lightness, The Darjeeling Limited has both the gentle laughs and catharsis of hisAlthough The Darjeeling Limited is one of Wes Anderson's weaker movies, it still offers up a delightful journey. Rich with local color and Anderson's trademark lightness, The Darjeeling Limited has both the gentle laughs and catharsis of his previous works. It might not pack as powerful a punch as Rushmore or have the same level of insanity as The Life Aquatic, but it's still an excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloJan 27, 2012
When three brothers reunite on a train traveling across India after a year of silence between them the result is this quirky, dry comedy. Starring Owen Wilson, Adrien Brody, and Jason Schwartzman this film is Director, Wes Anderson's finest.When three brothers reunite on a train traveling across India after a year of silence between them the result is this quirky, dry comedy. Starring Owen Wilson, Adrien Brody, and Jason Schwartzman this film is Director, Wes Anderson's finest. This is saying something, as Anderson is one of the finest filmmakers of this generation. This movie made me want to go on a train ride across India with my brothers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JawsPapi87Sep 2, 2011
This movie was really funny and the three leads all delivered stellar performances. This movie was also pretty touching. Way more than it should have been
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
It's sterile, slow-moving, and does like to remind you of how much it loves itself. But it is also a large step forward for Wes Anderson. It is a film of maturity, deeper ideas, richer symbolism, more carefully tailored performances, andIt's sterile, slow-moving, and does like to remind you of how much it loves itself. But it is also a large step forward for Wes Anderson. It is a film of maturity, deeper ideas, richer symbolism, more carefully tailored performances, and above all else, genuine emotion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RobertSimpsonJan 31, 2011
There is a time and a place for great movies, and this has to be one of them, it's thought provoking and sometimes funny, i admit sometimes the film maybe slightly lacking in action, but it makes you think and that's the main point of the film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TubieNov 2, 2010
It's nice to see these actors do such a great job in this movie. Some of the actors you would not consider them fit for the roles they play but they do a great job and the end result is a great story and a great experience portrayedIt's nice to see these actors do such a great job in this movie. Some of the actors you would not consider them fit for the roles they play but they do a great job and the end result is a great story and a great experience portrayed masterfully by a great cast and a director that keeps on creating great films. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
jonbSep 14, 2009
Plot and Characters are not at all engaging. As someone who has lived in India, it doesn't have a genuine Indian feel. Not filmed in Darjeeling or in any other much more beautiful places in India.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinM.Mar 7, 2009
I guess I'm one of the few users reviewing this that actually liked the movie, which is too bad. Wes Anderson is one of few comedic writers who actually can make both a funny and touching movie. It also doesn't hurt that Bill Murry I guess I'm one of the few users reviewing this that actually liked the movie, which is too bad. Wes Anderson is one of few comedic writers who actually can make both a funny and touching movie. It also doesn't hurt that Bill Murry was in the movie and Jason Schwartzman as well as being a lead also co-wrote it. They make a good team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisF.Feb 6, 2009
A fantastic, visually beautiful film. A big step up for Wes. :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zachG.Oct 18, 2008
One of Andersons best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregB.Aug 5, 2008
This is is one of Wes Anderson's better movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndreA.Jun 4, 2008
No amount of posing and art direction can save this "movie". It is a shallow film devoid of any honesty or merit. Considering the talent and budget, it is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I felt nothing for the characters, the No amount of posing and art direction can save this "movie". It is a shallow film devoid of any honesty or merit. Considering the talent and budget, it is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I felt nothing for the characters, the plot, the writing or anything. One could derive more from reading a cereal box. Wes Anderson, should start over again and focus on substance first instead of style. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronF.Apr 7, 2008
Classic Anderson style, redefined Anderson execution. Warning: Will only enjoy if akin to Anderson's previous works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimM.Apr 7, 2008
Very funny at first, then quite affecting. A wry commentary on family relations, and eventually a moving account of intercultural experience. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DamianP.Mar 14, 2008
While the movie had some good, fresh moments, it chose the easy options too often, especially towards the end. I felt that the director could see that the relationships were over simplified so he contrived some stuff (it's so While the movie had some good, fresh moments, it chose the easy options too often, especially towards the end. I felt that the director could see that the relationships were over simplified so he contrived some stuff (it's so simplistic, I think "stuff" is a good enough word) to make them less bland. The ending was uninspired and made the whole exercise seem pointless. A waste of talented actors. I definately won't watch this one again. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
AaronR.Mar 12, 2008
(sigh) this movie was a major disappointment. the movie's plot and characters, which Wes Anderson is usually dead on with, really suffered. Word of advice, avoid this movie. Go see his other films which are all masterpieces to the (sigh) this movie was a major disappointment. the movie's plot and characters, which Wes Anderson is usually dead on with, really suffered. Word of advice, avoid this movie. Go see his other films which are all masterpieces to the truest sense of the word. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoemMar 11, 2008
I'm a big fan of Wes Anderson's other movies. Rushmore and the royal Tenenbaums are two of my all time favorites, but this one sucked. having seen his other movies, i could predict virtually every line of dialogue. Soo boring, self I'm a big fan of Wes Anderson's other movies. Rushmore and the royal Tenenbaums are two of my all time favorites, but this one sucked. having seen his other movies, i could predict virtually every line of dialogue. Soo boring, self consciously quirky, and overwrought. ugh. 20 minutes of slow motion in a movie is too much. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JwMar 9, 2008
Slow motion is used so well in Wes Anderson's visual arsenal. The symbolic passing of the torch from Anderson regular Bill Murray to newcomer Adrien Brody is classic. But the final boarding sequence, in which all three brothers discard Slow motion is used so well in Wes Anderson's visual arsenal. The symbolic passing of the torch from Anderson regular Bill Murray to newcomer Adrien Brody is classic. But the final boarding sequence, in which all three brothers discard the baggage of the father, is the true gem. The hilarity, as always, is measured, circumstantial. If anyone is going to deliver a line about trying everything, "even if it's shocking or painful," it should be the character with bandages around his head. Such is the logic of Wes Anderson. I love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackMMar 9, 2008
I have never watched anything worse. I would've walked out if I hadn't fallen asleep. You people should be ashamed of yourselves for making this piece of crap.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KenCMar 5, 2008
If I never watched this film, I would not have missed it. The film was - just nothing! It was not unwatchable - just not relevant to anything. A late night watch when you just can not sleep - it might put you to sleep.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BradM.Mar 4, 2008
"All the characters are fictional." I love how Wes is always making these little jabs at the critics and how aware he is of his art. He is not afraid to take blows and sustain his vision. The movie was amazing. It is one of those works that "All the characters are fictional." I love how Wes is always making these little jabs at the critics and how aware he is of his art. He is not afraid to take blows and sustain his vision. The movie was amazing. It is one of those works that makes you want to make films. The guy from the San Francisco Chron. is a moron. This film sticks with you after you watch it and has so many good lines. It is an honest commentary on the materialistic, spiritually lost and drug hazy American pilgrim. When the baggage is left behind in the last scene it is classic Salinger. I love how watching Anderson films is like reading Salinger's Nine Stories-- they get better every time you read/watch them. Bravo, Wes, "No, seriously, I just don't think they got it." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
dani9374Mar 3, 2008
Great movie. If u like Wes Anderson than this is a must see, if u didn't like or get Rushmore don't bother.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
littleo.Mar 2, 2008
Big disappointment!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SunilBMar 1, 2008
A silly movie! One of the worst movie seen on DVD. Boring boring boring with an inane slow plot and lame humor. Am glad I didn't see it in the theater. Would have passed out!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobJ.Feb 29, 2008
Fantastic character driven movie across a metonymic India.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
psychomanFeb 28, 2008
I would respectfully submit that a lot of the bad reviews stem from the simple fact that people did not "get" the film in the sense that they made no effort to understand it. To me, Darjeeling Limited is a fantastically funny, absurd and I would respectfully submit that a lot of the bad reviews stem from the simple fact that people did not "get" the film in the sense that they made no effort to understand it. To me, Darjeeling Limited is a fantastically funny, absurd and skewed portrayal of people's inability to empathize and forgive... and their innate capability of transcending their petty selves to achieve greater understanding of themselves and others. At first look a comedy, and then, like all great comedies, it becomes a humane work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Feb 27, 2008
Great Movie. I love it. Makes you want to let go of the little things in life, and do things to fulfill yourself. Amazing cast, great soundtrack, beautiful scenery. A good time if you can relate to the material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricC.Feb 26, 2008
Every Wes Anderson film following Rushmore has been a love it or hate it work, but I've consistently been on the love side, and this is especially true for this film. Much better then the pretty bland Life Aquatic and almost on the same Every Wes Anderson film following Rushmore has been a love it or hate it work, but I've consistently been on the love side, and this is especially true for this film. Much better then the pretty bland Life Aquatic and almost on the same level as the Royal Tenenbaums, there really wasn't a single moment where I didn't enjoy this movie. I don't see how you can knock him for reusing white upperclass characters. If you say that, then you have to apply the same rule to Igmar Bergman, who consistently portrayed emotionally crumbling characters who struggle with the possible lack of God and a greater purpose. I'm not at all comparing Anderson to Bergman, I'm just saying that the whole "he should change his style" argument doesn't hold much ground, in my opinion. Maybe his movies just have more relevance to some people than others (and I'm not an upperclass New Yorker), and I'm not going to bash his haters. He writes incredible scripts, has a good eye for impressive shots, and knows how to use actors to their fullest potential. And Adrien Brody was an awesome addition to his usual band of actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FredXFeb 26, 2008
This is the type of movie where paid critics fail to call the bluff. Even though it has some well-known actors, a story which sounds fun on paper, nice photo, etc. this is pure rubbish. Only uptight persons who don't know what fun is This is the type of movie where paid critics fail to call the bluff. Even though it has some well-known actors, a story which sounds fun on paper, nice photo, etc. this is pure rubbish. Only uptight persons who don't know what fun is could call this funny - to me and the rest of the wourld's humerous inclined kind, this is utterly boring. If this wasn't enough, characters are very unlikeable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JEllisFeb 24, 2008
Quirky and fun; fable-like. Even the director constantly poking his finger in my eye with his symbology didn't take away from my enjoyment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RickS.Feb 20, 2008
This was the comedy film of the year. It doesn't contain foolish humor that sixth graders can write, it is the kind of humor that the viewer needs a certain amount of intellect in order to understand. The cinematography was outstanding This was the comedy film of the year. It doesn't contain foolish humor that sixth graders can write, it is the kind of humor that the viewer needs a certain amount of intellect in order to understand. The cinematography was outstanding along with the beautiful and scenic locations. The musical score added to the intensity and eloquence when it needed the extra push. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JayH.Feb 14, 2008
I don't care for Wes Anderson's pretentious style of filmmaking, and this one did not impress me at all. Adrien Brody and Anjelica Huston are bright spots, but Owen Wilson is awful. The score is so annoying. It is well photographed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AriK.Jan 31, 2008
Well, it looks like the critics have finally had their fill of Wes Anderson. He's still kind of doing the same thing - so hey have a point, but that same thing is darn funny. I love his lush world crammed full of idiosyncratic, Well, it looks like the critics have finally had their fill of Wes Anderson. He's still kind of doing the same thing - so hey have a point, but that same thing is darn funny. I love his lush world crammed full of idiosyncratic, angst-ridden, selfish, jet-setting uber-rich people. While I loved Darjeeling, I hope he's getting tired of his own schtick by now and can present us with a sort of different world perhaps not so overburdened by people taking their silly lives quite so seriously -- or at least a bit more aware of the fact that their concerns are ridiculously frivolous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PhilDJan 21, 2008
I'm with Droog on this one. Self-indulgent, tedious and totally unfulfilling. I'm also a fan of Mr Anderson's previous work but the Darjeeling Limited feels like it was made by a poor Wes Anderson imitator. Characters have no I'm with Droog on this one. Self-indulgent, tedious and totally unfulfilling. I'm also a fan of Mr Anderson's previous work but the Darjeeling Limited feels like it was made by a poor Wes Anderson imitator. Characters have no character beyond their quirky appearances. No plot. Arbitrary, unamusing dialogue. Scene after scene of irrelevant, stylized, totally random interaction, leading nowhere. Totally unfunny. Also, lots of gratuitous slo-mo shots of the characters walking around, a device which infuriated me so much that the fifth time it happened I almost left the cinema. I was praying for this mess to end at least half an hour before it finally did. I'm being really harsh because I expected great things. Wes, track down whoever made this film using your name and try to save your reputation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
margauxa.Jan 13, 2008
Ridiculously hilarious. Adrien Brody fits in well with the usual cast of Wes Anderson characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelZ.Jan 8, 2008
Excellent filming, great scenes and dialog, both vocal and interpersonal.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
tinah.Jan 5, 2008
Very boring and self-indulgent, no plot. it seemed like they were making int up on the spot. Very bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonH.Dec 11, 2007
A wonderfully weird, quirky and beautiful film with a good heart. Great performances from all involved including a fantastic non-speaking cameo from Bill Murray as "the businessman". Wes Anderson is the king of alternative comedy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougS.Nov 30, 2007
Quirky, touching entertainment. I felt guilty as I watched because I was having so much fun and I wasn't sure where this movie was going. In the end, we find a thoughtful metaphor bringing it all into focus. The characters' Quirky, touching entertainment. I felt guilty as I watched because I was having so much fun and I wasn't sure where this movie was going. In the end, we find a thoughtful metaphor bringing it all into focus. The characters' heartfelt honesty and ambiguous familiarity makes this film surprisingly personal for anyone who has ever found himself carrying unnecessary baggage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DroogNov 12, 2007
I am a big Wes Anderson fan, and I have to say this movie is pretty darn bad. In contrast with Anderson's earlier films, which are generally well-paced and funny, Darjeeling is slow and boring. Nothing really happens, and when something I am a big Wes Anderson fan, and I have to say this movie is pretty darn bad. In contrast with Anderson's earlier films, which are generally well-paced and funny, Darjeeling is slow and boring. Nothing really happens, and when something actually does happen, both the event and the significance it is meant to convey feels forced. Worse of all is Darjeeling's dialogue. This is often Anderson's strength -- the witty repartee, oddball non-sequiturs, deadpan delivery. In this film the writing is tepid and humorless. The only redeemable aspect of the movie is the cinematography and set design. But cool camera shots alone do not make a good movie. Like all the characters within this film, Darjeeling Limited is all style and no substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
roberti.Nov 10, 2007
The seasoning of family jealousies and affections peppers the Darjeeling, erupting in whispered secrets and outright grappling between brothers. India serves as a picturesque, glittering prop to a New York tale shot with backgrounds of the The seasoning of family jealousies and affections peppers the Darjeeling, erupting in whispered secrets and outright grappling between brothers. India serves as a picturesque, glittering prop to a New York tale shot with backgrounds of the subcontinent's technicolor splendor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenG.Nov 9, 2007
A flawed but overall, worthwhile piece of work. It overstays it's welcome, as all the stuff with Angelica Huston feels corny and uncessary (film should have ended with brothers getting on plane at airport, rather than them tearing up A flawed but overall, worthwhile piece of work. It overstays it's welcome, as all the stuff with Angelica Huston feels corny and uncessary (film should have ended with brothers getting on plane at airport, rather than them tearing up their tickets and going off to find Huston). Films also works better while there is a bit of a chill in the air between the brothers, than it does later on, when the chill thaws, and things become much more warm, fuzzy and sappy between the brothers. But most of the film is pulled of with offbeat humor, charm, heart, good performances, and likable characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
[Anonymous]Nov 5, 2007
The Darjeeling Limited, while not a total flop, is a pretty big let down to this long time Wes Anderson fan. Anderson has always managed to weave an ensemble cast with a great story filled with characters that were not only unique but also The Darjeeling Limited, while not a total flop, is a pretty big let down to this long time Wes Anderson fan. Anderson has always managed to weave an ensemble cast with a great story filled with characters that were not only unique but also interesting. The same can not be said for Darjeeling. I found all the characters extremely pretentious, and felt like I had no emotional connection to them. This most likely stems from the fact that Anderson really drops the ball when developing these characters. Another inconsistency from previous movies is a overall lack of comedy. There are some quips here and there that got a slight chuckle but on the whole there isn't really any good laughs. One of the most common complaints that have been raised against the movie is that nothing happens. I agree with this and found it to be even more irritating to sit through this 2 hour movie with no real resolutions to many of the conflicts in the movie. Most other Wes Anderson movies are wrapped up in a neat little package at the end of the movie, not this one though. Really the only aspect of the movie I enjoyed was the cinematography, all the camera work, set design, and wardrobe were excellent. These were the only aspect of the movie to carry over from previous Anderson movies. Hopefully Anderson will return to his previous writing partners from Rushmore and Tennenbaums, and give us a much more interesting and entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Nov 4, 2007
Wes Anderson doesn't make the standard formula film with a beginning, middle and end, it's more like a whole lot of middle. But what a great big wonderful middle it is! Like dropping into a world of brilliant colors, vibrant music, Wes Anderson doesn't make the standard formula film with a beginning, middle and end, it's more like a whole lot of middle. But what a great big wonderful middle it is! Like dropping into a world of brilliant colors, vibrant music, quirky off-best characters that seem bizarre and so familiar at the same time and locations that are exotic but somehow, right around the corner. The Darjeerling Limited is a Wes Anderson film, and if you like Wes Anderson's work, you're gonna want to take this ride! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
WadeT.Nov 2, 2007
'The Darjeeling Limited' reveals why Seinfeld never could work as a movie. The reality is Wes Anderson's latest movies rolls along with a lifeless rhythm, at times trying to be funny, but none-the-less accomplishing nothing in 'The Darjeeling Limited' reveals why Seinfeld never could work as a movie. The reality is Wes Anderson's latest movies rolls along with a lifeless rhythm, at times trying to be funny, but none-the-less accomplishing nothing in its story of three brothers trying to reconnect after a year apart. The performances never are engaging enough to totally consume you, so you are left with a lifeless piece of filmmaking set in the dessert. I literally wondered if something was going to happen and when it did the storytelling felt forced and unnatural. Anderson's best movies are quirky enough to keep your attention while still providing a unique experience. The Darjeeling Limited is quirky, but that's about it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nickm.Nov 2, 2007
Awesome movie. a must see for all indie/wes anderson fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TrentonOct 30, 2007
I love Wes Anderson... but unfortunately this was the biggest piece of sh.t I've ever seen. The whole movie essentially nothing f.cking happened.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
NickA.Oct 30, 2007
Wes Anderson
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Oct 28, 2007
Yes, the bit in the middle, with the three kids and the raft and all--that's weird, maybe even exploitative, and in any case contrived. Yes, Wes Anderson's style seems to get in the way of some or all of the substance, here maybe Yes, the bit in the middle, with the three kids and the raft and all--that's weird, maybe even exploitative, and in any case contrived. Yes, Wes Anderson's style seems to get in the way of some or all of the substance, here maybe even more than in Life Aquatic. And yet! I liked it. And anyone who liked his previous movies will like it (unless they want to get all critic-y and complain about Anderson repeating himself, in which case they are the cause of their own satisfaction), and I think a fair number of people who have not seen his previous movies might like it too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DGOct 28, 2007
Funniest movie of the year by far. The characters are brilliant and they interact beautifully together. The filming of India is very realistic, showing things present there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoraPOct 28, 2007
I enjoyed this movie tremendously. Visually beautiful, much more depth than I expected. Sure, the characters start out shallow and end up just a little less shallow at the end of the story. Its just a movie, after all. But I was completely I enjoyed this movie tremendously. Visually beautiful, much more depth than I expected. Sure, the characters start out shallow and end up just a little less shallow at the end of the story. Its just a movie, after all. But I was completely engaged and entertained by it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZapperOct 28, 2007
The sound and song track were wonderful. I suspect the will be another cult classic for Wes Anderson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Oct 27, 2007
With the absence of the arch-comic tone of this filmmaker's past movies, when the three brothers participate in the Indian culture, they appear sincere in their efforts to assimilate, without a trace of condescencion and hubris. As "The With the absence of the arch-comic tone of this filmmaker's past movies, when the three brothers participate in the Indian culture, they appear sincere in their efforts to assimilate, without a trace of condescencion and hubris. As "The Darjeeling Limited" goes meta- on us, the mature tone of the film then becomes the joke, even though the film itself isn't jokey. Its artificiality becomes the ultimate expression of deadpan comedy. Remarkably, when the narrative is resumed after its feat of literary pyrotechnics, "The Darjeeling Limited" still manages to be reasonably earnest and sad. Is the film improved by its own self-reflexiveness? Probably not. Good performances by the three leads would've been enough to recommend this slight(in a good sense) film about life and fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexOct 27, 2007
A very good film. A little less humor than I am used to from Wes Anderson, but the great cinematography, and wonderfully developed characters make up for that. Darjeeling is not for everybody, and I could see people really hating this film. A very good film. A little less humor than I am used to from Wes Anderson, but the great cinematography, and wonderfully developed characters make up for that. Darjeeling is not for everybody, and I could see people really hating this film. On the other hand, if you have the pleasure of seeing this film for what it is; a wonderful portrayal of human emotion, experience, and pain, you are in for a treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelE.Oct 27, 2007
I'm not sure about this one... I may have to see it again. I liked it, despite the presence of numerous flaws, but I didn't like it as much as The Life Aqauatic. Not much more I can say than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HamiltonHOct 25, 2007
Smug, uninvolving, few laughs, no one to like, a waste of time. the acting is ok.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KeltonS.Oct 23, 2007
While Wes Anderson kind of lost it with The Life Aquatic, he redeemed himself with Darjeeling. The movie is amazing to look at with an Indian color palette of oranges, turquoises, reds, and yellows, and the story is actually really engaging. While Wes Anderson kind of lost it with The Life Aquatic, he redeemed himself with Darjeeling. The movie is amazing to look at with an Indian color palette of oranges, turquoises, reds, and yellows, and the story is actually really engaging. Each of the three brothers seems like a real unique person at the end and the soundtrack is used beautifully like in all Wes Anderson films. I don't know why the critics didn't like it so much. Yes Anderson may not have made a revolutionary film for him, but he has proven that he is amazing at what he does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FromaZ.Oct 22, 2007
Wonderfully offbeat film, full of surprises, lush setting, and much irony. all the actors are terrific. a huge pleasure to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanFOct 22, 2007
Awesome! It was much better than I had thought it would be because I read too many reviews. It was a great time at the movies; heartfelt, humorous and totally satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobTOct 21, 2007
Absolutely the best film that I have seen all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CaladoniaK.Oct 20, 2007
Terrible.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AramisG.Oct 20, 2007
This movie is about as boring as watching emotionally crippled rich NY brats go on a "spiritual" journey in a impoverished country...oh wait. Every shot is centered. Even when the movie gets serious it is cliché (the music kicks in This movie is about as boring as watching emotionally crippled rich NY brats go on a "spiritual" journey in a impoverished country...oh wait. Every shot is centered. Even when the movie gets serious it is cliché (the music kicks in and it goes into slow motion) and you have seen it before in other Wes Anderson movies. There are a few funny parts and at the very least the movie isn't offensive. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JMOct 15, 2007
Wes Anderson is all over this film, in front of characters, and he's in the way of what could have been a fascinating picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatrickDOct 15, 2007
A lot looser than the stiff The Life Aquatic, Wes Anderson has made clear his dirty secret: he's a shallow film maker. All the trappings and details are extravagant, but you could have set this movie in Japan or Czech Republic and you A lot looser than the stiff The Life Aquatic, Wes Anderson has made clear his dirty secret: he's a shallow film maker. All the trappings and details are extravagant, but you could have set this movie in Japan or Czech Republic and you would have come out with the same film. Sure there are jarring moments, but none of them take hold. It's a fun little film, but don't expect too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BillyB.Oct 13, 2007
Spoonfed drivel. Neither cute nor clever. Style over substance. Formula fatigue. Borderline cliché. So sad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SteveTOct 12, 2007
obvious boring nonsense. a lighthearted spiritual journey in the crazy third world. is this a bad max fischer play?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LolaM.Oct 12, 2007
The characters are easily relatable. The Darjeeling Limited is heartfelt and is truly a spectacular movie. Visually, this movie is great as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesKDOct 11, 2007
Nobody takes these seriously!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisAOct 9, 2007
A heart-felt look at the complex relationship brothers share. It goes from hilarious to heartbreaking in the blink of an eye. Wes Anderson simply knows how to develop characters. He doesn't beat you over the head with any contrived A heart-felt look at the complex relationship brothers share. It goes from hilarious to heartbreaking in the blink of an eye. Wes Anderson simply knows how to develop characters. He doesn't beat you over the head with any contrived message, but simply lets you watch how these characters interact with each other. It's a beautifully filmed movie, well-acted, with gorgeous settings and music. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeborahL.Oct 8, 2007
Deep and delightful and visually delicious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimMOct 8, 2007
Really, really good. Laugh-out-loud funny, yet touching, and tackling more expansive and universal themes than before. Highly recommended.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevitivityOct 8, 2007
Wes Anderson at his best. Touching, Sad, Charming, Funny. His best since Rushmore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TarbakV.Oct 1, 2007
Dreadful, precious, torturous. Stop him before he films again.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
9
RogerK.Oct 1, 2007
Awesome movie! Funniest movie he has done since Rushmore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful