Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 20, 2012
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3891 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,262
Mixed:
344
Negative:
285
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Critic2012Jul 21, 2012
From the incredible opening sequence to the jaw-dropping finale, The Dark Knight Rises is incredible. It falters briefly in the beginning, which is mostly dialogue, but it instantly picks up the pace and ends beautifully, giving a veryFrom the incredible opening sequence to the jaw-dropping finale, The Dark Knight Rises is incredible. It falters briefly in the beginning, which is mostly dialogue, but it instantly picks up the pace and ends beautifully, giving a very satisfying conclusion to an epic trilogy. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SammyMFHutchJul 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrific gratifying tale about the Dark knight. Perfect way to close out a trilogy. I love the effin movies. saw it 3 times in the first 4 days it was out. Maybe it's cause I'm a Bat fanboy, no it's an amazing film. Hathaway is sexy as catwoman,but it's a whole different role and character from Michelle Pfeiffer in 1992. Wayne has to learn to be batman again after eight years, some Rocky moments(Alfred saying he can't beat bane in a fight & throwing a rock at the TV in the bottom of the pit reminded me of Rocky tearing up the picture of Drago in Rock IV,and the statue),but its all good. Hardy is physically menacing and kicks the snot out of batman, great story telling. You get emotionally into this movie,and that's what makes it so sweet. One minor grump of mine is when the bad guys leave the stock exchange those barricades make perfect ramps,while it's day, and then it's night by the end of the chase.Oldman and Caine play Alfred and Gordon perfectly,how else would they do it? Gordon Levett is great and I believe he will protect the city since Wayne goes off into the sunset. The league of Shadows connection show how he has come full circle,and how Wayne does Rise to protect Gotham at all cost. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nathanoddiJul 22, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises is the end to the one of the greatest trilogies since the Lord of the Rings and it delivers in flying colors. You'll find the action on par with the previous Batman iterations but with bigger set piece moments, betterThe Dark Knight Rises is the end to the one of the greatest trilogies since the Lord of the Rings and it delivers in flying colors. You'll find the action on par with the previous Batman iterations but with bigger set piece moments, better choreographed fighting, and more physically dominant characters. The story is also something for those who have paid attention to the previous Batman titles, referencing mostly Batman Begins but a few Dark Knight allusions as well. For that, I must recommend seeing both Batman Begins and The Dark Knight for the ultimate pleasurable movie experience. This is Christian Bale's best Batman performance of the trilogy and all time, as he makes us believe he is a broken man with nothing to live for. As for Tom Hardy, he's no Heath Ledger, but he puts on the physical performance of a lifetime, even if you can't necessarily understand everything he is saying, but all that is needed to be heard is heard. Anne Hathaway brings her own version of Catwoman, a much more likable version than the one Michelle Pheiffer acted as quite a few years ago. She has much sex appeal and can hold her own against whoever. Also in the cast, Michael Caine's Alfred has one of the saddest scenes within the entire trilogy, and you really do feel the mood that Nolan was going for. The entire movie is like tying up many loose ends as they're is a lot to explain. What happens to Batman? Bruce Wayne? Who is John Blake? Will he ever be the same man again? You'll just have to see the movie to find out. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Danish15Jul 21, 2012
EPIC!!! Almost equal to the dark knight. Perfect movie with the best ending i've seen in any movie so far. The best movie of 2012 so far. Tom Hardy stole the show as the Bane.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LordpallAug 1, 2012
Awesome, during the first hour of the movie, I was a bit disapointed but then all goes on, we can see everything, it's clear, this is an Amazing movie.
Nolan puts us in a world of chaos, all shall thrill.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nlover4Jul 23, 2012
This movie is great. It has its boring moments but for the most part, it never ever lets down. Only fools will think this movie is good, dummies will think its ok and complete morons will hate it. Rise out of your seat and go see the DarkThis movie is great. It has its boring moments but for the most part, it never ever lets down. Only fools will think this movie is good, dummies will think its ok and complete morons will hate it. Rise out of your seat and go see the Dark Knight Rises, now!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
maverick0023Jul 21, 2012
Overall amazing movie in my opinion. The actors all did wonders with their parts and catwoman was portrayed better than I hoped. I never had trouble with banes voice and in fact found it oddly loud at times but easily understood, the stylizedOverall amazing movie in my opinion. The actors all did wonders with their parts and catwoman was portrayed better than I hoped. I never had trouble with banes voice and in fact found it oddly loud at times but easily understood, the stylized voice was really cool and unique too. The free use of time jumps gave the movie a clunky feel at times and it also seemed a wasted opportunity to not explore more deeply the third act. That being said had this exploration happened the movie would have been even longer thus turning more people off since many people already complained about length and boring parts. I feel that had the movie been given a chance to explore a few relationships more and situations more it would have lead to better payoffs but then again I would be ok with a 5 hour movie, which isn't for everyone. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
I loved this movie. I love this series. It stands alone as a pantheon of cinema, not just within the superhero genre. That being said, the second film is the best in the series, it's 'Empire Strikes Back' if you will. As I was watching itI loved this movie. I love this series. It stands alone as a pantheon of cinema, not just within the superhero genre. That being said, the second film is the best in the series, it's 'Empire Strikes Back' if you will. As I was watching it I viewed it as a masterpiece. Once I had some time to digest it, I began to notice points of inconsistency and plain stupidity on the part of the filmmakers. For instance, after the cops are rescued from beneath the city, they appear wearing freshly pressed uniforms and are cleanly shaven. Keep in mind that they were under for almost 3 months, this seems highly unlikely. They barely had basic supplies let alone a drycleaner and razorblades. Also, once Batman escapes from the prison, he somehow enters a completely locked down Gotham without anyone noticing or any visible means of transportation. Finally, Bane's age is somewhat difficult to swallow. He appears to be in his twenties when he helps Talia escape the prison, where she is probably about 8 or 9. In the film she appears to be somwhere in her late thirties to early forties, meaning that Bane is somewhere in his fifties and possibly even sixties. It seems unlikely for him to be that old, considering he looks to be in his late twenties to early thirties (at least to me). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TomJordanJul 21, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises, the last film in the Christopher Nolan franchise, certainly lives up to the incredibly high standard set by the film's predecessor The Dark Knight. The incredibly detailed story has you on the edge of your seat fromThe Dark Knight Rises, the last film in the Christopher Nolan franchise, certainly lives up to the incredibly high standard set by the film's predecessor The Dark Knight. The incredibly detailed story has you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. With outstanding performances from every member of the cast this film is truly the best superhero films ever made. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Sportsfan756Jul 21, 2012
This movie is the ending this series deserved. It was nearly flawless in every level of its execution, and it played as smoothly as the Dark Knight without question. The acting was not quite on par, but that is easily overlooked in the faceThis movie is the ending this series deserved. It was nearly flawless in every level of its execution, and it played as smoothly as the Dark Knight without question. The acting was not quite on par, but that is easily overlooked in the face of the rest of the elements of the film. Tom Hardy was superb as Bane, albeit he will undoubtedly and unfairly be compared to Heath Ledger's untouchable Joker performance. Every other new addition did a wonderful job, and each was marvelously cast. Anne Hathaway brought a life to the Selina Kyle character that has not been seen in a Batman film to date. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is top-notch, as usual, as young cop John Blake. Gary Oldman is near his very best as Gordon in a role that finds him acting a little outside what has become normal for his character. The action scenes and fight scenes are off the charts amazing, and the plot will absorb you from the opening sequence. The only thing I was not thrilled with was a few scenes where Nolan decided that life-or-death was to be put on hold for less important endeavors. There are some slow parts, but they play slow in a Nolanesque way, so they are still very watchable. The final scenes of the movie are unbelievable and will take your breath away. Plot twists, as they are, will blow your mind and you will wonder, as did I, how Chris Nolan could feel that giving his series a finale after three movies was the best option. If anyone should keep directing Batman films, it is this man. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
weddingsingerJul 28, 2012
Holy cow this is a good movie. It may not quite be as good as The Dark Knight but that was all about Heath Ledger being so unbelievable. This movie doesn't have anyone reaching so high (though Bane does have a wonderful moment), but IHoly cow this is a good movie. It may not quite be as good as The Dark Knight but that was all about Heath Ledger being so unbelievable. This movie doesn't have anyone reaching so high (though Bane does have a wonderful moment), but I think it is just as good because everything else in the movie is still so good (or better). I can't remember the last time I was actually tense during an action sequence (that will remain unnamed for spoiler reasons). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
watithink123Aug 5, 2012
This movie was a great end to the trilogy, its not as good as The Dark Knight but its a movie worth seeing from the users and the critics. The Dark Knight Rises 8.3/10
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
billybob522Jul 30, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge nolan fan and I expected this movie to be better than the dark knight. In my opinion it's on par with the dark knight not because it's bad but because the dark knight is so good. You definitely should watch it in IMAX because 1 hour+ scenes filmed in IMAX really shine. Everything about this movie is amazing the plot, acting and action sequences are amazing. It is an excellent conclusion to the series and the last hour at the end is breathtaking. I do have some minor gripes though. I felt many characters didn't get the screen time they deserved. Obviously Alfred left at the beginning but I really wanted to see more of him. Also catwoman didn't get enough screen time fighting. She's on the batmobile most of the time at the end. I felt Miranda Tate was a really useless character. She doesn't get that much screen time and her transformation into talia is really awkward. Her romance with Bruce Wayne is really fake. I felt the movie should've been about 30 minutes longer. John Blake takes so much screen time that's really not needed. I know they had to really focus on him because he's the next "batman" but I would've liked to see less of him and more of the other characters. Banes voice is 97% fixed but there were still some times where I couldn't understand him. I feel there's not as much feeling in this film as the dark knight. The dark knight does some things better then tdkr but tdkr does something's better then tdk. All in all an amazing movie that really stirs up emotion. I give it a 9.8/10 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SantiagoMAKiiNASep 17, 2012
To call this movie breathtaking would be an insult, as this movie is so much more. This is the stuff William Lincoln was dreaming of back in 1867 when he watched moving drawings rush by through a simple slit cut into a spinning wheel. ThisTo call this movie breathtaking would be an insult, as this movie is so much more. This is the stuff William Lincoln was dreaming of back in 1867 when he watched moving drawings rush by through a simple slit cut into a spinning wheel. This film is the trophy of the American film industry's undisputed triumph in the art.
From some reason I saw the main engineering of this film as a parallel with the human need to invent a god and live and die by its terms. Desynthesizing our responsibilities by use of a third party. Everyone is always looking for a leader to give them a tune to march to. Good or bad. So long as there is a tune, there are always willing participants.
Batman must make a come back, not just to answer to himself, and tie-in the plot of the previous film, but most importantly because people are at a loss after knowing of his existence. Which begs me to wonder: We are all assuming there is a guy sitting comfortably upstairs pulling cords, but what if we really truly knew? As with Batman, we'd be demanding this guy get back to business and do it as we demand him to. After all, his decisions are our lives.
But let's look at it from another point of view. The bad guy, Bane, also has followers. Hordes of maniacs looking for blind faith to provide them juice out of their vacant existence. Reminding me a bit of a lot of terrorist ideologies. The propagation of a bad idea is often better than having no ideas at all. Check with our past historical dictators to confirm my suspicions.
"You must do it without a rope." No one could forget those lines. The true motivator of human evolution. Because when it comes down to it, there is no large human accomplishment that has ever been performed with a safety net. Leaps must be made with blind faith. Something takes place in the universe when there is full commitment in place... Notice that I did use 'blind faith' here as well as I used it in the previous paragraph about evil. Because faith works both ways. The flip side of a coin by the name of 'hope.'
The true lesson Batman delivers here after reconquering his own faith is that humanity must learn to fight its own battles with individually instilled hope and determination. Allow me to explain...
This one book you might have heard of, the Bible, has a somewhat similar story. It's about an unassuming guy that shows up to perform acts no other man could ever fathom. And when he gets everyone's attention, he tells them that they too can do the same if they only believed. Of course, they think he is nuts. Everyone always misses the moral of the story. The reason why Batman has to go away, as did the guy in the Bible... Witnessing greatness is clear proof that we are all part of it. It's already within each one of us. And it's ok to move forward alone. We all find the way. So long as we have faith.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
PisswasserJan 14, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My god this movie was the worst i have seen in years,the first part was genius...but this,Bain...that voice really!!!! sooo annoying after 40 min i shut it off.....d^_^b it's the best you can do.... trust me and this movie was even movie of the year above Django HAHAHAHAHA not a good move Metacritic!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FawazJul 26, 2012
Upon watching this the second time around I was absolutely clear that this was truly a worthy and beautiful way to conclude Nolan's Bat Saga! A few minor plot holes here and there, but overall I was very satisfied as a reader of the comicsUpon watching this the second time around I was absolutely clear that this was truly a worthy and beautiful way to conclude Nolan's Bat Saga! A few minor plot holes here and there, but overall I was very satisfied as a reader of the comics and as a film enthusiast. Its an emotional roller coaster showing one of the world's most beloved heroes go through hell and back. It truly is something to be marvelled. Brave Mr. Nolan. Bravo! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FullmetalJul 21, 2012
This film was what superhero movies should be like. The allegory of Bane as liberalism in America and Batman as conservatism was freaking awesome. It made the film a masterpiece. There is one qualm I have though. Bane's voice sounded likeThis film was what superhero movies should be like. The allegory of Bane as liberalism in America and Batman as conservatism was freaking awesome. It made the film a masterpiece. There is one qualm I have though. Bane's voice sounded like Jonas Venture from the Venture Bros. meets Sean Connery. That was a little cheesy. Otherwise, this was the best film of the year to date. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JunghovaJul 24, 2012
I think the thing that surprises most people is how much soul this movie had - especially for a super hero movie. I thought the acting was top notch, the story was good and of course Nolan delivered. Big kudos for not cheesing the film upI think the thing that surprises most people is how much soul this movie had - especially for a super hero movie. I thought the acting was top notch, the story was good and of course Nolan delivered. Big kudos for not cheesing the film up (a few scenes float the fine line of fromage). If you have the chance, see it in IMAX. I did and it was totally worth it. Only knock against the movie was it didnt explain why Bane had the mask..... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MalteseJul 23, 2012
This is a must-see movie. The Dark Knight Rises is probably the best movie of 2012. The Avengers and a bunch of films pale when compared to The Dark Knight Rises. Christopher Nolan is a very good story teller. The cast and the whole crew didThis is a must-see movie. The Dark Knight Rises is probably the best movie of 2012. The Avengers and a bunch of films pale when compared to The Dark Knight Rises. Christopher Nolan is a very good story teller. The cast and the whole crew did a splendid job. Some moviegoers have doubts about Anne Hathaway but I think she's better than all right. The movie started with tense actions, followed by smooth plots, and then climbed all the way up with non-stop, fast-paced, tense, exciting, breathless actions and plots till the very end of the movie. The Dark Knight Rises is also the best of the Batman trilogy. This is the movie you don't want to miss. Don't wait until DVD/BD is released. Catch it in the theater now. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SaeverinJul 31, 2012
This is one of the best movies in this year the stroyline isnt boring and very good all the other films arent so good true story bros my english is bad i know sorry (swiss)
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JW00042Aug 8, 2012
Christopher Nolan is an amazing film maker. Lets face it Batman is not the easiest to bring into the real world and not have it be cheesy or unrealistic (see Tommy Lee Jones). Reverting back to the League of Shadows story line was brilliantChristopher Nolan is an amazing film maker. Lets face it Batman is not the easiest to bring into the real world and not have it be cheesy or unrealistic (see Tommy Lee Jones). Reverting back to the League of Shadows story line was brilliant considering the loss of the Joker as a potential story. The movies was by no means perfect, but it made its points clearly and more importantly entertainingly. The holes in the story drive me nuts but maybe thats just me looking too deep into a superhero movie. I know this, Nolan made the best version of Batman that could have been made in todays movie industry. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
mrmonsterDec 25, 2012
An awesome finale to the series. Not as good as "The Avengers" or "The Amazing Spider-man", but still a very good superhero movie. The best plot and action in the whole series, and the most twists and turns which will glue your eyes to the TVAn awesome finale to the series. Not as good as "The Avengers" or "The Amazing Spider-man", but still a very good superhero movie. The best plot and action in the whole series, and the most twists and turns which will glue your eyes to the TV screen. Without a doubt among the best movies in all of 2012. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
wesker2012Aug 1, 2012
Good movie. Opening was awesome. The beginning had some very slow parts that almost put me to sleep, they could have edited that down. Also the emotional stuff seemed contrived and awkward. I usually like when they put emotion intoGood movie. Opening was awesome. The beginning had some very slow parts that almost put me to sleep, they could have edited that down. Also the emotional stuff seemed contrived and awkward. I usually like when they put emotion into movies, but here it just felt like melodrama. The action, characters, and acting was very well done I thought though. It wrapped up the series well. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliAug 6, 2012
What I Like To Call
Movie Of The Year
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
seancriswellAug 5, 2012
A very worthy ending to the best trilogy ever put together in this genre. For my money it still does not equal the excellence of Dark Knight, but no super hero ever has, and probably never will. The first half of this movie moved a littleA very worthy ending to the best trilogy ever put together in this genre. For my money it still does not equal the excellence of Dark Knight, but no super hero ever has, and probably never will. The first half of this movie moved a little slow for me, but the payoff in the second half was worth the wait. There have been a lot of complaints about this movie, and most of them surround plot holes. Unless a plot hole severely ruins my enjoyment of a movie in this genre I don't even concern myself with them, they are all over these types of films. One of the things that I have enjoyed the most about Nolan's Batman is the grittiness and believability of the villains, and Rises was no exception to this. I was very worried when I heard that Catwomen was going to become part of this franchise, as I had never seen this character written or performed in a way that I enjoy. Nolan and Hathaway changed all that in this film, and she turned out to be one of the better characters in this trilogy. While Bane is the greatest villain ever, his physical presence in this movie is truly something to be reckoned with. I think that this character was the perfect choice for what Nolan was trying to do at the end of this franchise. No spoilers in this review, I will say that everything paid off for me. While I am disappointed that Nolan is done with my favorite super hero. I am thrilled that I have such a cool trio of movies to enjoy for the rest of my life. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CyberEagle_1xJul 30, 2012
Before i start i just want to say i have never seen a batman film or the comics books just the two Batman: Arkham games and Nolan's batman films. The Dark Knight Rises is a fantastic movie and great conclusion to the trilogy of Nolan's batmanBefore i start i just want to say i have never seen a batman film or the comics books just the two Batman: Arkham games and Nolan's batman films. The Dark Knight Rises is a fantastic movie and great conclusion to the trilogy of Nolan's batman films. its as good as The Dark Knight but not better. the cast in the movie are some of the best. Anne Hathaway as Catwoman who in one scene tricks the polices to leaving her alone by faking to cry , Christian Bale as Batman who gives a great performance , Tom Hardy as Bane who is one of the best villain i have seen but wasn't as good as Heath Ledgers's Joker. My friend said it it was hard to understand him ,i was ok but just to say you might find hard to understand him. The film does have some plot holes what i cant say or i will spoil the film and one scene to do with bane at the end but in the end it is a great film. i recommend it for its good story and great cast Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
jackalope13Jul 21, 2012
This film was very well made, but it for sure hat its flaws. First, the whole first 3rd of the movie is really slow, and I thought it was going to be a horrible movie. Luckily it picks up, and its great from there on out. I loved Bane, maybeThis film was very well made, but it for sure hat its flaws. First, the whole first 3rd of the movie is really slow, and I thought it was going to be a horrible movie. Luckily it picks up, and its great from there on out. I loved Bane, maybe even more so than the joker, but mainly because he just kicks the crap out of Batman, and its awesome. I loved Bane's voice actually. There is a bit to much foreshadow in my opinion, but a definite must see! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
IronhideJul 23, 2012
The best film of the decade, it keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time, wondering what's going to happen, great action sequences, though it has minor plot holes and little time development shown - didn't look like 3 months, moreThe best film of the decade, it keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time, wondering what's going to happen, great action sequences, though it has minor plot holes and little time development shown - didn't look like 3 months, more like 1 - but, hey no film is perfect... A definite film to go and see!!! May Batman Be With You!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SilverManJul 30, 2012
It isn't better than the first Dark Knight, but still a good movie. It has some problems such as: first part too fast, exaggerated ending, exagerated revelations. This film followed the last one path, this Batman history had to end someday.It isn't better than the first Dark Knight, but still a good movie. It has some problems such as: first part too fast, exaggerated ending, exagerated revelations. This film followed the last one path, this Batman history had to end someday. But it didn't end perfectly... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Apemonkey666Aug 16, 2012
The closing chapter to Nolan's Batman Trilogy does not dissapoint. The story is quite elaborate...for a superhero film. The film has a realistic feel and everything looks quite believable thx to the fantastic VFX and set construction. The oneThe closing chapter to Nolan's Batman Trilogy does not dissapoint. The story is quite elaborate...for a superhero film. The film has a realistic feel and everything looks quite believable thx to the fantastic VFX and set construction. The one strange thing that bothered me a bit was that this movie takes place almost completely during the day, which undermines the 'eternal darkness' feeling that seemed to hang over Gotham in the previous films. But if you've seen the first 2 you'll want to know how it ends right ;) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Tbrown15Jul 21, 2012
I will conform that there will be no full review for The Dark Knight Rises. All I will say is, I have never been emotionally captured be any film that I have ever seen. The Dark Knight Rises was the first to do so. After the credits startedI will conform that there will be no full review for The Dark Knight Rises. All I will say is, I have never been emotionally captured be any film that I have ever seen. The Dark Knight Rises was the first to do so. After the credits started rolling down the screen, I was absolutely speechless. I have never been this emotionally attached to a film ever. TDKR is the best film I have ever had the privilege of viewing. Enormous way to end such an epic trilogy. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MarkAngelFeb 4, 2013
The expectations were overwhelmingly high by any standard and the expectations seemed very unrealistic and unfair. At least that's what I thought weeks before I saw it early in August. Back then, i actually felt sorry for Nolan and the hugeThe expectations were overwhelmingly high by any standard and the expectations seemed very unrealistic and unfair. At least that's what I thought weeks before I saw it early in August. Back then, i actually felt sorry for Nolan and the huge amount of responsibility he has imposed on him self by making The Dark Knight. But saying that TDKR simply does not deliver is a lie and i've never been so disappointed in my life. What this film delivers is almost 3 hours long tedious and messy melodrama, full of standard cliches, traditional sentiment and clumsy characters. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Atr0sJul 29, 2012
Christopher Nolan succeeded again. Even though he didn't count with a Heath Ledger's level of performance, every new character has a good impression. Trying not to spoil anything: Anne Hathaway's catwoman (she's not referred as catwoman inChristopher Nolan succeeded again. Even though he didn't count with a Heath Ledger's level of performance, every new character has a good impression. Trying not to spoil anything: Anne Hathaway's catwoman (she's not referred as catwoman in the movie) was indeed a good choice and she fit very well into the role. Bane was also competently portrayed by Tom Hardy as a cruel and smart terrorist. However, some minor parts were very flawed or felt rushed (explainable for a 3-hour movie), particularly the unimpressive reappearance of Dr. Jonathan Crane and the demise of the main villains. But don't be afraid, the good parts really outshine the bad parts, making this movie a 3-hour thrill ride. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MillyBSJul 28, 2012
Christopher Nolan reúne en The Dark Knight Rises el alma y la razón de ser de Batman Begins, y la energía y la oscuridad de The Dark Knight en este capítulo final del héroe de Ciudad Gótica. AChristopher Nolan reúne en The Dark Knight Rises el alma y la razón de ser de Batman Begins, y la energía y la oscuridad de The Dark Knight en este capítulo final del héroe de Ciudad Gótica. A Christian Bale, mejor que nunca (¿acaso quedan dudas qué su interpretación es la mejor?), le toca ser más Bruce Wayne que nunca dejando muy de lado el personaje de Batman, a quien el relato lo interpreta todo el tiempo cómo el símbolo qué es de justicia y esperanza, motivos por los cuales fue creado en la primera película.

http://negrowhite.net/cine/the-dark-knight-rises-sin-lugar-para-los-debiles
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TheDRauchAug 3, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises successfully concludes Christopher Nolan's epic trilogy with amazing scope on the battling themes of romanticism (displayed in Batman Begins) and realism (displayed in The Dark Knight). Filled with great action and setThe Dark Knight Rises successfully concludes Christopher Nolan's epic trilogy with amazing scope on the battling themes of romanticism (displayed in Batman Begins) and realism (displayed in The Dark Knight). Filled with great action and set pieces, character pathos, and a strong sense of moral right that drives the caped hero, the film really does rise to expectations (which, for any normal film would be considered beyond expectations, so that's saying something). Set eight years after the events of The Dark Knight, Gotham is thriving under the lie of the actions of Harvey Dent, but masked terrorist Bane causes that tranquility to collapse, driving Bruce Wayne to face the loss of his love interest, Rachel, and his abandonment of his role as the Batman, to save the city. Nolan realizes what most of movie-goers have: there is a lot at stake in a third and final installment in any series. There is a lot to juggle: new characters, references to old characters, adrenaline and emotional fulfillment, plot holes, etc. He overcomes them all and gives us what we want - the finale that is memorable and satisfying. His direction has a way of taking standard action movie stereotypes, filling them with lived in realism, and bringing out genuine tension and thrills. To compare 'Rises' to 'Dark Knight' is difficult. They are two entirely different beasts. The Joker was the trump card in The Dark Knight, but Bane makes for a great villain as well. He is less chaotic and freelance, but still menacing and, unlike the Joker, empathetic near the end. As far as a conclusion, The Dark Knight Rises gets it right. 'Nuff said. Now go watch it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PurronnacondaJul 28, 2012
Incredible. This is really what you call entertainment. While watching this I truly experienced something I have never experienced before. You could call it a movie orgasm. Through it's glorious 164 minute run time I went through phases ofIncredible. This is really what you call entertainment. While watching this I truly experienced something I have never experienced before. You could call it a movie orgasm. Through it's glorious 164 minute run time I went through phases of anger, anxiety, happiness, and sadness. Tom Hardy does not match the performance of Heath Ledger, but I don't think anyone expected that anyway. He was brilliant as Bane, providing a chilling and more powerful replacement for the Joker. The rest of the outstanding cast was brilliant as well, including Anne Hathaway, who I was previously concerned with not being able to fit the character of catwoman. Hans Zimmer does a brilliant job with the sound. This in my opinion is what brought the movie that extra step in providing its astonishing intensity, and climaxes. The storyline was masterfully written; I expected no less. If you want a movie that provides every single penny spent for those pricey theater tickets, look no further. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
EiiteDonkeyJul 22, 2012
Amazing Movie. Each Cast Member delivers. Anne Hathaway was an awesome, sexy, powerful cat women. Christian Bale was again an amazing, my favorite batman. Gary Oldman you think was living his role for many years he did such great job. NotAmazing Movie. Each Cast Member delivers. Anne Hathaway was an awesome, sexy, powerful cat women. Christian Bale was again an amazing, my favorite batman. Gary Oldman you think was living his role for many years he did such great job. Not knowing of Bane before this movie, Tom Hardy brought in the new character and put Bane Up there on the villain list under Heath Ledgers Joker. This movie was very long but it was never boring, needed the time to end the trilogy. Go And Watch This Movie! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Glennking439Jul 21, 2012
When i first walked into the theater to see this movie, i had read the reviews on "Rotten Tomatoes" saying that it was average and that its not really much. It had gotten an 87%. I expected this movie to be more than just an 87% and iWhen i first walked into the theater to see this movie, i had read the reviews on "Rotten Tomatoes" saying that it was average and that its not really much. It had gotten an 87%. I expected this movie to be more than just an 87% and i expected it to be a huge success. This movie was more than just a success, it was simply a masterpiece and a great way to end Christopher Nolan's Batman saga. From the first scene with Bane until the very end, i was on the edge of my seat with my jaw wide open. This is everything viewers wanted in a finale. (and more.) In the beginning of the movie we are introduced to Bane(Played by Tom Hardy). A mercenary who was "born and raised in hell on earth". At first he didn't seem like much. just a very big muscular guy with a portable Darth Vader voice changer mask, but then his first plan goes in action and you realize how much of a bad ass he really is. Throughout the movies progression we learn more about Bane and what he is really after. We also learn that he is brutal. VERY brutal. He doesn't care about other life and is only out to fulfill his master plan. Bane stole the show. He is (in my opinion) a better villain than the joker because he is very strategical and has raw power that can literally obliterate anything in his path.
But bane wasn't the only great new character in this saga, Catwoman(Played by Ann Hathaway) is the greatest on screen catwoman ever. Ann Hathaway portrayed this character very well and i wouldn't be surprised if she were to win awards for this memorable performance. The other two new comers (Joseph Gordon-Levitt as John Blake and Marion Cotillard as Miranda Tate) were both also very well done, but Bane and Catwoman were by far the best. Cristian Bale, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, and Morgan Freeman also gave stellar performances as there characters who they have been playing for 8 years. For me, This movie has redefined the way i see movies. It had a little bit of everything a summer blockbuster needs. Action, Adventure, Comedy, Suspense, etc. I myself found myself very satisfied with this film and so did everyone in the theater i was in. Christopher Nolan has done something no one else has. He got a hero that was once frowned upon in the film industry, thanks to previous flops, and reinvented him into an icon that can never be forgotten. He's given us, the movie goers something that people can look forward all the time without regret. He has given us a trilogy that had a great beginning, a powerful and memorable sequel, and an epic conclusion. Every Batman movie made from now on, will be compared to the saga of Christopher Nolan's greatest trilogy ever.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Rockleelives777Jul 22, 2012
I will try to keep this review as spoiler free as possible for those of you haven't seen the movie yet. This movie was definitely the perfect ending for the greatest superhero movie franchise of all time. The movie starts with batman inI will try to keep this review as spoiler free as possible for those of you haven't seen the movie yet. This movie was definitely the perfect ending for the greatest superhero movie franchise of all time. The movie starts with batman in retirement after the Harvey Dent incident, but he then decides he must come back to stop the threat of bane. The thing I was really impressed with was how epic the movie felt on every level. Epic fights, epic themes, epic characterization and best of all epic set-pieces. The only bad thing I can say about this movie is that the pacing is a little of in the middle of the movie, but only because they are trying to build towards the epic climax that will leave you speechless. The people in the theater I watched the movie with literally clapped when it was over, and for good reason. It was because they knew that they had just witnessed cinema greatness so go see this movie now and experience it for yourself! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SnehdeepJul 21, 2012
I understand the people who didn't like it cause the batman didn't come up on the screen soon and there was more Bruce Wayne than Batman but that is what I liked it wasn't like Gotham is in trouble and I'm batman they need me lets go save theI understand the people who didn't like it cause the batman didn't come up on the screen soon and there was more Bruce Wayne than Batman but that is what I liked it wasn't like Gotham is in trouble and I'm batman they need me lets go save the people it took its time and made it feel like its been 8 years and its hard for him to go back, the performances were awesome the moments with Alfred were great, Anne Hathaway did a great job and so did everyone else and Tom Hardy did his best with what he could with his mouth covered up.
A really really good film overall, enjoyed the hell out of it
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Sben69Jul 22, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this movie a 10 because Metacritic won't allow me to give it a 50. The Dark Knight Rises is one of the greatest movies of all time, topping CGI snooze Avatar and maybe even, dare I say it, Citizen Kane. Christopher Nolan has given us a masterpiece. Incredible acting, pitch-perfect pace, and amazing moments I will not forget. The stadium scene is masterfully executed, and will definitely go down as one of the greatest scenes in recent memory. Bane is an imposing villain, combining the deadliness of the Scarecrow (whom is still alive and cameos here), the cunning of Rhas Al Ghul, and the sheer unforgettability of the Joker. Don't worry about the controversy surrounding Catwoman's casting; this incarnation is as seductive, manipulative, and intelligent as the rest. Finally, pay attention at the end: Nolan definitely ends the trilogy with a bang, delivering an earth-shattering plot twist that reveals a character you will never see coming. I implore you to see this film; you will not regret it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jetpackulleySep 4, 2012
What should you do? As incredible as it seems, you should just sit back in the movie theater, relax and be blown away as much as I was for sure. the best movie of 2012!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
czlingJul 24, 2012
The only legitimate critique is that The Dark Knight set the bar so high that this 3rd movie may have missed it ever so slightly. The film is a fantastic conclusion to the trilogy; Bane embodies terror in many forms, and brings Batman to hisThe only legitimate critique is that The Dark Knight set the bar so high that this 3rd movie may have missed it ever so slightly. The film is a fantastic conclusion to the trilogy; Bane embodies terror in many forms, and brings Batman to his lowest of lows before the hero rises up and claws his way back. Tom Hardy's performance is as memorable as Heath Ledger's in The Dark Knight. Anne Hathaway does a decent job playing the coy, seductive Catwoman. The film is a three hour ensemble of drama, and stuffed with action 'til the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 3, 2012
Not better than The Dark Knight, however, still amazing. A lot "creepier" for sure, as well, as Bane is not a lovable villain like the Joker, but is much darker and pure evil. Great ending to the trilogy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
mwvinyardJul 20, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "The Dark Knight Rises" was an enjoyable film, which is enough for me to at least give it a yellow rating. What pushed it to the green was the excellent use of music, specific camera angles, and the source material. I will break down each.
Music can make or break a movie for me. If the music is good, I am happy. Hans Zimmer has always done a great job of bringing movies to life with his scores, and this is no exception. For those who have not seen this film, I am about to give a spoiler here.

The theme music of this film reflects the title "Rises" and has you very excited and makes you feel the beat of the revolution that Bane and his army are creating. In the first half of the film this theme music excites but also frightens you. It makes you cringe in your seat and hold your breath, because you know that this awesome, ruthless, overwhelming, seemingly unbeatable force is coming. The music pounds and ripples along with Bane has he tears his way through Gotham and eventually beats Batman to a pulp and breaks the Bat's back.
But then something very interesting happens with this music in the second half, or perhaps I should say the third act. That beating, pounding, powerful music suddenly switches and becomes not Bane's theme, but Batman's. As Batman repairs his broken body and finds the strength within himself to do what only one other has done, rising from the 'Pit", the theme music lifts you up and you realize that Bane and his bad guys are in so much trouble and they don't even know it.
I won't say much about camera angles because I am not a film studies expert or anything. But I can say I enjoyed the way this film pulls you into big and small events, whether it is a grand view of Gotham city that makes you feel like you have been swept up in Bane's revolution or are flying through its skies along with Batman, or gives you the anxiety of Batman as he is trapped in a fight in the sewer with the hulking Bane.
Lastly, I want to talk about the connection to the comic books. This is where I am sure some ultra-fans might be upset because, "Hey, they changed this and that," and, "That wasn't in the comics." To those fans I would ask what examples they have of any comic book, book, play, video game, cartoon series or action figure franchise that was ever made into a film that followed the original source material exactly. Here is another moment where if you have not seen the film I will be spoiling some surprises.

It is made clear in the credits that this film was based on the characters of the DC Universe. It is not a perfect detail by detail recreation of the comics, but a film based on the characters. I think that it was an absolutely wonderful interpretation. Nolan did a great job of taking the characters, relationships and stories and making his own decisions about what to use and where to make his own connections. And he did tend to connect characters who as far as I know had no connection in the comic books, and combine stories and change characters as he saw fit. And it was amazing and new and fresh and even though we have seen seven Batman films before this one it was somehow still very engaging and did something none of the others did, it gave Batman a happy ending.
Oh sure, Batman always wins. Batman beats the bad guy. The bad guy ends up dead or in jail or in the mental asylum. And Batman dusts himself off and runs off into the night to continue fighting bad guys. He wins, but it isn't necessarily a happy ending in the traditional sense. He has no satisfaction, no family, no love, no relaxing. It's just onward to the next grueling battle with the underworld.
But "The Dark Knight Rises" finally did something the other movies could not do. It let Batman retire happily, not old and broken and scarred but young and able to still have a normal life. Not only that, he gets to go off to France with Catwoman and, I like to imagine, open up a pastry shop.
To conclude, this was an incredibly fun movie to experience and I recommend seeing it. I will say that I saw it on a regular theater screen and I encourage folks to save the money because it was fantastic and did not need the 3D or the IMAX to make it good.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
masterzJul 21, 2012
Excellent film . Superb acting specially by Hathaway and mind blowing music by Hans. there are many twists to keep you engrossed in the movie. though it is quite a bit long you will enjoy every bit of it
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
HrishiJul 21, 2012
This movie is perfect to say the least. The scale of this film trumps the Dark Knight, but does that mean its good? YES!!! The Joker is by far one of my favourite movie villains but Bane makes me rethink that. This movie has a really niceThis movie is perfect to say the least. The scale of this film trumps the Dark Knight, but does that mean its good? YES!!! The Joker is by far one of my favourite movie villains but Bane makes me rethink that. This movie has a really nice plot, great acting, and nice camera work. I really recommend seeing this film in IMAX as that is the definitive experience for those who wan to see this masterpiece. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AfromanJul 21, 2012
This film is amazing. i had goosebumps throughout it was great. Everyone should see this film it has my love of action and romance all roped around a core of batman. loved every second of it and il be rushing out to buy the DVD when it isThis film is amazing. i had goosebumps throughout it was great. Everyone should see this film it has my love of action and romance all roped around a core of batman. loved every second of it and il be rushing out to buy the DVD when it is released. I might even see it again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PoseidonJul 21, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises is one of "THE BEST MOVIE'" I have seen in a very long time..I mean the movie has to be seen to be believed...It's a pure masterpiece in terms of story-telling,action and the depth with which each character isThe Dark Knight Rises is one of "THE BEST MOVIE'" I have seen in a very long time..I mean the movie has to be seen to be believed...It's a pure masterpiece in terms of story-telling,action and the depth with which each character is developed....This movie has set a benchmark for future batman and superhero movies to look upto...One of the best conclusions to one of the most critically acclaimed and successful trilogy of all times....See you at the Oscars!!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jacobspeedsJul 21, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises was an EPIC and i say EPIC once more!! In my opinion what the critics say "EPIC LETDOWN" is utter crap! It was just perfect and much better than i expected! Action sequences were wicked! It wasn't boring for me or myThe Dark Knight Rises was an EPIC and i say EPIC once more!! In my opinion what the critics say "EPIC LETDOWN" is utter crap! It was just perfect and much better than i expected! Action sequences were wicked! It wasn't boring for me or my friends who watched. Filled with suspense and a really amazing climax, i would say, there can't be a better finale to the trilogy. Worth every penny! MUST WATCH! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
honeyslawyerJul 21, 2012
awesome film..a lil boring at the start...but picks up pace...and by the end its a classic...the awesome end..the lil twist with who was behind the master plan....christopher nolan i am a huge fan...take a bow sir...yet another classic fromawesome film..a lil boring at the start...but picks up pace...and by the end its a classic...the awesome end..the lil twist with who was behind the master plan....christopher nolan i am a huge fan...take a bow sir...yet another classic from u...u have to be the best director/writer around as far as action/mystery genre goes...awesome stuff...if avengers was the best movie this year for you...u have to see this one to make up your mind...awesome stuff!! loved it... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
DavidTurnerJul 21, 2012
This is a good movie. But it is not a great movie, and comes nowhere close to the brilliance of the previous film in the series, The Dark Knight. There are some very good moments, and I particularly enjoyed the performances of Michael CaineThis is a good movie. But it is not a great movie, and comes nowhere close to the brilliance of the previous film in the series, The Dark Knight. There are some very good moments, and I particularly enjoyed the performances of Michael Caine and Tom Hardy. The latter's fruity English voice worked surprisingly well and was quite disturbingly villainous, although it would have been a lot better if I could clearly make out what he was saying! Nolan has achieved a dark, menacing tone and successfully sustained it throughout 153 minutes - no small feat.

However, underlying the serious tone is a rather facile, disorganized and generally unserious plot. In particular I found the "autopilot" Chekov's gun jarring, but it had good company in the form of irrelevant and aborted arcs. The plot twists to the point where the main action seems almost pointless by the end, and I wound up scratching my head as to why they'd bothered filming the first hour of the movie at all.

Hardy's version of Bane is actually a really good villain - even by comparison to Ledger's Joker - but it's as if Nolan is wary of putting him fully in the spotlight. So he hedges his bets, throwing in a confused and confusing variety of sub-conflicts and cameos. Unfortunately this lack of focus all but destroys the drama.

Finally, the sloppy editing and excessive length both contributed to an overall sense that this is a film that could have done with fewer ingredients and a sharper sense of purpose.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ParkerDGrayJul 21, 2012
Running at about 2 hours and 45 minutes, this movie is an full hands on anxiety attack. Christopher Nolan delivers his capstone to the wonderfully created Batman trilogy with "The Dark Knight Rises", and boy did he deliver. From its rivetingRunning at about 2 hours and 45 minutes, this movie is an full hands on anxiety attack. Christopher Nolan delivers his capstone to the wonderfully created Batman trilogy with "The Dark Knight Rises", and boy did he deliver. From its riveting action sequences to the carefully plotted out character arcs, "Rises" keeps audiences on the edge of their seats throughout the entire duration of the film.
The story line is virtually flawless. The phenomenal pairing of Christopher Nolan and his brother Jonathan on the script continues to deliver from film to film, and it sure shows up here. The reason why Nolan's Batman is so impeccable is the fact that everything that happens in the movie could possibly happen in real life. The threats are real, the villains are real, the effects are real, and the emotions are real. "Rises" grips you tighter than any of the other previous Batman's, because Nolan has delivered two previous amazing movies that give you a sense of urgency. You want fulfillment to Bruce Wayne's legacy, and this does just that. As the movie goes on, Nolan keeps dropping weights on the structure of the movie every second he gets. It builds, and builds, and builds, until its absolute and utter breaking point. Some people might argue that the story has too much build, but I completely disagree. This is the perfect amount of suspense, because as the end draws near, the audience is anticipating that tiny leaf that causes the structure to collapse. In the movie, Bane (Tom Hardy) holds Gotham in his bone-crushing hands for five whole months, he even gets the entire nation's attention by holding them at bay from his terror attack. And whilst in the theater, it feels as though you are with these characters for five months (Not because of the run time, but because of the suspense. I know what you were thinking). In the end, Nolan delivers a masterpiece of storyline and scriptwriting. There was not one moment where I felt that the script lacked, or the plot contained holes. However, the "meat and potatoes" of this Film could not exist without the acting.
Christian Bale once again amazes audiences with his extreme dedication (did you see the amount of weight on his face that oscillated as the movie progressed) and incredible acting. He once again proves how he is the best Batman to date. Morgan Freeman (Lucius Fox) and Michael Caine (Alfred) continue to show how the are two of the worlds most respected actors. Michael Caine brings the entire audience to tears at least twice, if not three times. His acting is just dead on. He captures Alfred so well, that it defeats the performance of the very hard-to-beat, and loveable Michael Gough from the original series. Also returning to the trilogy is the wonderful Gary Oldman (Jim Gordon), who you just can't help but love. Oldman's acting is stunning and he brings something new to Gordon every movie. Now as far as the newcomers to Nolan's Batman, they steal the show. Anne Hathaway (Selina Kyle) knocks it out of the park. Her portrayal of Catwoman is superb, and is by far the best one yet. Her sleek attitude is perfectly executed, as well as her faked emotions and persona when she's "on the job". Hathaway brings the perfect blend of evil, stubbornness, likability, and good to Selina Kyle. Her contrast and change throughout the film is wonderful to watch, and you just can't help but fall in love with her. But to Catwoman's temporary evil is the "necessary evil" of Tom Hardy's Bane. Hardy is the perfect villain. His mask is terrifying, but it covers up most of his face. But that right there is the beauty of Hardy's wonderful performance. The fact that he only has two ways of acting below the face and pulls it off is unbelievable. Tom's vocal performance is stunning. Especially in his and Batman's first fight underground. He grips the audience with sheer fear when he talks. But perhaps the thing that tops off Bane is his eyes. Bane holds the entire emotion of his performance in his eyes. His monologues could just be spoken with them alone. And lastly, Marion Cotillard (Miranda Tate) fulfills the hole that was left to us by Rachel, and she does a fantastic job. And it was so nice to see Cillian Murphy (Jonathan Crane) and Liam Neeson (Ra's Al Ghul) again. Now for the parts I wasn
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
adzurriJul 22, 2012
Fantastic ending to Nolan's trilogy. Had to see it a second time to really appreciate the plot, nuances, dialogues and ending. Simply brilliant. Worthy to be seen a few more times in theater until the blu ray comes out!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
thedarcknightJul 22, 2012
An exceptional end to the Nolan Bat-films. A truly epic film that contains some of the most emotional pieces of the trilogy. The movie contains many plot threads and subtle clues that one can only pick up from multiple viewing. ExcellentAn exceptional end to the Nolan Bat-films. A truly epic film that contains some of the most emotional pieces of the trilogy. The movie contains many plot threads and subtle clues that one can only pick up from multiple viewing. Excellent acting from all cast members, complex and moving plot, tied off with a soaring score by Hans Zimmer that is truly outstanding. This spectacular Batman movie completes one of the great trilogies of all time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Varataig6-1Jul 22, 2012
Nolan's trilogy is a difficult one in hindsight - the three films are all very different beasts which happen to share the same story arc. The first, a traditional superhero film with incredibly realistic undertones, the second, essentially aNolan's trilogy is a difficult one in hindsight - the three films are all very different beasts which happen to share the same story arc. The first, a traditional superhero film with incredibly realistic undertones, the second, essentially a thriller - and this installment feels like a disaster film. For me, at least, it was quite jarring - I've seen the first two so many times my initial viewing was almost destroyed by the weight of expectation; the flaws so pronounced simply because I demanded there be none. However, the conclusion was stunning, a perfect end to a nearly perfect trilogy. Bane was genuinely terrifying, Catwoman pitch perfect, and once you can accept the new characters encroaching on this familiar space the film only becomes more sublime and epic. A terrific conclusion that will please fans of the comics, films, games - anyone who shares the love for perhaps the finest superhero will love this film and will leave the theater deeply touched. Nearly universally brilliant performances, including the best screen portrayal of Bruce Wayne yet, sublime villains (although Ledger's Joker is an impossible act to follow) and fantastic one off characters like only Nolan can deliver. A second viewing, where you can take in detail, accept the new characters and appreciate the sheer scope of vision will perhaps leave you as awe struck as you've ever been. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
dasterJul 22, 2012
An epic ending to a masterclass trilogy. if viewed as individual films ' The Dark Knight ' has a slight edge over ' The Dark Knight Rises ', but as a culmination of a series the movie is the best superhero movie of all time.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ToM-tOmJul 22, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises is a fitting end to the dark knight trilogy. It has a brilliantly crafted plot that brings the trilogy full circle, a few minor niggles prevent it from surpassing The Dark Knight but these are forgivable considering thisThe Dark Knight Rises is a fitting end to the dark knight trilogy. It has a brilliantly crafted plot that brings the trilogy full circle, a few minor niggles prevent it from surpassing The Dark Knight but these are forgivable considering this film wasn't what Nolan had originally intended. It is however Bales finest performance as Bruce Wayne most notably in an emotionally charged scene with the equally brilliant Michael Caine, and Tom Hardy's Bane phenomenally scary and portrayed brilliantly (which is an incredible feat considering he had half of his face covered). All in all a great film which focuses mostly on the development of characters than supplying you with gimmicky action set pieces, i guarantee you will enjoy as long as you're not overly sensitive to minor plot holes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
lily24Jul 22, 2012
I think The Dark Knight Rises is one of those movies that you should watch in your life! It was exactly what I expect. I like catwoman character, Bane was not perfect as joker was, but BANE was good!!! I think costume design was perfectI think The Dark Knight Rises is one of those movies that you should watch in your life! It was exactly what I expect. I like catwoman character, Bane was not perfect as joker was, but BANE was good!!! I think costume design was perfect specially Bane Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
StevefromWJul 22, 2012
I waited in line for nearly 5 hours to see this film in IMAX on the midnight premiere, and waited another 2 hours sitting in the theatre. And OH MY GOD WAS IT WORTH IT!!!
The thing that I always loved about Nolan's Batman films was the
I waited in line for nearly 5 hours to see this film in IMAX on the midnight premiere, and waited another 2 hours sitting in the theatre. And OH MY GOD WAS IT WORTH IT!!!
The thing that I always loved about Nolan's Batman films was the reality basis that they had, and of course the great performances in them, as well as the writing, directing, cinematography, visuals, EVERYTHING!!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
akhilJul 22, 2012
the dark knight rises beats the avengers the first half was a bit slow but what can we say about a near hour movie. the climax was so great that it cant be described in words.clearly it knocks out the avengers.felling much relaxed afterthe dark knight rises beats the avengers the first half was a bit slow but what can we say about a near hour movie. the climax was so great that it cant be described in words.clearly it knocks out the avengers.felling much relaxed after watching the movie but i wanna see it again Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ghostgirl666Jul 22, 2012
Excellent. incredible. The best movie. 1000 times better than avengers. Exciting and a great fight at the end, good dialogues. Wonderful and epic ...
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
xander2400Jul 22, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, have you seen "The Dark Knight Rises" yet? Well quit what you're doing right now, and go see it--For this is a more than just another Batman movie. The reason "Batman Begins" was so good is because it led up to "The Dark Knight". Well this third installment of the "Dark Knight Trilogy"is exhilarating. Not only does "Rises" live up to the hype, the hype actually made Gotham feel like a real city before the movie was even made. It made it appear as if Gotham was indeed about to be under attack by the monstrous Bane played by Tom Hardy. With that said, the plot is "Inception" like with its subtle intricacies that we simply cannot process in only one sitting. This may have frustrated the critics who believe the plot was too complex. They. Are. Wrong. Tom Hardy's Bane is what Bane deserved to be turned into. Michael Schumacher's Bane tarnished one of Batman's coolest and interesting foes. The "Rises" Bane is exactly what we wanted to see. Sure, Joker and Scarecrow did cool tricks to mess with our dark hero; but Bane serves up a can of popcorn-worthy-kickass so big that my jaw literally dropped. This is what you've been waiting for--a villain for Batman that punches through bricks and collapses men's throats in one second. The fighting is accompanied by some very interesting dialect as well. Hardy's voice is so entrancing that we have no choice but to gulp when he and batman come face to face. He sounds like a gentleman, but hits like a bruiser. Nolan delivers a villain that scares us--not because of the way he looks--but because he does what the Joker could not: He beats the living hell out of Batman. Joseph Gordon-Levitt's John Blake's story encapsulates what we want in a young newbie to the franchise: someone with the moral compass of the movie. Someone who guides us in our interpretation of the storyline. Michael Caine is back with some spunk, and we see much more of Morgan Freeman than ever (which is pretty awesome, too). Oh, and, uhh, Catwoman? Hathaway does something spectacular. She transforms one of Batman's most celebrated villains? allies? or both? into a believable creation of a "Cat" identity. She doesn't attract cats, and she doesn't have a tail (Thank god). But she is both sexually enticing as well as violently cruel. She brings what few actresses could to the table. We are very aware of the consequences of her actions in the film, and it made me happy to see her role as something far more expansive than I could have imagined. If you go and see this movie, do not expect the psychological thrill that The Joker gave us. It can't be redone, and it will probably never be redone. What you will see is something far more emotional than The Dark Knight. What we have here is the rebirth after the perpetual life and death of Batman in "Begins" and "Dark Knight". Nolan never stops hammering away at plot movements, and puts forth some very complicated yet very important ideas here. 9/10 here folks. I don't give it a 10/10 because that is what "The Dark Knight" deserves. Batman is the hero Gotham deserves, as well as the one it needs in this final installment of the "Dark Knight Trology, and I can't wait to see it again! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
chicharitomanchJul 22, 2012
It's the best movie I've seen. Magnificent performances, nolan IMAX uses very well. Spectacular. Bale, Anne and Hardy are great. No one should miss. 10/10
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CBeckman25Jul 22, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw The Dark Knight Rises last night. Such a great movie. I'm gonna mini-review it with no spoilers. Better than Batman Begins and The Dark Knight? It's so hard to say. Each movie seems so different and I love each one. The whole 3rd act of this movie is just insane. The returning cast was amazing as usual. Anne Hathaway was so good as Selina Kyle and I absolutely loved Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Tom Hardy was great as Bane in every way except for his voice. It just did not work for me. It wasn't totally distracting, it just sounded almost cartoon-ish. Bane and Batman's fight scenes where brutal as hell. I just wish Batman would have used his gadgets a bit more. That's how Batman beats all these foes that physically out match him. The IMAX looked absolutely gorgeous and I totally recommend seeing it in IMAX. I just don't think it was used better than Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol. The IMAX in MI4 was used so perfectly because it totally sucked you in and completely enhanced the scenes. During the whole Dubai sequence, you actually felt like you where up there with Ethan Hunt. TDKR just used the IMAX to make everything look absolutely stunning.

ALRIGHT NOW I'M GOING INTO FULL SPOILER MODE. I'M GONNA TALK ABOUT THE MIND BLOWING ENDING IN FULL DETAIL! YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!!!!!

I LOVED the ending. Mouth hanging open the whole time. From the moment Miranda Tate revelaed herself to be Talia al Ghul all the way up to the very ende with Alfred spotting Selina and Bruce. I loved every second of it.

Lets start with MIranda Tate. I had heard the rumors about her being Talia and I totally felt that she would end up being her. So the whole time I was watching her like a hawk trying to spot anything that would give her away. So during the siege of Gotham I'm thinking "Damn, maybe she won't be Talia because you figure she would have revealed herself by now." And then right before she revealed herself she had on this outfit that seemed very Talia like and I'm like "Oh **** here it comes, and then BAM! The big reveal! Even knowing she was going to become Talia I still loved it. I can't wait to here what people who had no idea thought about it. And btw, Marion Cotillard was so good as Talia al Ghul.

Then there is the ending where Batman flies the nuke out to sea and sacrifices himself to save the city. I didn't catch on to the whole Auto-pilot thing so I thought Bruce Wayne really died. I went in to the movie thinking Nolan would kill him off. So before we all found out Bruce Wayne was still alive I'm thinking to myself "Holy **** DC has done it. They have just created the perfect way to kick-off there DC Movie-verse and lead into the Avengers!"

So this is why I think DC has just created the perfect begging to there DC Movie-verse. Think about it. The hero of a city just sacrificed himself in the most selfless way. The city hated Batman for YEARS and then all of sudden he dies for them. How inspiring is that? So inspiring that Clark Kent hears of this selfless act that he become a hero! And then Diana of Themiscyra! And The Flash! And all the other DC Heroes! Then they come together and become THE FRIGGIN JUSTICE LEAGUE!

It's perfect to because Bruce Wayne is still alive! He can come back and pick up the mantle again! John Blake aka ROBIN (That reveal totally blew me away) can be the Batman or even Nightwing for awhile and then Bruce can come back whenever. And here's the thing, it doesn't have to be Christian Bale. This is where studios need to learn that we don't need reboots. They need to start looking at Superhero movies the same way they look at the Bond movies. Keep the characters story going but just swap out actors. Just because Christian Bale and Christopher Nolan have told the story they wanted to tell, that doesn't mean we need a reboot explaining Batman's origin again. The only movie I would see DC rebooting is Green Lantern. The tone of that movie doesn't gel with the tone that Nolan's Trilogy and The Man of Steel has established.

Let's just hope DC takes advantage of this amazing set-up and doesn't reboot Batman.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
pjAKJul 24, 2012
Easily a film that lived up to the hype. Well acted and written, I was completely caught up in the world that was created. Except for a couple of flaws, it was a near perfect moviegoing experience. Loved the new Catwoman. Really enjoyedEasily a film that lived up to the hype. Well acted and written, I was completely caught up in the world that was created. Except for a couple of flaws, it was a near perfect moviegoing experience. Loved the new Catwoman. Really enjoyed all the different interactions between the characters. The finale was very appropriate. Overall, the film really felt epic. Wish there were more films like this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AnnaBatmanJul 23, 2012
Being a fan of the batman trilogy I was kind of skeptical when I saw the trailers. A man in a gas mask? Doesn't seem too scary. But after watching this I was blown away. Blown away by the actors and actresses performances, the stunts, and theBeing a fan of the batman trilogy I was kind of skeptical when I saw the trailers. A man in a gas mask? Doesn't seem too scary. But after watching this I was blown away. Blown away by the actors and actresses performances, the stunts, and the awesome explosions. Anne Hathaway surprisingly pulled off catwomen really well which at first i didn't think she could do I loved everything about this movie, well maybe not everything...I didn't absolutely love the ending but it was pretty good. Now all I want is Christian Bale kicking more butt on the big screen!
I hope that there will be another Batman movie in the future!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Monster75Jul 23, 2012
The wait was fruitful as I saw the movie on the very first of its release. The movie will add laurels to the career of Nolan and I want to thank him for presenting my best comic hero so well on screen. TDKR is a well thought end to the seriesThe wait was fruitful as I saw the movie on the very first of its release. The movie will add laurels to the career of Nolan and I want to thank him for presenting my best comic hero so well on screen. TDKR is a well thought end to the series and the way Nolan has innovated the background of the characters, be it Cat woman or be it Robin,is commendable.Now on not only I am a big fan of Batman but also of Nolan, the year brain behind this awesome series which will always be remembered by movie and batman lovers.One more important thing was the way in which the three parts were connected with each other. Every character has its importance and series couldn't be thought of as a success if any one the characters is removed. Such was the level of brainstorming involved in the project. Hats off to the maker and the actors Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Jesper101996Jul 23, 2012
The Dark Knight Rises is the best movie ever, their is always thing you shall thing twice about and under the whole movie i was entertained, the movie had so many plot twist that ist keep the movie injoignable the whole time, watch the movieThe Dark Knight Rises is the best movie ever, their is always thing you shall thing twice about and under the whole movie i was entertained, the movie had so many plot twist that ist keep the movie injoignable the whole time, watch the movie if you... oh what is it im saying just watch it because it is a amazing film and you will not regret it :D Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JackOfAcesJul 23, 2012
Astounding! A movie that will have you experience every emotion that you can imagine, from fear to hate to sadness. A fitting end to the greatest trilogy ever made.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DenychzJul 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best of this year so far, breathtaking great script,acting and story is better then in dark knight in my opinion. The ending just awesome,this is the last film of trilogy,so your imagination will complete the story after ending. That would be great if Nolan filmed spinoff for how Blake become Nightwing or spinoff with catwoman. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
sbhattacharyaJul 24, 2012
A "BATMAN" movie is always eagerly anticipated and when it follows a worldwide blockbuster like "The Dark Knight" and a heath Ledger portrayal of Joker which re-defined the psycho villains in Hollywood and worldwide, then an enormousA "BATMAN" movie is always eagerly anticipated and when it follows a worldwide blockbuster like "The Dark Knight" and a heath Ledger portrayal of Joker which re-defined the psycho villains in Hollywood and worldwide, then an enormous expectation from the third part of BATMAN franchise is nothing but an understatement.
Christopher Nolan comes back with his dark shade of batman which kept us hooked to the screen twice before in recent past.
Nolan's batman was more real and appealing to everyone as it wasn't bound just as a kid movie but much much more than that.
Now who have followed the trailer already know this is the last part of the franchise and with words "This is where it all ends" and "An epic conclusion" just adds to the fuel.
So now mother of all questions: Does "The Dark Knight Rises" fulfill all the expectation?? Is it the at the same level as the "The Dark Knight"?? Does Nolan get it Right the third time?? Can
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
metasevenAug 1, 2012
I say this is a good movie, slow build up, just how I like it but never boring. For my taste this is one is a whole level better than the previous Batman movies, cos for some reason I never got really into the "groove" with them - In "DarkI say this is a good movie, slow build up, just how I like it but never boring. For my taste this is one is a whole level better than the previous Batman movies, cos for some reason I never got really into the "groove" with them - In "Dark Knight" the Joker was brilliant but that didn't make the movie for me, but now with Dark Knight Rises you get more sucked in and you are more interested in the characters and build up of the plot. Bane, the bad guy a-la-carte just oozes with mysterious aura and you listen to every word he says like a curious cat.

Its not a perfect movie but a perfect choice for a successful night of popcorn-eating entertainment ;)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
thenocapsguyJul 25, 2012
Simply stunning- Filled with everything from fast pace car chases to hand-to hand combat to mind blowing evil, the twist will make you totally rethink the movie. This is a must see (Several times) and I will b the first in line to buy itSimply stunning- Filled with everything from fast pace car chases to hand-to hand combat to mind blowing evil, the twist will make you totally rethink the movie. This is a must see (Several times) and I will b the first in line to buy it when it comes out on DVD 10/10 all the way Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
rahul16Jul 26, 2012
at the oscar screening someone told that no one was exited ,but i would like to say that if no one was exited than why they went for the movie no one is capable of capturing sir nolan's visionary story telling by combinig the technicalityat the oscar screening someone told that no one was exited ,but i would like to say that if no one was exited than why they went for the movie no one is capable of capturing sir nolan's visionary story telling by combinig the technicality with the human emotion so intimate. it's truly another masterpiece from the greatest director of all time and looking forward to see all his movies. and i would condemn the colorado shooting. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
mears87Jul 27, 2012
GO SEE THIS MOVIE! It had so much expectation to live up to with the first two installments of Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy but oh it delivers!

The cast as always is fantastic and they deliver some great performances here. The
GO SEE THIS MOVIE! It had so much expectation to live up to with the first two installments of Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy but oh it delivers!

The cast as always is fantastic and they deliver some great performances here. The ambition of the story is epic and covers so many bases. I am just so impressed with what Nolan has been able to achieve i think this will go down as one of the great trilogies.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
bella_spainJul 28, 2012
Absolute Perfection! After waiting almost a year since first Trailer, I couldn't be more satisfied as I am. It was a really good and entertain movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Ready2ReviewJul 29, 2012
I adored Batman Begins and thought Nolan couldn't top it, and thought he pushed superhero movies to the limit with TDK. Nolan has done it again with TDKR. The movie strives, not for being the 3rd and final installment in the series, but forI adored Batman Begins and thought Nolan couldn't top it, and thought he pushed superhero movies to the limit with TDK. Nolan has done it again with TDKR. The movie strives, not for being the 3rd and final installment in the series, but for being different. TDKR isn't just another Batman movie and doesn't try to ride on the success of TDK, it changes the tone almost completely. That is why I enjoyed the movie, because it felt fresh. Your introduced to many new characters like Blake and Catwoman, both Gordan and Hathaway played their roles fantastic. Bale is the best Batman I have ever seen and his acting skills shined in TDKR. I do believe Bane came close to the Joker in the TDK. Because he gave off a feeling of true evil as Tom Hardy played a engrossingly disturbing character. I have heard complaints of plot holes and can tell you there aren't any. Go see this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
movieman101Jul 29, 2012
A brilliant film overall, although quite slow in the beginning and was a little hard to hear Bane's voice throughout the film (this may be because i sat quite close to the screen in the cinema). A must watch for fans of Nolan's films and ofA brilliant film overall, although quite slow in the beginning and was a little hard to hear Bane's voice throughout the film (this may be because i sat quite close to the screen in the cinema). A must watch for fans of Nolan's films and of Batman in general Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
P4R4D3Jul 30, 2012
This movie was absolutely great. It made me feel all good inside. OMG it was so good!!! Many parts were great in the movie giving an epic feel to the overall movie including the moment batman comes out once more and the final fight scene withThis movie was absolutely great. It made me feel all good inside. OMG it was so good!!! Many parts were great in the movie giving an epic feel to the overall movie including the moment batman comes out once more and the final fight scene with bane and all the police. I also enjoyed the fact that in the end you are given a little awesome boost with robin!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
weapon_ashJul 31, 2012
A good ending for an excellent trilogy. But bear in mind, that you must of watch 1 and 2 to really enjoy this story and look at it from a real world perspective.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PAndABL00d15Aug 2, 2012
TDKR is an amazing movie even when compared with the first two. Although it lacks the depth that is expected from a Nolan film it ends the trilogy perfectly and ties up all three movies. TDKR gets even better the more that you watch it andTDKR is an amazing movie even when compared with the first two. Although it lacks the depth that is expected from a Nolan film it ends the trilogy perfectly and ties up all three movies. TDKR gets even better the more that you watch it and you feel that you get more out of it when you do. By far the best movie I have seen since Dark Knight. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Crazy-ElAug 3, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nolan opens a door on a new vision to realize in the cinema the Super-hero. A disturbing Trilogy, TDKR is already, according to me, the Cult movie. The most disturbing of the Trilogy, TDKR goes up in crescendo in one unprecedented finale in this genre. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
javy90Aug 7, 2012
This movie is EPIC! Very ambitious for just one movie, but it was a hell of a movie. Intense action, drama, and suspense that puts you at the edge of your seat. Tom Hardy was amazing and frightening. Bale has given his BEST performance by farThis movie is EPIC! Very ambitious for just one movie, but it was a hell of a movie. Intense action, drama, and suspense that puts you at the edge of your seat. Tom Hardy was amazing and frightening. Bale has given his BEST performance by far as Batman, very powerful. Hathaway!..... I really didn't saw this one coming!! She truly nailed it as catwoman!! The cast, the plot, the fxs, music, it was all amazing!! All of this batman films stand alone and they altogether establish one of the best trilogies of all time... and the fact that it deals with a superhero is impressive! Overall the movie is a glorious achievement for Nolan and the icing on the cake for this near perfect trilogy!! I recommend to see twice!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BingFootball10Aug 8, 2012
Christopher Nolan's Batman triology is what spawned my love for Batman. From Batman Begins ive been always waiting for the next one and I'm pretty upset that the series is ending here because I believe that Christopher Nolan could have doneChristopher Nolan's Batman triology is what spawned my love for Batman. From Batman Begins ive been always waiting for the next one and I'm pretty upset that the series is ending here because I believe that Christopher Nolan could have done so much more with characters such as the RIddler and the Penguin. But at the end of the movie I found my self content with the ending. I think the movie as a whole was great as the rest of the series and it ended things where you can wonder what happened after and where if thats it then you can be satisfied knowing things ended well. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
Very well done conclusion to the trilogy with enough plot to have easily made up two movies and taken up over four hours. As it stands, the plot was squeezed and rushed through an already long time frame, but the movie comes out aces due toVery well done conclusion to the trilogy with enough plot to have easily made up two movies and taken up over four hours. As it stands, the plot was squeezed and rushed through an already long time frame, but the movie comes out aces due to great performances from Caine, Bale, and Hathaway. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cinecriticAug 14, 2012
Muy buena película y muy buena trilogía. sinceramente no creo que alguien pueda hacer una mejor película con un mejor final sobre Batman. el villano Bane tal vez no sea mejor que el Joker de The Dark knight pero enMuy buena película y muy buena trilogía. sinceramente no creo que alguien pueda hacer una mejor película con un mejor final sobre Batman. el villano Bane tal vez no sea mejor que el Joker de The Dark knight pero en términos generales la película cumple con lo esperado. muy buenas actuaciones e historia , totalmente recomendada. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Xavo24Aug 16, 2012
Christopher Nolan returns to surprise us with their talent in this latest installment of the trilogy. The Dark Knight Rises. With a good cast, with a dash well structured, with shocking music, with a plot in constant suspense, with a goodChristopher Nolan returns to surprise us with their talent in this latest installment of the trilogy. The Dark Knight Rises. With a good cast, with a dash well structured, with shocking music, with a plot in constant suspense, with a good close, Nolan takes Batman another level. Darker, dramatic and shattering than any other film of a comic book superhero. Hopefully this great director back soon with another of his great movies. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ichiroAug 29, 2012
This movie was awesome from the beginning to the end. I never enjoyed in a movie that good since The Dark Knight. The previous movie was way better. But this one was good too, it was exciting all the time. Anne Hathaway really surprised meThis movie was awesome from the beginning to the end. I never enjoyed in a movie that good since The Dark Knight. The previous movie was way better. But this one was good too, it was exciting all the time. Anne Hathaway really surprised me with such performance. Also the ending was pretty amazing.
The only thing I didn't liked about the movie was the ending with Blake - this was unnecessary. But anyway, it's a good movie.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PTDoughertySep 3, 2012
With Batman Begins, Nolan set the benchmark for the superhero genre by showing us what it
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
rxul14Sep 6, 2012
Un film lleno de emoción , efectos visuales increíbles, una actuacion muy buena de parte de anne hat thaway.Sin embargo los errores notorios hacen que mi calificacion no sea perfecta. No obstante este film no deja de ser unaUn film lleno de emoción , efectos visuales increíbles, una actuacion muy buena de parte de anne hat thaway.Sin embargo los errores notorios hacen que mi calificacion no sea perfecta. No obstante este film no deja de ser una obra maestra. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
NickmoviesSep 8, 2012
This was a really good movie. Now before I get ahead of myself I will start by saying that this was definitely not the best of the Nolan batman's but it was a really fun time. Although there were a few flaws near the end of the movie it didThis was a really good movie. Now before I get ahead of myself I will start by saying that this was definitely not the best of the Nolan batman's but it was a really fun time. Although there were a few flaws near the end of the movie it did not make me look at the film in a different way. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
peterbmacdSep 10, 2012
At nearly 3 hours, one might be skeptical to find it zooming by. Luckily, it does just that. I don't believe that any part had deserved the right to be cut. It had quite a lot more action than its predecessor, but it was thoroughly enjoyed. IAt nearly 3 hours, one might be skeptical to find it zooming by. Luckily, it does just that. I don't believe that any part had deserved the right to be cut. It had quite a lot more action than its predecessor, but it was thoroughly enjoyed. I also found myself between the booming speakers, begging me to to stay on the edge of me seat. Tom Hardy had quite the seat to fill after Heath Ledger's Joker. Frankly, it wasn't as great, but his perception of Bane was quite good. The last ten minutes resolved the trilogy with great style. It wasn't THAT surprising, but its resolution was better than I could hoped for a trilogy of this caliber. DO NOT hesitate to watch this film! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PhilrockSep 14, 2012
It concludes this trilogy in such a great way that makes the three movies function as one piece of storytelling. Most importantly, it's an amazingly written and acted story that lives up to the hype generated by the previous ones and faithfulIt concludes this trilogy in such a great way that makes the three movies function as one piece of storytelling. Most importantly, it's an amazingly written and acted story that lives up to the hype generated by the previous ones and faithful and honest towards the comics that originally brought The Dark Knight to a legend status. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeDec 7, 2012
This film has seemed a lot better than the previous film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BigStozzOct 2, 2012
This film is great, it doesn't quite live up to the incredible lofty heights of The Dark Knight (2008) but it's still a great watch, the set pieces are fantastic, the scale of the film is ginormous, technical codes are brilliant and to top itThis film is great, it doesn't quite live up to the incredible lofty heights of The Dark Knight (2008) but it's still a great watch, the set pieces are fantastic, the scale of the film is ginormous, technical codes are brilliant and to top it all off it's a rollercoaster ride from start to finish. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
HenryZambranoDec 29, 2012
"The Dark Knight Rises" presents an incomprehensibly muddled story, a swarm of too many new characters, and a tediously spiritual journey of Batman
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
WalkingDead5640Jul 5, 2013
A 2hr 30min movie and one hell of a movie! It's an amazing and epic last in a trilogy. Whilst I don't think it can ever top the The Dark Knight, it offers an epic, darker edge and emotional story. It shows the rise and fall of Bruce Wayne,A 2hr 30min movie and one hell of a movie! It's an amazing and epic last in a trilogy. Whilst I don't think it can ever top the The Dark Knight, it offers an epic, darker edge and emotional story. It shows the rise and fall of Bruce Wayne, once has met his match physically. Nolan makes more epic scale action scenes. His characters are useful and aid Gotham in Batman's absence as Bane who has a deadly presence on screen has Gotham rigged with a nuke. The climax isn't exciting though and pretty dull, though the ending is touching and epic. I like how they tried to introduce a Robin character and acknowledged that the batman could be anyone with the right courage. I think for a last in the series, it does what it should do and wrap everything up into a tie, but there still something holding it back from me but I don't know what. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
DANIELFRANCOMay 4, 2013
Although The Dark Knight Rises can't top The Dark Knight, it was a great movie that knew what it was; a worthy closing chapter to a trilogy. TDKR sets the trilogy as the best comic-book trilogy of all time for being just an epic conclusionAlthough The Dark Knight Rises can't top The Dark Knight, it was a great movie that knew what it was; a worthy closing chapter to a trilogy. TDKR sets the trilogy as the best comic-book trilogy of all time for being just an epic conclusion and a great movie. Although I wasn't happy with some of the plot points, they worked for the movie and can be forgiven dune to the epic action sequences. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BatmanLivesMay 21, 2013
Great film, second best of the trilogy after The Dark Knight. Really, it's different to the other films in the trilogy but has some interesting themes.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews