Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 20, 2012
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3896 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,266
Mixed:
344
Negative:
286
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
adw55125Jul 3, 2017
A fitting conclusion to the greatest Superhero trilogy. There is problems in this movie, no denying. But this film stands strong, while being the weakest in the trilogy. Bane was such a great villain and this movie's scale is just so epic andA fitting conclusion to the greatest Superhero trilogy. There is problems in this movie, no denying. But this film stands strong, while being the weakest in the trilogy. Bane was such a great villain and this movie's scale is just so epic and leaves you on the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
salmansohail_Jun 27, 2017
The Dark Knight Rises is a spectacular finish to Christopher Nolans Dark Knight trilogy in my opinion. An explosive cast, great villain and memorable scenes. The Dark Knight Rises is in no way a disappointment. I love how the story is told inThe Dark Knight Rises is a spectacular finish to Christopher Nolans Dark Knight trilogy in my opinion. An explosive cast, great villain and memorable scenes. The Dark Knight Rises is in no way a disappointment. I love how the story is told in this film. Amazing performances all around. The best goes to Tom Hardy and his exceptional work as Bane, while being excellent, he still wasn't as good as Heath Ledgers job as "The Joker" though, but Bane was still cool and exciting. Christopher Nolan is a genius and a mastermind. He has just created the best trilogy ever! I'm sad to see it end but at the same time I have to give a hand for Mr. Nolan and the amazing work he has done and its a good thing he doesn't overdo it and he knows that, one of the reasons why he "ends" it with "The Dark Knight Rises". Whether you're a Batman fan or not, you simply must enjoy this film because it is a pure stroke of genius. Everybody needs to witness this awesome, pulse-pounding, heartracing, and exciting film. There are so many great scenes in this film. One of my personal favorites would be when Bruce Wayne is climbing out of the pit. The Emotion one can feel just by watching that clip is amazing. But direction from Christopher Nolan isn't only what made this film so great. Its sound track did as well. Hans Zimmer is a genius, what he has created for 2012's Dark Knight Rises fits so perfectly well that you would not even think "I think Danny Elfman should have done the score for Christopher Nolans batflicks." What makes Hans Zimmer such a great artist for this film is how he shows the griddyness and harsh nature of Bane, which can be seen in "Gothams Reckoning". Another example is how perfectly Hans Zimmer establishes the Bruce Wayne rising out of the pit with his music which can be heard in "Why Do We Fall". Every score is phenomenal. And even if you never learned to love this film, its not too difficult to love Hans Zimmers composition for the film. One weakness I can point out for this film was the two fights with Bane and Batman. Although it felt so good watching Batman get his butt kicked from bane in the first fight. It didn't feel as fast and fluid as Batman should. The Dark Knight felt too slow. However this also creates a great plot point that relates to the main plot. Bruce Wayne has not been Batman in 8 years, is he still as good as once was?

The Dark Knight Rises is in no exception an incredible film. As great as it is exciting, you will not be bored when watching this film. Although its a bit weaker then prequel, it can be just as fun. Tom Hardys portrayal of Bane is spectacular along with Anne Hattaway's portrayal of Selina Kyle, which is just as enjoyable. Morgan Freemans Lucius Fox feels as smart as he should in the comics, and Michael Caines Alfred is emotional and memorable. Hans Zimmer composition is exhilarating and amazing. Christopher Nolans and Christian Bales trilogy is a must-see. They have crafted something so amazing that I dont think any other superhero films will be able to surpass or even meet. This is the Definitive Dark Knight Trilogy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
It has been eight years since Batman (Christian Bale), in collusion with Commissioner Gordon (Gary Oldman), vanished into the night. Assuming responsibility for the death of Harvey Dent, Batman sacrificed everything for what he and GordonIt has been eight years since Batman (Christian Bale), in collusion with Commissioner Gordon (Gary Oldman), vanished into the night. Assuming responsibility for the death of Harvey Dent, Batman sacrificed everything for what he and Gordon hoped would be the greater good. However, the arrival of a cunning cat burglar (Anne Hathaway) and a merciless terrorist named Bane (Tom Hardy) force Batman out of exile and into a battle he may not be able to win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Daniel17May 3, 2017
The Dark Knight Rises may not be as good as its first two predecessors like Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. It may be my least favourite of the trilogy. But it's a perfect example of how this film concluded the film's trilogy as a wholeThe Dark Knight Rises may not be as good as its first two predecessors like Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. It may be my least favourite of the trilogy. But it's a perfect example of how this film concluded the film's trilogy as a whole (which is a good thing). Despite the first half of the film felt pretty weak and some of its unnecessary characters like John Blake and Miranda Tate/Talia al Ghul, it still offers a solid story, interesting characters, awesome action scenes, great acting (including the performances of Anne Hathaway and Tom Hardy), an epic score by Hans Zimmer and a fantastic ending. If you enjoyed Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, you should go and check this movie out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZerpnosMar 11, 2017
İlk 2 filmin ardından, bitişi nasıl yapabilirler acaba diye düşünüyordum. Maalesef kalite olarak asla 2 filme yaklaşamaz fakat yine de Batman karakterini çok iyi bir şekilde perdeye aktaran bir film olmuş. Senaryoyu beğendiğimi söyleyemem,İlk 2 filmin ardından, bitişi nasıl yapabilirler acaba diye düşünüyordum. Maalesef kalite olarak asla 2 filme yaklaşamaz fakat yine de Batman karakterini çok iyi bir şekilde perdeye aktaran bir film olmuş. Senaryoyu beğendiğimi söyleyemem, klişe bir senaryosu vardı. Kötü karakteri çok güzel işleyerek, izleyiciyi germeyi başarmışlar. Bazı yerlerde heyecanlandırıp, aksiyonu çok yüksek olmasa bile tatmin edici derecedeydi. Ters köşe yapmaya çalışmışlar fakat ne bununla ilgili film boyunca azıcıkta olsa merak ettirecek bir şey vermemişler. Bu yüzden havada kaldığını ve en ufak heyecan bile duymayarak, sevmediğimi belirtmek zorundayım. Fakat bu gibi olayların haricinde film, genel olarak güzeldi. Gerilim dozu yüksek, aksiyonu iyi, başarılı bir üçlemeydi. Teşekkürler Nolan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amai2739Jan 26, 2017
The final chapter to Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight trilogy is bittersweet. I've gotta say The Dark Knight Rises is the weakest of the three. Just that there are some parts to the movie that just didn't need to be there and thatThe final chapter to Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight trilogy is bittersweet. I've gotta say The Dark Knight Rises is the weakest of the three. Just that there are some parts to the movie that just didn't need to be there and that definitely made it feel bloated. It was a good way to end it, just not great. Christian Bale of course does a great job as Batman as always. Tom Hardy's Bane was excellent, truly menacing behind the mask, and that says a lot. I didn't mind the voice that everyone was complaining about. Anne Hathaway's Catwoman? I loved, a lot of people had doubts when she was cast, but personally, I thought she was the best part of the movie. Actually, I wished she had more screen time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
toadvinesJan 11, 2017
Plot holes! THOUSANDS OF ‘EM! There are many moments in TDKR which will leave you confused and these have all been very well documented. I think Chris Nolan expects either suspension of disbelief from the audience, or expects that thePlot holes! THOUSANDS OF ‘EM! There are many moments in TDKR which will leave you confused and these have all been very well documented. I think Chris Nolan expects either suspension of disbelief from the audience, or expects that the audience doesn’t need every last thing spelled out to them, ie. he doesn’t need to waste valuable screen time showing us how Bruce Wayne gets back to Gotham City after being imprisoned by Bane – I mean, he’s Batman, you just need to assume that this wouldn’t be a problem for him! But this seems to enrage certain members of the audience, you know the RLM/Cinema Sins crew. And I guess that lot enjoy picking holes and acting clever so this is good for them. The plot holes do not make the film bad if the overall experience is still satisfying, which it is with TDKR. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheMoeJan 4, 2017
The Dark Knight Rises was an epic ending to an epic saga. Batman goes out with style ! Amazing acting by Bale, Morgan Freeman, Tom Hardy and basically everyone in this movie. Top notch cast, and Christopher Nolan is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BroyaxJan 2, 2017
Après un premier épisode moyen de l'ère Nolan/Bale, puis un second film catastrophique, ce troisième volet est comme un soulagement, comme si enfin, Nolan avait trouvé sa voie pour le Batman, une voie qu'on devinait déjà très différente deAprès un premier épisode moyen de l'ère Nolan/Bale, puis un second film catastrophique, ce troisième volet est comme un soulagement, comme si enfin, Nolan avait trouvé sa voie pour le Batman, une voie qu'on devinait déjà très différente de tous les précédents opus de la saga et qu'il peinait déjà à mettre en place dans Batman begins.

Car le choix du réalisme à tout crin et la mise à la benne de tout le folklore délirant de l'univers ne s'est pas fait sans tâtonnements ni -surtout- sans erreurs, de nombreuses erreurs et errements. Personnellement je n'adhère pas vraiment et ai toujours préféré la vision de Tim Burton, gothique, excessive et baroque, la plus adaptée au névropathe en collants.

Nonobstant cette divergence de vue, il faut reconnaître une cohérence dans ce troisième film et un effort de psychologie sur le Batman aux abois, largué et repoussé dans ses derniers retranchements par un ennemi singulier, le fameux "Bane", rejeton avorté de Dark Vador lui-même avec un physique de catcheur. Jusqu'au rebondissement de la fin évidemment, rebondissement bien pourri mais puisqu'il n'y en a qu'un (de rebondissement) on est prêt à passer l'éponge.

La réalisation est maîtrisée, le montage reste clair et fait la part belle au spectacle des effets spéciaux et malgré sa durée qui se répand tout de même inutilement (deux heures trois quarts le bousin !) aucun ennui ne pointe le bout de son groin.

Si le rôle de flic neuneu dévolu au fidèle Gary Oldman est moins neuneu que d'habitude et si Robin est une surprise (je ne m'en serais jamais douté !), Morgan Freeman reste encore un accessoire tandis que Majordome Caine est à peine moins ridicule qu'auparavant. Le pire sans doute est à porter au discrédit de Catwoman : peu crédible, son personnage est devenu aussi superficiel que superflu, désincarné par une Anne Hathaway qui n'a décidément rien pour elle.

Quant à notre Marion... si elle peut tirer des thunes à ces andouilles d'Hollywood, pourquoi pas ! mais pas trop souvent quand même, surtout qu'elle ne s'arrange pas avec le temps.

La musique de Hans Zimmer fait le boulot mais manque d'âme et d'inspiration, ce n'est hélas ici que le minimum syndical d'un compositeur qui a connu mieux.

Finalement, on se demande s'il s'agit encore d'un "Batman" : sa ville générique, les péripéties qui sont devenues presque exclusivement diurnes, les personnages retaillés sous l'angle de "la légitimité réaliste", l'ennemi implacable devenu un vulgaire terroriste... l'homme-chauve-souris a-t-il encore vraiment besoin d'un déguisement ?

Sans doute pas, sans doute plus, ce qui n'empêche pas d'apprécier du beau spectacle et une certaine idée de la "grandeur" du "super-héros"... ancrée dans la réalité.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersDec 21, 2016
I remember first seeing this film shortly after it came out and, in all honesty, not being too crazy about it. I mean, I enjoyed it, but there was just something about it that I didn't love that I just couldn't put my finger on. However, overI remember first seeing this film shortly after it came out and, in all honesty, not being too crazy about it. I mean, I enjoyed it, but there was just something about it that I didn't love that I just couldn't put my finger on. However, over the years, I've seen the film on TV more and more, and I've got to say, I really enjoy it. I feel like it kind of begs repeat viewings, and it's worth watching more than once. It's well-acted, well-directed, exciting, wonderfully-written and it features some great characters. I still feel that Bane isn't a great of a villain as the Joker was (I think that has everything to do with Heath's Joker being so amazing), but all in all, "The Dark Knight Rises" is a fantastic film that's absolutely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ClipStateNov 14, 2016
This is arguably the best superhero movie I have seen, on par or slightly above The Dark Knight in my opinion. We one of the best superhero trilogies draw to a close, not going without a damn good fight. While the last film's JokerThis is arguably the best superhero movie I have seen, on par or slightly above The Dark Knight in my opinion. We one of the best superhero trilogies draw to a close, not going without a damn good fight. While the last film's Joker represented all that was insane about the world, Rises' Bane is a show of pure force. The stakes are raised to the maximum here. Accompanying the masterful directed scenes is the equally beautiful score by Hans Zimmer. Fight choreography and direction is well implemented and the set pieces are epic and engaging. The budget was put to good use. The Dark Knight Rises is compelling from start to finish and sets the bar for future Batman flicks. Overall, this film represents all that is good about Nolan's trilogy as we get to see Bale's character develop beyond what we had seen in its predecessors. Both films and character incarnations alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
UNARMED_JORDAug 21, 2016
the dark knight rises brings its own plot, and new villains to Christopher Nolan's Dark knight trilogy, even though it cannot surpass the Heath ledger: Dark knight, Dark knight rises still makes for a phenomenal close to the best superherothe dark knight rises brings its own plot, and new villains to Christopher Nolan's Dark knight trilogy, even though it cannot surpass the Heath ledger: Dark knight, Dark knight rises still makes for a phenomenal close to the best superhero trilogy of all time Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cfpAug 5, 2016
After the Dark Knight and the departure of Ledger, this movie had a lot in its plate. It did really well, however, the fight scenes were disappointing, while batman still can fight well, it's not as fast and dynamic and as it should be.After the Dark Knight and the departure of Ledger, this movie had a lot in its plate. It did really well, however, the fight scenes were disappointing, while batman still can fight well, it's not as fast and dynamic and as it should be. Batman is the best martial arts fighter in comic books and this movie doesn't show that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OutATimeJul 26, 2016
I'm not sure about this portrayal of bane, although well acted, he falls a little short of mark for me. (Although he is still leagues ahead of other on screen banes so far) The film was a bit slow, but over all I think we can forgive it forI'm not sure about this portrayal of bane, although well acted, he falls a little short of mark for me. (Although he is still leagues ahead of other on screen banes so far) The film was a bit slow, but over all I think we can forgive it for not reaching the same heights as the Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 22, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises is the best conclusion to any superhero series out there. Its also just a really damn good movie. I still like The Dark Knight slightly more, but damn is it ever close. What I love most about The Dark Knight Rises is howThe Dark Knight Rises is the best conclusion to any superhero series out there. Its also just a really damn good movie. I still like The Dark Knight slightly more, but damn is it ever close. What I love most about The Dark Knight Rises is how ambitious it is; with its over the top action set pieces - but the great thing is Nolan pulls them all off perfectly. Thanks to the use of practical effects, the crashing plane for example is astounding to watch on screen. But its also the writing, the casting, the performances, and the music that sets the bar so high. The Dark Knight Rises does the first two films justice thus creating the best superhero trilogy of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
harrylikespieJul 22, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises is a great way to end the franchise on a high note! Christopher Nolan has done an incredible job bringing the characters to life and truly keeping my eyes on the screen. The movie is one to be watched over and overThe Dark Knight Rises is a great way to end the franchise on a high note! Christopher Nolan has done an incredible job bringing the characters to life and truly keeping my eyes on the screen. The movie is one to be watched over and over again, whether it was Christian Bale's performance that brought Batman to life or the practical effects and multiple locations and a wide range of sets the crew defiantly met my expectations. Tom Hardy's performance was truly frightening and made the character feel real. The movie is beautiful and the story is gripping alongside an incredible cast makes this movie one of my favorite movies of all time, and it is sad that I wont see anymore Batman films from Christopher Nolan because this was amazing! I highly recommend that you watch it as soon as possible! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
superbatJul 2, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises isn't as good as the Dark Knight, but it is still a great comic book movie nonetheless. Nolan once again delivers us with a spectacular plot and breathtaking fight scenes. The characters were amazing as well, from BatmanThe Dark Knight Rises isn't as good as the Dark Knight, but it is still a great comic book movie nonetheless. Nolan once again delivers us with a spectacular plot and breathtaking fight scenes. The characters were amazing as well, from Batman and Catwoman to Gordon and Blake. This movie is a satisfying ending to one of the greatest movie trilogies ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BlancheJun 23, 2016
I still haven't seen The Dark Knight, which is considered to be one of the best superhero films of all time, but as far as things go, this film is easily one of the best I've seen.

Christopher Nolan has a knack for directing these
I still haven't seen The Dark Knight, which is considered to be one of the best superhero films of all time, but as far as things go, this film is easily one of the best I've seen.

Christopher Nolan has a knack for directing these sequences, the award-winning Hans Zimmer's amazing compositions really allowed me to immerse myself within this amazing film. Constant yet controlled periods of high adrenaline tension within the music combined with the cinematography kept me at the edge of my seat.

Okay, so some choreography was off but despite this I enjoyed watching every minute of this film and you don't need to read the comics to get a decent understanding of this film. That's an incredibly difficult task for directors, as they need please people who don't know the story that well as please the dedicated fans that know everything about the background of the characters. A balance to please both sets of fans to the best of his ability. For me, the cast was perfect and this film is pretty much nearly perfect. Might as well give it 10 out of 10 for the benefit of doubt!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bob198Jun 7, 2016
The Dark Knight Rise is a brilliant peace of film, its not just a superhero film but a dark and meaningful movie. With Tom Hardy ,Bale, and Christopher Nolan at he helm this is a perfect ending for The Dark Knight Trilogy!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
The Dark Knight series has elevated the comic book genre. Best set of comic book movies. The Dark Knight Rises is thrilling, emotional, suspenseful, dramatic and is so fantastic. Chris Nolan and Christian Bale have definitely left their markThe Dark Knight series has elevated the comic book genre. Best set of comic book movies. The Dark Knight Rises is thrilling, emotional, suspenseful, dramatic and is so fantastic. Chris Nolan and Christian Bale have definitely left their mark on the Batman franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwMay 25, 2016
While it's clearly not as superlative as its famous predecessor, it's simply because of both Heath Ledger's outstanding and Oscar-winning performance, and the character of the Joker's etching in our collective unconscious as the greatestWhile it's clearly not as superlative as its famous predecessor, it's simply because of both Heath Ledger's outstanding and Oscar-winning performance, and the character of the Joker's etching in our collective unconscious as the greatest comic-book villain ever created (with Lex Luthor a very distant second place). This is still a masterwork, and is an excellent coda to the finest filmic trilogy ever made. As great as Christopher Nolan is as a director, and as fine a film as 'Interstellar' is, I really don't know if he'll ever be able to top his work here, on these three films. But I, for one, am certainly looking forward to finding out... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RvwFromUpHereMay 24, 2016
Who: Christian Bale, God, Tom Hansen, Princess Diaries, and Mad Max as "I was booooorn in the dark"
What: The epic conclusion to what is and what always will be DC's greatest trilogy
Where: Gotham City, then the bottom of a hole, then
Who: Christian Bale, God, Tom Hansen, Princess Diaries, and Mad Max as "I was booooorn in the dark"
What: The epic conclusion to what is and what always will be DC's greatest trilogy
Where: Gotham City, then the bottom of a hole, then Gotham City again
When (Can I watch again): When you want to watch a sequel that isn't as good as it's predecessor
Why: Though this is a must watch, it seems to fall a tad short of the perfect conclusion that could have been
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CaillouPettisMay 18, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises is the sequel to the 2008 film, The Dark Knight, and is the third and final installment in the Christopher Nolan Batman trilogy.

Christian Bale is back as Batman, and he is still as good playing the character as he
The Dark Knight Rises is the sequel to the 2008 film, The Dark Knight, and is the third and final installment in the Christopher Nolan Batman trilogy.

Christian Bale is back as Batman, and he is still as good playing the character as he ever was before. His performance still feels as if Bruce Wayne/Batman is a real person.

Main villain Bane, played by Tom Hardy is also fantastic in the movie. It's a very unique addition to the trilogy because this is the first time you can tell that Batman is questioning whether or not he will win the fight against him, because he's such a powerful figure. The opening sequence alone featuring Bane is fantastic complete with visually miraculous visual effects.

That's another thing this movie does, have awesome special effects/visual effects that are stunning to stare at. The Dark Knight Rises' effects work is truly some of the best visual effects work in a Batman movie to date.

The character introduction to Joseph Gordon Levitt's character did feel forced to me, and I didn't think it worked out as much.

The Dark Knight Rises isn't as good as The Dark Knight, but it truly is a fantastic Batman movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jack97May 7, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises does what has to be done for the conclusion of a trilogy. It raises the stakes and gives our titular hero his biggest and most dangerous foe yet. And the result is a suitably grim yet epic finale filled with exciting,The Dark Knight Rises does what has to be done for the conclusion of a trilogy. It raises the stakes and gives our titular hero his biggest and most dangerous foe yet. And the result is a suitably grim yet epic finale filled with exciting, heart pounding action and incredible cinematic moments. It's a really great comic book movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Antgiog1202May 4, 2016
Christopher Nolan has done it again with his Dark Knight trilogy! The Dark Knight Rises is a great sequel to an outstanding franchise -- maybe one of the best out there. The menacing portrayal of Bane was a key factor to making this film suchChristopher Nolan has done it again with his Dark Knight trilogy! The Dark Knight Rises is a great sequel to an outstanding franchise -- maybe one of the best out there. The menacing portrayal of Bane was a key factor to making this film such a success. Tom Hardy, a great actor in general, really provided his character with a lot of intimidation which payed in the end as I was intimidated myself. Hans Zimmer score was phenominal -- as usual. The writing was great as the storyline eliminates the fact that this is a Batman movie and creates a more compelling and realistic masterpiece.

This was great ending to an outstanding franchise and should be considered as one of the best!

Rating: 9/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ShafeApr 18, 2016
Some people massively exaggarate plot holes in films,but this one was a fantastic conclusion to one of the greatest trilogies ever made in my opinion!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
"The Dark Knight Rises" is a brilliant summer blockbuster that succeeds responding its massive hype by gloriously ending The Dark Knight Trilogy. Despite some stretched-out plot holes and cliches the movie's story-line is tight and packed"The Dark Knight Rises" is a brilliant summer blockbuster that succeeds responding its massive hype by gloriously ending The Dark Knight Trilogy. Despite some stretched-out plot holes and cliches the movie's story-line is tight and packed with visual eye candy, stuff that you gotta watch in IMAX. Most of the actors from "Inception" are brought down into the film and they boast solid performances. The tone of the movie isn't as dark as "The Dark Knight", but it still is mature and realistic (in a sense...). However what Christopher Nolan hit dead right was, in my opinion. the ending. I won't spoil anything but I can say that the ending is very refreshing and interesting; it's different from the usual linear endings brainless Hollywood blockbuster directors/producers think of. Long story short, WATCH IT. It's not quite the same level as of "The Dark Knight", but it has big scope visual eye-pleasers as well as a somewhat sensational and wise ending; a finishing touch for director Nolan's epic trilogy of the lonesome dark knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTMar 30, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: The Batman story concludes, this time it's even more epic, Nolan engaging us with a higher-stakes story, as well as continuing the deep and themeic beats of it's predecessor. Improved cohesive writing and a more established toneWHAT I LIKED: The Batman story concludes, this time it's even more epic, Nolan engaging us with a higher-stakes story, as well as continuing the deep and themeic beats of it's predecessor. Improved cohesive writing and a more established tone make for a film that fits and flows much better too. What's more, the whole final action sequence will have you gripped on the edge of year seat. All the great things from this epic franchise amalgamate here, and the coming together had me close to tears. It's the grittiest, most engaging and well-balanced film in the trilogy. This'll make you think, but it also makes you feel something
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Does Nolan really have to go quite this far to explore the themes that he wants to? It's sure told better here than in 'The Dark Knight,' but the actual story makes even less sense than before. And whilst I complained before about sloppy storytelling, this actually gets extremely bogged down in the middle of it's expansive run-time.
VERDICT: Batman goes full circle. 'The Dark Knight Rises' masterfully combines the best of the first's storytelling, and the second film's ideas. The result just could have been a bit more grounded. And shorter.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AaronWasserman1Mar 26, 2016
The Dark Knight series has elevated the comic book genre. Best set of comic book movies. The Dark Knight Rises is thrilling, emotional, suspenseful, dramatic and is so fantastic. Chris Nolan and Christian Bale have definitely left their markThe Dark Knight series has elevated the comic book genre. Best set of comic book movies. The Dark Knight Rises is thrilling, emotional, suspenseful, dramatic and is so fantastic. Chris Nolan and Christian Bale have definitely left their mark on the Batman franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerMar 25, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises is the best movie of Christopher Nolan's trilogy, the best DC movie one of my favourite movies. This is one of the best series ever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews