User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 2991 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    The best of the current Batman trilogy! Great story and acting. Good cast too! This film takes you much deeper than the previous two and also keeps you guessing throughout it. Has a great ending and keeps the doors open.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    This movie was awesome from the beginning to the end. I never enjoyed in a movie that good since The Dark Knight. The previous movie was way better. But this one was good too, it was exciting all the time. Anne Hathaway really surprised me with such performance. Also the ending was pretty amazing.
    The only thing I didn't liked about the movie was the ending with Blake - this was
    unnecessary. But anyway, it's a good movie. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    THE DARK KNIGHT RISES is an exciting, well-made, well-performed and well directed finale that Batman and Nolan fans will surely love this near flawless and worthy conclusion to the well loved franchise.
  4. Aug 26, 2012
    5
    Failed to meet expectations. Christopher Nolan delivered in the beginning of this trilogy. Then he hit a home-run with THE DARK KNIGHT. I believe he failed to bring us along with BANE and develop his WHY factor. WHY was he after Batman. In each of his first two movies, you get to appreciate the villain and understand their 'WHY-factor". WHY they are attacking Batman, WHY they are the way they are. This was a huge failure to me since I spent most of my time asking WHY certain scenes were occurring throughout the flick. You gain the understanding at the end, however it is the distraction of asking yourself WHY that ruined the movie for me. There are movies that you will watch over and over again to discover new things that you may have missed, and even though I am a HUGE Batman fan, this will not be one of them. I do firmly believe that all of the pieces of the puzzle were there, they were just not put into the correct order for you to enjoy them. Read up on some of BANE's Bio- there is some interesting reasoning and logic as to WHY he CHOSE Gotham and Batman........his Bio, unfortunately, was way more fun to read than the reasons he chose in the movie. I understand that you can't please everyone attending a movie, however, if you can not live up to the hype that you, yourself, have built up (like Christopher Nolan has) then the let down was that much worse. Do yourself a favor and watch it when it hits BluRay just to say that you watched it....but only rent it. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Best movie of all time, what Dark Knight has done for the genre, Rises reinforces in full force. As a matter of fact, it's about time for us as the audience to stop remarking at what an excellent comic book movie has been made and start to appreciate them for the works of art that they truly are. TDKR is a gripping, emotionally potent modern war epic that will leave you with breathless with delight and anguish (simultaneously) by the end. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    3
    First and foremost, the sound quality in this film is one of the worse I have heard for a major motion picture, and I saw it in IMAX which has the best sound available. Overall, I would say I understood about 2/3 of the dialogue, and only about 1/3 of Bane's dialogue. Bane wears a mask and when he speaks, for no apparent reason, there is an amplified distorted voice. On top of that he has an accent making it even worse. When he spoke into a microphone on the football field you may as well forget trying to understand him. The rest of the movie had a VERY annoying loud cello playing in the background when people were speaking. There were no silent spots that I remember. There was even dialogue being spoken during the action scenes. My friend and I were constantly leaning over and saying "what did he say?". There is also absolutely NO humor in this film whatsoever, and in fact every person on the screen had the same angry, angst, cynical personality. As always, the special effects were superb which I would expect for a budget the size they had. There are numerous plot holes and ludicrous moments throughout. Michael Caine weeps in almost every scene. I'm a big fan of Anne Hathaway but she is a waste here. She is yet another angry kick-ass person on screen, when they could have used her for some MUCH needed humor in the film. Lastly, the movie was WAY too long. I was so relieved when it finally ended after the cacophony of noise I had to endure for 2 hours and 40 minutes. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    First off I'll say that this isn't a perfect movie. The pace is a little off, the action is a bit more subdued compared with TDK and Bane is a villain isn't nearly as scary as the Joker was. However, reviewed as part of a trilogy, TDKR is a fantastic 3rd part. Not only does it tie the whole 3 movie arc together, but it also provides the audience with a logical conclusion that makes sense and feels complete. I would compare this movie to the Return of the Jedi. Sure it's not the best of the 3, but it creates a logical conclusion worthy of the trilogy as a whole. Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Bane is one of the best villains in a long time. Fascinatingly strange. And Nolan does a typically great job of working in other story lines without forcing it.
  9. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    Truly amazing. Every minute was a pleasure. The ending was magnificent and rounds up everything perfectly, yet leave continuity in place for the next movie to come (as surely as it must)! Though I sympathise with the director who steps up to fill Nolan's shoes :-)

    11/10
  10. Aug 23, 2012
    1
    it looks nice and has some good parts but i spent at least over hour and thirty minutes of this 2 hour 45 minute movie completely bored and it doesn't help that bane sounds like sean connery
  11. Aug 23, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first, I thought TDKR was an awesome movie, but I was still affected by the hype. As the excitement went down, I noticed several major flaws that affect the film as a whole. 1. What was the point of the blood transfusion at the beginning? 2. If Bane was so intelligent, why did he put Bruce Wayne right next to the guy that could heal his back? 3. The prison was supposed to be hell on Earth, but it was far from it. The inmates were pretty good fellows that for some reason, decide to cheer and help Bruce Wayne when he needs it. Why do they get so excited when Bruce Wayne escapes? 4. The inmates had the prison exit right in front of their faces and only a kid managed to get out? really? 5. If Batman is so intelligent, why did he end settling down with the woman that kept screwing him the entire movie? 6. Bane had the most lame conclusion the writers could come up with. It was so anticlimactic to see that Selina Kyle could do in one second what Batman couldn't do in the entire film 7. As Batman fans saw coming from a mile away, Miranda Tate was indeed Talia Al Ghul. Too bad she only has like 20 minutes of screen time and that one of the most memorable characters from the comics was reduced to a promiscuous megalomaniac. And just like Bane, she had a very poor conclusion 8. Regarding the ending, I have the impression Christopher Nolan wanted Batman to die but Warner Bros executives wouldn't let him, so he had no other choice but to go with a corny nonsensical conclusion 9. The part where TDKR resembles Batman and Robin is in how Bane is portrayed as the pawn of an evil crazy slut. 10. Why did Bruce Wayne had his leg wounded all that time when he could have easily fixed it in the beginning with that device he uses later? 11. The way John Blake deduces Batman's identity is too random and I never bought it. 12. The first 30 minutes of TKDR are just boring exposition which is quite hard to follow at times. 13. The fact that Joker is never mentioned in the movie. I know they didn't speak of him in respect to Heath Ledger, but at least they could have used an audio track of his laughter just to point out Joker is still hanging around. 14. There's no way in the real world a woman ends in a male prison. 15. The Robin twist at the ending was pointless keeping in mind TDKR is the last Nolan Batman movie so it will most likely go nowhere. It was only there for fanboys to say "wow! he's Robin, let's get excited!" They could have named the character Dick Grayson and it wouldn't have made any difference. Not to mention Joseph Gordon Levitt is too old to be Robin by now. In any case, he could be Nightwing. Expand
  12. Aug 23, 2012
    5
    I liked the previous two movies, but in a nutshell this movie was more of a political campaign than a Batman movie. The movie starts of right where the prequel ended. Awesome right? Wrong! New characters just pop in out of nowhere and the worse part is that Batman knows them. The connection between The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises is poor unlike Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. There are some ridiculous plot-holes and in some scenes the border of realism has been stepped over too far. Especially one scene that includes characters with no weapons just running at other characters fully armed with automatic weapons. Bane is the main villain in this movie and the characters suffers from more problems than being very inaccurately taken out from the originals. There is no sense why would anyone follow him even to death. Also Batman's voice hasn't been fixed especially when he interrogates a person. The worse part is that we barely get to see Batman, but all we get is Bruce Wayne in an annoying situation. Also the movie introduces a new character from the originals who dies immediately. Also Bane has no conclusion, he gets forgotten in the plot. Also the ending seems more like the beginning than the conclusion. The movie focuses on what would happen if ''the people'' get the authority and ''the people'' are shown as mindless thugs and the good guys are rich company and bank executives. The political message couldn't be made more obvious than this. This new way of advertisement for political parties has completely ruined the movie. This movie may be the best example of advertisements used in entertainment and then getting over-hyped. Expand
  13. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Let me begin the review with this statement: THIS IS THE BEST SUPERHERO FILM MADE SO FAR! I know a lot of people are going to disagree with me because of the Dark Knight and the idiots are going to call the Avengers the best film but forget it, they're just idiots. I have been waiting since 2008 and have watched the first two films almost a hundred times and after watching this third film, I can clearly say that it was worth waiting for! The amount of anticipation and that hype it created was too enormous and it all got paid off. Nobody has ever made superhero films like Christopher Nolan, hence this trilogy is the best superhero trilogy. The acting, the direction, the screenplay, the cinematography, the production design, the costumes, the CGIs, the great cast and not releasing it in 3D being one of the most important things; everything about this film was flawless. Moving on to this film, the epic conclusion, I have no words to explain how happy I felt after watching it. Christian Bale's performance as Batman was mesmerizing as ever. And the way Tom Hardy performed as Bane was just astounding, he kept me terrified throughout the film especially after taking over Gotham city. Another important thing to notice was Bane's character, I read somewhere a couple of days ago that it is a superhero film without a superhero, and this is correct. This film focused more on Bane and the Gotham city. Another interesting part was when Bane actually broke Batman's back and sent him to prison, and then Batman rises again and comes back to save his city, that bit was too awesome. Anne Hathaway shined as Catwoman, I liked her performance as well as Joseph Gordon-Levitt's. Every single person in this film did more than amazing and turned it into a masterpiece. Hats off to Christopher Nolan for giving us a masterpiece, a trilogy that would be remembered for centuries. I would really like if this film gets all the big nominations in the Academy Awards and actually wins the Best Picture. This would be the best thing ever! Expand
  14. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This is one hell of a conclusion to the best superhero franchise of all time. The bar is set so high that its going to take a lot to top it. This franchise managed to pit all this in reality and that is what makes it so chilling. When it comes to Bane he is as great as the Joker with an added bonus that you really feel scared that the bat may not make it out of this one. Hardy is great but I personally think that nobody topples Caine as Alfred. All his scenes are memorable to say the least. Bale is just as great, playing Batman as a kick ass with the right amount of frailty add that realistic touch. Gordon-Levitt also adds that dashing look even tough his role is hardly glamorous. If you really want to nit pick you can say that some scenes are a bit over the top, but that is just that nit picking at what's one of the greatest movies of the year. Anne is also superb as Catwoman adding spice to an already delicious recipe. There are surprising twists and those that are not, but all of them are executed with grace and excellent in their own regard. As a whole this is a fitting conclusion to the Bat. Expand
  15. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First things first, this is definitely not too long, I finished watching and still wanted more of the awesome action. It is not as dark as the Dark Knight, but is almost as good. The acting again (like the first two) is top-notch, with the Batman regulars all acting at their best alongside the new recruits (other than there were a couple of times when I didn't understand what was being said). Catwoman is pretty much perfect in the film, leaving me with a "Year One" taste lingering in my mouth afterwards and Bane was awesome, not Joker awesome but awesome enough, as you really do feel the power of Bane in his punches and character. However, there were a couple of things that just happened, firstly, when Alfred leaves, he just leaves with no more explanation (a minor fault really, as it is explained why he leaves). Secondly, Bane's death was just a little too... fast, but he did break Batman's back which is all kinds of good :) The film wasn't very complicated, and the ending was absolutely fantastic, perfectly rounding things off. While the film wasn't quite up to the incredibly high standards of its predecessor, it is by far the best film I have seen for two years (Toy Story 3 was the last "masterpiece" I saw in the cinema) and definitely lives up to the hype. The Dark Knight Rises is a perfect mix of Batman Begins and the Dark Knight and will (probably) be the best film released this year, so go watch it for goodness sake! Expand
  16. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Probably the best Batman ever! I love Batman so that is saying something. Bane is one of the best villains ever too. Seen it three times, getting ready for a fourth. So sick!!!
  17. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Never wanted to cry more at the end of a movie. Amazing. Words cannot describe this movie. This movie gives reason to believe there is still hope for America.
  18. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    Well what can i say about this movie...it was pretty good but it was extremely long more than 2 hours wtf i was getting cranky but overall it was good
  19. Aug 20, 2012
    5
    To long for my taste. They could have made a better movie if they just cut the fat. I liked the ending but fond the plot abusrd and the twists where predicable.
  20. Aug 20, 2012
    0
    Doesn't come close to the previous Batman. In fact its not a Batman period. They throw in the music of the first batman and some nice directing but that not a movie. If you want to enjoy this 'movie' go buy the soundtrack its about all there is to enjoy in it. The acting is good but because all the characters are recycled and pointless compared to the previous you can't say there is any real reason to wasting a persons time nor money on seeing the pile of **** endo! They didn't like my ip address because i gave it a rating of zero. Expand
  21. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie, simply put, was pure genius. Noland really pulled it off amazingly. He took the dark grittiness of the comic books and conveyed it like no other director has. I've noticed a lot of reviews such as people being annoyed that there is no way he could have escaped the bomb. I get that this is a large plot hole, for those of you that don't know batman. If you did, you would know that plot holes like this are what make the batman franchise. Batman is entity of mystery and pique human physique, i get that just anyone couldn't have survived it, but Batman is, and forever shall be, a superhero. This means he is able to pull off super human feats. They are not explained because giving away everything would make Batman lose his super quality. Another review i read stated that they didn't like the fact that Robin was basically useless. I think what people fail to realize is that it is essential for Robin to feel useless. This later will fuel his desire to make a difference, to don his balaclava and become more than just a cop, just a man, but more than a man. He will become a symbol, whether as Robin or as Nightwing, it is essential that he must feel powerless in order to feel like he needs to change to make a difference. We must remember that this is a superhero movie, making things like resetting a vertebrae what makes Batman "super". Bane was on par with Joker as a super villain. It represented what was most dangerous about Bane, not his muscles, not his addiction to venom, but his tactical mind. This was dumbed down in previous Batman movies but this does an excellent job portraying it. This movie also included the depth the villains are willing to go to achieve their goals. Raz;s daughter infiltrated Wayne Enterprises in order for her plan to come to fruition. Its dedication like that that is making it worth while to destroy Gotham. Great Movie! Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    I loved this movie. I love this series. It stands alone as a pantheon of cinema, not just within the superhero genre. That being said, the second film is the best in the series, it's 'Empire Strikes Back' if you will. As I was watching it I viewed it as a masterpiece. Once I had some time to digest it, I began to notice points of inconsistency and plain stupidity on the part of the filmmakers. For instance, after the cops are rescued from beneath the city, they appear wearing freshly pressed uniforms and are cleanly shaven. Keep in mind that they were under for almost 3 months, this seems highly unlikely. They barely had basic supplies let alone a drycleaner and razorblades. Also, once Batman escapes from the prison, he somehow enters a completely locked down Gotham without anyone noticing or any visible means of transportation. Finally, Bane's age is somewhat difficult to swallow. He appears to be in his twenties when he helps Talia escape the prison, where she is probably about 8 or 9. In the film she appears to be somwhere in her late thirties to early forties, meaning that Bane is somewhere in his fifties and possibly even sixties. It seems unlikely for him to be that old, considering he looks to be in his late twenties to early thirties (at least to me). Expand
  23. Aug 18, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything felt rushed, miscued & unexplained in the last 90 minutes. The last 30 minutes made generally no sense. After Batman 2 which was brilliant, this movie had me consistently asking why were most of the characters so idiotic in their thinking. A few bad actors in place as well; and the ending? Really? How could Batman survive that? Maybe if his batwing morphed int an amphibious craft. Just a LOT of unexplained holes that had you asking, how'd he get there?, why don't they just...? I really hate it when movie that supposed to be great, leaves you analyzing the direction job. The voice of Bane to me just didn't fit either, it sounded like a 70 year old college professor. Expand
  24. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    A 2 hour and 45 minute movie that will span greatness to the world. The Dark Knight Rises is not only one of the BEST films I have ever seen, it is the BEST superhero film ever made. I have never shivered because of a villain in any movie. Bane made me shiver. Tom Hardy did an excellent job playing such an evil part. The twists were just as great. By far though, the star of the movie was Anne Hathaway for her stunning performance as Selina Kyle/Catwoman. She played the role like she has been that person her whole life. Absolutely stunning. My only complaint was that they didn't include Bane's backstory, but other than that, this film was a site to behold. Christian Bale did his finest work as the playboy billionaire turned hero Bruce Wayne/Batman. David S. Goyer wrote a fantastic story as well. The end of the movie was a total cliffhanger also. Everybody in the theater thought this may actually be the end, but turns out, it may not be the end. Here comes sequels... Christopher Nolan, you have done it again. Expand
  25. Aug 17, 2012
    7
    It was good. However, it wasn't great. To me, the movie could have been a bit shorter. Also, Bane was a dissapointing villain. The story was good but I feel that it could have been better. However, I feel that the best lines and overall best actor was Michael Caine (Alfred). Other actors and actresses were good but I think the movie as a whole could have been a bit better.
  26. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    Christopher Nolan returns to surprise us with their talent in this latest installment of the trilogy. The Dark Knight Rises. With a good cast, with a dash well structured, with shocking music, with a plot in constant suspense, with a good close, Nolan takes Batman another level. Darker, dramatic and shattering than any other film of a comic book superhero. Hopefully this great director back soon with another of his great movies. Expand
  27. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    The closing chapter to Nolan's Batman Trilogy does not dissapoint. The story is quite elaborate...for a superhero film. The film has a realistic feel and everything looks quite believable thx to the fantastic VFX and set construction. The one strange thing that bothered me a bit was that this movie takes place almost completely during the day, which undermines the 'eternal darkness' feeling that seemed to hang over Gotham in the previous films. But if you've seen the first 2 you'll want to know how it ends right ;) Expand
  28. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    BANANAANANANANANANANANANANA BATMAN!!..
    This was a very worthy conclusion to the epic batman trilogy..
    Sexy!, Action Packed!, Explosions and **** This is a fantastic movie, a must watch!..
    Stop reading this review and watch the Goddamn Movie!!
  29. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    This is the best summer blockbuster film of 2012 and I predicted nothing different. The direction, the story, the writing, and the action kept you wondering what would happen next for the 165 minutes of the film. I have seen both Avatar and The Dark Knight Rises which are both highly acclaimed films that run for 2 hours and 45 minutes and I was bored from Avatar, but the Dark Knight Rises was awesome and never had any slight boredom while watching this film. Expand
  30. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    'Rises' doesn't quite live up to the legacy of the film by which all superhero films are compared to (TDK) but delivers enough spectacle, emotional depth, epic scope to Nolan's Universe and brooding tone to define itself proudly as the operatic final chapter to a trilogy which masterfully leaped beyond the apparent boudaries of a comic-book film. Nolan's changed things - forever.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jul 23, 2012
    100
    A cinematic, cultural and personal triumph, The Dark Knight Rises is emotionally inspiring, aesthetically significant and critically important for America itself – as a mirror of both sober reflection and resilient hope.
  2. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 23, 2012
    70
    Christopher Nolan, for all his visionary flair, wants to suck the comic out of comic books; Anne Hathaway wants to put it back in. Take your pick.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jul 20, 2012
    85
    As you might expect from the creator of "Inception" and "Memento," there are surprises both in the story and in the storytelling. But the biggest surprise may just be how satisfying Nolan has made his farewell to a Dark Knight trilogy that many fans will wish he'd extend to a 10-part series, at least.