Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 5048 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,578
Mixed:
188
Negative:
282
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
doomdragonFeb 20, 2015
Il peggior Joker che abbia mai visto, niente a che spartire con Jack Nicholson, e poi vogliamo parlare di Due Facce? Un personaggio buttato lì solo per riempire una mezz'oretta di film in più
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
DarrenOct 7, 2010
The Dark Knight is the most overhyped event in the past 10 years. Batman Begins was pretty good, but this? THIS?? Chris Nolan went experimental and tried to do a "big movie" about crime, anarchy and stuff, but kind of forgot its entertainmentThe Dark Knight is the most overhyped event in the past 10 years. Batman Begins was pretty good, but this? THIS?? Chris Nolan went experimental and tried to do a "big movie" about crime, anarchy and stuff, but kind of forgot its entertainment value. The film has excellent cinematography and does have good acting with a solid performance of Aaron Eckhart and Heath Ledger as the Joker is the most unique interpretation of a psycho killer with a level of craziness Johnny Depp can only dream of, but there is no point in having solid performances if there is no plot nor story. I am not going to write a plot overview for this movie because there isn't one. Did something really happen in this movie? Was there something worth telling? Sorry if you're a fan, but there was no point in making this "film". No story in a 2 and half hour long movie is dreadful, I'd rather watch something like Watchmen Ultimate Cut with a running time of 3 and a half hours than this, this film is interesting as long as the running time and then it's over. Can you recall any moment in this film? No? I'm not surprised, That is why I say this film lacked a story. Batman Begins will be remembered for being influential, The Dark Knight will only be remembered by its huge hype and overrated reviews. Expand
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
1
JacobG.Aug 1, 2008
Movie was too long, and got kind of stale in the end....Kept wanting to kill myself every time I heard Batman's voice. Also if he would have killed Joker in the beginning he could have saved like 50 people. Batman lets his own personal Movie was too long, and got kind of stale in the end....Kept wanting to kill myself every time I heard Batman's voice. Also if he would have killed Joker in the beginning he could have saved like 50 people. Batman lets his own personal heroics get in the way of saving people. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
0
SquilliamDec 3, 2013
Overrated as Hell! I do not understand why people say this piece of trash is so good. Especially when they say "It's a classic- right up there with The Godfather." Uhhhhh...... NO! Some poor performances (cough, cough, Bale), an overOverrated as Hell! I do not understand why people say this piece of trash is so good. Especially when they say "It's a classic- right up there with The Godfather." Uhhhhh...... NO! Some poor performances (cough, cough, Bale), an over complicated plot (just like all Nolan movies), cheesy lines, and some pretty awful action scenes all contribute to making this movie one awful pile of crap. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
0
andreekaMar 7, 2015
most overrated movie i've ever seen in entire my life. it's not even close to classic movies such as the godfather, the lord of the rings, casablanca, citizen kane and etc.
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
2
WyattJul 23, 2008
Heath Ledger was fabulous as you couldn't take your eyes off of him. He is much deserving of an OSCAR. But what this had to do with the fun that is Batman is what takes this movie down for me. Everytime Batman appeared it ruined what Heath Ledger was fabulous as you couldn't take your eyes off of him. He is much deserving of an OSCAR. But what this had to do with the fun that is Batman is what takes this movie down for me. Everytime Batman appeared it ruined what otherwise was a very serious dark movie. I don't know if I was alone but that is the way I felt. If the Batman character was removed from the film I may have given this a ten. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful
1
metalmaidenJul 28, 2008
Sadistic, gratuitous violence and a rehash of borrowed ideas with no plot, horrible dialogue and worse acting. Ledger played a psycho well but his voice sounded like Al Franken, made me giggle, and made it impossible for me to get into his Sadistic, gratuitous violence and a rehash of borrowed ideas with no plot, horrible dialogue and worse acting. Ledger played a psycho well but his voice sounded like Al Franken, made me giggle, and made it impossible for me to get into his actions. An absolutely horrible waste of time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JackieC.Jul 9, 2008
Completely overhyped, absolute sh*t.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
colinCAug 3, 2008
Under normal circumstances this movie might get a two or three, but given all the bloated praise it's gotten elsewhere I think the zero is warranted. It's way too long, way too self-serious, and often makes little sense. My Under normal circumstances this movie might get a two or three, but given all the bloated praise it's gotten elsewhere I think the zero is warranted. It's way too long, way too self-serious, and often makes little sense. My girlfriend and I were close to walking out because by the end we were exhausted by all the explosions, heavy-handed dialogue and thudding, stupid music. Batman Begins was fun, but this is just a loud, pretentious bore. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
AngelHMay 18, 2009
Dour, self important, bloated, overly long and pretentious film. The pseudo philosophical posturing of the joker was obnoxious and unnecessary. Instead of leaving the audience to ponder the difference between good and evil, if there is such Dour, self important, bloated, overly long and pretentious film. The pseudo philosophical posturing of the joker was obnoxious and unnecessary. Instead of leaving the audience to ponder the difference between good and evil, if there is such a thing the creators feel the need to spell it our in stilted dialogue hamtastically delivered by all but the character of Alfred. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
peteC.Jul 26, 2008
I was the victim of the marketing campain. I payed 9 euros and left at the half of the movie dissapointed. Ledger performance looks good but probably overrated by his premature death. This movie, like many other hollywoodian productions is I was the victim of the marketing campain. I payed 9 euros and left at the half of the movie dissapointed. Ledger performance looks good but probably overrated by his premature death. This movie, like many other hollywoodian productions is nothing else than a capitalist excentricity with no artistic and cinematical value. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
LouT.Jul 29, 2008
Gotham is portrayed as a town full of sheep who can only be saved by some fearless leader in whom they all have to believe in the same way that Germans believed in der Fuhrer. There is no community, just huddled masses yearning to be saved. Gotham is portrayed as a town full of sheep who can only be saved by some fearless leader in whom they all have to believe in the same way that Germans believed in der Fuhrer. There is no community, just huddled masses yearning to be saved. And who will save them? Maybe the District Attorney, by prosecuting criminals? But no, he can't prevail against the evil Joker, so it has to be a super-wealthy guy who is the head of a massive weapons manufacturing company, and who moonlights as a gadget-driven crime fighter. He also apparently holds the purse strings to the D.A. guy (and the film has no problem with that), so let's face it, folks, Mr. Super Wealthy holds the fate of the city in his heavily-armored hands. To justify this monster, we need a greater monster, just like Cheney needs bin Laden. That's where the Joker comes in. Mr. Super Wealthy even develops a system for spying on every single square inch of space within the entire city, all justified by Mr. Joker, since he's so very, very bad. In short, this film should be offensive to anyone who believes in our Constitution's Bill of Rights. As for the drama, the plot is full of holes you could drive a Batmobile through, which the film does again and again, filling plot problems with gadgetry as needed, which is all of the time. I saw this on an IMAX screen and the aerial city views were fantastic; hence the 1 point in my rating. And Heath Ledger was very good at portraying a psychotic criminal, but unfortunately having a character with completely insane behavior tends to liberate the plot from sensible constraints, and so "what happens next" trumps "why did it happen" just about every time. My view seems to be in the minority, but if you saw this and liked it, after reading this, please ask yourself why. One more thing: Quite apart from its politics, I honestly thought that it was a bore. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ZioZioDec 21, 2009
Pure bilge. All the talk about this being the darkest Batman film is pure nonsense: Batman never deviates from his task or even tries to kill the joker (as he did with a kamikaze batwing attack in Burton's film). I'm not going to Pure bilge. All the talk about this being the darkest Batman film is pure nonsense: Batman never deviates from his task or even tries to kill the joker (as he did with a kamikaze batwing attack in Burton's film). I'm not going to bother commenting on the rest but suffice to say it's confused, pretentious and self-important when it's really about as deep as something written by a barely-literate 15-year-old. I can see the lad right now, his dedication to his art total as he writes countless pages of description for each and every explosion. Watching the action sequences is about as exhausting as reading such descriptions. I disagree that Ledger was masterful as the Joker: how can somebody whose only background is made up of a handful of simple lies be even considered as a character? All the joker is is a plot device to string all of the scenes together: a bit like a tireless football player playing keepie uppies for the film's entire duration: about two hours too long. Absolute tripe, only Quantum of Solace makes this look good. I'd give that a zero too, but wouldn't waste my time saying why! Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
darkbeast119Aug 16, 2014
The dark knight is not a superhero film but a film about a messed up rich guy who wears a clad black suit like a pornstar and some psychotic hippy clown criminal who has a confusing personality. That's right folks I'm calling this film notThe dark knight is not a superhero film but a film about a messed up rich guy who wears a clad black suit like a pornstar and some psychotic hippy clown criminal who has a confusing personality. That's right folks I'm calling this film not the best because it has no super in it and gives you a sad and disappointing view of real life. The plot, characters, and whole presence makes you so pissed off and the critics call it the perfect superhero film what a load of **** Yeah I just said it **** and who really cars if I say a few swear words, it just my own opinion. The most part that makes me angry is that health ledger's joker is the supervillain, I prefer the Jack Nicholson version and to give a dead guy a award for good acting is like walking off a bridge. I admit some of the action scenes were cool but I'm no batman fan. I'm a loyal superman fan and I think the man of steel is way better than this crappy film. So that's my review of a extremely overrated film that died so much in disgrace that it could never make me pleasant Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
DerekAug 6, 2008
Ledger was amazing... easily the part of The Dark Knight. However, the film was unnecessarily convoluted, lacked any substantial depth, and could quickly devolve into cheap Hollywood banality. People are losing their shit over this movie, Ledger was amazing... easily the part of The Dark Knight. However, the film was unnecessarily convoluted, lacked any substantial depth, and could quickly devolve into cheap Hollywood banality. People are losing their shit over this movie, and trust me when I say I really wanted to like it, but i just ended up being extremely disappointed. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful
0
PK.Jul 30, 2008
Awful editing, trite and implausible storytelling, cartoonish characters, annoying Batman voice, to many eye-rolling moments, nerve-grating Joker lip-licking (to mock Tom Arnold??), too jumbled film-making, kowtowing to the whims of fanboys Awful editing, trite and implausible storytelling, cartoonish characters, annoying Batman voice, to many eye-rolling moments, nerve-grating Joker lip-licking (to mock Tom Arnold??), too jumbled film-making, kowtowing to the whims of fanboys all equal a zero from this moviegoer who is grateful he didn't have to pay to see it. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful
1
BibliotechaS.Jul 25, 2008
Bullshit. No one would waste that much money to fight crime. So many things destroyed. How could anyone tolerate such loses. This is the real reason why I think Batman wanted to quit. It had nothing to do with remaining hidden. The story is flawed.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
TheTerminatorJul 25, 2008
What happened to the Batman character as he appeared to be 3rd string in this very dark homicidal tribute to Heath Ledger AKA The Joker. No one cared about Batman as Heath Ledger was so perverted that all eyes were rivited on him. This movie What happened to the Batman character as he appeared to be 3rd string in this very dark homicidal tribute to Heath Ledger AKA The Joker. No one cared about Batman as Heath Ledger was so perverted that all eyes were rivited on him. This movie is NOT appropriate for young children. Very little humor and way too much violence for my taste. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
DidiM.Jul 30, 2008
The movie had a lot of action and very creative in the way that batman used his bag of tricks. But things just didn't make sense. The joker was all powerful and he did things and things were done as if he could do magic. It was very The movie had a lot of action and very creative in the way that batman used his bag of tricks. But things just didn't make sense. The joker was all powerful and he did things and things were done as if he could do magic. It was very frustrating to watch when things didn't make sense. I expected a lot more. Iron man was a lot better. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
BillyB.Aug 1, 2008
Typical summer action movie with lots of blam blam punctuated by bits of sadism. Thirty minutes too long. I was bored by the end. A friend actually fell asleep. Had they cut it shorter, it would have actually been a better, more interesting Typical summer action movie with lots of blam blam punctuated by bits of sadism. Thirty minutes too long. I was bored by the end. A friend actually fell asleep. Had they cut it shorter, it would have actually been a better, more interesting movie. But, in true Hollywood fashion, they had to connect all the dots for us hapless movie goers. Ledger's portrayal of the Joker was top notch and the highlight of the movie. Rachel was not up to the part. There were some interesting moments but the end was one long slog. Wait for it on cable. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
MikeAug 6, 2008
How can people like such NON sense!?! This movie is one big joke! The plot is so complex to the point where it doesn't make sense. And why does Wayne's voice suddenly go deep when he wears his batman outfit? A violent movie for How can people like such NON sense!?! This movie is one big joke! The plot is so complex to the point where it doesn't make sense. And why does Wayne's voice suddenly go deep when he wears his batman outfit? A violent movie for grown up children is what this movie really is. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
sergueimoviegoerAug 7, 2008
too many stunts, too much unnecessary violence and too much unbelievable scenes. reflects a huger society on violence and revenge. other than that, a good movie for a raged teenager that loves violent videogames
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
MeYouApr 10, 2009
This movie was nothing more than another Hollywood action flick, completely void of depth, character development, or a remotely interesting story. If you're a mindless ape who enjoys action and Stalone and all that then you will adore This movie was nothing more than another Hollywood action flick, completely void of depth, character development, or a remotely interesting story. If you're a mindless ape who enjoys action and Stalone and all that then you will adore it. If you're a pretentious 20 year old who reads nothing but comic books and doesn't know a thing about films beside Hollywood mockery then you wil love it. And for those of you who stick up your noses and say "you just didn't get it", there is nothing to get, watch a film by Tarkovsky and maybe you will understand what depth and art put to film actually is. ANd if yuo're saying it is the best film of 2008 when all you have watched are pathetic American Hollywood films then just keep quiet. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
MightyM.Jul 23, 2008
Too long, too muddled, too rushed. It felt like there was enough material for 3 films. While in the Batman suit Bale speaks like McGruff the crime dog. While this is by far the best of the franchise, that's really not enough. Accolades Too long, too muddled, too rushed. It felt like there was enough material for 3 films. While in the Batman suit Bale speaks like McGruff the crime dog. While this is by far the best of the franchise, that's really not enough. Accolades like "best comic movie ever" don't really cut it because comic book movies haven't set the bar very high to begin with. The two face plot wasn't flushed out enough. Good job by Ledger though. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
tjJul 29, 2008
Batman Begins was excellent, but what happened to the characters? This movie is one over the top dramatic moment after another...and wow, 2 1/2 hours? I was looking at my watch after an hour. Seems like all these directors of superhero Batman Begins was excellent, but what happened to the characters? This movie is one over the top dramatic moment after another...and wow, 2 1/2 hours? I was looking at my watch after an hour. Seems like all these directors of superhero movies try to pump up the volume in their sequels--and they lose their heart and humanity. There was no drama and suspense--all big surprises. Heath Ledger is excellent, but he was the only one with any decent lines. This was an overblown mess and a big disappointment. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
1
JasS.Jul 19, 2008
A great acting job (heath ledger) does not make up for a terrible plot. no climax or depth to the storyline, made it impossible to have any attachment or regard for the outcome of any particular character. even with nearly 3 hour length, theA great acting job (heath ledger) does not make up for a terrible plot. no climax or depth to the storyline, made it impossible to have any attachment or regard for the outcome of any particular character. even with nearly 3 hour length, the movie couldn't go in depth in to any of the scenes and just strung together random high speed bursts of action one after another that still somehow failed to captivate. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
This movie is so dry, pretentious and humorless that my cat became depressed after watching it with me and starved herself to death. Also all the expository dialogue and mindless pop philosophy made me schizophrenic. I'm now sharpening myThis movie is so dry, pretentious and humorless that my cat became depressed after watching it with me and starved herself to death. Also all the expository dialogue and mindless pop philosophy made me schizophrenic. I'm now sharpening my knives and ordering the Halloween mask from EBay. Close your windows, Chris "Pretentious Hack" Nolan, I'm gonna avenge my kitty! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
HRMay 28, 2009
Agree with Ty Burr, Boston Globe: "Ten tons of expressionist murk... Dirty Harry crossed with Hamlet." They tried too hard, lost all depth of plot and texture. Just because a movie is "disturbing" does *not* make it "art." "...Begins" was Agree with Ty Burr, Boston Globe: "Ten tons of expressionist murk... Dirty Harry crossed with Hamlet." They tried too hard, lost all depth of plot and texture. Just because a movie is "disturbing" does *not* make it "art." "...Begins" was much better. Expand
6 of 35 users found this helpful
0
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
Self-indulgent pretentious crap. He ruined the Batman series. Mindless trash this was. Still hate it to this day. No wonder everybody hated the last one, its because this one was the set up to an even worse one.
3 of 18 users found this helpful315
All this user's reviews
3
FerrinL.Aug 10, 2008
Plodding and hamfisted. Terrible script. Good ideas, but ruined by having every thematic idea telegraphed over and over (and over and over and over...) in the least subtle way possible. Basically, it was like having anvils labeled "important Plodding and hamfisted. Terrible script. Good ideas, but ruined by having every thematic idea telegraphed over and over (and over and over and over...) in the least subtle way possible. Basically, it was like having anvils labeled "important moral allegory" thrown at your head every five minutes for three hours. That, and it occurred to me that Gotham wouldn't need Batman so much if the Gotham cops weren't so blindingly stupid. I mean come on--while transporting Dent one of the cops practically says "This looks like a trap. Let's walk right in to it." Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
2
AlexS.Jul 20, 2008
The IMAX format is spectacular. Too bad I can't say the same for the film itself.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
ArdenJul 21, 2008
Way too violent and long. Much ado about nothing.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
BrandonSmithJul 24, 2008
Batman Begins was terrible, and Bale brings his same I'm-so-cool "acting" into this one. I miss Michael Keaton.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
BillM.Jul 18, 2008
Dark Knight ruined Batman - series should have never been written. DC should be ashamed!
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
ADEJul 19, 2008
So long.. so very long
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
LisaFMar 12, 2009
This movie sucked such terrific ass that I just almost can't believe I sat through the whole epic length thing. I learned early on that I couldn't get too wrapped up in any of the characters due to the idiotic way people kept This movie sucked such terrific ass that I just almost can't believe I sat through the whole epic length thing. I learned early on that I couldn't get too wrapped up in any of the characters due to the idiotic way people kept turning into caricatures of themselves. Usually I'm not a violent person, but I kept wishing people would just die and stay dead. Batman made you like him even less by speaking in a strange he-man voice that no actual person would ever use for any reason whatsoever. By the last time the hoary-voiced dark avenger fell, I hoped he would stay dead so I could just get the f*ck out of there. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
LevS.Aug 11, 2008
Inept political thriller dished up as a Batman movie, lacking in imagination and a decent story. Ledger's Joker was the only praiseworthy element but even so, nothing spectacular. If the poor guy hadn't had died this movie would Inept political thriller dished up as a Batman movie, lacking in imagination and a decent story. Ledger's Joker was the only praiseworthy element but even so, nothing spectacular. If the poor guy hadn't had died this movie would not have been so insanely overhyped. Expand
6 of 37 users found this helpful
0
TrueEleganceMay 19, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nolan finally reveals his ability that it is not skill to bring forth a gritty "realism" to a comic book movie, but a lack of complete and utter imagination to fulfill a fantasy based character. To be honest the film itself was not that bad, had it not been an hour too long. Had the movie ended after Rachel Dawson died, and the reveal of two-face, it would end on such a somber "Empire Strikes Back" note, and really left the audience in a state of wonder and a need for me. But instead Nolan decides to continue on for an hour where he plateaus with his boring action sequence, and than killing off two face in on of the worst ending in comic book history since Fantastic Four. Too damn long, but of course, Heath Ledger shines bright Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
3
DavidHJul 29, 2008
Yes I admit Heath Ledger turned in a very impressive performance. Christian Bale was also good and there was some excellent technology and special effects. Drawbacks were the combination of it being generally a downer combined with being too Yes I admit Heath Ledger turned in a very impressive performance. Christian Bale was also good and there was some excellent technology and special effects. Drawbacks were the combination of it being generally a downer combined with being too long. A hero is someone you're willing to watch go through all kinds of hell as long as he is triumphant in the end. It is depressing that he has to sacrifice virtually everything including nearly his life, catches the bad guy, and yet still ends up persecuted in the end by an annoyingly over-righteous mindset. The chemistry with Maggie Gyllenhall is non-existent compared to Katie and she remains also irritatingly righteous where again, Batman seems to sacrifice absolutely everything in order to help people and yet it is still not good enough for her. Maggie also is simply not attractive enough for this role. As a comparison, when you walk out of Ironman, you feel good, when you walk out of Dark Night, you feel depressed. Expand
4 of 28 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Jul 19, 2008
Confused & too long.
1 of 7 users found this helpful
0
R.H.May 3, 2009
All right, I wasn't going to say anything because this is the internet. But all the morons here saying this film is "art" or the closest movies will ever get to art- how dare you? How could you say something so ignorant when you All right, I wasn't going to say anything because this is the internet. But all the morons here saying this film is "art" or the closest movies will ever get to art- how dare you? How could you say something so ignorant when you haven't bothered to study anything about films? Try watching films by Ingmar Bergman like Winter Light. Watch films by Andrei Tarkovsky like Andrei Rublev and Mirror. Watch Ozu films like Late Spring and Floating Weeds. I don't care if you loved the movie or whatever- I personally thought the film was hollow, worthless, and nothing new. But don't you dare say this is the highest the art form has to offer- it's barely a step above the lowest. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful
1
NNDec 27, 2008
Stupid Idiotic movie of the worst kind Jumbled plot, meaningless violence and sadistic We have hit real low for so many critics to give such high marks
4 of 32 users found this helpful
3
bdaJul 20, 2008
A numbing movie. Why is everyone on the Ledger bandwagon? Yes, it was an enjoyable performance. But keep in mind how juicy the role was and that any number of actors could have given equally enjoyable performances.
1 of 8 users found this helpful
0
BobS.Jul 17, 2008
Soooo long. So very very long. And too loud. Or is that just the cinema? Joker is great but hes not joker. Just a psycho with make up. U don't see the crazy fun house mad house joker from the original and its just toooo long.
1 of 8 users found this helpful
2
JemimaK>Jul 20, 2008
I'm baffled by all the superlatives being showered on this film. I'm a huge fan of Nolan, Bale, Caine, Oldman, Gyllenhaal but really, this film was competely uninvolving. Bruce/Batman was given short shrift in this screenplay, I'm baffled by all the superlatives being showered on this film. I'm a huge fan of Nolan, Bale, Caine, Oldman, Gyllenhaal but really, this film was competely uninvolving. Bruce/Batman was given short shrift in this screenplay, it's the wonderful Christian Bale who breathes soul into every miniscule oppurtunity he is given. There is no back story, no fleshing out of any character except Harvey Dent. The film starts as if we've caught it in mid-low. And honestly, this hype over Ledger's performance is too inflated. For me, Tim Burton's Penguin is the greatest villain in the Batman series - evil, tragic, repelling and attracting at the same time. Jack Nicholson's Joker could have done with an editing job, but my goodness, the portrayal itself was one of brilliance and insane originality. Ledger was an actor of great promise, but the praise over his Joker seems out of perspective & proportion. This edition of Batman was a case of overkill, OD'ing on the dark element (not a single touch of genuine wit), over-indulging on the philosophizing and the explosions/mayhem. All in all, a superhero film that takes itself too seriously. It's tragic that some of the finest young directors ( Bryan Singer, etc.) are frittering their prime years away on superhero franschises. Christopher Nolan, please come out of your Bat Cave black hole and give us something worthwhile to watch, again. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
0
WolfmotherMay 4, 2011
This movie was brilliant, entertaining to the people who love in-depth conversations to the people who love explosions. So much drama, I dont see where it fails to have plot, basically its a simple battle of philosophies, nothing more, butThis movie was brilliant, entertaining to the people who love in-depth conversations to the people who love explosions. So much drama, I dont see where it fails to have plot, basically its a simple battle of philosophies, nothing more, but nothing needed, he taints other people to madness, what more do you need? Even if it doesnt have plot, it doesnt NEED plot, suspense, action, conflicting philosophies, drawbacks to madness are all you truly need. It took Joker and evolved him to the next level. Collapse
1 of 24 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
3
GaryJAug 10, 2008
Ledger was terrifyingly good. The plot is weak, the movie interminably long and vicious. PG-13 ? If this is entertainment, we are a society in trouble.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
ElenaJul 23, 2008
This wasn't Batman or a cartoon caper turned into a movie. It was a SLASHER movie with gore and way too much violence. How is this PG 13?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnMar 2, 2009
Actually deserves a 3, but there are too many 10's. What were people watching. I agree with all of those that thought it made no sense. The motivations of the characters were entirely random. This entry could be pages long with all the Actually deserves a 3, but there are too many 10's. What were people watching. I agree with all of those that thought it made no sense. The motivations of the characters were entirely random. This entry could be pages long with all the problems. Ya, Ledger was fun to watch, thus the 3. But the rest was terrible. At some point the viewer just gives up assuming any of it will make any sense. Where is Adam West when you need him? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MovieGuyJul 21, 2008
Very over-hyped. Batman is supposed to be fun, not philosophical thesis with bad action. And what's up with the Heath Ledger hype? He never was very amazing. Take a chill pill people. The hero had rubber years for god's sake!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
NonyaBusinessAug 11, 2008
Much worse than the first. Since when did Batman become hated and a villain? I didn't like that Nolan tried to pitch Batman that way.... the only good thing about the film was Ledger's acting, which is first-rate. Too bad it Much worse than the first. Since when did Batman become hated and a villain? I didn't like that Nolan tried to pitch Batman that way.... the only good thing about the film was Ledger's acting, which is first-rate. Too bad it couldn't have a lighter end. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MichaelC.Aug 2, 2008
I really wanted to like this movie but was very disappointed with it. It was long and rambling and I was bored by it. What a let down!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoshW.Jan 8, 2009
Bad. Ledger ruined the film. Re-edited to get all joker scenes in. If Heath gets an ocar it is beacuse he died and nothing to do with acting.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
tkFeb 10, 2009
This movie was no good the plot was the same old same old
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PaulW.Oct 2, 2008
Batmanan has a speech impediment; the Joker needs a chap stick to nurse his dry lips; the script is sophomoric; the girl anything but sexy; the photography chaotic. Found it so boring I almost fell asleep. For a guy who adored the comic Batmanan has a speech impediment; the Joker needs a chap stick to nurse his dry lips; the script is sophomoric; the girl anything but sexy; the photography chaotic. Found it so boring I almost fell asleep. For a guy who adored the comic strip when he was a kid this just doesn't hack it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JayB.Oct 22, 2008
EXTREMELY overrated. Too long, bland overacting on Christian Bale's part, a forgettable Maggie Gyllenhaal and two-face, pretentious scatterbrained writing and plot, not to mention it lacks the "dark" part in dark knight; completely EXTREMELY overrated. Too long, bland overacting on Christian Bale's part, a forgettable Maggie Gyllenhaal and two-face, pretentious scatterbrained writing and plot, not to mention it lacks the "dark" part in dark knight; completely cheesy. Speaking of cheesy, Batman's voice...wow. The ONLY thing that saved this movie was Heath Ledger, and now he's dead. The franchise is over. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JeffG.Jul 21, 2008
I love dark movies -- Pan's Labyrinth, Apocalypse Now -- but Dark Knight isn't dark: it's sick. If you like horror movies like Hostel and Saw III, maybe this'll be up your line -- but come on: a cell phone stitched into a I love dark movies -- Pan's Labyrinth, Apocalypse Now -- but Dark Knight isn't dark: it's sick. If you like horror movies like Hostel and Saw III, maybe this'll be up your line -- but come on: a cell phone stitched into a guy's stomach and rigged to explode crosses a line for me. There's no point, no message, just sick, disturbing sadism. Expand
0 of 21 users found this helpful
1
ScottM.Jul 22, 2008
I like superhero movies. This is the worst superhero movie I've ever seen. Christian Bale gave the worst performance I've seen from him. Heath Ledger gave a mediocre impersonation of Jim Carrey mixed with Jack Nicholson. His make I like superhero movies. This is the worst superhero movie I've ever seen. Christian Bale gave the worst performance I've seen from him. Heath Ledger gave a mediocre impersonation of Jim Carrey mixed with Jack Nicholson. His make up was good, but that's about the best I can say. The movie had nothing to say. The dialog was bad. The special effects were okay, but nothing special and there was not an ounce of coolness in the movie. I am completely mystified by the high ratings people give this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
A.R.Jul 23, 2008
This movie is no fun. It satisfies the fanboys' desire to have their comic book heroes taken seriously. That's where I think all this fan adulation is coming from. But that totally misses the point. Where's the fun? Where is This movie is no fun. It satisfies the fanboys' desire to have their comic book heroes taken seriously. That's where I think all this fan adulation is coming from. But that totally misses the point. Where's the fun? Where is the superheroic fantasy adventure? The self-referential coyness? This Batman is scary and repulsive. The little boy in me doesn Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JoelAJul 28, 2008
trite, predictable, boring, long-winded. Christian bale's muppet-voice was the low point of the movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JulianC.Jul 30, 2008
Has nothing over Batman Begins!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BobbieAug 10, 2008
Overhyped and overrated. Not well done. If not for Heath Ledger dying this movie would have a score of about 6. Bad Batman film who was 3rd string.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
SashaAug 27, 2008
Historically, the most overhyped movie ever released. This corny monstrosity beats any Michael Bay film in the size of nativity. Plus the amount of epilogs is just overwhelming. Everyone sacrifices for everyone, and the bad guy is flipping a Historically, the most overhyped movie ever released. This corny monstrosity beats any Michael Bay film in the size of nativity. Plus the amount of epilogs is just overwhelming. Everyone sacrifices for everyone, and the bad guy is flipping a coin for every hostage. Pathetic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TerryN.Aug 9, 2008
Very disappointing after the rave reviews - I fell asleep twice - mindless teenage twaddle.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PeteS.Sep 23, 2008
Walked out after the 70 minute mark, there's only so much overlong pointless and ridicluously illogical action without plot one can take. Should have been called Transformers II. A pork chop labelled as a steak.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JoePeterssenSep 26, 2008
A very average film. Heath Ledger created a fine Joker, but to compare him with Nicholson and favor him is insulting. He's essentially just playing a pretty generic psychotic role in the mantle of the joker and can't really dazzleA very average film. Heath Ledger created a fine Joker, but to compare him with Nicholson and favor him is insulting. He's essentially just playing a pretty generic psychotic role in the mantle of the joker and can't really dazzle after a scene or two. Christian Bale is completely wooden in his role as Bruce Wayne and Batman seemed to be in the movie just to warrant this movie to be called a sequal.
Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman are there to lend credibility and when they were on the screen, the movie was actually pretty great. Pitty though that they only got about 1 % of the movie's screen time. Aaron Eckhardt was given nada to work with and was equally wasted. But who can really be surprised. Just too many inane plot turns which just pulls you further and further away from wanting to find out where it all was heading. I Walked out after the 90 minute mark to get a smoke and didn't bother to walk back into the theatre.
The evening was saved appraoching a pretty girl at the bar serving overpriced booze. We ended up at her place and we danced till the first rays of morning sunlight found their way through the raggid drapes covering a cracked windowpane. As she peeled of my clothes as if I was a ripe tangerine, she whispered softly in my ear a mantra of passion.
Film: 1/****
Night: 4/****
Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
2
PeterS.Jan 14, 2009
Extremely overrated film. Jack Nicholson did a much better job with the role of the joker. Chris Bale's acting was mediocre. A predictable plot. Definitely not worthy of all the praise it's been receiving. As far as batman films Extremely overrated film. Jack Nicholson did a much better job with the role of the joker. Chris Bale's acting was mediocre. A predictable plot. Definitely not worthy of all the praise it's been receiving. As far as batman films go, the last one (Batman Begins) was more satisfying. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
zeldiesJan 27, 2009
Lousy movie; boring; bad guys are recasts of bad 70's movie; this only gets hype because of Heath Ledger's death. wish more people were brave enough to say so. a 10 year old could have made this a better more wicked movie. even the Lousy movie; boring; bad guys are recasts of bad 70's movie; this only gets hype because of Heath Ledger's death. wish more people were brave enough to say so. a 10 year old could have made this a better more wicked movie. even the makeup on Heath was ridiculous. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
AnonymousOct 9, 2009
I really wanted to like this film, with all the pre-release hype and positive comments from critics/the general public it seemed that it would be a film with which could be engaged with at an intellectual level. Boy was I wrong! It turned outI really wanted to like this film, with all the pre-release hype and positive comments from critics/the general public it seemed that it would be a film with which could be engaged with at an intellectual level. Boy was I wrong! It turned out to be a poorly constructed political thriller with way too many plot turns than sense and a run time which would make even the most composed people become mind numbingly bored. Sure the movie had some great elements, a fantastic, and haunting score, ridiculous stunts, and a few noteworthy scenes by the late Heath Ledger, although the performance on a whole was average, certainly not Oscar worthy when stacked up next to the performance by Robert Downey Jnr. in Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
DougR.Feb 7, 2009
Good acting does not make up for a poor story and worse plot. If you were a thief and a career criminal would you sign on to work for the fellow who murdered all his accomplices on a bank job? Would this same fellow have such a great Good acting does not make up for a poor story and worse plot. If you were a thief and a career criminal would you sign on to work for the fellow who murdered all his accomplices on a bank job? Would this same fellow have such a great following that his army of loyal criminal followers would plant explosives to implode an entire hospital and for fun plant more explosives on two ships to play russian roulette just for the fun of it...no money? What a crock. Dumbest story and most out of character foolishness I've ever seen in a Batman comic or movie. Bush's crazy terrorist run amock...yea right. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LouisKJan 16, 2010
There's so much I can say of this movie, firstly it has too many useless sub-plots, we kind of saw this same thing in Spider-man 3 but at least those were connected to the main story. Second, it's a PG-13 film and it starts with an There's so much I can say of this movie, firstly it has too many useless sub-plots, we kind of saw this same thing in Spider-man 3 but at least those were connected to the main story. Second, it's a PG-13 film and it starts with an action scene, that's good, but it then throws in 20 minutes of politics and boring non-sense that would make anyone sleep. Third, it doesn't even have much to do with Batman, yes, it did focus on the Joker, Dent and Bruce Wayne, but at the end it only appeared to be focused on the environments and not the story. It's good that it doesn't go with the predictable ending cliche of most films nowadays, but hell, I'm a Batman fan, been one since a child and I couldn't even keep up with the film, when it ended I didn't even know what had happened. Definitely overrated. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
StanleyK.Nov 14, 2008
Totally OVERRATED. Boring film, poor idea. Nolan should not continue Batman like this. Heath Ledger's performance was good, but he was not The Joker we all know.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GoffyJul 21, 2008
Batman was used as a guise to draw us into a slasher movie. With HL dying the advance PR worked fabulously. If not for the PR this movie would draw flies. The PG 13 rating only goes to prove that the Motion Picture ratings can be bought. Do Batman was used as a guise to draw us into a slasher movie. With HL dying the advance PR worked fabulously. If not for the PR this movie would draw flies. The PG 13 rating only goes to prove that the Motion Picture ratings can be bought. Do not bring any children to this bloodfest. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
CreW.Aug 12, 2008
A boring action movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
noopJun 27, 2009
Pretentious and dull movie. Most episodes of Batman the animated series are MUCH better than this. It is too serious and too shallow at the same time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
blablablaDec 23, 2008
what a super snooze. the acting, especially from that maggie granny face gylenhaal, is atrocious - the one liners are cheesy without the kitsch factor. so done before, every inch of it felt like watching a 90's movie. dreary and drab. mewhat a super snooze. the acting, especially from that maggie granny face gylenhaal, is atrocious - the one liners are cheesy without the kitsch factor. so done before, every inch of it felt like watching a 90's movie. dreary and drab. me and my mate left before the end i dont ever care to know. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
jvDec 25, 2008
Episodic, hard to follow, dumb, and the girl was unappealing. Yes, Heath Ledger was great, but the movie was not worth sitting through to watch his performance. The Batman movies are just aggregations of special effects shlock, fluff-candy Episodic, hard to follow, dumb, and the girl was unappealing. Yes, Heath Ledger was great, but the movie was not worth sitting through to watch his performance. The Batman movies are just aggregations of special effects shlock, fluff-candy for the masses. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
Geoffory2Jul 8, 2012
Quite good
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
0
ProfessionalProJun 30, 2017
What the F*CK did I just watch?! By far the worst movie I've ever seen in my life, I puked so much and cried because of how awful it was, this isn't Suicide Squad??? Why is Jared Leto not The Joker? Who the hell is Heath Ledger?! This makesWhat the F*CK did I just watch?! By far the worst movie I've ever seen in my life, I puked so much and cried because of how awful it was, this isn't Suicide Squad??? Why is Jared Leto not The Joker? Who the hell is Heath Ledger?! This makes no sense whatsoever, terrible movie with horrible acting and writing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
AesterilJun 26, 2015
Most flawed series ever. How can the criminals not find out who he is? He is rich, has fancy gadgets, his lower face is completely visible. Surely there are cameras that capture his face on film. It's so corny and fake.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
BradleyRobertsAug 2, 2015
According to IMDb; the dark knight is better the apocalypse now,
citizen Kane, raging bull and 2001: a space odyssey and the forth
greatest film of all time. I think anyone with any understanding of film can see this is completely crazy. I
According to IMDb; the dark knight is better the apocalypse now,
citizen Kane, raging bull and 2001: a space odyssey and the forth
greatest film of all time. I think anyone with any understanding of film can see this is completely crazy. I don't hate this movie and I quite enjoyed it but it's very far from being any kind of masterpiece.

When destructing Christopher Nolan's movie's I like to use David Fincher's terminology; Fincher theory is that there are films then there are movies. A film is using cinema as art and not just entertainment, such as; the godfather, mirror, There will be blood. A movie would be something of a guilty pleasure: the game, the raid, the dark knight.

So then why is it the dark knight is so popular? Nolan separates his movies from the average blockbuster by giving them a sense of realism and reliability. The most obvious example of this is his very limited use of CGI and use of practical effects. At a time when CGI is common use in most blockbusters as it is cheaper and easier; you can see how audiences can be awed by this.

Probably the thing that most separates his movies; is how he chooses to
make the viewer feel empowered. Where most Batman and superhero
villains have been cliché and even cheesy; In the dark knight (and the
other dark knight movies) the villains feel a lot more like modern day
terrorists then the average comic book villain. Post 911 you can
imagine the impact this can have on people and the realism it gives.
Though in Nolan's determination to make the viewer feel empowered he
sacrifices making the dark knight anything more then a movie; he makes everything extremely obvious and doesn't leave anything for the viewer to work out for themselves.

At times it can even be patronizing. During the part of the
movie where people are being killed until batman takes off his mask; he
is constantly being blamed by everyone, even one of the officers does so. I think this is a testament to how much Nolan trusts he's audience and how painstakingly obvious he thinks he has to make everything to get a point across.

Even within expectations of it being a Nolan super hero movie, the dark knight still has faults. The main one being how anti climatic the ending of the movie was, I was expecting some kind of big send off for the joker but instead his send off was brief and unsatisfying. There's also the many the plot holes but I don't have anything new to say on that.

In short Nolan offers somewhat charming comic book movie, that has all his usual traits; good and bad. And despite it's charm, at it's core it's a rather one dimensional Hollywood blockbuster; with the popcorn audience as it's target demographic. It may be the "greatest super hero movie of all time" but that doesn't mean a lot.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
wolfpacruleJan 22, 2016
Complete garbage, the story is weak and non-coherent. Why am I watching this complete pig dropping when the he could have eradicated the entire league of shadow from the first movie and then none of these villain could have been released.Complete garbage, the story is weak and non-coherent. Why am I watching this complete pig dropping when the he could have eradicated the entire league of shadow from the first movie and then none of these villain could have been released. People love comic story with characters that never die. Oh yeah lets make a main character who does not like to kill and because of that naiveté, he created more villains who by the way are immortals because they never die. why do americans like this kind of story? because they are idiots and dumb. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
According to IMDb The Dark Knight is literally a better movie than every movie ever made, except The Godfather Part I & II, and The Shawshank Redemption....
WHAT?!
Better than: Citizen Kane, Gone with the Wind, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Taxi
According to IMDb The Dark Knight is literally a better movie than every movie ever made, except The Godfather Part I & II, and The Shawshank Redemption....
WHAT?!
Better than: Citizen Kane, Gone with the Wind, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Apocalypse Now, The Wizard of Oz, Seven Samurai, Cinema Paradiso, M, etc, etc.
According to IMDb it is the FOURTH greatest film of all time. I think anyone with any understanding of film can see this is completely crazy. I don't hate this movie, i quite enjoy it a fair amount, but it is very far from being any kind of ''masterpiece'' - It isn't even Nolan's best movie...

When destructing this movie i like to use David Fincher terminology: Fincher theory is that there are films, and there are movies. A film is using cinema as art and not as JUST entertainment, such as: 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Godfather, Citizen Kane, Rashomon, and modern movies like There Will be Blood, The Fall and Hero. (just to name a few) Then there are movies like: The Raid, Speed, The Game, and The Dark Knight, which are solely 'entertaining' films and nothing really more. Nothing to get inspired about, nothing to make you think, or ponder what has just happened. Nothing, which is fine, you wouldn't want movies like that constantly, but a movie that is solely entertainment can not be classed as one of the best movies of all time, let alone the FOURTH best.

So, why then is The Dark Knight so ridiculously popular? Nolan separates his movies from the average blockbuster by giving them a sense of realism and reliability. The most obvious example of this is his very slim use of CGI and the use of practical effects. At a time when CGI is common use, in most blockbusters, as it's much cheaper and easier, this is obviously appreciated by audiences. You can see how audiences can be awed by this.

Probably the thing that most separates this movie is how he chooses to make the viewer feel empowered. Where most Batman and other superhero villains have been cliche, cheesy or unrealistic, The Dark Knight (and the other Nolan Batman movies) have had villains that feel a lot more like modern day terrorist than the average comic book villain, which is usually just ridiculous if you think about it. Post 9/11 you can imagine the impact this can have on people and the realism it gives. Though in Nolan's determination to make the viewer feel empowered he sacrifices making The Dark Knight anything more than a movie, he makes everything extremely obvious and doesnt leave anything for the viewer to work out for themselves.

At times it can even be patronizing. During the part of the movie where people are being killed until batman takes off his mask, he is constantly being by everyone even one of the officers does so. I think this is a testament to how much Nolan trusts is audience and how painstakingly obvious he thinks he has to make everything to get his point across.

Even within expectations of it being a Nolan superhero film, The Dark Knight still has quite alot of faults. The main one being how anticlimactic the ending of the movie was, I was hoping/expecting some kind of big send off for the Joker but instead his send off was very brief and unsatisfying. There's also the many plot holes but i dont have anything new to say on that.

A movie to be called ''One of the greatest film of all time'' it needs to excell in every aspect of filmmaking. The Dark Knight only excells at one, the performances, Heath Ledger's The Joker is excellent, he is truly phenomenal. But other than that, the direction is OK, the writing is very weak, and the movie is tedious, and overlong. The Dark Knight is good but grotesquely overrated

In short, Nolan offers a somewhat charming comic movie, that has all his usual traits: good and bad, but despite its charm, at its core is a rather one dimensional hollywood blockbuster with the popcorn audience as its target demographic. It may be the ''greatest superhero movie of all time'' but that doesnt mean a lot, does it?
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxJan 5, 2017
A part le costume, on se demande si on est encore dans un "Batman"... Gotham est devenue un mélange de New York et de Chicago, une ville américaine générique, pleine de grands cubes et le Joker, le fameux Joker est un banal malfratA part le costume, on se demande si on est encore dans un "Batman"... Gotham est devenue un mélange de New York et de Chicago, une ville américaine générique, pleine de grands cubes et le Joker, le fameux Joker est un banal malfrat peinturluré à la va-vite. Il a le charisme d'un livreur de pizza et l'allure d'un clochard, il n'inspire qu'un vague mépris à défaut d'incarner un certain idéal de folie furieuse. Pas drôle pour un sou, on lui filerait juste deux balles dans le métro.

Christian Bale est passé en mode "pilotage automatique" tout comme son cérémonieux majordome Michael Caine qui ne cesse de nous rebattre les oreilles avec ses reflexions moralisatrices. Idem pour Morgan Freeman, réduit au faire-valoir accessoire du justicier, une sorte de "Q" pour le James Bond masqué. Gary Oldman n'en mène pas large non plus et a l'air de s'emmerder autant que nous. Tant d'acteurs aussi mal employés nous font regretter un tel gâchis.

L'histoire ou la tentative d'histoire se perd en maintes circonvolutions pour tenter de tenir les deux heures et demi de remplissage, ponctuées ici et là par un peu d'action qui fait la part belle à la Burnemobile et la moto batmolle.

On pourrait être dans un James Bond ou dans un Jason Bourne qu'on y verrait que du feu, à part tout de même une mise en scène très correcte globalement mais l'ambiance déjantée du monde de Batman a définitivement disparu pour céder la place à une grosse machine prétentieuse qui se repose sur les effets spéciaux, édulcore ses personnages et délivre une oeuvre fadasse et formatée par l'ennui.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MorganFreeman69Jun 11, 2017
it is a very bad movie, the joker was abhorrently depicted and the movie was overall really **** The acting was terrible, however, the best part of the movie was the Godly Presence of Him, Morgan Freeman, of which allowed me to survive
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
FanofBatmanJul 20, 2015
I'm a big Batman fan, but this movie was - especially after the relatively good Batman Begins - a big disappointment. As a fan you feel it from the beginning, if it's a good Batman film or not; when you here the score and see the charatersI'm a big Batman fan, but this movie was - especially after the relatively good Batman Begins - a big disappointment. As a fan you feel it from the beginning, if it's a good Batman film or not; when you here the score and see the charaters acting. But it was the first time in my life that I felt asleep. There was no good story, no atmosphere and nothing special. The portrait of the comic characters was not convincing or interesting. I used to like actors like Caine, Oldman, Bale, Ledger or Eckhart, but not in this film. Nothing really fits and you sit there, eating your popcorn and hope, that the film will end soon. Production desgin, costumes had been boring in my opinion. The worst Batman film ever. Even Schumacher's Batman and Robin had been funnier or TDKR, where Batman droped an H-Bomb out of Gotham before sitting in Venice and having a drink with Catwomans alter Ego. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheGreatCriticAug 16, 2017
This is by far one of the worst movies of all time, I never liked batman because he has no super powers, all he has is money and weapons there is no fun because that means there is less explosions and that's sad.

The story is horrendous,
This is by far one of the worst movies of all time, I never liked batman because he has no super powers, all he has is money and weapons there is no fun because that means there is less explosions and that's sad.

The story is horrendous, it's weak compare to the previous batman films, it has no style and it isn't fun like batman forever, the movie tried to be deep but no one cares because I as an audiance member want to see batman beat homeless people up, I don't care that batman has emotions, I wanted action and explosions, but even in the action scenes the movie fails completely because they use pratical effects, Christopher Nolan should know that we use computers for a reason now but he's such a pretentious dork so there is no intensity.

The characters were awful, they were depressing and not fun, I remember the good old days where super heroes were fun and quirky like in batman forever, batman was too deep of a character to be interesting and honestly Christian Bale isn't fun enough to be batman, they should've pick Marlon Wayans, he fits the character perfectly and the vilain was forgettable.

The dark knight fails on every single level, the story is way too intelligent to be fun, the characters are way too deep to be considered good, the soundtrack is too depressing and the effects look to real to be enjoyable, stay away from this objectivily bad film !!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews