User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 3835 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying, "People like it just because Heath Ledger died!" Again, pretend as though he didn't die, watch his performance again, and then come talk to me. AnI don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying, "People like it just because Heath Ledger died!" Again, pretend as though he didn't die, watch his performance again, and then come talk to me. An outstanding performance by anyone who was ever involved in this film. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    This super hero movie is a rare film that drills deep inside the character and the script more than the action. It may be boring to a few people who despise waiting for 2 hrs; However I promise you, Heath Ledger will keep you amazed the whole time. Ultimately, Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" is a masterpiece, a film that doesn't just show off the visuals and action, but understandsThis super hero movie is a rare film that drills deep inside the character and the script more than the action. It may be boring to a few people who despise waiting for 2 hrs; However I promise you, Heath Ledger will keep you amazed the whole time. Ultimately, Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" is a masterpiece, a film that doesn't just show off the visuals and action, but understands what deep pains and afflictions a superhero suffers. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    I love this movie! Definitely the best Batman movie ever! Heath Ledger really deserved his Oscar for Best Supporting Actor. This is a movie I will remember for decades!
  4. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    You want action?! You got it!! You want a 185 million dollar movie that is perfect?! You got it!! You want the best f***ing batman movie ever?!?! YOU GOT IT!!!!!!!! It's just heaven for Batman and Cinema buffs alike. Hollywood should learn their lesson about making constant crap comic book movies. DC and MARVEL are the two big competitors while Dark Horse just sits quietly in theYou want action?! You got it!! You want a 185 million dollar movie that is perfect?! You got it!! You want the best f***ing batman movie ever?!?! YOU GOT IT!!!!!!!! It's just heaven for Batman and Cinema buffs alike. Hollywood should learn their lesson about making constant crap comic book movies. DC and MARVEL are the two big competitors while Dark Horse just sits quietly in the background and makes only a handful of movies that include the Mask, Sin City and the Goon which is yet to come out.
    DC has finally made a masterful super hero movie again.

    In an era where superhero movies unfortunately rule everything in the movie industry this is the golden light of the genre. Heath Ledger's performance made the movie for real. Without him it would still be great but not perfect. That's how important he is.

    MARVEL should learn from DC's masterpiece and not make another like MARVEL's Wolverine Origins. I hated that movie. The Dark Knight is a golden movie that nobody should miss out on. simple as that.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Everything about this movie wins, the actors, the plot, the action-sequences, the soundtrack, and every other factor that i've regrettably decided to leave out to keep this review brief. It's really surprising considering that every other DC film for the past few decades (Batman Begins being the obvious exception) has been quite the **** but from start to finish, the Dark Knight will haveEverything about this movie wins, the actors, the plot, the action-sequences, the soundtrack, and every other factor that i've regrettably decided to leave out to keep this review brief. It's really surprising considering that every other DC film for the past few decades (Batman Begins being the obvious exception) has been quite the **** but from start to finish, the Dark Knight will have you glued to your screen, a must watch for anyone with a soul, and even more so for fans of Heath Ledger, the best actor ever :D Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    OH MY GOD!!!!!!! this movie is awsome! by far the best movie ever. heath ledger is the best joker you will ever see!!! Too bad he died. i hope superhero movies an batman movies alike can be more like this in the future.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    As perfect as a film gets you will only see a select few better then it. Nolan remains one of the best directors of all time ranking with scorcesse and a few others.
  8. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    The Dark Knight makes no sense, the scenes go by so rapidly and with so little connection to the next frame that you're often wondering what the heck you just watched or why something happened. The movie is terribly convoluted, lasting 2 hours and 26 minutes. It could havbe actually ended at around 1 hour and 20 minutes and the audience would have been perfectly satisfied and the restThe Dark Knight makes no sense, the scenes go by so rapidly and with so little connection to the next frame that you're often wondering what the heck you just watched or why something happened. The movie is terribly convoluted, lasting 2 hours and 26 minutes. It could havbe actually ended at around 1 hour and 20 minutes and the audience would have been perfectly satisfied and the rest could have been made into another movie. Instead, they rinse and repeat for another hour. There are a whole bunch of gizmos and gadgets that were just thrown in there to look gadgety, they add absolutely nothing to the movie. Why is there such a discrepancy between the technology Batman uses and the technology the police use? If Batman loves to fight crime, why doesn't he increase the survival chance of the average cop or give them a pay raise so they're less inclined to corruption? Heck, why doesn't he feed the poor so they won't have to steal? There is barely any Batman and when there is, we get poorly choreographed fights with people that have such unbelievable poor aim you do not consider them evil at all since they rarely hit anything and we never really see 'm commit any crimes either. Mostly they just sit around talk about how they're going to take over the city. Last time I checked, this is not a crime. Batman's accent is horrible, it's as if though they were trying to raise awareness for throat cancer victims. It's not mysterious, it's not dark it's just ridiculous. If anyone were to talk like that while dressed in a giant costume you wouldn't be able to take them seriously no matter how hard you tried. I also think the butler is far too haugty, I recall him to be very servile and humble.I've never been a big fan of Batman, the idea of a rich industrialist going after "criminals" is just a completely unrealistic yuppie fantasie but I'm open for a good interpretation of some old comic if delivered right. This is not a good interpretation, I'd rather watch the 70's cartoons. The acting is semi-decent, I'm not too impressed by the Joker. he seems pretty meek for a villain. He also seems more human than the rest of the cast. That's a mistake for a movie that's about good and evil from a 50's point of view. And what's with these annoying women playing the love interests? Maybe they should have made Batman pair up with a really queer yet loyal construction worker that likes to run around in a furry suit instead of a woman that likes to run with the hare and hunt with the hounds. You know, actually gives us a character we can laugh about instead of make us run out of nails to bite. Or maybe America just has a thing for unloyal, undecisive annoying women on the silver-screen? Same went for Spiderman. Great movies, just couldn't stand the female lead because of her inability to actually stand behind her man or make a choice. Sure it's all in the script but somehow these women play the part perfectly, they all have the same annoying look on their face when they deliver the same old lines. The batmobile wasn't very iconic either, it looked like something Mad-Max'ish and seemed out of place. I'm pretty sure Batman is breaking a few laws driving around with a mobile razor-blade! I'd hate to be stuck with a vigilante that believes the police force is incapable of handling crime yet delivers the criminals into their hands each and every time. Batman, unlike The Punisher, isn't timeless and it shows. Horrible movie, given the hype I expected way more. Expand
  9. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    The Dark Knight is among the deepest superhero films ever created. The thing that made it better was the villain The Joker, who helped make the film darker than Batman Begins.
  10. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    With 'The Dark Knight', the super hero genre reached a new milestone: a superhero film that is topical and gritty beyond belief. It's the first Oscar caliber Super Hero film; a crime thriller masquerading under the guise of 'Batman', an acting powerhouse for its ensemble cast, an astounding action film and finally, a psychological drama, investigating the psyche of its characters. HeathWith 'The Dark Knight', the super hero genre reached a new milestone: a superhero film that is topical and gritty beyond belief. It's the first Oscar caliber Super Hero film; a crime thriller masquerading under the guise of 'Batman', an acting powerhouse for its ensemble cast, an astounding action film and finally, a psychological drama, investigating the psyche of its characters. Heath Ledger, in his last 'complete role', created the Joker as one of the most frightening character in the history of cinema, and this is a PG-13 film! Christian Bale also cemented himself as the best of all the 'Batmen' in the last two decades. But the real star is director Christopher Nolan himself, who has cemented himself as the auteur of this generation. The Dark Knight: one of my top 10 favorite films of all time. Expand
  11. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Seriously, the most legendary movie I have ever watched in my life. Characters, atmosphere, dialogs, music, action, depth... Everything is perfect! Thank you Christopher Nolan, for giving us this epic trilogy.
  12. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    The Dark Knight is an entertaining movie that definitely does the comic book character, Batman, justice. The movie keeps its dark, realistic tone from the previous Batman movie, Batman begins rather than the campy and light-hearted look of Batman and Robin. The plot was interesting and gripping, wasn't plagued by too many boring scenes and the story runs at a suitable pace. It continues onThe Dark Knight is an entertaining movie that definitely does the comic book character, Batman, justice. The movie keeps its dark, realistic tone from the previous Batman movie, Batman begins rather than the campy and light-hearted look of Batman and Robin. The plot was interesting and gripping, wasn't plagued by too many boring scenes and the story runs at a suitable pace. It continues on from Batman Begins as the vigilante known as Batman continues to fight crime in Gotham City. Now I wouldn't have thought that the movie would be too long or not as long as Batman Begins because of no need to explain how Bruce Wayne became Batman but I obviously thought wrong. It's a long movie, maybe too long but at least it's a good movie to sit through rather than a pain numbing boring one. It's a typical superhero action movie with a dastardly villain causing chaos and killing innocent people. This villain in the movie is none other than the Joker. The Joker is played brilliantly by the late Heath Ledger. He nailed the Jokers personality with the way he acts and that make up he wears is freaky! He's a psychopath and a dangerous person but comes across in some scenes like the "Magic Trick" scene where he slams some goon's forehead (or eyeball?) into a pencil and makes it disappear - just like the Joker said he would do - as somewhat funny. I like when he's dead polite in the "Party" when he greets the party guests and wielding a shotgun and helps himself to a glass of wine (or some alcoholic liquid), picks it up, accidently tosses the wine out of the glass and drinks from it anyway! It's no Matrix in terms of it's fight scenes but they are good and well edited (unlike the last Batman film where most of the fight scenes were shot in extreme close up). The action scenes like the chase scene where the Joker is trying to chase down the truck transporting "Batman" was exciting to watch. The other villain, Two-Face is introduced pretty quickly and at least doesn't take too much time out of the running time of the film. The visual effects on Two-Face are authentic and make him seem more threatening. I noticed when seeing this film, there's 2 scenes that reference 2 scenes from the 1989 Batman and it was great that director Christopher Nolan referenced those 2 scenes in this movie. The Batcycle is cool and the Batsuit that Batman wears matches the dark stylish look of the movie. The music is dramatic and suits the film and sounded more epic in the cinema than at home. I know he talked like this in Batman Begins but why does Bruce Wayne as Batman, have to talk in a dull, broken and grouchy voice? Yes I know he's doing it to conceal his identity, but in the 1989 Batman movie, Bruce Wayne talked in the same tone while he was Batman rather than a different voice. Also one scene, which may seem epic, is very bright and may cause seizures! This is just a short review of a movie that I really enjoyed and I consider it to be one of the best if not the best superhero movie I've seen. Expand
  13. Oct 7, 2010
    0
    The Dark Knight is the most overhyped event in the past 10 years. Batman Begins was pretty good, but this? THIS?? Chris Nolan went experimental and tried to do a "big movie" about crime, anarchy and stuff, but kind of forgot its entertainment value. The film has excellent cinematography and does have good acting with a solid performance of Aaron Eckhart and Heath Ledger as the Joker is theThe Dark Knight is the most overhyped event in the past 10 years. Batman Begins was pretty good, but this? THIS?? Chris Nolan went experimental and tried to do a "big movie" about crime, anarchy and stuff, but kind of forgot its entertainment value. The film has excellent cinematography and does have good acting with a solid performance of Aaron Eckhart and Heath Ledger as the Joker is the most unique interpretation of a psycho killer with a level of craziness Johnny Depp can only dream of, but there is no point in having solid performances if there is no plot nor story. I am not going to write a plot overview for this movie because there isn't one. Did something really happen in this movie? Was there something worth telling? Sorry if you're a fan, but there was no point in making this "film". No story in a 2 and half hour long movie is dreadful, I'd rather watch something like Watchmen Ultimate Cut with a running time of 3 and a half hours than this, this film is interesting as long as the running time and then it's over. Can you recall any moment in this film? No? I'm not surprised, That is why I say this film lacked a story. Batman Begins will be remembered for being influential, The Dark Knight will only be remembered by its huge hype and overrated reviews. Expand
  14. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    The Dark Knight is hands down the best written, scripted and acted superhero movie of all time. The dialogue fizzes at all times, the character exchanges are more exciting than gunfire and there is a genuinely interesting psychological study at the root of it all. What does keep it shy of perfection, though, is the lack of a truly exciting action scene. The whole bat-bike / flipping truckThe Dark Knight is hands down the best written, scripted and acted superhero movie of all time. The dialogue fizzes at all times, the character exchanges are more exciting than gunfire and there is a genuinely interesting psychological study at the root of it all. What does keep it shy of perfection, though, is the lack of a truly exciting action scene. The whole bat-bike / flipping truck scene comes close but ultimately when in combat, this Batman is a bit paint by numbers. Not that it hurts the movie too much because to paraphrase the Joker; "You didn't really think I'd leave the fate of Gotham's soul up to a fistfight, did you?" Expand
  15. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    "The Dark Knight" is proof that Chris Nolan saved the Batman saga. this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years! from the mind-blowing action, to the incredible acting, fantastic characters, strong script, layers of character depth and development, epic music, awesome special effects... i can't see anything wrong with "The Dark Knight". cause everything's the work of art,"The Dark Knight" is proof that Chris Nolan saved the Batman saga. this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years! from the mind-blowing action, to the incredible acting, fantastic characters, strong script, layers of character depth and development, epic music, awesome special effects... i can't see anything wrong with "The Dark Knight". cause everything's the work of art, of a person who knows how to do the Batman saga justice. it's like if Christopher Nolan was like "Outta the way, **** It's my turn now". and he saved Batman, he brought Batman back to life again, and i thank him so much for that. also, Heath Ledger as the Joker: a phenomenon! other actors can try, but nobody's ever gonna top Heath Ledger's Joker. and Christopher Nolan still stays as one of the best directors we've ever had. "The Dark Knight" is a phenomenon! Expand
  16. Aug 21, 2010
    5
    i didnt get the hype behind this film . i know alot of people who liked it but i guess im not one of them . im almost wondering if it was because it was heath ledgers last preformance befor he died . well i guess for one im not a huge batman fan to begin with . well lets move on the critics where right though on heath ledger giving a great preformance as the joker i thought it would bei didnt get the hype behind this film . i know alot of people who liked it but i guess im not one of them . im almost wondering if it was because it was heath ledgers last preformance befor he died . well i guess for one im not a huge batman fan to begin with . well lets move on the critics where right though on heath ledger giving a great preformance as the joker i thought it would be really tough to top jack nicholsons version of the joker but he did a great job . im not saying that eather cause he kicked off he did actaully do it well. thats about really the only plus of the film that and the over all plot of how evil people can just light the world on fire and wach it burn and not care about any thing els wasnt bad eather . the main problems i have with this film are baal himself as batman . should i be laughing every time he talks as batman? well i am his low sounding raspy voice for batman just seems over the top and rediculas . i just kept laughing every time he opend his mouth . the film is also way to long like 2 hrs 45 min or some thing like that . it could have been easily cut to just under 2 hours. bringing in 2 face at the end i thought was just pointless for such a small roll and then end it the way they did . this film really wasnt bad but not nearly enjoyable enough for me to ever want to see it ever again or its sequels. Expand
  17. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The best superhero movie. EVER.

    I had a lot of expectations when I went to see this film. Batman Begins was so promising because it started on a darker and more realistic tone. The Dark Knight exceeds all expectations. It is darker, scarier, and a bigger ride.The old Batman movies and TV series were more joyful whereas the comic books themselves were more sinister. The Dark Knight is
    The best superhero movie. EVER.

    I had a lot of expectations when I went to see this film. Batman Begins was so promising because it started on a darker and more realistic tone. The Dark Knight exceeds all expectations. It is darker, scarier, and a bigger ride.The old Batman movies and TV series were more joyful whereas the comic books themselves were more sinister. The Dark Knight is better than the comics. The atmosphere is bleak in Gotham City. Nothing but black thanks to the high crime rates. Batman helps decrease felony rates but Gotham needs a more normal person to take over. And that is Harvey Dent. However, the Joker marvelously played by the late Heath Ledger, is the only nemesis that stalls Gotham's hopes of being clean. And that path shows disaster as Harvey himself turns mad after the death of his girlfriend and the loss of half of his face. How Batman defeats both Joker and Dent is the main plot.

    But Batman isn't much of an adventure as it is a perilous journey in the experience of doom. It feels and breathes dystopia. There is no light. There is hardly any shelter. The music itself explains the tragedy. But then there was Batman. And that is what helps Dark Knight to succeed. How one person alone attempts to triumph in the lack of light. How he sacrifices himself to help his city from the depths of despair really makes him the Dark Knight.

    The cast has done a superb job in portraying their characters without going overboard. Christian Bale returns giving both sides of Bruce Wayne equal attention (the playboy and the hero) as he did in the first film. Aaron Eckhart and Maggie Gyllenhaal also give fine performances. But it is the Joker that really makes the film terrifying. He is insane but believably played by Heath Ledger. The Joker alone is enough reason to see this film.

    But alas, people will say that it is the best part of the film even though there are several other reasons on why The Dark Knight is not just the best superhero film but one of the greatest films of all time.
    Expand
  18. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    THE BEST MOVIE EVER! I just have to say that this movies are awesome, and so is Christopher Nolan. He's never failed us and he has made five movies and I bet all of them are possible contenders for best movie ever. So anyways, I liked how Rachel just gives up on Bruce for Harvey Dent, whom everyone deems "The Better Man" or "The White Knight". I also loved how the Joker is just psycho andTHE BEST MOVIE EVER! I just have to say that this movies are awesome, and so is Christopher Nolan. He's never failed us and he has made five movies and I bet all of them are possible contenders for best movie ever. So anyways, I liked how Rachel just gives up on Bruce for Harvey Dent, whom everyone deems "The Better Man" or "The White Knight". I also loved how the Joker is just psycho and he doesn't care for anything except bombs, gasoline, and crime. I believe he is just out there to prove a point. That even Gotham's best can fall. He even nearly completed his plan by corrupting Harvey but Batman/Bruce took the blame. I love how, in the end, Harvey's gun is pointed at the men "responsible" for Rachel's death (Batman, Gordon, himself) and how his mind is just twisted into thinking that they were actually responsible. I think Heath Ledger gave an excellent performance, all out, although it hasn't turned out for the best. I'm sure we'd all prefer that this was never made or was never as good for the sake of Heath Ledger but, you got to admit, this is just such a good movie. Expand
  19. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite movies as a huge batman fan I couldn't be happier. The joker was easily the best done joker ever. Can't give this movie enough praise and can't wait for the next.
  20. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    One of only a handful of flawless films I have seen in my lifetime. (To give this movie a 0 (Zero) is morally irresponsible.)
  21. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have 5000 character limit for writing my opinion about this movie..is it enough? Absoulately not... The best movie ever...awesome...fantastic...amazing... you can find lot of words like this... you feel every emotion in the movie.Every scene has another feeling.Love, action, humanity, movie gives every feelings to you. i advise all world people to watch this movie. Because you wil not see a film like this for 50 years Expand
  22. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    The Dark Knight dares to be more than it should be. It transcends the barriers of being labelled a "Batman movie" or "superhero movie" by excelling in all areas: character, plot, action, writing, acting, directing. The Dark Knight is not for fans of Batman or fans of serious drama. It is a film for everyone and stands as one of the most important films of the decade.
  23. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Great stuff. . Epic story, good acting and production. Something as big as this can't help but attract negativity, but please be assured that it is a great effort. And remember, this is modern myth-making! These stories are our morality plays, our tales of gods and monsters. Please don't look at it as just a crime thriller or you will find implausibility!
  24. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Christopher Nolan is an absolute genius. Batman Begins was a great film, but this just about blows it out of the water. Nolan knows good acting, and some amazing actors are in this one. Bale, Freeman, Oldman, Caine, LEDGER, all greats. The action scenes are suspenseful and aplenty (with a batmobile scene standing out) . and the script is superb. Seriously, this movie is super quotable.Christopher Nolan is an absolute genius. Batman Begins was a great film, but this just about blows it out of the water. Nolan knows good acting, and some amazing actors are in this one. Bale, Freeman, Oldman, Caine, LEDGER, all greats. The action scenes are suspenseful and aplenty (with a batmobile scene standing out) . and the script is superb. Seriously, this movie is super quotable. Ledger was born to play the Joker, and everybody that says his acting is "overrated" will never be happy. Aaron Eckhart is also superb. The best superher movie ever. Expand
  25. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I thought this movie was unbelievable, especially joker. Everything was incredible from the special effects to the actors and of course. They got batman just right, because he has that serious feeling that is batman. As well as the joker with his sick and weird(slightly funny) feeling. Which is of course joker. And is of course one of my favourite comic villain of all time. In a way theyI thought this movie was unbelievable, especially joker. Everything was incredible from the special effects to the actors and of course. They got batman just right, because he has that serious feeling that is batman. As well as the joker with his sick and weird(slightly funny) feeling. Which is of course joker. And is of course one of my favourite comic villain of all time. In a way they are both perfect for each other. Serious and joke one cannot survive without the other. I give it two thumbs up. Best movie of 2008. Expand
  26. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This is the Batman film for the ages (with the 60s Adam West one as well). It is very dark, gritty and very distressing to watch: You really do feel all the pain felt by each character from each bone-crunching punch to every gun shot. Batman himself is perfect in the film, perhaps the best portrayal of the character I have seen or read and you do seriously feel his pain. But what makesThis is the Batman film for the ages (with the 60s Adam West one as well). It is very dark, gritty and very distressing to watch: You really do feel all the pain felt by each character from each bone-crunching punch to every gun shot. Batman himself is perfect in the film, perhaps the best portrayal of the character I have seen or read and you do seriously feel his pain. But what makes this pain? The Joker. I know how many times it has been said before, but Heath Ledger's Joker makes the film what it was, and still is. This is one of the best movies ever made and really deserves all the positive attention it gets. From the perfect portrayal of its characters to the realism thrown in (boat scene, and questions about utilitarianism) and to the amazing special effects, this truly is cinema/ movie mastery at its best. Expand
  27. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Regular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What I love about his take on Batman is that it's very realistic. Even the joker, as out there as he maybe, was a much more believable and realistic villainRegular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What I love about his take on Batman is that it's very realistic. Even the joker, as out there as he maybe, was a much more believable and realistic villain than the portrait by Jack Nicholson. As for the movie, it's an amazing story, with one of the best performances ever, by the late Heath Ledger who I really couldn't stand until this movie! As with all Nolan movies, it's a very visually appealing film, with a great story, and cast perfectly. I can honestly say that this is as good as it gets! There will never be a better Batman or super hero movie. Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I was so pumped for this movie to come out for years and then Heath Ledger's passing made it an even bigger event. I went to see it on opening day and I swear during a few of the joker scenes I got chills because it was so good. And any movie that can have that much of an effect on me deserves a 10/10.
  29. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is a what all movies should be like. This movie features great acting and superb special effects . Heath Ledger's role as Joker is the best of all the jokers there have been. Everything about this film is great and I loved it
  30. May 6, 2012
    10
    Batman's greatest foe yet is revealed in The Dark Knight. And he is amazing. The combination of Heath Ledger and Christian Bale is magnificent. This is truly the best superhero movie to date. Every little detail leads to something in the end. The special effects still remain some of the best and this movie was truly advanced for the year it was released.
  31. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Absolutely stunning. This sequel is dark, sophisticated, and is better than its predecessor. It has emotion, powerful and superb acting, and impressive visuals. This film is, beyond any doubt, a must-see. Oh, and the Joker in the movie, is beyond fantastic.
  32. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Although it has its flaws, it is a wonderfully crafted piece of epic crime drama that explodes past expectations with an excellent script, exhilarating special effects, amazing acting, and powerful themes.
  33. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This is just a great film. It's over every superhero movie because of it's complex story, spectacular acting (Heath Ledger deserved that Oscar (R.I.P.) and entertaining action. I don't know why some people say this movie is just "good". That's complete jelaousy! F***ing haters.
  34. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    one of the fantastic movie i have ever watched.... i am obsessed about it... everyone should watch this movie... have fun.............................
  35. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    The Dark Knight is a very tightly woven and smart movie. The plot is engaging, the characters are each unique and well acted (especially the joker) and the action is intense. Really, there is no issue with this movie. It's damn near perfect. You'll be interested and on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end of the movie.
    The Dark Knight is not only the best Batman movie ever,
    The Dark Knight is a very tightly woven and smart movie. The plot is engaging, the characters are each unique and well acted (especially the joker) and the action is intense. Really, there is no issue with this movie. It's damn near perfect. You'll be interested and on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end of the movie.
    The Dark Knight is not only the best Batman movie ever, it is also the greatest super hero based movie ever. Do yourself a favor and go watch it.
    Expand
  36. May 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best super hero movies of all times. If you havent seen it yet then..just stop reading this review and go see it first. Strong villains against strong super heros usually make the movie and this is no exception.
  37. May 31, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite Batman movie ever! Christian Bale did another great performance as Batman and Heath Ledger was amazing as the Joker. The plot is excellent and the action sequences were great. I cannot understand anyone who doesn't like this movie.
  38. May 5, 2014
    10
    A single movie, with so many unique particularities and a simple proposal: be original and different at same time. Nolan brings us a mature and surprising Batman´s universe, with characters well made, including the Joker, the most impressive of all. Heath Ledger gives life to a scary, cold, shocking and overwhelming villain, that faces all Batman's limits with an unmerciful psychologicalA single movie, with so many unique particularities and a simple proposal: be original and different at same time. Nolan brings us a mature and surprising Batman´s universe, with characters well made, including the Joker, the most impressive of all. Heath Ledger gives life to a scary, cold, shocking and overwhelming villain, that faces all Batman's limits with an unmerciful psychological game at absolutely flawless and triumphant performance. With a tense, accurate and efficient score by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard, led by the realistic and audacious proposal from Christopher Nolan, The Dark Knight is engaging and powerful, being the best adaptation of a comic-book to the cinema. Expand
  39. Sep 19, 2010
    4
    Director Nolan illustrates his movie too darkly and too gloomy. Why this super-hero movie should deserve to philosophically intricated one. Watching Super-hero movie is merely for fun.
  40. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Christopher Nolan is by far an excellent director while making this epic hit!
  41. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    If you removed Heath Ledger from this film then it would be trash. The only good parts of the film are with the Joker and Heath puts on an amazing performance that will make you go out and buy the film and re-watch it just for him. The main cast was rather disapointing, The entire film was a bit too long for my taste, and it was actually rather boring outside of the parts with the Joker.
  42. Feb 18, 2011
    7
    Heath Ledger is the best Joker out of them all and has possibly the best performance I've ever seen. But Christian Bales voice ruins this whole experience. He tried too hard to sound like a bad ass that it transformed his voice into the sound someone with throat cancer makes.
  43. May 1, 2011
    10
    This movie is really just trying to disguise what it is. What it is is just another Batman movie. It added pointless layers of depth to itself so that critics could not write it off as another superhero movie. I liked it when it was just Batman beating the crap out of criminals, and not Batman being a political figure. I usually like Christopher Nolan movies, but he really was overloadingThis movie is really just trying to disguise what it is. What it is is just another Batman movie. It added pointless layers of depth to itself so that critics could not write it off as another superhero movie. I liked it when it was just Batman beating the crap out of criminals, and not Batman being a political figure. I usually like Christopher Nolan movies, but he really was overloading this one and makes it complicated enough that the regular audience of Batman films (6-10 yr olds) wont enjoy it and end up calling it boring. In short, great as a superhero movie and confused as a political thriller. Expand
  44. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    The Dark Knight is everything an action movie should be: thrilling, suspenseful, epic and chock-full of action sequences that sometimes are as amusing as they are visually stimulating. But it's also an emotional journey that's so intricately weaved into the fabric of the movie it doesn't at all seem out of place (or disingenuous). Ledger's chilling (terrifying, nihilistic) portrayal of theThe Dark Knight is everything an action movie should be: thrilling, suspenseful, epic and chock-full of action sequences that sometimes are as amusing as they are visually stimulating. But it's also an emotional journey that's so intricately weaved into the fabric of the movie it doesn't at all seem out of place (or disingenuous). Ledger's chilling (terrifying, nihilistic) portrayal of the Joker is certain to go down in cinematic history as one of the greatest villains of all time and even then it might still be slightly under-appreciated. Nolan has succeeded in creating a genre-defying (and defining) film on such a grandiose scale, and with so little room for error, that he must be praised for what he truly is: a directorial savant. Expand
  45. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    If "The Dark Knight" is an unique, fascinating masterpiece is thanks to the nihilist tone, bleak atmosphere and profound story that director Christopher Nolan exploits with great refinement.
  46. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    is the best movie about Batman, because almost all the cast and special effects that could use very well. The actor who do Joker is fantastic, but the woman who makes Rachel she has attitude and is very ugly
  47. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An almost flawless film. This did not in any way feel like it was 2 and a half hours long, it was the fastest and most exciting two and a half hours I've spent at the cinema, and at home watching this on DVD. If you want a tightly woven story, replete with character threads, themes and actions that have serious consequences, this is definitely the film for you. Heath Ledger is most certainly the star of this film, delivering a solid and menacing performance, that makes you feel like you wouldn't want to cross this guy in real life. Also worth of high praise are Aaron Eckhart and Gary Oldman, both of whom deliver solid, dramatic and emotive performances. I can't understand how people can watch this film and say it lacks plot depth and texture, seriously, most of the people I know who reviewed this thing had to watch it multiple times to finally grasp and coherently understand all of the themes that permeate this movie, from escalation, terrorism, criminality, evil's triumph over good, there is a lot more to it than the negative reviews seem to be wanting to notice. The editing keeps a fantastic balance of drama, character development and action, and there is never too much of one over the other. A lot of the negative reviews I've seen seem to boil down to either "over hyped" or "too long". If you're not going to review the film on an objective level, then you may as well just not post a review. The only criticism I'd give of the film is the post-Rachel death scene between Alfred and Wayne, which was a missed opportunity and fairly unconvincingly acted by Bale. Other than that, the film is a must see. Expand
  48. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Christopher Nolan directs an epic, emotional thrill ride. Providing nonstop action incredible performances especially Heath Ledger who gives the best adaptation of one of the most memorable villains. This movie is one of the most unforgettable experiences you will have until the last one arrives. I give this movie 90%.
  49. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Heath Ledger gives one of the greatest performances of all time as the Joker and is really the only reason for watching this film (I re-watched his parts quite a bit). The acting is good and it looks great. The rest of the cast is ok, I expected better. To be honest, The parts without the Joker arent even worth watching and are pretty boring and generic. The addition of Two-Face works wellHeath Ledger gives one of the greatest performances of all time as the Joker and is really the only reason for watching this film (I re-watched his parts quite a bit). The acting is good and it looks great. The rest of the cast is ok, I expected better. To be honest, The parts without the Joker arent even worth watching and are pretty boring and generic. The addition of Two-Face works well for the story but I didnt not care for him as a villian or the actor who played him. Expand
  50. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    A film with too many plot holes. The plot is all over the place. This film really should of been split in two to make it flow better. As is, it's one giant cluster ****
  51. May 19, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nolan finally reveals his ability that it is not skill to bring forth a gritty "realism" to a comic book movie, but a lack of complete and utter imagination to fulfill a fantasy based character. To be honest the film itself was not that bad, had it not been an hour too long. Had the movie ended after Rachel Dawson died, and the reveal of two-face, it would end on such a somber "Empire Strikes Back" note, and really left the audience in a state of wonder and a need for me. But instead Nolan decides to continue on for an hour where he plateaus with his boring action sequence, and than killing off two face in on of the worst ending in comic book history since Fantastic Four. Too damn long, but of course, Heath Ledger shines bright Expand
  52. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The thing about The Dark Knight is that there's so much build up going on through the entire movie. The movie does a good job of juggling multiple villians, like how Batman Begins was. Joker is the main villian, and Lau and Salvatori Maroni are the other villians. There's also a lot of bad guys in this. The action is a big step up in this one to as there's not only more action than Begins, but the quality is a little better. The last dilema with the Joker and the ships felt a bit rushed though, but the movie quickly picked up at the finale. The screentime for this movie is longer than a few other superhero movies at 2hrs.18min without credits. But the pacing throughout the movie is so well done that the movie feels more like 2hrs than that time. The movie is so intense at times it may be a bit uncomfortable. But the intensity is not violent as there's blood or a lot of cursing in it. The plot and issues just make it feel intense. Overall the movie haves a couple of flaws but it's certainly awesome. Expand
  53. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    The Dark Knight is a well-written, acted and directed film. Nolan delivers again and hits it big in the adaptation of The Joker and how he toys with Batman. This film is dark, exciting and satisfying. The ending is the only part that falls slightly short but only because they cannot put The Joker in the sequel. This film does well in the aspect that it shows how Batman struggles in hisThe Dark Knight is a well-written, acted and directed film. Nolan delivers again and hits it big in the adaptation of The Joker and how he toys with Batman. This film is dark, exciting and satisfying. The ending is the only part that falls slightly short but only because they cannot put The Joker in the sequel. This film does well in the aspect that it shows how Batman struggles in his internal fight between being morally correct by not killing The Joker or breaking his rules and killing the Joker. It is interesting to see Bruce Wayne's decisions as Batman and how they pan out. Well done. These reasons are why i gave it a 9 out of 10. If i could I would have given it an 8.7 but there are no decimals while rating movies on Metacritic. I recommend this film to anyone wanting to watch a good film that has 2 and a half hours on their time. Enjoy! Expand
  54. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Dark Knight was a revolutionary movie of its kind (Superhero movies). It really brings out the darker side to what being a superhero is and how it can affect that person as well as the people around him/her. Not only was unique to other superhero movies but it was superior to them as well as many other movies in terms of acting, special effects and the lasting appeal. Honestly words dont describe how well Heath Ledger played The Joker, as well as the life and 'madness' he brought into this movie. Take the first scene of this movie, where the Joker and his men robbed the bank, and how he tricked them into killing eachother. I have never seen a more absorbing first scene to a movie. Yes I agree that Christian Bale could of put a little more then a deep voice into the Batman character, but being how he was, he really made the villains in the movie (Two Face and Joker) shine. This movie brought a lot to the movie industry and would be hard to top as a superhero movie. I think this movie outshone both the Avengers and The Dark Knight Rises in almost all aspects and should not be treated as merely any old movie. Overall it tops my list and I highly encourage everyone to watch it. Expand
  55. Jul 19, 2012
    8
    TDK is one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life. Joker did a great job. The script is fabulous. Chris did well. I think Christoper Nolan is something. I mean he is genius. This is one of my period favorite movies.
  56. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    This is a true superhero movie. An exquisite Masterpiece, in this film there is a touch of realism that bring you into the world of Batman. It is unbelievable seeing this film in comparison to Tim Burton Batman back in the 1990s. Nolan have took away the gothic and traditional perception of the characters and made it his own. Batman is no long wearing rubber suits, the joker is no longThis is a true superhero movie. An exquisite Masterpiece, in this film there is a touch of realism that bring you into the world of Batman. It is unbelievable seeing this film in comparison to Tim Burton Batman back in the 1990s. Nolan have took away the gothic and traditional perception of the characters and made it his own. Batman is no long wearing rubber suits, the joker is no long flamboyant, Alfred is no long just a guy carrying tea around the place and Harvey Dent is no longer the guy with a perfectly halfed red face. These characters changed for the better in this film.

    Heath Ledger is am absolute inspiration to all of us, when I walked into the cinemas on the opening night I didn't expect much, I didn't know who is in the film apart from the names on the poster and I thought "it's a new batman film lets see how this one in compared to the others" from the first second when the DC comic sign sppeared on screen the soundtrack behind it create a huge suspense, I have no idea where it is going to lead me then it starts, the glass shatters, the guns started to go off then the joker appeared. At that point that was the very first time I saw the joker, and "holy **** I thought to myself. The look on the jokers face scared the sh** out of me I didn't know it is going look like that. It thought another Tim Burton joker, but I was completely shocked the action continues and does not allow you to have a breath. That's why this movie is so good thats why "it makes the marvel movies look silly" The stunts, the action, the story, the acting and the interaction between characters really capture you into this movie. Today this film is on DVD or Blue Ray but while The Dark Knight Rises is on screen, The Dark Knight is also playing in IMAX theatres so why no go see it on the massive screen again it's worth every cent!
    Expand
  57. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    The Dark Knight Is One Of My Favorite Films Of All Time Ranking Second On My Top Ten Favorite Films List On IMDB Behind My Number One Favorite Film Of All Time Citizen Kane, I Like This Movie Because Of Heath Ledger's Performance As The Joker, This Is The ''Gone With The Wind'' Of Comic Book Movies.
  58. Oct 14, 2012
    5
    This is a very over-rated film, slightly boring, It took me two days to actually get through this snooze-fest, It's a decent film overall but even Heath Ledger's fantastic performance can't save this from just being another film featuring a comic book hero, I enjoy Batman normally the comics are fantastic but this isn't fantastic and you could even miss this film if you were watching TheThis is a very over-rated film, slightly boring, It took me two days to actually get through this snooze-fest, It's a decent film overall but even Heath Ledger's fantastic performance can't save this from just being another film featuring a comic book hero, I enjoy Batman normally the comics are fantastic but this isn't fantastic and you could even miss this film if you were watching The Dark Knight Trilogy. Expand
  59. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    What a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I really can not falter this movie in any way. As close to perfect as I could hope for a comic to movie film.

    Overall:
    This is Batman!
  60. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    One of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. Batman Begins had a weak plot, this has one of the best plots of any movie ever, Christopher Nolan took a risk and made the plot political instead of pointlessOne of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. Batman Begins had a weak plot, this has one of the best plots of any movie ever, Christopher Nolan took a risk and made the plot political instead of pointless like Batman Begins, and it worked. The Dark Knight is a very enjoyable and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
  61. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Self-indulgent pretentious crap. He ruined the Batman series. Mindless trash this was. Still hate it to this day. No wonder everybody hated the last one, its because this one was the set up to an even worse one.
  62. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    As a whole, it can exclaim itself as a sophisticated comic book film. Heath Ledger's Joker is what captivates us. He absorbs into this role with a type of noir-like version of the classic comic book character, becoming a murderous and calculating psychopath. The only comic book film that deserved any Oscar, especially for Heath Ledger.
  63. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    This movie changed the way I see Batman. This Part 2 of the trilogy was by far the best in the trilogy, and probably the best Batman movie I've ever seen. Sorry, Adam West, Michael Keaton, and George Clooney. And that voice!
  64. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Overrated as Hell! I do not understand why people say this piece of trash is so good. Especially when they say "It's a classic- right up there with The Godfather." Uhhhhh...... NO! Some poor performances (cough, cough, Bale), an over complicated plot (just like all Nolan movies), cheesy lines, and some pretty awful action scenes all contribute to making this movie one awful pile of crap.
  65. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite movie. I like Christopher Nolan movies. This is his best movie. Good plot, fantastic acting. Heath Ledger is genius. Good effects, action, drama.
  66. May 4, 2011
    0
    This movie was brilliant, entertaining to the people who love in-depth conversations to the people who love explosions. So much drama, I dont see where it fails to have plot, basically its a simple battle of philosophies, nothing more, but nothing needed, he taints other people to madness, what more do you need? Even if it doesnt have plot, it doesnt NEED plot, suspense, action,This movie was brilliant, entertaining to the people who love in-depth conversations to the people who love explosions. So much drama, I dont see where it fails to have plot, basically its a simple battle of philosophies, nothing more, but nothing needed, he taints other people to madness, what more do you need? Even if it doesnt have plot, it doesnt NEED plot, suspense, action, conflicting philosophies, drawbacks to madness are all you truly need. It took Joker and evolved him to the next level. Expand
  67. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Heaven came down, and glory filled my soul. This is not only the best superhero movie of all time, but one of the greatest films every directed. Buy it, watch it, repeat.
  68. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Wow!!! The Dark Knight is truly the 21st Century Knight ! I'll give it 10/10 as it is more darker and deeper than it's prequel! For the tools of his trade, in addition to his gadgets and gizmos, he deserves an Oscar and 5 stars! Batman has done a teriffic job again! Call it the number 1 movie of Hollywood-That's Director Nolan's noir of signature style!
  69. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    This is best rated and most popular Batman movie in the series. Add in the best music by Hans Zimmer, the best supporting actor of Heath Ledger, the great cast and the sound effects, you create the most serious adapted comic-book movie ever. Only thing I disliked is the deeper voice of the Batman which might have been too under-toned.
  70. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Batman: A childish comic book character past his day. Think again, Nolan brings the dark and the adult to batman. Not to mention Heath Ledger in a legendary performance as the scary but damn right interesting Joker. Bale also cements his place as THE Batman with a smooth performance. This is just about one of the best movies I've ever seen.
  71. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    The Dark Knight is a brilliant masterpiece that I truly enjoyed. It had great acting and a great plot. The action was great and so was the screenplay. This movie surely will go down as one of the greatest superhero movies ever made.
  72. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    I cannot tell you how my hopes were dashed when I saw The Dark Knight. The entire movie, in fact, was literally painful to sit through because I could just see how the film might have achieved the greatness it has been accoladed for. Unfortunately, The Dark Knight refuses to realize both the limitations of the audience's attention span, and how much plot one can squeeze into one film.I cannot tell you how my hopes were dashed when I saw The Dark Knight. The entire movie, in fact, was literally painful to sit through because I could just see how the film might have achieved the greatness it has been accoladed for. Unfortunately, The Dark Knight refuses to realize both the limitations of the audience's attention span, and how much plot one can squeeze into one film. Christopher Nolan took what, in disparate elements, are absolutely amazing aspects of a film. Logically, these should have come together in a mind-boggling display of superhero goodness. To start with, let me make it clear that Batman is my favorite superhero, hands down. Also, I should say that I did not hate Batman Begins; rather, I appreciated what Nolan was trying to do in his attempt to reboot this would-be icon of the comic world and eagerly awaited the sequel. In addition, I did not think the film was bad- but I did dislike it for approaching greatness and yet never quite achieving it. I should also say that I loved, as many people did, The Joker. Heath Ledger gives a performance to rock the ages. Never before has a villain, in anything that I've seen, reached the levels of lunacy and depravity that The Joker reached in this film. Nevertheless, I ask you, you fans of The Dark Knight, if you truly loved the film, or if you truly loved The Joker? In all honesty, the first twenty minutes, essentially the first two Joker scenes, had me on the edge of my seat. I was ready for this to bring down the house and top off my list of favorite films- how could Nolan possible steer a film down from such impressive heights? Well, as they say, the bigger they comeâ Expand
  73. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    The second of Christopher Nolan's Batman films.
    Much has been said about the late, great Heath Ledger's Joker & it is all it is cracked up to be. He steals every scene he is in & the "Why so serious" scene is already up there with the greats.
    A mention to Aaron Eckhart as well for a very good portrayal of Harvey Dent. It is a very strong supporting cast as was the first film. My only
    The second of Christopher Nolan's Batman films.
    Much has been said about the late, great Heath Ledger's Joker & it is all it is cracked up to be. He steals every scene he is in & the "Why so serious" scene is already up there with the greats.
    A mention to Aaron Eckhart as well for a very good portrayal of Harvey Dent. It is a very strong supporting cast as was the first film.
    My only criticism is that Christian Bale's voice as Batman is unintentionally amusing. I understand he changes it so people won't know he's Bruce Wayne but it's so over the top it's almost comedic.
    Expand
  74. May 5, 2011
    8
    you have nothing here but a perfect screenplay with a strong narrative with spell binding performance of heath ledger as joker. christian bale is awesome in the climax dialog. gary oldman and micheal caine are neat, aron eckhart is good as harvey. perfect emotional gripping thriller that will drive you crazy right from the beginning. a decent climax and thundering technical effects likeyou have nothing here but a perfect screenplay with a strong narrative with spell binding performance of heath ledger as joker. christian bale is awesome in the climax dialog. gary oldman and micheal caine are neat, aron eckhart is good as harvey. perfect emotional gripping thriller that will drive you crazy right from the beginning. a decent climax and thundering technical effects like visual effects cinematography and some stunning camera work makes dark knight the best movie of my list of top rated action movies. Expand
  75. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    My favorite film of all time. I have never been a fan of superhero movies, on second thought I hate them. But this is no superhero movie. This is a whole new different type of entertainment that will inspire other films of the superhero genre. whether a fun of superhero movies or not, you will love this movie.
  76. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    The first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie, at least in the sense we have come to expect. Nolan takes a turn for extreme realism and weighted expectation, giving us one of the most gripping andThe first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie, at least in the sense we have come to expect. Nolan takes a turn for extreme realism and weighted expectation, giving us one of the most gripping and intense action movies to hit the screens in a long while. As far as we ave seen, the caped crusader has never looked so good. Expand
  77. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    I personally feel this movie is a bit overrated. But that's just me. I love it, but not as much as most people do. But aside from that this movie is phenomenal. I just am not a fan of the first scene and the last scene, everything else, golden.
  78. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    This movie hits the ground running and never lets up. Having seen it 5 times I'm still having a hard time finding flaws and every time I've been dragged in. The Joker scenes still send shivers down my spine. It's so good because it is not the usual action hero movie, I can't believe Spider-Man 2 has the same score on metacritic as this one.
  79. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    I will admit The Dark Knight is a tough film to get into. The story is complicated especially for a film based on a comic book. The beginning is information overload and could turn some people off. However, once the Joker shows up and chaos ensues the film really picks up. You get into the story, which is great. The film is enhanced by some great performances especially by Heath Leadger.I will admit The Dark Knight is a tough film to get into. The story is complicated especially for a film based on a comic book. The beginning is information overload and could turn some people off. However, once the Joker shows up and chaos ensues the film really picks up. You get into the story, which is great. The film is enhanced by some great performances especially by Heath Leadger. While some of the acting could have been better it is still good and nothing terrible. The story is lengthy and may have benefited from being two films; but it did not bother me as much the second time. The further you get into the film the better it gets. Overall, The Dark Knight is not just a great superhero movie but a great film. It has a deep story, good characters, and some nice filming to top it of. If you have not seen this film yet check it out its great. You do not have to like Batman to enjoy this film. It is an interesting take on some well-known characters and I love it. I enjoyed the Dark Knight a lot the second time around and I am probably going to see it again in the future multiple times. Expand
  80. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Heath Ledger's performance as the Joker was brilliant. He never lost an award for his performance. The movie is just like Batman: Arkham Asylum. I give this movie 10/10
  81. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    The Dark Knight is amazing. Heath Ledger's perfomance was amazing. The screenplay was brilliant. Christopher Nolan (The Director of "Inception) is one of the greatest filmmakers of all time.
  82. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    I think I came in my pants when Gary Oldman said "Dark Knight" at the end. Throught out the entire film, I must have had a massive hard-on due to its near-perfection. And when detective Gordon said those two words as Batman sped off, it was the "finishing" moment. It defined it. There are a handful of problems, but all the amazing **** that goes on more than compensates for it. It ****I think I came in my pants when Gary Oldman said "Dark Knight" at the end. Throught out the entire film, I must have had a massive hard-on due to its near-perfection. And when detective Gordon said those two words as Batman sped off, it was the "finishing" moment. It defined it. There are a handful of problems, but all the amazing **** that goes on more than compensates for it. It **** tops that **** **** anyone that says that it's overrated. Expand
  83. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    I have never been a fan of the superhero genre, possibly because of the pre-'Batman Begins' drought of good superhero films, only broken by the 'Spiderman' trilogy.
    'Batman Begins' was already a good film, but its sequel burst into the box office to critical and commercial success, and its not hard to see why. It is a superior film in many ways to its predecessor in that it is more
    I have never been a fan of the superhero genre, possibly because of the pre-'Batman Begins' drought of good superhero films, only broken by the 'Spiderman' trilogy.
    'Batman Begins' was already a good film, but its sequel burst into the box office to critical and commercial success, and its not hard to see why. It is a superior film in many ways to its predecessor in that it is more thrilling, clever, suspenseful and action packed than 'Batman Begins'. The strength of this film, not surprisingly, comes from the villain, played by Heath Ledger in his Oscar winning role. Ledger was sinsiter and completely unrestrained as the psychotic 'Joker', and is terrifying, but oh so enjoyable to watch. It is true that he steals the show from Christian Bale as 'Batman' himself, but this really isn't a negative.
    The film has a fantastic script and a wonderful musical score, and many other positives, including an excellent technical production as well. It has restored my faith in the superhero genre, along with the other 2008 hit, 'Iron Man', and is not just a great superhero film, but one of 2008's best films overall.
    Expand
  84. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    this is one of the greatest movies ever made, go see it for heath ledgers performance by itself, or see it because his performance is tied into a drama/tragedy masked by clever action sequences and deep, interesting characters.
  85. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    I can't understand why people don't like this movie, it has got to be one of the best ever films. It's The Godfather of comic book movies. A true triumph. Heath Ledger is the perfect choice for the one and only Joker. If there are any niggles, its got to be Christian Bale's Batman voice, which is too growly.But its the only bad point of this cinematic masterpiece. It shows the hard choicesI can't understand why people don't like this movie, it has got to be one of the best ever films. It's The Godfather of comic book movies. A true triumph. Heath Ledger is the perfect choice for the one and only Joker. If there are any niggles, its got to be Christian Bale's Batman voice, which is too growly.But its the only bad point of this cinematic masterpiece. It shows the hard choices Batman has to make, in order to make Gotham a better place. Cannot wait for Nolan's sequel Expand
  86. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    A masterpiece. A film which defies all expectation from a belittled genre and instead crosses over to become an epic crime drama which bears some similarities with Michael Mann's 'Heat'. The attention naturally went to the late Heath Ledger who delivered a definitive performance as the Joker but the cast as a whole should never be over looked. Christian Bale carries on the character fromA masterpiece. A film which defies all expectation from a belittled genre and instead crosses over to become an epic crime drama which bears some similarities with Michael Mann's 'Heat'. The attention naturally went to the late Heath Ledger who delivered a definitive performance as the Joker but the cast as a whole should never be over looked. Christian Bale carries on the character from Batman Begins and delivers another great performance whilst Aaron Eckhart and Gary Oldman are also superb. The action is top notch as well, the score suits the style. It's hard to criticise the Dark Knight except to say that its dark and intelligence themes doesnt make it the most fun to view. However it is difficult not to be sucked in as the pressure builds and builds thanks to Nolan's storytelling and Ledger's madness. A modern classic. Expand
  87. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This was an excelent movie to watch, but I had to rewatch it multiple times to fully appreciate how fantastic this movie was. The theme of the movie was superb, fully revealing the struggle and battle of order vs chaos and desperation of both law and underworld crime, with one exception, though - the raging unstoppable tornadoe, only known as the Joker. Christopher Nolan did a breathtakingThis was an excelent movie to watch, but I had to rewatch it multiple times to fully appreciate how fantastic this movie was. The theme of the movie was superb, fully revealing the struggle and battle of order vs chaos and desperation of both law and underworld crime, with one exception, though - the raging unstoppable tornadoe, only known as the Joker. Christopher Nolan did a breathtaking job of portraying this absolute distinction of Batman and the Joker. What makes Joker work is not only Heath Ledger or Christopher's realistic approach of this madman, but also small bits and tributes of every Joker before this one (going from Ceaser Romero to Jack Nicholson, also Joker from animation series and from "The Killing Joke") and also a new distinct personality, all together mashed into this psychotic rage. He was a pure agent of chaos, delivering himself at the scene when it's too late to back out for the rest of the performers. Brilliant.
    The white knight of Gotham, Harvey Two-Face Dent was also an amazing addition to the story, demonstrating how easy is to fall from the top of the idealistic law to the depths of destruction, bringing chance as the only option for fair in this cruel world.
    The Dark Knight also delivers an amazing portray of what happens, when the symbol, which should incorruptable, is backed to the corner.
    Overall, this movie in my oppinion one of the best movies ever made and for good reasons. Check it out! 10/10
    Expand
  88. Nov 5, 2010
    7
    Christopher Nolan's revival of Batman has been well done, especially how comic book movies are done. It's better than it used to be and that's a good thing, but when you're dealing with some comic books, sometimes a 2-d image or costume doesn't translate well in to live action. The overall look of Batman's redesign falls into the pleasantly surprised category for me, although I did preferChristopher Nolan's revival of Batman has been well done, especially how comic book movies are done. It's better than it used to be and that's a good thing, but when you're dealing with some comic books, sometimes a 2-d image or costume doesn't translate well in to live action. The overall look of Batman's redesign falls into the pleasantly surprised category for me, although I did prefer the more "flowing cape" look, but that would probably be a mess when they fight. The Dark Knight is a pretty typical action movie, although with a good deal of twists that, depending on how you look at it, are more predicable than others, although there was one or two that caught me for a surprse. To me though, the movie was really about the Joker. Heath Ledger outdid himself there to the point that I don't think I'd want to see anyone else try to do a Joker like he did. He took a pretty standard movie about a deranged psychopath who hunts down criminals to bring them to justice and made it into a more nuanced movie about the motivations of two competing psychopaths (Joker and Batman, and if you think Batman isn't a psycho...whoa boy). The sad thing is that the other actors, and especially Bale (whom I'm a huge fan of since Empire of the Sun and American Psycho) have these characters with very little depth, and her comes Ledger with a well thought out, scarily authentic Joker and he just destroys any reason for me to want to watch any scenes without him. And that was probably my main issue with The Dark Knight, is that the other characters just couldn't keep up, but that doesn't make it a bad movie and your mileage may vary depending on how much you like action. There are some very, very intense moments between him and Batman, and they are excellent to see the two interact. Outside of that I found my attention wandering and I have found little reason to want to watch the movie again, aside from seeing Ledger's Joker one more time. Great for a comic book adaptation of a movie and sadly an amazing final performance for Ledger. Expand
  89. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    Batman Begins is the better Batman movie, but The Dark Knight is the better movie. That's my honest condensed opinion, I own both movies on blu ray and recommend them to just about anyone.
  90. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    I have no problem saying that this is my favorite movie of all time. Heath Ledgers performance as the joker is masterful. I saw this at a midnight showing and i was simply blown away. I saw it in the theater 8 times and have currently lost count. Probably around 20 times by now. The only complaint is that when you get down to the knitty gritty there are a few plot holes but frankly its aI have no problem saying that this is my favorite movie of all time. Heath Ledgers performance as the joker is masterful. I saw this at a midnight showing and i was simply blown away. I saw it in the theater 8 times and have currently lost count. Probably around 20 times by now. The only complaint is that when you get down to the knitty gritty there are a few plot holes but frankly its a comic book movie so i can overlook that very easily. Heath Ledgers performance makes this movie and the supporting cast isnt bad either. Cant wait for 2012 when The third one comes out! Currently title "The Dark Knight" rising. Expand
  91. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    I love Batman. I have for many years. Still have my collections in mint condition. I liked batman begins quite a bit. But this film surpassed all barriers of action/drama and expressionism. Not only a great depicture of a fantastic comic book but a colorful and sincere look at the unbridaled (yet predictable) inner environment of the human mind. The acting was incredible. Bale was stellar.I love Batman. I have for many years. Still have my collections in mint condition. I liked batman begins quite a bit. But this film surpassed all barriers of action/drama and expressionism. Not only a great depicture of a fantastic comic book but a colorful and sincere look at the unbridaled (yet predictable) inner environment of the human mind. The acting was incredible. Bale was stellar. Freeman was outstanding. Heath Ledger took the batman symboled cake though. He made me think he was an actual sociopath, his completely even and scary portrayal revitalized a very old villian. The Direction was very good, with well transitions, and good camera shots, with depressionistic lighting. Good choice for a film like this. Favorite movie of all time, the greatest film i have ever seen. Expand
  92. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    You could call it the best movie of the year i call it the best superhero movie of all time it makes the avengers look like a cheesy cartoon. Instead of going for the explosions and one liners, it hits home and takes its time to carefully craft a masterpiece of emotion and true human spirit. A must see
  93. Feb 12, 2011
    9
    The Dark Knight has been argued about with fans and critics alike if this is the best Batman movie ever or not while I can't answer this it is a fantastic movie, the acting is great, and the story is fantastic, the interpretation of Batman and the Joker are amazing, this movie will have you wanting more, a must see for Batman fans.
  94. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Best superhero movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  95. Jan 20, 2011
    8
    It has been three years after the prequel BATMAN BEGINS (2005). THE DARK KNIGHT is the sixth film that brought Batman into widescreen since Tim Burton BATMAN (1989). The Director is Christopher Nolan who well-known as a unique indie film creator in MEMENTO (2000). The movie received as box office record of all-time, It has been earned more than one billion dollars in worldwide and has beenIt has been three years after the prequel BATMAN BEGINS (2005). THE DARK KNIGHT is the sixth film that brought Batman into widescreen since Tim Burton BATMAN (1989). The Director is Christopher Nolan who well-known as a unique indie film creator in MEMENTO (2000). The movie received as box office record of all-time, It has been earned more than one billion dollars in worldwide and has been broken through TITANIC Record in 1998. The Movie based on Frank Miller version of Batman, which is more mature and close to reality. The Stories and settings adapt well what is on Miller description. Christian Bale Cast as Bruce Wayne, Thiz role seems to be the big leap of his career since his appearance as a kid in Steven Spielberg EMPIRE OF THE SUN (1987). The sequel starred by regular Cast, like: James Cain, Morgan Freeman, and Maggie Gylenhall who substitute Katie Holmes Character on the prequel before. And as villains, Heath Ledger gave his last performance wildly well according to most critics. He even won as best Supporting Actor in Academy Awards. The other villain is Aaron Eckhart as Two-Face. Otherwise, if Joker character want to be appear originally well as its comic, in my opinion the dream cast would be Adrien Brody or Jim Carrey. The Script was nicely arranged by Christopher and Jonathan Nolan. The subplot is dynamic and unpredictable. The Action is on the right track, full of Bat-equipment and vehicle chase showdown. It is good to be watch is simple and explosive in the same time. If we want to be fair, we also must give credit to Tim Burton BATMAN which is already set up impressive tones for other next Batman movies or even other superhero movies later. Burton already succeeded to give a new acceptable point of view for this kind of genre. The tone is dark, mysterious, and full of realism. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
  96. Jan 15, 2011
    9
    Being a huge fan of Christopher Nolan films, "The Dark Knight" has to be his best; even better than his most recent film, "Inception". "The Dark Knight" take Batman to a whole new level; its dark premise and its original screenplay make it a delight to watch and the dialogue is written so well that it should have one or have bin nominated for an Oscar in that category. Everyone gives greatBeing a huge fan of Christopher Nolan films, "The Dark Knight" has to be his best; even better than his most recent film, "Inception". "The Dark Knight" take Batman to a whole new level; its dark premise and its original screenplay make it a delight to watch and the dialogue is written so well that it should have one or have bin nominated for an Oscar in that category. Everyone gives great performances, especially Heath Ledger, and, in my opinion, Michael Caine, who has an answer for everything in this wonderful film, and who is good in pretty much everything. What I truly liked about "The Dark Knight" was that it all fit together so well. Everything worked through smoothly and swiftly, making this a truly entertaining film to watch. Plus, this gives you a story that is actually interesting, for a comic-book movie. Usually, and in past Batman films, it was an average story: Batman and a villian; in the end they square off. This films story is a lot more complex than that. But, I won't spoil anything for you, but I will say, definitley see this movie; great acting, and and great score by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard. 10/10 [PG-13] Expand
  97. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    The Dark Knight, thanks to its great continuation to Batman Begins, an incredible cast, amazing action, an excellent script, great directing, great score, and just the incredible filmmaking, The Dark Knight is not only one of the best comic book movies of all time, it is one of the best movies of all time. Never has a film with this much hype surpass its expectations, definitely go see this one!
  98. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Thia is a great movie and still there is a lot of idiots making coments here and given very low scores. I hate people like this. Shame
  99. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    The Dark Knight is greatest film to date, and possibly, of all time. Christopher Nolan has done it again, and proved that a sequel can top the original in every way. An immersive, yet tragic story will keep viewers on the edge of their seats for whole two and a half hours of the running time. The film is beautifully shot, with scenes captured in the state-of-the-art IMAX cameras.The DarkThe Dark Knight is greatest film to date, and possibly, of all time. Christopher Nolan has done it again, and proved that a sequel can top the original in every way. An immersive, yet tragic story will keep viewers on the edge of their seats for whole two and a half hours of the running time. The film is beautifully shot, with scenes captured in the state-of-the-art IMAX cameras.The Dark Knight is, quite simply, brilliant. Expand
  100. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    simply put, the best Batman film ever made! and beyond that one of the best films ever made! flawless story, chilling acting (Heath) and perfect effects makes TDK one of the best movies i have ever seen.

    a must buy.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    May be the most hopeless, despairing comic-book movie in memory. It creates a world where being a superhero is at best a double-edged sword and no triumph is likely to be anything but short-lived.
  2. Mixing bravura filmmaking with flat clichés in about equal amounts, The Dark Knight is all about dualism. Appropriately, the movie's half-inspired, half-frustrating.
  3. An action blockbuster extravaganza that's sadder than sad and never pretends otherwise.