User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 4075 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KentT.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    It's very difficult to explain how great "The Dark Knight" really is. I'm still in shock right now! "The Dark Knight" is probably the best summer movie so far, and may be the greatest movie this year! Let's talk about the Joker first. We see him right when the movie starts, and even then, I fell in love with the character. The Joker is so maniacal, so cunning, and so bad It's very difficult to explain how great "The Dark Knight" really is. I'm still in shock right now! "The Dark Knight" is probably the best summer movie so far, and may be the greatest movie this year! Let's talk about the Joker first. We see him right when the movie starts, and even then, I fell in love with the character. The Joker is so maniacal, so cunning, and so bad ass that it's hard to not like him. He played the part so well that I almost forgot Heath was the one underneath the character. Heath Ledger obviously took the part seriously, and he gave us a living, breathing Joker. His performance is unforgettable. Early reviews praised Heath, and believed he may win an Oscar. I wanted to see for myself - and I totally agree. I hope he does win because he really deserves it. Throughout the whole movie, we get to see all of the Joker's crimes and schemes. I've got to admit that I was blown away by everything the Joker did. All of his plans were crazy, but at the same time smart, and many of them had twists. His final attempt was probably the best, and also the most psychological. The Joker pretty much made the film into a psychological thriller. You'll be surprised at how cunning the Joker is and also how much he thinks everything through. Even though he's effing crazy, you'll fall in love with the Joker. I was surprised at how funny the movie was. There were a few smart jokes from time to time, but the one that took the cake was, of course, the Joker. All the things he says, all the things he does, deserves a laugh. (I also agree that most of his quotes should be on t-shirts). So, Christian Bale reprises his role as Batman, and he definitely pulled it off again. Bale is great as Batman and Bruce Wayne, and he shows us how human Batman can be. His character is just as important as every other main character. Eckhart is simply wonderful as Harvey Dent, Gotham's "White Knight." Gyllenhaal is also a great replacement for Katie Holmes as Rachel Dawes. I certainly think that Gary Oldman and Morgan Freeman received bigger roles this time than the last, however it kind of felt like Michael Caine got a smaller part. But even though it did feel like that, Michael Caine still made a big impression. You all have probably already heard about the film's second villain, Two-Face. Two-Face is Harvey Dent's (Aaron Eckhart) other persona. He become Two-Face after a tragic accident (I'm not going to reveal the details), and becomes disfigured. Soon after, he goes on a rampage to take out the guilty and corrupt. Two-Face's trademark coin appears in the film, too. He uses this coin to decide the fate of his victims. Heads means the person will live, while the other side (a scratched up face) means the person will die). Two-Face portrays a very important moral that we discover in the film: "You either die a hero, or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain." That quote has a bit of irony in it, since it was also said by Harvey Dent in the film. Harvey Dent's character in this film probably took some inspiration from the graphic novel, "The Killing Joke." In the graphic novel, a character tries to prove that even the most upstanding citizen is capable of going mad after having "one bad day." The action in this film is amazing. The film doesn't just have explosions and violence for no reason. There's always a reason for them. Also, the stunts that were performed in this film was crazy good. In the trailer, there was a part where a truck flipped upside down and then crashed. You'll never guess what caused that to happen. Batman does some crazy tricks with his batpod, which pretty much just wowed and entertained the audience. Now let's compare this film to "Iron Man." Many have said how this film changed superhero films forever, just like how "Iron Man" did. But in my opinion, "Iron Man" never made a big impression to me. It was good, but it wasn't amazing. "Iron Man" just felt like another superhero movie, but "The Dark Knight" felt like an actual "film." So, did "The Dark Knight" live up to all the hype? I'd have to say it was even better than that. The trailers (despite how awesome they were) only showed us a fraction of how good "The Dark Knight" is; the film is so much more. The film has meaning - morals that we can use in life, and believable characters. Even with it's two and a half hour running time, never was the film boring. I had to sit near the front of the theater, and I was still entertained! It was entertaining and full of excitement from beginning to end. However, I kind of have mixed feelings about the ending. I didn't understand the ending at first, but after finding out I realized that it was a meaningful ending, but I don't know if I liked it or not. But still, that shouldn't keep you from seeing a fantastic film like this. Believe me, after you see the movie, you're going to want to see it again right away. Expand
  2. GregM.
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing.
  3. ToddB.
    Jul 20, 2008
    9
    Although long, this movie keeps your interest. Heath Ledger's Joker is the best villain I have seen in a move in the past 3-5 years, at least. From his mannerisms to his dialougue, he was certainly sinister, yet, I couldn't get enough of him in this movie.
  4. MDJ2010
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    A different class of superhero movie!! Doesn't treat the audience like idiots with the normal linear storyline, instead it juxtapositions an array of character factions asking the viewer to use their brains. The film manages to make a better sociopolitical commentary post 911 than movies that have that as their sole intention and uses each character with success in that aim. Action, A different class of superhero movie!! Doesn't treat the audience like idiots with the normal linear storyline, instead it juxtapositions an array of character factions asking the viewer to use their brains. The film manages to make a better sociopolitical commentary post 911 than movies that have that as their sole intention and uses each character with success in that aim. Action, performances, visual beauty, humour, thought - this movie has it all!!! Expand
  5. Gra
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    Excellent summer blockbuster. The joker's destructive madness is the perfect provocation for a Batman who is forced to re-examine his own ethical code. Heath Ledger is brilliant as the joker, and Christian Bale continues to be superb in all his roles. There's a good story, which occasionally borders (even sometimes crosses into) the implausible, but it works extremely well. Of Excellent summer blockbuster. The joker's destructive madness is the perfect provocation for a Batman who is forced to re-examine his own ethical code. Heath Ledger is brilliant as the joker, and Christian Bale continues to be superb in all his roles. There's a good story, which occasionally borders (even sometimes crosses into) the implausible, but it works extremely well. Of course it's going to be over-the-top in places; it's a film about a comic book superhero who dresses up as a bat! As such a film, it is relentlessly spectacular. If I'm honest, I doubt any of the low-raters truly believe that it deserves a 0 or a 1. Expand
  6. jhoroz.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    This movie was incredible. I would have stayed 3 hours in the cinema to watch the entire thing. I'm tired of how people complain the movie is too long, while to me it was the fastest 2 1/2 hours of my life. This movie was much better than bloody iron man, which was just filled with American cheese and a disjointed story. I think iron man is overrated, I think its good but This movie was incredible. I would have stayed 3 hours in the cinema to watch the entire thing. I'm tired of how people complain the movie is too long, while to me it was the fastest 2 1/2 hours of my life. This movie was much better than bloody iron man, which was just filled with American cheese and a disjointed story. I think iron man is overrated, I think its good but doesn't deserve 79 on meta critic. I think batman begins was better than it. Expand
  7. IlkayB.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    It's one of the best films ever made. Outstanding performances, outstanding plot and the flawless traps -almost- of Joker that make us uncomfortable on our seats.. I gave this movie a mega 10.
  8. LeviH.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    When people said Heath Ledger ought to win an Oscar, most of the regular movie-going community passed it off as a rolethat would be, like Jonny Depp's Jack Sparrow, nominated but not awarded. That was before we, the public, were subjected to a crap infested year of cinematic self-flagellation. I would be amazed if the academy could even find another performance worth nominating this When people said Heath Ledger ought to win an Oscar, most of the regular movie-going community passed it off as a rolethat would be, like Jonny Depp's Jack Sparrow, nominated but not awarded. That was before we, the public, were subjected to a crap infested year of cinematic self-flagellation. I would be amazed if the academy could even find another performance worth nominating this year. Hell, even Bale's performance, in comparison to the general talent, could probably beat out most of the crowd... That said, the movie itself was a must see, and it's flaws were compensated by the superb directing and performance of Ledger. Expand
  9. JackB.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    Very slow to start, yet you are rewarded with perhaps one of the most convincing villains in many modern films. The joker is fantastic, and i would recommend this just to see him.
  10. JeanneL.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    This is the best action movie i have ever seen. my jaw was on the floor the entire movie, from the visuals, to the script, to the acting, every component was truly mind blowing.
  11. CristinZ.
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Just saw it last night, amazing film, gritty crime drama....so realistic, Heath was amazing, as was Eckhart, Bale and Oldman. I can't wait to see it again on Friday!
  12. PerryC.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    Hands down, the best superhero movie ever created. The Dark Knight brings to life the real dark and twisted side of the Batman comics. It's about time theres a movie that comes out this dark. Everything in this movie is great; the drama, comedy, suspense, and of course action. Any professional critic who could rate this movie less than at least a 95 has no sense of what a great movie Hands down, the best superhero movie ever created. The Dark Knight brings to life the real dark and twisted side of the Batman comics. It's about time theres a movie that comes out this dark. Everything in this movie is great; the drama, comedy, suspense, and of course action. Any professional critic who could rate this movie less than at least a 95 has no sense of what a great movie is made of, and should all be fired. Expand
  13. DaveA.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    Best movie of the year to date. Possible Best Picture nomination. Heath Ledger is incredible and what you have heard in reviews does not even come close to giving him justice in what he does for the role as the Joker. He makes Jack's Joker look like a bad high school acting job. The movie is very violent and I am surprised it was PG-13. It is action packed from the beginning to end. Best movie of the year to date. Possible Best Picture nomination. Heath Ledger is incredible and what you have heard in reviews does not even come close to giving him justice in what he does for the role as the Joker. He makes Jack's Joker look like a bad high school acting job. The movie is very violent and I am surprised it was PG-13. It is action packed from the beginning to end. I saw it in the IMAX theater and all of the action scenes were done in IMAX. It adds a whole new experience to actually getting out of the house to se this movie. It is one that you don't just go to the movies for you go to see it in IMAX! The entire cast put on a great acting job with a well written script and plot lines. I think it could be the best Super Hero movie of all time is a pretty easy statement to say. The 2.5 hours that the movie plays goes by so fast I wanted to see more but man it wears you out. Go, you will enjoy it. Expand
  14. AaronF.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    It couldn't have been better. That's all there is to it as far as I'm concerned. From the astounding directing to the superb acting, it never misses a beat, and all the while it keeps you guessing. One of the best things about this is even I couldn't guess what would happen next, and I'm good at analyzing things like this. It does everything well and does it It couldn't have been better. That's all there is to it as far as I'm concerned. From the astounding directing to the superb acting, it never misses a beat, and all the while it keeps you guessing. One of the best things about this is even I couldn't guess what would happen next, and I'm good at analyzing things like this. It does everything well and does it without feeling cliche or redone. And Heath may have actually been up to the challenge of topping Nicholson, especially in being so good while staying true to the comic's origins and feel for the Joker. Expand
  15. ChenW.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    Undoubtedly, the best comic book movie and the best superhero movie of all time!
  16. JohnU.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    When The Joker wore the nurse's uniform---holy-smoke.....nearly fell out of my seat!
  17. SamF.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    This movie is a beautiful darkness. It's impossible to say the movie is bad, its brilliant in it's genre. If you don't like it refrain from criticism of the movie, because it will be the darkness of the genre that turns you off. How ever if your open the beautiful darkness then see it. And if you say hate this movie, why so serious?
  18. MichaelL
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Best BATMAN made? Easy YES, the best! However, forget about that this movie has comic behind it. The movie itself has so many deep characters... so well thought it, and action scenes comes across as real. Quite a few twist and turns. The jokers character is VERY hard to come out in a movie. Jack did, had fun. But Heath Ledge WAS the joker, ever ycomic I ever read, their characters all Best BATMAN made? Easy YES, the best! However, forget about that this movie has comic behind it. The movie itself has so many deep characters... so well thought it, and action scenes comes across as real. Quite a few twist and turns. The jokers character is VERY hard to come out in a movie. Jack did, had fun. But Heath Ledge WAS the joker, ever ycomic I ever read, their characters all transformed in Heath. This movie REALLY pays homage to the comics, If you're been reading comics for years, youll know why I mea. Expand
  19. CesarF.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Dark and exciting
  20. LelandK.
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    Christopher Nolan takes a superhero genre and turns into a crime thriller. Ledger's performance combines Alex in A Clockwork Orange with Capt. Jack Sparrow; a semi-comedic joker who thrives on violence. The cast was great and i would like to see the feature again.
  21. MartinB.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    The first Batman movie to make Batman feel real. The joker could be in New York or LA just as easily as in Gotham City. Ledger's performance is fantastic, and goes beyond the villain that fellow Dark Knight actor Gary Oldman portrays in The Professional.
  22. RogerF.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    There is already so much praise for this movie that it kind of seems pointless to add my two-cents. But I loved it so much that I'm going to go ahead and post my first comment and rating ever since I discovered Metacritic several years ago. I don't understand how it got an 82. I would have thought at least a 90 based solely on Heath Ledgers performance as The Joker. See this There is already so much praise for this movie that it kind of seems pointless to add my two-cents. But I loved it so much that I'm going to go ahead and post my first comment and rating ever since I discovered Metacritic several years ago. I don't understand how it got an 82. I would have thought at least a 90 based solely on Heath Ledgers performance as The Joker. See this movie. Don't wait for the DVD. Go right now to the nearest theater and see The Dark Knight. Expand
  23. Timothy
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    The Dark Knight is easily the best superhero/comic adaptation movie ever made in Hollywood history. It offers in depth protrayal of the antihero personage of Batman and nihilistic madness of the Joker (Heath totally owns the role)- perhaps even transcended that of the original comics. The deliberate sparsity of special effects lends a unique realism and grittiness. The only flaw I feel The Dark Knight is easily the best superhero/comic adaptation movie ever made in Hollywood history. It offers in depth protrayal of the antihero personage of Batman and nihilistic madness of the Joker (Heath totally owns the role)- perhaps even transcended that of the original comics. The deliberate sparsity of special effects lends a unique realism and grittiness. The only flaw I feel (minor) is that the role of Rachel Dawes still doesn't fit in very comfortably in the movie but Maggie is still a tremendous improvement over Katie Holmes. An unforgettable classic. Expand
  24. Xiong
    Jul 22, 2008
    9
    Excellent action and effects -- of course -- and then some. The plot actually has something new to say about heroes in general, which is a surprise. The film adds depth to the Batman character without destroying the canonical legend. The final twist takes it right out of the common run of summer blockbusters. The only shortcoming, perhaps unavoidable, is the comic book texture all around. Excellent action and effects -- of course -- and then some. The plot actually has something new to say about heroes in general, which is a surprise. The film adds depth to the Batman character without destroying the canonical legend. The final twist takes it right out of the common run of summer blockbusters. The only shortcoming, perhaps unavoidable, is the comic book texture all around. Ledger deserves all the credit he's gotten, although none of the other major players allows him to steal the whole show. Expand
  25. KimL.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    I was suprized by this Movie! Did not expect it to live upto the hype. It kept my attention the entire time. Ledgers lip licking Joker was creepy, evil, and entertaining. You could easily forget he's not real. The critics that gave this movie low scores should have the Jokers pencil trick performed on them.
  26. GrantW.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Although there were some minor things that annoyed me about the movie (Batman's voice) I found it to be one of the best movie going experiences of my life. Not sense the Departed has a movie been this intense and still held together from beginning to end.
  27. JackWatkins
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Great movie. Excellent performances and action.
  28. EricV.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    This movie was one of the most amazing pictures I've seen all year. It was unparalled in the acting ability portrayed in the film.
  29. TravisJ.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    There isn't anything i could change about this movie. perfect 10.
  30. ErnieD.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    This film lived up to it's hype, it may have been the best comic book movie I'd ever seen, no make that the best movie! Truly stunning effects, and the acting was outstanding. Anybody rating this movie low either has it in for someone involved with it or doesn't know the history of the comic book. A true must see!
  31. MarkMckIernan
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Brilliant, dark, good versus evil. Heath gets the Oscar.
  32. JohnT.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Oh my God, how did Critics give this an 82?? I've finally lost complete respect for them. This movie, was absolutely-amazing. If not for Batman's rumbly voice I would venture far enough to say it's perfect. Keith Ledger absolutely dominates his role as the Joker. The fight scenes where absolutely amazing. There was one plot twist after another. I'm giving this movie a Oh my God, how did Critics give this an 82?? I've finally lost complete respect for them. This movie, was absolutely-amazing. If not for Batman's rumbly voice I would venture far enough to say it's perfect. Keith Ledger absolutely dominates his role as the Joker. The fight scenes where absolutely amazing. There was one plot twist after another. I'm giving this movie a 10 despite the rumbly voice, it was simply far too good and it deserves nothing less. A++, see this movie NOW! Expand
  33. FelipeP.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Heath Ledger stole the movie, best Batman Movie ever.
  34. RashadS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    This is not only the best super hero movie ever, but probably the best movie ever. Yes, right up there with godfather! I will also use this movie to gauge movie critics. Anyone giving this less than a ten will come under severe question from me and I just cant trust there reviews no longer. P.S. Heath lived up to the hype!
  35. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    This is easily the best movie of the year in my opinion and possibly the best movie i have ever seen. Ignore the negative critics, they gave it bad reviews because they saw 100's and said "Oh no this could get better reviews than the Godfather so i better make sure it doesn't". With excuses like its not fun or it's too dark, you can tell they can't back up theirThis is easily the best movie of the year in my opinion and possibly the best movie i have ever seen. Ignore the negative critics, they gave it bad reviews because they saw 100's and said "Oh no this could get better reviews than the Godfather so i better make sure it doesn't". With excuses like its not fun or it's too dark, you can tell they can't back up their evidence. Is the movie dark? sure but give me a break its a comic book based on a man who had his parents killed and is out for revenge in a way. It's not as dark as people may believe, it's got a lot of humor thanks to the finest performance i have ever seen. You can take all the hype and all you heard about Heath Ledger and how good he did but when you walk out you will still be in aw and it will still impress you. From the way he walks to the way he twitches, it is a beautiful sight even if it's not supposed to be. He is so good that you may actually find yourself rooting for him, but luckily Christian Bale is no slouch and like always he performes brilliantly. These two actors single handedely made the movie from a great category to a classic category. The only flaw which isn't too bad is the length but the more the better. Also, there are so many probems that come up in the movie and so many storylines that like some critics said it is hard to obtain all of it in one viewing. Like a great music CD, it's a movie that you could watch 10 times and on the 10th time say "Oh wow i never noticed that before". This movie is an instant classic in my opinion and not to upset anyone but i find this much more entertaining than the Godfather movies. Maybe its just me but i would rather watch this 5 times instead of watch the Godfather, even if the Godfather is a good movie. Expand
  36. Edwin
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    Watched it twice..can't get enough of it...the best movie so far that I've watched this year...and in fact its a superhero movie makes it even better!
  37. SarahB.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! Best movie I've seen in a long time!
  38. DanielR.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    My new favorite movie. This movie was it. All of the actors were glossed over because of Heath Ledger's amazing turn as the best freakin villain ever (in my humble opinion). He brought a kind of anti-star power: stripped of his face, he's freer than he has ever been before to savor each moment onscreen as a character with a lust for life, death, and most of all, chaos. This film My new favorite movie. This movie was it. All of the actors were glossed over because of Heath Ledger's amazing turn as the best freakin villain ever (in my humble opinion). He brought a kind of anti-star power: stripped of his face, he's freer than he has ever been before to savor each moment onscreen as a character with a lust for life, death, and most of all, chaos. This film has been called a crime epic, and it is, but it is something much more; like No Country for Old Men, it is a philosophical struggle to find morality in this crazy world. Christopher Nolan makes the ballsiest film of the summer; one that's not afraid to be long, not afraid to be smart, not afraid to be deep. Also, they flipped over an 18-wheeler in the middle of Chicago. Ballsy. And it's gonna pay off. Hell, it already did. Expand
  39. DaliaN.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing movie ... simple the best batman movie EVER ... Heath Ledger was PHENOMENAL. there has to be an honorary oscar or something for him
  40. johnw
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Far and away the best film based on a comic book ever made.
  41. poansapop
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Amazing! deserves a 10 on heath ledgers performance alone!... add that to the awesome story,depth and just brilliance and you have the best film of all time.
  42. C.K.
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing.
  43. KyleF.
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    It was great! Heath Ledger stole the show!
  44. jw
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    If any one thing is creepiest about Ledger's Joker, it might be that he actually seems to get more comfortable as the movies wears on. To the point that when finally hung upside-down from a skyscraper by Batman, he seems almost at peace. Here is someone who can't take off his mask; someone whose success ensures that Bruce Wayne can't take his off, either - even when he most If any one thing is creepiest about Ledger's Joker, it might be that he actually seems to get more comfortable as the movies wears on. To the point that when finally hung upside-down from a skyscraper by Batman, he seems almost at peace. Here is someone who can't take off his mask; someone whose success ensures that Bruce Wayne can't take his off, either - even when he most wants to. But despite himself the Joker is a "planner," and in fact a very good one. It isn't chaos that he craves so much as momentum. The comedy of his nurse routine (where Ledger really scores points) comes from his frustration at the slightest hitch in what is otherwise going completely his way. Meanwhile Bruce finds himself increasingly reverting to terrorist tactics to stop the madness. Each is more like the other than they want to be. It's why the Joker is the most dangerous of supervillans. He debunks the very genre that created him. His threat is to the IDEA of a Batman. That the madman comes so very close to being proven right is why this movie is serious business. And Heath Ledger's performance is why it deserves a 10. Expand
  45. EnriqueP.
    Aug 2, 2008
    9
    I already saw it twice and I can say that it is the best movie of the year so far. Heath ledger gives an excellent performance combining different emotions and making the audience feel in varied ways. The batman was really what I hated about the film. Each time I herad that voice I wanted to go out from the cinema! It was terrible.......The special effects are awsome as well as the I already saw it twice and I can say that it is the best movie of the year so far. Heath ledger gives an excellent performance combining different emotions and making the audience feel in varied ways. The batman was really what I hated about the film. Each time I herad that voice I wanted to go out from the cinema! It was terrible.......The special effects are awsome as well as the general production. Costumes visual effects and makeup. It was a very good film and I don't understand how people can give this movie a 1! c'mon be ralistic, if you gave this movie a 1 you should give hancook a -2?? Expand
  46. RyanM.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    Love it. Never bored, couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next. Makes me really regret what happened to Heath as he clearly had some amazing roles in store for him. I never go to the movies, but man am I glad we forked over the $20 for us to go. Worth every cent.
  47. ScottE.
    Aug 3, 2008
    9
    Great movie from start to finish. When I thought it was over, there was still an hour left.
  48. KTB
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    The film on it's own was good, but Ledgers Joker made it amazing. The best film of 2008!
  49. Jamie
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    If I could give it an 11 out of 10 i would, just seen it 2nd time now there's so much to it and yet its generally very easy to keep up with, they couldn't have made a more perfect Batman film. Surpasses films like Spiderman by miles. In my top 5 films of all time.
  50. MikeL
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    It is definitely the most faithful batman movie yet, and without a doubt my favorite superhero movie. I've seen it 3 times, once in Imax, and I liked it better each time I saw it.
  51. Rossb.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    Epic - this may not be what some expect from a 'comic book superhero movie', but it's the best movie I've seen for a long time. This is an ensemble piece, where the joker may outshine the rest with his mesmeric craziness, but not by much - there's fantastic performances everywhere, from bale, caine, and particularly eckhart and oldman. It's a crime thriller Epic - this may not be what some expect from a 'comic book superhero movie', but it's the best movie I've seen for a long time. This is an ensemble piece, where the joker may outshine the rest with his mesmeric craziness, but not by much - there's fantastic performances everywhere, from bale, caine, and particularly eckhart and oldman. It's a crime thriller following 3 men's attempts to save gotham city, beautifully shot, fantastic score by zimmer, and any flaws it has are so minor compared to what Nolan has achieved here, that it has to have 10 out of 10. Expand
  52. KarenD.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    This movie seriously rocked hard core and I believe that the Joker is an AMAZING character!!
  53. DarkK.
    Jan 26, 2009
    9
    One of the best movies of the year. The Academy don't know nothing.
  54. JamesC.
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    This is a brillant movie, packed with twists and turns, darken elements and much more. It certainly lives up to its hype and includes political, economical, and foreign affairs. The actors were brilliant. Christian Bale is brillant, in fact the best Batman ever.
  55. Phillllippp
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    anyone who DIDN'T like this movie is a complete idiot!!! a fantastic work of pure genius, except i didn't like the batman part (cos i hate that superhero rubbish), it was the joker that was worth watching it for. when i found out about Heith Ledger's death i wasn't as shocked as i should have been (and i'm from australia, where it was all over the news), but after anyone who DIDN'T like this movie is a complete idiot!!! a fantastic work of pure genius, except i didn't like the batman part (cos i hate that superhero rubbish), it was the joker that was worth watching it for. when i found out about Heith Ledger's death i wasn't as shocked as i should have been (and i'm from australia, where it was all over the news), but after watching this movie i finally realise how much skill he had as an actor, and i now feel sadness that i should have felt before that he is no longer here. you know that you're supposed to hate him in this movie and that he's the bad guy who's killing everyone, but he's so... cool... They cover his face with paint to make him look ugly, and they give him a character that you're eant to dislike, and you still like him. A fine way to go Heith, a fine way to go. Expand
  56. KE.
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    Ledger's Joker act was truly the finest acting i've seen in a while. The action scenes were really great, and everything else was just 'wow'.
  57. EdwardF.
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    Excellent movie. Never saw a superhero movie like this one. Mind blowing performance by Heath Ledger.
  58. RichardV.
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    I think Nolan is bigger than this movie.this is a masterpiece no dobut,but I'v been waiting for this movie for a year and I expect from it even more than this.Anyway this is extraordinary film if you don't emphasis some of it's faults.The cast is brilliant(except Maggie Gyllenhaal) Nolan is almost on top and the plot is very fresh but Johnatan Nolan has written scenarioes I think Nolan is bigger than this movie.this is a masterpiece no dobut,but I'v been waiting for this movie for a year and I expect from it even more than this.Anyway this is extraordinary film if you don't emphasis some of it's faults.The cast is brilliant(except Maggie Gyllenhaal) Nolan is almost on top and the plot is very fresh but Johnatan Nolan has written scenarioes even better before.I've never been one of Heath Ledger's fans and also I'm not now.but I won't forget his performance in this movie ever.Maybe you don't like the film but it is impossible that you could deny the Joker of Ledger is one of the best performances that anyone has done yet.This is not like a Nolan film.there is no flashback and playing with time we often expect to see in a film directed by him.Nolan usualy use some short scenes from the past when characters remember their memories but there isn't any of these short scenes in this film too.Either you like it or not you should accept it is the most different blackbuster ever made. Expand
  59. RobertT.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I saw "The Dark Knight" in the theatres-21 times. I tell you there has not been a solid super-hero movie that I have not liked and"The Dark Knight" is no exemption, especially with Christian Bale as Batman. He is absolutely my favorite actor in this one and I for one hope he comes back to complete the trilogy. A friend of mine is getting me this movie as a christmas gift and I am looking I saw "The Dark Knight" in the theatres-21 times. I tell you there has not been a solid super-hero movie that I have not liked and"The Dark Knight" is no exemption, especially with Christian Bale as Batman. He is absolutely my favorite actor in this one and I for one hope he comes back to complete the trilogy. A friend of mine is getting me this movie as a christmas gift and I am looking forward to that. My dream is to someday have my own television station airing these kinds of movies and I will be excited about the up and coming "Batman3". Expand
  60. GusM.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best cast with an amazin cast and the best supporting actor role or best role ever done by someone. The joker was amazin.
  61. JackS.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This movie was one of the most intense movie ever! The Joker plays one of the best bad guys ever in Batman! Stanly K. doesn't have any idea, boring film? It kept you intrested all the time! I gave it a 9 because you do sort of get tired of all the violence and action. But, that was pretty cool too.
  62. KaylaG.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    For the tragic death of Heath Ledgar what an amazing performance to end his career. I was never interested in the hole Batman movies. Then I saw "The Dark Knight" and it is now one of my favorite movies. Christopher Nolan what an amazing job. You found the right characters to play in the movie and boy did they do an amazing job. By far a 10 in my eyes.
  63. ChristianS.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    This is the best movie ever made. It has everything you want in a movie. Excellent sequalt to Batman Begins. If possible i would give it 1000000000 out of ten.
  64. ErlantzJ.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    Incredibly well done movie, with great action, better casting and good plot. I love this movie, dark like the real batman, gray like the real life. I can't stop thinking in Joker's character. It's a pitty we won't see him again.
  65. SamM
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    "The Dark Knight" is the best movie i've seen this year. It makes other batman movies seem like they were were written by three year olds. If you haven't seen this your are missing out.
  66. BradC.
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    There are times when you know your going to see a good movie and then there are times you come out seeing a movies that was better than the hype and thats as rare as the Knicks making it to the playoffs but thats exactly what happened with The Dark Knight.From start to finish my seat had no more edge to seat on,Everyone and i mean everyone played there charactor to the bone and bought There are times when you know your going to see a good movie and then there are times you come out seeing a movies that was better than the hype and thats as rare as the Knicks making it to the playoffs but thats exactly what happened with The Dark Knight.From start to finish my seat had no more edge to seat on,Everyone and i mean everyone played there charactor to the bone and bought them to live but the real scene stealler is of course The Late Heath Ledger this was a role that any ordinary actor could play but 1 in a generation could live and not know they were acting and thats how brillent and am memorising heaths Psychopathic clown really is and the most Supporting Actor Oscor worthy performance ive ever seen. RIP HEATH. Expand
  67. ManlyHunter
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    When The Dark Knight trailer was first released it seemed that every American paused to watch it. I never saw the trailer, but instead I stood in line with loads of people dressed in crazy costumes to watch the movie at the imax version of the film. I do have to say that is was worth it. It was action packed and had a good plot, much better than its previous tale (I didn
  68. AliR.
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    Finest of Heath Ledger, best Super Hero movie of 2008. Acting, story, script & settings , all awesome. Must watch Action.
  69. dfgdfsdfgd
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    Best comic book movie ever made. Even saying that though is an understatement. The fact that it's a comic book movie is incidental. This is an epic drama. Similar to Heat in many ways. The visual style, the writing, acting, direction are all at such a high level. Heath Ledger will be missed even moreso after this film when you realize he was only 28 when doing this role.
  70. TR
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Very Detailed and tons of everything you need in a movie. Definitely the highest of the summer, yet alone the year and maybe even the century!
  71. LeroyR.
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    This is the essence of the comics captured with film its simply spectacular I wonder how many times I will see this movie.
  72. GabeM.
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    This movie is awesome! The Joker is absolutely insane.
  73. JenL
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Flawless. Absolutely riveting. Nolan goes back to the intensity first seen in Memento. One of the best performances by H. Ledger. In awe of his performance.
  74. tooface
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic movie, Heath deserves an oscar for his gritty portrayal of the Dark Knights arch enemy.
  75. darknightfan
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    One of the most brilliant movies I have seen in my life!!!!!!! The action keeps your hurt pumping like hell... keep it up Nolan!!!
  76. RemusM.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    This movie makes all the other superhero movies look like Bio-dome. A true epic from start to finish.
  77. BenW.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Such a brilliant movie, heath ledgers playing as the joker is amazing as well as Christian bale playing batman. would have to say the best movie of 2008 that i have seen so far, heath deserves an Oscar for his role.
  78. Kaj
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    A superb movie brimming with darkness and intense. The insanity that Hedge Ledger brings to the Joker is so convincing, that you will never view a super hero movie as unrealistic ever again.
  79. AnnieM.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    What a roller-coaster ride! Great editing, cinematography, and screenplay. I've seen it twice on IMAX (the best way to view it, if you've got it available). The first time left me dazed and exhausted. The second left me exhilarated. I'm not a comic book hero fan, but I loved Batman Begins, and The Dark Knight trumps it. Brilliant. Be careful, though...it's not for kids.
  80. KennyP.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    This is easily the best super hero movie I have ever seen. Heath Ledger played the joker perfectly. The fact that the movie didn't rely on special effects and CG to make it "good" is honorable. It really is difficult to explain exactly how good this movie was with words.
  81. TylerG.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    This movie will not only be remembered as the final display of Ledger's unparalleled ability to make his character truly jump out of the screen and into your soul, but it will be remembered as the defining moment for the superhero genre. Christopher Nolan has actually created a film that redefines the genre, that's something not a lot of people can say. Watching this film is an This movie will not only be remembered as the final display of Ledger's unparalleled ability to make his character truly jump out of the screen and into your soul, but it will be remembered as the defining moment for the superhero genre. Christopher Nolan has actually created a film that redefines the genre, that's something not a lot of people can say. Watching this film is an experience that is undefinable. This film is certainly at a constant climax and that is no hyperbole. Anything can happen in Gotham, and this movie portrays that with an all around perfect sculpture on which to build upon. No one thought a Batman movie could be ranked with some of the best crime dramas in the last decade, but I'm here to tell you that The Dark Knight is not only one of the best, it just might be the best. Expand
  82. JonathanB.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    Every seat was filled in our theater... and pure silence throughout -I've never seen anything quite like it.
  83. SethP.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    Chris Nolan takes the story to a whole new level. Heath Ledger does more than you can imagine with the Joker and steals the show. It is sad that he is no longer with us, but his last full performance will always be with us.
  84. JohnR.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    Oh, now I remember why I never used to listen to critics. It must really enrage some of them that the most engaging and thought-provoking piece of fiction to grace a movie screen in years has turned out to be a summer popcorn super hero movie that people can actually get behind and enjoy to the fullest. This is a morality play that would have made Shakespeare proud, and unlike "No Oh, now I remember why I never used to listen to critics. It must really enrage some of them that the most engaging and thought-provoking piece of fiction to grace a movie screen in years has turned out to be a summer popcorn super hero movie that people can actually get behind and enjoy to the fullest. This is a morality play that would have made Shakespeare proud, and unlike "No Country," or the other Oscar-aspiring movies out there, this one does it with the style, flash, and heart that make people want to go to the movies in the first place. Expand
  85. BabyJ.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    An outstanding achievement from director Nolan; Batman Begins was a great piece of work, but 'The Dark Night' easily surpasses it in every aspect. Christian Bale once again rises to the occasion and delivers a performance that is far superior to any of the previous actors that have donned the Bat Suit, and cements his reputation as one of the finest actors of the past decade. An outstanding achievement from director Nolan; Batman Begins was a great piece of work, but 'The Dark Night' easily surpasses it in every aspect. Christian Bale once again rises to the occasion and delivers a performance that is far superior to any of the previous actors that have donned the Bat Suit, and cements his reputation as one of the finest actors of the past decade. Heath Ledger is terrifying as the Joker, in a performance, that i think, warrants an academy award nomination. In my opinion, the best film of 2008. Expand
  86. PaulK.
    Jul 18, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. The one to beat for 2008. Believe the hype.
  87. WhySoSerious?
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    This is a crime/drama thriller that just happens to have eccentric characters. Thus, it will reach a far wider audience than the normal comic book movie ever would. Heath Ledger as the Joker is one of the best on screen performances in recent memory.
  88. MikeIll
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Spectacular. I walked in the theater expecting one of the best films ever, and I did not leave with one iota of disappointment. Easily the best film this year and probably the best film I've seen in years. Ledger, dead or alive, is a shoo-in for an Oscar. Anyone who thinks otherwise doesn't have a valid cinematic opinion in my book. Not once during his brilliant portrayal did I Spectacular. I walked in the theater expecting one of the best films ever, and I did not leave with one iota of disappointment. Easily the best film this year and probably the best film I've seen in years. Ledger, dead or alive, is a shoo-in for an Oscar. Anyone who thinks otherwise doesn't have a valid cinematic opinion in my book. Not once during his brilliant portrayal did I think about the magazines, tabloids, or the fact that he was dead. I was simply in awe of a phenomenal performance. Sorry, Jack Nicholson, but this is why they didn't consult you. This Joker isn't a wanna-be stand-up comedian. Hes a sociopathic anarchist who rings truer than any comic book villain ever captured on film. The movie probably isn't artsy enough to get a Best Picture nod, but it's guaranteed to get the Visual Effects and Cinematography Oscars. The comparisons to Heat are accurate. There are images from this film that will stick with me for the rest of my life. Don't even put this in the category of "Superhero Films" unless you mention Batman Begins. No way is any Spider-Man or Iron Man film even close to the realm of where this franchise is at right now. If you don't like comic book or action movies, you're not likely to enjoy this film. If you liked, even loved Batman Begins, then I find it extremely hard to imagine that you will leave the theater feeling dissatisfied. Expand
  89. KyleK.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    A complete masterpiece that never crawls and never speeds by. The danger seems real and the Joker is one sociopath that actually is frightening.
  90. JonathanS.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Words fail to describe this. My only distraction was the mild attempts at blockbuster-sylized humor every now and then, and teh fact that everyone made it out to sound dark and sadistic, when it was just psychological, not dark (as in my opinion.)
  91. BrianL.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    Flawed at moments but enough mind blowing action and amazing acting writing production design, cinematography, and directing to wash it out. A great movie.
  92. AndrewT.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Great movie had everything from action and phenomenal acting on parts of Ledger Bale and Eckhart.another great direction from Nolan overall great and ledger hands down beats Nicholson's Joker. Highly recommend!!!!!
  93. EhabA.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best movie not only for the summer but of all time,the story,characters,even actors are the best.
  94. AnalogMan
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    I say the movie is brilliant (as a comic book maniac and as a movie lover).
  95. NeilK
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    As close to a "10" that I would give any picture that is not flawless. It's hard to search my mind and think of a more captivating screen villain in performance or execution. This film has moments that will stay with me for a LOT longer than moments from any other comic book based film. I kept my expectations under wraps as I did not want to buy into over inflated hype. Well, the As close to a "10" that I would give any picture that is not flawless. It's hard to search my mind and think of a more captivating screen villain in performance or execution. This film has moments that will stay with me for a LOT longer than moments from any other comic book based film. I kept my expectations under wraps as I did not want to buy into over inflated hype. Well, the hype was NOT over inflated. An exhausting cinematic experience, but well worth the effort! Expand
  96. HajhirM.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    This movie was a masterpiece in it's own right. The atmosphere portrayed by Nolan and the cast created a world that not only was believable, but possible. From Bruce Wayne's psychological struggle with Batman to the world of Gotham that seems on the verge utter chaos. The cast really showed what acting is all about in this movie, the undeniable presence of the Joker brought a This movie was a masterpiece in it's own right. The atmosphere portrayed by Nolan and the cast created a world that not only was believable, but possible. From Bruce Wayne's psychological struggle with Batman to the world of Gotham that seems on the verge utter chaos. The cast really showed what acting is all about in this movie, the undeniable presence of the Joker brought a sense of instilled fear that will go down in movie history. The performance created by the Heath was so impressive that I never once thought there was an actor behind the makeup. I found no flaw or nuance in any of the actors at any point in the movie, I literally felt as though I was watching a "comic-book" tale come to life. The Joker is not a terrorist or a psychopathic killer, he is the complete and utter opposite of everything good in a human being. There is no villain or evil worse than a being that is the full embodiment of pure chaos and anarchy. Expand
  97. AnonymousMC
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    I saw this yesterday around 3:30, and my theaters in Westminster turned into the Bat Cave. They took the old posters from last year and graffiti-ed all of them to promote the Dark Knight, which was brilliant and a great reception. Never have I seen something like that happen since Lord of the Rings. And the film made it all better. It's not every summer you get a superhero movie thatI saw this yesterday around 3:30, and my theaters in Westminster turned into the Bat Cave. They took the old posters from last year and graffiti-ed all of them to promote the Dark Knight, which was brilliant and a great reception. Never have I seen something like that happen since Lord of the Rings. And the film made it all better. It's not every summer you get a superhero movie that is a masterpiece. This was proven last year with, you guessed it, Spider-Man 3. I was hoping that this would be not be another one of those types of movies. And thankfully, it wasn't. Heath Ledger, my God, you can't imagine. He does a great job in probably the best preformance from an actor, not just in a superhero film, but any film, EVER. If he doesn't get nominated for Best Actor at the Oscars this year (despite the fact he's dead), I will throw the biggest ballbaby fit I ever had and I will be swearing more than usual. This film is totally dark, and it's not like Fantastic Four or Spider-Man, it's crazy. There are some very gruesome images in this movie even for a PG-13 rating. Which means do not take little kids to see this film. The film is far more superior than Batman Begins. It has great action and far better acting than Batman Begins, especially for the character of Rachel Dawes. Maggie Gyllenhaal is a much better Rachel Dawes than what Katie Holmes was. And it was like they took all the flaws of the first and got rid of it. And it ends well. I say see it, or you are missing out. I give this a perfect 10/10. Expand
  98. RahulD.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    This movie was phenomenal. Heath Ledger's Joker was genuinely scary. This movie had a dark and scary aspect, but a hidden bright side.
  99. CooperH.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Astounding and powerful - Ledger is unstoppable.
  100. GeorgeH.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Spellbinding performance by Ledger - Heath outshines Nicholson's Joker by truly becoming the villain, not just playing him.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    May be the most hopeless, despairing comic-book movie in memory. It creates a world where being a superhero is at best a double-edged sword and no triumph is likely to be anything but short-lived.
  2. Mixing bravura filmmaking with flat clich├ęs in about equal amounts, The Dark Knight is all about dualism. Appropriately, the movie's half-inspired, half-frustrating.
  3. An action blockbuster extravaganza that's sadder than sad and never pretends otherwise.