Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 5127 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,656
Mixed:
189
Negative:
282
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ArianaK.Jul 29, 2008
The best movie ever. Heath Ledger was a great choice for joker and was really funny. I would see it 100 more times with out being bored it was very unpredictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaktiS.Jul 31, 2008
This is the best superhero movie I have ever watched. Ledger was stunning and scary as the Joker and Bale has to be one of the better Bat-men that I've come across. Overall the film had an epic feeling to it. The greatness of Batman This is the best superhero movie I have ever watched. Ledger was stunning and scary as the Joker and Bale has to be one of the better Bat-men that I've come across. Overall the film had an epic feeling to it. The greatness of Batman stems from the fact that he is ready to sacrifice his image and be seen as the villain just to protect his city. As for the people who think that its too dark and depressing, that's the way Batman is supposed to be. That's why its called The 'Dark' Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MojoP.Jul 30, 2008
Dark, brilliantly acted and extremely entertaining. There really is little more you could ask from a movie of this calibre. It may not be intensely realistic, but it's as close as it gets for a comic book flick. The dramatics are well Dark, brilliantly acted and extremely entertaining. There really is little more you could ask from a movie of this calibre. It may not be intensely realistic, but it's as close as it gets for a comic book flick. The dramatics are well timed and the film noir overlay sets the perfect mood to truly allow viewers to become immersed. A masterpiece, and that's no joke. Long live Ledger. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelK.Jul 30, 2008
Phenomenal. A bit long at 2 and a half hours, but utterly entertaining and chilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CSJul 30, 2008
I laugh at Billy C inferring that Two Face copies Anton Chigurrh. But since that comment was definitely made just piss someone off, I'll ignore it. great movie, great acting/directing. Deserves Oscar nominations. Tons of em.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LogicalTwistJul 30, 2008
This is the best superhero movie EVER. No doubt. And there isn't a single person who saw it and didn't love Ledger as the Joker- the best villain ever to appear in a movie. Too bad that he won't be able to hold his prize(s) in This is the best superhero movie EVER. No doubt. And there isn't a single person who saw it and didn't love Ledger as the Joker- the best villain ever to appear in a movie. Too bad that he won't be able to hold his prize(s) in his own hands. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertM.Jul 4, 2008
Why are people posting these fake reviews when it hasn't been released and we know for SURE that none of them actually saw it. I'm giving it a 10 with the confidence that when I do see it, it will match the high expectations Why are people posting these fake reviews when it hasn't been released and we know for SURE that none of them actually saw it. I'm giving it a 10 with the confidence that when I do see it, it will match the high expectations I've read from ACTUAL MOVIE CRITICS who previewed the movie at the time of this review. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdJ.Jul 7, 2008
Best superhero movie made, period! Heath ledgers performance does not only deserve an Oscar nomination but a winner in my book, 10 times better than Nicholson, and Aaron Eckart is superb, plus Christian Bale may be the best batman ever! Add Best superhero movie made, period! Heath ledgers performance does not only deserve an Oscar nomination but a winner in my book, 10 times better than Nicholson, and Aaron Eckart is superb, plus Christian Bale may be the best batman ever! Add that together and its the best summer movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliaCAug 1, 2008
Definitely freakin amazing i wanted to see it way before heath ledger died it was way better than i expected and he was WAY better than jack he deserved an Oscar it was great!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesperB.Aug 11, 2008
Action movies this good are very few and far between. The best movie released since the Gladiator.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewC.Aug 1, 2008
Christopher Nolan put together a wonderful piece of magical works in which my eyes stood upon. He made up the Joker to be as good as the Joker should be with great lines and putting the best actor in the suit. The movie kept me in and off my Christopher Nolan put together a wonderful piece of magical works in which my eyes stood upon. He made up the Joker to be as good as the Joker should be with great lines and putting the best actor in the suit. The movie kept me in and off my seat at all most every moment, every part seemed to flow perfectly and it seemed flawless with few mistakes to notice and kept me personally guessing. I rate it a perfect 10 and one of the greatest movies this world will ever see!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarrisK.Aug 1, 2008
This movie is the amazing. It may be long, but it was so worth it. This movie gives a more darker and realistic twist to the superhero genre. This is a movie in which the good guy doesn't win.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RienyeNAug 1, 2008
This movie is awesome! I've always thought Ledger is always overact but he pulled off a beautiful performance. He is everything the joker is meant to be be. Bale still did a good job although Gyllenhaal was a let down. For those who This movie is awesome! I've always thought Ledger is always overact but he pulled off a beautiful performance. He is everything the joker is meant to be be. Bale still did a good job although Gyllenhaal was a let down. For those who claim that the movie is depressing then they just didn't get it. Batman isn't about being a hero who saves the day and the whole ciity is thankful. He's both loved and hated. Kudos to Nolan for as showing us the real dark knight. This movie makes it so much easier to forget those dreadful days of Batman & Robin and Mr Freeze!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DPKAug 14, 2008
Arguably one of the best movies ever.any one rating it below did not pay attention to dialogues or the characterisation and the ending questionable? surely you r joking mr rob t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrahamYAug 14, 2008
Best super hero film ever. Grounded in real life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshAug 14, 2008
Heath Ledger's acting performance is one of the best all time acting performances. Ever. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattLAug 15, 2008
Over all it was a fairly good movie, Great performace by Heath Ledger but it fealt like I was sitting though Lord of the Rings 3 again. Interesting story line but let you down in some spots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanM.Aug 18, 2008
Absolutely one of the greatest films ive ever seen. A roller coaster of emotion and action. Practically pulls you out of your seat and into this dark world where the conflict between Batman and Joker is a reality!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenD.Aug 20, 2008
I love it, Heath Ledger was an outstanding Joker, the best I have ever seen, the film was well thought out, and the character who played 2 face was just amazing as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlecB.Aug 2, 2008
Ok, obviously whoever rated this film a 0 - 5 is a faggot and can go back to watching movies like 10,000 B.C. and Jumper which they would probably find interesting and both are probably the worst movies ive ever seen. The Dark Knight is the Ok, obviously whoever rated this film a 0 - 5 is a faggot and can go back to watching movies like 10,000 B.C. and Jumper which they would probably find interesting and both are probably the worst movies ive ever seen. The Dark Knight is the best film of 2008 by far. Is it perfect? No like many other great movies sure it has some flaws to it. Bale's voice as Batman always had annoyed me but he still did a great job other than that little thing. Health Ledger dominated the film.Ledgers performance as the joker finally made me see what a real villian is. How evil a person can be. The movie is a little bit too long but its all worth it at the end. For the people who havent seen The Dark Knight yet ignore all these losers and their review because they dont know sh*t. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisVAug 2, 2008
Well, the movie, was to damn long, but i think it was great, the story line, man!!! the joker is the greatest villain of all superhero movies, this guy really nade this long movie not booring, i was alwasy waiting for the joker to appear, he Well, the movie, was to damn long, but i think it was great, the story line, man!!! the joker is the greatest villain of all superhero movies, this guy really nade this long movie not booring, i was alwasy waiting for the joker to appear, he was hillarious and scary at the same time, great acting, even tough, batman, man!! christian bale has been the worst batman ever i think,.. hes voice is freakin stressing.. kill the batman !!! jajaja.. man i really wanted to joind the joker to kill the batman!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JacobF.Aug 29, 2008
I thought this is a refreshing burst for superhero films. Yes it mite have gone on for a bit, and yes nolan mite chop scenes a bit. But, the acting by Ledger was absolutely stunning, making this film sinister and dark without him playing I thought this is a refreshing burst for superhero films. Yes it mite have gone on for a bit, and yes nolan mite chop scenes a bit. But, the acting by Ledger was absolutely stunning, making this film sinister and dark without him playing that role the film would have the edge that it does have. Bale for me has secured the role of batman for a long time, giving wales yet another thing to be proud of! and SIR michael caine and morgan freeman give a performance which we know EXPECT from the two of them. Nolans directing was refreshing for a superhero film and one of the best i have seen for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeK.Aug 2, 2008
"This movie is no fun. It satisfies the fanboys' desire to have their comic book heroes taken seriously. That's where I think all this fan adulation is coming from. But that totally misses the point. Where's the fun? Where is "This movie is no fun. It satisfies the fanboys' desire to have their comic book heroes taken seriously. That's where I think all this fan adulation is coming from. But that totally misses the point. Where's the fun? Where is the superheroic fantasy adventure? The self-referential coyness? This Batman is scary and repulsive. The little boy in me doesn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
devesvarAug 31, 2008
A lot of fun, love the cast, not as good as Batman Begins, but a good ride. Heath rules -we miss you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonalK.Aug 3, 2008
A gloriously sadistic cinematic masterpiece. It's dark and twisting, though a bit overlong. the shots give a dark view on Gotham City. Two-Faces costume is lacklustre and the CGI additions to the character where pretty poor. Miles ahead A gloriously sadistic cinematic masterpiece. It's dark and twisting, though a bit overlong. the shots give a dark view on Gotham City. Two-Faces costume is lacklustre and the CGI additions to the character where pretty poor. Miles ahead of the pack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CharlesH.Aug 3, 2008
This movie was not as well polished as the first. batmans preformance was over shadowed by many supporting actors. Also the choice of spanish street fighting as batmans princible martial art made him look skilless. The fact that many iconic This movie was not as well polished as the first. batmans preformance was over shadowed by many supporting actors. Also the choice of spanish street fighting as batmans princible martial art made him look skilless. The fact that many iconic batman fighting moves wern't used made me feel like this wasn't a batman movie. batmans martial arts skill take a distant back seat to technology. Supporting villians also feel like they where weakly thought out, ready to take a pathetic john wayne punch. Even though both the joker and two face where well portrayed accurately. This movie felt like truly sad attempt at capturing the dark night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinAug 4, 2008
first time i went to the movies and felt i should have been charged more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonS.Aug 4, 2008
It would have been a ten but it went on too long. There was a clear ending to the movie and then it went on and on as if there was some political message that they wanted to push on the viewers which felt tacked on at the end. It was It would have been a ten but it went on too long. There was a clear ending to the movie and then it went on and on as if there was some political message that they wanted to push on the viewers which felt tacked on at the end. It was incredible on a IMAX screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClayD.Aug 4, 2008
Ball-busting, mind-blowing; a force that demonstrates the power of good cinematic entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DiogoP.Aug 4, 2008
I was very disappointed! All the fuzz around the movie but nothing new came to happen. It was entertaining, yes it was, but the story was very predictable, and so were the joker stunts. The movie was well acted, especially in my opinion by I was very disappointed! All the fuzz around the movie but nothing new came to happen. It was entertaining, yes it was, but the story was very predictable, and so were the joker stunts. The movie was well acted, especially in my opinion by Gary Oldman and Christian Bale, Heath gave us a new joker, but i believe he has been given great reviews due to his tragic death, i have to be honest about that. This joker, could be called diablo, florist, pokemon, he was a great villain, but i personally didn't find any "Joker" in Dark Knight! Very well directed, dark just like a batman movie should be, great action sequences, but it was no 5 star movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SydneyO.Aug 5, 2008
I wish i could give this movie higher than a 10. i luv this movie! absolutely genius! heath ledger did an outstanding job as the joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaveeshS.Aug 5, 2008
This movie should definitely make it to the top 5 movies list in the history of cinema. Heath Ledger's performance is legendary and it is a fitting goodbye to the world of cinema by him by this out of the world performance.All hail Ledger!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HugoTAug 5, 2008
Thank you all....especially Heath Ledger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alexkAug 5, 2008
Best batman to date. incredible acting and very credible story line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeclanR.Aug 5, 2008
By far the best Batman film ever created, here's to Chris Nolan!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuneE.Aug 7, 2008
I'm not a big fan of Batman but after I saw The Dark Knight ...I can say that this was best movie based on comic ever....and I went to cinema twice... worth in every cent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarvinT.Aug 7, 2008
This movie is a essential Masterpiece that will be remembered. Joker is a true Villain and shows how if people are pushed they could show what there true character is good or evil.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillBAug 7, 2008
Ledger's performance alone turned a good movie into a great one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanFAug 8, 2008
A fantastically dark film that weaves a maniacal tapestry of death and degradation around it's good-guys, who constantly find themselves subverting their highest morals to achieve what is necessary to save Gotham. Better than its A fantastically dark film that weaves a maniacal tapestry of death and degradation around it's good-guys, who constantly find themselves subverting their highest morals to achieve what is necessary to save Gotham. Better than its predecessor in every way, it's unjust to simply say this is the best comic book film ever made -which it is - when it could be considered also one of the greatest crime epics of all time. While the plot is certainly extraordinary - and trust me, you'll want as little of this film's twisting and turning plot spoiled to you before you see it as possible - the true measure of this film's greatness comes from the brilliant performances. Christian Bale nails both Bruce Wayne and Batman, perfectly embodying the arrogant billionaire and the raspy-voiced vigilante, and never letting one overshadow the other. Aaron Eckhart makes us care so much about Harvey Dent that it ruly hurts when he undergoes the transformation we all know he must undergo. Gary Oldman brilliantly underplays the most incorruptable cop in Gotham, and genuinely makes us care about his character. Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman are spectacular in their supporting roles, and both of them undergo their own personal journeys that are not only relevant but integral to the plot of the film. Finally, Heath Ledger delivers a haunting and nuanced performance of one of the scariest villains in cinema history. It's Ledger's presence that truly drives the film, and while I'll try to refrain from hyperbole, I can say without a doubt that it is the best supporting performance of the year so far (I say this for the benefit of the Acadamy, who should at least award him a nomination at this year's Oscars). All around, this is a brilliant movie. Does it have it's flaws? Of course. The film is at times muddled, and Ledger is so magnetic that the film threatens to bore when he's not on screen (but I want to make it clear that it never does). But that does little to mar this epic film, or the feeling that you've just finished watching something truly special when you've finished it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VincentVdBAug 9, 2008
Brilliant movie, unbelieveble acting, incredible effects and a creepy evil that truly feels like a threat... The best movie I watched in year... (and i watch MANY movies).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Aug 9, 2008
An awesome movie; I can find nothing to criticize.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarrodL.Sep 10, 2008
Exhilarating, captivating, and excellent are words, which can hardly express the overall brilliance of this movie. Having seen all of the previous batman movies, one sees a changing genre of film among them, first they were more of a comedy, Exhilarating, captivating, and excellent are words, which can hardly express the overall brilliance of this movie. Having seen all of the previous batman movies, one sees a changing genre of film among them, first they were more of a comedy, and through a few other phase shifts, we are now at a time of more serious Batman's. When things undergo a change they usually get worse before they get better, but with this Batman movie that was not the case. The actor, Heath Ledger, plays a phenomenal part as the Joker, and his boldness and his terrifyingly good syncopation with his character is stunning. He is actually able to fully put on the persona of his character, and it is this bond, this terrifying connection that makes his character the most stunning and best-acted character in the movie, without question. The other characters, such as Bruce Wayne (Batman) and Harvey Dent (Two Face) also play compelling roles. We see that Bruce Wayne is having a sort of midlife crisis and feels that soon there will not be a need for him anymore. This feeling is pervade in all of his actions and is very convincing. Harvey Dent, who faces a similar dilemma, turns to anger and hate for people, instead of towards protecting the people, as Bruce Wayne, in the end, chose to continue doing. Through quality scenery, excellent make-up, and spectacular stunts, this movie is able to permeate into the audience and deliver extraordinary feelings, feelings of joy, fear, sadness, betrayal, courage, cunning, and of a bittersweet ending to the madness and chaos which the Joker so successfully creates in, The Dark Knight! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamaraJ.Sep 2, 2008
Fantastic movie! loved every minute beginning to end. Showed a lot of talent with all the actors especially Heath!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StabsM.Sep 4, 2008
I'm a sucker for superhero movies in general, so my grade might be inflated a bit. Even so, Heath Ledger's protrayal of the Joker was scary and twisted - probably the best performance in a comic book movie ever. The rest of the I'm a sucker for superhero movies in general, so my grade might be inflated a bit. Even so, Heath Ledger's protrayal of the Joker was scary and twisted - probably the best performance in a comic book movie ever. The rest of the movie left something to be desired. It was too long, the action sequences weren't always comprehensible, and you got the feeling that Christian Bale sometimes didn't get the script for any given scene until five minutes before shooting (forgivable; his performance in the last one was wonderful.) All in all, a great movie, and a definite DVD buy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredM.Sep 5, 2008
Believe the hype! this is one hell of a thrill ride... returns batman to his dark gothic roots, darker even then betman begins, in such a satriacal way that it will leave you breathless! Borderline oscar worthy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaitlynSep 7, 2008
Best movie I have ever seen since Blade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LGSep 7, 2008
Just awesome. This is the Batman we all know and love. It's dark, it's gritty, it's complicated and you see a great man do a great thing for the sake of others and not for the sake of his own ego. Just awesome. And once again, Just awesome. This is the Batman we all know and love. It's dark, it's gritty, it's complicated and you see a great man do a great thing for the sake of others and not for the sake of his own ego. Just awesome. And once again, buckets of blood, obscene language and porn scenes were not needed to make this movie great. In fact, it is greater because of the lack of those things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FranciscoP.Jan 12, 2009
Could be a great movie. Nolan and his edition team must realize that sometimes longer doesn't mean better. But in the other side of the balance is the Joker... impressive character of Ledger. The film leaves something kind of unusual in Could be a great movie. Nolan and his edition team must realize that sometimes longer doesn't mean better. But in the other side of the balance is the Joker... impressive character of Ledger. The film leaves something kind of unusual in comic films: that the audience would like to become in the villian rather than Batman. The joker plays with us, just like does with Batman. Remarcable scenes: 1) The joker expose two different reasons of his scars (violent father and abandoned housband) Was he laughing of the typical villain?... Great script 2) The Joker being hanged down of the string. Was Nolan laughing of Burton's first Batman??? (remember that the joker falls down of the building?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.Jan 10, 2009
One of the best movies I've ever seen can't wait for the rerelease so I can catch it in Imax one more time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HollyFJan 3, 2009
Is is absolutely not as great as everyone said it is. I enjoyed it, but I also enjoyed Iron Man just as much. But at least Iron Man knew what it was trying to be. TDK tries to balance action whilst attempting to be "thought provoking drama". Is is absolutely not as great as everyone said it is. I enjoyed it, but I also enjoyed Iron Man just as much. But at least Iron Man knew what it was trying to be. TDK tries to balance action whilst attempting to be "thought provoking drama". I felt very alienated because of it and insulted. My favorite scene was the large action sequence in act 2 with the transport. Problem with that is that the action sequence is NEVER my fave scene in a film. That just goes to show how the dramatic components fail. Problem is action is not suppose to be subtle while drama is and the problem with this movie is that everything is just so in your face, including the film arrogant, annoying and pompous message. I enjoyed it, but is far from being a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasDJan 4, 2009
Perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoLJan 5, 2009
One of the greatest action movies ever, and the best movie of the year. Not a doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryOJan 6, 2009
This was a spectacular films, but like all in life its not without weaknesses. Nonetheless this gems burns brightly in the darkest of nights!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LouisMenardJan 9, 2009
The whole movie was a 7... The two first hours were 8.5-9. It was lenghty and at the end, I was bored after having been amazed by the beginning.
Plus, Gotham is supposed to be a kinda' dark city (as in the first one, wich was better),
The whole movie was a 7... The two first hours were 8.5-9. It was lenghty and at the end, I was bored after having been amazed by the beginning.
Plus, Gotham is supposed to be a kinda' dark city (as in the first one, wich was better), but in this one, it looks like... downtown Chicago at noon.
It's an overated movie, but still a good one. Anyone seeking entertainment should go and watch this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamuelJohnsonFeb 12, 2009
The attempt at setting a darker tone is only achieved through an incredible performance by Ledger. It should be noted that Nolan is inadequate in delivering the true tone that Burton instilled in both of his films e.g. Batman himself lookedThe attempt at setting a darker tone is only achieved through an incredible performance by Ledger. It should be noted that Nolan is inadequate in delivering the true tone that Burton instilled in both of his films e.g. Batman himself looked darker in Batman & Batman Returns. Nolan throws in way too much philosophy, which is mediocre and lacking in metaphysic... to be frank, the second time through I was literally looking at my watch, waiting for the film to be over. I would only watch the film once, but I recommend the film to those who are obsessed with the psychotic; then again, I as well find interest in the subject however I found The Crow, American Psycho, and the first Batman to be much better and less cliche in their approach to presenting such character. From an avid film connoisseur, the film could have been so much better, and it is highly over rated, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aqibK.Feb 18, 2009
Not a boring scene in the film, it flows like clock work great preformances alll round and a near perfect script with a over 5 great quotes and the greatest super hero villan battle in history to add to it . What more do you want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nickiw.Feb 2, 2009
Simply put, a masterpiece of modern cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJ.Feb 8, 2009
The best film since LOTR.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TFMar 10, 2009
Excellent movie that felt dark and gritty but still contained a message of hope. Ledger was quite good, but so was Morgan Freeman and the rest of the cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
caltomzApr 26, 2009
Excellent. The writing was so clever, and ledger put on maybe the greatest villan performance of all time. What a tradgic death he had. The Dark Knight's newest member, Harvey Dent, was a big factor in the film. It's intensity gets Excellent. The writing was so clever, and ledger put on maybe the greatest villan performance of all time. What a tradgic death he had. The Dark Knight's newest member, Harvey Dent, was a big factor in the film. It's intensity gets your heart pounding out of your chest! The best Batman film by a mile, and probably the best superhero film. The Dark Knight is DA BOMB!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyZApr 5, 2009
Heath Ledger was amazing in this movie! The action was great and the acting was great! Great plot and story too! One of my favorite movies I've seen!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackieKillerKilledJackieJun 13, 2009
This is my favorite movie. It's the best movie ever made. It's much darker than "Batman Begins" and features superb performances by Christian Bale (he's 110% Batman), Heath Ledger (the modern and slightly more insane Joker) This is my favorite movie. It's the best movie ever made. It's much darker than "Batman Begins" and features superb performances by Christian Bale (he's 110% Batman), Heath Ledger (the modern and slightly more insane Joker) and Aaron Eckhart (the terrifying Two-Face). I'm so happy that Christopher Nolan shows Gotham City in it's true, dark nature with his movies and let us all forget the AWFUL past (the old Batman movies). This is really a great movie and everyone should really watch it - and Jackie C., if you say that shit again, I'm gonna hunt you down and rip your fucking head off, you piece of shit and fucking punk..! Jackie C. I don't think that you have a live, when you talk shit about this masterpiece, so I will send you 2 dollars, so you can buy one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KillSwitchJun 15, 2009
How stupid and juvenile do you have to be to Rate this film a 0? Seriously people, the extent to which some of you try to perpetuate any kind of false "backlash" is pathetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenjoEJan 4, 2010
Perfect - the best action film of all time. Nolan crafts absolute good and evil, the epically evil joker and the epically good Batman and Fox and gang, and documents their battle for Harvey Dent and the people of Gotham whom he represents. Perfect - the best action film of all time. Nolan crafts absolute good and evil, the epically evil joker and the epically good Batman and Fox and gang, and documents their battle for Harvey Dent and the people of Gotham whom he represents. This isn't a story of character development so much as an epic struggle that is played out with incredible intensity and thrilling action. No other film attempting to do anything of the sort has attained the level that The Dark Knight has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianS.Apr 14, 2010
The best batman movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeekS.Nov 10, 2008
Truly amazing, sound and visuals make this movie one of the best ever. Astounding production with breath-taking performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkNov 16, 2008
By far the best comic book film to date. Not too many special effects. Excellent acting, especially from Ledger. Amazing score. Very dark and haunting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveFOct 17, 2008
One of the best movies I've seen in a while. A great capture of the Dark Knight series of illustrated books, exceptionally-acted and brilliantly filmed. Not a film for your young children though due to graphic violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterCOct 18, 2008
Heath Ledgers performance in this must see movie was amazing i seen this movie twice in the cinema just to see Heath perform. Best Super Hero movie of 2008. Acting, story, script & settings all very good. Must see movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LordW.Dec 12, 2008
The Best Batman I have ever seen. Good filming good athmosphear Greats Actor A must to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveSDec 10, 2008
Shakespearean is the first word that comes to mind when I see this film. Although I think the acting is all excellent and writing far above average I think Heath Ledger's performance should be considered not as a best supporting actor Shakespearean is the first word that comes to mind when I see this film. Although I think the acting is all excellent and writing far above average I think Heath Ledger's performance should be considered not as a best supporting actor but as a Best Actor even though his character is supporting. You can't take your eyes off him whem he's onscreen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewLDec 15, 2008
with the phenomenal performance of heath ledger and again by gary oldman the sequel to batman begins didnt cease to amaze me, not in the slightest. thinking i'd only watch the ledger parts from the blu-ray disc, i ended up watching thewith the phenomenal performance of heath ledger and again by gary oldman the sequel to batman begins didnt cease to amaze me, not in the slightest. thinking i'd only watch the ledger parts from the blu-ray disc, i ended up watching the entire thing start to finish - it truly is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CP.Oct 22, 2008
What an excellent film. Full of twists and turns that you would not see coming. It is epic in every sense and the worst part is the end as you really do not want the movie to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonH.Dec 25, 2008
The movie has some good ideas however did not make sense way the Joker was kept alive for so long. The movie did not have to be so long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyMDec 31, 2008
Perhaps it was because of how much it was hyped, perhaps it's because I saw the movie late and missed out on the excitement, but I felt that this film was not quite as good as it perhaps should have been. It had all the elements of a Perhaps it was because of how much it was hyped, perhaps it's because I saw the movie late and missed out on the excitement, but I felt that this film was not quite as good as it perhaps should have been. It had all the elements of a superhero movie but had a tendency towards pretention. Heath Ledger's turn as the Joker is particularly overrated and since when did Batman have to talk like the Cookie Monster all the time? It was worth a watch but ultimately could have been better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkKDec 30, 2008
Quiet simply the best Batman film ever made. Everything from acting to film making is at it's peak here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicolasR.Oct 26, 2008
Excellent movie, and a master piece, although it was not made for pop culture who doesnt understand a modern Hamlet and go out to a cinema to find a HSM movie, that wasnt too long for their disney chanel movie style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeeB.Dec 8, 2008
Worth watching just for the hospital bit. Ledger really carries this film (Best bit about it) but the rest of the cast do their part. Sure you could pick the plot apart into a holey mess but that'd be taking away the excitement of the Worth watching just for the hospital bit. Ledger really carries this film (Best bit about it) but the rest of the cast do their part. Sure you could pick the plot apart into a holey mess but that'd be taking away the excitement of the Joker single-handedly tearing Gotham City apart And the hospital bit! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielA.Jul 10, 2008
Awesome. I haven't even seen it yet. How can't it be awesome? This is the movie of the summer mang!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeF.Jul 10, 2008
Perhaps the greatest superhero movie ever made. Heath Ledgers joker is enthralling and very intense. Bravo Nolan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MosesP.Jul 14, 2008
It keeps you on the edge of your seat!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RetnuhB.Jul 14, 2008
This film is incredible, this is not only the best comic book film of ever, Its also the best film of the last 10 years. Every member of the cast played their role perfectly (not just Heath who was brilliant) and this only aided what was an This film is incredible, this is not only the best comic book film of ever, Its also the best film of the last 10 years. Every member of the cast played their role perfectly (not just Heath who was brilliant) and this only aided what was an incredible script that was brought to life with great care by Chris Nolan. Watch this movie the first chance u get, once you do you will want to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshE.Jul 15, 2008
I can honestly say that the New York critics can fornicate themselves with an iron rod. The sheer power of this film topples every other comic book adaptation off the movie pile. Heath Ledger turns in the most astonishing movie villain since I can honestly say that the New York critics can fornicate themselves with an iron rod. The sheer power of this film topples every other comic book adaptation off the movie pile. Heath Ledger turns in the most astonishing movie villain since Schindler's List's Amon Goeth and Christian Bale matches him in every respect. Don't listen to the New Yorkers. They're just upset because the film was set in Chicago. SEE THIS FILM!!! Although at 150 minutes, it was somewhat of a drag. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonV.Jul 15, 2008
Simply amazing, i say give it the best picture Oscar, its up there with no country and the departed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bradsmithJul 16, 2008
Probably the best comic book movie of all time. It is sad that three critics ( new yorker, new york, and austin chronicle don't get the movie and drag down the score).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattmanJul 16, 2008
Saw it at an advance imax screening Tuesday night. Unbelievable. Amazing performances by the cast all around, especially Ledger's unforgettable Joker. Oscar worthy to say the least. Story is fantastic and is a real treat for comic book Saw it at an advance imax screening Tuesday night. Unbelievable. Amazing performances by the cast all around, especially Ledger's unforgettable Joker. Oscar worthy to say the least. Story is fantastic and is a real treat for comic book fans and nonfans alike. Feels like a crime drama even more than a superhero movie. Excellent. You must see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamD.Jul 16, 2008
This is an excellent dark and intense movie. It goes where every other comic book/superhero movie wouldn't go. It is an intense crime drama and may not be suitable for 8 year olds like spiderman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnestK.Jul 16, 2008
Dark Knight is a magnificent showcase of what a Hollywood Summer Blockbuster should be. Dark Knight is smart, witty, and knowledgeable in its execution. Nolan has done a great job in squeezing every ounce of talent from the all-star cast of Dark Knight is a magnificent showcase of what a Hollywood Summer Blockbuster should be. Dark Knight is smart, witty, and knowledgeable in its execution. Nolan has done a great job in squeezing every ounce of talent from the all-star cast of Bale, Ledger, Eckhart, Maggie, Oldman, Freeman, etc. Definitely lives up to all the hype, and I would not be surprised if it received an Oscar nomination in best picture and supporting actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreasK.Jul 17, 2008
Genre defying masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyW.Jul 17, 2008
I saw this movie two days before its release, at a special pre-screening. Now, just this one fact should tell you how great this movie was: not once did any of the people in the (full) theater talk. Everyone was too busy watching the I saw this movie two days before its release, at a special pre-screening. Now, just this one fact should tell you how great this movie was: not once did any of the people in the (full) theater talk. Everyone was too busy watching the action--and the drama, and the humor. Great performances from everyone, and Maggie Gyllenhaal is a great improvement over Katie Holmes (no slight to her, she just wasn't right for the role.) There are a few clichés (becoming like your enemy, chaos vs. order) but even those just add to the complexity and scope of the story. Honestly, if you want a movie that combines top-notch action, black humor, tragedy, romance, and just about every other genre into an unnervingly realistic whole, you can't beat the Dark Night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigG.Jul 17, 2008
The Dark Knight really conveys how a psycho like the Joker would actually behave in real life and passes on philosophy that can be related to our society today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenT.Jul 17, 2008
A movie which rips out your thoughts and ideals of what the real consequences would be behind the actions of a "hero" and the morals and vulnerabilities of the cities they protect. An intense cinema experience made all the more watchable by A movie which rips out your thoughts and ideals of what the real consequences would be behind the actions of a "hero" and the morals and vulnerabilities of the cities they protect. An intense cinema experience made all the more watchable by one of the best performances that my generation will likely ever see. There will never be another joker! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Jul 17, 2008
This movie really was amazing. I know everyone has been saying how amazing Heath Ledger is in this movie and they were right. He actually manages to make the Joker scary, unpredictable yet still humorous in a twisted way. I truly do believe This movie really was amazing. I know everyone has been saying how amazing Heath Ledger is in this movie and they were right. He actually manages to make the Joker scary, unpredictable yet still humorous in a twisted way. I truly do believe that he may have been the best villain in a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HilaryJul 18, 2008
Great movie, too bad Heath Ledger died. Christian Bale is great as usual. Aaron Eckhart turns in a great performance. The movie was pretty much fantastic, if a little long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayM.Jul 18, 2008
Overall, the movie is great. It's dark, very mature, without having to be graphic or profane. I've always thought that great movies don't need to have excessive violence or language in order to be a good movie, and The Dark Overall, the movie is great. It's dark, very mature, without having to be graphic or profane. I've always thought that great movies don't need to have excessive violence or language in order to be a good movie, and The Dark Knight proves this point to be true. The reason I am not rating this movie 10 is because the ending really took a slow turn. The last 10 minutes or so really slowed the action down to a crawl. The ending really didn't leave you wanting more, it just kind of "ended". I would highly recommend you go see The Dark Knight, but you've probably already seen it, or are on your way now, so you don't need me telling you that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtS.Jul 18, 2008
In my opinion, one of the best movies I have ever seen. It's up there along with the original Jurassic Park, and Independence Day. Ledger does possibly the best acting I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottV.Jul 18, 2008
Heath Ledger put on an Oscar-winning performance and really made his character, the Joker, come alive. And, of course, Christen Bale and Michael Kain were brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielS.Jul 18, 2008
The NY Times review has it right when it compares this film with Zodiac. Both dark and enthralling. But the DK is highly superior and lived to its hype more that I could ever expected. It blew my mind and Heath's performance like the The NY Times review has it right when it compares this film with Zodiac. Both dark and enthralling. But the DK is highly superior and lived to its hype more that I could ever expected. It blew my mind and Heath's performance like the movie was just stunning. This is a serious art film that just happens to have comic book characters. You could feel the energy in the air while watching it. Everyone around me was gasping for air and thrilled to be watching such spectacle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatarinaM.Jul 18, 2008
A 10 + For Heath Ledger This film was dynamic and on the edge of your seat exhilarating .I can understand how this character would be tough to get out of his subconscious.I truly enjoyed the well thought intensity of this film.And Arron A 10 + For Heath Ledger This film was dynamic and on the edge of your seat exhilarating .I can understand how this character would be tough to get out of his subconscious.I truly enjoyed the well thought intensity of this film.And Arron Eckhart was incredible also!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PrestonM.Jul 18, 2008
Ledger was amazing as the Joker, and the movie dared to be unconventional in the fact that it let people die, and it let the "good guy's" appearance be less than immaculate. Though it seemed to have enough plot for two movies, I feel Ledger was amazing as the Joker, and the movie dared to be unconventional in the fact that it let people die, and it let the "good guy's" appearance be less than immaculate. Though it seemed to have enough plot for two movies, I feel that this installment was so triumphant in achieving everything it wanted, it should be the cemented end of the saga. Trying to top this would be a set up for failure, and ending it would be a great memorial to Ledger, who was amazing in this, and deserves a posthumous Oscar for best supporting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful