Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 4903 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,443
Mixed:
185
Negative:
275
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JoshMJul 23, 2008
amazing film.. and im not just riding some sort of "bandwagon" which is what ive heard some idiots calling it... i mean, if you love it, you're a dick riding bandwagoner? get the hell out of here! this movie was great... perfectamazing film.. and im not just riding some sort of "bandwagon" which is what ive heard some idiots calling it... i mean, if you love it, you're a dick riding bandwagoner? get the hell out of here! this movie was great... perfect direction, perfect screen play and perfect cast.. nothing was wrong with this movie.. AT ALL!

and i saw this person named BILL M say... "Dark Knight ruined Batman - series should have never been written. DC should be ashamed!"

are you kidding me?!?!!? LMFAOOOOO!!! hahahahaha! this dude couldnt even BACK UP his statement.. i would LOVE to see this guy back up his comments, but he cant... it just shows that he's an idiot.. very sad... poor guy.. i almost feel bad for him and his very pathetic life :( poor little guy :(
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelJul 23, 2008
Wow...after reading all the reviews for the Dark Knight, my expectations were sky-high. This film managed to exceed those expectations 100-fold. Easily one of the best scripts in recent memory, and the only reason it may not be nominated for Wow...after reading all the reviews for the Dark Knight, my expectations were sky-high. This film managed to exceed those expectations 100-fold. Easily one of the best scripts in recent memory, and the only reason it may not be nominated for Best Film is because of the obvious bias against 'comic book films.' Hey, I loved Iron Man and Incredible Hulk, but THOSE are comic book films -- you could turn your brain off, sit-back, and just have a blast for a couple of hours. The Dark Knight is something else altogether. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexJul 23, 2008
The movie was excellently written, and the most enjoyable part of the film was Ledger's performance of the maniacal "Joker". I would've enjoyed if he had more screen time, but nevertheless, the movie was excellent. The movie The movie was excellently written, and the most enjoyable part of the film was Ledger's performance of the maniacal "Joker". I would've enjoyed if he had more screen time, but nevertheless, the movie was excellent. The movie wasn't really about Batman at all, but more about Gotham City as a whole. Aaron Eckhart, Maggie Gylenhaal, Christian Bale, Heath Ledger and Gary Oldman were all magnificent, and the worst part of all is that three of those great actors won't be able to be in a third edition. The movie was not that violent, but I still think it is not for children. The movie is too psychological and dramatic to be even understood by the child mind. How Christopher Nolan discovers the "Joker" in everyone is remarkable and award-worthy. The movie will sure be remembered by all as a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephAccettaJul 23, 2008
I was completely in disbelief of all the hype. But it's true: This is an excellent, excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisD.Jul 23, 2008
Go to any KISS concert in the 80's and find a pimple faced teen in clown makeup and thats Heath Ledger's performance as Joker in a nutshell. A nice movie, but over hyped to no end. Best superhero movie of all time? Oscar Go to any KISS concert in the 80's and find a pimple faced teen in clown makeup and thats Heath Ledger's performance as Joker in a nutshell. A nice movie, but over hyped to no end. Best superhero movie of all time? Oscar performance for Heath Ledger? I understand the guy died, but lets not over exaggerate his performance because of it. Nothing spectacular and not what I envision as the iconic Joker. The joker was neither funny nor scary and the expectation waiting for the famous laugh plastered all over the trailers for this movie was nearly non-existent. As for best superhero movie I'm not even sure I'd rank this above Batman Begins or the very 1st Batman whose Joker played by Jack Nicholson I enjoyed more and the back story of how he became the Joker was better portrayed. The ending to this movie was muddled with that high-tech sonar montage and the morality lesson at the end carried on about 10 minutes too long. What was scarecrow doing in the movie? And 2-face was hardly utilized. Do yourself a favor, go see this movie because it is entertaining and different (see my rating of 8). But, don't go in expecting to see the greatest movie of all time as some here would lead you to believe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YonatanJ.Jul 23, 2008
The Dark Knight is the first movie to get Batman, the Joker, and Two-Face exactly right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BjonesJul 23, 2008
its really funny that people keep trying to compare bale and ledger to keaton and nicholson, theres no comparison.. bale and ledger beat them hands down. i saw the 1989 movie when i was 7 years old, and i watched it again to compare it to its really funny that people keep trying to compare bale and ledger to keaton and nicholson, theres no comparison.. bale and ledger beat them hands down. i saw the 1989 movie when i was 7 years old, and i watched it again to compare it to dark knight. all i have to say is if you havent watched that movie in 18 or so years like i hadnt, dont watch it, itll ruin how you felt about it. the original batman was TERRIBLE, it was corny and dreadfully boring. you dont feel as if youre watching the joker,but jack nicholson dressed up in make up. i often forgot i was seeing heath ledger in the dark knight. i dont see how all of you people praise keatons lifeless performance as bruce wayne. the whole time, you dont feel as if you know who he bruce is, theres no personality, and i dont really think thats keatons fault so much as the writing/directing. i do like tim burtons gotham city and batmobile better, but you dont even feel like bruce wayne is tormented when you watch his batman movies. you dont get to see how he is a billionaire playboy.. you just see some man in a cave thats courting vicki vale. oh and being introduced to jack napier the first 30 minutes, and the flashback of him killing bruce's parents.. ALL WRONG! i hate that they put that in the film, plus the joker dancing around to prince music? you have got to be kidding me. you people are delusional if you think the first one is better. you dont sense that joker is a crazed killer, but a corny thug with paint on. and anybody that knows anything about the comics has to remember that joker has changed over the past 68 years depending on the writers. he started out as a crazed, psychotic, heartless killer, then was toned down due to censorship in the 50s and 60s. the toned down petty joker was cesar romero, then he had a come back where he was a killer, but still fairly corny, and thats the joker that nicholson portrayed. in the late 80s, he was rehauled again, and became much more vicious and similar to his original incarnation, and thats ledgers joker. please dont say that ledger didnt act like the joker is supossed to act if you know nothing of the lore of batman, and are basing those feelings off of other acters interpretations of the character, thats just stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Charlie?Jul 24, 2008
Some of the best acting and storytelling I have ever seen. Every second you spend not watching this movie is a second wasted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.S.Jul 24, 2008
Best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCJul 24, 2008
Absolutely flawless. Unrivaled for its type of film. I've seen it at a art theatre and in IMAX and its worth it to see the latter.
Ledger deserves an oscar for the best performance since anthony hopkins in silence of the lambs as a
Absolutely flawless. Unrivaled for its type of film. I've seen it at a art theatre and in IMAX and its worth it to see the latter.
Ledger deserves an oscar for the best performance since anthony hopkins in silence of the lambs as a villain. Just go see it you'll want to see it twice as soon as its over.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyY.Jul 24, 2008
possibly the best superhero movie of all time. I wanted to see it since i saw the first trailer and i wasn't disappointed Heath Ledger deserves an Oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendenS.Jul 24, 2008
I honestly had no interest in watching the first movie, Batman Begins, when it first released (or months after it made it to DVD). But when I heard they were making a sequel, and people were actually getting excited I figured that I had to I honestly had no interest in watching the first movie, Batman Begins, when it first released (or months after it made it to DVD). But when I heard they were making a sequel, and people were actually getting excited I figured that I had to check the first out. I had to say, I was impressed. I was expecting the humorous (yet unfunny) Batman movies from the George Clooney days, and was given a darker, more violent, and an even grittier Batman than I was used to. So I went to go see this one. I came into this movie with high hopes but a little cautious. I always felt that the Joker (while probably Batman's number one arch-nemesis in the comics) was the opposite of the more menacing bad guys that I expected from a hero-villain clash. In the Dark Knight, I was met with a creepier, more disturbing version of the Joker. And I must say that Heath Ledger really made it that way for me. I really got the psychological instability of the character rather than the odd-ball, "got to take over the world" version of the Joker that many people probably envision when thinking of the Joker. Honestly, I never thought that a comic book movie would possibly have a chance at movie of the year, but there may be a shot in this one. And there are definitely going to be some awards for cast and crew members of this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenM.Jul 25, 2008
Spectacular. The moral issues this film raises is intriguing, the surprises and twists will have you enthralled, and all the actors officially bring their A-game to the table. Heath Ledger provides one of the most impressive performances in Spectacular. The moral issues this film raises is intriguing, the surprises and twists will have you enthralled, and all the actors officially bring their A-game to the table. Heath Ledger provides one of the most impressive performances in filming history, in one of the best films of the modern era. A word of advice for all who haven't seen this movie yet - do not pay attention to any of the so called 'professional' reviewers who rate this poorly. Their reasons for doing so seem to be because the movie isn't 'fun' enough. Well, it isn't meant to be 'fun'; it's supposed to make you think about what good and evil really is, amongst other social issues. Flawless - a truly genre-defining film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasF.Jul 25, 2008
One of the best movies I have ever seen. I will remember Heath Ledger as a god.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonaldoD.Jul 25, 2008
Great script, awesome action, and a stellar performance by Ledger! If it weren't for the Batman's forced hoarse voice, I would have given this film a perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CiaranC.Jul 25, 2008
What more could you ask for from any movie?! Just a shame Heath Ledger can't resume the role again, he may have made it his own forever! Lived up to it's HEAT comparison
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PGJul 25, 2008
This is the perfect, perhaps last, glimpse at the brilliant talent of a great actor. Heath Ledger "upstages" an impressive cast of successful actors in a memorable performance that makes the movie re-watchable. This is the best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
aaronrJul 26, 2008
don't normally dig the summer blockbuster type movies...but i dug this one because of that nice heath ledger fellow...he explodes in every scene from beginning to end...his intro into the movie blew my mind...even when the jokerdon't normally dig the summer blockbuster type movies...but i dug this one because of that nice heath ledger fellow...he explodes in every scene from beginning to end...his intro into the movie blew my mind...even when the joker wasn't in a scene i couldn't stop thinking about what he was up to...riveting...will never look at a pencil the same way again...awards for him will be given...too bad that they had to have all those scenes with that rich guy in a bat suit grunting around Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AshleyH.Jul 26, 2008
This movie was awesome, but it was really slow in the beginning. it was definitely heath ledgers best film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikhailRJul 26, 2008
In short, a masterpiece. Every single actor and acrtess brought their absolute best, especially Ledger. Harvey Dent's and Joker's characters were perfectly pulled off, and the storyline could not be more twisted. I was on the edge In short, a masterpiece. Every single actor and acrtess brought their absolute best, especially Ledger. Harvey Dent's and Joker's characters were perfectly pulled off, and the storyline could not be more twisted. I was on the edge of my seat for the entire movie, even the dialogue couldn't lose my interest. I strongly reccomend that you do NOT bring any drinks with you into the theatre, because I had to leave and use the bathroom, and that broke the train of the movie. If you gave the first movie anything higher then 2 stars, you absolutely MUST see this movie. If your new to the series, see it anyway. An absolute must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaylaF.Jul 26, 2008
And although Marc Savlov of the Austin Chronicle gave the movie a 50 out of 100, I'll quote him for his use of words and savor of just how cruel and brilliant The Joker was, "The only thing here that feels truly, utterly alive is And although Marc Savlov of the Austin Chronicle gave the movie a 50 out of 100, I'll quote him for his use of words and savor of just how cruel and brilliant The Joker was, "The only thing here that feels truly, utterly alive is Ledger's maniacal, muttery Joker. The last laugh is his and his alone. It's enough to make you cry." If Savlov meant what I think he meant then I agree. The movie really had very little interest in anything other than The Joker. Ledgers performance is what made this movie what it is. Bale was at most, entertaining. Gyllenhaal was... well better than Holmes. Caine was still good, as was Freeman, but I think it's safe to assume it's because of the respect they've gained in the industry, that we automatically would assume they did well. But Two-Face/Harvey Dent, Aaron Eckhart was not very heroic, or insane in any parts of the movie, and his role as Two-Face (which I was looking forward too) was short lived. The ending was so quick; I was still waiting for something when the credits started to roll. However, like I said, Heath owns this. The action I felt was great, the sick humor was there, and I got teary eyed a little at the end. So yes, this movie is going straight to my heart and onto my shelves. I think everyone, everyone should see this. But I think people should stop praising it, and approach it realistically, because as amazing and breathtaking, and short of nothing than spectacular, that it is... It was still just a movie, with as many flaws as one. The movie struck fear into people, and it made the rooms around us slightly darker, made our lives just slightly grimmer. In succeeded tremendously in producing a fowl and tainted environment for the viewer. The movie will no doubt live on though history as one of the most cinematic accomplishments ever fathomed. Partially for the mark Heath Ledger placed upon it with his death, but also because of the shear trauma many actually felt from watching this. To put it short, I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanS.Jul 26, 2008
Heath Ledger played the Joker how he should have been played for a non animated movie. This is what makes the Joker such a creepy/mysterious character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.Jul 26, 2008
Best film ever, never thought I'd ever say that about a comic book movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShrutiJ.Jul 26, 2008
This movie is very entertaining, fast-paced, and has a brilliant performance by all of the actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTJul 26, 2008
The Dark Knight is grittier, darker, more intense and absolutely more thrilling than Batman Begins. And believe the hype; Heath Ledger plays to Joker to perfection. If you liked the original or just want a suspensful action movie you MUST The Dark Knight is grittier, darker, more intense and absolutely more thrilling than Batman Begins. And believe the hype; Heath Ledger plays to Joker to perfection. If you liked the original or just want a suspensful action movie you MUST give this a view. But be warned: it's not called the DARK Knight for nothing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonN.Jul 26, 2008
To the ironically named "Terminator", why complain about the violence. This isn't Power Rangers as the preview alone could tell you. I thought the movie was excellent, though I would agree with one reviewer that said you might leave the To the ironically named "Terminator", why complain about the violence. This isn't Power Rangers as the preview alone could tell you. I thought the movie was excellent, though I would agree with one reviewer that said you might leave the cinema a bit exhausted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FabioC.Jul 26, 2008
Outstanding... simply the best superhero movie ever filmed... we can easily find the very best of 70 years of batman comic book stories in this movie. All the actors did an excellent job (Ledger in particular IMHO overshadowed Outstanding... simply the best superhero movie ever filmed... we can easily find the very best of 70 years of batman comic book stories in this movie. All the actors did an excellent job (Ledger in particular IMHO overshadowed Nicholson's Joker), and Nolan direction was terrific. Great story, fantastic pace to keep you glued to your seat. Most realistic superhero movie ever seen. This movie sets new standards for the genre. P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaS.Jul 26, 2008
Full disclosure - I am not much of a fan of comic book movies in general, nor batman movies in particular. But don't be fooled by the costumes, this is much, much more than a comic book movie. Nolan's direction is so deft, the Full disclosure - I am not much of a fan of comic book movies in general, nor batman movies in particular. But don't be fooled by the costumes, this is much, much more than a comic book movie. Nolan's direction is so deft, the acting so brilliant, the dialogue so well written, that ten minutes into the film I forgot that I was watching a comic book movie. This movie gives us an exploration of duality, dark v. light, good v. evil, id v. superego, wrapped in a fantastically entertaining package. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JacobL.Jul 27, 2008
SPOILERS ALERT!!!!!!! A lot of people including myself are very excited about the Dark Knight and went to go see. After seeing The Dark Knight I was amazed but at the same time a little dissapointed. The beggining of the movie kind of makes SPOILERS ALERT!!!!!!! A lot of people including myself are very excited about the Dark Knight and went to go see. After seeing The Dark Knight I was amazed but at the same time a little dissapointed. The beggining of the movie kind of makes you think you are in for dissapointment. Diaologe is mumbled. The story is confusing and you are probably going to be a little confused. But thankfully all that is not important. What is important is that the joker is turning Gotham upside down. The Joker hogs the spotlight with his stunning performence and constant cause of trouble throughout Gotham. On top of that there are even some plot twists which I don't want to spoil. But, lets just say you are in for some shockers. Despite all these ups there are a few downs. First off the plot is pretty confusing even after the beginning. So be prepared for some head scracthers. In addition the movie appears to going for a cliff hanger ending. However, sadly the conflict is quickly resolved preventing what could've been a great third movie. All and all the Dark Knight will please most audiences even if you haven't seen the first movie. But be warned that you may be dissapointed as I was. Still if you love Batman, plot twists, Batman, and movies all together then grab some popcorn get ready to have a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MittR.Jul 27, 2008
Michael Jai White and Ledger both deserve Oscar nominations and Morgan Freeman has never been better. Tim Burton must be rolling in his grave.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicholasDJul 27, 2008
Perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JHJul 27, 2008
Not nearly as good as the hype. Ledger is astonishing and the visuals are elite, but the study of good vs evil plot is extraordinarily forced, and the movie is a good half hour too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisM.Jul 27, 2008
Brilliant, tragic, disturbing. Ledger's performance so convincingly evil, it made me extremely uncomfortable. Many times the audience laughed at scenes which were not funny. Maybe it was their nerves. This is not a funny movie at all. Brilliant, tragic, disturbing. Ledger's performance so convincingly evil, it made me extremely uncomfortable. Many times the audience laughed at scenes which were not funny. Maybe it was their nerves. This is not a funny movie at all. It is serious, dark and disturbing. Afflicting suffering for pleasure and seeking anarchy, goes beyond evil. Where as evil has a plan, the Joker has not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobH.Jul 27, 2008
Some critics are claiming that this is too "sadistic" for their taste. These guys can go see "Batman & Robin" again if TDK is too harsh for them. This is the Batman movie that comic book fans have been waiting for. It's "The Empire Some critics are claiming that this is too "sadistic" for their taste. These guys can go see "Batman & Robin" again if TDK is too harsh for them. This is the Batman movie that comic book fans have been waiting for. It's "The Empire Strikes Back" of superhero movies, and it belongs entirely to the late, great Heath Ledger. Nolan's second masterpiece, alongside Memento. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RamonP.Jul 27, 2008
this was the best movie i ever saw since the godfather... i can not believe that movie can be compaired with the best of holliwood never a heroic movie have a lot of such a good critics, it was brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisM.Jul 27, 2008
Heath Ledger delivered a once in a lifetime performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PhilB.Jul 27, 2008
It was enjoyable, but I liked Batman Begins better. Too many events happened without a thorough explanation. The strength of Batman Begins was that it took the time to explain how someone like Batman could exist to the extent that suspension It was enjoyable, but I liked Batman Begins better. Too many events happened without a thorough explanation. The strength of Batman Begins was that it took the time to explain how someone like Batman could exist to the extent that suspension od disbelief was possible. That didn't happen here, especially for the last 30 - 60 minutes. It seemed as if they were trying to jam too many things into one movie. All of this said, I still liked it, and thought it was a worthy enough successor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JF.Jul 28, 2008
One of the best movies of all time - forget the negative reviews, just see the movie and you will enjoy it! Also, instead of showing the violence of the Joker, the camera turns away just at the right moment. I really can't understand One of the best movies of all time - forget the negative reviews, just see the movie and you will enjoy it! Also, instead of showing the violence of the Joker, the camera turns away just at the right moment. I really can't understand these critics complaining about obscene violence, because there isn't any. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeeW.Jul 28, 2008
Are you an adult that wishes to see a movie containing adult themes? Do you wish to see acting take place before you, with skill, passion and genuine talent? Do you wish to be transported to a bleak, hopeless society full of awkward Are you an adult that wishes to see a movie containing adult themes? Do you wish to see acting take place before you, with skill, passion and genuine talent? Do you wish to be transported to a bleak, hopeless society full of awkward questions and difficult decisions? Do you want to see a classic character stripped back and forced to confront the impossible questions a self-styled 'vigilante' must find answers for? If you answered yes to all the previous questions then this film is for you. A stunning, pitch-black barrage of unforeseen consequences and cruel twists. Of course all eyes will be on Heath Ledger, but to claim this film is a 'tribute' to him is a gross nonsense. But, of course, you want to know if he is as good as the professional critics say he is, right? The answer is yes, and mesmerisingly so. With just enough of Jack Nicholson's comic camp to keep the character recognizable, Ledger and Christopher Nolan twist the Joker into a sadistic, almost satanic enemy of decency, armed with an unlimited supply of sociopathic apathy and gut-wrenching personal demons. Christian Bale broods and struggles throughout with the weight and sheer hopelessness of the task ahead of him, but with such aplomb and adeptness you are left amazed at how a vintage comic-book character can be converted into a very adult, very complicated hero. This movie was incredible, and when the credits roll you'll be left a little numb, a little bruised, but completely impressed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnonymousMCJul 28, 2008
It starts out as an interesting upbeat adventure with gadgets with an Indiana Jones flavor, but the more you see Heath Ledger on screen the more you wish he would stay there. The story begins to fall apart and there are too many villains toIt starts out as an interesting upbeat adventure with gadgets with an Indiana Jones flavor, but the more you see Heath Ledger on screen the more you wish he would stay there. The story begins to fall apart and there are too many villains to keep track of. Heath Ledger's performance remains as the only memorable feature. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManishS.Jul 28, 2008
Excellent Movie. Best action/crime movie i saw in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattP.Jul 28, 2008
Not a Batman movie, but a Joker movie. Christian Bale is marginalized and, for good reason and to great effect, Heath Ledger is elevated. In an action movie like this, you have to have two things: a good director and at least one good Not a Batman movie, but a Joker movie. Christian Bale is marginalized and, for good reason and to great effect, Heath Ledger is elevated. In an action movie like this, you have to have two things: a good director and at least one good performance. What saves this movie from being a bloated mess is Ledgers staggering performance and Nolans competent if underwhelming direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshM.Jul 29, 2008
Movie is amazing and ledgers performance is stunning. The best acting of the century. The movie is funny yet twisted and the movie itself is phenomenally well done. Anyone who hasn't seen it really needs to cause it is absolutely the Movie is amazing and ledgers performance is stunning. The best acting of the century. The movie is funny yet twisted and the movie itself is phenomenally well done. Anyone who hasn't seen it really needs to cause it is absolutely the film you have to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianL.Jul 29, 2008
I like scary/action movies. Ledger was brilliant. The action was mostly interesting as well. The Joker drops a few silly comments bringing comic relief to the constant seriousness. Iffy parts include OK-a-little-over-average acting job ofI like scary/action movies. Ledger was brilliant. The action was mostly interesting as well. The Joker drops a few silly comments bringing comic relief to the constant seriousness. Iffy parts include OK-a-little-over-average acting job of Batman and Harvey. The actress who played Rachel was horrible but that didn't really matter. When seeing a superhero movie you always expect to atleast have a happy ending. This movie has none. It's depression after depression after depression of sadism and death for an overrun 2 and 1/2 hours. It could have been finished 30 minutes earlier if you see the ending. No one really wins in this movie, but it is suspenseful. If you like suspense, go ahead and watch the movie. But there is no positive excitement, its 100% run off of depression, fear, and sadness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Jul 29, 2008
The Dark Knight has to be the best movie of 2008. I don't think any movie can live up to its achievement. On most movie databases it's been given extremely high results. If movies keep on ending up as crappola like 88 minutes, The The Dark Knight has to be the best movie of 2008. I don't think any movie can live up to its achievement. On most movie databases it's been given extremely high results. If movies keep on ending up as crappola like 88 minutes, The Spiderwick Chronicles, Jumper, and much more. Despite the fact that Hellboy and Hancock aren't worthy enough, Dark knight's gonna win best picture at the Oscars. And since Ledger's dead, he did an amazing job as the joker and hopefully will be recognized and awarded best supporting actor at the Oscars for Heath's memory. Just a great movie. go see this NOW!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pgJul 29, 2008
This is how dark all comic-book turned movies should be. Awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RussellB.Jul 31, 2008
Brilliant film. Acting from Ledger and Bale was great. The special effects were good, but never took attention away from what was happening. A great story that hits some deep philosophical questions. David H: Batman does triumph in the end. Brilliant film. Acting from Ledger and Bale was great. The special effects were good, but never took attention away from what was happening. A great story that hits some deep philosophical questions. David H: Batman does triumph in the end. The Joker loses, Gotham gets to have it's "White Knight". The point is that he is redefining what a hero is. The audience looks up to Batman's sacrifice, even if the people of Gotham City don't. Billy C: Two Face was flipping coins in the Batman comics in 1942. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NirujanG.Jul 31, 2008
This is one of the best movies ever. I was already a fan of batman, after watching this movie i became a fan of joker too. Ledger's acting was awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyL.Jul 31, 2008
Wow. simply amazing. utter genius. director Nolan makes the world unlike any other comic book movies "world". Its so realistic, it seems like it could happen to any place in the world. Unlike many of all of the spider-man movies, when will Wow. simply amazing. utter genius. director Nolan makes the world unlike any other comic book movies "world". Its so realistic, it seems like it could happen to any place in the world. Unlike many of all of the spider-man movies, when will you see a man with four giant steel "tentacles" terrorizing your city? Every character plays their role superbly, the story line is exceptional, and they build from exactly what they started with the first one, "Batman Begins" Heath Ledger as the joker was one of the best performances i've ever seen, and I've seen plenty. He makes you enjoy every second hes on the screen This movie surpasses the "comic book" genre. Its a CLASSIC 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimboJ.Jul 31, 2008
Awesome movie. Saw it 4 times already. Easily the best Batman movie so far and also the best movie of the year. Heath Ledger's performance is incredible and Oscar worthy. The rest of the movie is also damn near perfect, with intense Awesome movie. Saw it 4 times already. Easily the best Batman movie so far and also the best movie of the year. Heath Ledger's performance is incredible and Oscar worthy. The rest of the movie is also damn near perfect, with intense action sequences, a deep, intricate story and great characters. I have a few minor quibbles, but it's not enough to bring this movie down. Whether your a Batman fan or not, you need to see this movie - it's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyK.Jul 31, 2008
Fantastic movie. This movie explores issue of morality with enough depth and talent to put Shakespeare to shame, let alone Hollywood. I think that may have confused a lot of the reviewers, who were expecting a typical comic book movie. The Fantastic movie. This movie explores issue of morality with enough depth and talent to put Shakespeare to shame, let alone Hollywood. I think that may have confused a lot of the reviewers, who were expecting a typical comic book movie. The movie is intriguing, deep, well executed, and brilliantly acted. On the flip side, the pacing is weird, and it gets slightly confusing at times, but I left the theater feeling that those were worthwhile sacrifices for the sake of the movie as a whole, rather than a true flaws of the movie. Overall, a fantastic movie that I recommend to all adults, but be aware that it isn't your typical summer comic book blockbuster fare. It's much much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickJ.Jul 31, 2008
I personally loved it. I did have some complaints, both about the movie and the critics. Two-Face did the coin thing in the comics as well. I believe that the Batman comics came out before No Country for Old Men...Correct me if I'm I personally loved it. I did have some complaints, both about the movie and the critics. Two-Face did the coin thing in the comics as well. I believe that the Batman comics came out before No Country for Old Men...Correct me if I'm wrong. My big complaints had mostly to do with the fact that I don't think Two-Face would speak with the same voice after losing half his lips. Also, I didn't care for Batman's voice... The Joker was brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamR.Jul 30, 2008
amazing and also to Billy C. Two Face was thought of way before Anton Chugurrh. (1944 to be exact).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulA.Jul 30, 2008
The best movie I've ever seen. In the first movie they really nailed it with a superb cast. This movie is much deeper and darker than the first. Batman's ultimate rival, the joker was so entertaining. No matter what he did, it was The best movie I've ever seen. In the first movie they really nailed it with a superb cast. This movie is much deeper and darker than the first. Batman's ultimate rival, the joker was so entertaining. No matter what he did, it was entertaining. I wonder what the sequel will be like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanP.Jul 30, 2008
If any film deserves a perfect score, this does. In all actuality, there is no such thing as a perfect movie, but this one comes about as close as any ever have. Dark, beautiful, harrowing and deeply meaningful, "Knight" is a class-act If any film deserves a perfect score, this does. In all actuality, there is no such thing as a perfect movie, but this one comes about as close as any ever have. Dark, beautiful, harrowing and deeply meaningful, "Knight" is a class-act masterpiece, both high art and brilliantly accessible to our modern spoon-fed masses. The bar has been set so much higher by the Nolans' latest stroke of genius that audiences are bound to be disappointed by the suddenly mediocre fodder of the box offices for quite some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
paigeJul 30, 2008
Everyone did a wonderful performance, especially Heath. I am not just singling him out because of a fatal accident. This is in all honesty. On thing that I will say is watching it for a second time it seemed longer than the first time. Everyone did a wonderful performance, especially Heath. I am not just singling him out because of a fatal accident. This is in all honesty. On thing that I will say is watching it for a second time it seemed longer than the first time. Another thing is for people who read the comics. Do not expect to walk in this movie and have it follow the comic books. This was a darker version of Batman as I would like to say. Now, if you don't follow to comic books so well, or don't read them at all, then you will appreciate it as a movie instead of comic book character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyJul 5, 2008
I caught an early screening and I thought it was incredible. I couldn't believe that this was the same actor in 10 things I hate about you playing the joker, and even though Aaron Eckhart is overshadowed by Ledger's incredible I caught an early screening and I thought it was incredible. I couldn't believe that this was the same actor in 10 things I hate about you playing the joker, and even though Aaron Eckhart is overshadowed by Ledger's incredible performance, Eckhart was amazing, too. This movie is just simply brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielL.Jul 8, 2008
This film is absolutely brilliant, from start to finish you will be surprise, even by event that you knew would happy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerW.Jul 9, 2008
This is one fantastic film. Heath Ledger's performance is one for the ages and every bit as good as the critics say it is. It's tight, tense and terrific. This is without a doubt the best comic film ever made...beware though This is one fantastic film. Heath Ledger's performance is one for the ages and every bit as good as the critics say it is. It's tight, tense and terrific. This is without a doubt the best comic film ever made...beware though it's dark. Don't say you haven't been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintT.Aug 10, 2008
A very good film, no doubt. Ledger's final performance will be forever remembered alongside the powerful performances from the likes of Nicholson and Pacino. This is a throughly enjoyable romp, but at Number 1 on the IMDB, it's A very good film, no doubt. Ledger's final performance will be forever remembered alongside the powerful performances from the likes of Nicholson and Pacino. This is a throughly enjoyable romp, but at Number 1 on the IMDB, it's over hyped and overrated. Go see it by all means, but don't expect The Godfather or anything nearly so good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToshaR.Aug 10, 2008
Good mix of humor, darkness, and action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MRFoxAug 1, 2008
I really cant believe some of the comments here and the marks...... It is a 3? A 5? Get real, maybe you should have gone and seen Mama Mia instead. I mean you are entitled to your opinions but David H saying that the was left feeling I really cant believe some of the comments here and the marks...... It is a 3? A 5? Get real, maybe you should have gone and seen Mama Mia instead. I mean you are entitled to your opinions but David H saying that the was left feeling depressed after the movie and defining what a super hero should be is ridiculous! For all true Batman fans, this is Batman he is. This is his challenge: to be a superhero in a corrupt town with little thanks from those who surround him. Of course he is a dark character, all you have to do is think about his development and what he has had to go through...... Heard of empathy? Having collected the Legend of the Dark Knight comics as a boy I am truly thankful to Nolan for allowing the characters to express their true identities. Ledger;s Joker walked all over the funny clown of Nicholson. the joker is an evil, pranking genius. A sicko. Nothing less! He is not a funny guy really. He's maniacal! I do agree about Gyllenhal though. That was a poor casting decision but then again it didn't detract from the broader picture and was bearable. The Two Face narrative was true to label. This was the movie of the year with great performances across the board, a great script, beautifully directed in all its darkness and left me on the edge of my seat, not to mention the awesome action sequences. The best of the Batman franchise and beyond comparison (you compare this to Iron Man? Bah!) The Dark knight. Truly true to label! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanH.Aug 1, 2008
The best superhero movie ever made. Flawless acting and a story that soars above the average summer blockbuster. The movie is an absolute masterpiece and one of the greatest films of our generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanAug 11, 2008
Best movie of all time! Critics who give The dark knight poor reviews are seen as sad a hopeless creatures. Constantly grasping out for attention and wanting any sign of recognition for their critic minds. But sadly all these critics do is Best movie of all time! Critics who give The dark knight poor reviews are seen as sad a hopeless creatures. Constantly grasping out for attention and wanting any sign of recognition for their critic minds. But sadly all these critics do is uphold a poor society where good movies are rated poor. Overall, Heath ledger delivered an outstanding performance where there is a fine line between evil and insanity. The movie was creative with unique turns and twists where the only savior for the city is a hero among a rats nest of villains. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
cathyrAug 10, 2008
I reluctantly went to this movie with my husband and teen son. By the time it was about half-way done I was thinking how much this movie totally kicks butt - it was fabulous. I smiled everytime Joker was on screen because the character was I reluctantly went to this movie with my husband and teen son. By the time it was about half-way done I was thinking how much this movie totally kicks butt - it was fabulous. I smiled everytime Joker was on screen because the character was so well acted - it was almost hypnotizing to watch. Take from a soccer mom who shuns this genre - this movie is good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
Easily the best movie I've ever seen. Heath Ledger is spectacular, and Christian Bale proves why he is the most underrated actor in the world. The fight scens are improved from Batman Begins, the plot is fantastic, and it leaves you Easily the best movie I've ever seen. Heath Ledger is spectacular, and Christian Bale proves why he is the most underrated actor in the world. The fight scens are improved from Batman Begins, the plot is fantastic, and it leaves you thinking for days after you've seen it. This is the first movie I've ever watched where I can find nothing wrong with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeI.Aug 12, 2008
Phenomenal. Oscar For the Jokers Performance. Took it in a interesting new direction. No spoilers here ill say no more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobTAug 13, 2008
For the most part a enjoyable movie, let down by a finale that is highly questionable in it's message.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaviP.Aug 14, 2008
Perfect!! Reinvention of a genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamD.Aug 14, 2008
A masterpiece of the genre, easily the finest "superhero" film I have ever seen--it also stands on its own, outside the genre, as a bona fide piece of art. It is also a film that brilliantly captures some of the darker aspects of our world A masterpiece of the genre, easily the finest "superhero" film I have ever seen--it also stands on its own, outside the genre, as a bona fide piece of art. It is also a film that brilliantly captures some of the darker aspects of our world today--a pervasive sense of darkness and loss of control that has existed in the cultural zeitgeist since 9/11. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GatsbyJayAug 17, 2008
-Wow, I'm surprised at what some of the lower reviews had to say. Some argue that the film attempts to be deep, but fails. I don't think it fails at all. The movie poses the question: what are the consequences of any man (whether -Wow, I'm surprised at what some of the lower reviews had to say. Some argue that the film attempts to be deep, but fails. I don't think it fails at all. The movie poses the question: what are the consequences of any man (whether me or you, or someone with lots of money, power, and technology dressing up in a batsuit) taking the law into their own hands? Most movies just explore this notion of vigilante justice very briefly and poorly, but The Dark Knight does it sublimely. It actually shows the terrible consequences of vigilante justice on one's friends, loved ones, and on society (Rachel Dawes is killed because Bruce Wayne is Batman; Bruce Wayne and Lucius Fox's friendship is broken because, once again, Bruce Wayne is Batman); and other wanna-be vigilantes also try to take the law into their own hands, as the movie's start shows. -Then we have the idea of opposites: Batman, the vigilante hero, and The Joker, the villain. With great power, the movie explores the idea of the limits of vigilante justice. To stop evil, will Batman himself commit evil? Will Batman just turn into the next Joker? The movie does suggest that there's a very thin line between the vigilante and the criminal, and the only thing that stops Batman from becoming the Joker is his moral code, and his unwillingness to kill. -And then you have Harvey Dent, the embodiment of both good and evil, as characterized by his Two-Face persona. The regular man who tries to do good within the limits of the law, but is beaten down, until he too decides to do evil. Or what about the fact that Joker thinks everyone is as evil as him, that they'll all kill if compelled and sink to his level? We see this in the scene with the two boats, one full of criminals, the other with "good, normal people" where each holds a detonator to blow up the other boat. The criminals, it turns out, aren't all pure evil, and the good, upstanding people, it turns out, have evil thoughts and would kill. But no one blows up the other boat, showing that the Joker's wrong: not everyone is like him. Harvey Dent falls victim to the Joker's evil, but Batman endures. -No other superhero movie has ever attempted to take on these themes (though all superheroes are vigilantes and live by their own sense of justice) except for The Dark Knight. This movie poses real questions and explores them with courage. It does things no superhero movie has done before. -Some didn't like the ending where Batman is on the run, yet, as a vigilante breaking the law, shouldn't (realistically) every superhero be on the run? And one of the greatest parts of this movie is how Batman becomes hated at the end: the movie argues that true heroism isn't glamorous like they show in movies, but about what's done in secret, what no one knows about. Batman sacrifices his own reputation so Harvey Dent can give all people hope in the law and the goodness of all normal human beings, not hope in grand superhero crime-fighters, like Batman himself. The movie debunks the very idea of the superhero, who does amazing feats in public, to the idea that greatness lies in us--normal people. It's not the superhero that's super, it's the regular people: that's the movie's message. -There's so much more to say, but this review's already too long. But does anyone else think that all these themes (and more) could've been explored in less 2 hours and 20 minutes? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielH.Aug 18, 2008
This Batman is, in my opinion, infinitely better than its predecessors. It is much more than a comic book movie and even delves into the basic laws of human nature and the consequences of actions. But, if you don't like to immerse This Batman is, in my opinion, infinitely better than its predecessors. It is much more than a comic book movie and even delves into the basic laws of human nature and the consequences of actions. But, if you don't like to immerse yourself in the human dilemma, just sit back and watch some awesome action sequences and Heath Ledger's best performance ever. I just want to go back and see it again. This is the best movie of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
THETRUTHAug 2, 2008
The only ones who have given this movie a low score are either picking the damn thing apart, not allowing themselves to be taken away by the scope and beauty of the film, or are not familiar with the Batman character and are totally missing The only ones who have given this movie a low score are either picking the damn thing apart, not allowing themselves to be taken away by the scope and beauty of the film, or are not familiar with the Batman character and are totally missing the point. TOO dark? TOO depressing? Please. This movie nails Batman's character, his morals, his frustrations, his burden perfectly. Ledger is wonderful as the Joker. Psychotic, maniacal, with a warped sense of humor. The Two Face character is developed in a manner where we can understand why he come to be a vengeful man on a killing spree. It makes sense, it works. Maybe it is a little long I'll admit, but never boring. Some people will just never be pleased. Do not listen to the people who say Batman's voice spoiled the movie. Or that they don't understand how the Joker kept escaping and was able to blow up so many things. Haha. Wow. Watch this movie. Great entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeSAug 2, 2008
Although a bit long (an attempt to address too many characters and plot lines), the movie was done very well. As for the criticism, I don't understand any of the complaints (all of which seem to lack any substantial supporting evidence, Although a bit long (an attempt to address too many characters and plot lines), the movie was done very well. As for the criticism, I don't understand any of the complaints (all of which seem to lack any substantial supporting evidence, and thus merit). There seems to be two common complaints: first, there seems to be issues with Batman's deep voice. This is a surprising criticism given that he used the same deep voice in Batman Begins. Second, people seemed to dislike the supernatural and unbelievable aspect of the film. This is very confusing criticism, since the film is based on a comic book. I guess if these are the best criticisms which people can throw at the movie, it must say something good about the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanUAug 2, 2008
Jacob G says, "Also if he would have killed Joker in the beginning he could have saved like 50 people. Batman lets his own personal heroics get in the way of saving people." Cripes, man! That is, in fact, the theme of the movie. They Jacob G says, "Also if he would have killed Joker in the beginning he could have saved like 50 people. Batman lets his own personal heroics get in the way of saving people." Cripes, man! That is, in fact, the theme of the movie. They explicitly state as much. Anyways... An all-around solid, engrossing and well-made film. Uniformly solid performances throughout. Yes, it's true, Ledger was awesome. Too bad he's gone, but he left on a high note. I did, however, have a couple of problems with this film: 1) It didn't feel extremely long. But, it did feel a little long. I think 15-20 minutes could have hit the floor without sacrificing the plot or pacing. 2) The whole cell phone-sonor thing kinda bugged me, both in concept and the visual effect. Then, at the end of the fight, Batman gets hit by the Joker cuz his "sonor vision" is still on? Sheesh, dude! Turn that stupid sonor-vision off when the guy's right in front of you! Ultimately, this is the comic book movie that raises the bar on what's possible with comic book movies. Watchmen, The Spirit, Iron Man II, Sin City II, Thor, Captain America...they all got their work cut out for them. Wanna see me make this pencil disappear? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OwenPAug 2, 2008
A dark film, but a great and memorable one at that. Unforgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MAug 21, 2008
Best Superhero movie by far. Amazing work. "Nonya Business gave it a1: Much worse than the first. Since when did Batman become hated and a villain?" Talking about not knowing a d*mn... Batman has never been loved in comic books. He's Best Superhero movie by far. Amazing work. "Nonya Business gave it a1: Much worse than the first. Since when did Batman become hated and a villain?" Talking about not knowing a d*mn... Batman has never been loved in comic books. He's even been prosecuted as a vigilante. Search information about Frank Miller's "The Dark Knight Returns". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JGAug 2, 2008
The title of this film is about the only thing that makes this a "Batman" movie. The Joker is without argue the star of this film. Heath deserves an Oscar for his incredible performance. There is virtually no trace of Mr. Ledger beneath the The title of this film is about the only thing that makes this a "Batman" movie. The Joker is without argue the star of this film. Heath deserves an Oscar for his incredible performance. There is virtually no trace of Mr. Ledger beneath the Joker's sadistic, etched in smile. Fans of the comic, and it's true darkness, can thank Nolan for bringing it to life in a manner that can be enjoyed by the casual movie go'er, ensuring that Frank Miller's efforts to bring the caped crusader back to his gritty roots weren't for naught. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeCAug 2, 2008
Best Batman movie by far...Best fare in the action genre this decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HolyMulroneycakesAug 25, 2008
You don't realize until you leave the theatre that this is probably the bleakest blockbuster ever made, with the Nolans and Goyer absolutely refusing to compromise the story. At least one, extremely tragic, thing happens in this that I You don't realize until you leave the theatre that this is probably the bleakest blockbuster ever made, with the Nolans and Goyer absolutely refusing to compromise the story. At least one, extremely tragic, thing happens in this that I was 100% certain would be prevented. The Joker's games are genuinely sadistic and often painful to watch. All in a summer blockbuster about a man in a cape. This is what Ang Lee tried to do with Hulk (but only got about 57% there) - make a superhero film that really IS a film. It helps that he's assembled a fantastic cast: Christian Bale as the first Welsh Batman, maybe overdoing the Bat-throatiness but the first one to properly brood since Michael Keaton (who to be fair was also the last one to have the opportunity); Sir Michael of Caine as a still pre-tache Alfred Pennyworth, finally coming across as the wise vizier from the comics; Morgan Freeman, who seems to an extent to be in there simply because he's Morgan Freeman and he rules, in the crucial role of Luicius Fox, finally bringing the dimension of Waynecorp into the movies properly; Aaron Eckhart, who has quietly rocked for years, who is even better as Harvey Dent than I thought he would be. WB were considering Justin Bleeding Timberlake for the role, you know. Then there's Maggie Gyllenhaal, who for the record is easily pretty enough with change, being both cute and strong as Rachel; Gary Oldman still stoic and principled as a young James Gordon (incidentally, since we saw his family in this one, anyone want to take odds on Sarah Essen appearing in the next one? And who could play her? Ellen Barkin might work). And Heath Ledger. Now, obviously objectivity is compromised when discussing his performance, but it is absolutely mesmerizing, and genuinely terrifying, and god damn it, just god DAMN it. In conclusion, Batman Begins was great. This is better, but much, much bleaker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaM.Aug 25, 2008
Quite easily the best film i have seen in years- or possibly one of the best films i have ever seen in my entire life. Going into the theater, i had every belief that it was going to be a lamo like the boring "Batman Begins", but wow was i Quite easily the best film i have seen in years- or possibly one of the best films i have ever seen in my entire life. Going into the theater, i had every belief that it was going to be a lamo like the boring "Batman Begins", but wow was i wrong. I ended up loving it so much, i went to see it three more times in theater. As of now, i have seen in a total of four times and look forward to seeing it again (hopefully at the IMAX! that would be spectacular). The movie itself is pure artistic genius. The beautifully epic shots- to the loud, heart racing music- to the fantastic acting from Freeman, to of course, the absolutely AMAZING Heath Ledger- the Joker as a character itself- the fantastic psychological depth required to watch the film- the one liners that make the film a classic "Die a hero, or live long enough to see yourself become the villain". All of this makes up for one hell of a good movie. I give it 10 stars- it's every bit deserving of a perfect score. The story was well-written, and instead of being your typical good vs. bad guy, they made it so much deeper and darker than that. The Joker was my favorite villain of all time. Heath Ledger awed me with how talented he is, he has an incredibly gifted mind. I have now seen him in other movies (Brokeback and 10 Things I Hate About You) and am just as impressed. But his hugest, most eerie role to date was the Joker and it will be in history as one of the most terrifyingly fantastic villains of all time. I absolutely loved it and when i went to the bathroom and missed a Joker scene, i was furious. He must be seen at all times, it's just that good. Christian Bale is a nice cleancut look for Batman. Though the husky disguised voice continues to anger some, i found it rather annoying at times, however it's understandable that Bruce Wayne must have a huskier, deeper voice to disguise himself as Batman. Michael Caine was a nice classic touch to the movie. Gary Oldman and Aaron Eckheart, also, shockingly surprised me with how well they acted. Morgan Freeman- well, loved him. And i actually loved the idea of Maggie Gyllenhall replacing Katie Holmes- i just don't think Holmes is a very good actress and comes across blah. The music was terrifying and heartpounding. The action scenes were ecstatic to watch- they were absolutely heart racing. I especially loved when the truck flipped over, and the Joker comes out shooting at everything saying "C'mon hit me hit me." It was terrific. Overall, such a job well done. Christopher Nolan- my hat tops off to you. You are quite the director with completely erasing the label "comic book" or "superhero movie" and replacing it with "crime/thriller" or "an epic". Job well done. Fantastic movie. I loved it. My number one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbdulM.Aug 25, 2008
Amazing. Everything you'd want from a blockbuster movie. Great script, unbelievable acting. Awesome cinematography. Movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AloiseAug 3, 2008
Oh my gosh this movie is really a ten but I just want to say why I didn't give it a ten. It was so long I couldn't stay to see the end...I was mad. But it took me five extra minutes to get out of the theatre. I even walked out of Oh my gosh this movie is really a ten but I just want to say why I didn't give it a ten. It was so long I couldn't stay to see the end...I was mad. But it took me five extra minutes to get out of the theatre. I even walked out of the theatre and then came back in to give it a little more time. It has stories in it, the Joker had a story, Batman had a story, Gordon and others. I mean it was a collaboration that brought the world of a super hero into play. It is not going to be all white...it will be dark. It makes you appreciate this real world we live it. I loved it...I will buy it as a trophie. You know what...it's at ten!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonBAug 3, 2008
Ledger's performance alone makes the movie worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BoomS.Aug 3, 2008
Great action but got a bit boring and lost focus. Ledger good .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JumyC.Aug 4, 2008
This movie is worth to watch the 2nd time. I missed the connection in lots of places because I was focusing on the action scenes. When i watch the 2nd time, everything tides together so nicely and i am amazed that how well the script is This movie is worth to watch the 2nd time. I missed the connection in lots of places because I was focusing on the action scenes. When i watch the 2nd time, everything tides together so nicely and i am amazed that how well the script is written. The only downside is, this movie is a bit too long. And the female lead is not pretty lol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleSAug 5, 2008
One of the best movies I have ever seen along with THE BEST acting I have ever seen from the joker of course. Anybody that gave this movie less than a 8 deserves a pencil slammed into there eye. Collin C your an idiot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewA.Aug 6, 2008
Very well done if just a touch too long. Overall, no complaints though. A marked improvement over the already solid Batman Begins. Ledger was, as pretty much everyone else has said, amazing and it makes you that much more sad that he is Very well done if just a touch too long. Overall, no complaints though. A marked improvement over the already solid Batman Begins. Ledger was, as pretty much everyone else has said, amazing and it makes you that much more sad that he is gone. As for the negative reviews, nothing is really valid or makes much sense. The Salon.com critic is notoriously bad, giving ridiculous popcorn and chick flicks good reviews, and more thoughtful films that require patience bad reviews (Wall-E and There Will Be Blood to name a few). Don't listen to the naysayers and go see this film. Most people won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeAug 6, 2008
A great movie that is so dark it's black, oozing with darkness. Nonetheless, superior acting led by the incomparable Christian Bale and Heath Ledger; incredible directing and writing; and amazing cinematography. Just an all-around A great movie that is so dark it's black, oozing with darkness. Nonetheless, superior acting led by the incomparable Christian Bale and Heath Ledger; incredible directing and writing; and amazing cinematography. Just an all-around awesome movie. Highly recommended for at least one viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankieCSep 10, 2008
best movie of the new millennium. with good twist and turn, good storyline and a very convincing sadistic role portrayed for the joker. i really feel its a shame that some critics have a little or no good taste to give this movie a lower best movie of the new millennium. with good twist and turn, good storyline and a very convincing sadistic role portrayed for the joker. i really feel its a shame that some critics have a little or no good taste to give this movie a lower rating just because its a comic book movie. and some viewer shouldn't watch this movie if they don't understand the story and go off saying its a horrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GiannisK.Sep 12, 2008
It's one of the best films I've watched in years... I must say I was a little diffident before watching it cause I thought that the whole dithyramb thing came as a result of Heath Ledger' death... But,well,I was completely It's one of the best films I've watched in years... I must say I was a little diffident before watching it cause I thought that the whole dithyramb thing came as a result of Heath Ledger' death... But,well,I was completely wrong!! You extremely rarely watch a movie that keeps your heart beating through every minute... I just didn't realize how the 150 minutes have passed.. What can I say about the performances?? They were all stunning,especially Ledger's Joker which I must admit is the best villain I've watched in years.. Chilling tragic and hilarious at the same time... Hands down Oscar worthing!! So so so bad he passed he passed out so young.. He was extremely talented and we would wait huge things from him.. Pitty! Anyway,I was also impressed by Eckhart's performance.. He approached precisely the character the authors had created: disturbing but also sympathetic (mostly because of the whole Rachel's loss thing). Just an underrated performance because of,you know, Ledger's hurricane!! Bale and Caine Had a magnificent chemistry the way you think they're friends beside the movie.. Gyllenhaal made also a satisfactory performance (miles better than Holmes!).. In generally this movie I have the impression that is the movie of the year.. And it has to.. You know it totally changed from now on the term Superhero movies. How difficult the work for the following ones!!!!! 10 out of 10! ps. Sorry for my English,I'm a Greek guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanP.Sep 13, 2008
The film was a powerhouse, and kept me in my chair up till the last scene. Heath Ledger was absolutely amazing as the Joker, to whom he adds an entirely unique chemistry that just fits with the movie. Maggie Gyllenhaal, whose acting is The film was a powerhouse, and kept me in my chair up till the last scene. Heath Ledger was absolutely amazing as the Joker, to whom he adds an entirely unique chemistry that just fits with the movie. Maggie Gyllenhaal, whose acting is better than average, could not even doom this film with her pan-face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VigneshK.Sep 14, 2008
Excellent movie... worth seeing for any money.... Heath Ledger must at least get an Oscar nomination for this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaelD.Sep 15, 2008
One of the best super-heroes movies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewZSep 8, 2008
Heath ledger made this movie what it is....very good job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillKJan 10, 2009
Truly a great piece of entertainment... action and a good story line, plus really good acting. Especially good acting by Heath Ledger. And the muscles on Christian Bale... would make any man envious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngeloMJan 1, 2009
Epic. This spectacular performance can and will not be duplicated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
robertiJan 19, 2009
It's Ledger, and what a performance--with an Al Franken voice inside that mask, to boot. Bale lives up to the histrionics too. But so dark, so dark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
adityamDec 10, 2009
There are some movies that I cannot help but admire in front of others. But there are only a limited number of movies among them that I am ready to watch at any given mood of mine, that I really admire. The Dark Knight is definitely one of There are some movies that I cannot help but admire in front of others. But there are only a limited number of movies among them that I am ready to watch at any given mood of mine, that I really admire. The Dark Knight is definitely one of them, and Heath Ledger's performance played a huge role for that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JDJan 23, 2009
Such a great movie, it goes way beyond all other comic book films. It is long but I never want it to end whenever I watch it. Performances are great, and obviously Heath is incredible. The technical production of this film is great, as is Such a great movie, it goes way beyond all other comic book films. It is long but I never want it to end whenever I watch it. Performances are great, and obviously Heath is incredible. The technical production of this film is great, as is the script. It's an exciting but emotionally deep film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful