Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 4795 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,333
Mixed:
185
Negative:
277
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JaneA.Jan 25, 2009
For a blockbuster movie, this is one of the few I highly revere. Though very long, I hardly noticed how long I had been sitting in the theatre and almost wanted it to continue. Action-packed and fun, it makes for a great thrill. But at the For a blockbuster movie, this is one of the few I highly revere. Though very long, I hardly noticed how long I had been sitting in the theatre and almost wanted it to continue. Action-packed and fun, it makes for a great thrill. But at the same time, Heath Ledger owned the screen. Aside from the bias raised with the heartbreak of his death, his performance was undoubtably the most involved and skilled fathomable, and worthy of an Oscar. His death only makes the movie all the more tragic. I highly encourage everyone to see this to really respect the acting ability of such a man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveHDec 7, 2009
The movie is good, indeed, but 2 and a half hours may be too long, to say the truth when something interesting and/or full of action happened, there was a 40 minutes gap until another scene like this happened.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JSDec 9, 2009
Great acting, great message, great atmosphere, great writing. The only reason why you wouldn't like this movie is because you misconstrued it as a 'super hero movie' (is The Godfather a "shoot 'em up"?), didn't see Great acting, great message, great atmosphere, great writing. The only reason why you wouldn't like this movie is because you misconstrued it as a 'super hero movie' (is The Godfather a "shoot 'em up"?), didn't see the first one, and let's add "completely out of touch" to that list. No, you can't do better than this movie. If you want to say people liked this movie because Heath Ledger died, go right ahead. But when I heard he was cast as The Joker I was very upset; "The guy from Brokeback Mountain?! The Joker?!" But he does a phenomenal job. This movie is one of the most logical you'll ever find near the action genre; just about everything they feature is plausible. The Fulton surface to air Recovery system, for example. How can you not like a movie that thinks about what its doing? Its extremely rare. If you like depth, or just great movies, you'll like this movie. That's all there is to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MajorMJan 3, 2009
Great overall movie but i thought that Heath Ledger made this movie what it was, and it is not because he passed it is because he really put alot of effort and time in this role and i think he deserves an oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinW.Jan 6, 2009
Near-perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FbFbFeb 13, 2009
This is easily the best batman movie by far with spectular action and a well acted cast every actor and actress in this movie delivered. My only problems were that they should have left twoface for the next movie and the fact that movie was This is easily the best batman movie by far with spectular action and a well acted cast every actor and actress in this movie delivered. My only problems were that they should have left twoface for the next movie and the fact that movie was fifteen mins to long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tharsoeFeb 22, 2009
wow, I can't believe the audacity of some people to rate this film anything less than an 8.
This film is the best film of 2008 and by far one of the best film of the 21st century.. It may not be one's definition of "art" but
wow, I can't believe the audacity of some people to rate this film anything less than an 8.
This film is the best film of 2008 and by far one of the best film of the 21st century.. It may not be one's definition of "art" but it's as close as a movie will get. Ledger's performance was mind blowing. "slumdog", "curious case", "frost/nixon" , for example, are all lovely, but none of them especially "slumdog millionaire" , are as memorable as 'The Dark Knight'.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnHendricksFeb 7, 2009
This movie is in a tie being the best film of the year(along with Slumdog Millionaire). This movie should have been nominated for best picture. The oscars are pathetic for nominating the Reader over The Dark Knight. This is a movie I couldThis movie is in a tie being the best film of the year(along with Slumdog Millionaire). This movie should have been nominated for best picture. The oscars are pathetic for nominating the Reader over The Dark Knight. This is a movie I could have seen over and over at the theaters and still not get tired with it. This was sad, but a great film. Great acting, musical score, special affects, synomatogrophy, and more. As much as I loved Batman Begins, this film trounces that in contrast. What a shame Heath Ledger died. He was such a splendid actor. Maggie Gyllenhaal, Christian Bale, Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, and Aaron Eckhart were also flawless actors. The new Rachel had rather small shoes to fill from the first Rachel, but she was a good actress. See the Dark Knight! Also Slumdog Millionaire! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MihaiBMar 17, 2009
With "The Dark Knight," all previous big-screen incarnations of the caped crusader
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EmericMar 22, 2009
It's a good movie, but there are things I don't like in it. I can't put my finger on what it is. It's probably the whole thing with the sonar-thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonLMay 16, 2009
Name-dropping Ozu (who made the same movie over and over again) or Tarkovsky does not make you better than the people who appreciate this fine piece of pop art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleRJun 19, 2009
This movie was astounding. But, I would not agree that it is THE best movie ever made, nor would I agree that it ws not good. In fact, I would nto even give it average reviews. It was very, very good. It was dark, compelling, and at times This movie was astounding. But, I would not agree that it is THE best movie ever made, nor would I agree that it ws not good. In fact, I would nto even give it average reviews. It was very, very good. It was dark, compelling, and at times incredibly moving. My one problem was, as with most of my favorite movies, it is a tad bit too long. Now, the fisrt and second times I watch them, i do not mind, but, after that, they start to cause me to fall asleep, even though I am still enjoying them. So, yes, this movie was overwhelmingly good, just, take my advise, do NOT watch it multiple times over a short time period. Take your time, and enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
codyJun 23, 2009
This movie changed my life! I was about to jump off of a tower, but i heard about this film, watched it, and now im still like here. ya know?! Dark Knight is so awesome. thank you batman. i heart you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesKJul 15, 2009
Action packed. Amazing performance by Heath Ledger. Cool beyond cool. That's why I loved it. But I can fully understand why someone would not enjoy such a dark film, where law enforcement is a joke and every person is an arse, oh except Action packed. Amazing performance by Heath Ledger. Cool beyond cool. That's why I loved it. But I can fully understand why someone would not enjoy such a dark film, where law enforcement is a joke and every person is an arse, oh except for that one guy who gets driven insane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosFJul 18, 2009
Nolan has made Batman plausible. And this seriousness makes him capable of creating an outstanding movie. If the first one was very good, this one was incredibly amazing. Each scene, each dialogue, each detail make us enter Gotham City and Nolan has made Batman plausible. And this seriousness makes him capable of creating an outstanding movie. If the first one was very good, this one was incredibly amazing. Each scene, each dialogue, each detail make us enter Gotham City and forget our world. I dont think it's too long. Actually, I wanted more :( Well, this an unforgettable movie. The best Bat-movie, the best movie of that year, the best and darker thriller ever made and one of the best movies ever made. 10 is not enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HelpUJul 19, 2009
Everything is absolutely awesome about this movie in theaters. I thought it was good enough to see it 3 times, but when I rented the dvd it just wasn't the same... Even if you have a home theater system. I thought it felt too different.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinJul 27, 2009
Without a doubt, the greatest movie of all time. Amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesHJul 30, 2009
The people giving this film bad reviews probably don't like good Entertainment. They probably are over analytical people that take themselves and others too seriously. It's entertainment do yourself a favor and go back to watching The people giving this film bad reviews probably don't like good Entertainment. They probably are over analytical people that take themselves and others too seriously. It's entertainment do yourself a favor and go back to watching Pans Labyrinth. Which was really trash. Talk about over hype. Losers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickGAug 19, 2009
I don't relly enjoy the plot for batman films-I personally find them a bit boring.But I enjoyed this film-definately better than the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ByronL.Sep 2, 2009
This is probably not going to be the be all end all of comic-book movies or even super-hero movies. I don't like Nolan's' direction(or maybe it's the editing of the film). more often than not he(Nolan) has crippled a damn This is probably not going to be the be all end all of comic-book movies or even super-hero movies. I don't like Nolan's' direction(or maybe it's the editing of the film). more often than not he(Nolan) has crippled a damn fine performance by Ledger with his incessant cutting and not having the camera aimed at him(Ledger). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TobbeJan 13, 2010
How can anybody that calls himself a movie lover givie thid movie under 80/100? This movie is great. I mean 50?! Really?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScraglowworstreviewereverNov 14, 2008
Once again Michael scraglow is on the bottom for low vote against a good movie. Why in hell does this guy still have a job as a professional critic, he's completely clueless. He's given some of the best movies out there horrible Once again Michael scraglow is on the bottom for low vote against a good movie. Why in hell does this guy still have a job as a professional critic, he's completely clueless. He's given some of the best movies out there horrible ratings and then given complete stinkers high scores. He's like a crap barometer, if Scraglow likes it, then it's crap, complete and utter fly infested maggot ridden crap. Batman was great by the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KPNov 23, 2008
The single best Comic book movie ever made. I often feel that metacrtic scores are off. And 82 is definitely low. There simply isn't a weak spot in this film. Heath is amazing. The writing and story are great. The score is fabulous. The The single best Comic book movie ever made. I often feel that metacrtic scores are off. And 82 is definitely low. There simply isn't a weak spot in this film. Heath is amazing. The writing and story are great. The score is fabulous. The film has many of the intangibles that make a movie great. Any fan of Batman will be thrilled. Scratch that, any fan of the action genre will love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SunshineW.Dec 11, 2008
Excellent film! i understand why some people weren't "wowed" by it but there is no logical reason for why people are giving ratings of 0!! It seems that for some people if a film is even slightly disappointing then they say its sh*t!!! Excellent film! i understand why some people weren't "wowed" by it but there is no logical reason for why people are giving ratings of 0!! It seems that for some people if a film is even slightly disappointing then they say its sh*t!!! These peoples opinions are totally invalid! Idiots!! From a creative point of view this film was spectacular. All the acting was very strong. Christian Bale can act......he puts on the gruff monotone when he's as Batman so people don't recognize his voice. All the people complaining about his voice in this film obviously didn't think of that! Idiots (again)! And yes of course Heath Ledger was brilliant. Great film! ps. Paulio G - "Over the top story" !!!! you do realize that this is a comic book adaptation yeah? It is a fantasy film, i think that you are somewhat expected to suspend your belief before watching! Its not a documentary!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColeF.Dec 11, 2008
This movie is a thrill ride start to finish and Heath Ledger's performance is enough to make the movie a 10. But don't forget all the other excellent things in the movie, with awesome action and impeccable story "The Dark Night" is This movie is a thrill ride start to finish and Heath Ledger's performance is enough to make the movie a 10. But don't forget all the other excellent things in the movie, with awesome action and impeccable story "The Dark Night" is the best of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.K.Dec 12, 2008
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielW.Dec 14, 2008
Heath Ledger's acting makes this film. It is the greatest comic to film transition ever, it really does create a whole new film franchise that separates it from the dull and camp batman films of yesteryear.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VincentDec 20, 2008
A great movie all around and the end is superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jackiemDec 25, 2008
this is my favourite movie i would watch it every single day if i could.heath ledger did a phenominal job for a last performance.may he rest in peace
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattBDec 26, 2008
The greatest entertainment epic in the history of everything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshyJDec 29, 2008
this is one movie which no comic lover should miss irrespective of who ever may be his or her favourite character. After watching the Movie u would know why i mean it. My Favourite until i watched Batman Begins was He-man and Superman and this is one movie which no comic lover should miss irrespective of who ever may be his or her favourite character. After watching the Movie u would know why i mean it. My Favourite until i watched Batman Begins was He-man and Superman and then batman, but after Batman Begins i started to like the character and after watching THE DARK KNIGHT, i had no option left but to admire and respect the character by the way it was portrayed...Hats off to Nolan and Keith and also Bale. All in all Wonderful Movie and i am glad that i was the first one to watch it 8 times in IMAX in my city and the first one to have the Blu-Ray Disc in the Office and City. i feel so proud of it too. Hats off the entire Production. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulRDec 31, 2008
I am going to be the first one to say, "How could anyone hate this film"? I mean yes it is a little long, but it has the intelligence to keep it interesting. The joker does steal the show, but offers a point of view that needs to be I am going to be the first one to say, "How could anyone hate this film"? I mean yes it is a little long, but it has the intelligence to keep it interesting. The joker does steal the show, but offers a point of view that needs to be embraced, and not ignored. If anyone ever read the newer comic adaptations of Batman, than this is a dream come true. It is a very tragic comic, and the Joker and Batman are dark disturbing characters just like in the film. Christopher Nolan is a godsend to this franchise, giving it heart and soul. Finally, comic book films can be art, plus win academy awards in major catergories. Isn't that what comic fans have wanted for years for their favorite books being brought to screen and being so respected? My one problem with the Dark Knight is Bale. He is so dry and wooden. The Jokers plot is the whole plot of movie. His story is the driving force in the Dark Knight. Everyone loves the Joker more than Batman because he has no limits, no rules. That is why this will be the best film in the series. As for plot holes, every arrogant person thinks they see them, beleive me I went to film school. Some people can't just accept some things the way they are without trying to be the next Roger Ebert, or a lesser Roeper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OranLDec 30, 2008
Heath Ledger gives the most stunning performance of his career.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulLahaieDec 4, 2008
Heath Ledger was the best part of this movie, bar none. The first 3/4 of the movie are definitely enjoyable, but beyond that? It drags like it has an anchor on it, which is a shame. Of course if the joker made more appearances in the latterHeath Ledger was the best part of this movie, bar none. The first 3/4 of the movie are definitely enjoyable, but beyond that? It drags like it has an anchor on it, which is a shame. Of course if the joker made more appearances in the latter scenes, it would have most certainly validated them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StevenG.Dec 9, 2008
Good movie, but overrated. As many before me have stated, Heather Ledger was great. The cinematography and music are great. The first thirty minutes are fantastic, but the film gets caught up in minutae and too many plot threads, namely the Good movie, but overrated. As many before me have stated, Heather Ledger was great. The cinematography and music are great. The first thirty minutes are fantastic, but the film gets caught up in minutae and too many plot threads, namely the Two-Face/Harvey Dent character. This film could have been simplified, and would have thus been more satisfying. I dig the ambition a lot, don't get me wrong. But this is not the best superhero movie ever made. Don't ask me what is--I think they're all pretty flawed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateO.Jul 13, 2008
Nolan is a brilliant film maker, this is the best batman yet. If the academy doesn't recognize this work of art for best supporting actor or best picture, then the academy doesn't know movies at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdgarR.Jul 15, 2008
Incredible!... the best movie I've seen this year and one of the best I've seen in my life... The cast is just perfect.. Christian Bale is the amazing as Batman... and Heath Ledger is perfect as The Joker... Unfortunately some Incredible!... the best movie I've seen this year and one of the best I've seen in my life... The cast is just perfect.. Christian Bale is the amazing as Batman... and Heath Ledger is perfect as The Joker... Unfortunately some "reviewers" say this is too sadistic.. It is not sadistic.. It's a Masterpiece! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilM.Jul 15, 2008
The "New Yorker" and "New York Magazine" have no clue what they're talking about. They're whinging losers that complain "oh it's too dark, I'm a wuss". It's brilliance is in it's dark theme! I think it should be The "New Yorker" and "New York Magazine" have no clue what they're talking about. They're whinging losers that complain "oh it's too dark, I'm a wuss". It's brilliance is in it's dark theme! I think it should be even darker. See this movie, it's just incredible. I couldn't criticise anything in it, and I'm a very critical person. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Jul 15, 2008
The best of the best of superhero comic book of all time. The Story is moving and the actions scenes were superb. This is like a epic drama Action movie. All of that combined together. Heath Ledger, you will be missed. For those of you give The best of the best of superhero comic book of all time. The Story is moving and the actions scenes were superb. This is like a epic drama Action movie. All of that combined together. Heath Ledger, you will be missed. For those of you give this a 4 or less, then to hell with you. You like doing this for fun or i suggest you guy are sick in mind and evil. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlastairG.Jul 16, 2008
Absolutely superb. This is the real Batman and Joker come to life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJul 16, 2008
Just saw the sneak preview. It was everything I hoped for and more. The darkness and complexity of the movie was exhausting, but in an amazing way. You can not compare this movie to other super hero movies because it redefines what a super Just saw the sneak preview. It was everything I hoped for and more. The darkness and complexity of the movie was exhausting, but in an amazing way. You can not compare this movie to other super hero movies because it redefines what a super hero is. Heath Ledger is absolutely, terrifyingly evil and Aaron Eckhart does an incredible job with his character too. NOT a family movie, but if you enjoy intense movies, then you will love The Dark Knight for its uninhibited vision of chaos and insanity in the world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenK.Jul 16, 2008
Best comic book movie of all time. Wow. The Dark Knight will make you think about life a little harder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanP.Jul 16, 2008
Easily one of the best movies of the summer. The performance given by Heath Ledger is unbelievable. I have never seen another actor portray a character so intense, chilling and psychotic the way Heath portrayed The Joker. Along with Bale, Easily one of the best movies of the summer. The performance given by Heath Ledger is unbelievable. I have never seen another actor portray a character so intense, chilling and psychotic the way Heath portrayed The Joker. Along with Bale, Oldman, Freeman, and the rest of the cast, the performances are superb. Maggie is a nice step up from Katie Holmes. Director Christopher Nolan takes the criticisms from Batman Begins, corrects them, and makes the sequel nearly flawless. Oscar nomination for Heath? Absolutely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoesphK.Jul 17, 2008
Almost perfect. Better than Batman Begins, and in my opinion, the best comic book movie to this day.. The Dark Knight brings a new grit, thrill, and disturbing sadism to the childish world of batman. A true Hamlet of our time that left me Almost perfect. Better than Batman Begins, and in my opinion, the best comic book movie to this day.. The Dark Knight brings a new grit, thrill, and disturbing sadism to the childish world of batman. A true Hamlet of our time that left me thinking about how much I really did like this movie for days on end. Director Nolan, and Actors Heath Ledger, Christian Bale, and Aaron Eckhart have done something that I consider to be one of the greatest compliments for Comic book adaptations. They made it feel real. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Ville-P.Jul 17, 2008
Best Batman- and superhero-movie ever, as also one of the best crime-thrillers of it's kind. Heath Ledger shines, and the rest of the cast is tremendous also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaraJul 17, 2008
Heath is amazing, the film's brilliance lies with Heath's wonderfully wicked and malevolent joker who captures the audience's attention from the word go. There are also stellar performances from the other actors, who really Heath is amazing, the film's brilliance lies with Heath's wonderfully wicked and malevolent joker who captures the audience's attention from the word go. There are also stellar performances from the other actors, who really nail their roles. However, there is something truly haunting and mesmerizing about the Joker, Heath really immersed himself in this role. It was wonderful! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewB.Jul 18, 2008
The Dark Knight evokes everything you could want from any movie, not just a comic book movie. Is it the best comic book movie ever made? Yes. Emphatically yes! Is it the best movie ever made? It certainly ranks up in my top 5. Whether you The Dark Knight evokes everything you could want from any movie, not just a comic book movie. Is it the best comic book movie ever made? Yes. Emphatically yes! Is it the best movie ever made? It certainly ranks up in my top 5. Whether you are watching Heath's Joker (and you could easily be forgiven that you are watching Heath ... his performance is so good), Harvey Dent's transformation from White Knight to a monster, or Gary Oldman's portrayal of an infallible cop that seems to be fighting a losing battle, you will find your self amazed, in love and ultimately overjoyed by the attention to detail and the skill of the actors playing all the parts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanA.Jul 18, 2008
This was by far the best movie of 2008. Maybe one of the best I've ever seen. I just loved it. The Joker was better than ever, and was so convincing. Everyone needs to go see this, I was in the FRONT row because there were so many This was by far the best movie of 2008. Maybe one of the best I've ever seen. I just loved it. The Joker was better than ever, and was so convincing. Everyone needs to go see this, I was in the FRONT row because there were so many people, and I still couldn't take my eyes off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyS.Jul 18, 2008
A Cinematic Orgasm!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaG.Jul 18, 2008
This movie was amazing, and RIP to Heath Ledger who really played an Oscar deserving role!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jul 18, 2008
This movie is nothing short of brilliant. What else can I say? It's too bad that the rating system here only goes to 10, because this is, at least, an 11.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HkajshdD.Jul 18, 2008
Does anyone else agree that The Joker is easily the most hateable, but likable villain? He's pretty sweet, but I just hate him. Great movie, saw it already, seeing it again tonight. It should be awesome!(again)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IzzyR.Jul 18, 2008
The Dark Knight is one of the best crime movies ever, it never lets up. The best comic book movie I've ever seen. The characters are top notch, and Heath Ledger as the Joker deserves an oscar for his role. See it in I Max if you can.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickWJul 18, 2008
"Epic" indeed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TelyS.Jul 18, 2008
Note to soccer moms: Leave your rug-rats at home, this ain't no kids movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackJul 18, 2008
I must say it was better than I thought it would be. No one mentioned the correlation between Batman and Joker. The Joker was stating it right in the movie that Batman is in many ways like the Joker. Also, they showed how people will blame I must say it was better than I thought it would be. No one mentioned the correlation between Batman and Joker. The Joker was stating it right in the movie that Batman is in many ways like the Joker. Also, they showed how people will blame you or throw you away once your done doing them a favor. It's very interesting all the messages that were written into the story. Very well done. Appreciate what the Joker says in the movie when you go back and watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottS.Jul 18, 2008
This movie is great, keeping your attention for over 2 hours. Heath Ledger by far was the best performance in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lopezn.Jul 18, 2008
Well let's face the truth about this movie.... Some people might be really crazy for these and some people are just disapointed... well for the last of these I can only say that I don't know what kind of movie are they expecting it Well let's face the truth about this movie.... Some people might be really crazy for these and some people are just disapointed... well for the last of these I can only say that I don't know what kind of movie are they expecting it to be, of course if you go to see the dark knight you are searching to see an action movie (for me the best action movie of the year). I respect other people reviews and of course everybody can have different points of view.. Heath was the greatest joker of all and christian Bale is truly the best batman in my opinion, the history 4 a superhero movie is great and may be u get a little tired with the 2:30 minutes but at least for me it worth it every second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanM.Jul 18, 2008
Masterpeice. Brilliant. Amazing. Can't wait to see it again! You will not be dissapointed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Jul 18, 2008
This movie was a masterpeice. Hands down. It may not be the best choice for a kid like me, every single part of this movie was phenomenal. It couldn't have been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewMJul 18, 2008
Masterpiece. Ledger is brilliant, Bale delivers another good performance, and the Caine/Freeman combo continues to deliver strong support. Intense action, introspection, and realistic parallels are all strengths this movie possesses, with Masterpiece. Ledger is brilliant, Bale delivers another good performance, and the Caine/Freeman combo continues to deliver strong support. Intense action, introspection, and realistic parallels are all strengths this movie possesses, with relatively microscopic flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShardM.Jul 18, 2008
This is by far the best hero film I have watched, EVER! I can't stand siting in one place for a short period of time, I get antsy when watching a 30 minute TV show. But this movie had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Some This is by far the best hero film I have watched, EVER! I can't stand siting in one place for a short period of time, I get antsy when watching a 30 minute TV show. But this movie had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Some people said this movie was too long, I disagree. AND the only reason the "Critic" rating is SOOO low, especially compared with user's rating is because a few critics did nothing but bash this movie just for fun. Come on, the "Wall Street Journal"? Like they're a creditable source for a movie review! This movie exceed all of my expectations! Nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ForrestP.Jul 18, 2008
There are few movies that actually follow through on their claims to keep you holding on to the edge of your seat throughout. Not only was I gripping to my seat because of the anticipation of what was to come, but holding on with excitement There are few movies that actually follow through on their claims to keep you holding on to the edge of your seat throughout. Not only was I gripping to my seat because of the anticipation of what was to come, but holding on with excitement that finally a hollywood movie combined a good script with superb acting. That doesn't happen to often, but when it does. WOW! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusA.Jul 18, 2008
This was the best film so far of 2008, and deserves its rightful place on the Top 250 list. Every minute of this movie is done to perfection, go see it immediately!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregM.Jul 18, 2008
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JWJul 18, 2008
Nolan and Ledger do a great job with the Joker. Dont be mistaken by the title, this movie should have been named The Joker. He is chaos and apathy with cunning and intellect. He has the heroes chasing their tail throughout the entire movie. Nolan and Ledger do a great job with the Joker. Dont be mistaken by the title, this movie should have been named The Joker. He is chaos and apathy with cunning and intellect. He has the heroes chasing their tail throughout the entire movie. Batman should be happy to have such a nemisis. The question is where do they take the franchise from here? The Joker is still alive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CooperZ.Jul 18, 2008
A movie that really puts you on the edge of the seat, at least for the first part of the movie, then it begins to drag out. The whole movie was depressing, Heath was a great actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FabianR.Jul 18, 2008
Excellence in film making and acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayeJul 18, 2008
The Dark Knight ~ Jayism Review Where do we begin? Ah yes, my review for a comic book movie that is a sequel to another movie that I loved backed in 2005. This is my first review in a very long time, I hate not written all the movies I see The Dark Knight ~ Jayism Review Where do we begin? Ah yes, my review for a comic book movie that is a sequel to another movie that I loved backed in 2005. This is my first review in a very long time, I hate not written all the movies I see as reviews but that Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Jul 19, 2008
Freaking Amazing! Heath Ledger was fantastic as the Joker. Definitely a new addition to my favorite movies list. A definite must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillL.Jul 19, 2008
If you are going to see one movie this year, then you better make this your best bet. If you thought the new Hulk and Iron Man comic adaption was good, wait until you see this one. The writers were extremely clever, from small jokes from the If you are going to see one movie this year, then you better make this your best bet. If you thought the new Hulk and Iron Man comic adaption was good, wait until you see this one. The writers were extremely clever, from small jokes from the Joker now and then to the jump-outta-your-seat intense moments. The actors did an amazing job that lost none of the good writing in the transition. Heath Ledger should definately get the first posthumous Oscar for his amazing job. It is a little violent, and a PG-13 might be too kind of a rating, but none of the violence was over used, and all of it felt like it should be there. There is honestly no reason not to watch this (tip: buy tickets online if you can and arrive early to wait in line, you're gonna have a hard time finding tickets and seats if you don't come prepared). If you haven't watched this yet, I don't know why you are here, just go watch it already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HandleA.Jul 19, 2008
Notice anyone that rates this low either says "it was too long" or they try to compare it so Burton's Batman and this Joker to Burton's Joker. It is funny and sounds like a broken record. You guys miss the point, have bad taste, Notice anyone that rates this low either says "it was too long" or they try to compare it so Burton's Batman and this Joker to Burton's Joker. It is funny and sounds like a broken record. You guys miss the point, have bad taste, and need to take some ADD mediciine because you obviously have problems. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanD.Jul 19, 2008
From the opening bank heist to the final line of voice over, this movie will enthrall you. Ledger's Joker is as masterful as all the reviews and hype have said, and it is his movie every moment he is on the screen. Strong acting across From the opening bank heist to the final line of voice over, this movie will enthrall you. Ledger's Joker is as masterful as all the reviews and hype have said, and it is his movie every moment he is on the screen. Strong acting across the board, sharp writing, and explosive action make this a film for the ages. I will be going back to see it again it theaters, and if you have yet to see it - go! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JenniferR.Jul 19, 2008
The movie was spectacular, and Heath Ledger's performance was the best part of it. He truly made the film for me, and I found myself hoping he'd be in the next scene. How sad that he's not around to enjoy the accolades The movie was spectacular, and Heath Ledger's performance was the best part of it. He truly made the film for me, and I found myself hoping he'd be in the next scene. How sad that he's not around to enjoy the accolades he's receiving. The only thing I found unlikeable in this movie was Christian Bale's overly raspy voice when he was in the guise of Batman. Other than this, the film was almost perfect. Completely lived up to the hype for me. I'll be seeing it again very soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieF.Jul 19, 2008
I don't care much for heath ledger but the joker role he played was excellent. It was a smart movie with many plot twists and turns. It's batman, but in the 21st century so its much more gruesome and comparable to today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoC.Jul 19, 2008
I watched it yesterday and I want to watch it again, it's that good. This is without a doubt the best movie of the year and the best comic book movie ever made. Forget Spiderman, X-men or even the previous installment of this franchise. I watched it yesterday and I want to watch it again, it's that good. This is without a doubt the best movie of the year and the best comic book movie ever made. Forget Spiderman, X-men or even the previous installment of this franchise. Moreover, the quality of this movie, especially Heath Legder's acting, transcends the genre and truly makes it an instant classic for me. It is a disturbing movie true, but that is what this kind of movie needs to make it come alive. The only shame is that we will never be able to see Heath Ledger perform as the Joker again...and once you see the movie you will understand just what a real loss that is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJul 19, 2008
Without a doubt the best Batman movie. Without a doubt the best Joker. Hollywood finally got it right on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonA.Jul 19, 2008
Great Movie.... Heath Ledger definitely took the Joker to a new level...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoseQ.Jul 19, 2008
Must see, excellent is every way possible, definitely not your typical shallow, dumbed-down action film, better than the first, best movie of the year so far, and I am willing to bet that at the end of the year, it will be the best one of 2008.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamuelJ.Jul 19, 2008
The Dark Knight is not only the best superhero movie to date, but it is also a great flick in general. Its dark and thrilling atmosphere and its mastery of suspense aren't all the movie offers, as it also showcases terror-iffic The Dark Knight is not only the best superhero movie to date, but it is also a great flick in general. Its dark and thrilling atmosphere and its mastery of suspense aren't all the movie offers, as it also showcases terror-iffic performances from all the cast (especially Heath Ledger and Aaron Eckhart). Finally a Batman movie that perfectly portrays the comic. Batman Begins was close, but The Dark Knight hits the bullseye. I held off on a 10/10, because, although it is superb, it does have a few flaws. Most of which are minor, such as being a bit too long with some scenes that just feel pointless. But overlooking this diamonds slight imperfections, I can honestly say this is the best movie I have seen in a long time (yes, including you Iron Man). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CesarS.Jul 19, 2008
It's the best movie based in a comic, simply amazing The Joker is the best, I don't care about Batman, the Joker is now my new hero. This movie is intense, very violent, sick, I was so scared watching it, 100% adrenaline, you must It's the best movie based in a comic, simply amazing The Joker is the best, I don't care about Batman, the Joker is now my new hero. This movie is intense, very violent, sick, I was so scared watching it, 100% adrenaline, you must watch this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulJ.Jul 19, 2008
Really Good, lived up to all the hype. Just relly sad that we wont see Heath Ledger in the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimboH.Jul 19, 2008
Impressive in every way. Fixes all the faults that were with Batman Begins (particularly the hard-to-follow action sequences). I don't give out 10's that often, and considering the score I gave the Hulk, this movie deserves a 16.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveG.Jul 19, 2008
Very good film. Great story for the genre. Well acted and directed. Terrific adversary. Dark and brooding performance by the late Mr. Ledger. This is not he tounge in cheek comic book movie (where, e.g., Iron Man is a great example. This is Very good film. Great story for the genre. Well acted and directed. Terrific adversary. Dark and brooding performance by the late Mr. Ledger. This is not he tounge in cheek comic book movie (where, e.g., Iron Man is a great example. This is rather dark. But it is an engrossing movie experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffR.Jul 21, 2008
I will not justify my 10 rating for this movie. If you can not guess why I am giving it a 10 go see Mamma Mia!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacquayJul 21, 2008
Joker has no jokes - just a crazy guy in makeup. Plot jumps all over the place. Many scenes/plot lines are edited to have you fill in the gap. Length of movie didn't bother me as much as poorly developed characters. If you're Joker has no jokes - just a crazy guy in makeup. Plot jumps all over the place. Many scenes/plot lines are edited to have you fill in the gap. Length of movie didn't bother me as much as poorly developed characters. If you're trying for a comic book movie with substance and action - then iron out the kinks first. Difficult to follow at times. No real sense of where the movie was going because the scenes would end and you'd be in another place right back in the action wondering what just happened. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BennettH.Jul 21, 2008
Words cannot describe how good of a movie this was. Ledger was exceptional. If he were still alive, he would of been one of the hottest stars on the planet. Bale was spectacular, but he always is. This movie is in my Top 5!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CesarAgustinusN.Jul 21, 2008
Two possible oscar nominations for this movie: Best Sound Editing Best Actor in a Supporting Role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandeepN>Jul 21, 2008
Nolan doesn't disappoint. Ledger is hypnotizing. Even the lesser characters are praiseworthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyH.Jul 21, 2008
A great cinematic masterpiece with solid acting from Heath Ledge along along with amazing perfromance from other cast. Best movie in recent history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColbyB.Jul 21, 2008
Never have I walked into a theater with such high expectations and walked out with them surpassed. This is my new favorite film of all time, with great performances across the board and the craziest and most interesting villain filmgoers Never have I walked into a theater with such high expectations and walked out with them surpassed. This is my new favorite film of all time, with great performances across the board and the craziest and most interesting villain filmgoers have ever seen. The fastest and most worthwhile 2 & 1/2 hours I have ever spent with a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherB.Jul 21, 2008
This is not a comic-book movie. It is not a crime movie. It is both; one of the most engaging, entertaining, and emotional character studies you will ever see. The only difference between this film and other's of it's kind is that This is not a comic-book movie. It is not a crime movie. It is both; one of the most engaging, entertaining, and emotional character studies you will ever see. The only difference between this film and other's of it's kind is that it happens to star the Dark Knight and the Clown Prince of Crime. Fantastic performances all around, with one of the greatest screen villain portrayals you will ever see in Heath Ledger's Joker and top-notch directing make this an instant classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinM.Jul 21, 2008
¿Que paso con la atmósfera y el Batman que creo y llevo a la pantalla grande Tim Burton? Este increíble director pudo, en la década del noventa, crear una ciudad Gótica muy futurista, con colores que ¿Que paso con la atmósfera y el Batman que creo y llevo a la pantalla grande Tim Burton? Este increíble director pudo, en la década del noventa, crear una ciudad Gótica muy futurista, con colores que sobresalían de la pantalla, con una muy buena estética, pero con una trama que dejaba mucho que desear. En el 2005, otra película del hombre murciélago llego a las salas de los cines, provocando un giro tremendo en la manera de contar una historia basada en comics, con un realismo muy bien llevado y con actuaciones también muy buenas. Christopher Nolan, en el 2008 ha vuelto con, no solo la mejor película realizada de este superhéroe, sino la mejor película de acción, drama y suspenso que se ha hecho en años. La historia que se cuenta es la de Batman junto con Harvey Dent y Rachel tratando de poder combatir el crimen de la ciudad. Batman, como siempre tratando de matar y mandar a prisión a los criminales, y los otros dos personajes, tratando de ir ganando gente para unas próximas elecciones para presidente. Estas cuestiones se van a poner en juego cuando repentinamente un individuo, el Guasón, empieza a matar gente sin piedad para tratar de, entre tantas cosas, descubrir la verdadera identidad de Batman. Las actuaciones son verdaderamente increíbles. Christian Bale, el responsable de darle vida al superhéroe, esta increíble. Su fluidez en las acciones y la manera de hablar y expresarse están muy bien plasmadas en la película. Michael Caine, también es una gran figura dentro de la pelicula, su personaje no aparece mucho en escena pero cuando lo hace llena al espectador con reflexiones totalmente ciertas, muy bien por ese lado. La actuación de Aaron Eckhart, es digna del reconocimiento, ya que logra poder entrar en dos personajes totalmente opuestos e increíblemente personificados, cada uno con características físicas y mentales totalmente diferentes. Maggie Gyllenhaal, interpretando a Rachel, el amor platónico de Batman... para seguir leyendo: www.mmcriticas.ar.nu Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulR.Jul 21, 2008
It's depressing to know that I'll never see Ledger put on a spectacular performance like this again. He's left us with what can only be described as the performance of a lifetime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorgeM.Jul 21, 2008
First of all to all those people bitch@@@ about the movie cause its too long or confusing and talking shi@@ about heath ledger then u know nothing and will never know nothing about movies or acting just go watch something u little kids First of all to all those people bitch@@@ about the movie cause its too long or confusing and talking shi@@ about heath ledger then u know nothing and will never know nothing about movies or acting just go watch something u little kids probably understand like pokemon or something anywayz I think the movie is well acted well written and by the far the best comic book movie I seen since iron man and heath ledger should and will get an oscar for this he deserves it its too bad he couldnt be here to see his best perfomance RIP Ledger the best joker and an oscar winner Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JDWhitneyJul 21, 2008
There are movies with elements so good that whatever their flaws, you walk out awestruck, myopically fascinated beyond all expectations. That's how I saw King Kong, and I do mean the monkey, in a crappy movie. And that's Heath There are movies with elements so good that whatever their flaws, you walk out awestruck, myopically fascinated beyond all expectations. That's how I saw King Kong, and I do mean the monkey, in a crappy movie. And that's Heath Ledger, who's so stupidly good as the Joker that I can barely remember the rest of the movie. This despite my near-obsession with Batman Begins as the best superhero movie to date. How was the rest? Pretty exhilarating, but at first viewing it's all Heath, all the time. You will not believe it's the same guy. Go. Go now. And maybe I'll see you when you go back to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FaboJul 21, 2008
Es una película sublime, redefine totalmente el género de cómics adaptados al cine. Ya la vi 2 veces, y pienso verla varias veces más. Por suerte las mejores imágenes no se destripan en los trailers y hay Es una película sublime, redefine totalmente el género de cómics adaptados al cine. Ya la vi 2 veces, y pienso verla varias veces más. Por suerte las mejores imágenes no se destripan en los trailers y hay varias subtramas complejas que se van uniendo. Me saco el sombrero ante Cris Nolan, un genio y uno de los grandes directores contemporáneos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NaeemN.Jul 21, 2008
bravo, that's all I can say cause I'm spechless
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Rev.GomezJul 22, 2008
Incredible... Simply mind-blowing... Possibly the greatest performance from an actor (Heath Ledger) ever... Possibly...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeiiB.Jul 22, 2008
Great flick. Definitely a different flavor of super hero movie. Ironman was fun, this was very dark and there was a lot of morality involved. A great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful