User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 4033 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying, "People like it just because Heath Ledger died!" Again, pretend as though he didn't die, watch his performance again, and then come talk to me. AnI don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying, "People like it just because Heath Ledger died!" Again, pretend as though he didn't die, watch his performance again, and then come talk to me. An outstanding performance by anyone who was ever involved in this film. Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    "The Dark Knight" is proof that Chris Nolan saved the Batman saga. this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years! from the mind-blowing action, to the incredible acting, fantastic characters, strong script, layers of character depth and development, epic music, awesome special effects... i can't see anything wrong with "The Dark Knight". cause everything's the work of art,"The Dark Knight" is proof that Chris Nolan saved the Batman saga. this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years! from the mind-blowing action, to the incredible acting, fantastic characters, strong script, layers of character depth and development, epic music, awesome special effects... i can't see anything wrong with "The Dark Knight". cause everything's the work of art, of a person who knows how to do the Batman saga justice. it's like if Christopher Nolan was like "Outta the way, **** It's my turn now". and he saved Batman, he brought Batman back to life again, and i thank him so much for that. also, Heath Ledger as the Joker: a phenomenon! other actors can try, but nobody's ever gonna top Heath Ledger's Joker. and Christopher Nolan still stays as one of the best directors we've ever had. "The Dark Knight" is a phenomenon! Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    THE BEST MOVIE EVER! I just have to say that this movies are awesome, and so is Christopher Nolan. He's never failed us and he has made five movies and I bet all of them are possible contenders for best movie ever. So anyways, I liked how Rachel just gives up on Bruce for Harvey Dent, whom everyone deems "The Better Man" or "The White Knight". I also loved how the Joker is just psycho andTHE BEST MOVIE EVER! I just have to say that this movies are awesome, and so is Christopher Nolan. He's never failed us and he has made five movies and I bet all of them are possible contenders for best movie ever. So anyways, I liked how Rachel just gives up on Bruce for Harvey Dent, whom everyone deems "The Better Man" or "The White Knight". I also loved how the Joker is just psycho and he doesn't care for anything except bombs, gasoline, and crime. I believe he is just out there to prove a point. That even Gotham's best can fall. He even nearly completed his plan by corrupting Harvey but Batman/Bruce took the blame. I love how, in the end, Harvey's gun is pointed at the men "responsible" for Rachel's death (Batman, Gordon, himself) and how his mind is just twisted into thinking that they were actually responsible. I think Heath Ledger gave an excellent performance, all out, although it hasn't turned out for the best. I'm sure we'd all prefer that this was never made or was never as good for the sake of Heath Ledger but, you got to admit, this is just such a good movie. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite movies as a huge batman fan I couldn't be happier. The joker was easily the best done joker ever. Can't give this movie enough praise and can't wait for the next.
  5. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    One of only a handful of flawless films I have seen in my lifetime. (To give this movie a 0 (Zero) is morally irresponsible.)
  6. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have 5000 character limit for writing my opinion about this movie..is it enough? Absoulately not... The best movie ever...awesome...fantastic...amazing... you can find lot of words like this... you feel every emotion in the movie.Every scene has another feeling.Love, action, humanity, movie gives every feelings to you. i advise all world people to watch this movie. Because you wil not see a film like this for 50 years Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    The Dark Knight dares to be more than it should be. It transcends the barriers of being labelled a "Batman movie" or "superhero movie" by excelling in all areas: character, plot, action, writing, acting, directing. The Dark Knight is not for fans of Batman or fans of serious drama. It is a film for everyone and stands as one of the most important films of the decade.
  8. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    Continuing from where Batman Begins ended peerless director Christopher Nolan reunites with Christian Bale for the continuing story of The Dark Knight. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to put a halt to the criminal activity that plagues Gotham City. Just as everything seems to be going their way the peace is shattered by a criminalContinuing from where Batman Begins ended peerless director Christopher Nolan reunites with Christian Bale for the continuing story of The Dark Knight. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to put a halt to the criminal activity that plagues Gotham City. Just as everything seems to be going their way the peace is shattered by a criminal mastermind known as The Joker.

    Batman may be on the DVD cover but this is really The Jokers movie. Following the death of Heath Ledger prior to the movies release there was huge hype regarding his performance and he certainly delivers. His portrayal is a far cry from the camp 1960s iteration and as creepy and disturbing as any villain in cinema history. Running at about two and a half hours in length The Dark Knight needed a worthwhile plot to go with the high quality action scenes and on this count the movie again doesn't fail featuring plenty of twists and surprises.

    The Dark Knight is without doubt the best super hero movie of all time.
    Expand
  9. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Christopher Nolan is an absolute genius. Batman Begins was a great film, but this just about blows it out of the water. Nolan knows good acting, and some amazing actors are in this one. Bale, Freeman, Oldman, Caine, LEDGER, all greats. The action scenes are suspenseful and aplenty (with a batmobile scene standing out) . and the script is superb. Seriously, this movie is super quotable.Christopher Nolan is an absolute genius. Batman Begins was a great film, but this just about blows it out of the water. Nolan knows good acting, and some amazing actors are in this one. Bale, Freeman, Oldman, Caine, LEDGER, all greats. The action scenes are suspenseful and aplenty (with a batmobile scene standing out) . and the script is superb. Seriously, this movie is super quotable. Ledger was born to play the Joker, and everybody that says his acting is "overrated" will never be happy. Aaron Eckhart is also superb. The best superher movie ever. Expand
  10. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Regular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What I love about his take on Batman is that it's very realistic. Even the joker, as out there as he maybe, was a much more believable and realistic villainRegular readers of this blog know that I don't like super heroes, but Batman is the exception. As a kid he was the only one I thought was cool and the only one that i felt could be real. Apparently Christopher Nolan has the same idea. What I love about his take on Batman is that it's very realistic. Even the joker, as out there as he maybe, was a much more believable and realistic villain than the portrait by Jack Nicholson. As for the movie, it's an amazing story, with one of the best performances ever, by the late Heath Ledger who I really couldn't stand until this movie! As with all Nolan movies, it's a very visually appealing film, with a great story, and cast perfectly. I can honestly say that this is as good as it gets! There will never be a better Batman or super hero movie. Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I was so pumped for this movie to come out for years and then Heath Ledger's passing made it an even bigger event. I went to see it on opening day and I swear during a few of the joker scenes I got chills because it was so good. And any movie that can have that much of an effect on me deserves a 10/10.
  12. May 6, 2012
    10
    Batman's greatest foe yet is revealed in The Dark Knight. And he is amazing. The combination of Heath Ledger and Christian Bale is magnificent. This is truly the best superhero movie to date. Every little detail leads to something in the end. The special effects still remain some of the best and this movie was truly advanced for the year it was released.
  13. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Absolutely stunning. This sequel is dark, sophisticated, and is better than its predecessor. It has emotion, powerful and superb acting, and impressive visuals. This film is, beyond any doubt, a must-see. Oh, and the Joker in the movie, is beyond fantastic.
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    The script is well-written, the performances are splendid, and the action sequences give the constant thrills. From the colored pages of its comic books to the glorious big screen, The Dark Knight is the greatest adaptation ever made.
  15. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    What a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I really can not falter this movie in any way. As close to perfect as I could hope for a comic to movie film.

    Overall:
    This is Batman!
  16. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    One of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. Batman Begins had a weak plot, this has one of the best plots of any movie ever, Christopher Nolan took a risk and made the plot political instead of pointlessOne of the best superhero movies of all time. The Dark Knight is much better than Batman Begins, mainly because of Heath Ledgers mesmerising performance as The Joker. I won't go on about just take my word for it that he's amazing. Batman Begins had a weak plot, this has one of the best plots of any movie ever, Christopher Nolan took a risk and made the plot political instead of pointless like Batman Begins, and it worked. The Dark Knight is a very enjoyable and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
  17. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    The Dark Knight is a very tightly woven and smart movie. The plot is engaging, the characters are each unique and well acted (especially the joker) and the action is intense. Really, there is no issue with this movie. It's damn near perfect. You'll be interested and on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end of the movie.
    The Dark Knight is not only the best Batman movie ever,
    The Dark Knight is a very tightly woven and smart movie. The plot is engaging, the characters are each unique and well acted (especially the joker) and the action is intense. Really, there is no issue with this movie. It's damn near perfect. You'll be interested and on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end of the movie.
    The Dark Knight is not only the best Batman movie ever, it is also the greatest super hero based movie ever. Do yourself a favor and go watch it.
    Expand
  18. May 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best super hero movies of all times. If you havent seen it yet then..just stop reading this review and go see it first. Strong villains against strong super heros usually make the movie and this is no exception.
  19. May 31, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite Batman movie ever! Christian Bale did another great performance as Batman and Heath Ledger was amazing as the Joker. The plot is excellent and the action sequences were great. I cannot understand anyone who doesn't like this movie.
  20. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    This movie changed the way I see Batman. This Part 2 of the trilogy was by far the best in the trilogy, and probably the best Batman movie I've ever seen. Sorry, Adam West, Michael Keaton, and George Clooney. And that voice!
  21. May 5, 2014
    10
    A single movie, with so many unique particularities and a simple proposal: be original and different at same time. Nolan brings us a mature and surprising Batman´s universe, with characters well made, including the Joker, the most impressive of all. Heath Ledger gives life to a scary, cold, shocking and overwhelming villain, that faces all Batman's limits with an unmerciful psychologicalA single movie, with so many unique particularities and a simple proposal: be original and different at same time. Nolan brings us a mature and surprising Batman´s universe, with characters well made, including the Joker, the most impressive of all. Heath Ledger gives life to a scary, cold, shocking and overwhelming villain, that faces all Batman's limits with an unmerciful psychological game at absolutely flawless and triumphant performance. With a tense, accurate and efficient score by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard, led by the realistic and audacious proposal from Christopher Nolan, The Dark Knight is engaging and powerful, being the best adaptation of a comic-book to the cinema. Expand
  22. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite movie. I like Christopher Nolan movies. This is his best movie. Good plot, fantastic acting. Heath Ledger is genius. Good effects, action, drama.
  23. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    This Film is great,Christopher Nolan really knows who is Batman he made this movie one of the best films of all time.The Dark Knight has a good plot a great villain and a good musical score(Hans Zimmer).
  24. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    The Dark Knight is everything an action movie should be: thrilling, suspenseful, epic and chock-full of action sequences that sometimes are as amusing as they are visually stimulating. But it's also an emotional journey that's so intricately weaved into the fabric of the movie it doesn't at all seem out of place (or disingenuous). Ledger's chilling (terrifying, nihilistic) portrayal of theThe Dark Knight is everything an action movie should be: thrilling, suspenseful, epic and chock-full of action sequences that sometimes are as amusing as they are visually stimulating. But it's also an emotional journey that's so intricately weaved into the fabric of the movie it doesn't at all seem out of place (or disingenuous). Ledger's chilling (terrifying, nihilistic) portrayal of the Joker is certain to go down in cinematic history as one of the greatest villains of all time and even then it might still be slightly under-appreciated. Nolan has succeeded in creating a genre-defying (and defining) film on such a grandiose scale, and with so little room for error, that he must be praised for what he truly is: a directorial savant. Expand
  25. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The Dark Knight is the superior Batman. This is what 1989 Batman should have been.Smart writing, smart direction, and incredible action sequences. Heath Ledger is the true Joker.
  26. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Taking, not just mine, but everyone's expectations and flipping them on their heads. Nolan managed to harness everything that was great in "Batman Begins" and augment those qualities to a near epic degree. He even added some newer things of his own creation into the mix. I speak, of course, of Heath Ledger's Academy-Award Winning Joker. Virtually every line out of Heath's mouth in thisTaking, not just mine, but everyone's expectations and flipping them on their heads. Nolan managed to harness everything that was great in "Batman Begins" and augment those qualities to a near epic degree. He even added some newer things of his own creation into the mix. I speak, of course, of Heath Ledger's Academy-Award Winning Joker. Virtually every line out of Heath's mouth in this movie is amazing. In fact the entire script of this movie contains these little hidden gems that Nolan just flicks at your head throughout the entire film. However, it's Heath's performance that still reigns surpeme in this film overall. He and Nolan not only created an Oscar-Winning character, but a character that has had a pretty deep impact on pop culture. Aaron Eckhart did a good job as the tragic Harvey Dent character. All of the other actors were fantastic as well - including Bale's continually impressive Bruce Wayne/Batman performance. On a technical level, the production design and set pieces in the film were absolutely magnificant. I also felt Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard did another wonderful job in crafting the score for this film. Overall, Christopher Nolan manages to create a sequel that is not only better than the original, but he manages to craft my favorite movie of all time. Expand
  27. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    This is the best superhero movie ever made. A masterpiece. Nolan shows again he's one of the greatest directors of al time. Cast is excellent, espyially Heath Ledger, the story is awesome, ..... How can David Denby give this movie a 50, I don't understand it. AWESOME MOVIE
  28. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    As a whole, it can exclaim itself as a sophisticated comic book film. Heath Ledger's Joker is what captivates us. He absorbs into this role with a type of noir-like version of the classic comic book character, becoming a murderous and calculating psychopath. The only comic book film that deserved any Oscar, especially for Heath Ledger.
  29. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    It isn't an overstatement to call The Dark Knight the most sophisticated and ambitious work of its kind. Superior to all three Spider-Man installments and even its amazing predecessor in terms of conceptualization, writing, acting, and direction, Nolan's follow-up to Batman Begins is a dark, complex and disturbing film, not the least of which because it grafts its heroics onto theIt isn't an overstatement to call The Dark Knight the most sophisticated and ambitious work of its kind. Superior to all three Spider-Man installments and even its amazing predecessor in terms of conceptualization, writing, acting, and direction, Nolan's follow-up to Batman Begins is a dark, complex and disturbing film, not the least of which because it grafts its heroics onto the blueprint of actual reality rather than that of spandex-clad supermen. And while such a distinction may make little difference to those already eagerly anticipating the return of the caped crusader, suffice it to say that The Dark Knight qualifies as the first official comic book adaptation that truly succeeds in being a great artistic achievement in its own right. Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    The Dark knight is definitely one of the best movie of all times, It put a batman on the sky, the performance of Christian Bale and Heath Ledger are OUTSTANDING!, All the characters played a strong role, this movie has everything, amazing soundtrack, and story, epic battles, best action fights!, the best movie of christopher nolan!
    this will become a classic movie.........
  31. Mar 28, 2015
    10
    First of all, there is no doubt that the reputation of this film, and Heath Ledger's performance, were bolstered by his untimely death. That makes no difference. This is an accomplished and subversive work, and the most fully realised of Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy - its predecessor did little more than establish the foundations of this film, whilst its successor lacked focus or aFirst of all, there is no doubt that the reputation of this film, and Heath Ledger's performance, were bolstered by his untimely death. That makes no difference. This is an accomplished and subversive work, and the most fully realised of Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy - its predecessor did little more than establish the foundations of this film, whilst its successor lacked focus or a satisfying conclusion.

    "The Dark Knight", on the other hand, is an expansive, complex and soulful masterpiece of film, which spearheaded the re-evaluation and acknowledgement of the superhero genre as an art form capable of producing stories as daring, layered and emotive as standard art house fare, or modernist literature and being good for more than just action and special effects. This film is masterfully designed, scored, edited, acted, and shot, reminiscent both stylistically and in terms of storytelling as the classic thrillers of the 1970s. Much like New York City in "Taxi Driver", Nolan's Gotham breathes, and so do the characters, who are understood as real people and compelled to act as such, rather than just vehicles transporting the viewer from one action set piece to the next. Both Gary Oldman and Aaron Eckhart are fantastic, offering nuanced and desperate portraits of virtuous men broken by their own goodness. They deserved Oscar nominations as much as Heath Ledger. As for Heath Ledger, it is an astonishing piece of acting whether he lived to see it on-screen or not. He is explosive, twisted, visceral, and utterly terrifying - and damn near impossible to take your eyes off of.

    Is this is a perfect film? There's one too many leaps of logic involved, so it falls short, but only by a minuscule margin. This is certainly one of the best films I've seen - a grand and operatic morality play, breathtakingly colossal, searingly intimate, and unbearably sad. Detractors may try to use Heath Ledger's death to discredit its success as circumstantial. I remind you: nobody from "The Avengers" died.
    Expand
  32. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    So i thought the first film was pretty boring. Definitely not the case with this one. It's gritty, it's dark, brings brilliant character development along with far more interesting characters like The Joker and Two-face, and has the best plot out of all 3 films. A performance best by the sadly late Heath Ledger as the Joker, and Aaron Eckart and Christian Bale also bringing excellentSo i thought the first film was pretty boring. Definitely not the case with this one. It's gritty, it's dark, brings brilliant character development along with far more interesting characters like The Joker and Two-face, and has the best plot out of all 3 films. A performance best by the sadly late Heath Ledger as the Joker, and Aaron Eckart and Christian Bale also bringing excellent performances. This film has a far more film noir feel to it (but obviously isn't film noir). Thr twists are brilliant and Ledgers transformation into the Joker is the best on screen performance to dub our screens yet. Film is filled with great visual effects also, awesome practical effects and great stunts too! A must watch! Expand
  33. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    The best of the trilogy. It manages to keep your attention all the time. And just when you think the day is saved, it all crash down. Ledger plays the role of his life as the Joker, a new and wonderful vision of this batman nemesis
  34. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    This is my favourite movie of all time. It's dark, awesome and has one of the best villain performances of all time, R.I.P Heath Ledger. Also I love Batman,he is my favourite comic book character.
    10/10
  35. Mar 26, 2015
    9
    8.8/10................................................................................................................................................
  36. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    This film is the perfect super hero movie. Gotham City is displayed so well visually. It is full of a great cast, and everyone is sharp in this film. I really need to see this movie again. What more can be said about the Dark Knight? Heath Ledger is dynamite as the joker which every knows by now. If you have not seen this movie yet go out and see it. You won't regret it.
  37. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    Even though its plot isn't perfect, The Dark Knight succeeds due to gritty, well-made action sequences, strong performances from every cast member (especially Heath Ledger as the Joker), and an overall unique and dark take on the story of Batman. While it isn't entirely deserving of a perfect score, it comes extremely close.

    9.9/10
  38. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    The Dark Knight is the closest any superhero movie has come to "perfect" with transcendent dialogue, a sturdy plot and marvelous casting including Heath Ledger's iconic portrayal of The Joker all assured under Christopher Nolan's masterful direction.
  39. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    Easily the best movie of not only the Nolan batman trilogy, but of his entire career, this is without a doubt the perfect superhero movie. Its hero truly is a hero, not one who does what he does for the glory, but for doing the right thing, regardless of how much those he serves hate him in return. The hero is not perfect, as he does fall, showing even further his immense humanity. TheEasily the best movie of not only the Nolan batman trilogy, but of his entire career, this is without a doubt the perfect superhero movie. Its hero truly is a hero, not one who does what he does for the glory, but for doing the right thing, regardless of how much those he serves hate him in return. The hero is not perfect, as he does fall, showing even further his immense humanity. The villain is not a stock character who is easily defeated, but a man with a troubled and unclear past, whose genius seems to always win. The battle for Gotham's soul is fought between a strict moral code and nihilism, the immovable object and the unstoppable force. Expand
  40. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    I prefer the the 1989 film for its comic book dark stile, but I watched it again and it's like a crime action drama. So the film is fantastic and awesome like the original, so yeah, I love this movie for doing some thing different and succeeding:)
  41. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is a beautiful metaphor for the greatest struggles of life itself; I have recently discovered that Nolan's masterpiece seems to address the problems created by a figurative or literal multiple personality disorder. We have three different angles of perspective on life, all grabbing for Rachel, who represents love, in one way or another.

    Harvey Dent is essentially a saint, an idyllic hero driven by hope and compassion that has presumably only been able rise up to the challenge of fixing Gotham City due to the changes set in place by Bruce Wayne, who sees the world for what it truly is: a hellish, twisted roller coaster of synthetic euphoria and very real pain. He too, though, is driven by his positive emotions and, because he has hope in his heart that he can "save the day and get the girl," he decides to do what he can to make the ride as comfortable for the rest of us as he possibly can, even at the cost of his own life.

    But The Joker sees things differently. He is, if not more so, just as intelligent as the Batman. He understands that at least for him, there is nothing to be enjoyed in life. Selfishly he decides that he must drag everyone else down with him.

    It's easy to catch the symbolism here, as it's almost literal (and it somehow harks back to the Green Lantern mythos, though I am unsure of whether this is deliberate): Harvey is the side of a man that represents positivity - hope, compassion, and love, which combine to form "Order." Bruce represents balance between all emotions, with a central focus on will. The Joker represents negativity - fear, avarice and rage, which combine to form "Chaos." Later in the Dark Knight Trilogy a fourth personality is introduced, but that is not what we are discussing here.

    The beginning is quite literally the chaotic personality's entry into the world, taking advantage of everything that he can in order to do... nothing in particular. That's what's so excellent about this story! The goons would be his friends in the real life interpretation of it, and when he kills them or has them turn on each other, this is the loss that happens when you "turn to the dark side," or choose to give up on the world, as The Joker has done.

    But enough metaphorical interpretation, let's talk about the literal aspects of the film. The first noticeable thing to me was not the direction, the acting, the cinematography nor the editing or action sequences, but Hans Zimmer's score for the film, which was at first deliberately disgusting, with the use of what sounds like a wire being strung for eternity, abused violins and electric guitar, but ultimately beautiful, with the most moving piece of music heard in "Like A Dog Chasing Cars" since Krypton's theme in Superman by John Williams, and until "Time" from Inception - yet another Zimmer theme! Mocked as it may be, his dense string ostinato sequences left me breathless.

    But back to the story, I'm going to skip a huge chunk and get right to the meaty part. I wish I could cue Zimmer's "Horn of Doom" here to alert you to the impending spoiler. Don't read if you haven't watched the movie!

    Rachel is indirectly killed by Joker. While he is being interrogated, the timer ticks down to the explosion of two buildings, each with one hostage inside: Gotham's White Knight, and Harvey and Bruce's only known love.

    Here is the great metaphor of the entire trilogy: Hope. Moving on. Loving more than just one - something both Harvey and Batman are, at the moment, incapable of doing.

    The Joker takes advantage of Rachel's death and Harvey's disfigurement (as you may remember, half of his face is burned off in the fire of the explosion), and convinces him to embrace the chaos of the world around him, and essentially, give in to evil.

    He accepts this offer.

    Skipping ahead to the final acts of this movie (and it has oh so many), we have The Joker about to kill dozens if not hundreds of people on a couple of ferries, who represent the good and bad sides of society, and Harvey, the hero, twisted into wanting vengeance on Commissioner Gordon.

    Once again I will take a break from the story. Let's talk about the other aspects.

    Is this movie effects-heavy? Surprisingly, no. You'd think it would be, given that, it's Batman. But in fact, it relies on practical effects more than anything else. For example, when the massive truck that the Joker is in gets flipped, it is not done with CGI, but with a spring of all things, that shoots it upwards.

    I won't even say anything about the acting - I want you to watch it, because in all honesty, words could not do it justice. In my mortal explanation of one of the various metaphors presented by this film (and believe me, there are other ways to interpret it - mine is just the most literal, emotional example), I have butchered Mr. Nolan's work, so I will just say that you MUST keep an eye on Heath Ledger.

    THE VERDICT:

    Direction: 9.5

    Acting: 10.0

    Cinematography: 9.0

    Editing: 9.0

    Soundtrack: 10.0

    Overall: 9.75
    Expand
  42. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    This is my #1 movie. Ever since i saw it in theatres i've seen it over 80000000 times. I know every line from this great film. From the acting to the story this movie is solid, thought provoking and totally awesome.
  43. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    A modern masterpiece of 21st Century Cinema. The Dark Knight combines great direction, with brilliant acting, and beautiful cinematography to create a film that transcends it genres and becomes a great film. It serves as a comic book film, but also a tragedy of Shakespearean quality, with one of the best villains of the last 20 years. On top of that Christopher Nolan's unflinching faith inA modern masterpiece of 21st Century Cinema. The Dark Knight combines great direction, with brilliant acting, and beautiful cinematography to create a film that transcends it genres and becomes a great film. It serves as a comic book film, but also a tragedy of Shakespearean quality, with one of the best villains of the last 20 years. On top of that Christopher Nolan's unflinching faith in practical effects create a truly realistic experience. Expand
  44. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    The Dark Knight that came out in 2008 starring Christian Bale, Heath
    Ledger, Aaron Eckhart, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and
    Maggie Gyllenhaal is a superhero movie of Batman. When Batman, Gordon and Harvey Dent tries bring down the mob, they face a new threat The Joker, who raises hell in Gotham. What unfolds is a 150 min of high pace crime thriller. The story is
    The Dark Knight that came out in 2008 starring Christian Bale, Heath
    Ledger, Aaron Eckhart, Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and
    Maggie Gyllenhaal is a superhero movie of Batman. When Batman, Gordon
    and Harvey Dent tries bring down the mob, they face a new threat The
    Joker, who raises hell in Gotham. What unfolds is a 150 min of high
    pace crime thriller.

    The story is quite dark, complex and engaging. The cast is just
    amazing. Heath Ledger gave legendary outstanding performance in his last
    role. His each dialogue is just amazing. I kinda love every sec he is
    in on the screen. The Joker can be considered one of the best villains
    of all time. Christian Bale is amazing in his best role of Batman.
    Though not as screen time as he had in the last movie (Batman Begins),
    but still he gave an amazing performance. Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent
    was quite good. After Joker, Harvey had 2nd best dialogues of the
    movie. Pacing of the movie is awesome too. There won't be any part of
    the movie which feels slow or boring, mainly because every conversation
    is important. Action is kinda different and unique making it amazing .
    Overall The Dark knight is an OUTSTANDING movie.

    Plot:10/10
    Dialogue:10/10
    Acting:10/10
    Action:10/10
    Pace:10/10

    Overall:10/10
    Expand
  45. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    Probably one of the best films you will watch today. As Christopher Nolan really pushed the boundaries with this flawless action crime drama. Batman has to deal with many familiar faces and doesn't disappoint with good acting brilliant action and a nice musical score.
  46. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    Simply one of the best superhero movies of all time! This movie not only has everything a Batman movie should have it has everything you look for in any movie! Heath Ledgers performance as the Joker is jaw dropping and will give you chills! A+ 10 out of 10
  47. Feb 17, 2015
    10
    There is so many good things that I could say about this movie. Aside from the brilliant acting, fantastic score, and amazing directing, the thing that Dark Knight does really well is the plot and development of the characters. Let's face it. A majority of super hero movies are terrible. But this film not only manages to be a good super hero movie, but a great movie in general. TheThere is so many good things that I could say about this movie. Aside from the brilliant acting, fantastic score, and amazing directing, the thing that Dark Knight does really well is the plot and development of the characters. Let's face it. A majority of super hero movies are terrible. But this film not only manages to be a good super hero movie, but a great movie in general. The characters are realistic and relatable. The villains have a clear purpose and goal. Everything about this movie is perfect. A must watch for any film fan! Expand
  48. Apr 5, 2015
    10
    This is the best batman movie ever. Great cinematography. Great acting. Awesome story. First scene in imax will blow you away. Great ending. I highly recommend owning this flick on blu ray
  49. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    I love this movie! Definitely the best Batman movie ever! Heath Ledger really deserved his Oscar for Best Supporting Actor. This is a movie I will remember for decades!
  50. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    OH MY GOD!!!!!!! this movie is awsome! by far the best movie ever. heath ledger is the best joker you will ever see!!! Too bad he died. i hope superhero movies an batman movies alike can be more like this in the future.
  51. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    The Dark Knight is hands down the best written, scripted and acted superhero movie of all time. The dialogue fizzes at all times, the character exchanges are more exciting than gunfire and there is a genuinely interesting psychological study at the root of it all. What does keep it shy of perfection, though, is the lack of a truly exciting action scene. The whole bat-bike / flipping truckThe Dark Knight is hands down the best written, scripted and acted superhero movie of all time. The dialogue fizzes at all times, the character exchanges are more exciting than gunfire and there is a genuinely interesting psychological study at the root of it all. What does keep it shy of perfection, though, is the lack of a truly exciting action scene. The whole bat-bike / flipping truck scene comes close but ultimately when in combat, this Batman is a bit paint by numbers. Not that it hurts the movie too much because to paraphrase the Joker; "You didn't really think I'd leave the fate of Gotham's soul up to a fistfight, did you?" Expand
  52. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    As perfect as a film gets you will only see a select few better then it. Nolan remains one of the best directors of all time ranking with scorcesse and a few others.
  53. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    The Dark Knight is among the deepest superhero films ever created. The thing that made it better was the villain The Joker, who helped make the film darker than Batman Begins.
  54. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Seriously, the most legendary movie I have ever watched in my life. Characters, atmosphere, dialogs, music, action, depth... Everything is perfect! Thank you Christopher Nolan, for giving us this epic trilogy.
  55. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Great stuff. . Epic story, good acting and production. Something as big as this can't help but attract negativity, but please be assured that it is a great effort. And remember, this is modern myth-making! These stories are our morality plays, our tales of gods and monsters. Please don't look at it as just a crime thriller or you will find implausibility!
  56. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    The Dark Knight is an entertaining movie that definitely does the comic book character, Batman, justice. The movie keeps its dark, realistic tone from the previous Batman movie, Batman begins rather than the campy and light-hearted look of Batman and Robin. The plot was interesting and gripping, wasn't plagued by too many boring scenes and the story runs at a suitable pace. It continues onThe Dark Knight is an entertaining movie that definitely does the comic book character, Batman, justice. The movie keeps its dark, realistic tone from the previous Batman movie, Batman begins rather than the campy and light-hearted look of Batman and Robin. The plot was interesting and gripping, wasn't plagued by too many boring scenes and the story runs at a suitable pace. It continues on from Batman Begins as the vigilante known as Batman continues to fight crime in Gotham City. Now I wouldn't have thought that the movie would be too long or not as long as Batman Begins because of no need to explain how Bruce Wayne became Batman but I obviously thought wrong. It's a long movie, maybe too long but at least it's a good movie to sit through rather than a pain numbing boring one. It's a typical superhero action movie with a dastardly villain causing chaos and killing innocent people. This villain in the movie is none other than the Joker. The Joker is played brilliantly by the late Heath Ledger. He nailed the Jokers personality with the way he acts and that make up he wears is freaky! He's a psychopath and a dangerous person but comes across in some scenes like the "Magic Trick" scene where he slams some goon's forehead (or eyeball?) into a pencil and makes it disappear - just like the Joker said he would do - as somewhat funny. I like when he's dead polite in the "Party" when he greets the party guests and wielding a shotgun and helps himself to a glass of wine (or some alcoholic liquid), picks it up, accidently tosses the wine out of the glass and drinks from it anyway! It's no Matrix in terms of it's fight scenes but they are good and well edited (unlike the last Batman film where most of the fight scenes were shot in extreme close up). The action scenes like the chase scene where the Joker is trying to chase down the truck transporting "Batman" was exciting to watch. The other villain, Two-Face is introduced pretty quickly and at least doesn't take too much time out of the running time of the film. The visual effects on Two-Face are authentic and make him seem more threatening. I noticed when seeing this film, there's 2 scenes that reference 2 scenes from the 1989 Batman and it was great that director Christopher Nolan referenced those 2 scenes in this movie. The Batcycle is cool and the Batsuit that Batman wears matches the dark stylish look of the movie. The music is dramatic and suits the film and sounded more epic in the cinema than at home. I know he talked like this in Batman Begins but why does Bruce Wayne as Batman, have to talk in a dull, broken and grouchy voice? Yes I know he's doing it to conceal his identity, but in the 1989 Batman movie, Bruce Wayne talked in the same tone while he was Batman rather than a different voice. Also one scene, which may seem epic, is very bright and may cause seizures! This is just a short review of a movie that I really enjoyed and I consider it to be one of the best if not the best superhero movie I've seen. Expand
  57. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    With 'The Dark Knight', the super hero genre reached a new milestone: a superhero film that is topical and gritty beyond belief. It's the first Oscar caliber Super Hero film; a crime thriller masquerading under the guise of 'Batman', an acting powerhouse for its ensemble cast, an astounding action film and finally, a psychological drama, investigating the psyche of its characters. HeathWith 'The Dark Knight', the super hero genre reached a new milestone: a superhero film that is topical and gritty beyond belief. It's the first Oscar caliber Super Hero film; a crime thriller masquerading under the guise of 'Batman', an acting powerhouse for its ensemble cast, an astounding action film and finally, a psychological drama, investigating the psyche of its characters. Heath Ledger, in his last 'complete role', created the Joker as one of the most frightening character in the history of cinema, and this is a PG-13 film! Christian Bale also cemented himself as the best of all the 'Batmen' in the last two decades. But the real star is director Christopher Nolan himself, who has cemented himself as the auteur of this generation. The Dark Knight: one of my top 10 favorite films of all time. Expand
  58. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    The best superhero movie. EVER.

    I had a lot of expectations when I went to see this film. Batman Begins was so promising because it started on a darker and more realistic tone. The Dark Knight exceeds all expectations. It is darker, scarier, and a bigger ride.The old Batman movies and TV series were more joyful whereas the comic books themselves were more sinister. The Dark Knight is
    The best superhero movie. EVER.

    I had a lot of expectations when I went to see this film. Batman Begins was so promising because it started on a darker and more realistic tone. The Dark Knight exceeds all expectations. It is darker, scarier, and a bigger ride.The old Batman movies and TV series were more joyful whereas the comic books themselves were more sinister. The Dark Knight is better than the comics. The atmosphere is bleak in Gotham City. Nothing but black thanks to the high crime rates. Batman helps decrease felony rates but Gotham needs a more normal person to take over. And that is Harvey Dent. However, the Joker marvelously played by the late Heath Ledger, is the only nemesis that stalls Gotham's hopes of being clean. And that path shows disaster as Harvey himself turns mad after the death of his girlfriend and the loss of half of his face. How Batman defeats both Joker and Dent is the main plot.

    But Batman isn't much of an adventure as it is a perilous journey in the experience of doom. It feels and breathes dystopia. There is no light. There is hardly any shelter. The music itself explains the tragedy. But then there was Batman. And that is what helps Dark Knight to succeed. How one person alone attempts to triumph in the lack of light. How he sacrifices himself to help his city from the depths of despair really makes him the Dark Knight.

    The cast has done a superb job in portraying their characters without going overboard. Christian Bale returns giving both sides of Bruce Wayne equal attention (the playboy and the hero) as he did in the first film. Aaron Eckhart and Maggie Gyllenhaal also give fine performances. But it is the Joker that really makes the film terrifying. He is insane but believably played by Heath Ledger. The Joker alone is enough reason to see this film.

    But alas, people will say that it is the best part of the film even though there are several other reasons on why The Dark Knight is not just the best superhero film but one of the greatest films of all time.
    Expand
  59. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    If "The Dark Knight" is an unique, fascinating masterpiece is thanks to the nihilist tone, bleak atmosphere and profound story that director Christopher Nolan exploits with great refinement.
  60. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I thought this movie was unbelievable, especially joker. Everything was incredible from the special effects to the actors and of course. They got batman just right, because he has that serious feeling that is batman. As well as the joker with his sick and weird(slightly funny) feeling. Which is of course joker. And is of course one of my favourite comic villain of all time. In a way theyI thought this movie was unbelievable, especially joker. Everything was incredible from the special effects to the actors and of course. They got batman just right, because he has that serious feeling that is batman. As well as the joker with his sick and weird(slightly funny) feeling. Which is of course joker. And is of course one of my favourite comic villain of all time. In a way they are both perfect for each other. Serious and joke one cannot survive without the other. I give it two thumbs up. Best movie of 2008. Expand
  61. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This is the Batman film for the ages (with the 60s Adam West one as well). It is very dark, gritty and very distressing to watch: You really do feel all the pain felt by each character from each bone-crunching punch to every gun shot. Batman himself is perfect in the film, perhaps the best portrayal of the character I have seen or read and you do seriously feel his pain. But what makesThis is the Batman film for the ages (with the 60s Adam West one as well). It is very dark, gritty and very distressing to watch: You really do feel all the pain felt by each character from each bone-crunching punch to every gun shot. Batman himself is perfect in the film, perhaps the best portrayal of the character I have seen or read and you do seriously feel his pain. But what makes this pain? The Joker. I know how many times it has been said before, but Heath Ledger's Joker makes the film what it was, and still is. This is one of the best movies ever made and really deserves all the positive attention it gets. From the perfect portrayal of its characters to the realism thrown in (boat scene, and questions about utilitarianism) and to the amazing special effects, this truly is cinema/ movie mastery at its best. Expand
  62. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An almost flawless film. This did not in any way feel like it was 2 and a half hours long, it was the fastest and most exciting two and a half hours I've spent at the cinema, and at home watching this on DVD. If you want a tightly woven story, replete with character threads, themes and actions that have serious consequences, this is definitely the film for you. Heath Ledger is most certainly the star of this film, delivering a solid and menacing performance, that makes you feel like you wouldn't want to cross this guy in real life. Also worth of high praise are Aaron Eckhart and Gary Oldman, both of whom deliver solid, dramatic and emotive performances. I can't understand how people can watch this film and say it lacks plot depth and texture, seriously, most of the people I know who reviewed this thing had to watch it multiple times to finally grasp and coherently understand all of the themes that permeate this movie, from escalation, terrorism, criminality, evil's triumph over good, there is a lot more to it than the negative reviews seem to be wanting to notice. The editing keeps a fantastic balance of drama, character development and action, and there is never too much of one over the other. A lot of the negative reviews I've seen seem to boil down to either "over hyped" or "too long". If you're not going to review the film on an objective level, then you may as well just not post a review. The only criticism I'd give of the film is the post-Rachel death scene between Alfred and Wayne, which was a missed opportunity and fairly unconvincingly acted by Bale. Other than that, the film is a must see. Expand
  63. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is a what all movies should be like. This movie features great acting and superb special effects . Heath Ledger's role as Joker is the best of all the jokers there have been. Everything about this film is great and I loved it
  64. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    The Dark Knight is a well-written, acted and directed film. Nolan delivers again and hits it big in the adaptation of The Joker and how he toys with Batman. This film is dark, exciting and satisfying. The ending is the only part that falls slightly short but only because they cannot put The Joker in the sequel. This film does well in the aspect that it shows how Batman struggles in hisThe Dark Knight is a well-written, acted and directed film. Nolan delivers again and hits it big in the adaptation of The Joker and how he toys with Batman. This film is dark, exciting and satisfying. The ending is the only part that falls slightly short but only because they cannot put The Joker in the sequel. This film does well in the aspect that it shows how Batman struggles in his internal fight between being morally correct by not killing The Joker or breaking his rules and killing the Joker. It is interesting to see Bruce Wayne's decisions as Batman and how they pan out. Well done. These reasons are why i gave it a 9 out of 10. If i could I would have given it an 8.7 but there are no decimals while rating movies on Metacritic. I recommend this film to anyone wanting to watch a good film that has 2 and a half hours on their time. Enjoy! Expand
  65. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Dark Knight was a revolutionary movie of its kind (Superhero movies). It really brings out the darker side to what being a superhero is and how it can affect that person as well as the people around him/her. Not only was unique to other superhero movies but it was superior to them as well as many other movies in terms of acting, special effects and the lasting appeal. Honestly words dont describe how well Heath Ledger played The Joker, as well as the life and 'madness' he brought into this movie. Take the first scene of this movie, where the Joker and his men robbed the bank, and how he tricked them into killing eachother. I have never seen a more absorbing first scene to a movie. Yes I agree that Christian Bale could of put a little more then a deep voice into the Batman character, but being how he was, he really made the villains in the movie (Two Face and Joker) shine. This movie brought a lot to the movie industry and would be hard to top as a superhero movie. I think this movie outshone both the Avengers and The Dark Knight Rises in almost all aspects and should not be treated as merely any old movie. Overall it tops my list and I highly encourage everyone to watch it. Expand
  66. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Although it has its flaws, it is a wonderfully crafted piece of epic crime drama that explodes past expectations with an excellent script, exhilarating special effects, amazing acting, and powerful themes.
  67. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    This is a true superhero movie. An exquisite Masterpiece, in this film there is a touch of realism that bring you into the world of Batman. It is unbelievable seeing this film in comparison to Tim Burton Batman back in the 1990s. Nolan have took away the gothic and traditional perception of the characters and made it his own. Batman is no long wearing rubber suits, the joker is no longThis is a true superhero movie. An exquisite Masterpiece, in this film there is a touch of realism that bring you into the world of Batman. It is unbelievable seeing this film in comparison to Tim Burton Batman back in the 1990s. Nolan have took away the gothic and traditional perception of the characters and made it his own. Batman is no long wearing rubber suits, the joker is no long flamboyant, Alfred is no long just a guy carrying tea around the place and Harvey Dent is no longer the guy with a perfectly halfed red face. These characters changed for the better in this film.

    Heath Ledger is am absolute inspiration to all of us, when I walked into the cinemas on the opening night I didn't expect much, I didn't know who is in the film apart from the names on the poster and I thought "it's a new batman film lets see how this one in compared to the others" from the first second when the DC comic sign sppeared on screen the soundtrack behind it create a huge suspense, I have no idea where it is going to lead me then it starts, the glass shatters, the guns started to go off then the joker appeared. At that point that was the very first time I saw the joker, and "holy **** I thought to myself. The look on the jokers face scared the sh** out of me I didn't know it is going look like that. It thought another Tim Burton joker, but I was completely shocked the action continues and does not allow you to have a breath. That's why this movie is so good thats why "it makes the marvel movies look silly" The stunts, the action, the story, the acting and the interaction between characters really capture you into this movie. Today this film is on DVD or Blue Ray but while The Dark Knight Rises is on screen, The Dark Knight is also playing in IMAX theatres so why no go see it on the massive screen again it's worth every cent!
    Expand
  68. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    The Dark Knight Is One Of My Favorite Films Of All Time Ranking Second On My Top Ten Favorite Films List On IMDB Behind My Number One Favorite Film Of All Time Citizen Kane, I Like This Movie Because Of Heath Ledger's Performance As The Joker, This Is The ''Gone With The Wind'' Of Comic Book Movies.
  69. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This is just a great film. It's over every superhero movie because of it's complex story, spectacular acting (Heath Ledger deserved that Oscar (R.I.P.) and entertaining action. I don't know why some people say this movie is just "good". That's complete jelaousy! F***ing haters.
  70. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    one of the fantastic movie i have ever watched.... i am obsessed about it... everyone should watch this movie... have fun.............................
  71. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Everything about this movie wins, the actors, the plot, the action-sequences, the soundtrack, and every other factor that i've regrettably decided to leave out to keep this review brief. It's really surprising considering that every other DC film for the past few decades (Batman Begins being the obvious exception) has been quite the **** but from start to finish, the Dark Knight will haveEverything about this movie wins, the actors, the plot, the action-sequences, the soundtrack, and every other factor that i've regrettably decided to leave out to keep this review brief. It's really surprising considering that every other DC film for the past few decades (Batman Begins being the obvious exception) has been quite the **** but from start to finish, the Dark Knight will have you glued to your screen, a must watch for anyone with a soul, and even more so for fans of Heath Ledger, the best actor ever :D Expand
  72. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    You want action?! You got it!! You want a 185 million dollar movie that is perfect?! You got it!! You want the best f***ing batman movie ever?!?! YOU GOT IT!!!!!!!! It's just heaven for Batman and Cinema buffs alike. Hollywood should learn their lesson about making constant crap comic book movies. DC and MARVEL are the two big competitors while Dark Horse just sits quietly in theYou want action?! You got it!! You want a 185 million dollar movie that is perfect?! You got it!! You want the best f***ing batman movie ever?!?! YOU GOT IT!!!!!!!! It's just heaven for Batman and Cinema buffs alike. Hollywood should learn their lesson about making constant crap comic book movies. DC and MARVEL are the two big competitors while Dark Horse just sits quietly in the background and makes only a handful of movies that include the Mask, Sin City and the Goon which is yet to come out.
    DC has finally made a masterful super hero movie again.

    In an era where superhero movies unfortunately rule everything in the movie industry this is the golden light of the genre. Heath Ledger's performance made the movie for real. Without him it would still be great but not perfect. That's how important he is.

    MARVEL should learn from DC's masterpiece and not make another like MARVEL's Wolverine Origins. I hated that movie. The Dark Knight is a golden movie that nobody should miss out on. simple as that.
    Expand
  73. May 1, 2011
    10
    This movie is really just trying to disguise what it is. What it is is just another Batman movie. It added pointless layers of depth to itself so that critics could not write it off as another superhero movie. I liked it when it was just Batman beating the crap out of criminals, and not Batman being a political figure. I usually like Christopher Nolan movies, but he really was overloadingThis movie is really just trying to disguise what it is. What it is is just another Batman movie. It added pointless layers of depth to itself so that critics could not write it off as another superhero movie. I liked it when it was just Batman beating the crap out of criminals, and not Batman being a political figure. I usually like Christopher Nolan movies, but he really was overloading this one and makes it complicated enough that the regular audience of Batman films (6-10 yr olds) wont enjoy it and end up calling it boring. In short, great as a superhero movie and confused as a political thriller. Expand
  74. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    is the best movie about Batman, because almost all the cast and special effects that could use very well. The actor who do Joker is fantastic, but the woman who makes Rachel she has attitude and is very ugly
  75. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Christopher Nolan directs an epic, emotional thrill ride. Providing nonstop action incredible performances especially Heath Ledger who gives the best adaptation of one of the most memorable villains. This movie is one of the most unforgettable experiences you will have until the last one arrives. I give this movie 90%.
  76. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    Christopher Nolan is by far an excellent director while making this epic hit!
  77. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The thing about The Dark Knight is that there's so much build up going on through the entire movie. The movie does a good job of juggling multiple villians, like how Batman Begins was. Joker is the main villian, and Lau and Salvatori Maroni are the other villians. There's also a lot of bad guys in this. The action is a big step up in this one to as there's not only more action than Begins, but the quality is a little better. The last dilema with the Joker and the ships felt a bit rushed though, but the movie quickly picked up at the finale. The screentime for this movie is longer than a few other superhero movies at 2hrs.18min without credits. But the pacing throughout the movie is so well done that the movie feels more like 2hrs than that time. The movie is so intense at times it may be a bit uncomfortable. But the intensity is not violent as there's blood or a lot of cursing in it. The plot and issues just make it feel intense. Overall the movie haves a couple of flaws but it's certainly awesome. Expand
  78. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Simply the best comic book movie of our time. Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight is not only a take on modern comic book craze, but a look into the dark heart of a corrupt underworld (Gotham City), the action packed summer movie you've always dreamed of, the peek inside of a pyschotic sociapath, and one of the best mystery/detective films ever made. Of course you ask, how can a comic bookSimply the best comic book movie of our time. Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight is not only a take on modern comic book craze, but a look into the dark heart of a corrupt underworld (Gotham City), the action packed summer movie you've always dreamed of, the peek inside of a pyschotic sociapath, and one of the best mystery/detective films ever made. Of course you ask, how can a comic book movie based upon a man who dresses up as a bat do all those things and do them so spendid? Well it does, it just does. The Dark Knight is the best superhero film I've ever seen. It twists and turns with some incredibly emotional and eye opening sequences. We see the late Heath Ledger's take on the Joker, who (in my own opinion) is the best on screen Joker ever. Who takes the chaos in Nolan's first batman, and amps it up a million times more. There simply are no flaws I can sum up with it, while it may be long yes, the film never drags and always, always, always keeps you interested in the dramatic, psychotic, and scary events that take place. This film truly pushes the limits on what a PG-13 movie can do in terms of disturbing acts and merciless sadistic violence. Take on any factor in the movie and you will come out more than satisfied. It's incredible acting, so good that even Christian Bale's fantastic Batman is overshadowed by Ledger's Joker and Aaron Eckhart's twisted Harvey Dent. Maggie Gylennhal replaces Katie Holmes as Rachael Dawes who I must say was much better for the role, but your favorite old advisors are still here in Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman, and a few other familiar faces, and they all do fantastic. The dialogue and script is utter joy for a comic film, finding the perfect balance when to throw a few cheesy lines out, and when to keep it vindictive and realistic. The screenplay, the soundtrack, the camera angles, the action sequences, Nolan's directing, the story, I could go on and on and on and on, but I think my review speaks for itself. Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight is a modern masterpiece, a sweeping epic that takes you by the throat and doesn't let go until the credits roll. Expand
  79. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    The Dark Knight is the best movie since Lord of The Rings. A dark and sophisticated movie (especially for batman) that had strong acting all around with a joker that was the craziest of all villians. A masterpiece like no other and no question the best movie of the year.
  80. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Christopher Nolan has created something brilliant. A dark Batman motivated by emotion and personal vendetta, yet compassionate enough to do what is right and become not a hero, but a symbol- a symbol that lights a fire in the hearts of the hopeless.
  81. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    The dark knight is one of those very rare films that transcends its genre. It's more like an actual crime thriller than a comic book movie. It's dark, well acted, at times unerving, and probably as close to reality as a superhero movie can be. Nolan's direction, especially in the action department, is nearly impecable. The cinematogrophy is also excellent. As everyone who seen thisThe dark knight is one of those very rare films that transcends its genre. It's more like an actual crime thriller than a comic book movie. It's dark, well acted, at times unerving, and probably as close to reality as a superhero movie can be. Nolan's direction, especially in the action department, is nearly impecable. The cinematogrophy is also excellent. As everyone who seen this knows, the best part of the film is Ledger's joker. It's probably the most disturbing take on a familliar character ever devised. However, I due have some nitpickings. If you've seen the crow you know that Nolan has borrowed a few elements from that film including the look of the joker. One other small problem is that when Bale is dressed as Batman in a scene where he is just talking to someone it seems kinda silly, especially with that voice he makes. Also, in my opinion, Maggie Gyllenhol, (I think that's how you spell it), is too ugly for her role. But ultimately the film is so far ahead of its superhero movie counterparts in terms of screenplay, directing, acting, and cinematogrophy that these things don't leave much of a negative impact. It's a film that everyone needs to see, even people who can't stand other films in this genre. Expand
  82. May 24, 2014
    10
    Easily the best movie ever made. Joker was more than outstanding. Christian bale was the best batman, the only reason the other users think he's just avg is because he couldn't do what heath ledger did.
  83. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    Though not as good as the first, The Dark Knight lives up to its legendary title and is good as you could possibly get with a Batman Begins sequel. A great casting choice for Joker makes the movie all the more worthwhile.
  84. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Heaven came down, and glory filled my soul. This is not only the best superhero movie of all time, but one of the greatest films every directed. Buy it, watch it, repeat.
  85. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Wow!!! The Dark Knight is truly the 21st Century Knight ! I'll give it 10/10 as it is more darker and deeper than it's prequel! For the tools of his trade, in addition to his gadgets and gizmos, he deserves an Oscar and 5 stars! Batman has done a teriffic job again! Call it the number 1 movie of Hollywood-That's Director Nolan's noir of signature style!
  86. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    This is best rated and most popular Batman movie in the series. Add in the best music by Hans Zimmer, the best supporting actor of Heath Ledger, the great cast and the sound effects, you create the most serious adapted comic-book movie ever. Only thing I disliked is the deeper voice of the Batman which might have been too under-toned.
  87. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Batman: A childish comic book character past his day. Think again, Nolan brings the dark and the adult to batman. Not to mention Heath Ledger in a legendary performance as the scary but damn right interesting Joker. Bale also cements his place as THE Batman with a smooth performance. This is just about one of the best movies I've ever seen.
  88. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    The Dark Knight is a brilliant masterpiece that I truly enjoyed. It had great acting and a great plot. The action was great and so was the screenplay. This movie surely will go down as one of the greatest superhero movies ever made.
  89. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    The second of Christopher Nolan's Batman films.
    Much has been said about the late, great Heath Ledger's Joker & it is all it is cracked up to be. He steals every scene he is in & the "Why so serious" scene is already up there with the greats.
    A mention to Aaron Eckhart as well for a very good portrayal of Harvey Dent. It is a very strong supporting cast as was the first film. My only
    The second of Christopher Nolan's Batman films.
    Much has been said about the late, great Heath Ledger's Joker & it is all it is cracked up to be. He steals every scene he is in & the "Why so serious" scene is already up there with the greats.
    A mention to Aaron Eckhart as well for a very good portrayal of Harvey Dent. It is a very strong supporting cast as was the first film.
    My only criticism is that Christian Bale's voice as Batman is unintentionally amusing. I understand he changes it so people won't know he's Bruce Wayne but it's so over the top it's almost comedic.
    Expand
  90. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    My favorite film of all time. I have never been a fan of superhero movies, on second thought I hate them. But this is no superhero movie. This is a whole new different type of entertainment that will inspire other films of the superhero genre. whether a fun of superhero movies or not, you will love this movie.
  91. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    The first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie, at least in the sense we have come to expect. Nolan takes a turn for extreme realism and weighted expectation, giving us one of the most gripping andThe first aspect of this movie that struck me was the fact that director Christopher Nolan decided to counter the trend of giving an eponymous title to his superhero movie, and upon watching it was for good reason. This is no superhero movie, at least in the sense we have come to expect. Nolan takes a turn for extreme realism and weighted expectation, giving us one of the most gripping and intense action movies to hit the screens in a long while. As far as we ave seen, the caped crusader has never looked so good. Expand
  92. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    This movie hits the ground running and never lets up. Having seen it 5 times I'm still having a hard time finding flaws and every time I've been dragged in. The Joker scenes still send shivers down my spine. It's so good because it is not the usual action hero movie, I can't believe Spider-Man 2 has the same score on metacritic as this one.
  93. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Heath Ledger's performance as the Joker was brilliant. He never lost an award for his performance. The movie is just like Batman: Arkham Asylum. I give this movie 10/10
  94. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    The Dark Knight is amazing. Heath Ledger's perfomance was amazing. The screenplay was brilliant. Christopher Nolan (The Director of "Inception) is one of the greatest filmmakers of all time.
  95. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    I think I came in my pants when Gary Oldman said "Dark Knight" at the end. Throught out the entire film, I must have had a massive hard-on due to its near-perfection. And when detective Gordon said those two words as Batman sped off, it was the "finishing" moment. It defined it. There are a handful of problems, but all the amazing **** that goes on more than compensates for it. It ****I think I came in my pants when Gary Oldman said "Dark Knight" at the end. Throught out the entire film, I must have had a massive hard-on due to its near-perfection. And when detective Gordon said those two words as Batman sped off, it was the "finishing" moment. It defined it. There are a handful of problems, but all the amazing **** that goes on more than compensates for it. It **** tops that **** **** anyone that says that it's overrated. Expand
  96. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    I have never been a fan of the superhero genre, possibly because of the pre-'Batman Begins' drought of good superhero films, only broken by the 'Spiderman' trilogy.
    'Batman Begins' was already a good film, but its sequel burst into the box office to critical and commercial success, and its not hard to see why. It is a superior film in many ways to its predecessor in that it is more
    I have never been a fan of the superhero genre, possibly because of the pre-'Batman Begins' drought of good superhero films, only broken by the 'Spiderman' trilogy.
    'Batman Begins' was already a good film, but its sequel burst into the box office to critical and commercial success, and its not hard to see why. It is a superior film in many ways to its predecessor in that it is more thrilling, clever, suspenseful and action packed than 'Batman Begins'. The strength of this film, not surprisingly, comes from the villain, played by Heath Ledger in his Oscar winning role. Ledger was sinsiter and completely unrestrained as the psychotic 'Joker', and is terrifying, but oh so enjoyable to watch. It is true that he steals the show from Christian Bale as 'Batman' himself, but this really isn't a negative.
    The film has a fantastic script and a wonderful musical score, and many other positives, including an excellent technical production as well. It has restored my faith in the superhero genre, along with the other 2008 hit, 'Iron Man', and is not just a great superhero film, but one of 2008's best films overall.
    Expand
  97. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    this is one of the greatest movies ever made, go see it for heath ledgers performance by itself, or see it because his performance is tied into a drama/tragedy masked by clever action sequences and deep, interesting characters.
  98. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    I can't understand why people don't like this movie, it has got to be one of the best ever films. It's The Godfather of comic book movies. A true triumph. Heath Ledger is the perfect choice for the one and only Joker. If there are any niggles, its got to be Christian Bale's Batman voice, which is too growly.But its the only bad point of this cinematic masterpiece. It shows the hard choicesI can't understand why people don't like this movie, it has got to be one of the best ever films. It's The Godfather of comic book movies. A true triumph. Heath Ledger is the perfect choice for the one and only Joker. If there are any niggles, its got to be Christian Bale's Batman voice, which is too growly.But its the only bad point of this cinematic masterpiece. It shows the hard choices Batman has to make, in order to make Gotham a better place. Cannot wait for Nolan's sequel Expand
  99. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    A masterpiece. A film which defies all expectation from a belittled genre and instead crosses over to become an epic crime drama which bears some similarities with Michael Mann's 'Heat'. The attention naturally went to the late Heath Ledger who delivered a definitive performance as the Joker but the cast as a whole should never be over looked. Christian Bale carries on the character fromA masterpiece. A film which defies all expectation from a belittled genre and instead crosses over to become an epic crime drama which bears some similarities with Michael Mann's 'Heat'. The attention naturally went to the late Heath Ledger who delivered a definitive performance as the Joker but the cast as a whole should never be over looked. Christian Bale carries on the character from Batman Begins and delivers another great performance whilst Aaron Eckhart and Gary Oldman are also superb. The action is top notch as well, the score suits the style. It's hard to criticise the Dark Knight except to say that its dark and intelligence themes doesnt make it the most fun to view. However it is difficult not to be sucked in as the pressure builds and builds thanks to Nolan's storytelling and Ledger's madness. A modern classic. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    May be the most hopeless, despairing comic-book movie in memory. It creates a world where being a superhero is at best a double-edged sword and no triumph is likely to be anything but short-lived.
  2. Mixing bravura filmmaking with flat clichés in about equal amounts, The Dark Knight is all about dualism. Appropriately, the movie's half-inspired, half-frustrating.
  3. An action blockbuster extravaganza that's sadder than sad and never pretends otherwise.