Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 5051 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,582
Mixed:
188
Negative:
281
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PaulPeterJul 30, 2008
Not for little pussies wanting to see a self righteous boyscout as their superhero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
toml.Dec 8, 2008
What a fantastic film. Great special effects, a super performance by Heath Ledger. How these bloody American newspapers keep scoring this film at anything below 100% is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Oct 4, 2008
This is a film that is one of a kind. I watched it multiple times and the structure of it should be taught in schools. I bought the script so I could learn how a movie was properly done. This is one of the best crime movies ever made and it This is a film that is one of a kind. I watched it multiple times and the structure of it should be taught in schools. I bought the script so I could learn how a movie was properly done. This is one of the best crime movies ever made and it happens to have Batman in it. The best part is it all seems like it could happen. Everything in this movie is done well, and for the naysayers...It just proves that some people shouldn't be aloud to vote. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentT.Jul 20, 2008
It's very difficult to explain how great "The Dark Knight" really is. I'm still in shock right now! "The Dark Knight" is probably the best summer movie so far, and may be the greatest movie this year! Let's talk about the It's very difficult to explain how great "The Dark Knight" really is. I'm still in shock right now! "The Dark Knight" is probably the best summer movie so far, and may be the greatest movie this year! Let's talk about the Joker first. We see him right when the movie starts, and even then, I fell in love with the character. The Joker is so maniacal, so cunning, and so bad ass that it's hard to not like him. He played the part so well that I almost forgot Heath was the one underneath the character. Heath Ledger obviously took the part seriously, and he gave us a living, breathing Joker. His performance is unforgettable. Early reviews praised Heath, and believed he may win an Oscar. I wanted to see for myself - and I totally agree. I hope he does win because he really deserves it. Throughout the whole movie, we get to see all of the Joker's crimes and schemes. I've got to admit that I was blown away by everything the Joker did. All of his plans were crazy, but at the same time smart, and many of them had twists. His final attempt was probably the best, and also the most psychological. The Joker pretty much made the film into a psychological thriller. You'll be surprised at how cunning the Joker is and also how much he thinks everything through. Even though he's effing crazy, you'll fall in love with the Joker. I was surprised at how funny the movie was. There were a few smart jokes from time to time, but the one that took the cake was, of course, the Joker. All the things he says, all the things he does, deserves a laugh. (I also agree that most of his quotes should be on t-shirts). So, Christian Bale reprises his role as Batman, and he definitely pulled it off again. Bale is great as Batman and Bruce Wayne, and he shows us how human Batman can be. His character is just as important as every other main character. Eckhart is simply wonderful as Harvey Dent, Gotham's "White Knight." Gyllenhaal is also a great replacement for Katie Holmes as Rachel Dawes. I certainly think that Gary Oldman and Morgan Freeman received bigger roles this time than the last, however it kind of felt like Michael Caine got a smaller part. But even though it did feel like that, Michael Caine still made a big impression. You all have probably already heard about the film's second villain, Two-Face. Two-Face is Harvey Dent's (Aaron Eckhart) other persona. He become Two-Face after a tragic accident (I'm not going to reveal the details), and becomes disfigured. Soon after, he goes on a rampage to take out the guilty and corrupt. Two-Face's trademark coin appears in the film, too. He uses this coin to decide the fate of his victims. Heads means the person will live, while the other side (a scratched up face) means the person will die). Two-Face portrays a very important moral that we discover in the film: "You either die a hero, or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain." That quote has a bit of irony in it, since it was also said by Harvey Dent in the film. Harvey Dent's character in this film probably took some inspiration from the graphic novel, "The Killing Joke." In the graphic novel, a character tries to prove that even the most upstanding citizen is capable of going mad after having "one bad day." The action in this film is amazing. The film doesn't just have explosions and violence for no reason. There's always a reason for them. Also, the stunts that were performed in this film was crazy good. In the trailer, there was a part where a truck flipped upside down and then crashed. You'll never guess what caused that to happen. Batman does some crazy tricks with his batpod, which pretty much just wowed and entertained the audience. Now let's compare this film to "Iron Man." Many have said how this film changed superhero films forever, just like how "Iron Man" did. But in my opinion, "Iron Man" never made a big impression to me. It was good, but it wasn't amazing. "Iron Man" just felt like another superhero movie, but "The Dark Knight" felt like an actual "film." So, did "The Dark Knight" live up to all the hype? I'd have to say it was even better than that. The trailers (despite how awesome they were) only showed us a fraction of how good "The Dark Knight" is; the film is so much more. The film has meaning - morals that we can use in life, and believable characters. Even with it's two and a half hour running time, never was the film boring. I had to sit near the front of the theater, and I was still entertained! It was entertaining and full of excitement from beginning to end. However, I kind of have mixed feelings about the ending. I didn't understand the ending at first, but after finding out I realized that it was a meaningful ending, but I don't know if I liked it or not. But still, that shouldn't keep you from seeing a fantastic film like this. Believe me, after you see the movie, you're going to want to see it again right away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregM.Jul 22, 2008
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ToddB.Jul 20, 2008
Although long, this movie keeps your interest. Heath Ledger's Joker is the best villain I have seen in a move in the past 3-5 years, at least. From his mannerisms to his dialougue, he was certainly sinister, yet, I couldn't get Although long, this movie keeps your interest. Heath Ledger's Joker is the best villain I have seen in a move in the past 3-5 years, at least. From his mannerisms to his dialougue, he was certainly sinister, yet, I couldn't get enough of him in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MDJ2010Aug 1, 2008
A different class of superhero movie!! Doesn't treat the audience like idiots with the normal linear storyline, instead it juxtapositions an array of character factions asking the viewer to use their brains. The film manages to make a A different class of superhero movie!! Doesn't treat the audience like idiots with the normal linear storyline, instead it juxtapositions an array of character factions asking the viewer to use their brains. The film manages to make a better sociopolitical commentary post 911 than movies that have that as their sole intention and uses each character with success in that aim. Action, performances, visual beauty, humour, thought - this movie has it all!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GraAug 6, 2008
Excellent summer blockbuster. The joker's destructive madness is the perfect provocation for a Batman who is forced to re-examine his own ethical code. Heath Ledger is brilliant as the joker, and Christian Bale continues to be superb in Excellent summer blockbuster. The joker's destructive madness is the perfect provocation for a Batman who is forced to re-examine his own ethical code. Heath Ledger is brilliant as the joker, and Christian Bale continues to be superb in all his roles. There's a good story, which occasionally borders (even sometimes crosses into) the implausible, but it works extremely well. Of course it's going to be over-the-top in places; it's a film about a comic book superhero who dresses up as a bat! As such a film, it is relentlessly spectacular. If I'm honest, I doubt any of the low-raters truly believe that it deserves a 0 or a 1. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jhoroz.Aug 6, 2008
This movie was incredible. I would have stayed 3 hours in the cinema to watch the entire thing. I'm tired of how people complain the movie is too long, while to me it was the fastest 2 1/2 hours of my life. This movie was much better This movie was incredible. I would have stayed 3 hours in the cinema to watch the entire thing. I'm tired of how people complain the movie is too long, while to me it was the fastest 2 1/2 hours of my life. This movie was much better than bloody iron man, which was just filled with American cheese and a disjointed story. I think iron man is overrated, I think its good but doesn't deserve 79 on meta critic. I think batman begins was better than it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IlkayB.Oct 5, 2008
It's one of the best films ever made. Outstanding performances, outstanding plot and the flawless traps -almost- of Joker that make us uncomfortable on our seats.. I gave this movie a mega 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeviH.Oct 6, 2008
When people said Heath Ledger ought to win an Oscar, most of the regular movie-going community passed it off as a rolethat would be, like Jonny Depp's Jack Sparrow, nominated but not awarded. That was before we, the public, were When people said Heath Ledger ought to win an Oscar, most of the regular movie-going community passed it off as a rolethat would be, like Jonny Depp's Jack Sparrow, nominated but not awarded. That was before we, the public, were subjected to a crap infested year of cinematic self-flagellation. I would be amazed if the academy could even find another performance worth nominating this year. Hell, even Bale's performance, in comparison to the general talent, could probably beat out most of the crowd... That said, the movie itself was a must see, and it's flaws were compensated by the superb directing and performance of Ledger. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackB.Oct 6, 2008
Very slow to start, yet you are rewarded with perhaps one of the most convincing villains in many modern films. The joker is fantastic, and i would recommend this just to see him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeanneL.Jul 1, 2008
This is the best action movie i have ever seen. my jaw was on the floor the entire movie, from the visuals, to the script, to the acting, every component was truly mind blowing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CristinZ.Jul 16, 2008
Just saw it last night, amazing film, gritty crime drama....so realistic, Heath was amazing, as was Eckhart, Bale and Oldman. I can't wait to see it again on Friday!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
redsonJul 18, 2008
1st off: Ledger's performance was outstanding.. The Joker is psychotic and unreasonable and its an unfortunate tragedy that Heath ledger wont reprise the role.. in fact i pity anyone cast to replace him if they make a third installment. 1st off: Ledger's performance was outstanding.. The Joker is psychotic and unreasonable and its an unfortunate tragedy that Heath ledger wont reprise the role.. in fact i pity anyone cast to replace him if they make a third installment. everything is was so so.. They really layered the script and it shows: Harvey Dent's part is thorougly developed and probably forced the movie ran about a half hour longer than 'necessary'. Fight scenes are typical western close-ups on hard to read action sequences and some of the best visual moments were already spoiled by overzealous trailer edits.. overall its a positive contribution to the franchise and a much higher quality movie than Batman Returns - Batman Forever. In my opinion this installment doesnt match up to Batman Begins very well and is definitely more 'fan flick' the mainstream movie.. Go see and judge for yourself but be warned, youre in for a long, bumpy ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PerryC.Jul 18, 2008
Hands down, the best superhero movie ever created. The Dark Knight brings to life the real dark and twisted side of the Batman comics. It's about time theres a movie that comes out this dark. Everything in this movie is great; the Hands down, the best superhero movie ever created. The Dark Knight brings to life the real dark and twisted side of the Batman comics. It's about time theres a movie that comes out this dark. Everything in this movie is great; the drama, comedy, suspense, and of course action. Any professional critic who could rate this movie less than at least a 95 has no sense of what a great movie is made of, and should all be fired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveA.Jul 18, 2008
Best movie of the year to date. Possible Best Picture nomination. Heath Ledger is incredible and what you have heard in reviews does not even come close to giving him justice in what he does for the role as the Joker. He makes Jack's Best movie of the year to date. Possible Best Picture nomination. Heath Ledger is incredible and what you have heard in reviews does not even come close to giving him justice in what he does for the role as the Joker. He makes Jack's Joker look like a bad high school acting job. The movie is very violent and I am surprised it was PG-13. It is action packed from the beginning to end. I saw it in the IMAX theater and all of the action scenes were done in IMAX. It adds a whole new experience to actually getting out of the house to se this movie. It is one that you don't just go to the movies for you go to see it in IMAX! The entire cast put on a great acting job with a well written script and plot lines. I think it could be the best Super Hero movie of all time is a pretty easy statement to say. The 2.5 hours that the movie plays goes by so fast I wanted to see more but man it wears you out. Go, you will enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronF.Jul 18, 2008
It couldn't have been better. That's all there is to it as far as I'm concerned. From the astounding directing to the superb acting, it never misses a beat, and all the while it keeps you guessing. One of the best things about It couldn't have been better. That's all there is to it as far as I'm concerned. From the astounding directing to the superb acting, it never misses a beat, and all the while it keeps you guessing. One of the best things about this is even I couldn't guess what would happen next, and I'm good at analyzing things like this. It does everything well and does it without feeling cliche or redone. And Heath may have actually been up to the challenge of topping Nicholson, especially in being so good while staying true to the comic's origins and feel for the Joker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChenW.Jul 18, 2008
Undoubtedly, the best comic book movie and the best superhero movie of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnU.Jul 18, 2008
When The Joker wore the nurse's uniform---holy-smoke.....nearly fell out of my seat!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamF.Jul 19, 2008
This movie is a beautiful darkness. It's impossible to say the movie is bad, its brilliant in it's genre. If you don't like it refrain from criticism of the movie, because it will be the darkness of the genre that turns you This movie is a beautiful darkness. It's impossible to say the movie is bad, its brilliant in it's genre. If you don't like it refrain from criticism of the movie, because it will be the darkness of the genre that turns you off. How ever if your open the beautiful darkness then see it. And if you say hate this movie, why so serious? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelLJul 19, 2008
Best BATMAN made? Easy YES, the best! However, forget about that this movie has comic behind it. The movie itself has so many deep characters... so well thought it, and action scenes comes across as real. Quite a few twist and turns. The Best BATMAN made? Easy YES, the best! However, forget about that this movie has comic behind it. The movie itself has so many deep characters... so well thought it, and action scenes comes across as real. Quite a few twist and turns. The jokers character is VERY hard to come out in a movie. Jack did, had fun. But Heath Ledge WAS the joker, ever ycomic I ever read, their characters all transformed in Heath. This movie REALLY pays homage to the comics, If you're been reading comics for years, youll know why I mea. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CesarF.Jul 19, 2008
Dark and exciting
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LelandK.Jul 21, 2008
Christopher Nolan takes a superhero genre and turns into a crime thriller. Ledger's performance combines Alex in A Clockwork Orange with Capt. Jack Sparrow; a semi-comedic joker who thrives on violence. The cast was great and i would Christopher Nolan takes a superhero genre and turns into a crime thriller. Ledger's performance combines Alex in A Clockwork Orange with Capt. Jack Sparrow; a semi-comedic joker who thrives on violence. The cast was great and i would like to see the feature again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinB.Jul 20, 2008
The first Batman movie to make Batman feel real. The joker could be in New York or LA just as easily as in Gotham City. Ledger's performance is fantastic, and goes beyond the villain that fellow Dark Knight actor Gary Oldman portrays in The first Batman movie to make Batman feel real. The joker could be in New York or LA just as easily as in Gotham City. Ledger's performance is fantastic, and goes beyond the villain that fellow Dark Knight actor Gary Oldman portrays in The Professional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerF.Jul 20, 2008
There is already so much praise for this movie that it kind of seems pointless to add my two-cents. But I loved it so much that I'm going to go ahead and post my first comment and rating ever since I discovered Metacritic several years There is already so much praise for this movie that it kind of seems pointless to add my two-cents. But I loved it so much that I'm going to go ahead and post my first comment and rating ever since I discovered Metacritic several years ago. I don't understand how it got an 82. I would have thought at least a 90 based solely on Heath Ledgers performance as The Joker. See this movie. Don't wait for the DVD. Go right now to the nearest theater and see The Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeP.Jul 20, 2008
This movie is, strangely enough, a political piece supporting the decisions of the Bush administration. Weird, but true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
A.NonymousJul 21, 2008
While the movie is good, action-packed, fast-paced fun, it is incomparable to Burton's Gothic masterpieces. Also, I feel that the only reason the late Heath Ledger is so highly praised for his performance is because of his tragic death While the movie is good, action-packed, fast-paced fun, it is incomparable to Burton's Gothic masterpieces. Also, I feel that the only reason the late Heath Ledger is so highly praised for his performance is because of his tragic death and not his performance, which is generic when compared to the surreal genius of Jack Nicholson's Joker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimothyJul 20, 2008
The Dark Knight is easily the best superhero/comic adaptation movie ever made in Hollywood history. It offers in depth protrayal of the antihero personage of Batman and nihilistic madness of the Joker (Heath totally owns the role)- perhaps The Dark Knight is easily the best superhero/comic adaptation movie ever made in Hollywood history. It offers in depth protrayal of the antihero personage of Batman and nihilistic madness of the Joker (Heath totally owns the role)- perhaps even transcended that of the original comics. The deliberate sparsity of special effects lends a unique realism and grittiness. The only flaw I feel (minor) is that the role of Rachel Dawes still doesn't fit in very comfortably in the movie but Maggie is still a tremendous improvement over Katie Holmes. An unforgettable classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RJG.Jul 20, 2008
Why so seriously overrated? I thought I was going to see the "Citizen Kane" of the decade based on the reactions of most critics and just about every fan out there. I have to suspect that what is driving the cult like praise for the film is Why so seriously overrated? I thought I was going to see the "Citizen Kane" of the decade based on the reactions of most critics and just about every fan out there. I have to suspect that what is driving the cult like praise for the film is the untimely death of Heath Ledger, who plays the Joker. "The Dark Knight" was a huge let down following the superb "Batman Begins." Continuity problems abound here. In one scene the Joker and his goons invade a Bruce Wayne fund raiser for the reelection campaign of crusading District Attorney Harvey Dent. Bruce notices the invasion of the party by the Joker and quickly hides Dent in a closet before he runs away to put on his Batman outfit and battle the Joker and his gang. When a frustrated Joker can't find Dent and his goons prove no match for Batman in a fight, he decides to take Rachel Dawes hostage. Joker throws Dawes from the building and Batman dramatically rescues her. After they fall onto a car the scene is cut, and there no explanation for what happens afterward. Surely, Batman wouldn't just leave the other people at the party up in the building with a dangerous criminal like the Joker. Surely, the Joker wouldn't give up trying to find out where Dent is hiding in the building and just leave. If he can't find Dent, then he is probably going to take a hostage and demand Dent give himself up, or the hostage dies. A glaring continuity flaw and not good film making. Ledger is good playing a very menacing, and completely irredeemable, version of the Joker. But he doesn't he have to do much more than look scummy and mutter his dialog in his menacing Joker voice. Good, but not award worthy. No point in trying to convince the Cult of Ledger mob otherwise, obviously. Unlike the previous principle villain in "Begins", Henri Ducard, there is no origin story about this version of the Joker, other than his passing references to a bad childhood. I wanted to know more, but there is no time for that in this movie. It's too bad they didn't give a good actor like Ledger more to do, other than look scummy and sound menacing. I enjoyed the movie most when Batman is fighting the Joker. But then it goes on for 20 - 30 minutes longer than necessary because Nolan decided to have Harvey Dent undergo his transformation into Two-Face. The movie would have been better with a more developed Joker character, and more screen time for Alfred and Lucius Fox. I really enjoyed watching Bruce interact with Alfred and Lucius in "Begins," but here these relationships take a back seat to unnecessary filler, like Bruce's trip to Hong Kong, and his kidnapping of a businessman with links to the Gotham mob. A time consuming and an overall unnecessary scene. Overall, a step down from the high quality of "Begins." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XiongJul 22, 2008
Excellent action and effects -- of course -- and then some. The plot actually has something new to say about heroes in general, which is a surprise. The film adds depth to the Batman character without destroying the canonical legend. The Excellent action and effects -- of course -- and then some. The plot actually has something new to say about heroes in general, which is a surprise. The film adds depth to the Batman character without destroying the canonical legend. The final twist takes it right out of the common run of summer blockbusters. The only shortcoming, perhaps unavoidable, is the comic book texture all around. Ledger deserves all the credit he's gotten, although none of the other major players allows him to steal the whole show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimL.Jul 20, 2008
I was suprized by this Movie! Did not expect it to live upto the hype. It kept my attention the entire time. Ledgers lip licking Joker was creepy, evil, and entertaining. You could easily forget he's not real. The critics that gave this I was suprized by this Movie! Did not expect it to live upto the hype. It kept my attention the entire time. Ledgers lip licking Joker was creepy, evil, and entertaining. You could easily forget he's not real. The critics that gave this movie low scores should have the Jokers pencil trick performed on them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianJul 23, 2008
Should be called the Joker Movie. He totally makes me forget the whole gay cowboy part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrantW.Jul 23, 2008
Although there were some minor things that annoyed me about the movie (Batman's voice) I found it to be one of the best movie going experiences of my life. Not sense the Departed has a movie been this intense and still held together Although there were some minor things that annoyed me about the movie (Batman's voice) I found it to be one of the best movie going experiences of my life. Not sense the Departed has a movie been this intense and still held together from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackWatkinsJul 23, 2008
Great movie. Excellent performances and action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricV.Jul 24, 2008
This movie was one of the most amazing pictures I've seen all year. It was unparalled in the acting ability portrayed in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisJ.Jul 20, 2008
There isn't anything i could change about this movie. perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErnieD.Jul 20, 2008
This film lived up to it's hype, it may have been the best comic book movie I'd ever seen, no make that the best movie! Truly stunning effects, and the acting was outstanding. Anybody rating this movie low either has it in for This film lived up to it's hype, it may have been the best comic book movie I'd ever seen, no make that the best movie! Truly stunning effects, and the acting was outstanding. Anybody rating this movie low either has it in for someone involved with it or doesn't know the history of the comic book. A true must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkMckIernanJul 20, 2008
Brilliant, dark, good versus evil. Heath gets the Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Jul 20, 2008
Oh my God, how did Critics give this an 82?? I've finally lost complete respect for them. This movie, was absolutely-amazing. If not for Batman's rumbly voice I would venture far enough to say it's perfect. Keith Ledger Oh my God, how did Critics give this an 82?? I've finally lost complete respect for them. This movie, was absolutely-amazing. If not for Batman's rumbly voice I would venture far enough to say it's perfect. Keith Ledger absolutely dominates his role as the Joker. The fight scenes where absolutely amazing. There was one plot twist after another. I'm giving this movie a 10 despite the rumbly voice, it was simply far too good and it deserves nothing less. A++, see this movie NOW! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelipeP.Jul 20, 2008
Heath Ledger stole the movie, best Batman Movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RoryP.Jul 27, 2008
The makers have taken the limp 'comic book realism' of the Batman Begins format and have improved on it. They have done this by shooting on location instead of soundstage, by replacing Katie Holmes with a far more savvy Maggie G, The makers have taken the limp 'comic book realism' of the Batman Begins format and have improved on it. They have done this by shooting on location instead of soundstage, by replacing Katie Holmes with a far more savvy Maggie G, and by creating something genuinely intriguing in the Joker character. Heath Ledger's great performance is bolstered by certain flourishes in the script that display a dark tone beneath the bland 'good Vs eeeVIL' platitudes, one which is quietly playful, and definitly entertaining. While often diverting, I never thought much of the comic book fantasy genre, especially in efforts like Batman Begins (I don't care what people think, a critically admired director and a crop of character actors cannot turn the regular comic staples of leaden dialogue and a man dressed up in a lumbering superhero costume into something approaching realistic drama, no matter how jazzed up they make it.) It is fitting then, to eat my own words, because a chord has been struck in the portrayal of the Joker, that, while never done in a comic book movie before, could only be done in the hyper reality of such a genre. In the hands of Mr. Ledger the image of the character is fantastical and freakish, existing beyond ideals of good and evil, beyond mainstream concepts of humanity and the 'other', beyond...well, ok, he just doesn't give a sh@t. Its the magic element which makes the movie enjoyable, and distracts from the films' points of banality, which are few, but noticable. Batman himself, is boring, you couldn't care less about him. Personally, every time I see him talking/growling in his suit, i want to laugh, which doesn't bode well for the franchise me thinks. His Bat suit is also clearly too cumbersome to wear, especially in the fight scenes with group of gangsters/hoodlums. It takes him forever to punch out one guy. Despite all that, the best comic book film i've seen. Well worth going to the cinema to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RashadS.Jul 20, 2008
This is not only the best super hero movie ever, but probably the best movie ever. Yes, right up there with godfather! I will also use this movie to gauge movie critics. Anyone giving this less than a ten will come under severe question from This is not only the best super hero movie ever, but probably the best movie ever. Yes, right up there with godfather! I will also use this movie to gauge movie critics. Anyone giving this less than a ten will come under severe question from me and I just cant trust there reviews no longer. P.S. Heath lived up to the hype! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCJul 28, 2008
This is easily the best movie of the year in my opinion and possibly the best movie i have ever seen. Ignore the negative critics, they gave it bad reviews because they saw 100's and said "Oh no this could get better reviews than theThis is easily the best movie of the year in my opinion and possibly the best movie i have ever seen. Ignore the negative critics, they gave it bad reviews because they saw 100's and said "Oh no this could get better reviews than the Godfather so i better make sure it doesn't". With excuses like its not fun or it's too dark, you can tell they can't back up their evidence. Is the movie dark? sure but give me a break its a comic book based on a man who had his parents killed and is out for revenge in a way. It's not as dark as people may believe, it's got a lot of humor thanks to the finest performance i have ever seen. You can take all the hype and all you heard about Heath Ledger and how good he did but when you walk out you will still be in aw and it will still impress you. From the way he walks to the way he twitches, it is a beautiful sight even if it's not supposed to be. He is so good that you may actually find yourself rooting for him, but luckily Christian Bale is no slouch and like always he performes brilliantly. These two actors single handedely made the movie from a great category to a classic category. The only flaw which isn't too bad is the length but the more the better. Also, there are so many probems that come up in the movie and so many storylines that like some critics said it is hard to obtain all of it in one viewing. Like a great music CD, it's a movie that you could watch 10 times and on the 10th time say "Oh wow i never noticed that before". This movie is an instant classic in my opinion and not to upset anyone but i find this much more entertaining than the Godfather movies. Maybe its just me but i would rather watch this 5 times instead of watch the Godfather, even if the Godfather is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwinJul 20, 2008
Watched it twice..can't get enough of it...the best movie so far that I've watched this year...and in fact its a superhero movie makes it even better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahB.Jul 28, 2008
Brilliant! Best movie I've seen in a long time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielR.Jul 20, 2008
My new favorite movie. This movie was it. All of the actors were glossed over because of Heath Ledger's amazing turn as the best freakin villain ever (in my humble opinion). He brought a kind of anti-star power: stripped of his face, My new favorite movie. This movie was it. All of the actors were glossed over because of Heath Ledger's amazing turn as the best freakin villain ever (in my humble opinion). He brought a kind of anti-star power: stripped of his face, he's freer than he has ever been before to savor each moment onscreen as a character with a lust for life, death, and most of all, chaos. This film has been called a crime epic, and it is, but it is something much more; like No Country for Old Men, it is a philosophical struggle to find morality in this crazy world. Christopher Nolan makes the ballsiest film of the summer; one that's not afraid to be long, not afraid to be smart, not afraid to be deep. Also, they flipped over an 18-wheeler in the middle of Chicago. Ballsy. And it's gonna pay off. Hell, it already did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaliaN.Jul 31, 2008
amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing movie ... simple the best batman movie EVER ... Heath Ledger was PHENOMENAL. there has to be an amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing movie ... simple the best batman movie EVER ... Heath Ledger was PHENOMENAL. there has to be an honorary oscar or something for him Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnwJul 30, 2008
Far and away the best film based on a comic book ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
poansapopJul 30, 2008
Amazing! deserves a 10 on heath ledgers performance alone!... add that to the awesome story,depth and just brilliance and you have the best film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.K.Aug 1, 2008
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleF.Aug 1, 2008
It was great! Heath Ledger stole the show!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jwAug 2, 2008
If any one thing is creepiest about Ledger's Joker, it might be that he actually seems to get more comfortable as the movies wears on. To the point that when finally hung upside-down from a skyscraper by Batman, he seems almost at If any one thing is creepiest about Ledger's Joker, it might be that he actually seems to get more comfortable as the movies wears on. To the point that when finally hung upside-down from a skyscraper by Batman, he seems almost at peace. Here is someone who can't take off his mask; someone whose success ensures that Bruce Wayne can't take his off, either - even when he most wants to. But despite himself the Joker is a "planner," and in fact a very good one. It isn't chaos that he craves so much as momentum. The comedy of his nurse routine (where Ledger really scores points) comes from his frustration at the slightest hitch in what is otherwise going completely his way. Meanwhile Bruce finds himself increasingly reverting to terrorist tactics to stop the madness. Each is more like the other than they want to be. It's why the Joker is the most dangerous of supervillans. He debunks the very genre that created him. His threat is to the IDEA of a Batman. That the madman comes so very close to being proven right is why this movie is serious business. And Heath Ledger's performance is why it deserves a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EnriqueP.Aug 2, 2008
I already saw it twice and I can say that it is the best movie of the year so far. Heath ledger gives an excellent performance combining different emotions and making the audience feel in varied ways. The batman was really what I hated about I already saw it twice and I can say that it is the best movie of the year so far. Heath ledger gives an excellent performance combining different emotions and making the audience feel in varied ways. The batman was really what I hated about the film. Each time I herad that voice I wanted to go out from the cinema! It was terrible.......The special effects are awsome as well as the general production. Costumes visual effects and makeup. It was a very good film and I don't understand how people can give this movie a 1! c'mon be ralistic, if you gave this movie a 1 you should give hancook a -2?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Aug 3, 2008
Love it. Never bored, couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next. Makes me really regret what happened to Heath as he clearly had some amazing roles in store for him. I never go to the movies, but man am I glad we forked Love it. Never bored, couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next. Makes me really regret what happened to Heath as he clearly had some amazing roles in store for him. I never go to the movies, but man am I glad we forked over the $20 for us to go. Worth every cent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottE.Aug 3, 2008
Great movie from start to finish. When I thought it was over, there was still an hour left.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KTBAug 5, 2008
The film on it's own was good, but Ledgers Joker made it amazing. The best film of 2008!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieAug 6, 2008
If I could give it an 11 out of 10 i would, just seen it 2nd time now there's so much to it and yet its generally very easy to keep up with, they couldn't have made a more perfect Batman film. Surpasses films like Spiderman by If I could give it an 11 out of 10 i would, just seen it 2nd time now there's so much to it and yet its generally very easy to keep up with, they couldn't have made a more perfect Batman film. Surpasses films like Spiderman by miles. In my top 5 films of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SimonL.Aug 8, 2008
Darkly great wit great views and extremely well symbolizes sent by Cristopher Nolan, a very personal version of film super-heroes that is innovating a new style of the same theme. Better yet is the provision of Heath Ledger as Joker is a Darkly great wit great views and extremely well symbolizes sent by Cristopher Nolan, a very personal version of film super-heroes that is innovating a new style of the same theme. Better yet is the provision of Heath Ledger as Joker is a totally different and really appropriate for this movie. Majestically great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeLAug 8, 2008
It is definitely the most faithful batman movie yet, and without a doubt my favorite superhero movie. I've seen it 3 times, once in Imax, and I liked it better each time I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
othos.Aug 9, 2008
A bit overlong and overwrought, but entertaining as hell nonetheless. As a Batman purist, I was disconcerted at the death of Dent and the elimination of the Two-Face character. Overall, though, I was captivated, and boy, does my hometown A bit overlong and overwrought, but entertaining as hell nonetheless. As a Batman purist, I was disconcerted at the death of Dent and the elimination of the Two-Face character. Overall, though, I was captivated, and boy, does my hometown make a great Gotham. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Rossb.Sep 1, 2008
Epic - this may not be what some expect from a 'comic book superhero movie', but it's the best movie I've seen for a long time. This is an ensemble piece, where the joker may outshine the rest with his mesmeric craziness, Epic - this may not be what some expect from a 'comic book superhero movie', but it's the best movie I've seen for a long time. This is an ensemble piece, where the joker may outshine the rest with his mesmeric craziness, but not by much - there's fantastic performances everywhere, from bale, caine, and particularly eckhart and oldman. It's a crime thriller following 3 men's attempts to save gotham city, beautifully shot, fantastic score by zimmer, and any flaws it has are so minor compared to what Nolan has achieved here, that it has to have 10 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenD.Sep 22, 2008
This movie seriously rocked hard core and I believe that the Joker is an AMAZING character!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarkK.Jan 26, 2009
One of the best movies of the year. The Academy don't know nothing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesC.Jan 30, 2009
This is a brillant movie, packed with twists and turns, darken elements and much more. It certainly lives up to its hype and includes political, economical, and foreign affairs. The actors were brilliant. Christian Bale is brillant, in fact This is a brillant movie, packed with twists and turns, darken elements and much more. It certainly lives up to its hype and includes political, economical, and foreign affairs. The actors were brilliant. Christian Bale is brillant, in fact the best Batman ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhillllipppJan 7, 2009
anyone who DIDN'T like this movie is a complete idiot!!! a fantastic work of pure genius, except i didn't like the batman part (cos i hate that superhero rubbish), it was the joker that was worth watching it for. when i found out anyone who DIDN'T like this movie is a complete idiot!!! a fantastic work of pure genius, except i didn't like the batman part (cos i hate that superhero rubbish), it was the joker that was worth watching it for. when i found out about Heith Ledger's death i wasn't as shocked as i should have been (and i'm from australia, where it was all over the news), but after watching this movie i finally realise how much skill he had as an actor, and i now feel sadness that i should have felt before that he is no longer here. you know that you're supposed to hate him in this movie and that he's the bad guy who's killing everyone, but he's so... cool... They cover his face with paint to make him look ugly, and they give him a character that you're eant to dislike, and you still like him. A fine way to go Heith, a fine way to go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MenoktaseJan 7, 2009
I enjoyed it. Especially the plot and characters were well designed. Also the messages of the film were well-conveyed. The only thing I did not like about the movie is the length of it. If it were around 90 minutes it would be better I think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KE.Jan 9, 2009
Ledger's Joker act was truly the finest acting i've seen in a while. The action scenes were really great, and everything else was just 'wow'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardF.Mar 10, 2009
Excellent movie. Never saw a superhero movie like this one. Mind blowing performance by Heath Ledger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KerryL.Mar 8, 2009
The Dark Knight is a decent movie that could have been great. The acting was exceptional. Ledger did a fantastic job, as everyone has said, but Eckhart deserves much acclaim as well. Despite this, Batman remains glued to the tried and true The Dark Knight is a decent movie that could have been great. The acting was exceptional. Ledger did a fantastic job, as everyone has said, but Eckhart deserves much acclaim as well. Despite this, Batman remains glued to the tried and true Hollywood formula, and runs way too long. The plot is razor thin and could have been told in much less time. The storyline is obvious from the get go and still seems to want to hold the audiences hand through out. All in all, the movie gets scored higher than it should (or would) because of Ledgers death. It is nowhere near as good as Batman Begins. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardV.Sep 5, 2009
I think Nolan is bigger than this movie.this is a masterpiece no dobut,but I'v been waiting for this movie for a year and I expect from it even more than this.Anyway this is extraordinary film if you don't emphasis some of I think Nolan is bigger than this movie.this is a masterpiece no dobut,but I'v been waiting for this movie for a year and I expect from it even more than this.Anyway this is extraordinary film if you don't emphasis some of it's faults.The cast is brilliant(except Maggie Gyllenhaal) Nolan is almost on top and the plot is very fresh but Johnatan Nolan has written scenarioes even better before.I've never been one of Heath Ledger's fans and also I'm not now.but I won't forget his performance in this movie ever.Maybe you don't like the film but it is impossible that you could deny the Joker of Ledger is one of the best performances that anyone has done yet.This is not like a Nolan film.there is no flashback and playing with time we often expect to see in a film directed by him.Nolan usualy use some short scenes from the past when characters remember their memories but there isn't any of these short scenes in this film too.Either you like it or not you should accept it is the most different blackbuster ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertT.Nov 19, 2008
I saw "The Dark Knight" in the theatres-21 times. I tell you there has not been a solid super-hero movie that I have not liked and"The Dark Knight" is no exemption, especially with Christian Bale as Batman. He is absolutely my favorite actor I saw "The Dark Knight" in the theatres-21 times. I tell you there has not been a solid super-hero movie that I have not liked and"The Dark Knight" is no exemption, especially with Christian Bale as Batman. He is absolutely my favorite actor in this one and I for one hope he comes back to complete the trilogy. A friend of mine is getting me this movie as a christmas gift and I am looking forward to that. My dream is to someday have my own television station airing these kinds of movies and I will be excited about the up and coming "Batman3". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GusM.Nov 19, 2008
This is one of the best cast with an amazin cast and the best supporting actor role or best role ever done by someone. The joker was amazin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackS.Nov 22, 2008
This movie was one of the most intense movie ever! The Joker plays one of the best bad guys ever in Batman! Stanly K. doesn't have any idea, boring film? It kept you intrested all the time! I gave it a 9 because you do sort of get tired This movie was one of the most intense movie ever! The Joker plays one of the best bad guys ever in Batman! Stanly K. doesn't have any idea, boring film? It kept you intrested all the time! I gave it a 9 because you do sort of get tired of all the violence and action. But, that was pretty cool too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaylaG.Nov 5, 2008
For the tragic death of Heath Ledgar what an amazing performance to end his career. I was never interested in the hole Batman movies. Then I saw "The Dark Knight" and it is now one of my favorite movies. Christopher Nolan what an amazing For the tragic death of Heath Ledgar what an amazing performance to end his career. I was never interested in the hole Batman movies. Then I saw "The Dark Knight" and it is now one of my favorite movies. Christopher Nolan what an amazing job. You found the right characters to play in the movie and boy did they do an amazing job. By far a 10 in my eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SB.Dec 12, 2008
Pretty good take on the Batman universe. Borrows some ideas and throws in some rather silly action sequences while trying a bit too hard to be relevant. A good movie, but I couldn't really see what all the fuss was about. There Pretty good take on the Batman universe. Borrows some ideas and throws in some rather silly action sequences while trying a bit too hard to be relevant. A good movie, but I couldn't really see what all the fuss was about. There wasn't anything overwhelming or extraordinary about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianS.Oct 2, 2008
This is the best movie ever made. It has everything you want in a movie. Excellent sequalt to Batman Begins. If possible i would give it 1000000000 out of ten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErlantzJ.Oct 22, 2008
Incredibly well done movie, with great action, better casting and good plot. I love this movie, dark like the real batman, gray like the real life. I can't stop thinking in Joker's character. It's a pitty we won't see him again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMDec 30, 2008
"The Dark Knight" is the best movie i've seen this year. It makes other batman movies seem like they were were written by three year olds. If you haven't seen this your are missing out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradC.Oct 3, 2008
There are times when you know your going to see a good movie and then there are times you come out seeing a movies that was better than the hype and thats as rare as the Knicks making it to the playoffs but thats exactly what happened with There are times when you know your going to see a good movie and then there are times you come out seeing a movies that was better than the hype and thats as rare as the Knicks making it to the playoffs but thats exactly what happened with The Dark Knight.From start to finish my seat had no more edge to seat on,Everyone and i mean everyone played there charactor to the bone and bought them to live but the real scene stealler is of course The Late Heath Ledger this was a role that any ordinary actor could play but 1 in a generation could live and not know they were acting and thats how brillent and am memorising heaths Psychopathic clown really is and the most Supporting Actor Oscor worthy performance ive ever seen. RIP HEATH. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ManlyHunterOct 8, 2008
When The Dark Knight trailer was first released it seemed that every American paused to watch it. I never saw the trailer, but instead I stood in line with loads of people dressed in crazy costumes to watch the movie at the imax version of When The Dark Knight trailer was first released it seemed that every American paused to watch it. I never saw the trailer, but instead I stood in line with loads of people dressed in crazy costumes to watch the movie at the imax version of the film. I do have to say that is was worth it. It was action packed and had a good plot, much better than its previous tale (I didn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AliR.Oct 8, 2008
Finest of Heath Ledger, best Super Hero movie of 2008. Acting, story, script & settings , all awesome. Must watch Action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dfgdfsdfgdJul 1, 2008
Best comic book movie ever made. Even saying that though is an understatement. The fact that it's a comic book movie is incidental. This is an epic drama. Similar to Heat in many ways. The visual style, the writing, acting, direction Best comic book movie ever made. Even saying that though is an understatement. The fact that it's a comic book movie is incidental. This is an epic drama. Similar to Heat in many ways. The visual style, the writing, acting, direction are all at such a high level. Heath Ledger will be missed even moreso after this film when you realize he was only 28 when doing this role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TRJul 12, 2008
Very Detailed and tons of everything you need in a movie. Definitely the highest of the summer, yet alone the year and maybe even the century!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeroyR.Jul 10, 2008
This is the essence of the comics captured with film its simply spectacular I wonder how many times I will see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabeM.Jul 14, 2008
This movie is awesome! The Joker is absolutely insane.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenLJul 16, 2008
Flawless. Absolutely riveting. Nolan goes back to the intensity first seen in Memento. One of the best performances by H. Ledger. In awe of his performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
toofaceJul 16, 2008
Fantastic movie, Heath deserves an oscar for his gritty portrayal of the Dark Knights arch enemy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
darknightfanJul 16, 2008
One of the most brilliant movies I have seen in my life!!!!!!! The action keeps your hurt pumping like hell... keep it up Nolan!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RemusM.Jul 17, 2008
This movie makes all the other superhero movies look like Bio-dome. A true epic from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenW.Jul 17, 2008
Such a brilliant movie, heath ledgers playing as the joker is amazing as well as Christian bale playing batman. would have to say the best movie of 2008 that i have seen so far, heath deserves an Oscar for his role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KajJul 1, 2008
A superb movie brimming with darkness and intense. The insanity that Hedge Ledger brings to the Joker is so convincing, that you will never view a super hero movie as unrealistic ever again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnieM.Jul 17, 2008
What a roller-coaster ride! Great editing, cinematography, and screenplay. I've seen it twice on IMAX (the best way to view it, if you've got it available). The first time left me dazed and exhausted. The second left me What a roller-coaster ride! Great editing, cinematography, and screenplay. I've seen it twice on IMAX (the best way to view it, if you've got it available). The first time left me dazed and exhausted. The second left me exhilarated. I'm not a comic book hero fan, but I loved Batman Begins, and The Dark Knight trumps it. Brilliant. Be careful, though...it's not for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyP.Jul 18, 2008
This is easily the best super hero movie I have ever seen. Heath Ledger played the joker perfectly. The fact that the movie didn't rely on special effects and CG to make it "good" is honorable. It really is difficult to explain exactly This is easily the best super hero movie I have ever seen. Heath Ledger played the joker perfectly. The fact that the movie didn't rely on special effects and CG to make it "good" is honorable. It really is difficult to explain exactly how good this movie was with words. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Jul 18, 2008
This movie will not only be remembered as the final display of Ledger's unparalleled ability to make his character truly jump out of the screen and into your soul, but it will be remembered as the defining moment for the superhero This movie will not only be remembered as the final display of Ledger's unparalleled ability to make his character truly jump out of the screen and into your soul, but it will be remembered as the defining moment for the superhero genre. Christopher Nolan has actually created a film that redefines the genre, that's something not a lot of people can say. Watching this film is an experience that is undefinable. This film is certainly at a constant climax and that is no hyperbole. Anything can happen in Gotham, and this movie portrays that with an all around perfect sculpture on which to build upon. No one thought a Batman movie could be ranked with some of the best crime dramas in the last decade, but I'm here to tell you that The Dark Knight is not only one of the best, it just might be the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanB.Jul 18, 2008
Every seat was filled in our theater... and pure silence throughout -I've never seen anything quite like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethP.Jul 18, 2008
Chris Nolan takes the story to a whole new level. Heath Ledger does more than you can imagine with the Joker and steals the show. It is sad that he is no longer with us, but his last full performance will always be with us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Jul 18, 2008
Oh, now I remember why I never used to listen to critics. It must really enrage some of them that the most engaging and thought-provoking piece of fiction to grace a movie screen in years has turned out to be a summer popcorn super hero Oh, now I remember why I never used to listen to critics. It must really enrage some of them that the most engaging and thought-provoking piece of fiction to grace a movie screen in years has turned out to be a summer popcorn super hero movie that people can actually get behind and enjoy to the fullest. This is a morality play that would have made Shakespeare proud, and unlike "No Country," or the other Oscar-aspiring movies out there, this one does it with the style, flash, and heart that make people want to go to the movies in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelKJul 18, 2008
This isn't a comic book movie; this is a superlative crime drama.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
vidmanJul 18, 2008
The movie drags on. Much of the show was nothing we haven't seen in Batman Begins. Heath Ledger out-shined everyone else. The problem is that the movie didn't focus much on him. Two-Face appears in a short amount of time similar to The movie drags on. Much of the show was nothing we haven't seen in Batman Begins. Heath Ledger out-shined everyone else. The problem is that the movie didn't focus much on him. Two-Face appears in a short amount of time similar to Venom in Spiderman 3. Who is better, Heath Ledger or Jack Nicholson? They take different approaches and each is special in their own way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful