Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 18, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 5230 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,746
Mixed:
190
Negative:
294
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TheRussianatorApr 2, 2018
Arguably the best superhero movie ever made, this dark Christopher Nolan's sequel to the amazing Batman Begins is even better than the original. Obviously, Heath Ledger's Joker is the best Joker ever put on screen and that title isArguably the best superhero movie ever made, this dark Christopher Nolan's sequel to the amazing Batman Begins is even better than the original. Obviously, Heath Ledger's Joker is the best Joker ever put on screen and that title is well-deserved. If you haven't seen this movie - where have you been? Go watch it right now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Naruto78909Apr 1, 2018
This movie is good but not as good as everyone says it I'd the joker has some of the most brilliant acting in any movie but im not a big fan of batman this movie is good dark movie but not perfect
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
warisvafa1Mar 19, 2018
The best super hero movie of all time. No movie will ever top this movie. The joker stoles the show and is the ultimate villain. I prefer marvel movies but they dont come close to this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AnsukMar 19, 2018
It's the best suoerhero movie ever made. Th way this movie explores every character's strength and weakness is something every movie director shoul learn and follow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EricgriffinloveMar 18, 2018
Thrilling, dark, and riveting- The Dark Knight is rare in its beauty of cinematography, storytelling, and characters. With astounding performances all around, and rich characters; The Dark Knight is a rarity of the Comic Book genre that willThrilling, dark, and riveting- The Dark Knight is rare in its beauty of cinematography, storytelling, and characters. With astounding performances all around, and rich characters; The Dark Knight is a rarity of the Comic Book genre that will be the highest standard for decades to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
22WZMar 18, 2018
Let me put it this way, if you have never watched The Dark Knight, you are missing out on one of Hollywood's finiest achievements. Do yourself a favour and watch it again, it is a true masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
robertoiglesiasMar 16, 2018
Do I need to explain why this movie is good? No. 3 words is all I need to explain excellence: The Dark Knight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
filmbuff96Mar 14, 2018
This grim and dark film transcends The Dark Knight above super hero films, and truly making it into a league of its own. Its constant climaxes and edge of your seat action, Nolan truly created something special. Ledger is a memorable JokerThis grim and dark film transcends The Dark Knight above super hero films, and truly making it into a league of its own. Its constant climaxes and edge of your seat action, Nolan truly created something special. Ledger is a memorable Joker that brings a very real and dark twist to the movie. It shows a true chaotic view of the world, and it truly gives our super hero the challenge that would rise against him. Christian Bale makes Batman feel more real and relatable, and does an excellent job of portraying the highs and lows of living a double life of pain and commitment. The Dark Knight is more than just a super hero film, its a crime drama, and it's arguably the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarvelJoeMar 9, 2018
This movie feels beyond a comic book movie and that's what makes it great. It's more of a crime/thriller movie than a superhero movie that change the superhero gerne into a new big step and one of Christopher Nolan best. If you didn't likeThis movie feels beyond a comic book movie and that's what makes it great. It's more of a crime/thriller movie than a superhero movie that change the superhero gerne into a new big step and one of Christopher Nolan best. If you didn't like the movie that's fine but I recommend you to try watching it again because you're probably missing something why it gets all the praise it deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CTHReviewsMar 8, 2018
What Christopher Nolan did with Batman Begins was amazing enough, but to do it again, and even better this time, was an astonishing accomplishment. It's been 10 years and STILL, people talk about The Dark Knight. The Dark Knight rivals TheWhat Christopher Nolan did with Batman Begins was amazing enough, but to do it again, and even better this time, was an astonishing accomplishment. It's been 10 years and STILL, people talk about The Dark Knight. The Dark Knight rivals The Avengers as to which comic book movie changed the game of the genre.

With The Avengers, it showed how you can build an entire cinematic universe around individual characters just to have them come together and fight alongside each other.

With The Dark Knight, it showed that comic book movies could go the extra mile, doing different things that you wouldn't expect from the genre. It's been called the comic book movie that even people who don't like comic book movies will watch.

The Dark Knight takes the Batman character and puts him in situations that are not only very dangerous, but with a little pressure from The Joker (played brilliantly by Heath Ledger), it puts the main hero in a situation that has him questioning his own morals.

The Dark Knight is the gold standard for superhero movies, rivaled only by (in my opinion) its other two installments and 2017's Logan.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
merijnjFeb 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (97/100)
The Dark Knight is the most emotional movie that I've ever watched. To believe in someone so much because he is a fighter for the greater good and even going as far as to save him instead of your own ex-girlfriend and than seeing darkness consume him and turn him evil is so heart breaking. Heath Ledgers performance is the best performance I've ever seen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilipeNetoFeb 21, 2018
This is the second film of the Christopher Nolan's trilogy, and here Batman will face one of his most famous villains: Joker. The film has screenplay by Christopher Nolan (who also ensures the direction) and Jonathan Nolan. It has theThis is the second film of the Christopher Nolan's trilogy, and here Batman will face one of his most famous villains: Joker. The film has screenplay by Christopher Nolan (who also ensures the direction) and Jonathan Nolan. It has the participation of Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Aaron Eckhart, Morgan Freeman, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Gary Oldman and Heath Ledger.

This film follows on from "Batman Begins", keeping more or less the same team and achieving a good unit with the previous film, which prevented the great continuity failures that infest sequels and sequential films. This is an psychological action movie with great scenes, dramatic moments and a good dose of special visual and sound effects that help to intensify the events but manage to avoid having too much prominence. The actors were up to the challenge and toasted the audience with flawless performances, although there aren't able to surprise as much as the first film. Aaron Eckhart deserves congratulations by giving his character a very particular and intense psychological wealth and Bale, one of the actors that stands out naturally by having the leading role, makes a very complete performance, worthy of an actor who has reached maturity and eagerly want to fight for stardom and the massive recognition. Congratulations. But this cast was almost overshadowed by a thunderous Heath Ledger. This actor wore the coat of Joker perfectly, embodying a character who has undergone a great reevaluation in this film, and that Ledger, with this sublime performance, will probably mark for decades. It was the best farewell to this actor, a promise of Hollywood that we never get to see develop due to his sudden death.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
twinky4746Feb 16, 2018
A brilliant (Batman Begins) movie needed a sequel that has more action, better writing, better voice casting/ acting and better characters. That is what The Dark Knight is, a super entertaining and more thrilling sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jose_VitorFeb 13, 2018
a film that can philosophize with the problems of today's society, becoming a work of art that appeals to those who want to see movies with great action scenes, and those who want to see a great movie, with great performances and soundtrack
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MacsMusicJan 1, 2018
The best superhero movie ever made. Hands down. The plot is incredible, with twists and turns. The villains - Two-face and The Joker - are more interesting than the bleep-blooping hero. From the incredible opening scene to the ending, thisThe best superhero movie ever made. Hands down. The plot is incredible, with twists and turns. The villains - Two-face and The Joker - are more interesting than the bleep-blooping hero. From the incredible opening scene to the ending, this movie is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mitya64Feb 9, 2018
Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишкомШедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто.Шедевр Только слишком затянуто. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RamzyFeb 6, 2018
Cinematography: 9/10
Story: 10/10
Characters: 9/10
Acting: 10/10
Music: 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RTSakin2785Jan 4, 2018
Undoubtedly the best superhero movie till this date. Dark theme, creative plot, ingenious acting; simply put this movie doesn't lack in anything at all. The director and the screenwriters deserve a big round of applause for their creation. AsUndoubtedly the best superhero movie till this date. Dark theme, creative plot, ingenious acting; simply put this movie doesn't lack in anything at all. The director and the screenwriters deserve a big round of applause for their creation. As Matrix revolutionalized the scifi-action genre, The Dark Knight surely revolutionalized the superhero genre. The DC comic stream have always had deeper philosophies than their competitors and it was about time one of their movie adaptations had also. Usually, the comic based movies depend a lot more on stunts, action sequences and visual effects rather than captivating plot sequence or sophisticated philosophies. The Dark Knight has all of them. Though it portrayed both the protagonist and the antagonist differently than the comics; in the end, all of it turned out to be great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GrazhopperJan 4, 2018
A breathtaking performance by the late Heath Ledger and Chistopher Nolan as brilliant as always.
This movie will keep you on the edge of your seat from the first to the last second.
No comic book adaptation, will ever be able to mess with
A breathtaking performance by the late Heath Ledger and Chistopher Nolan as brilliant as always.
This movie will keep you on the edge of your seat from the first to the last second.
No comic book adaptation, will ever be able to mess with this stunning epic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SrPepeJan 3, 2018
Un peliculón de principio a fin, pero si vamos al caso, Ledger se hace toda la película sólo, le faltó una mejor historia y un mejor Batman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
salmansohail_Mar 23, 2017
THE BEST SUPER HERO FILM EVER. This film is so incredible that it deserves oscars from every direction, after the success of Batman Begins, I was afraid that the sequel would not be able to deliver a good enough meaning. I was wrong, thisTHE BEST SUPER HERO FILM EVER. This film is so incredible that it deserves oscars from every direction, after the success of Batman Begins, I was afraid that the sequel would not be able to deliver a good enough meaning. I was wrong, this film defined greatness when it came to pictures. This super hero movie is a rare film that drills deep inside the character and the script more than the action. The Dark Knight dares to be more than it should be. It transcends the barriers of being labelled a "Batman movie" or "superhero movie" by excelling in all areas: character, plot, action, writing, acting, directing. The Dark Knight is not for fans of Batman or fans of serious drama. It is a film for everyone and stands as one of the most important films of the decade. However it isn't the director or The Dark Knight himself who made this film what it is. Its HEATH LEDGER. Unfortunately after his death, he was never able to witness what he had created, and that many people loved this and that it was one of the best creations in the super hero genre. Heath Ledgers joker is by far one of the best Jokers we have seen. Its hard to say that any other joker could beat him. The shear direction of this film was incredible.

Overall: 9.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bdjudeDec 27, 2017
Phew ! An all rounder for many years to come. Could use all the vocabulary for excellence still it's not enough !
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wiiy71Dec 26, 2017
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hughes857Dec 19, 2017
Of all comic book movies I have watched in my time, this one stands above the rest. Christopher Nolan has proven himself to be a fine director again and again. Batman Begins was a great watch, but this gorgeously crafted piece of art willOf all comic book movies I have watched in my time, this one stands above the rest. Christopher Nolan has proven himself to be a fine director again and again. Batman Begins was a great watch, but this gorgeously crafted piece of art will amaze you until death. From the acting to the dark characters I cannot explain in words in how entrancing this film will spiral you towards. A movie cannot just be put into a category of masterpiece, but this is the closest I have reviewed one. People who generally dislike comic books will come to realize how a film adaptation of it is spectacularly made. The Sam Raimi trilogy of Spiderman movies was truly the first good take on a superhero film, but this will completely pull you into the expanding universe of comic book movie adaptations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Miles_SDec 3, 2017
The Dark Knight is more a crime film than a superhero movie, makes excellent use of it's cast, and has phenomenal action sequences. It's easy to pick out the best comic book film of 2008.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GorbaxDec 2, 2017
The Dark Knight is more a crime film than a superhero movie, makes excellent use of it's cast, and has phenomenal action sequences. It's easy to pick out the best comic book film of 2008.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrickNGamesDec 1, 2017
When that two-faced guy didn't realize that the Joker was the Joker until he took his nurse mask off... that is when I realized that this is quite possibly the most overrated movie ever created. Why is it so good huh? Because it's edgy? WellWhen that two-faced guy didn't realize that the Joker was the Joker until he took his nurse mask off... that is when I realized that this is quite possibly the most overrated movie ever created. Why is it so good huh? Because it's edgy? Well so am I so why aren't I popular. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mrdr4gonNov 15, 2017
Basically a Scorsese film but with Batman. If that doesn't sound good enough throw in a manic central performance by Heath Ledger and a screenplay that elevates every character's performance into an operatic stratosphere. The high standardBasically a Scorsese film but with Batman. If that doesn't sound good enough throw in a manic central performance by Heath Ledger and a screenplay that elevates every character's performance into an operatic stratosphere. The high standard for a superhero adaptation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
The pace of The Dark Knight far surpasses that of its predecessor, as Bale's brilliant Batman is forced to stop Ledger's wonderfully bizarre interpretation of the legendary Joker. The thrills are plentiful, and the story is poignant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoOct 17, 2017
"The Dark Knight" was a sensational film, undoubtedly the best Batman in history, performances, history, action scenes and plot were excellently managed, Christopher Nolan certainly did wonders with this classic, but what that caught me the"The Dark Knight" was a sensational film, undoubtedly the best Batman in history, performances, history, action scenes and plot were excellently managed, Christopher Nolan certainly did wonders with this classic, but what that caught me the most, is Heath Ledger's performance (RIP Heath Ledger), made the best joker in history, Christian Bale's performance was very good, this film is complex and spectacular. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Humble_BragSep 22, 2017
Normally I would give this type of movie a 9, but back in 2008, no other superhero film was this good. This movie is a huge influence on superhero films today, proving that superhero movies don't have to be cheesy and dumb. For that reasonNormally I would give this type of movie a 9, but back in 2008, no other superhero film was this good. This movie is a huge influence on superhero films today, proving that superhero movies don't have to be cheesy and dumb. For that reason this movie is a 10 for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheGreatCriticAug 16, 2017
This is by far one of the worst movies of all time, I never liked batman because he has no super powers, all he has is money and weapons there is no fun because that means there is less explosions and that's sad.

The story is horrendous,
This is by far one of the worst movies of all time, I never liked batman because he has no super powers, all he has is money and weapons there is no fun because that means there is less explosions and that's sad.

The story is horrendous, it's weak compare to the previous batman films, it has no style and it isn't fun like batman forever, the movie tried to be deep but no one cares because I as an audiance member want to see batman beat homeless people up, I don't care that batman has emotions, I wanted action and explosions, but even in the action scenes the movie fails completely because they use pratical effects, Christopher Nolan should know that we use computers for a reason now but he's such a pretentious dork so there is no intensity.

The characters were awful, they were depressing and not fun, I remember the good old days where super heroes were fun and quirky like in batman forever, batman was too deep of a character to be interesting and honestly Christian Bale isn't fun enough to be batman, they should've pick Marlon Wayans, he fits the character perfectly and the vilain was forgettable.

The dark knight fails on every single level, the story is way too intelligent to be fun, the characters are way too deep to be considered good, the soundtrack is too depressing and the effects look to real to be enjoyable, stay away from this objectivily bad film !!!
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
vetorAug 8, 2017
Batman The Dark Knight is a flawless movie in every respect, whether it's directing, practicing, performing, or delivering one of the best film-adapted villains: the Joker
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
golemgacMar 3, 2017
The Batman movie we needed and we got it. Even if the ending conclusion didn't make much sense it was beautiful and encouraging. Also the way, Heath Ledger was playing the Joker should be remembered in history of the film industry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
daviddelnorte23Jul 21, 2017
Esta película ya la ví hace años, pero cuando la ví creía que no la había visto como es debido pues la vi en la televisión pública con cortes de publicidad y no de manera muy atenta. es por eso que ahora estas semanas previas calentando paraEsta película ya la ví hace años, pero cuando la ví creía que no la había visto como es debido pues la vi en la televisión pública con cortes de publicidad y no de manera muy atenta. es por eso que ahora estas semanas previas calentando para el evento cinéfilo del año, Dunkerque, quería volver a ver a Nolan, la semana pasada fue Batman: Begins, y esta semana la película que nos concierne. Para mí sorpresa, no me ha gustado más que la primera vez que la ví ni me ha gustado más que Begins.

La película no digo yo que sea mala o peor que otras de la saga o del propio director, si no que a mí personalmente es una película que me gusta, la veo y no va a más, la olvido rapidamente. Pero la película como película, como cine es brillante, desde el guión, el desarrollo de los personajes, el ritmo del largometraje... todo esta sensacional, pero como vuelvo a decir, ni la interpretación del joker que tampoco me sorprende (pienso que ese tipo de papeles para un actorazo como Ledger es un caramelo para lucirse, pero si Bale de Batman que cada día me gusta más...) ni ningún otro punto de la película son para mí uno de mis platos preferidos. Aún así peliculón, un 7.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
therandompersonJul 16, 2017
This movie somewhat baffles me with how it gets ranked as "one of the best movies of all time." Yes, it's a great movie, but it just downright makes me rant every time about I hear about it. The reason I don't think this is one of the bestThis movie somewhat baffles me with how it gets ranked as "one of the best movies of all time." Yes, it's a great movie, but it just downright makes me rant every time about I hear about it. The reason I don't think this is one of the best movies is that I hate the character of Rachel. They weren't able to master her in Batman Begins, and they weren't able to master her in this installment either. Even if you avoid the acting of the actors playing said character, she felt so much like an unnatural plot device that I was getting irritated by how she was influencing the decisions of our characters. When we get past that point, this movie is actually pretty phenomenal. The directing of the action sequences, the cinematography, the writing, and the perfect Nolan everything-thing-is-practical adds that flare you just can't get with CGI. I would have given this a 100 if the character of Rachel wasn't so downright irritating and unbearable. This is definitely the best superhero movies of all time, and is no doubt a "Nolan Classic".
85/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bpmike83Jul 6, 2017
My favorite super hero movie ever. It's nice to have something very dark like this in a crowd of cliche and comedic super hero movies we have today (Avengers).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zlatanmazuidiJun 30, 2017
probbaly the most political movie since Natural Born Killers, Torture, extradition, surveillance, Philosophy, Politics, anti-republican, This Movie will be the best Comic movie foreever with a "horrible" Heath Ledger , the best Batman theprobbaly the most political movie since Natural Born Killers, Torture, extradition, surveillance, Philosophy, Politics, anti-republican, This Movie will be the best Comic movie foreever with a "horrible" Heath Ledger , the best Batman the best butler, the best scientist... without CGI(not so much - harvey Dent), this movie ahould have a metascoreof 89 and not 82 it's like you would give a rating of 3 for zlatan ibrahimovic goal against england probably the best movie of this century (political, action, thriller, editing, colours, and especially the music) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ProfessionalProJun 30, 2017
What the F*CK did I just watch?! By far the worst movie I've ever seen in my life, I puked so much and cried because of how awful it was, this isn't Suicide Squad??? Why is Jared Leto not The Joker? Who the hell is Heath Ledger?! This makesWhat the F*CK did I just watch?! By far the worst movie I've ever seen in my life, I puked so much and cried because of how awful it was, this isn't Suicide Squad??? Why is Jared Leto not The Joker? Who the hell is Heath Ledger?! This makes no sense whatsoever, terrible movie with horrible acting and writing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Joker_LedgerJun 19, 2017
I love this movie very much. This is an example of a good movie. Christofer Nolan is a genius of his work. The plot is very interested and exciting. The actors played their roles so magnifisent. Hans Zimmer wrote one of the best soundtracksI love this movie very much. This is an example of a good movie. Christofer Nolan is a genius of his work. The plot is very interested and exciting. The actors played their roles so magnifisent. Hans Zimmer wrote one of the best soundtracks in the world. I love this and listen often. So, I haven't any words to say about this masterwork and "The Dark Knight" gets 10 of 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
teddywymanJun 13, 2017
Perhaps the best argument towards the illegitimacy of the Academy Awards. The fact that The Reader gets Best Picture / Best Director / Best Adapted Screenplay nominations while all this gets is a bunch of technical awards + Ledger's OscarPerhaps the best argument towards the illegitimacy of the Academy Awards. The fact that The Reader gets Best Picture / Best Director / Best Adapted Screenplay nominations while all this gets is a bunch of technical awards + Ledger's Oscar shows how the Academy is unable to put away biases and just select the best films of the year. Unequivocally the best superhero movie of all time and the movie from 2008 that everyone will remember when they think of films from that year. As perfect a movie as you can make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MorganFreeman69Jun 11, 2017
it is a very bad movie, the joker was abhorrently depicted and the movie was overall really **** The acting was terrible, however, the best part of the movie was the Godly Presence of Him, Morgan Freeman, of which allowed me to survive
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
shod3030Jun 5, 2017
Set within a year after the events of Batman Begins, Batman, Lieutenant James Gordon, and new district attorney Harvey Dent successfully begin to round up the criminals that plague Gotham City until a mysterious and sadistic criminalSet within a year after the events of Batman Begins, Batman, Lieutenant James Gordon, and new district attorney Harvey Dent successfully begin to round up the criminals that plague Gotham City until a mysterious and sadistic criminal mastermind known only as the Joker appears in Gotham, creating a new wave of chaos. Batman's struggle against the Joker becomes deeply personal, forcing him to "confront everything he believes" and improve his technology to stop him. A love triangle develops between Bruce Wayne, Dent and Rachel Dawes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SonicHD7May 31, 2017
With the help of allies Lt. Jim Gordon (Gary Oldman) and DA Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart), Batman (Christian Bale) has been able to keep a tight lid on crime in Gotham City. But when a vile young criminal calling himself the Joker (HeathWith the help of allies Lt. Jim Gordon (Gary Oldman) and DA Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart), Batman (Christian Bale) has been able to keep a tight lid on crime in Gotham City. But when a vile young criminal calling himself the Joker (Heath Ledger) suddenly throws the town into chaos, the caped Crusader begins to tread a fine line between heroism and vigilantism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13May 30, 2017
Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight is a quintessential masterpiece that I will never forget. Everything ranging from terrific narrative all the way to Heath Ledger's terrifying take as the Joker succeeded every way that the movie had done toChristopher Nolan's The Dark Knight is a quintessential masterpiece that I will never forget. Everything ranging from terrific narrative all the way to Heath Ledger's terrifying take as the Joker succeeded every way that the movie had done to satisfy me after watching it. Without a doubt, this is the best superhero movie of all-time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
flylexMay 17, 2017
Batman the dark knight is by many and by me also considered the best movie of batman and super heroes in itself, the film has script that does not roll and manages to deliver a lot in its entire duration, the cast is perfect the costume theBatman the dark knight is by many and by me also considered the best movie of batman and super heroes in itself, the film has script that does not roll and manages to deliver a lot in its entire duration, the cast is perfect the costume the performance , Christian Bale is great as a batman, Aaron Eckhart convinces how dent and two guys and Heath Ledger is probably the best joker that cinematic universe dc will see he is dark crazy pisicopata and even so makes you think that sometimes he is as healthy as The good guys, the dark knight doubles as a hero, police and drama film note 100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Daniel17May 3, 2017
The Dark Knight is the greatest film of the Dark Knight trilogy so far. It's one of the best superhero movies of the 2000s as well. It's such a masterpiece. With its engaging story, unforgettable characters, intense action, better acting andThe Dark Knight is the greatest film of the Dark Knight trilogy so far. It's one of the best superhero movies of the 2000s as well. It's such a masterpiece. With its engaging story, unforgettable characters, intense action, better acting and Heath Ledger's amazing performance as the Joker (unfortunately he passed away). If you ever watched Batman Begins, I highly recommend you to watch this sequel entirely. I mean, this is a must-watch. Everybody should go and watch this movie. It's an unforgettable cinematic superhero experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ByYuxiSsMar 9, 2017
Without a doubt the great director Christopher Nolan has brought us a great movie of the best in history and will undoubtedly remain in our hearts as the best movie of superheroes ever performed.

For my opinion many comic-based movies that
Without a doubt the great director Christopher Nolan has brought us a great movie of the best in history and will undoubtedly remain in our hearts as the best movie of superheroes ever performed.

For my opinion many comic-based movies that do in the future can not match the great performance of Christian Bale in the trilogy and the late Heath Ledger as the epic and beautiful Joker 10/10 The best Movie of Superhero
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
Muhteşem! Tek kelimeyle muhteşem. Nolan imzalı bu film gerçekten her şeyiyle mükemmel. Oyunculuklar çok üst düzey, senaryosu muhteşem ve hafızalardan asla silinmeyecek Joker performansıyla Heath Ledger muazzam bir iş çıkarmış. OrtayaMuhteşem! Tek kelimeyle muhteşem. Nolan imzalı bu film gerçekten her şeyiyle mükemmel. Oyunculuklar çok üst düzey, senaryosu muhteşem ve hafızalardan asla silinmeyecek Joker performansıyla Heath Ledger muazzam bir iş çıkarmış. Ortaya gerçekten mükemmel bir Batman filmi çıkmış. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
janhellyeahMar 4, 2017
Only movie I have ever watched entirely while literally sitting on the edge of my seat. The Dark Knight isn't just the greatest comic movie of all time - it is certainly one of the best film ever. Everything is perfectly stitched, theOnly movie I have ever watched entirely while literally sitting on the edge of my seat. The Dark Knight isn't just the greatest comic movie of all time - it is certainly one of the best film ever. Everything is perfectly stitched, the powerful dialogue, the perfect soundtrack, the astounding acting, the theme and the vibe of what Batman really is. This is my favorite movie to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NaanFreezerFeb 22, 2017
IMO the best superhero movie in existence. Usually when I tell someone I like a movie, they think it sucks and I have to give them a full rundown and explanation of why the movie DOESN'T suck, and my movie reviews end up being super-long forIMO the best superhero movie in existence. Usually when I tell someone I like a movie, they think it sucks and I have to give them a full rundown and explanation of why the movie DOESN'T suck, and my movie reviews end up being super-long for the same reason. I don't think that will be necessary for TDK. The amazing director Christopher Nolan has done it again. Most people will agree this is not only one of if not THE best superhero movies, but also recognized by many to be one of the best movies ever, period. Not just because of its dark cynical twisted essence, or its great storytelling and plot, but because of how iconic and revolutionary this film is. Also, three words: Heath Ledger's Joker. The movie may be about Batman, but Ledger is easily the best part of the film, giving one of the most legendary spot-on performances in all of cinema. Simply put, TDK is a 10/10 film. If you haven't watched it yet (which isn't likely) then DO IT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TIZFeb 11, 2017
Amazing and mind blowing, the weakest acting was actually Christian Bale (keeping in mind that he was still amazing). What I'm trying to say is that there were no weak actors. To silly reviewers who rated this movie a ZERO, but only those whoAmazing and mind blowing, the weakest acting was actually Christian Bale (keeping in mind that he was still amazing). What I'm trying to say is that there were no weak actors. To silly reviewers who rated this movie a ZERO, but only those who based their score on the amount of sadism and horrific scenes. The only thing I agree on with you is, that the age restriction/certificate should have been bumped up to +15. Otherwise, I think your reviews are pointless. Apart from that, the original Batman is a dark story (comic) which portrays pain and suffering in the exact same way or even more horrifyingly in the comic book! This is not a superhero movie for a 10 year old. Its a memoir for comic book fans and an amazing crime-thriller action movie experience for all else. It does an amazing job at showing people the Batman universe. If you expect rainbows and unicorns and magical endings, don't watch this. This is a naked and bared view of what the real world is like...and what really happens in it, but luckily for the people of Gotham, they have their fictional character who protects them. In real life all we have is jokers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
amai2739Jan 26, 2017
Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight, a sequel to Batman Begins. I'm a huge fan of the director, his vision, the scope for his films are truly stunning. His storytelling skills to me are masterful and honestly this movie views as aChristopher Nolan's The Dark Knight, a sequel to Batman Begins. I'm a huge fan of the director, his vision, the scope for his films are truly stunning. His storytelling skills to me are masterful and honestly this movie views as a psychological, drama, thriller. From the start to the end, you'd be on the edge of your feet. All the actors brought their A+ game, Christian Bale's performance was electrifying, and Heath ledger's performance as the Joker was absolutely terrific. HEATH LEDGER'S JOKER stole the show, he was sinister & frightening, gripping to watch. Brilliant work from Christoper Nolan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorNov 7, 2016
Thanks to Haeth Ledger's terrific interpretation and Christopher Nolan's professional direction and production, The Dark Knight is an eficent; action-packed and tention-full film that cannot follow in a better way to its predecessors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MaxiThresherJan 7, 2017
The BEST movie ever made, great effects and sounds, the ambiance is AMAZING and...The Ledger Joker !The Dark Knight was a very intense action movie, with a very good choice of actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxJan 5, 2017
A part le costume, on se demande si on est encore dans un "Batman"... Gotham est devenue un mélange de New York et de Chicago, une ville américaine générique, pleine de grands cubes et le Joker, le fameux Joker est un banal malfratA part le costume, on se demande si on est encore dans un "Batman"... Gotham est devenue un mélange de New York et de Chicago, une ville américaine générique, pleine de grands cubes et le Joker, le fameux Joker est un banal malfrat peinturluré à la va-vite. Il a le charisme d'un livreur de pizza et l'allure d'un clochard, il n'inspire qu'un vague mépris à défaut d'incarner un certain idéal de folie furieuse. Pas drôle pour un sou, on lui filerait juste deux balles dans le métro.

Christian Bale est passé en mode "pilotage automatique" tout comme son cérémonieux majordome Michael Caine qui ne cesse de nous rebattre les oreilles avec ses reflexions moralisatrices. Idem pour Morgan Freeman, réduit au faire-valoir accessoire du justicier, une sorte de "Q" pour le James Bond masqué. Gary Oldman n'en mène pas large non plus et a l'air de s'emmerder autant que nous. Tant d'acteurs aussi mal employés nous font regretter un tel gâchis.

L'histoire ou la tentative d'histoire se perd en maintes circonvolutions pour tenter de tenir les deux heures et demi de remplissage, ponctuées ici et là par un peu d'action qui fait la part belle à la Burnemobile et la moto batmolle.

On pourrait être dans un James Bond ou dans un Jason Bourne qu'on y verrait que du feu, à part tout de même une mise en scène très correcte globalement mais l'ambiance déjantée du monde de Batman a définitivement disparu pour céder la place à une grosse machine prétentieuse qui se repose sur les effets spéciaux, édulcore ses personnages et délivre une oeuvre fadasse et formatée par l'ennui.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheMoeJan 4, 2017
The Dark Knight is not only the best comic book movie of all time, but it is one of the best movies of all time, in general. Heath Ledger was amazing. Everyone else did a spot on job, as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RickHarrisonDec 22, 2016
This movie is the best superhero movie I have ever seen in my entire life. It is a pure masterpiece of cinema, as well as the superhero genre. I don't want to giv anything away, but you should watch it now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Carlos_1092Dec 4, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An absolute masterpiece, the cinematography in this movie was on point, heath Ledger's Joker has been one of the greatest interpretations of a character i've ever seen, The soundtrack was absolutely epic (especially songs like "A Watchful Guardian" and "Like A Dog Chasing Cars") and although Christian Bale's Batman is not as interesting as other characters (like Harvey Dent and The joker) he still does not disappoint, at all, although i have to say that one of the only problems i have with this movie is the ending, i just dont get why batman decided to take the blame for harvey dent's death, i mean they could've blamed The joker, but all of that just goes away with comissioner Gordon's speech at the end, everything about that speech is absolutely epic, this movie is dark,gritty,thrilling, entertaining and over all realistic which is how a superhero movie (specially a batman movie) should be, and yes, this movie is not perfect, but is as close to perfect as a movie can get. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hiradNov 23, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. whats the best super hero movie in history?its very easy its the dark knight.heath ledger have exiting play.the story of the dark knight its perfect and i really like this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gNov 22, 2016
What an adaptation. One of the most top rated adaptations that makes it the greatest of all time, it pays attention to an iconic villain we've wanted to meet but Nicholson is still with us on the other hand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersNov 14, 2016
As I mentioned in my previous review, "WALL-E" was released in 2008 and, to this day, is considered one of the greatest films of all time. How crazy is it that, 3 weeks later, another film was released that ended up being considered one ofAs I mentioned in my previous review, "WALL-E" was released in 2008 and, to this day, is considered one of the greatest films of all time. How crazy is it that, 3 weeks later, another film was released that ended up being considered one of the greatest of all-time? "The Dark Knight" somehow managed to do that. It's beautifully written, it's thrilling, it's dark, it feels like a Batman movie should, it's brilliantly filmed, and it features possibly one of the greatest acting performances in a superhero film in Heath Ledger's Joker. The other actors are great, sure, but it's Ledger that steals the show here, providing a tremendous, powerful and terrifying performance as one of the most iconic villains of all time. There's no two ways about it, "The Dark Knight" is cinematic excellence, and regardless of your feelings towards superhero films, it's an absolute must-watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TyroneJohnsonOct 18, 2016
Dark Knight (2008) is one of the best movies of this century. With a score of 94% on Rotten Tomatoes, the rest of the casual movie watchers and reviewers think like I do. The well know, comic book superhero known by many as Batman is broughtDark Knight (2008) is one of the best movies of this century. With a score of 94% on Rotten Tomatoes, the rest of the casual movie watchers and reviewers think like I do. The well know, comic book superhero known by many as Batman is brought to life on the big screen, but this time with a more dark and realistic tone. The movie is masterfully sculpted with extremely talented actors and overall plot.
In a city that is flooded with crime and evil known as Gotham, the people are searching for a savior. Billionaire Bruce Wayne slips on his all black armor and gadgets at night to become the no-powered crime fighting superhero that the city deserves, but Batman believes that the city needs to be saved by more than a masked vigilante. So district attorney Harvey Dent is there to be Gotham’s light knight. Dent and Batman have one more ally in Jim Gordon, Gotham’s police commissioner. Together they try to mop up the scum from the streets. Unfortunately, the world that they live in changes before them. Along comes the Joker. Nobody knows who he is or where he came from; all they know is that Joker is a mentally unstable, agent of chaos that kills for fun. This criminal mastermind seems to have jurisdiction, yet is always one step ahead of the police force and Batman. Joker’s character will really make you question reality and the difference between right and wrong.
All of the actors do their parts extremely well, but Heath Ledger stands out in a pack of stars. We get to watch Heath Ledger during his best performance of his career. Ledger really put his heart and soul into his portrayal as the Joker. For instance, cast members have even stated that Ledger locked himself in a motel room for an entire month to get into character. Keeping track of written sinister notebooks and laughing at himself in the mirror for hours in order to get the Jokers cackle just right. After the movie was released, Heath Ledger died on January 22, 2008. Most say “it was the character that killed the actor” believing that he put his life into the role. In 2009, Heath Ledger won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor. It takes a special breed of actor to become a unpredictable, criminal mastermind with little jurisdiction, but I believe that Heath Ledger knocked it out of the park.
The Dark Knight was a masterpiece. It seemed to be a cross of the comic book hero Batman, mixed with Interstellar and Criminal Minds. Gotham is dark and scary. The characters are well developed with great dialogue between each other. The action scenes are thrilling, and there seems to be a list of memorable scenes just from this one movie. Although this is definitely not a movie for young kids, and the viewers have to think a bit to figure out the serious and philosophical meaning of the plot, I would recommend this to anyone that loves superheroes and/or a great action thriller.
Words cannot even describe how brilliant and thrilling this movie is. You will have to watch it yourself. The extremely talented actors and never ending excitement of the story line make this one of the best movies of all time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AcathefacaOct 10, 2016
Let's all take a moment to appreciate how amazing did Heath Ledger act as the Joker.Maybe he hasn't got the voice like Mark Hamil but he did it better then anyone.The movie was awesome and it's my favorite super hero movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chrisredfiSep 13, 2016
I never had a chance to appreciate this movie when i was little, but after re-watching it after 8 years, i finally realize the brilliance of this movie. The story is brilliant, the acting and dialogue is superb and of course, Heath LedgerI never had a chance to appreciate this movie when i was little, but after re-watching it after 8 years, i finally realize the brilliance of this movie. The story is brilliant, the acting and dialogue is superb and of course, Heath Ledger Joker is amazing! I've never seen a superhero movie that can surpass this masterpiece. Simply one of the best movie ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UNARMED_JORDAug 21, 2016
the dark knight is not just the best superhero movie of all time, its possibly my second favorite film after American Sniper, it brings in the phenomenal Heath Ledger as the Joker and a worthy story line and motive that leads to a fantasticthe dark knight is not just the best superhero movie of all time, its possibly my second favorite film after American Sniper, it brings in the phenomenal Heath Ledger as the Joker and a worthy story line and motive that leads to a fantastic conclusion the result: quite possibly a movie without fault. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
voxottoAug 19, 2016
best batman movie there is imo. especially the best joker ever, the dark humor and dark filming style suits the batman franchise the best. Its the saddest thing in movie history that we can not have another movie with this joker
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KillercadenAug 17, 2016
Heath Ledger as Joker was the spotlight of this movie and kicked Batman into the curb with his acting. Don't get me wrong, Batman's acting was still really good, but compared to Joker, he was not the best. But this movie and it's almostHeath Ledger as Joker was the spotlight of this movie and kicked Batman into the curb with his acting. Don't get me wrong, Batman's acting was still really good, but compared to Joker, he was not the best. But this movie and it's almost non-stop action is perfect along with it's story was very interesting. I would definitely recommend this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
veggiesAug 14, 2016
This movie is very close to perfect, it does so many things right. The paceing of the movie was near perfect, making sure that enough was explanied before moving on to a different problem in the movie, but also, leaving enough for the viewerThis movie is very close to perfect, it does so many things right. The paceing of the movie was near perfect, making sure that enough was explanied before moving on to a different problem in the movie, but also, leaving enough for the viewer too think of what just happened. The movie also set in the theme of dark versus light very well, but by the end of the movie questioning what was immoral and what was left just in the world. The movie also gave us a set of characters that we could love and really care for and actively worry weather they lived or died. And best of all was the acting. Every actor in this movie seemed to poor their souls into this film but, the shining star of the film was Heath Leadger as the Joker. He stole the show and if anythjng is the one reasson you should watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nsroehlAug 7, 2016
The best super hero movie ever made in my opinion. The joker is fantastic. The final scene can drag a little bit, but the way this movie ends is amazing. I'm not sure how people can rate this movie so low. The story is great, making itThe best super hero movie ever made in my opinion. The joker is fantastic. The final scene can drag a little bit, but the way this movie ends is amazing. I'm not sure how people can rate this movie so low. The story is great, making it seem like batman could actually exist making this movie borderline non fiction. I love how Bruce Wayne even tries to fight crime on two fronts, one during the day with politics and the other being at night as the caped crusader. Amazing movie, it is a must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobobobAug 6, 2016
Forget that The Dark Knight is one of the best superhero movies of all time.. it is one of the best MOVIES of all time. In actuality it doesn't even really need to be a superhero movie. It is a tense, intellectual thriller from the masterForget that The Dark Knight is one of the best superhero movies of all time.. it is one of the best MOVIES of all time. In actuality it doesn't even really need to be a superhero movie. It is a tense, intellectual thriller from the master of such movies, Christopher Nolan. Heath Ledger is amazing as the Joker and I think his performance will never be topped. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Antgiog1202Aug 6, 2016
The Dark Knight is not only a comic-book adaptation, it's a film about themes as well. The Joker's s viewpoint on chaos, order, anarchy, morality of an average human being is a key example of what I'm trying to explain. This film surpassesThe Dark Knight is not only a comic-book adaptation, it's a film about themes as well. The Joker's s viewpoint on chaos, order, anarchy, morality of an average human being is a key example of what I'm trying to explain. This film surpasses all the superhero flicks we get today because of complexity it has to offer to it's characters and plot. It's not about the CGI action sequences that tells the story, it's about the exploration of the theme of hero and villain, as well as order and anarchy.

Rating: 10/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cfpAug 5, 2016
This is Joker movie, and its outstanding, Ledger was fantastic and created a credible version; and gave such a realistic take of the Joker that makes the character more plausible in real life than batman himself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 22, 2016
The Dark Knight is probably the best superhero movie of all time. The way everything came together; Christopher Nolan back to direct, the choice of casting (Heath Ledger), the performances, the writing, the cinematography, the practicalThe Dark Knight is probably the best superhero movie of all time. The way everything came together; Christopher Nolan back to direct, the choice of casting (Heath Ledger), the performances, the writing, the cinematography, the practical effects, the action, and the music are all at the highest possible level of perfection. Theres a reason this film gets so much praise, its because its undeniably fantastic! If you haven't seen it yet, what are you doing? Go watch it now! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
superbatJul 20, 2016
The best superhero movie of all time. From Harvey Dent's fall from grace to Heath Ledger's epic Joker, The Dark Knight has everything that a Batman movie needs. The fighting is an improvement over Batman Begins and the plot is more linear.The best superhero movie of all time. From Harvey Dent's fall from grace to Heath Ledger's epic Joker, The Dark Knight has everything that a Batman movie needs. The fighting is an improvement over Batman Begins and the plot is more linear. This movie simply blew me away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rei07Jul 19, 2016
I really love this one. The Dark Knight proves exactly what Nolan is capable of as he has offered a more compelling narrative. Batman Begins got off to a good start, but this film set the bar pretty high. Heath Ledger gave us an amazingI really love this one. The Dark Knight proves exactly what Nolan is capable of as he has offered a more compelling narrative. Batman Begins got off to a good start, but this film set the bar pretty high. Heath Ledger gave us an amazing performance with his portrayal of the Joker. Also, Christian Bale seems more conflicted, yet strangely confident as Bruce Wayne/Batman offering more weight to his character. We finally get to see that there is more to Bruce than "the hero that Gotham needs, but doesn't necessarily want". His conflict is internal, but also external in some way. That aside, this film is a genuine masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BarneyOnMTJun 19, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: This film has a famous reputation for a reason. Primarily, of course, its image is dominated by one of the best movie villains of all time, who not only serves as someone unhinged and terrifying, but helps to illustrate someWHAT I LIKED: This film has a famous reputation for a reason. Primarily, of course, its image is dominated by one of the best movie villains of all time, who not only serves as someone unhinged and terrifying, but helps to illustrate some very interesting themes. Amazingly, every situation played out by the Joker, brings Gotham (and the audience) onto a whole new desperate and frightening playing field, which in turns causes you to genuinely consider and question humanity all the more. In the end, it's this that makes 'The Dark Knight' the truly successful social commentary that it is, but it's not without some fun action either.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The themes and schemes are all very interesting, but the characters and plots aren't nearly developed enough for me to genuinely connect with the film. Instead, you watch from outside as Nolan uses characters and stories as a tool to portray his ideas; it's not a harmonious partnership between story and narrative, instead the themes exist at the expense of lots else. As a result, you'll be gripped be each scene, but in between you might feel a bit disconnected
VERDICT: A darker, deeper Batman that brings excitement and social commentary to the audience. It'll grip you in the moment, but when you're out of it, you won't particularly connect.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FarsheedJun 6, 2016
Finally it was a movie by Christopher Nolan that critics could not oppose. If you like action movies, you have to watch this movie. Of course, the story, cinematography, costume designing, etc. is marvelous. Also pay attention to HeathFinally it was a movie by Christopher Nolan that critics could not oppose. If you like action movies, you have to watch this movie. Of course, the story, cinematography, costume designing, etc. is marvelous. Also pay attention to Heath Ledger performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aaron_WassermanJun 1, 2016
The greatest Comic book movie of all time, the greatest Batman movie of all time, and one of the greatest movies of all time. Do I even need to explain why The Dark Knight is incredible? It is not just because Heath Ledger( thought he isThe greatest Comic book movie of all time, the greatest Batman movie of all time, and one of the greatest movies of all time. Do I even need to explain why The Dark Knight is incredible? It is not just because Heath Ledger( thought he is incredible) but Bale is amazing along with the side characters. Action is top notch, and story telling is powerful. Well done Nolan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
According to IMDb The Dark Knight is literally a better movie than every movie ever made, except The Godfather Part I & II, and The Shawshank Redemption....
WHAT?!
Better than: Citizen Kane, Gone with the Wind, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Taxi
According to IMDb The Dark Knight is literally a better movie than every movie ever made, except The Godfather Part I & II, and The Shawshank Redemption....
WHAT?!
Better than: Citizen Kane, Gone with the Wind, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Apocalypse Now, The Wizard of Oz, Seven Samurai, Cinema Paradiso, M, etc, etc.
According to IMDb it is the FOURTH greatest film of all time. I think anyone with any understanding of film can see this is completely crazy. I don't hate this movie, i quite enjoy it a fair amount, but it is very far from being any kind of ''masterpiece'' - It isn't even Nolan's best movie...

When destructing this movie i like to use David Fincher terminology: Fincher theory is that there are films, and there are movies. A film is using cinema as art and not as JUST entertainment, such as: 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Godfather, Citizen Kane, Rashomon, and modern movies like There Will be Blood, The Fall and Hero. (just to name a few) Then there are movies like: The Raid, Speed, The Game, and The Dark Knight, which are solely 'entertaining' films and nothing really more. Nothing to get inspired about, nothing to make you think, or ponder what has just happened. Nothing, which is fine, you wouldn't want movies like that constantly, but a movie that is solely entertainment can not be classed as one of the best movies of all time, let alone the FOURTH best.

So, why then is The Dark Knight so ridiculously popular? Nolan separates his movies from the average blockbuster by giving them a sense of realism and reliability. The most obvious example of this is his very slim use of CGI and the use of practical effects. At a time when CGI is common use, in most blockbusters, as it's much cheaper and easier, this is obviously appreciated by audiences. You can see how audiences can be awed by this.

Probably the thing that most separates this movie is how he chooses to make the viewer feel empowered. Where most Batman and other superhero villains have been cliche, cheesy or unrealistic, The Dark Knight (and the other Nolan Batman movies) have had villains that feel a lot more like modern day terrorist than the average comic book villain, which is usually just ridiculous if you think about it. Post 9/11 you can imagine the impact this can have on people and the realism it gives. Though in Nolan's determination to make the viewer feel empowered he sacrifices making The Dark Knight anything more than a movie, he makes everything extremely obvious and doesnt leave anything for the viewer to work out for themselves.

At times it can even be patronizing. During the part of the movie where people are being killed until batman takes off his mask, he is constantly being by everyone even one of the officers does so. I think this is a testament to how much Nolan trusts is audience and how painstakingly obvious he thinks he has to make everything to get his point across.

Even within expectations of it being a Nolan superhero film, The Dark Knight still has quite alot of faults. The main one being how anticlimactic the ending of the movie was, I was hoping/expecting some kind of big send off for the Joker but instead his send off was very brief and unsatisfying. There's also the many plot holes but i dont have anything new to say on that.

A movie to be called ''One of the greatest film of all time'' it needs to excell in every aspect of filmmaking. The Dark Knight only excells at one, the performances, Heath Ledger's The Joker is excellent, he is truly phenomenal. But other than that, the direction is OK, the writing is very weak, and the movie is tedious, and overlong. The Dark Knight is good but grotesquely overrated

In short, Nolan offers a somewhat charming comic movie, that has all his usual traits: good and bad, but despite its charm, at its core is a rather one dimensional hollywood blockbuster with the popcorn audience as its target demographic. It may be the ''greatest superhero movie of all time'' but that doesnt mean a lot, does it?
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Jimi360May 27, 2016
Dark and twisted, but mezmorising and memorable, The Dark Knight is the finest movie to ever include superheroes or superhero themes, and unlikely to ever be beaten. A true masterpiece from Christopher Nolan.

I can not go any further
Dark and twisted, but mezmorising and memorable, The Dark Knight is the finest movie to ever include superheroes or superhero themes, and unlikely to ever be beaten. A true masterpiece from Christopher Nolan.

I can not go any further without discussing Heath Ledger. His portrayal of the Joker is nothing short of unbelievable, and the lengths that you can tell he went to just to bring do that character justice need to be applauded. An exceptional piece of acting brilliance, some of the finest acting you will ever see. Christian Bale is, once again, a solid Batman. Michael Caine is such a loveable Alfred, which is also matched by Morgan Freeman's Fox. Other performances also worth mentioning is Gary Oldman, who you are routing for from start to finish, as well as great debuts in the series from Maggie Gyllenhaal as Rachel Dawes, and Aaron Ekhart as Harvey Dent. The movie's original score is outstanding, and a real credit to the composers there. The atmosphere throughout the whole movie is dark and slightly hopeless, thanks to the presence of Joker, but this adds to what is an incredibly well written story. A scene in particular between Bale's Batman and Ledger's Joker is outstanding, and so well written it will have every movie-goer on the edge of their seat.

If you haven't seen The Dark Knight, make it happen. Seriously.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwMay 25, 2016
This has no competition. It is the very finest comic-book character movie ever made. Knowing the Burton, Donner and Nolan filmic adaptations of Batman and Superman exist helps me to sleep at night. They are Exhibit A of 'How to Make aThis has no competition. It is the very finest comic-book character movie ever made. Knowing the Burton, Donner and Nolan filmic adaptations of Batman and Superman exist helps me to sleep at night. They are Exhibit A of 'How to Make a Comic-Book Movie'. Nothing else has ever come even remotely close. These seven films (I include 'Superman II' because it was mostly Donner's work)--and Nolan's trilogy especially--are what I imagine a great director like Kubrick, Hitchcock or Kurosawa would have come up with, if they had ever been asked to make a Superman or Batman movie. They are the easiest for an audience to identify with because in these the scripts most approximate human emotions and the typical conundrums of the human experience--in short, are the closest, in a good way, they come to the complexities of the human condition. Peerless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MCCrusaders6May 18, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is great example on how a batman movie should be. Dark, scary, complex, and of course a ton of fun. The performance for joker was out of the ballpark and really set the bar high for other jokers. It uses genius ideas like having the hostages look like the bad guy, and the bad guy the hostages. Its brilliant! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NalkaMay 8, 2016
By far the best film based on a comic book character. Not your usual comic comic book movie. Dark, smart, stylish action with no CGI and thrilling from beginning to end. Plus an iconic performance by heath ledger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jack97May 6, 2016
The Dark Knight is one of the greatest comic book films of all time. Heath Ledger literally becomes the Joker and he makes the whole movie with his amazing performance. But the actual movie itself is really great, it's a really compellingThe Dark Knight is one of the greatest comic book films of all time. Heath Ledger literally becomes the Joker and he makes the whole movie with his amazing performance. But the actual movie itself is really great, it's a really compelling crime thriller with intense and exciting scenes, a fantastic story and more great performances from the rest of the cast. A true masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
What a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I reallyWhat a breath of fresh air. Such a brilliant step up from the previous movie. Fantastic performances all round. Ledger in particular was just amazing as the Joker. This is what a Batman movie should be. I would love to say more, but I really can not falter this movie in any way. As close to perfect as I could hope for a comic to movie film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AaronWasserman1Apr 11, 2016
A complete masterpiece, one of the greatest movie sequels ever, up there with Empire Strikes Back. Chris Nolan has made a movie with brilliant characters, script, dialogue, effects, visuals, scale, scope, and music. The Dark Knight gives youA complete masterpiece, one of the greatest movie sequels ever, up there with Empire Strikes Back. Chris Nolan has made a movie with brilliant characters, script, dialogue, effects, visuals, scale, scope, and music. The Dark Knight gives you an experience most movies don't. Years later, this movie is still one of the best, easily the best comic book movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adam09_Mar 31, 2016
"The Dark Knight" is a Masterpiece that focus' on the characters more than the action. Heath Ledgers Joker is amazing and is one of the best portrayals of a villain in movie history. This movie might have Batman as the main protagonist but"The Dark Knight" is a Masterpiece that focus' on the characters more than the action. Heath Ledgers Joker is amazing and is one of the best portrayals of a villain in movie history. This movie might have Batman as the main protagonist but its not a superhero film its a gritty crime/ thriller movie that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mahdi-shadowMar 28, 2016
this is literally the best Batman movie we ever had in years. and heath ledger was amazing . i love joker and dialogs .depth. story and depth the dark knight is not just a super hero movie this is more then that and smart movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adrenilinmattMar 27, 2016
Dark knight is one of the most spectacular movies ever created. I feel lucky to have been born in our time, now, viewing this piece of absolute art in my youth. What a perfect movie. Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NehuenMar 27, 2016
Por lejos una de las mejores películas de héroes de la historia (por no decir la mejor). The Dark Knight es una película obligatoria de verse para aquellos fanáticos del género y del personaje en cuestión. Con un guión frenético, complejo yPor lejos una de las mejores películas de héroes de la historia (por no decir la mejor). The Dark Knight es una película obligatoria de verse para aquellos fanáticos del género y del personaje en cuestión. Con un guión frenético, complejo y atrapante, sumando las grandes actuaciones de los actores, aunque el que se lleva toda la película es Heath Ledger, que realiza una interpretación del "The Joker", poniéndolo como uno de los mejores y más aclamados villanos del cine. Todo esto hace que esta película sea inolvidable, y pase a ser una de las mejores películas de culto. Por lejos uno de los mejores trabajos de Christopher Nolan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ufkumhoMar 25, 2016
Not gonna lie, my favourite movie of all time, wtached it for my birthday in the cinema , and I was astonished 8 years ago, and everytime I watch now.
The whole cast is awesome, Bale is my favourite Batman as he gives a deep look inside the
Not gonna lie, my favourite movie of all time, wtached it for my birthday in the cinema , and I was astonished 8 years ago, and everytime I watch now.
The whole cast is awesome, Bale is my favourite Batman as he gives a deep look inside the man behind the caped crusader, Oldman was perfect, Freeman and Caine served almost as comic reliefs, Eckhart's Dent is simply breathtaking. And are there any words to describe Ledger's acting ? Well, a brief sentence maybe : The best acting performance in modern day cinema history.
But what I liked most that Nolan made Batman accesible, touchable and feelable for the first time, it's not like near.superhuman.being like Ben Affleck's Batman in BvS, it's the very first time a vigilante seemed exceedingly vulnerable, less physically than mentally or pyschologically of course. The realistic set-up of the Nolanverse truly suprised and fascinated , as for the bery first time, I felt like " yes, all of this could this exist in real life too ", which really made me think a lot about it. Nolan deserves true respect for truning it into a realisitc set-up so flawlessly, he already did it in Batman Begins, but he has stepped up the game for this sequel like no one else. I think it wil take a quite long time for any superhero movie to beat "The Dark Knight", simply because almost everything about this movie is perfect. And yes , BAtman sounds like he has throat cancer, but if I was criminal, I would be afraid of a the best detetctive in the world who is a trained ninja, has awesome gadgets, looks menacing and beats other ciriminals to pulp, plus sounbds like he has a serious disease in his throat area
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyMar 25, 2016
'The Dark Knight' is easily the best 'Batman' story ever told, with stunning performances from all its cast, a dark and intriguing story, and the best incarnation of the Joker on the big screen.

Obviously, the movie does have its flaws,
'The Dark Knight' is easily the best 'Batman' story ever told, with stunning performances from all its cast, a dark and intriguing story, and the best incarnation of the Joker on the big screen.

Obviously, the movie does have its flaws, like Christan Bale's gravelly Batman voice, and that some of the plot points aren't very well thought out.

All in all, I think 'The Dark Knight' is the best Christopher Nolan 'Batman' movie, and one of the best comic book movies of all time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RPKHMar 24, 2016
Joker Joker Joker, this is what you heard a lot about "The Dark Knight" which is obviously true. Heath Ledger`s Joker is one of the greatest anti-hero or what i call bad-man characters and besides that one of the best performance that anJoker Joker Joker, this is what you heard a lot about "The Dark Knight" which is obviously true. Heath Ledger`s Joker is one of the greatest anti-hero or what i call bad-man characters and besides that one of the best performance that an actor could perform (don`t you agreed?), but this is not the only strong point of the film; Nolan`s superhero is more human like despite what we seeing these days (i write this in march 2016) of so called super mega heros that you can not do anything to them!
I think this will be enough.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ReelViews94Mar 23, 2016
Consequences. In real life, these ramifications emanate from every action like ripples from a stone thrown into a pond. Often in movies, especially those that feature characters who don't play by the rules, such penalties are suspended.Consequences. In real life, these ramifications emanate from every action like ripples from a stone thrown into a pond. Often in movies, especially those that feature characters who don't play by the rules, such penalties are suspended. However, in Christopher Nolan's Batman universe, decisions and actions have consequences. The Dark Knight, arguably the moodiest and most adult superhero motion picture ever to reach the screen, illustrates this lesson in ways that are startling and painful. This is a tough, uncompromising motion picture - one that defies the common notions of what is expected from a "superhero" film. While there are plenty of action sequences and instances of derring-do, The Dark Knight's subtext has a tragic underpinning that would intrigue Shakespeare or the Greeks. It's about power and impotence, sanity and madness, image and reality, selfishness and sacrifice, and - yes - consequences.

It has often been said that Tim Burton's vision of Batman was the darkest representation we were ever likely to see of a superhero. Compared to how Nolan sees the character, Burton's version was a pantomime. For many long-running franchises, Burton's included, the second volume stands tallest. Nolan has followed up on his gritty and successful Batman Begins with one of the best all-time sequels, and perhaps the most impressive mainstream entertainment experience since 2003's The Return of the King. The Dark Knight builds upon the themes and premises founded three years ago. With the introductions and origins dispensed with in Batman Begins, Nolan uses this opportunity to expand upon his portrait of Batman as a haunted individual who, driven by forces rooted deep in his psyche, must dispense justice according to his own strict code.

Often in superhero movies, there's a sense that, no matter what challenges the protagonist must face, all will be right in the end. That certainty is missing here, and its absence may represent Nolan's most impressive accomplishment. Batman is fallible and his world is dangerous. No character, no matter how well-established in Batman lore, is safe. This director's Gotham City may be less garish and gothic than Burton's, but it is in many ways a bleaker and more oppressive place. It's a joyless venue and the hero takes his demeanor from his city. Batman is a grim, brooding superhero. He rarely speaks while in costume and, when he does, his voice quivers with menace and his words are devoid of the quips and one-liners audiences have come to associate with action heroes.

The survivors of Batman Begins are all back. Christian Bale has become the first Batman where it matters which actor is under the cowl. Keaton, Kilmer, and Clooney were all interchangeable when wearing the Bat-suit. Not so with Bale, who owns the role. His presence in the costume is forceful in a way that none of his predecessors achieved. Michael Caine's Alfred acts not only as Bruce Wayne's butler but as his conscience. Lucius Fox (Morgan Freeman) is Batman's version of "Q." Indeed, there's a scene in The Dark Knight that could have been lifted from one of many James Bond films. Gary Oldman's Jim Gordon, who wasn't too sure about Batman for much of the first film, is now fully on board as his unofficial liaison to the police force. Assistant D.A. Rachel Dawes remains the girl who got away, the woman whose promise of a normal, happy life provides Wayne with hope for the future. For The Dark Knight, Maggie Gyllenhaal has replaced Katie Holmes, but the change in actress isn't a detriment. Gyllenhaal is a better actress and makes the character her own from her first scene.

Of the newcomers, the Joker is the biggest addition. One could argue that it's impossible to make a Batman series without facing the main character against the Joker at some point. No superhero and villain are more inextricably linked. Yet this Joker is unlike any we have previously encountered. The other major character to join the ensemble is Aaron Eckhart as Gotham's charismatic, photogenic D.A. Harvey Dent is Gotham's Knight in Shining Armor, and that's how Eckhart plays him - an individual with a pure heart who makes his own luck. Those even passingly familiar with Batman lore know Dent's fate, and it plays out here as one might suspect, although Nolan puts a different spin on things than did Joel Schumacher.

For all of the heavy lifting done by the movie's screenplay, dealing as it does with substantive issues and existential questions, there's still plenty of the meat-and-potatoes content of any superhero movie: action sequences. There are numerous fights, chases, and races.

2008 may be the year that the superhero movie comes of age. Iron Man represents the best screen adventure of a Marvel hero. Now, D.C. has answered with The Dark Knight, a film so impressive in every significant facet that it makes one wonder why it took so long for the genre to reach this high level.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerMar 23, 2016
The best 2008 movie, a great movie with charismatic characters like Batman, Alfred, Gordon and The Joker: This version of The Joker is the best version ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEdMar 22, 2016
Consequences. In real life, these ramifications emanate from every action like ripples from a stone thrown into a pond. Often in movies, especially those that feature characters who don't play by the rules, such penalties are suspended.Consequences. In real life, these ramifications emanate from every action like ripples from a stone thrown into a pond. Often in movies, especially those that feature characters who don't play by the rules, such penalties are suspended. However, in Christopher Nolan's Batman universe, decisions and actions have consequences. The Dark Knight, arguably the moodiest and most adult superhero motion picture ever to reach the screen, illustrates this lesson in ways that are startling and painful. This is a tough, uncompromising motion picture - one that defies the common notions of what is expected from a "superhero" film. While there are plenty of action sequences and instances of derring-do, The Dark Knight's subtext has a tragic underpinning that would intrigue Shakespeare or the Greeks. It's about power and impotence, sanity and madness, image and reality, selfishness and sacrifice, and - yes - consequences.

It has often been said that Tim Burton's vision of Batman was the darkest representation we were ever likely to see of a superhero. Compared to how Nolan sees the character, Burton's version was a pantomime. For many long-running franchises, Burton's included, the second volume stands tallest. Nolan has followed up on his gritty and successful Batman Begins with one of the best all-time sequels, and perhaps the most impressive mainstream entertainment experience since 2003's The Return of the King. The Dark Knight builds upon the themes and premises founded three years ago. With the introductions and origins dispensed with in Batman Begins, Nolan uses this opportunity to expand upon his portrait of Batman as a haunted individual who, driven by forces rooted deep in his psyche, must dispense justice according to his own strict code.

Often in superhero movies, there's a sense that, no matter what challenges the protagonist must face, all will be right in the end. That certainty is missing here, and its absence may represent Nolan's most impressive accomplishment. Batman is fallible and his world is dangerous. No character, no matter how well-established in Batman lore, is safe. This director's Gotham City may be less garish and gothic than Burton's, but it is in many ways a bleaker and more oppressive place. It's a joyless venue and the hero takes his demeanor from his city. Batman is a grim, brooding superhero. He rarely speaks while in costume and, when he does, his voice quivers with menace and his words are devoid of the quips and one-liners audiences have come to associate with action heroes.

Of the newcomers, the Joker is the biggest addition. One could argue that it's impossible to make a Batman series without facing the main character against the Joker at some point. No superhero and villain are more inextricably linked. Yet this Joker is unlike any we have previously encountered. Cesar Romero's interpretation of the character (in the '60s TV series) was that of a deadly prankster. Jack Nicholson's over-the-top performance made 1989's Batman all about the bad guy. The late Heath Ledger, however, gives us something darker and more twisted - a role that would have been no less memorable had it not been his last and most grueling. There's nothing humorous about this freak. No flowery lines like "You ever dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?" This is no caricature - The Joker is a frighteningly vicious and intelligent monster who represents a legitimate match for the title character.

For all of the heavy lifting done by the movie's screenplay, dealing as it does with substantive issues and existential questions, there's still plenty of the meat-and-potatoes content of any superhero movie: action sequences. There are numerous fights, chases, and races. The Batmobile gets its share of screen time as does a new Bat-cycle. Batman takes on bad guys singly and in bunches. And there's a heart-pounding sequence in which the Caped Crusader must race against time to save a life, where the price is almost as terrible if he succeeds as if he fails. Nolan's inherent sense of how to transform a relatively mundane fight scene into something involving is in evidence here, much as was the case in Batman Begins. He avoids flash editing and allows the action to evolve in a coherent manner, drawing the viewer in rather than keeping him guessing what's going on.

2008 may be the year that the superhero movie comes of age. Iron Man represents the best screen adventure of a Marvel hero. Now, D.C. has answered with The Dark Knight, a film so impressive in every significant facet that it makes one wonder why it took so long for the genre to reach this high level. Christopher Nolan has provided movie-goers with the best superhero movie to-date, outclassing previous titles both mediocre and excellent, and giving this franchise its The Empire Strikes Back.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
It's no accident that the skyline of Gotham City figures prominently in so many scenes in The Dark Knight, the second Batman movie from director and co-writer Christopher Nolan. It's seen from above when Batman glides from building toIt's no accident that the skyline of Gotham City figures prominently in so many scenes in The Dark Knight, the second Batman movie from director and co-writer Christopher Nolan. It's seen from above when Batman glides from building to building, and from below as the Joker skulks through streets that the residents deserted in panic. But it's just as conspicuously present in the film's many scenes of executives and city officials meeting high above the general populace, like gods determining the fates of those below. Where Batman Begins was largely about the considerable personal toll exacted by its hero's decision to fight back against the forces of evil while adhering to a code of honor, The Dark Knight expands those weighty themes to city scale.

As the film opens, Gotham still needs Batman (played again with intensity and vulnerability by Christian Bale), though its champion's influence hasn't been entirely positive. Organized crime has practically gone corporate in response, and a group of clumsy Batman wannabes have done little to stop it. Then there's the Joker, a mysterious new criminal who wants to foil the forces of law and order for reasons he keeps to himself.

What the Joker lacks in transparent motives he makes up for with enthusiasm. Playing a self-described "engine of chaos," the late Heath Ledger treats the iconic comic-book villain as a man who sees life as a dark joke, but takes care to tailor his punchlines for maximum impact. It's an unnervingly thorough performance, from the character's serpentine habit of licking his lips to the hitch Ledger throws into his stride that makes him like a wounded, angry animal. It's nightmare stuff with real-world roots, both in the randomness of his destructive acts of terror, and the imperfect systems designed to stand in his way.

Basing his schemes on the corruptibility of cops and criminals, Ledger's Joker homes in on the few who appear beyond his reach, particularly Batman and district attorney Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart), a fearless enforcer of the law poised to make real changes to the city. Matters are complicated by the fact that Eckhart now shares a bed with Bale's lifelong love Rachel Dawes (Maggie Gyllenhaal, subbing in for Katie Holmes). But to the film's credit, Nolan isn't afraid to keep matters complicated. The script, which he co-wrote with his brother Jonathan, has the unapologetic density of a good crime novel, with major and minor characters alike getting their due. Bale and Gyllenhaal have only a few scenes together, but they establish a tangible chemistry, and Michael Caine, Gary Oldman, and Morgan Freeman make significant contributions as Bale's confidantes and consciences.

Nolan lets the film's spectacular action scenes seem like the natural consequences of the conflicts between characters, conflicts that build until Gotham becomes less a setting than a stage for an operatic conflict between tortured good and contented chaos. As strong as The Dark Knight's setpieces are—and they're all pulsing showstoppers of a kind not seen in Batman Begins—the real tension comes from Nolan's willingness to let that battle's ultimate outcome remain in doubt even as the credits roll. The film's capes and cowls suggest one genre, but it's a metropolis-sized tragedy at heart.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
CinemassacreMar 13, 2016
Having memorably explored the Caped Crusader’s origins in “Batman Begins,” director Christopher Nolan puts all of Gotham City under a microscope in “The Dark Knight,” the enthralling second installment of his bold, bracing and altogetherHaving memorably explored the Caped Crusader’s origins in “Batman Begins,” director Christopher Nolan puts all of Gotham City under a microscope in “The Dark Knight,” the enthralling second installment of his bold, bracing and altogether heroic reinvention of the iconic franchise. An ambitious, full-bodied crime epic of gratifying scope and moral complexity, this is seriously brainy pop entertainment that satisfies every expectation raised by its hit predecessor and then some. That should also hold true at the box office, with Heath Ledger’s justly anticipated turn as the Joker adding to the must-see excitement surrounding the Warner Bros. release.

With the Bruce Wayne/Batman backstory firmly established, “The Dark Knight” fans out to take a broader perspective on Gotham City — portrayed as a seething cauldron of interlocking power structures and criminal factions in the densely layered but remarkably fleet screenplay by helmer Nolan and brother Jonathan (stepping in for “Batman Begins’” David S. Goyer, who gets a story credit).

Using five strongly developed characters to anchor a drama with life-or-death implications for the entire metropolis, the Nolans have taken Bob Kane’s comicbook template and crafted an anguished, eloquent meditation on ideas of justice and power, corruption and anarchy and, of course, the need for heroes like Batman — a question never in doubt for the viewer, but one posed rather often by the citizens of Gotham.

Indeed, with trusty Lt. Jim Gordon (Gary Oldman, superbly restrained) and golden-boy District Attorney Harvey Dent (a cocksure Aaron Eckhart) successfully spearheading the city’s crackdown on the mob, even Wayne himself (Christian Bale) figures his nights moonlighting as a leather-clad vigilante are numbered. The young billionaire hopes to hang up the Batsuit for good and renew his relationship with assistant D.A. Rachel Dawes (Maggie Gyllenhaal, an immediate improvement over Katie Holmes), who has taken up with Dent in the meantime.

But Batman’s stature as a radical symbol of good has invited a more sinister criminal presence to Gotham City — and, as seen in the crackerjack bank-robbery sequence that opens the pic, one who operates in terrifyingly unpredictable ways. Utterly indifferent to simple criminal motivations like greed, Ledger’s maniacally murderous Joker is as pure an embodiment of irrational evil as any in modern movies. He’s a pitiless psychopath who revels in chaos and fears neither pain nor death, a demonic prankster for whom all the world’s a punchline.

After Ledger’s death in January, his penultimate performance (with Terry Gilliam’s “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus” still to come) will be viewed with both tremendous excitement and unavoidable sadness. It’s a tribute to Ledger’s indelible work that he makes the viewer entirely forget the actor behind the cracked white makeup and blood-red rictus grin, so complete and frightening is his immersion in the role. With all due respect to the enjoyable camp buffoonery of past Jokers like Cesar Romero and Jack Nicholson, Ledger makes them look like — well, clowns.

The pic shrewdly positions the Joker as the superhero-movie equivalent of a modern terrorist (one of several post-9/11 signifiers), who threatens to target Gotham civilians until Batman reveals his identity. Batman, Gordon and Dent uneasily join forces, but the Joker seems to have the upper hand at every step, even from a jail cell; the city, turning against the hero it once looked to for hope, seems more fractious, vulnerable and dangerous than ever.

Though more linear than “Memento” and “The Prestige” (both also co-scripted by the Nolans), “The Dark Knight” pivots with similar ingenuity on a breathless series of twists and turns, culminating in a dramatic shift for Dent. This subplot reps the film’s weakest link, packing too much psychological motivation into too little screen time to be entirely credible. Yet Eckhart vividly inhabits the character’s sad trajectory, underscoring the film’s point that symbols of good can be all too easily tarnished.

Viewers who found “Batman Begins” too existentially weighty for its own good will be refreshed to know that “The Dark Knight” hits the ground running and rarely lets up over its swift 2½-hour running time. Nolan directs the action more confidently than he did the first time out, orchestrating all manner of vertiginous mid-air escapes and virtuosic highway setpieces (and unleashing Batman’s latest ooh-ah contraption, the monster-truck-tire-equipped Bat-Pod). In a fresh innovation, six sequences were shot using Imax cameras, and will presumably look smashing in the giant-screen format (pic was reviewed from a 35mm print).

Plus a fantastic moody score by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard.

A superhero crime epic saga. Loved to hear that Chris Nolan is also a big fan of Heat which inspired a majority of the film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
VamonteMar 8, 2016
The film that sets bar too high for comic book movies. The Dark Knight is more than just an ordinary superhero movie. It is an epic crime drama with an unforgettable portrayal of the Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews