Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 3749 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Batman raises the stakes in his war on crime. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent Batman sets out to dismantle the remaining criminal organizations that plague the city streets. The partnership proves to be effective, but they soon find themselves prey to reign of chaos unleashed by a rising criminal mastermind known to the terrified citizens of Gotham as the Joker. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Dinning
    100
    Ledger's performance is monumental, but The Dark Knight lives up to it. Nolan cements his position as Hollywood's premier purveyor of blockbuster smarts – and the Batbike is kinda cool, too.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    When was the last time you saw a blockbuster that was impeccably executed and simultaneously thought-provoking, audacious and unnerving while consistently being fun and entertaining?
  3. Bale again brilliantly personifies all the deep traumas and misgivings of Batman's alter ego, Bruce Wayne. A bit of Hamlet is in this Batman.
  4. 90
    The Dark Knight may not be a masterpiece, but it easily vaults to the top of any list of "best superhero movies."
  5. 88
    The highest praise I can give a superhero movie is that it makes me forget about its 10-cent-comic-book soul.
  6. An action blockbuster extravaganza that's sadder than sad and never pretends otherwise.
  7. 50
    The Dark Knight is hardly routine--it has a kicky sadism in scene after scene, which keeps you on edge and sends you out onto the street with post-movie stress disorder.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why this movie gets bashed so much because it's "overrated." So what? Pretend as though you never heard anyone say how good this film is, then watch it, and then talk to me. And don't even get me started on people saying, "People like it just because Heath Ledger died!" Again, pretend as though he didn't die, watch his performance again, and then come talk to me. An outstanding performance by anyone who was ever involved in this film. Expand
  2. KarenD.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    This movie seriously rocked hard core and I believe that the Joker is an AMAZING character!!
  3. MackC.
    Jul 19, 2008
    10
    Best portrayal of Batman and the Joker......ever.....bar none.
  4. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    Theres nothing bad about this film at all. It had awesome technology, a worthy batman, the best joker ever, and intense action. Like one critic said, Its not your ordinary superhero movie, its better Expand
  5. JoshE.
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    I can honestly say that the New York critics can fornicate themselves with an iron rod. The sheer power of this film topples every other comic book adaptation off the movie pile. Heath Ledger turns in the most astonishing movie villain since Schindler's List's Amon Goeth and Christian Bale matches him in every respect. Don't listen to the New Yorkers. They're just upset because the film was set in Chicago. SEE THIS FILM!!! Although at 150 minutes, it was somewhat of a drag. Expand
  6. May 10, 2014
    9
    While Batman Begins was a good film, The Dark Knight is grand. It's darkness and it's intense action will hold you captivated throughout the film. Christian Bale did an excellent performance playing Batman, I don't know why people are hating on his voice. The drama was cool, there were some emotional scenes, I overall had an amazing time when I first saw this film and I kind of want to watch it again right now. This is probably the greatest Batman movie ever made, so I would highly recommend it. Expand
  7. JeffG.
    Jul 21, 2008
    0
    I love dark movies -- Pan's Labyrinth, Apocalypse Now -- but Dark Knight isn't dark: it's sick. If you like horror movies like Hostel and Saw III, maybe this'll be up your line -- but come on: a cell phone stitched into a guy's stomach and rigged to explode crosses a line for me. There's no point, no message, just sick, disturbing sadism. Expand

See all 1132 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  2. Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels

    Iron Man 2 vs. Other Superhero Sequels Image
    Published: May 6, 2010
    How does "Iron Man 2" compare to the first "Iron Man," and how have other superhero sequels performed in the past?
  3. Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies

    Kicking Ass: The Best and Worst Comic Book Movies Image
    Published: April 12, 2010
    Which comic book movies kick ass, and which deserve to be kicked to the curb? We run through the best and worst examples of films based on comics, from "Superman" to "Howard the Duck."
  4. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.