Summit Entertainment | Release Date: December 25, 2011
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
52
Negative:
62
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
hollyvictoria19Jan 28, 2012
I went to see this film with some friends and we all agreed that this film was AWFUL! Bad acting, pathetic speeches and a just awful storyline. Some giant blobs just appear in the sky kill everyone one by one and tge two main characters fallI went to see this film with some friends and we all agreed that this film was AWFUL! Bad acting, pathetic speeches and a just awful storyline. Some giant blobs just appear in the sky kill everyone one by one and tge two main characters fall in love which is all too predictable! Stupid and rubbish! Never again!
We thought that the bad reviews were just opinions but they're definately not!
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
LordOFlibertYJan 13, 2012
Stupid movie with stupid setting with stupid characters and stupid story. As you can tell I did not like the movie AT all the only reason why I gave it a 3 is for the special effects and the design in the alien creature I sought of liked it.Stupid movie with stupid setting with stupid characters and stupid story. As you can tell I did not like the movie AT all the only reason why I gave it a 3 is for the special effects and the design in the alien creature I sought of liked it. Nothing really happens in the film basically they're just running away, running away, running away nothing really answered thats just about it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicApr 15, 2012
The Darkest Hour is pure sci-fi crap. I like the trailer more often than the movie itself because I don't even care about alien movies anymore. I just always watch Independence Day and Mars Attacks! I like Emile Hirsch when he was SpeedThe Darkest Hour is pure sci-fi crap. I like the trailer more often than the movie itself because I don't even care about alien movies anymore. I just always watch Independence Day and Mars Attacks! I like Emile Hirsch when he was Speed Racer, but the characters from The Darkest Hour is more stupider than Jack and Jill was and they don't even know what they say. The action of the movie is wasted too much time in about a minute or so and the script is a mess. Who needs Battle Los Angeles when you need 'em? Forget about renting on DVD or crappy 3-D versions, this is an absurd title with a made-for-TV monologue. "The Darkest Hour" is pretty dark and pretty damn boring. One of the worst movies of the year. They had their hour, but when the lights are out, it's game over! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
movieloveyJan 9, 2012
The movie was fake. I didn't like the ending and I didn't like how it was moving so fast. There is no way the rest of the world would have tons of surviors if Moscow was totally wiped out for the most part. I should have seen Devil Inside.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
sirky004Feb 2, 2012
I thought the movie was awesome but it isn't. Good visual effect doesn't make up for a crappy storyline. This movie is one of the worst movie I've watched.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MegWhiteleyMar 26, 2012
The film is really terrible, awful, stupid, we watching much times the alien movies, the only different is that they take Rusia, and is the only different. Cast, story, all in The Darkest Hour is horrible. Awful movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
pogodog7Jan 8, 2012
I would rate this film one star and that would be generous. The characters were one dimensional and you knew who was going to get killed a mile off. The special effects were on the level of a made-for-TV-movie on the sci-fi channel. The 3DI would rate this film one star and that would be generous. The characters were one dimensional and you knew who was going to get killed a mile off. The special effects were on the level of a made-for-TV-movie on the sci-fi channel. The 3D was needless because there was nothing enhanced since the special effects and the aliens were practically non-existent. I would advise to save your money and time and stay home and watch a good sci-fi dvd. This movie would have appealed to children from 10-15 years old, with absolutely no knowledge of what constituents a good movie experience, plot or special effects. When it was finally over, I wished that I could have gotten my time and/or money back. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
NeefuDec 28, 2011
This movie was pretty darn awful. There never really seems like any point in the movie where there is any sort of legitimate drive beyond "lets go this way". And even then, they rarely answer the question "why". "let's go this way, becauseThis movie was pretty darn awful. There never really seems like any point in the movie where there is any sort of legitimate drive beyond "lets go this way". And even then, they rarely answer the question "why". "let's go this way, because this that and the other"... and why does that matter? And beyond that, it didn't even spend that time developing any of the 5-6 main characters more than "I have a family somewhere else in the world who I'm wondering if survived!" and, about the special effects stuff, the only thing it really had to offer, were some cool death scenes, and one or two cool landscapes (the one involving the airplane was rather cool). Everything else was either dull or silly looking... If you are absolutely dying to see this movie, wait until it's on Netflix so the only thing you're wasting is the hour and a half spent watching the movie. :P Expand
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
0
jzmeMar 18, 2012
I've only one advice. Don't watch this movie. Terrible script , acting & story line. I don't know why I spent 10 bucks on this movie in the cinema. Although I had a feeling that this movie will suck, I didn't know that it will be THIS bad.I've only one advice. Don't watch this movie. Terrible script , acting & story line. I don't know why I spent 10 bucks on this movie in the cinema. Although I had a feeling that this movie will suck, I didn't know that it will be THIS bad. It's so bad I want to cry. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
OscarOrNotDec 27, 2011
This movie is powered by decent special effects, terrible acting, no character development, and the stupidest storyline ever. Oscar or Not? DO I EVEN NEED TO ASK THAT QUESTION!!!???
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
Pivot1022Dec 28, 2011
**** you darkest hour... **** you... this movie was awful,, characters are boring, try's to be dramatic but lacks everything it needs to make it work. the aliens look awful.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
BalthamosJan 14, 2012
I saw this film with my partner tonight, and I just couldn't understand the concept. If the aliens seriously used electrical powers to "microwave" people, as they put it.. Why on EARTH didn't they just have full rubber suits on and justI saw this film with my partner tonight, and I just couldn't understand the concept. If the aliens seriously used electrical powers to "microwave" people, as they put it.. Why on EARTH didn't they just have full rubber suits on and just walked through it. Completely stupid film, acting was terrible.. Got to the point that you couldn't even understand their voices by the end! Muttering, staggering even sometimes, the ending itself was just bad. This'll be the best film, when drunk. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2012
I saw the trailors for this when it came to DVD and thought "well this looks like a fun movie" well boy was i wrong . The plot is dumb , the pacing is slugish , the acting is sub par , the special effects are ok . It feels like a Micheal BayI saw the trailors for this when it came to DVD and thought "well this looks like a fun movie" well boy was i wrong . The plot is dumb , the pacing is slugish , the acting is sub par , the special effects are ok . It feels like a Micheal Bay Film but with a twist of Lame , Dull , and pointless just it make i suck alittle bit more then a Bay film should . If you want to see a film with people fighting aliens in it see james camrons Aliens flick. Avoid this smelly turd at all cost. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
mrcriticApr 21, 2012
The Darkest Hour is a science-fiction film starring Emilie Hirsch, Olivia Thirlby, Max Minghella, Rachael Taylor, and Joel Kinnaman as five people who are fighting off a species of aliens who attack them while in Moscow. And, I know you'reThe Darkest Hour is a science-fiction film starring Emilie Hirsch, Olivia Thirlby, Max Minghella, Rachael Taylor, and Joel Kinnaman as five people who are fighting off a species of aliens who attack them while in Moscow. And, I know you're thinking that this sounds kind of dumb and unoriginal. Well, what were you expecting? There were many missed opportunities with The Darkest Hour. Not only was this venture unsuccessful, but it's also uninteresting, and has some pretty awful acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
vini1904Mar 31, 2013
Poor movie, poor acting, this movie is just terrible, bad effects, everything is wrong and messed up in this movie, now I notice that I waste my time watching this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
xtophNov 29, 2012
Is this a movie or a joke? Definitely has to go in the bottom 10 of movies I've seen. The plot is virtually non-existent. Characters are introduced, developed for 5 min. and then killed. 90 minutes of people running away from invisible forcesIs this a movie or a joke? Definitely has to go in the bottom 10 of movies I've seen. The plot is virtually non-existent. Characters are introduced, developed for 5 min. and then killed. 90 minutes of people running away from invisible forces and in the end there's absolutely no resolution. I don't know how this movie even made it into production... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DaEagleNov 15, 2013
The Darkest Hour is a visually ugly, predictable and not even emotionally engaging. It's definitely cliche, with poor characters who fail to be cared. The idea seemed potentially good, but it's poorly executed. Shortly, this movie isThe Darkest Hour is a visually ugly, predictable and not even emotionally engaging. It's definitely cliche, with poor characters who fail to be cared. The idea seemed potentially good, but it's poorly executed. Shortly, this movie is terrible. (Final Score: 2.75) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
xolveAug 20, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Promising film with an interesting premise, taxed by an unwanted, unconvincing and uninteresting ending. Some good scifi effects, and it was great that most of the characters died. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews