Summit Entertainment | Release Date: December 25, 2011
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 167 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
49
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
hollyvJan 14, 2012
Acting universally on the "new actor" side of the scale...even the dog was no Rin Tin Tin... Think somewhere between Nick Jr. And ABC Family. I went with really low expectations invoking my motto that "bad sci-fi is better than no sci-fi" AsActing universally on the "new actor" side of the scale...even the dog was no Rin Tin Tin... Think somewhere between Nick Jr. And ABC Family. I went with really low expectations invoking my motto that "bad sci-fi is better than no sci-fi" As a result? It was a solid 4.5. And I saw it in 3D ...if you can release your inner MST3K? You'll enjoy it more. Otherwise the darkest hour will be last 60 minutes of the film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
Xborn74May 1, 2012
"The Darkest Hour" (2011) is a horror and science fiction movie about
the attack of an enigmatic alien race, consisting of energy, and
invisible to most of the time for normal people in the city of Moscow . The story follows a young group
"The Darkest Hour" (2011) is a horror and science fiction movie about
the attack of an enigmatic alien race, consisting of energy, and
invisible to most of the time for normal people in the city of Moscow .

The story follows a young group that meets together, when this occurs
and their quest for survival.

Aesthetically speaking, the film was produced to be presented in 3D,
and no doubt mostlyof it are really cool - actually the best part of
the film. Moscow is shown very well, with famous city locations.

The performances are regular to bad, and full of clichés. The story is
interesting at the start, but in the final third of the film moves a
bit from the original focus, and the explanation of the invaders was
very strange and forced - not to mention it has a hook for a sequel,
wide open.

It's a good movie to watch without expectations, but nothing more than
this (or to showcase your new 3D HDTV) - the movie is worth for the
images of Moscow and its beginning. My score: 6.0 / 10.0.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeDec 8, 2012
An alien movie with good special effects.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ZilcellMay 11, 2012
Its not extremely bad like everybody says. Its just an okay scary film that makes good use of the few ideas it has. Nothing special here, but slightly entertaining.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
secretcriticDec 29, 2011
not bad but arent there any proper ending??==
the film is very nice but it don't look like the storyline make any sense,,anywell i quite enjoy
the 3d doest have any 3d effects,,so its the movie or the cinema's problem????
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
ReviewCriticDec 28, 2011
Really, invisible aliens? never before have I seen such a stupid attempt a t an action movie. Very disappointed. Check my profile for the most updated movie reviews.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
wulfensteinDec 27, 2011
I saw the previews for this might go and see it at the movies depends what else is on or might just wait it for dvd...I have to say this all I could think of after seeing this preview was final fantasy spirits within invisible enemies, citiesI saw the previews for this might go and see it at the movies depends what else is on or might just wait it for dvd...I have to say this all I could think of after seeing this preview was final fantasy spirits within invisible enemies, cities wiped to the ground, people being vaporised if been killed but the aliens.. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Apr 12, 2013
I liked the idea behind this movie, and did try to be a little different at first. But, like most movies of its kind, it falls into a generic plot outcome that meant to entertain the lowest common denominator. Acting is OK, and the effectsI liked the idea behind this movie, and did try to be a little different at first. But, like most movies of its kind, it falls into a generic plot outcome that meant to entertain the lowest common denominator. Acting is OK, and the effects (when you could see them) were decent, however invisible aliens did feel a little bit of cheap way out. Had they replaced the aliens with ghosts, it wouldn't have made no difference.

Overall:
A good idea that starts out OK, but then falls apart on itself.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
EssenceOfSugarJul 19, 2012
Despite what the critics say, this isn't a bad film. In fact, it's pretty good. But what I must point out is the length of film is always important to note - I felt it was too short to hold my attention. I wanted to know more. As it was quiteDespite what the critics say, this isn't a bad film. In fact, it's pretty good. But what I must point out is the length of film is always important to note - I felt it was too short to hold my attention. I wanted to know more. As it was quite short, it is also useful to illustrate the pacing, as it realised it had to skip certain areas, rushing in order to make the 85-90 minute time limit. The beginning normally needs to either fill us in properly on background detail or give us time to develop it during the disaster. Although this did happen throughout the film, we did get a little background detail of some of the main characters. What made this film not sink into bad territory was the continued update of the journey to escape from the electric creatures, which I thought were awesome. It was quite courageous to use them as the mainspring in this film, as it was obvious in this situation that it was a devastating attack. It was amazing to see the characters start to rely on each other in such dire need and that rescue came when it was most needed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
dharmaOct 15, 2012
After seeing this film, I've decided that I don't like Timur Bekmabetov that much (who is acting as Producer here). The Russian wunderkind may be the best in his home country, but his films so far, to put it lightly, feels second rate.After seeing this film, I've decided that I don't like Timur Bekmabetov that much (who is acting as Producer here). The Russian wunderkind may be the best in his home country, but his films so far, to put it lightly, feels second rate. The critics seemed to like him so much, heaping praise for his 'innovation'. However, his higher budgeted pictures felt amateurish at best. The Darkest Hour started pretty good, but felt so unsatisfying and derivative of every Alien invasion film that you felt cheated in the end. If you want an Indie genre director that really delivers, wait for Neil Blonkamp's (District 9's) next features. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
neoncriticJun 3, 2012
Not nearly as bad as the critics make out, this sci-fi fluff is actually quite entertaining, if more than a little outlandish. The Moscow setting adds welcome change to aliens always attacking America and Emile Hirsch carries things as wellNot nearly as bad as the critics make out, this sci-fi fluff is actually quite entertaining, if more than a little outlandish. The Moscow setting adds welcome change to aliens always attacking America and Emile Hirsch carries things as well as he can, but he is no leading man. Director Chirs Gorak instills some flourish with the special effects and overall style but 'The Darkest Hour' never transcends unintentional B-movie territory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZonbiJan 19, 2012
This movie is pretty damn okay, but disappointing . I love the plot of why and how they're there. The Russian setting is very original, and interesting. Though the whole plot it's self seems like fan-fiction you'd find on "Mibba". But it'sThis movie is pretty damn okay, but disappointing . I love the plot of why and how they're there. The Russian setting is very original, and interesting. Though the whole plot it's self seems like fan-fiction you'd find on "Mibba". But it's interesting in a way. I don't like the choosing of characters they left at the end, it's too ironic.. Long story short, it's a good movie. Nothing you'd mention again after you watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BBonasera15Mar 8, 2016
The Darkest Hour is a bad film: besides decent visuals, the film does not really have anything else to offer, apart from plenty of unintentionally hilarious moments that make the film a joy to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ChronoJaseMay 25, 2012
It could have been better. But a more developed character and storyline would have made this a good movie. This movie has decent special effects, and a some Russian freedom fighters, which was pretty awesome :P
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Apemonkey666Aug 18, 2012
The plot: aliens invade, everybody dies, some survive and find way to fight back, the end. So not much story there, it is 'explained' very shortly why the aliens are there but it's one of the classic reasons so not much creativity in theThe plot: aliens invade, everybody dies, some survive and find way to fight back, the end. So not much story there, it is 'explained' very shortly why the aliens are there but it's one of the classic reasons so not much creativity in the plot. The 'novelty' here is that the aliens are invisible (a bit like those in Final Fantasy - Spirits Within) but power up electric stuff as they pass it (lamps, cars, cellphones,...) so our heros have to move by night instead of day (inverse of zombie flicks). If the aliens kill someone they evaporate to dust (like in War of the Worlds) and the night look of the film reminds me somewhat of Cloverfield. So they stole from a lot of other good movies but it's not nearly as good as any of them. Some of the heros die, but you won't care much coz the acting isn't great. The VFX are okay for it's budget but we've all seen better. With all that said, it's not as bad a movie as you would think. If found it enjoyable as light entertainment so if you set your expectations low enough you can give your brain 90 mins of braindead fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DafsterJun 14, 2012
At first I thought this was a pretty good movie with some great special effects and I thought it would have a really in depth storyline. After a while though, I noticed the acting wasn't the best and just when I'd gotten over that then theAt first I thought this was a pretty good movie with some great special effects and I thought it would have a really in depth storyline. After a while though, I noticed the acting wasn't the best and just when I'd gotten over that then the credits started rolling. They came much too soon to the point where you wonder whether the company had a time limit and had just run out. It's not as bad as some people are saying it is, but personally I just couldn't get over the abrupt ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HaithamBayazeedFeb 5, 2013
It has a really good story, but a little bit bad presented, but it is really good, case I like the genre of survival HORROR, overall a really good time, with good 3D!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeDec 7, 2014
I had high expectation and the movie turns out to be one lame ass movie.The special effects were good and the story was original but the movie was bad executed and the acting was far from good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews