Summit Entertainment | Release Date: December 25, 2011
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 172 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
52
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Knicksfan7Jan 4, 2012
Before you freak out and judge my review by the number, relax, i know this movie was terrible, but you have to realize, the makers of this movie definitely weren't going for oscar material. The acting was laughable and there was one cheesyBefore you freak out and judge my review by the number, relax, i know this movie was terrible, but you have to realize, the makers of this movie definitely weren't going for oscar material. The acting was laughable and there was one cheesy speech after another, but my dad and i watch the primetime scifi channel movies every saturday night, so we have experience with these movies, and we love them. I really enjoyed this movie because i went into it with the right mindset. Expect it to be terrible and still give it a slight chance and you won't be disappointed. They definitely did the whole invisible alien concept really well, and the special effects were pretty nice at times, but as always with a cheesy scifi flick, like i said before the acting was a complete joke, but i enjoyed this movie. If you go into the theater expecting a really good alien invasion film with suspense and terror and a solid cast, then don't bother, but if you enjoy a laughable and cheesy film, then this is a must-see, i enjoyed myself. 6.5/10 Expand
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
8
GeneDec 25, 2011
This movie borrows heavily from a Russian science fiction story story called a Roadside Picnic, not very well known in the west but it's pretty much a force in Russian storytelling equal to America's Lord of the Rings or Star Wars. ThisThis movie borrows heavily from a Russian science fiction story story called a Roadside Picnic, not very well known in the west but it's pretty much a force in Russian storytelling equal to America's Lord of the Rings or Star Wars. This translates into a movie that might just be different and strange enough to keep westerners engaged even though the movie has some pretty weak parts. Character development does'nt always make sense, there were a few people that seemed interesting and worthwhile at the beginning that just lose all speaking lines at a certain point and simply hang around making stupid decisions until the inevitable death. The unmasked aliens look pretty ridiculous. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
allmoviesDec 28, 2011
The Darkest Hour is the story of five young people who find themselves stranded in Moscow, fighting to survive in the wake of a devastating alien attack. The 3D thriller highlights the classic beauty of Moscow alongside mind-blowing special effects.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GenuineOpinionJan 2, 2012
Very good in concept. Poorly executed. I'm putting a 10 to balance the score. It wasn't AWFUL. At the same time, it wasn't AWESOME. There was definitely room for improvement.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
NickmenJan 5, 2012
I do not know about that one here but I put 10 for an alien invasion to Russia .. there is certainly something to work, but Bekmambetov ... and other producers and directors will come with time. And alien beings under an electric field ratherI do not know about that one here but I put 10 for an alien invasion to Russia .. there is certainly something to work, but Bekmambetov ... and other producers and directors will come with time. And alien beings under an electric field rather amusing. And the whole movie as a movie. I liked .. and do not regret it one little bit that I went to watch it and then by mistake:) He planned to watch Mission Impossible-4 "Phantom of the Protocol" and simply got on Phantom: DD

From Russia, Severodvinsk.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HIHJan 26, 2012
me and my mate went to see this instead of a biology lesson at College so compared to that it's great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Mr-K05Apr 22, 2012
That movie has the perfect title The Darkest,so dark that is impossible to be seeing.Acting performances are lame,cast is even worse than any other,visual effects saves the day,but that's not enough for this movie it's a totally waste ofThat movie has the perfect title The Darkest,so dark that is impossible to be seeing.Acting performances are lame,cast is even worse than any other,visual effects saves the day,but that's not enough for this movie it's a totally waste of money and time, i'd rather watch Saw Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
CuriousStrangerJul 8, 2012
Yes, it's cheesy as all hell, but, lets face it, it is one of the better sci-fi flicks of 2011, it's actually quite inventive without just plagiarizing familiar sci-fi conventions, (skyline, anyone?), and it is a lot of fun to watch... don'tYes, it's cheesy as all hell, but, lets face it, it is one of the better sci-fi flicks of 2011, it's actually quite inventive without just plagiarizing familiar sci-fi conventions, (skyline, anyone?), and it is a lot of fun to watch... don't trust the critics on this one... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
oswaldferreraSep 18, 2012
Cool movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
madmad90Aug 1, 2012
I am giving this movie a10, just to Balance the score out. It was a good movie . Rating movies doesnt make sense at all. To Film up the space i also add that Emile Hirsch is really Hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KUJOtheSLOTHMANJan 5, 2012
I really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't what I would call a "good" movie by any stretch of the imagination, but it was entertaining. The acting was on the low side of mediocre, but I wasn't going to see this movie for good acting, I was goingI really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't what I would call a "good" movie by any stretch of the imagination, but it was entertaining. The acting was on the low side of mediocre, but I wasn't going to see this movie for good acting, I was going to see a movie about an alien invasion. I thought it was in interesting twist that humans couldn't really see the aliens and some of the action scenes that this results in were actually pretty cool. All that being said, I wouldn't ignore the critic ratings. If you're looking for an entertaining, relatively unusual alien invasion flick then I would certainly give this movie a shot. But what do I know, I liked "Dinner for Schmucks" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This movie was way better than I thought it would be going in. The idea alone is fairly unique and the plot plays out in a not-so-cliche fashion. Also, the cast is outstanding. Emile Hirsch is one of the most underrated young actors in all ofThis movie was way better than I thought it would be going in. The idea alone is fairly unique and the plot plays out in a not-so-cliche fashion. Also, the cast is outstanding. Emile Hirsch is one of the most underrated young actors in all of Hollywood and Olivia Thirlby holds her own. And I'm a huge fan of Rachael Taylor. I hope she gets more and more chances to shine because she could be the next Cameron Diaz. She was great in the short-lived remake of Charlie's Angels and I see she's going to have a new show on TV this fall. As for the actual aliens, I actually really liked the concept used in this film. It wasn't the same old regurgitated idea from every other alien-invasion film before it. It uses a refreshing idea that creates an enemy that rivals any in terms of hopelessness. There were some plot holes and some aspects that were because of low-budget issues but overall, this film was very good and doesn't deserve the shortsighted criticisms many people have given it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jan 7, 2013
What a great idea for a film! The concept is the best thing about this movie that covers quite a few genres. Having Moscow as the setting was also something new as I haven't seen many films shot there. The cast is likable as are the youngWhat a great idea for a film! The concept is the best thing about this movie that covers quite a few genres. Having Moscow as the setting was also something new as I haven't seen many films shot there. The cast is likable as are the young actors playing the characters, lead by Emile Hirsch. It's not flawless and I can kind of see why the critics weren't huge fans of it, but I enjoyed it and thought it was a fresh new idea that was convicted very well! Overall it's well worth a look :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DarloGuyJan 6, 2014
The film is superior on all levels to the swathe of special effects apocalyptic adventures and the serial aliens in metal suits or green men with odd heads against the US military films. The electric-force aliens had us all guessing. HoorayThe film is superior on all levels to the swathe of special effects apocalyptic adventures and the serial aliens in metal suits or green men with odd heads against the US military films. The electric-force aliens had us all guessing. Hooray for a Russian setting, expendable ensemble cast the aliens are so evil they kill good people and not just baddies (duh), and hooray for a film that does not glorify war or US patriotism. I'm looking at you 'Battleship'. No burrito references in sight either. No tit-fest for 15 year old boys. Clever female protagonists. Inventive and a breath of fresh air in the most tired and cliche ridden of US genres. A low budget film shows how it might be done if LA studios only had a brain. The various online critics have clearly been weaned from their usual dumb-ass fodder. Better than average and far more imaginative and inventive for probably the cost of a Hollywood catering budget for similar alien films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 10, 2016
It's refreshing to see someplace besides Manhattan, Tokyo or L.A. getting the destruction-from-space treatment.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29ac81-The-Darkest-Hour-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cquirkeJul 26, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, the plot is familiar - but what lifts this for me, are the muted visuals of grey Moscow, the transition from wonder to fear outside the nightclub, and the understated gritty camaraderie between the American visitors and the Russian locals.

Comparing this to, say, Independence Day would be like comparing Moon to an over-the-top space opera. It may not be a deep literary experience, but at least its not trashy - and the look and feel was sufficiently haunting that twice I made trips back through the Internet to watch it again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews