The Darkest Hour

The Darkest Hour Image
Metascore
16

Overwhelming dislike - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Darkest Hour is the story of five young people who find themselves stranded in Moscow, fighting to survive in the wake of a devastating alien attack. (Summit Entertainment)

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 8 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Dec 26, 2011
    50
    The Darkest Hour turns out to be a modestly inventive and involving variation on a standard-issue sci-fi doomsday scenario.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Dec 26, 2011
    40
    Capable and compelling performers like Hirsch and Thirlby seem left to their own devices to make some connection with the material. The idea of semi-invisible aliens, an unseen enemy, should mean the film has a lingering sense of paranoid abstraction (not unlike "Right at Your Door"), but Darkest Hour never gets beyond rote efficiency.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Dec 29, 2011
    33
    You should be rooting for the humans, but you might as well be rooting for the blobs. Most likely, though, you'll just be rooting for the credits.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Dec 26, 2011
    20
    Really, how slovenly is it to use invisible aliens? If you're going to tease us with nothing but pinwheels of light for three-quarters of the film, you'd better have one heck of a reveal up your sleeve.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 28, 2011
    20
    This is exactly the sort of film I wasn't expecting from either Gorak or his producers. In many too-obvious ways this is just a formulaic riff on Spielberg's "War of the Worlds."
  6. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Dec 28, 2011
    10
    The Darkest Hour isn't just a dark horse contender for the year's biggest joke, it's the darkest.
  7. Reviewed by: Budd Wilkins
    Dec 27, 2011
    0
    In a year-end season stacked deep with worthwhile films, what possible incentive could there be for submitting to The Darkest Hour's utter pointlessness?

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 50
  2. Negative: 19 out of 50
  1. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    Very good in concept. Poorly executed. I'm putting a 10 to balance the score. It wasn't AWFUL. At the same time, it wasn't AWESOME. There wasVery good in concept. Poorly executed. I'm putting a 10 to balance the score. It wasn't AWFUL. At the same time, it wasn't AWESOME. There was definitely room for improvement. Expand
  2. HIH
    Jan 26, 2012
    10
    me and my mate went to see this instead of a biology lesson at College so compared to that it'sme and my mate went to see this instead of a biology lesson at College so compared to that it's great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't what I would call a "good" movie by any stretch of the imagination, but it was entertaining. The actingI really enjoyed this movie. It wasn't what I would call a "good" movie by any stretch of the imagination, but it was entertaining. The acting was on the low side of mediocre, but I wasn't going to see this movie for good acting, I was going to see a movie about an alien invasion. I thought it was in interesting twist that humans couldn't really see the aliens and some of the action scenes that this results in were actually pretty cool. All that being said, I wouldn't ignore the critic ratings. If you're looking for an entertaining, relatively unusual alien invasion flick then I would certainly give this movie a shot. But what do I know, I liked "Dinner for Schmucks" Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2012
    5
    The plot: aliens invade, everybody dies, some survive and find way to fight back, the end. So not much story there, it is 'explained' veryThe plot: aliens invade, everybody dies, some survive and find way to fight back, the end. So not much story there, it is 'explained' very shortly why the aliens are there but it's one of the classic reasons so not much creativity in the plot. The 'novelty' here is that the aliens are invisible (a bit like those in Final Fantasy - Spirits Within) but power up electric stuff as they pass it (lamps, cars, cellphones,...) so our heros have to move by night instead of day (inverse of zombie flicks). If the aliens kill someone they evaporate to dust (like in War of the Worlds) and the night look of the film reminds me somewhat of Cloverfield. So they stole from a lot of other good movies but it's not nearly as good as any of them. Some of the heros die, but you won't care much coz the acting isn't great. The VFX are okay for it's budget but we've all seen better. With all that said, it's not as bad a movie as you would think. If found it enjoyable as light entertainment so if you set your expectations low enough you can give your brain 90 mins of braindead fun. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2011
    3
    This movie was pretty darn awful. There never really seems like any point in the movie where there is any sort of legitimate drive beyondThis movie was pretty darn awful. There never really seems like any point in the movie where there is any sort of legitimate drive beyond "lets go this way". And even then, they rarely answer the question "why". "let's go this way, because this that and the other"... and why does that matter? And beyond that, it didn't even spend that time developing any of the 5-6 main characters more than "I have a family somewhere else in the world who I'm wondering if survived!" and, about the special effects stuff, the only thing it really had to offer, were some cool death scenes, and one or two cool landscapes (the one involving the airplane was rather cool). Everything else was either dull or silly looking... If you are absolutely dying to see this movie, wait until it's on Netflix so the only thing you're wasting is the hour and a half spent watching the movie. :P Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    This movie is powered by decent special effects, terrible acting, no character development, and the stupidest storyline ever. Oscar or Not? DOThis movie is powered by decent special effects, terrible acting, no character development, and the stupidest storyline ever. Oscar or Not? DO I EVEN NEED TO ASK THAT QUESTION!!!??? Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    I've only one advice. Don't watch this movie. Terrible script , acting & story line. I don't know why I spent 10 bucks on this movie in theI've only one advice. Don't watch this movie. Terrible script , acting & story line. I don't know why I spent 10 bucks on this movie in the cinema. Although I had a feeling that this movie will suck, I didn't know that it will be THIS bad. It's so bad I want to cry. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.