User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 294
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    "The Day after Tomorrow" starts in a broad scale with impressive visuals, but lacks the lasting appeal as well as the character depth. I can suspect where the movie wants itself headed to, but fails to execute in action.
  2. Kelly
    Jun 1, 2004
    8
    I found this movie to be quite entertaining. The effects were spectacular, however, the story was a tad on the cheesy side. All in all though, I still enjoyed this film.
  3. HarryM.
    May 26, 2004
    7
    It's interesting and the effects are incredible. It leaves you expecting one of the biggest movie climaxes you'll ever see, but sadly it ends with a whimper not a bang.
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    6
    As Paleoclimatologist Jack Hall discovers that a large ice sheet has been sheared off, he realizes that it triggered a massive climate shift that would affect the world population. Meanwhile, as his son, Sam and his friends attend an event in New York, they discovered that it has been raining for three weeks, but little do they know that the world will be entering the new ice age. Jack andAs Paleoclimatologist Jack Hall discovers that a large ice sheet has been sheared off, he realizes that it triggered a massive climate shift that would affect the world population. Meanwhile, as his son, Sam and his friends attend an event in New York, they discovered that it has been raining for three weeks, but little do they know that the world will be entering the new ice age. Jack and his two friends make an attempt to rescue his son while surviving cold temperatures that could kill them.

    At times, the storyline and characters were undeveloped, but to give credit, the CGI looks cool and the moments with the storms were very intense and it keeps you interested in what's going on and sometimes the acting was pretty decent The Day After Tomorrow suffers from its lack of story and character, but keeps you interested with good CGI, good acting, and very good moments with the storms.

    6/10
    Expand
  5. May 20, 2014
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie- it's like 2012, but if it had better characters and more tragedy. And I like that the disaster was due to climate change rather than natural disaster, at least to convey the message of,"STOP F***ING UP THE EARTH!"

    And the theme song and effects were really awesome
  6. Nei
    May 3, 2010
    10
    I don't care what the others say, but this movie is good.
  7. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This is the best film about climate change! The effects are amazing. Is my favorite film after Titanic, there are many scenes of action. If you liked movies disaster this is your movie.
  8. May 17, 2014
    7
    This movie is a visual masterpiece, it has created a cult classic and is iconic. However, this movie contains cliched flat characters, with thin plot so it is all about visuals and some tension. Is this movie worth watching? I was curious at first, and I know I wouldn't like it but I did it, I knew it won't be a perfect experience it isn't! It is a B popcorn film that is all aboutThis movie is a visual masterpiece, it has created a cult classic and is iconic. However, this movie contains cliched flat characters, with thin plot so it is all about visuals and some tension. Is this movie worth watching? I was curious at first, and I know I wouldn't like it but I did it, I knew it won't be a perfect experience it isn't! It is a B popcorn film that is all about visuals, with some tension and heartwarming moments. Expand
  9. Mar 30, 2012
    6
    Great Visuals and some very terrfying scenes about what nature can do but the acting and story are clumsy and the director mixes too much politics in the film. You will probably pay a lot more attention to the weather after this though.
  10. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    God I hope I move to New Zealand before this happens D:
  11. May 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best disaster movie ever. It's got apocalyptic atmosphere, flawless effects and a beautiful soundtrack. But more importantly, it has people running away from the cold! They literally run away from cold weather that's chasing them down corridors like Michael Myers! Isn't that hilarious?
  12. JackM.
    May 28, 2004
    0
    They should have been more honest and just called this "Computer Generated Effects Sampling" as, without any true plot development, it ceases to be a movie.
  13. BrendanC.
    May 30, 2004
    8
    This film is very good, the first half is loaded with great special effects which stop half-way through, but this gives time for story to show, I really enjoyed this movie as should all if they aren't cynical moviegoers who will criticise everything.
  14. RichieG.
    May 30, 2004
    3
    Stephen hunter from the Washington Post is the man! He can pick em. anyway, this movie is utterly ridiculous. you want a lesson on how not to be an actor? Watch Dennis Quaid. You want to See a script that should be in the garbage in some college dorm? Read this script. The Special Effects were good, there was some direction in the movie. So I dont think the director is at fault. anyway, a Stephen hunter from the Washington Post is the man! He can pick em. anyway, this movie is utterly ridiculous. you want a lesson on how not to be an actor? Watch Dennis Quaid. You want to See a script that should be in the garbage in some college dorm? Read this script. The Special Effects were good, there was some direction in the movie. So I dont think the director is at fault. anyway, a very forgetable movie! Expand
  15. Fantasy
    May 30, 2004
    1
    The special effects are cool. As for the screenplay and the dialogue, they have to be kidding. It is below B movie status. Half way through, you start looking at your watch and yawn. The second part of the film is totally predictable. There is zero suspense, thus, nothing to keep the audience even mildly entertained. Although the film will generate large revenues at the box office, once The special effects are cool. As for the screenplay and the dialogue, they have to be kidding. It is below B movie status. Half way through, you start looking at your watch and yawn. The second part of the film is totally predictable. There is zero suspense, thus, nothing to keep the audience even mildly entertained. Although the film will generate large revenues at the box office, once word of mouth gets around, it will not have any staying power. The people responsible for the trailer and promotion prove once again that a sucker is born every minute. PT Barnum would have been proud. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  16. MikeN.
    May 30, 2004
    2
    I'm willing to suspend a lot of disbelief for a good movie. But this is not a good movie. And you are called upon to suspend a LOT of disbelief. I'm afraid I just couldn't do it. In addition, the story is laugh out loud funny (and not in a good way). While the effects are excellent, I'm afraid CGI doesn't impress me any more. When you know what you are looking at I'm willing to suspend a lot of disbelief for a good movie. But this is not a good movie. And you are called upon to suspend a LOT of disbelief. I'm afraid I just couldn't do it. In addition, the story is laugh out loud funny (and not in a good way). While the effects are excellent, I'm afraid CGI doesn't impress me any more. When you know what you are looking at isn't real, it has no impact. Nice tidal wave though. Expand
  17. Amber
    Jun 1, 2004
    0
    This may be the lamest movie ever made. What could they be thinking? Great special effects dragged down into a cesspool by a script so poor that I can't believe the actors didn't laugh when delivering their lines. As soon as you leave the theater the movie is forgotten. Just terrible.
  18. SamG.
    Jun 2, 2004
    9
    By far Emmerich's best film and makes up for the embarrassment of Independence Day and Godzilla.
  19. LukeD.
    Jun 24, 2004
    4
    Unless you see movies purely for the special effects I'd recommend staying far away from this crapper of a film. The only thing that saved this film for me was the clever nod it gave to the reversal of power roles between South and North America after the disasters have occurred. But, sadly, too little incidences of similar intelligence over what feels like quite a long movie equate Unless you see movies purely for the special effects I'd recommend staying far away from this crapper of a film. The only thing that saved this film for me was the clever nod it gave to the reversal of power roles between South and North America after the disasters have occurred. But, sadly, too little incidences of similar intelligence over what feels like quite a long movie equate to yet another film not worth the expensive ink its billboards are printed with. Expand
  20. Steve
    Jun 3, 2004
    2
    Okay effects, but basically it's Independence Day with bad weather instead of aliens. Nowhere near enough wanton destruction, and way, way, way too much cheese. I had my head in my hands most of the way through, the lines were so corny!! Wait for it on DVD. Seriously.
  21. DavidZ.
    Jun 4, 2004
    7
    Very entertaining movie. Much better than Independence Day. If you want artsy, sad movies, watch something else.
  22. FernandoT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    3
    Nothing special in this movie, except the special effects... history is the same as usual, adding some strange situations such as walk under a snow tempest, -40 celsius, wind, and only 2 days walking to new york.. I liked Mexico shutting off the borders.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Jun 14, 2005
    6
    While FX are good, the movie isn't really exciting. For Forty minutes or so, things move well, but then it drags. Independence day has the thrill of the fight pushing its fun factor up and maximizing the effect of those FX. This movie is just about survival, which gets less and less interesting as it progresses. THere are a few moments, but even those aren't much. Anyone who While FX are good, the movie isn't really exciting. For Forty minutes or so, things move well, but then it drags. Independence day has the thrill of the fight pushing its fun factor up and maximizing the effect of those FX. This movie is just about survival, which gets less and less interesting as it progresses. THere are a few moments, but even those aren't much. Anyone who gives this a ten...just know there's much better, more exciting big budget movies out there. This one won't thrill you for very long. Expand
  24. TylerC.
    Nov 10, 2004
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] This is just another diseaster flick. This is just like Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Towering Inferno, Earthquake,Rollercoaster, and many other movies where there is an unseeable problem that seems like it will never be solved. I gave it a 1 because Dennis Quade is in it and I think he is a really good actor. By the way, I was hoping his son would die in the end. That[***SPOILERS***] This is just another diseaster flick. This is just like Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Towering Inferno, Earthquake,Rollercoaster, and many other movies where there is an unseeable problem that seems like it will never be solved. I gave it a 1 because Dennis Quade is in it and I think he is a really good actor. By the way, I was hoping his son would die in the end. That would add a spice of reality to this stupid movie. 5 people survive in New York and it happens to be the heros son. GIVE ME A BREAK!!! Expand
  25. LarryT
    Oct 28, 2004
    0
    This movie is completely devoid of any intelligence whatsoever. It is fun to look at for about ten minutes. It reminds me of John Kerry. Astoundingly bad.
  26. DibaR.
    May 27, 2004
    8
    Excellent special effects, and the sound was phenomenal. A lot has been said about this film, but it does exactly what it says on the tin. Go watch it and prepare to be swept away in its splendour.
  27. BalleJ.
    May 28, 2004
    9
    It's awesome eye candy!!!
  28. RonN.
    May 28, 2004
    9
    Strikes all the right notes and tugs the heart strings without the smarminess of Emmerich's earlier efforts. The characters are so rich and the acting so flawless that you almost forget to pay attention the rather bland special effects. A real high-art, two-hanky tearjerker disguised as a popcorn movie. Like Ridley Scott's Blade Runner it probably will not be fully appreciated Strikes all the right notes and tugs the heart strings without the smarminess of Emmerich's earlier efforts. The characters are so rich and the acting so flawless that you almost forget to pay attention the rather bland special effects. A real high-art, two-hanky tearjerker disguised as a popcorn movie. Like Ridley Scott's Blade Runner it probably will not be fully appreciated in its time. Expand
  29. AdrianS.
    May 28, 2004
    0
    This movie is so bad, you will either leave or be checking your watch every 5 minutes to see how long until the pain ends.
  30. Erik
    May 28, 2004
    0
    Wow, Jack B.... "if you thought ARMAGEDDON was good, wait til you see this one!" thats all the review i need, since armageddon was the most awful piece of stillborn crap ever.
  31. BenA.
    May 29, 2004
    7
    I went into this movie expecting nothing more, nothing less than a big CGI fest. And thats prety much what I got. With 1 or 2 exceptions, the CGI was near perfect. The story on the other hand was rather cookie-cutter. In movies such as Jurassic Park and Dante's Peak the scientist who thinks that something bad will happen is ignored until it is too late. Also, we have to meet new I went into this movie expecting nothing more, nothing less than a big CGI fest. And thats prety much what I got. With 1 or 2 exceptions, the CGI was near perfect. The story on the other hand was rather cookie-cutter. In movies such as Jurassic Park and Dante's Peak the scientist who thinks that something bad will happen is ignored until it is too late. Also, we have to meet new characters each time a new catastrophe happens soemwhere, and they just die right away, so it is near impossible to care about these people. Like I said, I wanted nothing more than a good CGI show, and I got it, so I don't want to complain too much, but I still can't stand stupid characters. Characters do stupid things throughout this movie, and it just bugged me. SO if you want a good story, you should not go, but if you want to see some bitchin special effects, here's your movie. Expand
  32. Tad
    May 31, 2004
    7
    This movie has been done before but its not horrible, only thing new is the CGI. Same story, new faces. Funny thing happened as I was watching this movie. I heard raining in the background after the big raining scene. I couldn't tell if it was the movie or real life. Well turns out it was real life,so I go out to look outside and find out there was a tornado warning in this area. This movie has been done before but its not horrible, only thing new is the CGI. Same story, new faces. Funny thing happened as I was watching this movie. I heard raining in the background after the big raining scene. I couldn't tell if it was the movie or real life. Well turns out it was real life,so I go out to look outside and find out there was a tornado warning in this area. When I go back into the theatre talking on my phone saying there's a tornado coming to my friends, about 15-25 people all get up and start using their phones at once and some went to look outside. If it wasn't for that this movie would get a 5(hehe) Anyway, this is a wait until it comes on ABC type of movies. Expand
  33. MarkB.
    May 30, 2004
    3
    The calamitous aftereffects of global warming provide the politically charged "hook" for this turgid, silly and dull special effects movie, but the issues superficially discussed shouldn't be taken any more seriously than the eco-hazards of aerosol spray cans and industrial waste were in the schlocky mid-1970s drive-in flicks Day of the Animals and Food of the Gods. (At least those The calamitous aftereffects of global warming provide the politically charged "hook" for this turgid, silly and dull special effects movie, but the issues superficially discussed shouldn't be taken any more seriously than the eco-hazards of aerosol spray cans and industrial waste were in the schlocky mid-1970s drive-in flicks Day of the Animals and Food of the Gods. (At least those two didn't take themselves so damned seriously.) The fact that both political parties are seriously discussing this movie in any context whatsoever proves two points: that certain Republican columnists need to chill out, pick their battles, and especially GET A LIFE---and that whatever other opinions one may have of Al Gore, he is certainly no movie critic! Otherwise, all the predictable elements in this sorry genre are here, if you like 'em: the young lovers in peril, the estranged couple/family brought together; the couple completely oblivious to the peril going on around them because they're too busy making out--the only element missing is Helen Reddy strumming the guitar, and that would've at least provided some entertainment value. After wowing audiences a couple of years ago with his solid, Gary Cooper-like performance in The Rookie, as well as critics with his sensational against-type casting in Todd Haynes' Far From Heaven, Dennis Quaid gives the lead role here what it deserves:absolutely nothing. I never quite understood why some of the same people who regard slasher movies as morally reprehensible have no problem taking the kids to see disaster movies, which appeal to the same base instincts of getting off on death and destruction, only in mass quantities. At least there are several good chop-n-slice flicks; the very few worthy world-in-peril ones include The War of the Worlds, James Cameron's Titanic, and director Roland Emmerich's own Independence Day. His latest though, is just like most of the rest: nothing more than mere Discovery Channel porn. Expand
  34. BruceC.
    May 30, 2004
    7
    DAT is a mindless pop-corn muncher. Ignore the silly subplot with the father who must rescue his son and instead concentrate on the impressive special effects.
  35. BrianL.
    May 30, 2004
    10
    It's a very good movie. I liked the special effects of the movie. I also liked it because it helps the unaware people to help the world now before it's too late.
  36. RichardG.
    May 30, 2004
    3
    People should rate this movie for what it is, not what it is meant to be or, why it is meant to be. Rate this movie on what it is, and what it is is disappointing. The acting is absolutely atrocious, the script is in a word "a disaster" and the story itself is absolutely stupifying. The Special effects are good. But this movie just constantly grasps at straws. hmmmm... lets see if wolves People should rate this movie for what it is, not what it is meant to be or, why it is meant to be. Rate this movie on what it is, and what it is is disappointing. The acting is absolutely atrocious, the script is in a word "a disaster" and the story itself is absolutely stupifying. The Special effects are good. But this movie just constantly grasps at straws. hmmmm... lets see if wolves are scarely, lets make them do something stupid. I cant even recomend a renting for this title. With better casting, and a better script, this movie could be a classic. not one to be remember now though! Expand
  37. SexyBeast
    May 30, 2004
    9
    It was very good i liked it.
  38. H.Ekadjaja
    May 30, 2004
    4
    Finding Nemo on Steroids!
  39. David
    May 30, 2004
    2
    Media super-hyped in order to get the most money within first 2 weeks. Word of mouth advertising on this, at best tv movie, will surely kill its profits. It plays along the same old disaster story lines. Separated couple that comes closer due to crises, lame filler dialogue, and they even threw in a sickly dying kid the audience is supposed to care for. Dont all disaster movies have a Media super-hyped in order to get the most money within first 2 weeks. Word of mouth advertising on this, at best tv movie, will surely kill its profits. It plays along the same old disaster story lines. Separated couple that comes closer due to crises, lame filler dialogue, and they even threw in a sickly dying kid the audience is supposed to care for. Dont all disaster movies have a sick kid in them? Computer generated snarling attacking wolves was obviously fake. Overall dialogue was bland and equivalent to a high school drama class project. I found myself actually laughing at what was said during the so-called dramatic points. In my opinion, "end of the world" or natural disaster movies need to be packed with convincing effects, actors that can talk/act like the genral public would, and make me feel like Im in the situation or at least get my pulse going. This lack luster 87 minute waste of time failed in all 3. The only reason I didnt leave early was because I paid $4 for a soda and I was staying til it was finished. Want a good movie?....go see Shrek Expand
  40. BitBurn
    May 30, 2004
    7
    The first half of the movie is awesome. Very entertaining. The second half could have been a little more spicy. All said, this flick was still worth seeing on the big screen.
  41. DrakeJ.
    Jun 11, 2004
    9
    Great movie. great actors. great popcorn.
  42. WakoJako
    Jun 1, 2004
    1
    Not a totally unbearable movie, BUT... C'mon, guys, honestly! This is crap by the numbers. First there's a bunch of nifty special effects. Then comes the crap. Crap, crap, crap. And then, yeah, more crap. Get the picture??? Nice effects though...but oh for the crap. Makes you pine for the "inspired" year of ID4 and Twister. Now that was some good crap. Not crappy-crap like this one.
  43. HarryT.
    Jun 12, 2004
    1
    It is the Day after seeing Tomorrow and I still want to puke. You talk about an unsuspenseful movie with lame acting and directing, then you have come to the right flick. All those millions of dollars wasted on a lame story that simply makes no sense. It would have been better to watch this garbage if they had eliminated the dialogue. I give one point for the special effects.
  44. ConstanceS.
    Jun 21, 2004
    1
    I went to see 'Tomorrow' to escape boredom, but the silliness made for a dull climb through disaster flick pathos, drama mamma cliches and eco sensitive handwringing. My favorite part: Mexico shutting off its borders to massive American 'illigal immigration' in the face of disaster after disaster strikes. (PS if this is a spoiler for you after seeing the posters or I went to see 'Tomorrow' to escape boredom, but the silliness made for a dull climb through disaster flick pathos, drama mamma cliches and eco sensitive handwringing. My favorite part: Mexico shutting off its borders to massive American 'illigal immigration' in the face of disaster after disaster strikes. (PS if this is a spoiler for you after seeing the posters or trailers, too bad! c'mon, the Statue of Liberty gets wiped out on the posters, you're even out the parking lot) They could have taken a few ideas from Twister and got a better soundtrack or other disaster flicks that actually (Dirty Dozen) killed off main characters (no, the scotch toasters don't count) or saved up the 'final battle' scope instead of just ignoring the size of the disasters that they had created. I wasn't looking for scientific acuuracy, oscar worthy acting or justification of my world view, just a worthy escapist disaster flick. Judging by the line I should have held out for the 11:55 Harry Potter flick that all the little kids with a later curfew than I can pull off on school nights were lined up for. PS I luv Art Bell and in no way should this be a reflection on him (ask your conspiracy theory nerd, they'll know who). Expand
  45. JaredH.
    Jun 20, 2004
    0
    This popsicle of a movie belongs in the back of the freezer where it will never be found again.
  46. AaronH.
    Jun 2, 2004
    0
    When you go to a disaster movie you are supposed to feel nervous. You should have feelings for the characters. None of that happens in this movie. Instead, we are constantly preached to, every line is predictable, and every cliche has been stolen from another blockbuster disaster movie. The wolves running loose was utterly ridiculous. The real disaster was that no one was watching money When you go to a disaster movie you are supposed to feel nervous. You should have feelings for the characters. None of that happens in this movie. Instead, we are constantly preached to, every line is predictable, and every cliche has been stolen from another blockbuster disaster movie. The wolves running loose was utterly ridiculous. The real disaster was that no one was watching money being tossed down the toilet where this flick actually belongs. Expand
  47. Dudley
    Jun 3, 2004
    0
    Was this suppossed to be a comedy and we were not let in on the gag? It is too bad to be believed. No one could write a script this lame. Avoid.
  48. Bruno
    Jun 7, 2004
    1
    Probably the worst movie this year, without the story. The most desperate things were russian ship in the middle of the New York and 4 wolfs in the streets. ;p
  49. KevinF.
    Jun 7, 2004
    4
    A color-by-numbers approach--you already know what happens, and you just don't care. Flip-flopping between the personal, humanistic vignettes, and the overwhelming destruction was interesting, but it ultimately wasn't congruent.
  50. LacieS.
    Jun 7, 2004
    9
    I loved it, the scientific side was exellent. This isn't like The Core which was good movie with bad science but instead had all of its facts in place. And the charaters were excellently played out! Oh my G! This was great!
  51. Janet
    Jul 18, 2004
    1
    How awful was this script? Was this supposed to be a comedy because the audience was laughing during the second half. Pretty lame if you ask me.
  52. JeffL.
    Jul 25, 2004
    5
    As a child of the Seventies, I have to admit that I can be a sucker for a good disaster movie. The Poseidon Adventure was one of the great, primal moviegoing experiences of my childhood; Earthquake mixed campy casting (Ava Gardner! Lorne Greene! Marjoe Gortner!) with way-cool effects and (God love the marketers at Universal) seat-rumbling Sensurround; and the more recent Twister proved As a child of the Seventies, I have to admit that I can be a sucker for a good disaster movie. The Poseidon Adventure was one of the great, primal moviegoing experiences of my childhood; Earthquake mixed campy casting (Ava Gardner! Lorne Greene! Marjoe Gortner!) with way-cool effects and (God love the marketers at Universal) seat-rumbling Sensurround; and the more recent Twister proved that there are few more potent cinematic combinations than flying cows and yummy Helen Hunt in a wet white tank top. And then there are the megastinkers (The Swarm, Beyond the Poseidon Adventure, Airports '75 and '79) that are such irredeemable crap piles that even camp followers have a tough time making it to the end credits. The Day After Tomorrow falls somewhere in between the best and worst of the genre. The premise of the film - that global warming will soon and suddenly lead to a giant, calamitous continent-wide storm - is actually an interesting concept that gives the filmmakers free reign to whip up a full menu of special effects. Hurricanes, floods, crashes, blizzards, the destruction of big cities and familiar national landmarks - all delivered with a big bang by the director of Independence Day and Godzilla. Too bad the wooden (but self-serious) dialogue and fairly dull cast of characters interrupt the action and effects with all to much regularity. And forget the tempest-in-a-teapot debate over the film's supposed environmentalist message. If this is a serious film about global warming, The Poseidon is a documentary on boating safety. Expand
  53. LexeH.
    Aug 10, 2004
    9
    Awesome - great special effects and casting!
  54. SimonT.
    Aug 3, 2004
    5
    It's a disaster movie on a global scale. Special effects were good. Quaid gives a pretty good serious acting performance - excellent actor. The script is not bad. The only problem disaster movies have been done so many times by Hollywood, so don't expect anything original from the plot. I liked it.
  55. HarrisonB.
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    The Day After Tomorrow had the best special effects ever! It was a very good thriller. Dennis Quaid did very smart acting. It was, in several parts, funny. I liked it when Mexico shut of the borders. Very good movie!
  56. RobM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    You must see this great movie!
  57. MikeL.
    Aug 9, 2004
    2
    Kind of good special effects, but extremely movie-of-the-week-ish overall. I would not recommend this movie. I can't believe I got suckered.
  58. JackH.
    Oct 1, 2005
    0
    If the world were indeed to end tomorrow I would die happy knowing the people who wrote this tripe went with it.
  59. lawrencec.
    Dec 9, 2005
    4
    This could have been a better film than it is and has a really poor dialog but good effects.
  60. ChristophTheCrazyFrenchman
    Feb 6, 2005
    2
    Wow. I watched this movie with every and gave it every chance i could possibly think of to be a good movie but no matter how hard I tried, the movie just plain sucks. It was like watching a movie that two unfortanute nerds in high school would of thought up while the rest of the people were out making use of a sunny day. Im sorry but this movie gave me a feeling equivalent to having my Wow. I watched this movie with every and gave it every chance i could possibly think of to be a good movie but no matter how hard I tried, the movie just plain sucks. It was like watching a movie that two unfortanute nerds in high school would of thought up while the rest of the people were out making use of a sunny day. Im sorry but this movie gave me a feeling equivalent to having my skull bashed in with a large rock repeatedly. Expand
  61. PatC.
    Sep 7, 2005
    6
    Evocative and restrained musical score, stunning visualizations and immersing sound effects are featured as people struggle to survive in the shell of a city subjected to a natural catastrophe. Actually a striking movie if initially viewed following Hurricane Katrina, a perspective not available when the movie was released. Too many Hollywood cliffhanger elements, improbable weather Evocative and restrained musical score, stunning visualizations and immersing sound effects are featured as people struggle to survive in the shell of a city subjected to a natural catastrophe. Actually a striking movie if initially viewed following Hurricane Katrina, a perspective not available when the movie was released. Too many Hollywood cliffhanger elements, improbable weather events and environmentalist dogma preclude eligibility as an intelligent film. The enviros cover all their bases by claiming global warming can bring another ice age. Come on you phonies, do you understand how this planet works or not? However, I do believe that nature bats last, and a lot of the social interaction and political responses as the characters struggle to survive resemble today's news coverage and is truly touching. Expand
  62. TomB.
    Feb 9, 2006
    6
    you know, not as bad as the reviews said. wasn't great, and the "animals are smarter than humans when it comes to the weather" cliche was pretty stupid ... but all in all, a good popcorn movie with a message that is at least thinking about. yes, the climate isn't going to "ice age" us tomorrow, but it's still something to consider.
  63. EnzoP.
    Jul 9, 2009
    7
    It was a really good movie it kept me awake through the night. I agree what Steve P. said it's a B movie.
  64. ChrisJ
    Nov 1, 2004
    4
    The sad part is that it had promise, but bad writing and a some scenes that are a little TOO hard to believe drag it down to mediocrity. Unfortunately, the script is bad enough that it couldn't garner any A-list actors, meaning we're left with Dennis Quaid. The special effects are outstanding, apart from the wolves (which look fake). The scene where LA gets destroyed by The sad part is that it had promise, but bad writing and a some scenes that are a little TOO hard to believe drag it down to mediocrity. Unfortunately, the script is bad enough that it couldn't garner any A-list actors, meaning we're left with Dennis Quaid. The special effects are outstanding, apart from the wolves (which look fake). The scene where LA gets destroyed by Tornados, while helicopters film it is a little too far left of reality as well. The real frustrating thing about this movie is that the last 3/4 of an hour are intensely boring, and there isn't an ending worth mentioning. You leave the theatre frustrated. Expand
  65. LJS
    Oct 16, 2004
    3
    The idea is scary. The effects are impressive, with one blaring exception: the wolves. They just don't fit. They don't do much for the plot, either. The acting is dissappointing. Some lines are delivered oh-so 'cheesily' it'll make you hang your head. Really. It's also extremely predictable, and consequently very boring. 90% of the time blockbusters=garbage, The idea is scary. The effects are impressive, with one blaring exception: the wolves. They just don't fit. They don't do much for the plot, either. The acting is dissappointing. Some lines are delivered oh-so 'cheesily' it'll make you hang your head. Really. It's also extremely predictable, and consequently very boring. 90% of the time blockbusters=garbage, and this one is no exception. There is just no depth to this movie. The only people I feel for are the actors, who have the burden of delivering the cheesy script. Expand
  66. IlzeS
    Dec 1, 2004
    6
    Could be better!Story line is not thriling. Independence day was much more better!
  67. GregT.
    Oct 20, 2004
    8
    This movie has great special effects and is a fairly good "action movie". You want action, you see it. The premise of this movie may have been taken from a book written decades ago called "Not by Fire, But by Ice" in which it was suggested that we have more to worry about from ice ages than we do from heat waves and droughts under the Green House effect. Interesting premise....
  68. AbbyH.
    Dec 1, 2004
    8
    Nice, but they could have done a little bit better. I mean, it was good, but no that good. I'd give it a least one thumb up, but not two.
  69. NancyT
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    It is so awsome!!!!!
  70. OptimusM.
    Oct 26, 2004
    4
    Genius thrilling amazing ASTONISHING sfx that make for a brilliant rollercoaster.... but the story and the drama is utter PANTS! The mindnumbing stupidity and lack of wisdom from the central characters made me pine that OTT sfx harm befell them. But t'was not to be. Make into a ride at Universal Studios immediately - that's all this film is good for!
  71. AdamD.
    May 26, 2004
    4
    The Day After Tomorrow is a disaster movie most disserving of being placed in the genre, although not necessarily because of the destruction seen throughout. After the storms lose your interest about half way through, you'll find that the story has not really achieved anything, and worse still, has achieved little more by the unfulfilling climax. It's a worst flaw is that it The Day After Tomorrow is a disaster movie most disserving of being placed in the genre, although not necessarily because of the destruction seen throughout. After the storms lose your interest about half way through, you'll find that the story has not really achieved anything, and worse still, has achieved little more by the unfulfilling climax. It's a worst flaw is that it lacks excitement, the major (if not only) draw card to big budget disaster flicks. A note to Roland Emmerich, leave the script to someone else and concentrate on making this type of flick fun. Expand
  72. JackB.
    May 27, 2004
    9
    This film has everything. got straight to the point and produced the best special fx i have ever seen, i thought that armaggedon was amazing wait until you see this one. the acting in it was suberb, emmerich gets the cast perfect this time.
  73. GordonG.
    May 27, 2004
    2
    Boring boring boring... Let's just condense a couple of thousand years of future history into two weeks and see what happens. Yeah, right... Sure it's got some good scenes - but they are the political ones, the naysayers from the guvvamint saying "we can't be worried about the climate, we're too busy making money." The rest of the movie was a waste of money.
  74. AndrewC.
    May 28, 2004
    9
    The Day After Tomorrow succeeds in every way a popcorn movie should. Gives you plenty of action, while having enough story and character to keep you interested.
  75. BobH.
    May 28, 2004
    4
    No one loves science fiction movies more than I do. It was with much eager anticipation I was looking forward to this film. During the first 40 minutes I was mesmerized to the silver screen as the special effects were nothing short of sensational. However, after that the film fell off a cliff into an abyss. They trotted out every cliche and copied from every other film such as Planet of No one loves science fiction movies more than I do. It was with much eager anticipation I was looking forward to this film. During the first 40 minutes I was mesmerized to the silver screen as the special effects were nothing short of sensational. However, after that the film fell off a cliff into an abyss. They trotted out every cliche and copied from every other film such as Planet of the Apes with the Statue Of Liberty. Jurasic Park substituting domesticated zoo wolves turning into velociraptors. The only thing missing was Godzilla and if I looked hard enough I probably would have found him too. The Save The Environment speech was echoed ad nauseum. The last 40 minutes was so predictable that it almost put me to sleep. Suffice it to say Independence Day it was not. If you must see it do so but don't expect anything new or creative. So so at best. Expand
  76. BillE.
    May 28, 2004
    0
    Loud, preachy, boring, and unbelievable.
  77. KenK.
    May 29, 2004
    2
    Really, really bad. 2 points for political satire and special effects. -8 points for terrible script (the audience laughed at all the wrong spots) and predictable events.
  78. VinceH.
    May 29, 2004
    7
    This movie is a superior Hollywood spectacle akin to "Men in Black" and "ID4" (which boasts the same director). Just fun, lightweight entertainment that will keep you busy for 2 hours. Thank god Jerry Bruckheimer didn't produce it or it probably would've been 3 hours.
  79. Bob
    May 29, 2004
    7
    Not too bad.
  80. Mickeray
    May 31, 2004
    0
    Let's face facts. The script and acting was beyond lame. It is almost impossible to believe that a movie with so much promise could be this bad. Yes, the special effects were good; but there was little or no suspense and it was all so so predictable. If this screenplay was presented to a college professor for a grade, it would have received an "F." This big budget flick does insult Let's face facts. The script and acting was beyond lame. It is almost impossible to believe that a movie with so much promise could be this bad. Yes, the special effects were good; but there was little or no suspense and it was all so so predictable. If this screenplay was presented to a college professor for a grade, it would have received an "F." This big budget flick does insult to "B" movies as it was just awful. Expand
  81. BuzbyF.
    May 31, 2004
    2
    The storm scenes were exceptional. If it was two hours 43 minutes of just storms I would have been happy. But no, they have to insert the generic unrequited love sub plot, the generic selfish father looking for redemption sub plot, and the attack of the wolves. Horrible acting, great special effects.
  82. JhonnyM.
    May 31, 2004
    10
    Best movie EVER!
  83. KristinaM.
    Jun 1, 2004
    1
    As someone who normally loves disaster movies for the glorious "mind twinkies" they are, this movie was banal and ridiculous even for me. If you've seen the previews, save yourself the bucks and skip the movie -- you've already seen the best of it. A few spectacular CGI scenes are not worth the painfully slow hour plus of sludge. And the lecture at the end is simply insulting.
  84. EmilyD.
    Jun 1, 2004
    9
    I liked it...it was very entertaining, even with random wolves running around, i enjoyed it overall.
  85. MartR.
    Jun 1, 2004
    5
    Emmerich's utter destruction is prevalent, but unfortunately lacks the soul which could have added an extra saving element. As for real cold, this movie is a fairy tale. But you know, it is Hollywood, it is supposed to be fake.
  86. GemmaC.
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    I think it is a great film, it's really intense. i really enjoyed it.
  87. F.H.
    Jun 13, 2004
    10
    Great.
  88. CassandraD.
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    I loved this move and i loved Jake Gyllenhaal he was so cute.
  89. JonC.
    Jun 16, 2004
    0
    UUUuuuggghhh!!! I want to shoot myself for having paid for this pathetic excuse of a summer movie!!! HORRRRRIIBBBBLE!!!!!
  90. Raheed
    Jun 17, 2004
    0
    What a turkey!
  91. AlessandraS.
    Jun 21, 2004
    4
    Can anyone say unrealistic? One day, leaders from around the world are discussing how Global Warming will someday change the face of the earth. And wouldnt you know it, the very next day, unsightly weather occurences begin taking place all over. Though, i must admit i found it even more interesting how the father of a young man stuck in a New York City library, WALKED to save him in Can anyone say unrealistic? One day, leaders from around the world are discussing how Global Warming will someday change the face of the earth. And wouldnt you know it, the very next day, unsightly weather occurences begin taking place all over. Though, i must admit i found it even more interesting how the father of a young man stuck in a New York City library, WALKED to save him in horrid weather conditions. Give me a break. The special effects earn it a 4. Expand
  92. A.Peers
    Jun 2, 2004
    0
    A slow-moving bowel movement of a film...it would be uncomfortable to watch so many people freeze to death onscreen if you weren't envying them that they got out of the movie. "How bad can it be?" you ask yourself. Pretty damn bad.
  93. TomasL.
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    Let me sum it up for you in one word. SUCKED!
  94. JonD.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    I saw this movie and i thought it was the best movie with special effects ever, Im most likely to buy this movie when it comes out on dvd widescreen can't wait to see it on dvd!!!
  95. MikeC.
    Jun 29, 2004
    7
    I laughed a lot during this movie, I was almost in tears I was laughing so hard. It really seemed like a comedy for quite a bit. Hail the size of bowling balls smashing down and you hear some guy reporting "golf ball sized hail." The kid has "Yoda" on his name tag. Everyone following some cop over the advise of a geniuses. Homeless man who isn't on drugs or alcohol, mental, nor dumb I laughed a lot during this movie, I was almost in tears I was laughing so hard. It really seemed like a comedy for quite a bit. Hail the size of bowling balls smashing down and you hear some guy reporting "golf ball sized hail." The kid has "Yoda" on his name tag. Everyone following some cop over the advise of a geniuses. Homeless man who isn't on drugs or alcohol, mental, nor dumb who can speak well and give good advice. Some of the dumbest reporters ever... which makes me think of pulp fiction because I was laughing at how some people died. I think this movie overtly shows how stupid we are when faced with impending dangers. Maybe this movie is asking us to wise up. Yeah it's not based on real science, so what, it's a movie. I think it would be great one for Mystery Science Theater. This could have been a great comedy, please go see this movie with a light heart and don't be afraid to laugh. =) Expand
  96. BrianY.
    Jun 3, 2004
    3
    This movie was mildly entertaining due to the fact I read the book, "The Coming Global Superstorm," which the movie is loosely based on. The book is a convincing account of "what" can happen if we continue to ignore the signs. The movie, splendidly showed what a Global Superstorm may look like in Emmerich style. However the plot does not even entertain that all, and the acting was not This movie was mildly entertaining due to the fact I read the book, "The Coming Global Superstorm," which the movie is loosely based on. The book is a convincing account of "what" can happen if we continue to ignore the signs. The movie, splendidly showed what a Global Superstorm may look like in Emmerich style. However the plot does not even entertain that all, and the acting was not even given the chance to matter. I think the movie exaggerated what may really happen, but it is necessary to do it "Hollywood" style otherwise the movie may bore the average movie goer. The movie is also a political hot topic as to whether global warming is a trend humans are causing. The bottom line is that the Earth is warming up, due to natural and human influence, and Superstorms have been the cause of Ice Ages in the past. We know too little to prepare, or prevent a storm that devastating. So if we should take anything away from watching The Day After Tomorrow, it is that we do not know enough to do anything. Expand
  97. SaerA.
    Jun 6, 2004
    9
    I think The Day After Tomorrow will be the best movie of 2004. The special effects were spectacular. It was also entertaining and will leave you breathless and on the edge of your seat.
  98. PrestonF.
    Jun 6, 2004
    7
    Sure it's silly and hopelessly liberal. It's still good fun.
  99. Kjb
    Jun 7, 2004
    2
    This movie was disgracefully bad. Preachy, banal, often downright insulting to the audience's intelligence. Gets a 2 from me for the special effects, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. The shame of it is that the movie could have been pretty good. It would have taken spending a few more dollars on the script and dropping a half second of an effects This movie was disgracefully bad. Preachy, banal, often downright insulting to the audience's intelligence. Gets a 2 from me for the special effects, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. The shame of it is that the movie could have been pretty good. It would have taken spending a few more dollars on the script and dropping a half second of an effects shot, but it could have been terrific. Expand
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Colin Kennedy
    80
    Everybody is good at one thing, they say; for Emmerich, it's destruction.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    60
    The really good news is that the disaster money shots are some of the finest ever filmed.
  3. 80
    This highly entertaining spin on eco-catastrophe could turn the most meteorologically challenged among us into Weather Channel freaks.