Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 28, 2004
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 330 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
169
Mixed:
95
Negative:
66
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
"The Day after Tomorrow" starts in a broad scale with impressive visuals, but lacks the lasting appeal as well as the character depth. I can suspect where the movie wants itself headed to, but fails to execute in action.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Jun 11, 2011
As Paleoclimatologist Jack Hall discovers that a large ice sheet has been sheared off, he realizes that it triggered a massive climate shift that would affect the world population. Meanwhile, as his son, Sam and his friends attend an event inAs Paleoclimatologist Jack Hall discovers that a large ice sheet has been sheared off, he realizes that it triggered a massive climate shift that would affect the world population. Meanwhile, as his son, Sam and his friends attend an event in New York, they discovered that it has been raining for three weeks, but little do they know that the world will be entering the new ice age. Jack and his two friends make an attempt to rescue his son while surviving cold temperatures that could kill them.

At times, the storyline and characters were undeveloped, but to give credit, the CGI looks cool and the moments with the storms were very intense and it keeps you interested in what's going on and sometimes the acting was pretty decent The Day After Tomorrow suffers from its lack of story and character, but keeps you interested with good CGI, good acting, and very good moments with the storms.

6/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDJan 4, 2011
I enjoyed this movie but if I had to pick between 2012 or this movie, I would probably pick 2012.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JoesatmoesMay 20, 2014
I really enjoyed this movie- it's like 2012, but if it had better characters and more tragedy. And I like that the disaster was due to climate change rather than natural disaster, at least to convey the message of,"STOP F***ING UP THE EARTH!"I really enjoyed this movie- it's like 2012, but if it had better characters and more tragedy. And I like that the disaster was due to climate change rather than natural disaster, at least to convey the message of,"STOP F***ING UP THE EARTH!"

And the theme song and effects were really awesome
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NeiMay 3, 2010
I don't care what the others say, but this movie is good.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
FitriAmirrolNov 19, 2010
Letâ
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
danisanDec 29, 2011
This is the best film about climate change! The effects are amazing. Is my favorite film after Titanic, there are many scenes of action. If you liked movies disaster this is your movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MovieReviewsMay 17, 2014
This movie is a visual masterpiece, it has created a cult classic and is iconic. However, this movie contains cliched flat characters, with thin plot so it is all about visuals and some tension. Is this movie worth watching? I was curious atThis movie is a visual masterpiece, it has created a cult classic and is iconic. However, this movie contains cliched flat characters, with thin plot so it is all about visuals and some tension. Is this movie worth watching? I was curious at first, and I know I wouldn't like it but I did it, I knew it won't be a perfect experience it isn't! It is a B popcorn film that is all about visuals, with some tension and heartwarming moments. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Great Visuals and some very terrfying scenes about what nature can do but the acting and story are clumsy and the director mixes too much politics in the film. You will probably pay a lot more attention to the weather after this though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Good special effects and entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
This is the best disaster movie ever. It's got apocalyptic atmosphere, flawless effects and a beautiful soundtrack. But more importantly, it has people running away from the cold! They literally run away from cold weather that's chasing themThis is the best disaster movie ever. It's got apocalyptic atmosphere, flawless effects and a beautiful soundtrack. But more importantly, it has people running away from the cold! They literally run away from cold weather that's chasing them down corridors like Michael Myers! Isn't that hilarious? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
JackH.Oct 1, 2005
If the world were indeed to end tomorrow I would die happy knowing the people who wrote this tripe went with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
lawrencec.Dec 9, 2005
This could have been a better film than it is and has a really poor dialog but good effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Sep 7, 2005
Evocative and restrained musical score, stunning visualizations and immersing sound effects are featured as people struggle to survive in the shell of a city subjected to a natural catastrophe. Actually a striking movie if initially viewed Evocative and restrained musical score, stunning visualizations and immersing sound effects are featured as people struggle to survive in the shell of a city subjected to a natural catastrophe. Actually a striking movie if initially viewed following Hurricane Katrina, a perspective not available when the movie was released. Too many Hollywood cliffhanger elements, improbable weather events and environmentalist dogma preclude eligibility as an intelligent film. The enviros cover all their bases by claiming global warming can bring another ice age. Come on you phonies, do you understand how this planet works or not? However, I do believe that nature bats last, and a lot of the social interaction and political responses as the characters struggle to survive resemble today's news coverage and is truly touching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TomB.Feb 9, 2006
you know, not as bad as the reviews said. wasn't great, and the "animals are smarter than humans when it comes to the weather" cliche was pretty stupid ... but all in all, a good popcorn movie with a message that is at least thinking you know, not as bad as the reviews said. wasn't great, and the "animals are smarter than humans when it comes to the weather" cliche was pretty stupid ... but all in all, a good popcorn movie with a message that is at least thinking about. yes, the climate isn't going to "ice age" us tomorrow, but it's still something to consider. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EnzoP.Jul 9, 2009
It was a really good movie it kept me awake through the night. I agree what Steve P. said it's a B movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelD.Jan 25, 2007
I think this was a very effective film that had an impact on the audience, The special effects were brilliant. I think it was a brilliant way to get the point across that global warming is completely unpredictible and could happen in our I think this was a very effective film that had an impact on the audience, The special effects were brilliant. I think it was a brilliant way to get the point across that global warming is completely unpredictible and could happen in our lifetime, even if at times the special effects could be some what "dramatic". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RirenMar 19, 2007
Pseudo-science spins a new apocalyptic disaster story that becomes increasingly less likely as the movie goes on. All of the characters are archetypes (loveable poor guy; lovestricken handsome young man; indignant snob; headstrong cop; Pseudo-science spins a new apocalyptic disaster story that becomes increasingly less likely as the movie goes on. All of the characters are archetypes (loveable poor guy; lovestricken handsome young man; indignant snob; headstrong cop; bitter scientist; et. al.), so you can walk into this movie and know all you'll need to know about everyone without having to think. You'll have to leave your disbelief at the door, though, as you see wolves turned into maneaters after a day of freedom, and people literally running from cold that is creeping across the floor. The computer effects are largely beautiful, and certainly deserve commendation. Unfortunately unlike other, older disaster movies, since cold is the killer here, prepare to see a lot of slower, more agonizing deaths, and more sad corpses - things that hurt the escapist entertainment of such a movie. Its best point, like the novel World War Z, is the rare moments where this science fiction premise overlaps our real world and puts a creative spin on our current prejudices, like people illegally crossing the border INTO Mexico, or burning books for warmth. If creative touches like that were more frequent, it might be a really good movie. As it is, it's a take-it-or-leave-it disaster movie that's somber entries into the genre are usually frantic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RachelH.Dec 22, 2005
I seem to be the minority here; I liked this movie a lot. Not sure it was quite deserving of an 8, but it should get more than a 7. Incredible visual effects. The movie would be worth seeing simply for that reason. I personally also really I seem to be the minority here; I liked this movie a lot. Not sure it was quite deserving of an 8, but it should get more than a 7. Incredible visual effects. The movie would be worth seeing simply for that reason. I personally also really liked the casting. Quaid and Ward were great. Gyllenhaal, in my opinion, is one of the more underappreciated actors I've seen recently, but I thought he put on a wonderful performance too. I was entertained from beginning to end, there was hardly a dull moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Louis'sbrotherMar 27, 2007
Not only is this movie an edge-of-your-seat thriller, it also spreads the message of the threat of global warming clearly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimX.May 24, 2007
This is not just some ordinary disaster movie. For those who pick out the little problems like the special effects, you are plainly: DUMB. Something similar to this will happen sometime in the future, when people are still on Earth, and at This is not just some ordinary disaster movie. For those who pick out the little problems like the special effects, you are plainly: DUMB. Something similar to this will happen sometime in the future, when people are still on Earth, and at that time, even the special effects in the movie wouldn't be able to compare to the force of Mother Nature. Just wait and see.. or maybe let your grandchildren see, and pay the price for your consequences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeraldoZNov 23, 2008
Ok... This movie was made in 2004, and the special effects looked real! The movie has a great plot. Unfortunately it's a little dull since its more science s**t than anything. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VasiliyH.Jan 19, 2008
One of the best films I've ever seen. Atmoshpere is very good I felt like i am in the cold New York and tried to stay alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveP.Jan 27, 2008
I loved this movie; it is a modern-day Plan 9, a B movie with all the usual clunky plots. The wolves are missing? They'll show up again... on a ship in the middle of Manhattan! The guy says "...and I'll go, too"? Yes, he's I loved this movie; it is a modern-day Plan 9, a B movie with all the usual clunky plots. The wolves are missing? They'll show up again... on a ship in the middle of Manhattan! The guy says "...and I'll go, too"? Yes, he's going to die. We're trapped in a building full of wood... so all we can burn is books! Come on, people! This movie is brilliant... just not the way the writers intended. Grab some popcorn, rent this movie, and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TravisP.Dec 13, 2006
Ok, so wolves held in captivity and fed not less than 12 hours ago, suddenly when freed (and apparently because it's cold) start attacking people with a ferociousness that even completely wild wolves would never attain. Then how about a Ok, so wolves held in captivity and fed not less than 12 hours ago, suddenly when freed (and apparently because it's cold) start attacking people with a ferociousness that even completely wild wolves would never attain. Then how about a hero who understands the situation better than anyone else and then turns his back on what's left of devastated humanity to go BACK and search for his son because of some stupid guilt problem. And by the way, if things were freezing so fast that you could see frost progress along walls and doors and such, the air would be unbreathably frozen long before they could run. This movie was crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WiseMarosisAug 14, 2010
dsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg;dsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkldsfg; uhjoigdfsbjkl Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
muzzikloverJun 4, 2011
Probably one of my favourite Emmerich film, next to Independence Day though I like it in a guilty pleasure kind of way. The acting is still tacky, scientific accuracy is out of the window and there are plot holes everywhere but at least theProbably one of my favourite Emmerich film, next to Independence Day though I like it in a guilty pleasure kind of way. The acting is still tacky, scientific accuracy is out of the window and there are plot holes everywhere but at least the characters are actually slightly more human than the other Emmerich films because they actually look like they are struggling. The special effects are still good looking and though tacky, the acting wasn't as bad as from previous Emmerich films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gm101Oct 19, 2011
A few of the characters in the movie may feel unnecessary and / or annoying, but in the end, the message shown in the film is that we must do something to save our Earth or else the future will witness something similar to what was shown.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeSep 25, 2011
Perhaps one of the better Roland Emmerich movies but that's not saying much as most of them suck despite being very financially successful. The Day After Tomorrow's special effects are great but characters are lacking. Take away the specialPerhaps one of the better Roland Emmerich movies but that's not saying much as most of them suck despite being very financially successful. The Day After Tomorrow's special effects are great but characters are lacking. Take away the special effects from this movie and you will have very little left. There also is a really stupid scene with CGI animated wolves, completely unnecessary but what more can you expect from Roland Emmerich?â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MaxxSwan13Feb 10, 2012
Watchig tr movie right now in school. Its cool abd full of action
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EssenceOfSugarOct 5, 2012
This film is good - I like the characters but most of all I found the climate change plot fascinating. This made the intense scenes with the snow and the rain quite entertaining, but it was pretty emotionally intense as well. It's not aThis film is good - I like the characters but most of all I found the climate change plot fascinating. This made the intense scenes with the snow and the rain quite entertaining, but it was pretty emotionally intense as well. It's not a perfect film, but I enjoyed it when I was younger and I enjoyed it now. It still delivers brilliantly, and Jake Gyllenhaal is still as clever and gorgeous as usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrandonBonaseraNov 11, 2011
The Day After Tomorrow is one of Roland Emmerich's best films, it's enjoyable and has great SFX and is quite good for a disaster film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyJun 18, 2012
At times 'The Day After Tomorrow' feels more like a made for television disaster miniseries than a AAA Hollywood title. You know, those movies we're excited about when first hear the outrageous plot (usually involving the destruction ofAt times 'The Day After Tomorrow' feels more like a made for television disaster miniseries than a AAA Hollywood title. You know, those movies we're excited about when first hear the outrageous plot (usually involving the destruction of iconic American landmarks) but are entirely disappointed when we actually watch it. However, this isn't because the special effects are cheap and unbelievable, but more so because the acting in this picture is incredibly bad. Paris Hilton bad. Now that's hot... err, bad. Watch this flick for the destruction scenes ONLY. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
In The Day After Tomorrow, the writers take a real life theory and magnify it by a billion, turning it into a apocalyptic special effects thrill ride. Something that is supposed to happen in thousands of years, happens in a couple days, withIn The Day After Tomorrow, the writers take a real life theory and magnify it by a billion, turning it into a apocalyptic special effects thrill ride. Something that is supposed to happen in thousands of years, happens in a couple days, with Jack and Sam Hall caught in the middle. While one is trapped in hard hit New York City, the other must track across the country to save him. Okay, it's a little cheesy and the acting isn't the best, but the special effects are some of the best I've ever seen. I like that it's based on fact and a look into a possible future, well beyond my lifetime and overall it was extremely entertaining. Many of my fellow reviews considered the film to be a warning on global warming, but that's really crazy. Unless you're Al Gore, you should see this movie for what it is. A bunch of smart writers having fun with a scientific theory that may or may not come true one day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Critic2012Jul 16, 2012
The Day After Tomorrow has no intention of sending some deep or subtle message to its audience. The film is meant to be sheer spectacle, and in that aspect, it succeeds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
There certainly are wasted opportunities throughout and the film does stumble over itself countless times. The Day After Tomorrow does; however, feature moving visuals and a fairly interesting plotline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
This movie thrives on the several action scenes it has. Everything else about it is a dull lazy script. I had no interest in what any of the characters were saying. Just show the tornadoes and tidal waves of destruction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 4, 2013
You can't deny that the visual effects in "The Day After Tomorrow" are stunning. However, after an exciting one and a half hour, the rest becomes increasingly dull where not much is happening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
Don't bother watching it. Not tomorrow, the day after tomorrow, or any other days after that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An interesting (and, IMHO, entertaining) movie from, of all studios, FOX. The basic premise is that, for whatever reason, there is a drastic change in the climate system of the earth. The story is a classic 'scientist tries to warn people, but they won't listen' plot. Of course, when things hit the fan, it's already too late (though it would seem that nothing could have been done to prevent the change, but an early decision to evacuate people from a danger zone, roughly anything north of the 30th parallel, may have saved many people from death). I did like the special effects (though some of them, how can I say this, seemed 'forced'). The one major beef I have is that it seemed to drag on, maybe about 20 minutes longer than it should have. Also, the heavy-handed approach to global warming/climate change also seemed forced. Another thing is that it seemed like they director/producer were going out of their way to mock FOX news (not that I'm a fan of that network), to the point of ridiculousness (ie: "Tornadoes are attacking Los Angeles!). But, on the other hand, I particularly got a kick out of the actor playing the Vice President...IMO, a dead-ringer for Vice President Cheney. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheWalrus2000Apr 22, 2013
Its just your regular apocalypse movie with the same old story. But what an amazing visual dazzle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Annoymous1Jan 10, 2013
The parts during the disasters were good, the parts with no disasters are bland.This movie lacks the emotion and the settings were the worst. A library is not a good place to set it, they should have just left the project instead of showing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
I think Roland Emmerich likes destroying cities with New York being his favorite first Independence Day then Godzilla now The Day After Tomorrow i think he has a hard on for New York. Like most disaster movies they always seem to be basedI think Roland Emmerich likes destroying cities with New York being his favorite first Independence Day then Godzilla now The Day After Tomorrow i think he has a hard on for New York. Like most disaster movies they always seem to be based around a single family/small group and their stuggles dealing with the unfolding events and this movie is no different. The movie is enjoyable and for sure better then Emmerich's other disaster flick "2012" which was complete garbage. The story is nothing new and is average at best but it holds up with acting and the special effects. It has a likeable cast with Dennis Quaid, Jake Gyllenhaal, Emmy Rossum, and Ian Holm they all do solid performances but i think some people just dont like the film becuase they dislike Jake Gyllenhaal. The movie does feel to drag a bit mostly with the mom scene luckily there wasnt many of those also the action scenes dont last that long and between those its filled with another 10-20mins of more talking/waiting at least it seemed that way maybe it was the editing that made it feel that way to me.

Overall i give it a 6.0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 27, 2013
The Day After Tomorrow is a summer blockbuster that has some great disaster scenes and a good musical score. Other than that, the movie doesn't have much more to offer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RedfireballNov 8, 2013
It's a good movie...but I think I would have been happy without seeing it. It's just not right...but it's a good movie to watch. Just enjoy what you got here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
WCheffirsDec 8, 2013
This film is a disgrace portraying a real world problem with fantasy and pseudoscience that has undermined the need to address global warming. This film could have been done so much better if only it used real consequences of climate changeThis film is a disgrace portraying a real world problem with fantasy and pseudoscience that has undermined the need to address global warming. This film could have been done so much better if only it used real consequences of climate change and was set in the near future instead of apocalyptic rubbish...and that ending...what the was that? Talk about undermining the need to address climate change if the problem can be solved that easily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMay 14, 2014
This is the best movie in his category by far.Great actors,great story and good effects but there is something in this movie that i didn't like and i don't know what it is (it's probably because there is not enough action).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SyFyMovieGuyOct 8, 2014
Well Well Well, Roland Emmerich I strongly welcome for you to make more movies like these! THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW is amazing in every way. My favorite Disaster movie ! ( Next to 2012 ) No other "ice age" movie can replace this! RolandWell Well Well, Roland Emmerich I strongly welcome for you to make more movies like these! THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW is amazing in every way. My favorite Disaster movie ! ( Next to 2012 ) No other "ice age" movie can replace this! Roland Emmerich has did it again! From the director of Independence DAY!

An abrupt climate change brings global cataclysmic consequences ! And one man named Dennis QUAID I think his name is "Jack" in the movie, travels to New York in order to save his son and his son ( along with some friends ) must stay inside and keep warm as the superstorm grows ever bigger and bigger.

Congrats Roland Emmerich! I have this movie on DVD on widerscreen version, though one day I will have it on BLU-RAY. This portrays the ice age and its talk on the whole "polluting the atmosphere" and all that sciency talk. They talk it very good. It all goes along with the suspensful music, and then that beautifully blends in the with the awesome special effects. Roland Emmerich really knows how to direct and somehow blended beautifully the suspense music and the special effects and not to mention the drama/suspense into the "I think its happening", "It should be over New York by now,Tempature readings show a 10 degree drop per second, "If you look over there behind me, thats a tornado. Yes! A twister in Los angeles. It one of the many tornadoes that are destroying our city...Theres another one! Thats the los angeles skyline!!"

Yup, upon wtaching it sooo many times, I even remember the dialogue and ALL the disaster scenes.

I have many more things to say...but I don't want to make this review so long so I'll cut it off here. Lets just say Roland Emmerich has made one of a kind masterpieces. ( In MY opinion )
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SpazzyGooseFeb 24, 2015
pretty crappy this movie dosent explain anything about the characters and they just expect you to know whats happening, some parts are exiting and funny but most of it is so unrealistic its funny. the spetial fx are good but most is pretty bad
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
Roland Emmerich continues to captivate with his apocalyptic-ideals. Now with this film he is able to express his vision with more visual highlights than before. From a torn-Hollywood sign to New York City in a ice-bounded trap, the film'sRoland Emmerich continues to captivate with his apocalyptic-ideals. Now with this film he is able to express his vision with more visual highlights than before. From a torn-Hollywood sign to New York City in a ice-bounded trap, the film's effects really do make up for it's dull story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheFallen1GOTHJun 10, 2015
The Day After Tomorrow was a godawful movie, not worthy of any awards. An ice age cannot happen in 3 days - it takes time. This movie was generally 2 hours of my life wasted - and not in a good way. There were a lot of flaws in certainThe Day After Tomorrow was a godawful movie, not worthy of any awards. An ice age cannot happen in 3 days - it takes time. This movie was generally 2 hours of my life wasted - and not in a good way. There were a lot of flaws in certain scenes, a lot of cliches - it's amazing that this movie even got good reviews.

Of course, everyone has their own opinions. Don't rely on mine.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoOct 29, 2016
"The Day After Tomorrow" was a good movie, but in the beginning, until the tsunami New York, everything else was boring, and the ending was a bit tangled, almost no one understands, under the apocalyptic style, unique Roland Emmerich, the"The Day After Tomorrow" was a good movie, but in the beginning, until the tsunami New York, everything else was boring, and the ending was a bit tangled, almost no one understands, under the apocalyptic style, unique Roland Emmerich, the cast was good, though short of talent, including Jake Gyllenhaal, who from that year, was one of the new hotbeds of film, but asi', such and such things shown, a film that makes you think about the global warming, but will not let you take the emotion-law see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
toronto905Sep 28, 2015
Actually, this was a terrific, popcorn filled thriller entertainment. The plot is mysterious, tense, taut and suspenseful and the visual effects, even in 3D were so spectacular, realistic and artistic. The acting was well performed andActually, this was a terrific, popcorn filled thriller entertainment. The plot is mysterious, tense, taut and suspenseful and the visual effects, even in 3D were so spectacular, realistic and artistic. The acting was well performed and terrific, making this ode of the best science fiction action and adventure films I've ever seen, next to Deep Impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
The Day After Tomorrow is an ice cold movie that doesn't really deserve to be liked at all. The only people who liked it are the people who are interested in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Apr 27, 2016
Great Movie. Every time i watch it , it;s like the 1st time. The film never gets boring.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1415-The-Day-After-Tomorrow-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RickyReviewsFeb 22, 2016
The effects aren't the best, those tornadoes in Los Angeles were not as good as Twister's tornadoes. The floods in New York City were good though. Acting could use some brushing up on. I didn't care for the storyline. This is not the best,The effects aren't the best, those tornadoes in Los Angeles were not as good as Twister's tornadoes. The floods in New York City were good though. Acting could use some brushing up on. I didn't care for the storyline. This is not the best, not the worst. 5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
Loose remake of "Independence Day" with weather as the villain rather than aliens, pic is a disarmingly pulpy, eye-popping disaster movie during its first half, and an increasingly dull survival melodrama during its second.

As demonstrated
Loose remake of "Independence Day" with weather as the villain rather than aliens, pic is a disarmingly pulpy, eye-popping disaster movie during its first half, and an increasingly dull survival melodrama during its second.

As demonstrated in most of his previous pics, from “Moon 44” through “Independence Day” and “Godzilla,” director Roland Emmerich’s sensibilities, and perhaps his heart as well, reside in ’50s-era B-movie sci-fi. His career-making trick has rested in taking cheesy material and elevating it just enough, through casting and effects, to reach contempo blockbuster proportions. His screenplays, however, rep little advance on those they emulate.

And so it is with this new outing, another doomsday scenario that, in the manner it imagines global peril and paralysis at the sudden onset of temperature-plunging storms, also recalls the more recent cycle of natural-disaster extravaganzas that included “Twister,” “Deep Impact” and “Armageddon.”

After nearly floating away on a Rhode Island-sized block of ice that cracks off the Antarctic Shelf, dashing climatologist Jack Hall (Dennis Quaid) startles a New Delhi environmental conference — and pisses off the Dick Cheney-like U.S. vice president in attendance (Kenneth Welsh) — with his “sensationalist claims” about the paradoxically frigid consequences of now-upon-us global warming.

Lo and behold, it starts snowing in Delhi, and pic’s first reel surveys the inclement weather from Scotland and Japan to Washington, D.C., and outer space, where international astronauts can view the enormous storm systems beginning to spin down through the northern hemisphere.

Although Tokyo gets popped by a torrent of giant hailstones, first city to really take it on the chin is L.A. Hollywood and Vine is revisited by much better special effects than demolished it in “Earthquake” three decades back, as multiple tornadoes convincingly lay waste to such landmarks as the Hollywood sign and the Capitol Records building.

As Scottish ocean currents specialist Professor Terry Rapson (Ian Holm) charts the rapid decline in ocean temperatures and suggests melting ice is putting too much fresh water into the seas, Hall comes under pressure to turn his theories into actual weather predictions. At the same time, his bright teenage son Sam (Jake Gyllenhaal) decides to fly to New York for an academic decathlon, arriving shortly before a wall of water hits Gotham.

These scenes, which begin with a tsunami all but engulfing the Statue of Liberty and then flooding Manhattan, are perhaps the most impressive in the picture. The frequent aerial views of water surging through the streets are eerie and dramatically convincing, and while some of the setups, with people running and cars and busses flipping, are virtually identical to those in “Independence Day,” there’s nothing in that film to match the shot that assumes the p.o.v. of a surfer atop a tidal wave as it surges through midtown. Pic’s action-packed first hour ends with Hall ominously predicting, “In seven to 10 days, we’ll be in a new Ice Age.”

While there are some spectacular sights still in store, notably the freezing-to-the-cracking-point of the Empire State Building and other structures, second half quickly becomes a slog.

Still, there are occasional little kicks to enjoy. Portrayal of the U.S. president (Perry King) is amusing; when confronted with the predicament, he immediately turns to the VP and asks, “What do you think we should do?” Better still is a subversive little plot twist that turns the historical immigration tables, with millions of Americans fleeing the unendurable weather by busting through the closed border with Mexico. And when the U.S. president finally goes on television at the end to report on the state of the nation, he does so on the Weather Channel.

“The Day After Tomorrow” goes beyond the far-fetched into the preposterous, but the first half delivers enough of what people want and expect from disaster pictures, and there are enough money-shot special effects, that auds probably will be more satisfied than not.

Cast members have no special demands made upon them beyond looking concerned and, alternately, foolishly brave, and coin was spent where it counts, in putting some images onscreen that haven’t been seen before, or at least haven’t been conveyed so convincingly. That should be enough.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sjultiDec 2, 2016
This movie to me is a classic ive watched it so many times I literally have it memorized line by line, its a great end of the world flick its up their with 2012 and the core
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Muskrat147Jul 26, 2016
Though filled with many cliches and an overuse of CGI, The Day After Tomorrow could be considered by many to be Emmerich's best work, as it features flawed yet wonderful performances, and a pretty convincing story-line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Castiel_AngelSep 5, 2016
The beginning of this movie was cheesy and it took forever for me to actually get into it. However once I did it had some really great and wicked moments. But since I didn't actually get into it until about a third of the way through I amThe beginning of this movie was cheesy and it took forever for me to actually get into it. However once I did it had some really great and wicked moments. But since I didn't actually get into it until about a third of the way through I am gonna give this a 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews