User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 290
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    God I hope I move to New Zealand before this happens D:
  2. JackM.
    May 28, 2004
    0
    They should have been more honest and just called this "Computer Generated Effects Sampling" as, without any true plot development, it ceases to be a movie.
  3. RichieG.
    May 30, 2004
    3
    Stephen hunter from the Washington Post is the man! He can pick em. anyway, this movie is utterly ridiculous. you want a lesson on how not to be an actor? Watch Dennis Quaid. You want to See a script that should be in the garbage in some college dorm? Read this script. The Special Effects were good, there was some direction in the movie. So I dont think the director is at fault. anyway, a Stephen hunter from the Washington Post is the man! He can pick em. anyway, this movie is utterly ridiculous. you want a lesson on how not to be an actor? Watch Dennis Quaid. You want to See a script that should be in the garbage in some college dorm? Read this script. The Special Effects were good, there was some direction in the movie. So I dont think the director is at fault. anyway, a very forgetable movie! Expand
  4. Fantasy
    May 30, 2004
    1
    The special effects are cool. As for the screenplay and the dialogue, they have to be kidding. It is below B movie status. Half way through, you start looking at your watch and yawn. The second part of the film is totally predictable. There is zero suspense, thus, nothing to keep the audience even mildly entertained. Although the film will generate large revenues at the box office, once The special effects are cool. As for the screenplay and the dialogue, they have to be kidding. It is below B movie status. Half way through, you start looking at your watch and yawn. The second part of the film is totally predictable. There is zero suspense, thus, nothing to keep the audience even mildly entertained. Although the film will generate large revenues at the box office, once word of mouth gets around, it will not have any staying power. The people responsible for the trailer and promotion prove once again that a sucker is born every minute. PT Barnum would have been proud. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  5. MikeN.
    May 30, 2004
    2
    I'm willing to suspend a lot of disbelief for a good movie. But this is not a good movie. And you are called upon to suspend a LOT of disbelief. I'm afraid I just couldn't do it. In addition, the story is laugh out loud funny (and not in a good way). While the effects are excellent, I'm afraid CGI doesn't impress me any more. When you know what you are looking at I'm willing to suspend a lot of disbelief for a good movie. But this is not a good movie. And you are called upon to suspend a LOT of disbelief. I'm afraid I just couldn't do it. In addition, the story is laugh out loud funny (and not in a good way). While the effects are excellent, I'm afraid CGI doesn't impress me any more. When you know what you are looking at isn't real, it has no impact. Nice tidal wave though. Expand
  6. Amber
    Jun 1, 2004
    0
    This may be the lamest movie ever made. What could they be thinking? Great special effects dragged down into a cesspool by a script so poor that I can't believe the actors didn't laugh when delivering their lines. As soon as you leave the theater the movie is forgotten. Just terrible.
  7. LukeD.
    Jun 24, 2004
    4
    Unless you see movies purely for the special effects I'd recommend staying far away from this crapper of a film. The only thing that saved this film for me was the clever nod it gave to the reversal of power roles between South and North America after the disasters have occurred. But, sadly, too little incidences of similar intelligence over what feels like quite a long movie equate Unless you see movies purely for the special effects I'd recommend staying far away from this crapper of a film. The only thing that saved this film for me was the clever nod it gave to the reversal of power roles between South and North America after the disasters have occurred. But, sadly, too little incidences of similar intelligence over what feels like quite a long movie equate to yet another film not worth the expensive ink its billboards are printed with. Expand
  8. Steve
    Jun 3, 2004
    2
    Okay effects, but basically it's Independence Day with bad weather instead of aliens. Nowhere near enough wanton destruction, and way, way, way too much cheese. I had my head in my hands most of the way through, the lines were so corny!! Wait for it on DVD. Seriously.
  9. FernandoT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    3
    Nothing special in this movie, except the special effects... history is the same as usual, adding some strange situations such as walk under a snow tempest, -40 celsius, wind, and only 2 days walking to new york.. I liked Mexico shutting off the borders.
  10. TylerC.
    Nov 10, 2004
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] This is just another diseaster flick. This is just like Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Towering Inferno, Earthquake,Rollercoaster, and many other movies where there is an unseeable problem that seems like it will never be solved. I gave it a 1 because Dennis Quade is in it and I think he is a really good actor. By the way, I was hoping his son would die in the end. That[***SPOILERS***] This is just another diseaster flick. This is just like Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Towering Inferno, Earthquake,Rollercoaster, and many other movies where there is an unseeable problem that seems like it will never be solved. I gave it a 1 because Dennis Quade is in it and I think he is a really good actor. By the way, I was hoping his son would die in the end. That would add a spice of reality to this stupid movie. 5 people survive in New York and it happens to be the heros son. GIVE ME A BREAK!!! Expand
  11. LarryT
    Oct 28, 2004
    0
    This movie is completely devoid of any intelligence whatsoever. It is fun to look at for about ten minutes. It reminds me of John Kerry. Astoundingly bad.
  12. AdrianS.
    May 28, 2004
    0
    This movie is so bad, you will either leave or be checking your watch every 5 minutes to see how long until the pain ends.
  13. Erik
    May 28, 2004
    0
    Wow, Jack B.... "if you thought ARMAGEDDON was good, wait til you see this one!" thats all the review i need, since armageddon was the most awful piece of stillborn crap ever.
  14. MarkB.
    May 30, 2004
    3
    The calamitous aftereffects of global warming provide the politically charged "hook" for this turgid, silly and dull special effects movie, but the issues superficially discussed shouldn't be taken any more seriously than the eco-hazards of aerosol spray cans and industrial waste were in the schlocky mid-1970s drive-in flicks Day of the Animals and Food of the Gods. (At least those The calamitous aftereffects of global warming provide the politically charged "hook" for this turgid, silly and dull special effects movie, but the issues superficially discussed shouldn't be taken any more seriously than the eco-hazards of aerosol spray cans and industrial waste were in the schlocky mid-1970s drive-in flicks Day of the Animals and Food of the Gods. (At least those two didn't take themselves so damned seriously.) The fact that both political parties are seriously discussing this movie in any context whatsoever proves two points: that certain Republican columnists need to chill out, pick their battles, and especially GET A LIFE---and that whatever other opinions one may have of Al Gore, he is certainly no movie critic! Otherwise, all the predictable elements in this sorry genre are here, if you like 'em: the young lovers in peril, the estranged couple/family brought together; the couple completely oblivious to the peril going on around them because they're too busy making out--the only element missing is Helen Reddy strumming the guitar, and that would've at least provided some entertainment value. After wowing audiences a couple of years ago with his solid, Gary Cooper-like performance in The Rookie, as well as critics with his sensational against-type casting in Todd Haynes' Far From Heaven, Dennis Quaid gives the lead role here what it deserves:absolutely nothing. I never quite understood why some of the same people who regard slasher movies as morally reprehensible have no problem taking the kids to see disaster movies, which appeal to the same base instincts of getting off on death and destruction, only in mass quantities. At least there are several good chop-n-slice flicks; the very few worthy world-in-peril ones include The War of the Worlds, James Cameron's Titanic, and director Roland Emmerich's own Independence Day. His latest though, is just like most of the rest: nothing more than mere Discovery Channel porn. Expand
  15. RichardG.
    May 30, 2004
    3
    People should rate this movie for what it is, not what it is meant to be or, why it is meant to be. Rate this movie on what it is, and what it is is disappointing. The acting is absolutely atrocious, the script is in a word "a disaster" and the story itself is absolutely stupifying. The Special effects are good. But this movie just constantly grasps at straws. hmmmm... lets see if wolves People should rate this movie for what it is, not what it is meant to be or, why it is meant to be. Rate this movie on what it is, and what it is is disappointing. The acting is absolutely atrocious, the script is in a word "a disaster" and the story itself is absolutely stupifying. The Special effects are good. But this movie just constantly grasps at straws. hmmmm... lets see if wolves are scarely, lets make them do something stupid. I cant even recomend a renting for this title. With better casting, and a better script, this movie could be a classic. not one to be remember now though! Expand
  16. H.Ekadjaja
    May 30, 2004
    4
    Finding Nemo on Steroids!
  17. David
    May 30, 2004
    2
    Media super-hyped in order to get the most money within first 2 weeks. Word of mouth advertising on this, at best tv movie, will surely kill its profits. It plays along the same old disaster story lines. Separated couple that comes closer due to crises, lame filler dialogue, and they even threw in a sickly dying kid the audience is supposed to care for. Dont all disaster movies have a Media super-hyped in order to get the most money within first 2 weeks. Word of mouth advertising on this, at best tv movie, will surely kill its profits. It plays along the same old disaster story lines. Separated couple that comes closer due to crises, lame filler dialogue, and they even threw in a sickly dying kid the audience is supposed to care for. Dont all disaster movies have a sick kid in them? Computer generated snarling attacking wolves was obviously fake. Overall dialogue was bland and equivalent to a high school drama class project. I found myself actually laughing at what was said during the so-called dramatic points. In my opinion, "end of the world" or natural disaster movies need to be packed with convincing effects, actors that can talk/act like the genral public would, and make me feel like Im in the situation or at least get my pulse going. This lack luster 87 minute waste of time failed in all 3. The only reason I didnt leave early was because I paid $4 for a soda and I was staying til it was finished. Want a good movie?....go see Shrek Expand
  18. WakoJako
    Jun 1, 2004
    1
    Not a totally unbearable movie, BUT... C'mon, guys, honestly! This is crap by the numbers. First there's a bunch of nifty special effects. Then comes the crap. Crap, crap, crap. And then, yeah, more crap. Get the picture??? Nice effects though...but oh for the crap. Makes you pine for the "inspired" year of ID4 and Twister. Now that was some good crap. Not crappy-crap like this one.
  19. HarryT.
    Jun 12, 2004
    1
    It is the Day after seeing Tomorrow and I still want to puke. You talk about an unsuspenseful movie with lame acting and directing, then you have come to the right flick. All those millions of dollars wasted on a lame story that simply makes no sense. It would have been better to watch this garbage if they had eliminated the dialogue. I give one point for the special effects.
  20. ConstanceS.
    Jun 21, 2004
    1
    I went to see 'Tomorrow' to escape boredom, but the silliness made for a dull climb through disaster flick pathos, drama mamma cliches and eco sensitive handwringing. My favorite part: Mexico shutting off its borders to massive American 'illigal immigration' in the face of disaster after disaster strikes. (PS if this is a spoiler for you after seeing the posters or I went to see 'Tomorrow' to escape boredom, but the silliness made for a dull climb through disaster flick pathos, drama mamma cliches and eco sensitive handwringing. My favorite part: Mexico shutting off its borders to massive American 'illigal immigration' in the face of disaster after disaster strikes. (PS if this is a spoiler for you after seeing the posters or trailers, too bad! c'mon, the Statue of Liberty gets wiped out on the posters, you're even out the parking lot) They could have taken a few ideas from Twister and got a better soundtrack or other disaster flicks that actually (Dirty Dozen) killed off main characters (no, the scotch toasters don't count) or saved up the 'final battle' scope instead of just ignoring the size of the disasters that they had created. I wasn't looking for scientific acuuracy, oscar worthy acting or justification of my world view, just a worthy escapist disaster flick. Judging by the line I should have held out for the 11:55 Harry Potter flick that all the little kids with a later curfew than I can pull off on school nights were lined up for. PS I luv Art Bell and in no way should this be a reflection on him (ask your conspiracy theory nerd, they'll know who). Expand
  21. JaredH.
    Jun 20, 2004
    0
    This popsicle of a movie belongs in the back of the freezer where it will never be found again.
  22. AaronH.
    Jun 2, 2004
    0
    When you go to a disaster movie you are supposed to feel nervous. You should have feelings for the characters. None of that happens in this movie. Instead, we are constantly preached to, every line is predictable, and every cliche has been stolen from another blockbuster disaster movie. The wolves running loose was utterly ridiculous. The real disaster was that no one was watching money When you go to a disaster movie you are supposed to feel nervous. You should have feelings for the characters. None of that happens in this movie. Instead, we are constantly preached to, every line is predictable, and every cliche has been stolen from another blockbuster disaster movie. The wolves running loose was utterly ridiculous. The real disaster was that no one was watching money being tossed down the toilet where this flick actually belongs. Expand
  23. Dudley
    Jun 3, 2004
    0
    Was this suppossed to be a comedy and we were not let in on the gag? It is too bad to be believed. No one could write a script this lame. Avoid.
  24. Bruno
    Jun 7, 2004
    1
    Probably the worst movie this year, without the story. The most desperate things were russian ship in the middle of the New York and 4 wolfs in the streets. ;p
  25. KevinF.
    Jun 7, 2004
    4
    A color-by-numbers approach--you already know what happens, and you just don't care. Flip-flopping between the personal, humanistic vignettes, and the overwhelming destruction was interesting, but it ultimately wasn't congruent.
  26. Janet
    Jul 18, 2004
    1
    How awful was this script? Was this supposed to be a comedy because the audience was laughing during the second half. Pretty lame if you ask me.
  27. MikeL.
    Aug 9, 2004
    2
    Kind of good special effects, but extremely movie-of-the-week-ish overall. I would not recommend this movie. I can't believe I got suckered.
  28. JackH.
    Oct 1, 2005
    0
    If the world were indeed to end tomorrow I would die happy knowing the people who wrote this tripe went with it.
  29. lawrencec.
    Dec 9, 2005
    4
    This could have been a better film than it is and has a really poor dialog but good effects.
  30. ChristophTheCrazyFrenchman
    Feb 6, 2005
    2
    Wow. I watched this movie with every and gave it every chance i could possibly think of to be a good movie but no matter how hard I tried, the movie just plain sucks. It was like watching a movie that two unfortanute nerds in high school would of thought up while the rest of the people were out making use of a sunny day. Im sorry but this movie gave me a feeling equivalent to having my Wow. I watched this movie with every and gave it every chance i could possibly think of to be a good movie but no matter how hard I tried, the movie just plain sucks. It was like watching a movie that two unfortanute nerds in high school would of thought up while the rest of the people were out making use of a sunny day. Im sorry but this movie gave me a feeling equivalent to having my skull bashed in with a large rock repeatedly. Expand
  31. ChrisJ
    Nov 1, 2004
    4
    The sad part is that it had promise, but bad writing and a some scenes that are a little TOO hard to believe drag it down to mediocrity. Unfortunately, the script is bad enough that it couldn't garner any A-list actors, meaning we're left with Dennis Quaid. The special effects are outstanding, apart from the wolves (which look fake). The scene where LA gets destroyed by The sad part is that it had promise, but bad writing and a some scenes that are a little TOO hard to believe drag it down to mediocrity. Unfortunately, the script is bad enough that it couldn't garner any A-list actors, meaning we're left with Dennis Quaid. The special effects are outstanding, apart from the wolves (which look fake). The scene where LA gets destroyed by Tornados, while helicopters film it is a little too far left of reality as well. The real frustrating thing about this movie is that the last 3/4 of an hour are intensely boring, and there isn't an ending worth mentioning. You leave the theatre frustrated. Collapse
  32. LJS
    Oct 16, 2004
    3
    The idea is scary. The effects are impressive, with one blaring exception: the wolves. They just don't fit. They don't do much for the plot, either. The acting is dissappointing. Some lines are delivered oh-so 'cheesily' it'll make you hang your head. Really. It's also extremely predictable, and consequently very boring. 90% of the time blockbusters=garbage, The idea is scary. The effects are impressive, with one blaring exception: the wolves. They just don't fit. They don't do much for the plot, either. The acting is dissappointing. Some lines are delivered oh-so 'cheesily' it'll make you hang your head. Really. It's also extremely predictable, and consequently very boring. 90% of the time blockbusters=garbage, and this one is no exception. There is just no depth to this movie. The only people I feel for are the actors, who have the burden of delivering the cheesy script. Expand
  33. OptimusM.
    Oct 26, 2004
    4
    Genius thrilling amazing ASTONISHING sfx that make for a brilliant rollercoaster.... but the story and the drama is utter PANTS! The mindnumbing stupidity and lack of wisdom from the central characters made me pine that OTT sfx harm befell them. But t'was not to be. Make into a ride at Universal Studios immediately - that's all this film is good for!
  34. AdamD.
    May 26, 2004
    4
    The Day After Tomorrow is a disaster movie most disserving of being placed in the genre, although not necessarily because of the destruction seen throughout. After the storms lose your interest about half way through, you'll find that the story has not really achieved anything, and worse still, has achieved little more by the unfulfilling climax. It's a worst flaw is that it The Day After Tomorrow is a disaster movie most disserving of being placed in the genre, although not necessarily because of the destruction seen throughout. After the storms lose your interest about half way through, you'll find that the story has not really achieved anything, and worse still, has achieved little more by the unfulfilling climax. It's a worst flaw is that it lacks excitement, the major (if not only) draw card to big budget disaster flicks. A note to Roland Emmerich, leave the script to someone else and concentrate on making this type of flick fun. Expand
  35. GordonG.
    May 27, 2004
    2
    Boring boring boring... Let's just condense a couple of thousand years of future history into two weeks and see what happens. Yeah, right... Sure it's got some good scenes - but they are the political ones, the naysayers from the guvvamint saying "we can't be worried about the climate, we're too busy making money." The rest of the movie was a waste of money.
  36. BobH.
    May 28, 2004
    4
    No one loves science fiction movies more than I do. It was with much eager anticipation I was looking forward to this film. During the first 40 minutes I was mesmerized to the silver screen as the special effects were nothing short of sensational. However, after that the film fell off a cliff into an abyss. They trotted out every cliche and copied from every other film such as Planet of No one loves science fiction movies more than I do. It was with much eager anticipation I was looking forward to this film. During the first 40 minutes I was mesmerized to the silver screen as the special effects were nothing short of sensational. However, after that the film fell off a cliff into an abyss. They trotted out every cliche and copied from every other film such as Planet of the Apes with the Statue Of Liberty. Jurasic Park substituting domesticated zoo wolves turning into velociraptors. The only thing missing was Godzilla and if I looked hard enough I probably would have found him too. The Save The Environment speech was echoed ad nauseum. The last 40 minutes was so predictable that it almost put me to sleep. Suffice it to say Independence Day it was not. If you must see it do so but don't expect anything new or creative. So so at best. Expand
  37. BillE.
    May 28, 2004
    0
    Loud, preachy, boring, and unbelievable.
  38. KenK.
    May 29, 2004
    2
    Really, really bad. 2 points for political satire and special effects. -8 points for terrible script (the audience laughed at all the wrong spots) and predictable events.
  39. Mickeray
    May 31, 2004
    0
    Let's face facts. The script and acting was beyond lame. It is almost impossible to believe that a movie with so much promise could be this bad. Yes, the special effects were good; but there was little or no suspense and it was all so so predictable. If this screenplay was presented to a college professor for a grade, it would have received an "F." This big budget flick does insult Let's face facts. The script and acting was beyond lame. It is almost impossible to believe that a movie with so much promise could be this bad. Yes, the special effects were good; but there was little or no suspense and it was all so so predictable. If this screenplay was presented to a college professor for a grade, it would have received an "F." This big budget flick does insult to "B" movies as it was just awful. Expand
  40. BuzbyF.
    May 31, 2004
    2
    The storm scenes were exceptional. If it was two hours 43 minutes of just storms I would have been happy. But no, they have to insert the generic unrequited love sub plot, the generic selfish father looking for redemption sub plot, and the attack of the wolves. Horrible acting, great special effects.
  41. KristinaM.
    Jun 1, 2004
    1
    As someone who normally loves disaster movies for the glorious "mind twinkies" they are, this movie was banal and ridiculous even for me. If you've seen the previews, save yourself the bucks and skip the movie -- you've already seen the best of it. A few spectacular CGI scenes are not worth the painfully slow hour plus of sludge. And the lecture at the end is simply insulting.
  42. JonC.
    Jun 16, 2004
    0
    UUUuuuggghhh!!! I want to shoot myself for having paid for this pathetic excuse of a summer movie!!! HORRRRRIIBBBBLE!!!!!
  43. Raheed
    Jun 17, 2004
    0
    What a turkey!
  44. AlessandraS.
    Jun 21, 2004
    4
    Can anyone say unrealistic? One day, leaders from around the world are discussing how Global Warming will someday change the face of the earth. And wouldnt you know it, the very next day, unsightly weather occurences begin taking place all over. Though, i must admit i found it even more interesting how the father of a young man stuck in a New York City library, WALKED to save him in Can anyone say unrealistic? One day, leaders from around the world are discussing how Global Warming will someday change the face of the earth. And wouldnt you know it, the very next day, unsightly weather occurences begin taking place all over. Though, i must admit i found it even more interesting how the father of a young man stuck in a New York City library, WALKED to save him in horrid weather conditions. Give me a break. The special effects earn it a 4. Expand
  45. A.Peers
    Jun 2, 2004
    0
    A slow-moving bowel movement of a film...it would be uncomfortable to watch so many people freeze to death onscreen if you weren't envying them that they got out of the movie. "How bad can it be?" you ask yourself. Pretty damn bad.
  46. TomasL.
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    Let me sum it up for you in one word. SUCKED!
  47. BrianY.
    Jun 3, 2004
    3
    This movie was mildly entertaining due to the fact I read the book, "The Coming Global Superstorm," which the movie is loosely based on. The book is a convincing account of "what" can happen if we continue to ignore the signs. The movie, splendidly showed what a Global Superstorm may look like in Emmerich style. However the plot does not even entertain that all, and the acting was not This movie was mildly entertaining due to the fact I read the book, "The Coming Global Superstorm," which the movie is loosely based on. The book is a convincing account of "what" can happen if we continue to ignore the signs. The movie, splendidly showed what a Global Superstorm may look like in Emmerich style. However the plot does not even entertain that all, and the acting was not even given the chance to matter. I think the movie exaggerated what may really happen, but it is necessary to do it "Hollywood" style otherwise the movie may bore the average movie goer. The movie is also a political hot topic as to whether global warming is a trend humans are causing. The bottom line is that the Earth is warming up, due to natural and human influence, and Superstorms have been the cause of Ice Ages in the past. We know too little to prepare, or prevent a storm that devastating. So if we should take anything away from watching The Day After Tomorrow, it is that we do not know enough to do anything. Expand
  48. Kjb
    Jun 7, 2004
    2
    This movie was disgracefully bad. Preachy, banal, often downright insulting to the audience's intelligence. Gets a 2 from me for the special effects, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. The shame of it is that the movie could have been pretty good. It would have taken spending a few more dollars on the script and dropping a half second of an effects This movie was disgracefully bad. Preachy, banal, often downright insulting to the audience's intelligence. Gets a 2 from me for the special effects, but this was one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. The shame of it is that the movie could have been pretty good. It would have taken spending a few more dollars on the script and dropping a half second of an effects shot, but it could have been terrific. Expand
  49. BrianW.
    Aug 7, 2004
    4
    Not a horrible movie, but certainly not a good one. This movie attempts to make an environmental message with implausible scenarios, and some flat out ridiculous moments. I mean the "cold" was chasing them, come on! That said the effects were good, and the flood of New York was amazing. I wouldn't recomend this film, but if you can turn your brain of, ignore the fact that most of the Not a horrible movie, but certainly not a good one. This movie attempts to make an environmental message with implausible scenarios, and some flat out ridiculous moments. I mean the "cold" was chasing them, come on! That said the effects were good, and the flood of New York was amazing. I wouldn't recomend this film, but if you can turn your brain of, ignore the fact that most of the world just died,and focus on 3-4 people for 2 hours....you'll like it. Expand
  50. SteveG.
    May 28, 2004
    3
    A disaster movie where you can almost check the formula boxes: the burgeoning love story, the father-son bond, the sacrifices, the stoical resignation of those doomed, the unleashed hungry creatures, the misguided folk ignoring the need to stay sheltered, the life-threatening injury, the honest down-and-out, the sentimental medic, the repentant hard-line politician, the majesty of nature, A disaster movie where you can almost check the formula boxes: the burgeoning love story, the father-son bond, the sacrifices, the stoical resignation of those doomed, the unleashed hungry creatures, the misguided folk ignoring the need to stay sheltered, the life-threatening injury, the honest down-and-out, the sentimental medic, the repentant hard-line politician, the majesty of nature, people outrunning a rapidly approaching threat, minor characters killed, the destruction of familiar landmarks... Yes, this one had them all. Sadly, there wasn't much else. The plot is thin despite the cliches and the dialog unmemorable, which leaves us with the special effects. They are awesome, as intended, but overall this isn't an easy film to watch though you may enjoy pondering some of the inconsistencies, time compressions, plot holes and above all the awkward way the audience is informed. The whole point of The Day After Tomorrow is a new ice age but somehow here's a film that lacks warmth where it should be and is slightly frosty rather than chilling. Expand
  51. RKamath
    May 29, 2004
    3
    Another cookie-cutter Hollywood natural disaster movie, complete with every hackneyed subplot imaginable. Next!
  52. RoshK.
    May 29, 2004
    4
    Exciting special-effects mix with a ridiculously cliched touchy-feely abomination of a plot. An absolutely worthless flick with stupid political statements. Such as the "irony" of Americans fleeing into Mexico. I could have thought that up, yet some people think it's profound.
  53. HenryS.
    May 29, 2004
    3
    This movie was ok.... the special effects were really cool but didnt last that long... the really stupid part was the wolves wow did that part suck i mean it was so completly random it shouldnt have been in the movie.... wait till this movie gets out on dvd so you can skip all the parts that dennis is in cause he is horrible.
  54. Obicraig
    Jan 25, 2005
    2
    Who writes this crap?!!? This has to be the worst movie I've seen in a long time. The dialouge was so bad I thought I was stuck in an episode of the mickey mouse club. If anyone liked this movie the universe should explode ending all life as we know it.
  55. LomaxH.
    Jul 24, 2005
    0
    Hysterically stupid.
  56. TravisP.
    Dec 13, 2006
    0
    Ok, so wolves held in captivity and fed not less than 12 hours ago, suddenly when freed (and apparently because it's cold) start attacking people with a ferociousness that even completely wild wolves would never attain. Then how about a hero who understands the situation better than anyone else and then turns his back on what's left of devastated humanity to go BACK and search Ok, so wolves held in captivity and fed not less than 12 hours ago, suddenly when freed (and apparently because it's cold) start attacking people with a ferociousness that even completely wild wolves would never attain. Then how about a hero who understands the situation better than anyone else and then turns his back on what's left of devastated humanity to go BACK and search for his son because of some stupid guilt problem. And by the way, if things were freezing so fast that you could see frost progress along walls and doors and such, the air would be unbreathably frozen long before they could run. This movie was crap. Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2012
    2
    Don't bother watching it. Not tomorrow, the day after tomorrow, or any other days after that.
  58. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    This film is a disgrace portraying a real world problem with fantasy and pseudoscience that has undermined the need to address global warming. This film could have been done so much better if only it used real consequences of climate change and was set in the near future instead of apocalyptic rubbish...and that ending...what the was that? Talk about undermining the need to addressThis film is a disgrace portraying a real world problem with fantasy and pseudoscience that has undermined the need to address global warming. This film could have been done so much better if only it used real consequences of climate change and was set in the near future instead of apocalyptic rubbish...and that ending...what the was that? Talk about undermining the need to address climate change if the problem can be solved that easily. Expand
  59. Feb 24, 2015
    3
    pretty crappy this movie dosent explain anything about the characters and they just expect you to know whats happening, some parts are exiting and funny but most of it is so unrealistic its funny. the spetial fx are good but most is pretty bad
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Colin Kennedy
    80
    Everybody is good at one thing, they say; for Emmerich, it's destruction.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    60
    The really good news is that the disaster money shots are some of the finest ever filmed.
  3. 80
    This highly entertaining spin on eco-catastrophe could turn the most meteorologically challenged among us into Weather Channel freaks.