Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 28, 2004
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 330 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
170
Mixed:
94
Negative:
66
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
KellyJun 1, 2004
I found this movie to be quite entertaining. The effects were spectacular, however, the story was a tad on the cheesy side. All in all though, I still enjoyed this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
HarryM.May 26, 2004
It's interesting and the effects are incredible. It leaves you expecting one of the biggest movie climaxes you'll ever see, but sadly it ends with a whimper not a bang.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelDJan 4, 2011
I enjoyed this movie but if I had to pick between 2012 or this movie, I would probably pick 2012.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JoesatmoesMay 20, 2014
I really enjoyed this movie- it's like 2012, but if it had better characters and more tragedy. And I like that the disaster was due to climate change rather than natural disaster, at least to convey the message of,"STOP F***ING UP THE EARTH!"I really enjoyed this movie- it's like 2012, but if it had better characters and more tragedy. And I like that the disaster was due to climate change rather than natural disaster, at least to convey the message of,"STOP F***ING UP THE EARTH!"

And the theme song and effects were really awesome
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NeiMay 3, 2010
I don't care what the others say, but this movie is good.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
danisanDec 29, 2011
This is the best film about climate change! The effects are amazing. Is my favorite film after Titanic, there are many scenes of action. If you liked movies disaster this is your movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MovieReviewsMay 17, 2014
This movie is a visual masterpiece, it has created a cult classic and is iconic. However, this movie contains cliched flat characters, with thin plot so it is all about visuals and some tension. Is this movie worth watching? I was curious atThis movie is a visual masterpiece, it has created a cult classic and is iconic. However, this movie contains cliched flat characters, with thin plot so it is all about visuals and some tension. Is this movie worth watching? I was curious at first, and I know I wouldn't like it but I did it, I knew it won't be a perfect experience it isn't! It is a B popcorn film that is all about visuals, with some tension and heartwarming moments. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
This is the best disaster movie ever. It's got apocalyptic atmosphere, flawless effects and a beautiful soundtrack. But more importantly, it has people running away from the cold! They literally run away from cold weather that's chasing themThis is the best disaster movie ever. It's got apocalyptic atmosphere, flawless effects and a beautiful soundtrack. But more importantly, it has people running away from the cold! They literally run away from cold weather that's chasing them down corridors like Michael Myers! Isn't that hilarious? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BrendanC.May 30, 2004
This film is very good, the first half is loaded with great special effects which stop half-way through, but this gives time for story to show, I really enjoyed this movie as should all if they aren't cynical moviegoers who will This film is very good, the first half is loaded with great special effects which stop half-way through, but this gives time for story to show, I really enjoyed this movie as should all if they aren't cynical moviegoers who will criticise everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamG.Jun 2, 2004
By far Emmerich's best film and makes up for the embarrassment of Independence Day and Godzilla.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidZ.Jun 4, 2004
Very entertaining movie. Much better than Independence Day. If you want artsy, sad movies, watch something else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DibaR.May 27, 2004
Excellent special effects, and the sound was phenomenal. A lot has been said about this film, but it does exactly what it says on the tin. Go watch it and prepare to be swept away in its splendour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BalleJ.May 28, 2004
It's awesome eye candy!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonN.May 28, 2004
Strikes all the right notes and tugs the heart strings without the smarminess of Emmerich's earlier efforts. The characters are so rich and the acting so flawless that you almost forget to pay attention the rather bland special effects. Strikes all the right notes and tugs the heart strings without the smarminess of Emmerich's earlier efforts. The characters are so rich and the acting so flawless that you almost forget to pay attention the rather bland special effects. A real high-art, two-hanky tearjerker disguised as a popcorn movie. Like Ridley Scott's Blade Runner it probably will not be fully appreciated in its time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenA.May 29, 2004
I went into this movie expecting nothing more, nothing less than a big CGI fest. And thats prety much what I got. With 1 or 2 exceptions, the CGI was near perfect. The story on the other hand was rather cookie-cutter. In movies such as I went into this movie expecting nothing more, nothing less than a big CGI fest. And thats prety much what I got. With 1 or 2 exceptions, the CGI was near perfect. The story on the other hand was rather cookie-cutter. In movies such as Jurassic Park and Dante's Peak the scientist who thinks that something bad will happen is ignored until it is too late. Also, we have to meet new characters each time a new catastrophe happens soemwhere, and they just die right away, so it is near impossible to care about these people. Like I said, I wanted nothing more than a good CGI show, and I got it, so I don't want to complain too much, but I still can't stand stupid characters. Characters do stupid things throughout this movie, and it just bugged me. SO if you want a good story, you should not go, but if you want to see some bitchin special effects, here's your movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TadMay 31, 2004
This movie has been done before but its not horrible, only thing new is the CGI. Same story, new faces. Funny thing happened as I was watching this movie. I heard raining in the background after the big raining scene. I couldn't tell if This movie has been done before but its not horrible, only thing new is the CGI. Same story, new faces. Funny thing happened as I was watching this movie. I heard raining in the background after the big raining scene. I couldn't tell if it was the movie or real life. Well turns out it was real life,so I go out to look outside and find out there was a tornado warning in this area. When I go back into the theatre talking on my phone saying there's a tornado coming to my friends, about 15-25 people all get up and start using their phones at once and some went to look outside. If it wasn't for that this movie would get a 5(hehe) Anyway, this is a wait until it comes on ABC type of movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BruceC.May 30, 2004
DAT is a mindless pop-corn muncher. Ignore the silly subplot with the father who must rescue his son and instead concentrate on the impressive special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianL.May 30, 2004
It's a very good movie. I liked the special effects of the movie. I also liked it because it helps the unaware people to help the world now before it's too late.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SexyBeastMay 30, 2004
It was very good i liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BitBurnMay 30, 2004
The first half of the movie is awesome. Very entertaining. The second half could have been a little more spicy. All said, this flick was still worth seeing on the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrakeJ.Jun 11, 2004
Great movie. great actors. great popcorn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LacieS.Jun 7, 2004
I loved it, the scientific side was exellent. This isn't like The Core which was good movie with bad science but instead had all of its facts in place. And the charaters were excellently played out! Oh my G! This was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LexeH.Aug 10, 2004
Awesome - great special effects and casting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarrisonB.Aug 8, 2004
The Day After Tomorrow had the best special effects ever! It was a very good thriller. Dennis Quaid did very smart acting. It was, in several parts, funny. I liked it when Mexico shut of the borders. Very good movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobM.Aug 9, 2004
You must see this great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EnzoP.Jul 9, 2009
It was a really good movie it kept me awake through the night. I agree what Steve P. said it's a B movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregT.Oct 20, 2004
This movie has great special effects and is a fairly good "action movie". You want action, you see it. The premise of this movie may have been taken from a book written decades ago called "Not by Fire, But by Ice" in which it was suggested This movie has great special effects and is a fairly good "action movie". You want action, you see it. The premise of this movie may have been taken from a book written decades ago called "Not by Fire, But by Ice" in which it was suggested that we have more to worry about from ice ages than we do from heat waves and droughts under the Green House effect. Interesting premise.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AbbyH.Dec 1, 2004
Nice, but they could have done a little bit better. I mean, it was good, but no that good. I'd give it a least one thumb up, but not two.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyTDec 22, 2004
It is so awsome!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackB.May 27, 2004
This film has everything. got straight to the point and produced the best special fx i have ever seen, i thought that armaggedon was amazing wait until you see this one. the acting in it was suberb, emmerich gets the cast perfect this time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewC.May 28, 2004
The Day After Tomorrow succeeds in every way a popcorn movie should. Gives you plenty of action, while having enough story and character to keep you interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VinceH.May 29, 2004
This movie is a superior Hollywood spectacle akin to "Men in Black" and "ID4" (which boasts the same director). Just fun, lightweight entertainment that will keep you busy for 2 hours. Thank god Jerry Bruckheimer didn't produce it or it This movie is a superior Hollywood spectacle akin to "Men in Black" and "ID4" (which boasts the same director). Just fun, lightweight entertainment that will keep you busy for 2 hours. Thank god Jerry Bruckheimer didn't produce it or it probably would've been 3 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BobMay 29, 2004
Not too bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JhonnyM.May 31, 2004
Best movie EVER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmilyD.Jun 1, 2004
I liked it...it was very entertaining, even with random wolves running around, i enjoyed it overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GemmaC.Jun 11, 2004
I think it is a great film, it's really intense. i really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
F.H.Jun 13, 2004
Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassandraD.Jun 14, 2004
I loved this move and i loved Jake Gyllenhaal he was so cute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonD.Jun 24, 2004
I saw this movie and i thought it was the best movie with special effects ever, Im most likely to buy this movie when it comes out on dvd widescreen can't wait to see it on dvd!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeC.Jun 29, 2004
I laughed a lot during this movie, I was almost in tears I was laughing so hard. It really seemed like a comedy for quite a bit. Hail the size of bowling balls smashing down and you hear some guy reporting "golf ball sized hail." The kid has I laughed a lot during this movie, I was almost in tears I was laughing so hard. It really seemed like a comedy for quite a bit. Hail the size of bowling balls smashing down and you hear some guy reporting "golf ball sized hail." The kid has "Yoda" on his name tag. Everyone following some cop over the advise of a geniuses. Homeless man who isn't on drugs or alcohol, mental, nor dumb who can speak well and give good advice. Some of the dumbest reporters ever... which makes me think of pulp fiction because I was laughing at how some people died. I think this movie overtly shows how stupid we are when faced with impending dangers. Maybe this movie is asking us to wise up. Yeah it's not based on real science, so what, it's a movie. I think it would be great one for Mystery Science Theater. This could have been a great comedy, please go see this movie with a light heart and don't be afraid to laugh. =) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaerA.Jun 6, 2004
I think The Day After Tomorrow will be the best movie of 2004. The special effects were spectacular. It was also entertaining and will leave you breathless and on the edge of your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PrestonF.Jun 6, 2004
Sure it's silly and hopelessly liberal. It's still good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JazzR.Jul 19, 2004
Simply excellent-first half's effects are the best I've seen, and second half's melodrama can still make you sigh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EfeB.Jul 30, 2004
When it comes to disaster films, the director and the audience share a brotherly (or sisterly) bond...the bonding is called "look, it's a disaster film...have fun!" i had little hopes for artistic endevours and briliance before seeing When it comes to disaster films, the director and the audience share a brotherly (or sisterly) bond...the bonding is called "look, it's a disaster film...have fun!" i had little hopes for artistic endevours and briliance before seeing this film, therefore i am surprised and pleased that it is infact a complete and clean package. it delivers what it advertises. not only you will see some amazing effects at work but the direction and the photography is excellent. for the first time, someone (a korean intern perhaps?) has figured out how to make computer generated tornados that look like the real things. it is how the effects are used that demands respect, they tell a story rather than woosh and wow us. the story can be seen both good and forgetable, it depends on how much you care about the planet i guess. if you are a vegetarian lesbian feminist that hate the idea of soda cans on the bottom of the ocean basin, or if you are a geek who enjoys watching the weather channel and wonder about what a certain el nino will hit some frickin eastern asian island named after your child hood pet (examples: mino, papuka, mikiniki)....you will love this movie. i did. (hmmm....) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmaS.Jul 3, 2004
It was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelD.Jan 25, 2007
I think this was a very effective film that had an impact on the audience, The special effects were brilliant. I think it was a brilliant way to get the point across that global warming is completely unpredictible and could happen in our I think this was a very effective film that had an impact on the audience, The special effects were brilliant. I think it was a brilliant way to get the point across that global warming is completely unpredictible and could happen in our lifetime, even if at times the special effects could be some what "dramatic". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.MoonlightDec 22, 2004
I love this movie so much!!! It is so awsome and thrilling!!! Whoever hates this I ask WHY? This movie rocks!!! I love it , it's amazing!! I love Jake Gyllenhaal in this movie!! I'm obsessed with this movie SO MUCH!!! I'd rate I love this movie so much!!! It is so awsome and thrilling!!! Whoever hates this I ask WHY? This movie rocks!!! I love it , it's amazing!! I love Jake Gyllenhaal in this movie!! I'm obsessed with this movie SO MUCH!!! I'd rate this movie one million!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AntonioM.Dec 28, 2004
A very very good sci-fi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamOct 23, 2004
A brilliant movie, but if you not like Emmerechs movies stay clear of this film. If you do, see it immediately, but all others should stay clear. But in my opinion this film is a classic, considering the gourgeous effects and brilliant plot, A brilliant movie, but if you not like Emmerechs movies stay clear of this film. If you do, see it immediately, but all others should stay clear. But in my opinion this film is a classic, considering the gourgeous effects and brilliant plot, but the day this film is on DVD and VHS where will you be? The store, or at home? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewB.Dec 5, 2004
Although I loved the effects, the acting and plot left something to be desired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelMay 28, 2004
Want dodgy acting and dead-end plot arcs?? Got 'em. But who really cares? I went for the downtown Tsunamis and flash frozen Lady Liberty, and I wasn't disappointed. Check your brain at the door and enjoy the spectacle. (Bonus shots Want dodgy acting and dead-end plot arcs?? Got 'em. But who really cares? I went for the downtown Tsunamis and flash frozen Lady Liberty, and I wasn't disappointed. Check your brain at the door and enjoy the spectacle. (Bonus shots - the sight of gringos abandoning their SUVs and wading the Rio Grande as illegal immigrants). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CameronS.May 28, 2004
I enjoyed this movie. The special effects were cool. The plot was silly but still entertaining. Not the worst movie out there but its a cool disaster movie for what it was. I didnt like the preachy crap in it though. That was stupid but I enjoyed this movie. The special effects were cool. The plot was silly but still entertaining. Not the worst movie out there but its a cool disaster movie for what it was. I didnt like the preachy crap in it though. That was stupid but other than that, it was enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BurbakMay 28, 2004
This one is a winner...for its special effects...yes there could have been more substance to...it and less syrup...but I got my moneys worth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ShaneMay 29, 2004
The plot is decent and is carried out well, but the corny family sentimentality thing took away from it. The bottom line is the movie isn't fantastic, but there are no real boring parts in the movie. I wanted to get up and get an Icee The plot is decent and is carried out well, but the corny family sentimentality thing took away from it. The bottom line is the movie isn't fantastic, but there are no real boring parts in the movie. I wanted to get up and get an Icee throughout the whole movie but never ended up doing it for fear I'd miss something. It was enthralling and the little bits of stupid humor were actually effective because they came at the right times. As usual Jake Gyllenhaal does a great job, but I think he's one of the oldest looking 17 year-olds in quite some time. Hopefully this is his last role of a high schooler. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NeloKingMay 29, 2004
Hey it is a summer blockbuster after all, remember what that means? Action, special effects, little to think about and lots to entertain. As such, the day after tomorrow does what it sets out to do 'Entertain the audience'. If I Hey it is a summer blockbuster after all, remember what that means? Action, special effects, little to think about and lots to entertain. As such, the day after tomorrow does what it sets out to do 'Entertain the audience'. If I wanted a serious depressing film with fantastic acting and an outstanding script I would have rented Mystic River. However on a hot summers day there's nothing better than watch stuff getting destroyed and "The Day After Tomorrow" does that with aplomb! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChantelD.Jun 15, 2004
It is an awesome movie, I loved it a lot. I think it had a good storyline except it ended quite suddenly, I hope they make a sequel. Love me xoxo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaileyC.Jun 25, 2004
This was one of the best movies i've ever seen. It had the best visual effects and anyone who knows anything about cinematic presentation would agree.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimKJul 14, 2004
Seriously, I laughed so much during this movie, it would make 'comedies' blush with jealousy. At first I felt bad laughing, after all it is a disaster flick. But I just couldn't help it. Like Mike C. said, watch it with a Seriously, I laughed so much during this movie, it would make 'comedies' blush with jealousy. At first I felt bad laughing, after all it is a disaster flick. But I just couldn't help it. Like Mike C. said, watch it with a light heart. I dare you not to laugh :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RachelH.Dec 22, 2005
I seem to be the minority here; I liked this movie a lot. Not sure it was quite deserving of an 8, but it should get more than a 7. Incredible visual effects. The movie would be worth seeing simply for that reason. I personally also really I seem to be the minority here; I liked this movie a lot. Not sure it was quite deserving of an 8, but it should get more than a 7. Incredible visual effects. The movie would be worth seeing simply for that reason. I personally also really liked the casting. Quaid and Ward were great. Gyllenhaal, in my opinion, is one of the more underappreciated actors I've seen recently, but I thought he put on a wonderful performance too. I was entertained from beginning to end, there was hardly a dull moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Louis'sbrotherMar 27, 2007
Not only is this movie an edge-of-your-seat thriller, it also spreads the message of the threat of global warming clearly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimX.May 24, 2007
This is not just some ordinary disaster movie. For those who pick out the little problems like the special effects, you are plainly: DUMB. Something similar to this will happen sometime in the future, when people are still on Earth, and at This is not just some ordinary disaster movie. For those who pick out the little problems like the special effects, you are plainly: DUMB. Something similar to this will happen sometime in the future, when people are still on Earth, and at that time, even the special effects in the movie wouldn't be able to compare to the force of Mother Nature. Just wait and see.. or maybe let your grandchildren see, and pay the price for your consequences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeraldoZNov 23, 2008
Ok... This movie was made in 2004, and the special effects looked real! The movie has a great plot. Unfortunately it's a little dull since its more science s**t than anything. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VasiliyH.Jan 19, 2008
One of the best films I've ever seen. Atmoshpere is very good I felt like i am in the cold New York and tried to stay alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveP.Jan 27, 2008
I loved this movie; it is a modern-day Plan 9, a B movie with all the usual clunky plots. The wolves are missing? They'll show up again... on a ship in the middle of Manhattan! The guy says "...and I'll go, too"? Yes, he's I loved this movie; it is a modern-day Plan 9, a B movie with all the usual clunky plots. The wolves are missing? They'll show up again... on a ship in the middle of Manhattan! The guy says "...and I'll go, too"? Yes, he's going to die. We're trapped in a building full of wood... so all we can burn is books! Come on, people! This movie is brilliant... just not the way the writers intended. Grab some popcorn, rent this movie, and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaW.Dec 24, 2004
Oh my god!!!! I loved the day after tomorrow, it's the best movie ever!! I really loved the special effects, they were too cool!! Don't get me started with Jake Gyllenhaal!!! He was so cute and adorable, i absolutly loved him in Oh my god!!!! I loved the day after tomorrow, it's the best movie ever!! I really loved the special effects, they were too cool!! Don't get me started with Jake Gyllenhaal!!! He was so cute and adorable, i absolutly loved him in this movie!!!! I also really liked Emmy Rossum she is a great actress!! If you ask me this story did have a meaning, don't say it didn't. I know i rated this movie 10, but i was wrong, i would rate this movie one million!! I loved it that much! If you havn't seen this movie please rent it or buy it, it's awsome!!! One more thing, if you see this movie don't rate it 0 out of 10 it doesn't deserve 0, it deserves one million!!!! SO SEE THE MOVIE, YOU'LL love it!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WiseMarosisAug 14, 2010
The Day After Tomorrow was a better movie than I expected. The characters were easy to know and were great in their roles. The story played nicely gradually growing in tension with a great climax. It obviously isn't perfect, but a movieThe Day After Tomorrow was a better movie than I expected. The characters were easy to know and were great in their roles. The story played nicely gradually growing in tension with a great climax. It obviously isn't perfect, but a movie worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gm101Oct 19, 2011
A few of the characters in the movie may feel unnecessary and / or annoying, but in the end, the message shown in the film is that we must do something to save our Earth or else the future will witness something similar to what was shown.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeSep 25, 2011
Perhaps one of the better Roland Emmerich movies but that's not saying much as most of them suck despite being very financially successful. The Day After Tomorrow's special effects are great but characters are lacking. Take away the specialPerhaps one of the better Roland Emmerich movies but that's not saying much as most of them suck despite being very financially successful. The Day After Tomorrow's special effects are great but characters are lacking. Take away the special effects from this movie and you will have very little left. There also is a really stupid scene with CGI animated wolves, completely unnecessary but what more can you expect from Roland Emmerich?â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MaxxSwan13Feb 10, 2012
Watchig tr movie right now in school. Its cool abd full of action
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EssenceOfSugarOct 5, 2012
This film is good - I like the characters but most of all I found the climate change plot fascinating. This made the intense scenes with the snow and the rain quite entertaining, but it was pretty emotionally intense as well. It's not aThis film is good - I like the characters but most of all I found the climate change plot fascinating. This made the intense scenes with the snow and the rain quite entertaining, but it was pretty emotionally intense as well. It's not a perfect film, but I enjoyed it when I was younger and I enjoyed it now. It still delivers brilliantly, and Jake Gyllenhaal is still as clever and gorgeous as usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrandonBonaseraNov 11, 2011
The Day After Tomorrow is one of Roland Emmerich's best films, it's enjoyable and has great SFX and is quite good for a disaster film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
In The Day After Tomorrow, the writers take a real life theory and magnify it by a billion, turning it into a apocalyptic special effects thrill ride. Something that is supposed to happen in thousands of years, happens in a couple days, withIn The Day After Tomorrow, the writers take a real life theory and magnify it by a billion, turning it into a apocalyptic special effects thrill ride. Something that is supposed to happen in thousands of years, happens in a couple days, with Jack and Sam Hall caught in the middle. While one is trapped in hard hit New York City, the other must track across the country to save him. Okay, it's a little cheesy and the acting isn't the best, but the special effects are some of the best I've ever seen. I like that it's based on fact and a look into a possible future, well beyond my lifetime and overall it was extremely entertaining. Many of my fellow reviews considered the film to be a warning on global warming, but that's really crazy. Unless you're Al Gore, you should see this movie for what it is. A bunch of smart writers having fun with a scientific theory that may or may not come true one day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An interesting (and, IMHO, entertaining) movie from, of all studios, FOX. The basic premise is that, for whatever reason, there is a drastic change in the climate system of the earth. The story is a classic 'scientist tries to warn people, but they won't listen' plot. Of course, when things hit the fan, it's already too late (though it would seem that nothing could have been done to prevent the change, but an early decision to evacuate people from a danger zone, roughly anything north of the 30th parallel, may have saved many people from death). I did like the special effects (though some of them, how can I say this, seemed 'forced'). The one major beef I have is that it seemed to drag on, maybe about 20 minutes longer than it should have. Also, the heavy-handed approach to global warming/climate change also seemed forced. Another thing is that it seemed like they director/producer were going out of their way to mock FOX news (not that I'm a fan of that network), to the point of ridiculousness (ie: "Tornadoes are attacking Los Angeles!). But, on the other hand, I particularly got a kick out of the actor playing the Vice President...IMO, a dead-ringer for Vice President Cheney. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysSep 27, 2013
The Day After Tomorrow is a summer blockbuster that has some great disaster scenes and a good musical score. Other than that, the movie doesn't have much more to offer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RedfireballNov 8, 2013
It's a good movie...but I think I would have been happy without seeing it. It's just not right...but it's a good movie to watch. Just enjoy what you got here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMay 14, 2014
This is the best movie in his category by far.Great actors,great story and good effects but there is something in this movie that i didn't like and i don't know what it is (it's probably because there is not enough action).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SyFyMovieGuyOct 8, 2014
Well Well Well, Roland Emmerich I strongly welcome for you to make more movies like these! THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW is amazing in every way. My favorite Disaster movie ! ( Next to 2012 ) No other "ice age" movie can replace this! RolandWell Well Well, Roland Emmerich I strongly welcome for you to make more movies like these! THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW is amazing in every way. My favorite Disaster movie ! ( Next to 2012 ) No other "ice age" movie can replace this! Roland Emmerich has did it again! From the director of Independence DAY!

An abrupt climate change brings global cataclysmic consequences ! And one man named Dennis QUAID I think his name is "Jack" in the movie, travels to New York in order to save his son and his son ( along with some friends ) must stay inside and keep warm as the superstorm grows ever bigger and bigger.

Congrats Roland Emmerich! I have this movie on DVD on widerscreen version, though one day I will have it on BLU-RAY. This portrays the ice age and its talk on the whole "polluting the atmosphere" and all that sciency talk. They talk it very good. It all goes along with the suspensful music, and then that beautifully blends in the with the awesome special effects. Roland Emmerich really knows how to direct and somehow blended beautifully the suspense music and the special effects and not to mention the drama/suspense into the "I think its happening", "It should be over New York by now,Tempature readings show a 10 degree drop per second, "If you look over there behind me, thats a tornado. Yes! A twister in Los angeles. It one of the many tornadoes that are destroying our city...Theres another one! Thats the los angeles skyline!!"

Yup, upon wtaching it sooo many times, I even remember the dialogue and ALL the disaster scenes.

I have many more things to say...but I don't want to make this review so long so I'll cut it off here. Lets just say Roland Emmerich has made one of a kind masterpieces. ( In MY opinion )
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
Roland Emmerich continues to captivate with his apocalyptic-ideals. Now with this film he is able to express his vision with more visual highlights than before. From a torn-Hollywood sign to New York City in a ice-bounded trap, the film'sRoland Emmerich continues to captivate with his apocalyptic-ideals. Now with this film he is able to express his vision with more visual highlights than before. From a torn-Hollywood sign to New York City in a ice-bounded trap, the film's effects really do make up for it's dull story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
toronto905Sep 28, 2015
Actually, this was a terrific, popcorn filled thriller entertainment. The plot is mysterious, tense, taut and suspenseful and the visual effects, even in 3D were so spectacular, realistic and artistic. The acting was well performed andActually, this was a terrific, popcorn filled thriller entertainment. The plot is mysterious, tense, taut and suspenseful and the visual effects, even in 3D were so spectacular, realistic and artistic. The acting was well performed and terrific, making this ode of the best science fiction action and adventure films I've ever seen, next to Deep Impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Apr 27, 2016
Great Movie. Every time i watch it , it;s like the 1st time. The film never gets boring.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1415-The-Day-After-Tomorrow-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmClubMar 27, 2016
Loose remake of "Independence Day" with weather as the villain rather than aliens, pic is a disarmingly pulpy, eye-popping disaster movie during its first half, and an increasingly dull survival melodrama during its second.

As demonstrated
Loose remake of "Independence Day" with weather as the villain rather than aliens, pic is a disarmingly pulpy, eye-popping disaster movie during its first half, and an increasingly dull survival melodrama during its second.

As demonstrated in most of his previous pics, from “Moon 44” through “Independence Day” and “Godzilla,” director Roland Emmerich’s sensibilities, and perhaps his heart as well, reside in ’50s-era B-movie sci-fi. His career-making trick has rested in taking cheesy material and elevating it just enough, through casting and effects, to reach contempo blockbuster proportions. His screenplays, however, rep little advance on those they emulate.

And so it is with this new outing, another doomsday scenario that, in the manner it imagines global peril and paralysis at the sudden onset of temperature-plunging storms, also recalls the more recent cycle of natural-disaster extravaganzas that included “Twister,” “Deep Impact” and “Armageddon.”

After nearly floating away on a Rhode Island-sized block of ice that cracks off the Antarctic Shelf, dashing climatologist Jack Hall (Dennis Quaid) startles a New Delhi environmental conference — and pisses off the Dick Cheney-like U.S. vice president in attendance (Kenneth Welsh) — with his “sensationalist claims” about the paradoxically frigid consequences of now-upon-us global warming.

Lo and behold, it starts snowing in Delhi, and pic’s first reel surveys the inclement weather from Scotland and Japan to Washington, D.C., and outer space, where international astronauts can view the enormous storm systems beginning to spin down through the northern hemisphere.

Although Tokyo gets popped by a torrent of giant hailstones, first city to really take it on the chin is L.A. Hollywood and Vine is revisited by much better special effects than demolished it in “Earthquake” three decades back, as multiple tornadoes convincingly lay waste to such landmarks as the Hollywood sign and the Capitol Records building.

As Scottish ocean currents specialist Professor Terry Rapson (Ian Holm) charts the rapid decline in ocean temperatures and suggests melting ice is putting too much fresh water into the seas, Hall comes under pressure to turn his theories into actual weather predictions. At the same time, his bright teenage son Sam (Jake Gyllenhaal) decides to fly to New York for an academic decathlon, arriving shortly before a wall of water hits Gotham.

These scenes, which begin with a tsunami all but engulfing the Statue of Liberty and then flooding Manhattan, are perhaps the most impressive in the picture. The frequent aerial views of water surging through the streets are eerie and dramatically convincing, and while some of the setups, with people running and cars and busses flipping, are virtually identical to those in “Independence Day,” there’s nothing in that film to match the shot that assumes the p.o.v. of a surfer atop a tidal wave as it surges through midtown. Pic’s action-packed first hour ends with Hall ominously predicting, “In seven to 10 days, we’ll be in a new Ice Age.”

While there are some spectacular sights still in store, notably the freezing-to-the-cracking-point of the Empire State Building and other structures, second half quickly becomes a slog.

Still, there are occasional little kicks to enjoy. Portrayal of the U.S. president (Perry King) is amusing; when confronted with the predicament, he immediately turns to the VP and asks, “What do you think we should do?” Better still is a subversive little plot twist that turns the historical immigration tables, with millions of Americans fleeing the unendurable weather by busting through the closed border with Mexico. And when the U.S. president finally goes on television at the end to report on the state of the nation, he does so on the Weather Channel.

“The Day After Tomorrow” goes beyond the far-fetched into the preposterous, but the first half delivers enough of what people want and expect from disaster pictures, and there are enough money-shot special effects, that auds probably will be more satisfied than not.

Cast members have no special demands made upon them beyond looking concerned and, alternately, foolishly brave, and coin was spent where it counts, in putting some images onscreen that haven’t been seen before, or at least haven’t been conveyed so convincingly. That should be enough.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sjultiDec 2, 2016
This movie to me is a classic ive watched it so many times I literally have it memorized line by line, its a great end of the world flick its up their with 2012 and the core
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Castiel_AngelSep 5, 2016
The beginning of this movie was cheesy and it took forever for me to actually get into it. However once I did it had some really great and wicked moments. But since I didn't actually get into it until about a third of the way through I amThe beginning of this movie was cheesy and it took forever for me to actually get into it. However once I did it had some really great and wicked moments. But since I didn't actually get into it until about a third of the way through I am gonna give this a 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews