Tartan | Release Date: April 26, 2006
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
3
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
StefanC.Aug 31, 2006
One of the most entrenching films coming from a Romanian director, "Moartea domnului Lazarescu" truly becomes a profound experience throughout its viewing. The drama of daily life, people portayed as people and not their avatars, and the One of the most entrenching films coming from a Romanian director, "Moartea domnului Lazarescu" truly becomes a profound experience throughout its viewing. The drama of daily life, people portayed as people and not their avatars, and the humorous tragedy of Mr. Lazarescu ammount to quite an achievement from Cristi Puiu. Hopefully, only the first in many to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
-Immitation-May 11, 2006
Well written and worth my money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigS.Jan 7, 2007
Best statement on humanity or lack of humanity that I've seen. It will help turn most viewers into beings who care more for each other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterM.Oct 19, 2006
Harrowing film depicting the last hours in the life of Mr. Dante (no mistake about that name) Lazarescu, leavened with dollops of back humor modeled on the disconnect between the dialogue and what we see on the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaduH.Jun 12, 2006
it describes the reality from the medical sistem in romania.it is like in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BogdanP.Feb 5, 2007
The drama on the screen is no more powerful than the real drama. Yet the true power of the movie is that it portrays reality as no one believes it could be. Deeply human. Sad nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabrielS.Apr 23, 2007
This movie was made in 2004, 15 years through Romania's painful transition to free-market economy and all that the 'west' brings with it. Attitudes - so Romanians, in their devoidness of showy love as most westerners are used This movie was made in 2004, 15 years through Romania's painful transition to free-market economy and all that the 'west' brings with it. Attitudes - so Romanians, in their devoidness of showy love as most westerners are used to - are both bleak and humane and I liked the way Cristi Puiu portrayed that naturalness. Top film. Bitter, but good medicine for the soul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoryP.Feb 21, 2008
Excellent. No doubt about it. Me being a conventional lad, I did find the 'naturalistic' pace a bit head wrecking for the first 20 minutes. After that I gave into it and found the whole thing an extremely rewarding experience. very Excellent. No doubt about it. Me being a conventional lad, I did find the 'naturalistic' pace a bit head wrecking for the first 20 minutes. After that I gave into it and found the whole thing an extremely rewarding experience. very real and moving. The best film I've seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful