Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 29, 2012
    100
    Rachel Weisz - in what has to be the performance of her career, and there have been lots of good ones - plays an intelligent woman in the grip of a lust that's too big to handle or suppress. She can either ride the tiger or be devoured.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 24, 2012
    100
    The movie is a museum of emotions, brought to contemporary life through the director's artistry and his leading lady's fire. Here, they show us, is how people felt, and hurt, in another time. Their love and pain can touch us today.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 24, 2012
    100
    The Deep Blue Sea is not a showy or pronounced movie. Open yourself up to it, however, and it might destroy you.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Mar 22, 2012
    100
    To put the matter perhaps more abstractly than such a sensual film deserves, it is about the fate of untameable, irrational desire in a world that does not seem to have a place for it.
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Mar 22, 2012
    100
    Exceptionally well-made and completely fearless in its depiction of the widest range of romantic emotions, this is a film as fiercely committed to passion as its heroine, and that's saying a lot.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 21, 2012
    100
    There's a suffocating air to The Deep Blue Sea that makes it harder to access than other period romances of its kind, but Davies aligns himself wholly with Hester.
  7. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Mar 21, 2012
    100
    In this typically exquisite, nuanced, memory-infused work from master British filmmaker Terence Davies, we believe every minute of the torment of Hester (Rachel Weisz).
  8. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Mar 23, 2012
    91
    A fine example of a director bringing just enough of his style to revitalize possibly dated material.
  9. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 12, 2012
    88
    The beautiful misery of The Deep Blue Sea - Terence Davies' crushing adaptation of Terence Rattigan's 1952 play - is almost too much.
  10. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 28, 2012
    88
    The film most of all is about Hester, who stares out the window and smokes.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    2
    Interminable, indulgent and pretentious (unrequited) love drama which fails to provide one sympathetic main character (rich girl looking toInterminable, indulgent and pretentious (unrequited) love drama which fails to provide one sympathetic main character (rich girl looking to indulge in a spicy affair; volatile paramour with an adosecelent attitude; ageing, doting cuckold). The intrusive, melodramatic score and clanging 'arty shots' further annoy and mystify. Poor show. Full Review »
  2. Aug 7, 2012
    6
    This film, for me, was a bit mixed. It was very well done and shot beautifully, the only gripe I had was that I never really had an emotionalThis film, for me, was a bit mixed. It was very well done and shot beautifully, the only gripe I had was that I never really had an emotional connection with the characters. It was a very slow paced movie but I was expecting that going in. While the film was pretty well acted for the most part it still seemed a little forced and fake. Decent film, if you like dramas/romance. Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    1
    This is another one of those movies beloved by the lofty critics and hated by me. Why do I keep getting suckered into seeing these awfulThis is another one of those movies beloved by the lofty critics and hated by me. Why do I keep getting suckered into seeing these awful movies? It was dark, morose, contrived and dark! Oh did I mention it was dark? Post WW II England, this movie attempts to emotionally manipulate us into caring for a woman torn between lust and who knows what? I didn't care, my wife wanted to leave early as did a friend. Slow, boring and insignificant drivel. Stay home! Full Review »