The Deep End

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. M.Carey
    Aug 27, 2001
    9
    I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother who would go to any length to protect her family deserves all the critical acclaim she's been receiving, and her malevolent blackmailer, Goron I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother who would go to any length to protect her family deserves all the critical acclaim she's been receiving, and her malevolent blackmailer, Goron Visnjic, who is transformed into a compassionate and selfless human being -- bad boys always fall for pretty damsels in distress, don't they? -- is both sexy and charismatic. Everyone I know who has seen this film loved it, which is why I went to see it. I'm glad I did. Film Noir is back, baby -- this time in color -- and it's as dark, consuming, and menacing as ever. Expand
  2. JohnB.
    Feb 7, 2007
    8
    Should have had more of a gay subplot. Too stereotypical homophobic.
  3. DonD.
    May 4, 2002
    9
    Tilda Swinton give a speech about trying harder which should be memorized by everyone. An excellent thriller with a heart of platinum.
  4. AlanM.
    Sep 7, 2002
    10
    Brilliant film for intelligent adults.
  5. GregoryL.
    Jan 8, 2004
    10
    No film in memory has so deftly and deeply examined a mother-son relationship. Even better, Tilda Swinton and Goran Visnjic show the possibilities, and the costs, of moral dialogue. A great movie.
  6. DerekH.
    Oct 1, 2001
    7
    Not unlike "One False Move", the deceptively involving story surprises with unexpected character developments. A film which continues to leave an oddly satisfying taste. Recommended, if for no other reason, for it's unconventional and character-rich plot.
  7. ArnoldP.
    Aug 26, 2001
    8
    Engrossing film noir updated and beautifully photographed in the unlikely setting of Lake Tahoe. Swinton gives riveting understated yet deeply involving performance as the mother who protects her gay son. The transition of the petty criminal who attempts to blackmail mom, is an intriguing twist. A film that stays with you.
  8. TonyP.
    Sep 26, 2001
    9
    A brilliant expose on unconditional love. Great performances and inspired directing.
  9. YoriD.
    Sep 30, 2001
    10
    Brilliant, subtle, beautiful and completely satisfying by not satisfying today's typical, big budget "Hollywood" formula. Movie for adults that don't get tricked by 2 minute-trailers and studio brainwashing promotions...
  10. BenS.
    Sep 16, 2003
    7
    I enjoyed Swinton very much, and Visnijic was darkly appealing. The true bad guy in the film wasn't really that menacing, though, and the story gets caught in ambiguities that tend to cause one to wonder where the story is really going. A good film for taking it easy on a Saturday night, all in all, thought you might want a cup of java at your side for the slow parts, which there are I enjoyed Swinton very much, and Visnijic was darkly appealing. The true bad guy in the film wasn't really that menacing, though, and the story gets caught in ambiguities that tend to cause one to wonder where the story is really going. A good film for taking it easy on a Saturday night, all in all, thought you might want a cup of java at your side for the slow parts, which there are a lot of. Expand
  11. LaurieK.
    Nov 7, 2001
    7
    A good movie, but the critical acclaim seems vastly overdone. Interesting story of an average wife and mother protecting hearth and home against the most sordid sort of blackmail is undone by some cheesy plot elements and some staggering improbabilities. Some have found Swinton's performance subtle, I found it inert and monotonous. Goran Visnjic's conflicted blackmailer, and A good movie, but the critical acclaim seems vastly overdone. Interesting story of an average wife and mother protecting hearth and home against the most sordid sort of blackmail is undone by some cheesy plot elements and some staggering improbabilities. Some have found Swinton's performance subtle, I found it inert and monotonous. Goran Visnjic's conflicted blackmailer, and Jonathan Tucker's bruised sensitivity as Swinton's son far outshine her. Expand
  12. M.Carey
    Aug 27, 2001
    9
    I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother who would go to any length to protect her family deserves all the critical acclaim she's been receiving, and her malevolent blackmailer, Goron I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire film. It offered not a moment's rest. By the end of the movie, I was breathless. This was one hell of a rollercoaster ride. Tilda Swinton's compelling performance as a young mother who would go to any length to protect her family deserves all the critical acclaim she's been receiving, and her malevolent blackmailer, Goron Visnjic, who is transformed into a compassionate and selfless human being -- bad boys always fall for pretty damsels in distress, don't they? -- is both sexy and charismatic. Everyone I know who has seen this film loved it, which is why I went to see it. I'm glad I did. Film Noir is back, baby -- this time in color -- and it's as dark, consuming, and menacing as ever. Expand
  13. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    A relatively unknown film turns out to be a rather pleasant surprise. A thriller with more than one twists. Tilda Swinton is once again a delight to watch.
  14. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    The enchanting opening score and a dominant blue hue eases its way of a concealed familial drama with a murder case, a blackmail and an in-the-closet gay son. Out of expectation, a lesser impact on the gay culture, the film endeavors a strenuous effort to accent on a desperate motherâ
  15. Jan 13, 2016
    10
    Masterful performances from Goran Visnjic, Tilda Swinton and of course Jonathan Tucker. These guys are absolute masters in their own professions (which is of course acting) and I believe that each of them plays the role exactly right, to tune the movie in a perfect pitch and tempo. Nothing else to say except, congratulations Goran, Tilda & Jonathan.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Remains rooted in the real world, which makes its story all the more satisfying -- and chilling.
  2. Delicious, intelligent thriller.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    90
    Elegantly made, romantically doomy, curiously affecting movie.