The Den

Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 17, 2014
    70
    This is the rare film that would actually seem even creepier watched from home on your computer, preferably alone to enhance its voyeuristic effect.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Mar 8, 2014
    63
    The film is dizzyingly creepy in its refracting of horrors through the cascading windows of computer programs we've come to understand more intimately than our own selves.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 13, 2014
    60
    Almost every image in this movie — from webcams, websites and laptop cameras — appears on a monitor. Scenes pulse with the Internet’s speed and sprawl, aided by clever editing that pops. The effect is insular, off-putting and disconcertingly familiar.
  4. Reviewed by: Martin Tsai
    Mar 20, 2014
    40
    Like many found-footage films before it, The Den never entirely suspends disbelief. It doesn't satisfyingly account for how the characters are producing all the footage.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Mar 11, 2014
    40
    The Den's commitment to its presentational conceit leads to a number of implausible scenarios, but what's more disheartening is the gore-fest it turns into once the curtain is thrown back on the mystery propelling both Elizabeth and the narrative.
  6. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Mar 14, 2014
    38
    At least it's admirable that Donohue manages to do almost all his shooting with either web cams, phone cams or surveillance cameras. But that does not translate into an entirely enjoyable viewing experience. Plus, there are almost no real shocks or scares to rattle you out of the stupor that inevitably develops from observing someone else fiddle with their laptop for much of the running time.
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    The Den was an amazing experience, it's a film full of intensity and effective jump scares, one of the best found-footage films of the year,The Den was an amazing experience, it's a film full of intensity and effective jump scares, one of the best found-footage films of the year, one of the best films of the year, very, very underrated, i just love this film and all the issues realted with the "Deep Web". Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2015
    2
    This is the most "WTF mate?" horror movie I've seen a while. Not really all that scary because its so grounded in reality but then even failsThis is the most "WTF mate?" horror movie I've seen a while. Not really all that scary because its so grounded in reality but then even fails at making reality real. Stuff like it takes more than 10 seconds to wipe a hard drive or how hackers could supposedly activate the chic's computer while it was powered off. And the protagonist is just so hard to sympathize with when time and time again she showed absolutely no common sense or shred of reasonability in her actions / reactions. And god the ending was bad. This was where the real WTF factor comes in because it basically just raises the question all over again about whether the whole thing was a hoax or not. Also it was chalk-filled with TV tropes everywhere. Bad. Would not watch again. Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2014
    9
    I guess since all my life I've been surrounded by stuff like Youtube, Facebook, and Omegle that this really scared the **** outta me. It'sI guess since all my life I've been surrounded by stuff like Youtube, Facebook, and Omegle that this really scared the **** outta me. It's intense, suspenseful, scary, gory, everything you could want from a horror flick. I highly recommend this. Full Review »