Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After receiving a grant for her graduate thesis, Elizabeth Benton (Melanie Papalia) logs onto a video-chat site known as the Den, on a mission to explore the habits of its users. During one of her random video-chats, Elizabeth watches in horror as a teenage girl is gruesomely murdered in front of her webcam. While the police dismiss it as a viral prank, Elizabeth believes what she saw is real and takes it upon herself to find the truth. Her life quickly spirals out of control as she gets pulled deeper into the darkest recesses of the internet. And eventually, Elizabeth finds herself trapped in a twisted game in which she and her loved ones are targeted for the same grisly fate as the first victim. [IFC Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Mar 17, 2014
    70
    This is the rare film that would actually seem even creepier watched from home on your computer, preferably alone to enhance its voyeuristic effect.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Mar 8, 2014
    63
    The film is dizzyingly creepy in its refracting of horrors through the cascading windows of computer programs we've come to understand more intimately than our own selves.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Mar 13, 2014
    60
    Almost every image in this movie — from webcams, websites and laptop cameras — appears on a monitor. Scenes pulse with the Internet’s speed and sprawl, aided by clever editing that pops. The effect is insular, off-putting and disconcertingly familiar.
  4. Reviewed by: Martin Tsai
    Mar 20, 2014
    40
    Like many found-footage films before it, The Den never entirely suspends disbelief. It doesn't satisfyingly account for how the characters are producing all the footage.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Mar 11, 2014
    40
    The Den's commitment to its presentational conceit leads to a number of implausible scenarios, but what's more disheartening is the gore-fest it turns into once the curtain is thrown back on the mystery propelling both Elizabeth and the narrative.
  6. Reviewed by: Susan Wloszczyna
    Mar 14, 2014
    38
    At least it's admirable that Donohue manages to do almost all his shooting with either web cams, phone cams or surveillance cameras. But that does not translate into an entirely enjoyable viewing experience. Plus, there are almost no real shocks or scares to rattle you out of the stupor that inevitably develops from observing someone else fiddle with their laptop for much of the running time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    The Den was an amazing experience, it's a film full of intensity and effective jump scares, one of the best found-footage films of the year, one of the best films of the year, very, very underrated, i just love this film and all the issues realted with the "Deep Web". Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    OMG those are my first words about this movie. I will first say I'm a Horror movie buff and I have seen more horror films then I can count and it is my favorite genre of films so with that said I will begin. I had first seen a trailer and heard about this movie a few months prior to it's release and I couldn't wait to watch it just based on the premise. I love found footage movies.

    I will say that I didn't know any of the actors nor was I worried bc that doesn't always make a great horror film as this shows. The actors did a terrific job especially the main girl Elizabeth. I will say that for a short film it was Uber intense and very much kept you on the edge of your seat. The violence was gritty and in your face and the questions it raises are very valid especially from a technology standpoint. I for one don't scare easy at all and the jump scares were the best I have seen in a while and even knowing they were coming and it still got me was Impressive.

    I would recommend this movie to any and all that love horror and appreciate what this film does in the time span it is allotted. I would also note that the movie does raise one or two questions but nothing that would kill the movie buzz once the credits start rolling. I for one hope this director keeps up with his career bc as I said I love this movie and it is def going in the books for direction as well as great scares and overall atmosphere.
    Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2014
    7
    Just enough bang for your buck in this thriller.
    Intense and unnerving, kept me on the edge of my seat. Me being a huge technology buff, this
    was right up my alley.

    Usually I'm not one to enjoy a movie set basically in the same setting, All The Time, 'man on a ledge', 'open water'... etc. However, this tech scene, computer wise with webcams and camera phones, camera's... etc... was spectacular.

    It gave me just enough jumps and moments where I felt the need to turn away or cringe and cower into myself on the couch, yet couldn't take my eyes off my laptop. It is a MUST to watch on your computer, alone, in the dark, headphones locked in tight.

    Definitely more of a thriller than a horror movie.
    Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    It is below mediocre, nothing remarkable, it is basically a little slasher horror film with an internet connection. The creators are just willing to deliver the same usual scares, with just adding complexity to the plot that is ineffective! Expand

Trailers