User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1026 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and the acting ensemble. The films writting is also masterful but, it works extremely well because of the acting. Overall a great film.
  2. May 21, 2013
    9
    An excellent film with an outstanding cast brilliant direction and genius writing and a spectacular ending. This is one of the finest films of Scorsese since Goodfellas & Taxi Driver.
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Martin Scorsese's translation of "Internal Affairs" offers nothing new or shocking except for a surprisingly well performed Wahlberg. He ends the movie with his own american twist (everybody dies) and boom, before you know it the movie is barely done. Overall its good, but he barely makes his point in "The Departed" with his overaggressive 'American' translation of the stunning original. I recommend Martin Scorsese to try better, like the time where he had the spirit to direct "Taxi Driver". Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    One of Scorsese's most brilliant works. It may be an adaptation, but the rebirth is stronger like a phoenix. Strong, strong acting, excellent directing, and involving storyline make this mob thriller one of the highlight films of the year.
  5. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Mr. Scorsese just put me in a position, after watching this movie, to be appalled at how gruesome and unnecessarily violent this movie is, or to say, "What a masterpiece!" I think I'll go with the latter.
  6. Oct 6, 2010
    3
    This movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly people saying the F word over and over again. Some parts of the movie tries to have crude humor but it fails miserably. Now I saw this movie before I saw the original infernal affairs I saw infernal affairs about a year after an thought the original was much much MUCH better. This movie lacks proper character development and we feel no emotion for the characters. The only thing better about this remake is the mob boss played by Jack Nicholson. This movie is WAY overrated and I really don't recomend watching it. I however can recomend watching the original movie. The orginal movie "Inferna Affairs" has what this movies missing(a heart). Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Crime film is very thrilling, hard to stop watching. Deserving of its Best Picture Oscar.

    Scorsese directs a violent update of the well-known Chinese mob film, INFERNAL AFFAIRS, from just four years prior. Set in Boston, Massachusetts, the story tells of a mob boss named Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson) who sends out a criminal, Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon). Simultaneously, the local police have sent out Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) to infiltrate Costelloâ
    Expand
  8. Mar 31, 2012
    1
    Uninteresting. It is very overrated. It is too bad that Marty won for this film when he clearly had better work that was overlooked. The accents seem so forced and the storyline is just another gangster film.
  9. Aug 17, 2014
    5
    A gripping, action-packed thriller, full of sudden twists and some literally breathtaking moments. If this is all you are looking for, watch it. Definitely.
  10. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Martin Scorsese did a masterful job on this movie. The way that he first of all got such great talent together on film was amazing. The actual story line is quite entertaining and keeps you wondering whats going to happen next. Overall, it's one of the best movies to come out that year.
  11. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Not as good as Scorsese's transcendant "Goodfellas", but what film could be compared to that masterpiece other than "The Godfather"? It's pretty shocking to see that this is the only film directed by Scorsese that ever won Best Picture (not that it matters), because I can think of four or five films that I prefer of his over "The Departed". Maybe what this film does more than anything is show how illustrious and superb Scorsese's career has been. Expand
  12. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    This is a great crime thriller.Scorcese directs this film with flawless ease. Everyone of the actors: Dicaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, Nicholson, Farmiga, Baldwin, and the rest of the cast are absolutely phenomenal. the only complaint i have of it is that it has a slow start. everything else: golden
  13. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    This movie had me on the edge of my seat literally the whole time i watched it. Great story, great cast, and great action. The thing i like best about this movie is how they kept it pretty life like. No one took twelve bullets to the chest and kept on walking around.
  14. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    The Departed is a masterpiece: Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon and Jack Nicholson are wonderful together. And I'm Shipping Up To Boston is a wonderful song for a soundtrack.
  15. Sep 27, 2010
    7
    very very very good film problem is i gave it a 7 only because he stole the idea from another film which means i have to mark it down i would have given it like a 9
  16. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Solid performances from all actors but once again DiCaprio especially impresses me. He's undercover, struggling with unimaginable anxiety and paranoia which he barely manages to keep a lid on through abuse of anxiolytics and he delivers us a solid and believable character.
    Mark Wahlberg's outrageous swearing and in-your-face attitude reminds us there are few, if any, true heroes out there. Faced with the reality of sociopathic criminals and blood-ridden crime scenes even the good guys get gritty. And on the topic of sociopathy, Jack Nicholson unflinchingly becomes the personification of depravity. For me, the graphic violence and bad language is justified: these are men pushed to their limits. And the death of the characters (especially the unexpected death of DiCaprio's character) is shocking and therefore the violence of their deaths should also be shocking.
    Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    Apart from some great acting,there was almost nothing in the movie worth praise.The story was unnecessarily confusing and Scorsese didnt do well to omit that confusion.I was and am still surprsied why this movie won the oscar...???
  18. Jan 15, 2011
    8
    the movie was quite good, although it could be even better considering the cast of actors, and the great Martin Scorsese as director. i don't know if you can call it a classic, because it's forgettable in my opinion. i really was hoping to be an entertaining ride full of thrills, but i just got the entertainment. some parts may be unrealistic, but, however it is a good film. 8 - ...
  19. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    the best movie of 06 no doubt, with all the stars and egos involved, there was always the risk it may not quite work but it was well done and made for an awesome, action drama, well done scorcese :)
  20. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Never before has a movie left me gasping in amazement. It's the movie equivalent of that rare sort of novel where you find yourself checking to see how many pages are left and hoping there are more, not fewer.
  21. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Although I was initially disappointed by The Departed, time has seen me come around. My grievance of the film was the fact that it lacked depth. It felt too slight and flimsy to make a serious dent. That said, I now love The Departed for that exact reason. It's colorful, light and a lot of fun. Especially Mark Wahlberg.
  22. Jan 5, 2011
    9
    A brilliant movie with brilliant performances.. Excellent execution, Excellent Casting.. Its the best movie released in 2006.... No Doubt. Too good.... We cant even judge the performances..
  23. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    A twisting, brutal knife to any other gangland story; rightly crowned as Scorsese's modern masterpiece. Di Caprio fights through the underbelly as mole Costigan while Damon schmoozes through the upper echelons of the Police force, unaware of his ties with mobster Costello. The culmination of events, as both sides learn and hunt the rival moles in each others factions is gripping right until the bloody finale and epilogue. Expand
  24. May 29, 2011
    8
    While I watched The Departed, I grew to like it more and more with every growing second. It was either the vigorous cast of DiCaprio, Damon, Nicholsan, and Whalburg, or the interesting "rat" storyline, or just the fact that people were just dropping dead for, actually, good reasons. The light humor was also very entertaining, as was the non-stop action. But I can truly tell you, this film is a must watch. The Departed takes place in the city of Boston. It follows to pure rivals; an Irish gang and the state police. During the coarse of the film, both the police and the gang have a "rat", or a mole, each coming from the other rival. It shows the police rat's side, (DiCaprio), to be the good guy. But then it also shows the gang rat's side (Dammon), to be the bad one, obviously. So the film just becomes a race to see who each other's rat is, and to get the Irish gang obilorated once and for all. You just have to see the rest to see what happens.
    The acting in this film just blew your mind, right from the very moment that you saw the freakin amazing casting of Damon, DiCaprio, and Nicholsan, you knew you were getting yourself into an action packed movie. I would personally say that DiCaprio and Nicholsan were tied as the best actors in the film, for there was just so much intensity coming from the two. It was as if they had perfect chemistry, but they were scared s**tless about each other. I wouldn't have been surprised if Nicholsan won Best Supporting Actor at the Academy Awards, for this is the type of guy the Academy likes. Really, who doesnt like Nicholsan? And who doesnt like Scorsese? I can tell you that I freakin love him, and adore him for his work. It's extremely wrong that his previous films never won for Best Picture, but truly, if there had to be one film that would've won, it would've been this one. He gives a clear message at the end of the film, if you want a happy ending, sad things have GOT to happen. And that's what makes him the best director of 2006, and this the best film of 2006.
    Expand
  25. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Brilliant. An all star cast. Brutal realism. One of the most developed screenplays I've ever seen. This film amazes me and lends itself to mandatory repeated viewings. So much is going on here, but it is all the better for it.
  26. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies of the decade. Leonardo di caprio is as good as hell. Jack and matt are awesome as always. Very strong plot and acting is to the point. Way better than the orignal
  27. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This movie is without overstating or lying my favorite movie and in my opinion, the best movie I have ever seen. A lot of people will complain because it is not as good as the Hong Kong version, but look at the differences in the respect and success each have been given. The Departed was a great movie. Internal Affairs may have been a good movie but it could not match the passion or brilliance of this movie. Expand
  28. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Being a bit skeptical going into this movie knowing that it is going to be a bloodbath and use f*** as a space-marker, the story telling, acting, and overall plot totally diverts your attention away from the gruesomeness. DiCaprio's performance deserved and Oscar as well as Scorsese's direction. Brilliant movie.
  29. j30
    Feb 13, 2012
    10
    A first rate, white knuckle thrill ride from the great Martin Scorsese. Not only does The Departed build off the excellent original (Infernal Affairs) but it has a tour de force of acting performances from Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Wahlberg, and Jack Nicholson. Scorsese is at his best, there is not a dull moment in it's 151 minute run time.
  30. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    i've never seen a more gritty and dramatic insight into mob families. will brilliant performances from the entire cast. this is a brilliant action packed movie. brilliantly directed by scorcese, this is one of my favourites.
  31. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    What can I say? Martin is a genius. Perfectly casted, directed, written. Why are some people giving it 1/10? It's almost an insult to give it a low score like that. The movie is brilliant
  32. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    This Oscar-winner was a great disappointment. Implausible plot (the Matt Damon character recruited by gangsters specifically to be a mole in the police? has that ever happened? Thought not). Jack Nicholson playing the same hammy old character he's been playing for the last 20 years. Casting Ray Wimstone as an American gangster? How crazy is that? Nicholson's moll is there just to massage Nicholson's ego (and other places). The police shrink slows the plot down whenever she's on - she's only there to "prove" that Scorsese hasn't got a problem with women. The multiple shootings at the end were absurd, and as a viewer I didn't care about a single one of the deaths. And that porn theatre? Worst anachronism ever. Proof, if proof were needed, that the more "stars" a film has the worse it is. Expand
  33. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    "I don't want to be product of my environment..I want my environment to be a product of me". Not only were these the first words uttered in this fantastic piece of cinema, but they are words that Martin Scorsese has lived and filmed by for his illustrious career.
    The Departed is another gold star on an almost flawless report for the director. He utilises superb story-telling, wonderfully
    diverse characters with exploding personalities and enough profanity to curl the greasiest of hairs, its not just the dark side of crime, its also the darkest side of the law.
    A remake of Hong Kong film 'Internal Affairs', we see mob supremo Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson) luring young Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon) to a life of crime to the end of him graduating from police academy and infiltrating the Massachusetts State Police, but Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) is playing the same game, being asked by Captain Queenan (Martin Sheen) and Sergeant Dignam (Mark Whalberg) of the SIU unit within the police, to infiltrate Costellos gang due to his families ties wthin the mob.
    What follows is a truly dangerous game, asking the audience just how much you can handle while under this much pressure.
    Every star in this 149 minute show puts in an Oscar worthy performance, whether it me Whalbergs fantastically profanity-laced speeches, Alec Baldwin fast-paced speaking, Sheen's cold-hearted stance against the criminals he hunts ('Any of you mugs got a light") or whether it is the almost psychotic Nicholson who improvised a complete scene in this movie, but its perhaps the two centred performers who steal the show, Damon is and easy going within the police force, while Dicaprio is fearing for his life every single day he infiltrates.
    Scorsese does an excellent job telling an almost even side to each story, but it is ultimately down to the fast paced story and cat and mouse near-misses that set this film up as one of the greatest of the decade, the performances in particular set it apart from other dramas of the same genre.
    One Scorsese picture that cannot be forgotten
    Expand
  34. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    Overall Movie: 8 Acting: 9 Storyline: 7 Although there are gaps in the storyline, the ferocious acting makes this crime drama a hit. The only Scorsese film this beats is Taxi Driver. I'm afraid Raging Bull and Goodfellas are better.
  35. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    The best film I've ever seen. This picture has it all: good, exciting story, great actors, action, humor, love and good music. Dicaprio did a BRILLIANT job, top actor, if he isn't the best. I know, some might think I'm exaggerating, but I'm sure that I'm not. Enjoy this piece of art, you won't regret it.
  36. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    It is not perfect -very few movies are- but it is fantastic! Many things about this movie have been said already...I am a girl...apparently this is not the type of movie that girls adore, but I do...and I have it in my collection! :) I can watch it over and over and over again....well, perhaps not more than twice a year!
  37. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    Fundamental Martin Scorsese. The film is tremendously well-written and casted. There should no comparisons to Goodfellas or The Godfather; The Departed is a new addition to the group. A worthy addition, at that.
  38. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    people like to say that this only one the Oscar because Scorsese has been snubbed so many times when he should have deserved it. while that is true he should have won the Oscar for taxi driver, raging bull and goodfellas (or at the very least one of the three), this in no way effects the fact that this was the best movie of the year and truly shows Scorsese understanding modern film making. this was almost the perfect movie if not for annoying unnecessary love interest (not unlike in gangs of new York). But while i don't approve of the addition of the love interest i appreciate that Scorsese did not spend to much time with it. this is by far one of the best movies of the 00's and gets judged to harshly because it was by no means Scorsese's best film but was the one that got him the Oscar so people think that it didn't deserve it. the truth is of the his four best this is the least deserving of the three but in no way undeserving. Expand
  39. Apr 1, 2012
    6
    The Departed has good acting and a pretty good story but it felt like just another gangster film; violence, drugs, and a bunch of thugs after one thing, money.
  40. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This is a 10 out of 10 movie. A great mobster movie showing the American dream. Acting is pretty good. Story is really good, and so is the score. Overall, this is a really, really great movie. You really should watch this movie.
  41. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Brilliant. Absolutely amazing. An intense, thrilling plot with GREAT acting. It had twists that I didn't see coming and had been on the edge of my seat. A truly great film.
  42. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    The Departed is phenomenal to say the least. And I don't throw that word around lightly either. The story is great and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Scorsese is at his absolute finest with this film. DiCaprio gives a stellar performance as rookie "cop" Billy Costigan. Jack Nicholson was the perfect casting for Frank Costello and Martin Sheen and Mark Wahlberg are a great duo. Not to forget Matt Damon who is excellent as always. Writing: great. Casting: great. Dialogue: great. Acting: great. Cinematography: great. If you want to watch an all around solid film that will keep you guessing and waiting, this is the film to watch. Expand
  43. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This is a great movie for anyone who likes a good entertaining movie. The way the story lines fit together was great, and the ending was amazing, I would suggest this to anyone who likes a good action movie.
  44. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece from director Martin Scorsese. Probably one of the most tense, edge-of-your seat thrillers ever made. The performances from Leonardo DiCaprio, Jack Nicholson, and Matt Damon really add a lot to the suspense, too.
  45. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Just a fantastic film. Each and every actor does such a marvelous job and the movie leaves you wanting more, which is the key reason why this is a 10. The end was great, but yet, I still want more. I'm almost sad that the movie is over. Highly recommend. Fantastic film.
  46. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    This is a criminal drama with a very strong storyline (which do not have many twists, every episode logically flows into the next one), good number of bright characters played by outstanding actors. I'd say the movie does not have a lot of action in it, but you feel that psychological tension and wait for something cruel to happen around the next corner.
  47. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'The Departed' is another Scorsese masterpiece. The film's clever and full of twists. The acting is top-notch from everyone, the cast is also brilliant. The story is engaging and entertaining, I didn't even get bored, considering the runtime.
    My only issue is the runtime of the film, I mean I was engaged througout and it was great but it's not a film that can be watched whenever you want. Still overall I couldn't recommend 'The Departed' enough, it's just brilliant.
    Expand
  48. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    The Departed heralds Martin Scorsese's return to the top of his game and simultaneously secures for the film a place in the pantheon of the very best of American crime cinema. Welcome back to Scorsese's mean streets.
  49. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Scorsese's The Departed is a new American crime classic. Every aspect of the film flows together so easily from the first frame to when the credits roll, making it compulsively watchable.
  50. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    Como um amigo havia dito, OS INFILTRADOS uma aula de cinema em todos os sentidos.
  51. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    Who better to helm a two-and-a-half-hour long dramatic irony marathon than one of cinema's greatest seminal filmmakers? Scorsese's Best-Picture-Winning "The Departed" surely deserves all of the hype it has received over the years, as it's an almost infinite spiral of intrigue, tension, aesthetic merit, and wondrously playful dialogue.
  52. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Riveting suspense and brilliant storytelling describe this masterpiece. I watched this movie only for Leonardo DiCaprio but felt like Damon, Nicholson and Wahlberg acted on the same level if not better. The music was captivating. The psychiatrist subplot felt a bit contrived but it shed so much light on Costigan's character that I didn't really care. I would accept it as coincidence if the result is this brilliant. Expand
  53. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Though I hate to admit its not Scorsese's greatest work, The Departed is thrilling and shocking at many levels, leaving in hints of humor and just flat out what the hell is gonna happen next.
  54. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    Scorsese made again a masterpiece that blow you're mind. Everything on this movie is smart, the story, the cast, and the characters. Good story and an unexpected end. Very good movie.
  55. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    A mesmerizing film with an excellent ensemble cast. It is certainly Martin Scorsese's best, along with his films "Taxi Driver", "Raging Bull" and "Goodfellas". Don't miss this film.
  56. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    This movies is just amazing, Is on the pantheon with Taxi Driver, Raging Bull and Goodfellas. Take your breath away and amazing performances. Well deserved the Oscar!! And off course one of the best films of 2000s.
  57. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    As said Peter Travers of Rolling Stone. is a new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here in its highest beams.
    This film is a true masterpiece of Mr. Scorsese, if you know the amazing movie direct a police-criminal in addition to adapt a script to give us a glorious orgasm film called The Departed.
    The story development only increases all the
    virtues that contains this tape, to reach a final height of the circumstances because he has all the elements to declare it as the movie of 2006.
    It's not just the plot (what script!), Is the atmosphere, the tension, the fast pace, the harshness, hardness and action, great performances. Any meeting of the leadership quality in the acting and how to bring such a complex history.
    In this film should not only nominated, but rewarding in all the glorious prize Starring Leonardo Dicaprio because now if I can achieve much more than majestual, really epic, clear that Jack Nicholson is like a fish in the water doing what she likes be a perfect bastard, at home and in their actions.
    Damon also does very well, shows us that we can give a good taste in their movies and last but not least the myriad of side is superb: from Mark Wahlberg Martin Sheen, all make this film is (or at least should) be remembered for raising so much wasted talent.
    Undoubtedly, one of the best films of the decade 2000.
    Expand
  58. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Despite the film's last act misstep, the movie's worth watching just for the journey. Scorsese remains a master, and he's working his finest magic here. He refuses to fall into the usual pitfalls of the gangster drama, and continues to find completely new nuances in genres that others have already mined nearly to death. Cops versus killers has been done to the point of improbability, but in front of Marty's lens it's a brand new game. It's not quite the masterpiece that some of this other recent films like The Aviator and Bringing Out the Dead have been, but The Departed is a work of strong vision and sharp personality. Expand
  59. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    The Departed is Martin Scorsese's most recent gangster film about two Boston state police officers (Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon) on separate sides of the law who cross paths when a rat is seeked out in both the police, and a gangster's (Jack Nicholson) crew of Irish gangsters. Is it better then Goodfellas, hell no. But it is one damn good crime film.
  60. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Scorsese scores again with this intense crime thriller. Truly Scorsese's best mobster film since "Goodfellas". It's filled with fantastic acting, great screenplay and an intriguing story. Overall, it's a Scorsese film with a bit more pizazz. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  61. May 4, 2013
    10
    Martin Scorsece's best film, by far. One of my favorite movies, the entire cast knocked it out of the park, especially Jack Nicholson. Scorcese's best film since Goodfellas.
  62. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    It was good. It is a classic Crime Picture, but it is not for 10. In every dialogue we can see that there is a bad word. I like bad words in movies but not so many!!
  63. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Jam-packed with excellent performances from an utterly stacked cast, well written characters, in-depth and genius plot, a blood-boiling climax, and possibly the greatest ending given to any film. The only downsides are that some parts tend to drag on, but the overall experience is phenomenal.
  64. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    Okay. Disgraceful that it's a remake of an amazing and original film, and it wins Best Picture. Jack Nicholson is one of my favorite actors, but he does not fit in with the whole premise and cast. Leonardo is okay, Matt Damon Vera Farmiga plays a c***, and Mark Wahlberg is nothing short of annoying. No remake would have sufficed.
  65. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    I can't shake the feeling of how much this movie reminds me of "Goodfellas".

    The Departed is a slam-bam thriller, exceeding my expectations, which were already very high. The way Scorcese moves between scenes and plays this movie up is genius.

    The script is excellent, providing rich dialogue to move the gripping story along, and the cinematography is just wonderful. The angles and
    style of filming that Martin Scorcese is famous for emanates here, shining brighter than films of kin.

    The acting is just amazing, with a star-studded cast that delivers the goods, and then some. I enjoyed Matt Damon in the title roll, and Leonardo DiCaprio trails right behind him. Jack Nicholson brings charisma to the roll of Frank Costello, and executes with Oscar-worthy style. I especially liked Mark Wahlberg and Alec Baldwin's loose cannon-like characters. They provided a stunning edge to an already sharp blade of a film.

    I can go on and on about everything else that is good in this movie, how it all clicks together, but I suggest you watch it for yourself if you haven't already, and find out what all the hype is about! I would give it more than 100 if I could.
    Expand
  66. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    The Departed is astonishing.
    Incredible acting performances from Damon, Di-caprio, and Nicholas matched with top quality direction from Martin Scorsese. An unbelievably great plot with excitement and twists to leave you speechless.
  67. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest movies I've ever seen. The plot behind this movie portrays Whitey Bulger which makes the movie interesting. When I saw that Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio and Mark Wahlberg were in this movie I knew I had to see it. I was blown away at how amazing this movie was. This is number two on my favorite movies of all time (Argo is my favorite movie!) IF you haven't seen this movie, I highly recommend you to watch this movie. It will be an intense experience. Expand
  68. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    A truly drama, crime thriller masterpiece in which cops and criminals struggle to find out the mole inside their own forces in an attempt to finish their businesses smoothly. While Billy Costigan gradually loses his former personality due to playing the character of a criminal for too long, Colin Sullivan works on a new plan to both get rid of his boss, "godfather" Frank Costello and the informer who has infiltrated Frank's gang. I was a bit disappointed by the end of the film; Billy died trying to avenge the death of his captain, Queenan. But I still think the movie is great because Sergeant Dignam, eventually, successfully kills Colin as a worthy punishment of this smart-street criminal. Wonderful flick that i would recommend to anyone looking for a crime blockbuster Expand
  69. May 4, 2014
    8
    Martin Scorsese has a superb movie in every decade 70s: Taxi Driver 80s: Raging Bull 90s: Goodfellas and he kept the streak alive with The Departed for the 2000s, this film has all the tools, superb casting, performances, charachterization and direction. Matt Damon is great as the corrupt cop, DiCaprio is in one of his best as the undercover cop, Mark Wahlberg as the butt-kicking cop, and finally the performance that made this movie what it is Jack Nicholson as Frank Costello, in 1972 Jack was in talks to play Michael Corleone in The Godfather and i always kept thinking how Jack would play a gangster, in 2006 Jack put on one of his best perfomances as Irish Mafia Leader. I would totally recommend this movie to anyone Expand
  70. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    10
    The Departed is absolutely the best movie by director Martin Scorsese (in my opinion). There was never a dull moment during the 152 minutes you'd use to watch this film.
  71. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    One of the best Martin Scorsese's movies.There is not too much action but there is an interesting story. I know it's a remake from a Japanese movie and i watched it but Scorsese's one is by far the best.
  72. Jun 22, 2014
    4
    I'm sorry but I find this film awfully overrated. It's overlong, overwritten and rushed. There are way too many characters which are left undeveloped. In fact the entire plot seemed way too McGuffin-y - serving just as an excuse to play with the characters. All the characters (apart from Dicaprio's who is the only person who undergoes some some sort of emotional transformation) are wooden, almost heartless at times. The relationship of Leo's and Farmiga's characters doesn't make an awful lot of sense and frankly was pointless. There seemed to be absolutely no chemistry. And Nicholson Again plays Nicholson. And the conclusion of simply killing everybody off is ridiculous.
    Scorsese's greatest and most artistic film is be Raging Bull. The Departed doesn't come anywhere close to it.
    Expand
  73. May 14, 2014
    10
    great movie, suspenseful great plot the acting in this this is great flawless performances by everyone this movie stays interesting the character development was great. worth buying a copy of 9/10
  74. TEM
    May 21, 2014
    10
    My favorite film of all time. Leonardo DiCaprio delivers his best performance which is saying a great deal considering all the great performances he has delivered. Martin Scorsese is at his best and leads an all star cast through an amazingly perfect story. From beginning to end this movie never slows down or sees a dull moment.
  75. Sep 28, 2014
    0
    One of the weakest movies of 2006.
    """""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    A new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here on its highest beams.
  2. A ferociously entertaining film.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    This reworking of a popular Hong Kong picture pulses with energy, tangy dialogue and crackling performances from a fine cast.