User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1109 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    9
    An excellent film with an outstanding cast brilliant direction and genius writing and a spectacular ending. This is one of the finest films of Scorsese since Goodfellas & Taxi Driver.
  2. JustinG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    It seems as if the Christian fundies have invaded this site. This film is truly one of my favorite films, ever. A true gangster film, with a great story, great acting, and overall an exceptional film.
  3. RickyQ.
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    Great story, great acting, great film.
  4. VamsiK.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    I think it will be the best movie of 2006. If you haven
  5. Eon
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    What a nice return to the good stuff from the director. I don't think it's his best since "Goodfellas" ( I think "Casino" is) , but it is really one of his best. And definitely best Dicaprio's work.
  6. RM.
    Oct 30, 2006
    8
    Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards to Damon to this day still remains to be the first remake of the Bourne Identity, but he did a good job here too). Jack was Jack and you can't Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards to Damon to this day still remains to be the first remake of the Bourne Identity, but he did a good job here too). Jack was Jack and you can't say anything more. But Leo was definitely the character I empathized with the most and like I said he carried the film. Maybe it was all the hype leading up to me seeing the movie that let me down a bit though the ending was really good. 8/8 Worth the $$$. Expand
  7. BarryA.
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen! It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The actings fantastic, the music is great. This movie is thrilling, unpredictable, and amazing!
  8. marcvs
    Feb 12, 2007
    9
    the film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in a film directed this well, it's the fault of their incompetence, not poor screenwriting or directing or acting. the film is by no means "safe", thethe film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in a film directed this well, it's the fault of their incompetence, not poor screenwriting or directing or acting. the film is by no means "safe", the editing was very sporatic for effect and necessity and the cursing realistic... if you want to be shocked for shock's sake, watch hobos fight on the internet. Expand
  9. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    Just a fantastic film. Each and every actor does such a marvelous job and the movie leaves you wanting more, which is the key reason why this is a 10. The end was great, but yet, I still want more. I'm almost sad that the movie is over. Highly recommend. Fantastic film.
  10. Aug 17, 2014
    5
    A gripping, action-packed thriller, full of sudden twists and some literally breathtaking moments. If this is all you are looking for, watch it. Definitely.
  11. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and the acting ensemble. The films writting is also masterful but, it works extremely well because of the acting. Overall a great film.
  12. JimmyH
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Phenomenal. Definitely as good (if not better) than Goodfellas.
  13. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    One of Scorsese's most brilliant works. It may be an adaptation, but the rebirth is stronger like a phoenix. Strong, strong acting, excellent directing, and involving storyline make this mob thriller one of the highlight films of the year.
  14. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Mr. Scorsese just put me in a position, after watching this movie, to be appalled at how gruesome and unnecessarily violent this movie is, or to say, "What a masterpiece!" I think I'll go with the latter.
  15. SimonM.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Marty does it again!! and I really really hate DeCaprio (this is baseless old fashioned, old school unreasoning hate, like a clan member but instead of ethnic groups I hate the beautiful people who get to eat cheese burgers off of super model asses!)
  16. JasonB.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    This Movie is one of the best on the past decade. Excellent job.
  17. Sep 22, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Martin Scorsese's translation of "Internal Affairs" offers nothing new or shocking except for a surprisingly well performed Wahlberg. He ends the movie with his own american twist (everybody dies) and boom, before you know it the movie is barely done. Overall its good, but he barely makes his point in "The Departed" with his overaggressive 'American' translation of the stunning original. I recommend Martin Scorsese to try better, like the time where he had the spirit to direct "Taxi Driver". Expand
  18. NidP
    Oct 11, 2006
    5
    Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the last 5 minutes should have been cut entirely and I think Marty should have had a few less 'Yes' men watch the film before it came out. The Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the last 5 minutes should have been cut entirely and I think Marty should have had a few less 'Yes' men watch the film before it came out. The Departed = Disappointed Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Crime film is very thrilling, hard to stop watching. Deserving of its Best Picture Oscar.

    Scorsese directs a violent update of the well-known Chinese mob film, INFERNAL AFFAIRS, from just four years prior. Set in Boston, Massachusetts, the story tells of a mob boss named Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson) who sends out a criminal, Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon). Simultaneously, the local police have sent out Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) to infiltrate Costelloâ
    Expand
  20. Oct 6, 2010
    3
    This movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly people saying the F word over and over again. Some parts of the movie tries to have crude humor but it fails miserably. Now I saw this movie before I saw theThis movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly people saying the F word over and over again. Some parts of the movie tries to have crude humor but it fails miserably. Now I saw this movie before I saw the original infernal affairs I saw infernal affairs about a year after an thought the original was much much MUCH better. This movie lacks proper character development and we feel no emotion for the characters. The only thing better about this remake is the mob boss played by Jack Nicholson. This movie is WAY overrated and I really don't recomend watching it. I however can recomend watching the original movie. The orginal movie "Inferna Affairs" has what this movies missing(a heart). Expand
  21. Mar 31, 2012
    1
    Uninteresting. It is very overrated. It is too bad that Marty won for this film when he clearly had better work that was overlooked. The accents seem so forced and the storyline is just another gangster film.
  22. ZackB.
    Jul 14, 2008
    3
    I really wish someone would explain to me how this is a good movie. Is the acting great? You bet. Direction? Sure. But, how about this... There is absolutely no way in my mind that the events portrayed in the movie could ever be considered believable. Leonardo DiCaprios character wouldn't have survived any longer than the amount of time it took Jack Nicholson to find him after I really wish someone would explain to me how this is a good movie. Is the acting great? You bet. Direction? Sure. But, how about this... There is absolutely no way in my mind that the events portrayed in the movie could ever be considered believable. Leonardo DiCaprios character wouldn't have survived any longer than the amount of time it took Jack Nicholson to find him after hearing that there was a rat in the group. Secondly, if there is a leak in a department, they would bring in from outside the group to investigate, not just tell the guy in charge to do it. I dislike this movie only for the reason that I find it amazingly unbelievable and ludicrous. Expand
  23. TerenceH.
    May 23, 2008
    3
    While the original Hong Kong version was plausible due to their cultural standards, Scorsese's version was way below imaginable standards. While the HK verison had some plot devices, there was a lot implausible gaps and forced concepts that didn't work out in the American version. Like a boss sitting in the front of a car so the mole can communicate in the back. A gang boss will While the original Hong Kong version was plausible due to their cultural standards, Scorsese's version was way below imaginable standards. While the HK verison had some plot devices, there was a lot implausible gaps and forced concepts that didn't work out in the American version. Like a boss sitting in the front of a car so the mole can communicate in the back. A gang boss will never sit in the front of a car! Using cell-phones to bring down a gang is just lame and un-inspiring! Colin Sullivan, who claimed to not be able to use the password on his computer all of a sudden uses it to delete Costigans profile on his very own computer seconds later. The list goes on and gets very tiresome to mention. Didn't anyone review these forced issues and plotholes before making the film? That's right, they just tried to copy IA, forgetting about the lost in translation consequences. Its a shame that America never bothered to release the IA trilogy instead in theaters. The original stories encompassed balanced story-telling, better suspense and emotional content, slick cat-and mouse chase, psychological dept, and well-developed and intriguing characters. We also get to see how being in the police and triads truly bring grief in their lives. The Departed was done sloppy in comparison only saved by typical Scorsese violence and swearing. The characters in Departed were lame and boring. Billy Costigan (Leo Dicpario) is the only character probably that got his role right. Matt Damon, a good actor, had a very dull and typical bad guy character in comparison to Andy Lau's tormented role in IA. Martin Sheen was a poor father figure and a watse of time. and of course, there are other lame, pointless filler characters that aren't worth mentioning. Sadly, Scorsese will get praises from the audience no matter how he makes his films. Had Scorsese's name not been on the director's list, this film would had got a worser rating. All in all, it was IA that was more realistic. People say Departed is, but tell yourself this, not one person swears that much, nor do you see bloodshed like that in reality. 4 guys getting bullets in their heads one after another? There was a reason why IA had the bullet in the head scenerio but Scorsese and Monahan just really never knew what it meant, did they? Expand
  24. TerryJacobs
    Dec 20, 2007
    1
    Overrated. Unfortunately, overexcessive swearing and violence makes this film too unrealistic. Scorsese is starting to lack polish in his films.
  25. JaneD
    Jul 3, 2008
    2
    For once ,I agree with the negative reviews here. I simply didn't like the film and Scorsese's way beyond fictional views. I don't see how anyone could give this film a 8 or above.
  26. JCA.
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    Not necessary. Martin, William, leonardo, Matt, Mark, and Jack put together a performance that goes way over the top and totally unexpected. But 90 minutes in the movie, you can expect the violent killings at the end due to a non-stop functional randomly made-up look into crazy lives that is impossibly accurate.
  27. KevinD
    Jun 7, 2009
    2
    Why is Mark Wahlberg affecting a Bostonian accent in this movie: he's FROM Boston! And, as usual, Scorcese can't direct a believable female character at all. Ever. This-- ALL this said-- it is certainly a better movie than his post-2000 attempts: the tedious GANGS OF NY and the unwatchable THE AVIATOR...faint praise, indeed.
  28. JoyceC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    Martin Scorsese is obsessed with sinful everything. This movie is written, and every character never does follow the ten commandments, only the devils.
  29. AndrewH.
    Mar 25, 2007
    5
    Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's occasionally touching when the lead men interact with their shared love interest. The rest is just Tarantino-style violence/vulgarity porn for cheap thrills. Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's occasionally touching when the lead men interact with their shared love interest. The rest is just Tarantino-style violence/vulgarity porn for cheap thrills. Worst Mark Wahlberg movie I've seen. WTF? Expand
  30. DZ
    Nov 1, 2006
    5
    James Hoberman was completely on target: Neither a debacle nor a bore. The film's first two-thirds were well constructed. The interlude sequence with Costello (portrayed by Nicholson) lured the audience in with a certain mood. With a technical and fictional (story telling) plan, Martin Scorsese, accompanied by his skilled editor Thelma Schoonmaker succeeded with engaging the audience James Hoberman was completely on target: Neither a debacle nor a bore. The film's first two-thirds were well constructed. The interlude sequence with Costello (portrayed by Nicholson) lured the audience in with a certain mood. With a technical and fictional (story telling) plan, Martin Scorsese, accompanied by his skilled editor Thelma Schoonmaker succeeded with engaging the audience with a tight cast of characters furthered by precise directing from Martin Scorsese Expand
  31. RowanJ.
    Oct 20, 2006
    4
    Be sure to take a pillow for the long nap.
  32. JRM.
    Oct 7, 2006
    4
    Casting Decaprio as the undercover tough guy ruined the movie. He was only convincing as the innocent young cop and since much of the movie revolved around a sense of sympathy or at least belief in the tribulations of his character, Decaprio's cardbard portrayal destroyed any emotional engagement in the characters. As usual Mark Walburg stole the show becuase his character was Casting Decaprio as the undercover tough guy ruined the movie. He was only convincing as the innocent young cop and since much of the movie revolved around a sense of sympathy or at least belief in the tribulations of his character, Decaprio's cardbard portrayal destroyed any emotional engagement in the characters. As usual Mark Walburg stole the show becuase his character was lovable but Damon really showed his prowess in creating a character of depth, with frailty and orginality. Unfortunatley brilliance on his part was dependent on Decaprio's reflection. The script was a little heavy handed and frankly seemed to try to be a little too hard in the final sequences to be a Tarintino movie. The Gen Y's I went with seemed to think it was the "pulp ficiton" of thier generation.. hopefully they will get something more uniquely thier own than this canned attempt. Expand
  33. JohnB.
    Oct 7, 2006
    6
    The critics worship at the shrine of Scorsese., but this is a good, not great, movie.. Good actors, well-directed and a pretty good story, but this film does not deserve to be called great and is way overrated. Too long, too much of the same thing... Jack's great and some of his lines are classics., but the film is , really, pretty thin and fairly average-not in the league with The critics worship at the shrine of Scorsese., but this is a good, not great, movie.. Good actors, well-directed and a pretty good story, but this film does not deserve to be called great and is way overrated. Too long, too much of the same thing... Jack's great and some of his lines are classics., but the film is , really, pretty thin and fairly average-not in the league with Goodfellows, or GF 1 and 2-as some critics are saying. Expand
  34. DavidS.
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    A waste of film on every level. Scorsese is in bad need of a dominatrix.
  35. StevenW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    3
    I've noticed that most of the positive comments of this movie tend to come from people who are essentially Scorcese worshippers - people who will praise anything the 'great director' comes up with. While this film might have its merits, this movie suffers from terrible characterisation, enough to kill this film. As somebody called JR M posted earlier, "Since much of the I've noticed that most of the positive comments of this movie tend to come from people who are essentially Scorcese worshippers - people who will praise anything the 'great director' comes up with. While this film might have its merits, this movie suffers from terrible characterisation, enough to kill this film. As somebody called JR M posted earlier, "Since much of the movie revolved around a sense of sympathy or at least belief in the tribulations of his character, Decaprio's cardbard portrayal destroyed any emotional engagement in the character". It was hard to care about a guy who spent the whole movie whining. [***SPOILER***] I cheered when Dicaprio's character got shot, and then I asked myself, 'Hey, aren't I supposed to be rooting for this guy?' His character was poorly concieved, poorly written, poorly characterised, and above all poorly (over) acted. Expand
  36. LindaL.
    Jan 6, 2007
    3
    I don't see how this movie made anyone's "Best of 2006" list -- except that the critics love Scorsese. It's a far-from-groundbreaking "rat in the police dept" story with tons of bloody gun violence and almost no satisfaction plotwise. Acting is OK, but It's like "Goodfellas" and "Pulp Fiction" minus any style or humor ... and you'll hear the f-word enough to last I don't see how this movie made anyone's "Best of 2006" list -- except that the critics love Scorsese. It's a far-from-groundbreaking "rat in the police dept" story with tons of bloody gun violence and almost no satisfaction plotwise. Acting is OK, but It's like "Goodfellas" and "Pulp Fiction" minus any style or humor ... and you'll hear the f-word enough to last you the rest of your life. Expand
  37. Terry
    Jan 7, 2007
    2
    Steven is right about this movie getting high ratings due to Scorsese worshippers. This movie is poorly contrived in comparison to the original HK movie. The cast is either poorly used or miscast. In the HK one, the Matt Damon character is more interesting and has a dual personality. Martin Sheen is so dull as Leo's supervisor. This movie also lacks the emotion of the original . How Steven is right about this movie getting high ratings due to Scorsese worshippers. This movie is poorly contrived in comparison to the original HK movie. The cast is either poorly used or miscast. In the HK one, the Matt Damon character is more interesting and has a dual personality. Martin Sheen is so dull as Leo's supervisor. This movie also lacks the emotion of the original . How this movie is getting high ratings seem to be pure propaganda to boost Scorsese's failing career. To simply put it, America lacks in the ideas department. If this film gets any oscar at all, there goes any integrity Americans have for foreign films. Expand
  38. JasonJ.
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    America has forgotten what makes a truly great movie. Is this movie way better than most in recent years? Yes. Is this movie Shawshank Redemption or The God Father 2? No. Why? It lacks inclusion. It's an art that is hard to master and hard to explain. Basically, it's a lack of connection between myself (the audience) and the characters. At the end when everyone gets shot, I America has forgotten what makes a truly great movie. Is this movie way better than most in recent years? Yes. Is this movie Shawshank Redemption or The God Father 2? No. Why? It lacks inclusion. It's an art that is hard to master and hard to explain. Basically, it's a lack of connection between myself (the audience) and the characters. At the end when everyone gets shot, I really didn't care too much about any of the characters' fates. Maybe it's the tabloid cast. We know so much about these people personally, it might as well be our parents or friends on screen. We know that DiCaprio gets up from the floor, cleans off the fake bullet hole in his head, and goes back to his perfect "real" life of fame and wealth. We weren't so certain about that back in 1992 with Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. We need to either stop with the tabloids or find new actors that will enable our suspension of disbelief again. Expand
  39. TreyS.
    Jul 5, 2008
    4
    It was a good movie all the way until the end. The end ruined everything. I feel like i watched 2 hours of people getting closer and closer to figuring it out for nothing..everybody just dies. stupid!
  40. F.G.
    Apr 9, 2009
    4
    The actors were great and very credible. But the plot was very blind of artfulness. I cant believe that any people can survive in this ambiance with this blindness. To far from any reality. A Movie just like a comic, nothing else.
  41. LuisM.
    Nov 10, 2006
    2
    The worst script of this year!!! The last 30 minutes of the movies are a completely nonsense!!
  42. BobJ
    Oct 10, 2006
    4
    Thorough waste of time and money. Cannot for the life of me understand why it is getting all the accolades it is. Too long. People were looking at their watches way before this thing ended. Not a satisfying movie by any stretch.
  43. GeorgeR
    Oct 11, 2006
    1
    I
  44. BretT
    Oct 12, 2006
    3
    When I saw the preview for the movie I instantly knew that it was a remake of Infernal Affairs. I was excited to see the movie translated, until of course I sat down and watched it. The film was poorly translated. Most of the character nuances were lost. Now this wasn't to say that the acting was bad. In fact Nicholson and DiCaprio did a great job, but Matt Damon was pitiful. In the When I saw the preview for the movie I instantly knew that it was a remake of Infernal Affairs. I was excited to see the movie translated, until of course I sat down and watched it. The film was poorly translated. Most of the character nuances were lost. Now this wasn't to say that the acting was bad. In fact Nicholson and DiCaprio did a great job, but Matt Damon was pitiful. In the original movie of the characters had a habit of tapping. It was an important part of the movie that was completely removed. Also, the music was very poorly selected and implemented. Nothing like having your ears suddenly blown off in the middle of the movie. Then they turn it down sharply and two seconds later turn it off completely. Makes you wonder how much time they spent on the movie. Expand
  45. SteveK
    Oct 10, 2006
    4
    *MILD SPOILERS* It's an entertaining movie until the "last act" of the movie which devolves pretty quickly into something that is rather silly and pointless. The ending of a movie can make or break a movie and consider this movie thoroughly broken. I left the movie theater feeling hollow and that the first 100 minutes of the movie were a waste. It's a shame that this is what*MILD SPOILERS* It's an entertaining movie until the "last act" of the movie which devolves pretty quickly into something that is rather silly and pointless. The ending of a movie can make or break a movie and consider this movie thoroughly broken. I left the movie theater feeling hollow and that the first 100 minutes of the movie were a waste. It's a shame that this is what Scorcese came up with in the end. It really felt like a cop-out . If you don't like senseless violence, and I do mean senseless, you might want to steer clear of this one. You'll probably enjoy it if you are thoroughly desensitized to violence and the value of human life. I like to enjoy my moviegoing experience, not leave with this nihislitc feeling of "What's the point???" Expand
  46. Nathan
    Oct 8, 2006
    4
    I don't see why this movie won such praise by the critics. The acting was good but that was about it, the story seemed so worn out and done before and the movie was overly long at 2hr and 40mins.
  47. BenK.
    Jan 15, 2007
    0
    Unfortunately, Scorsese won best director. The original director did a much better job and some how Scorsese won best director for telling a weaker story. American cinema is dead at best.
  48. RobinW.
    Jan 20, 2007
    3
    I had to back up my TIVO when I saw Scorsese get up & start speaking at the podium! I guess I didn't get the word that The Departed was in the running for best director...likely, because it's ridiculous that it be considered & placed among the ranks of films actually worthy of the nomination for Best Director! Really...I like Scorses's films, for the most part. But I had to back up my TIVO when I saw Scorsese get up & start speaking at the podium! I guess I didn't get the word that The Departed was in the running for best director...likely, because it's ridiculous that it be considered & placed among the ranks of films actually worthy of the nomination for Best Director! Really...I like Scorses's films, for the most part. But let's face it, even those considered to be among the best at their craft can bomb now & then. The Departed was entertaining at first, but ended up a monumental disappointment & certainly not "award-worthy!" It took too much work to stay involved in the movie. I witnessed so many blatant flaws, it was incredible. A completely convoluted movie - one that should have been a Movie of the Week or on HBO...but a Golden Globe contender? Actually, I think I was okay with the movie until about the last 40 minutes. But, whether I liked the movie or not, it wasn't worthy of a Golden Globe - or any award, for that matter! It did explain to me, however, why Nicolson sat at the front table & the cameras graced us with shots of the various 'smug' looks he had plastered across his face whenever somebody on stage looked down at him & brought him into their 'moment' on stage. He sat back in his chair like he was Omnipotent! It was sickening. I like Nicolson as an actor. I also believe he's a very shrewd business man. But let's get serious. If this movie was so great, why wasn't Nicolson up for best actor? That makes no sense! And, Scorsese seemed awkward on stage - I'm thinkin' he had to feel a tad out of place, suddenly, having to look into the faces of those directors he was up against who actually deserved to be in the best director category this year. The one other thing that made me lose complete respect for what the Golden Globes event represents, was Warren Beatty being honored. Let's see...he won 'best director' for REDS way back when...he's been in more forgettable films than memorable. He hasn't done anything in years, except get himself in the limelight hoping people actually believe he belongs in politics...for which he proved himself to be a big buffoon & that Tom Hanks found a way to make Beatty seem somehow amazing...well. that - alone -deserves some kind of awward! I'll say one thing for Nicolson...despite his 'better than thou' attitude, he has proved himself to be an excellent actor. That doesn't mean everything he's in is worthy of an award. It all makes sense to me now...Scorsese winning for "Best Director," Nicolson behaving as if only a select two or three were worthy of his attention, and Beatty being honored...quite a threesome there. Expand
  49. AsiaK.
    Jan 27, 2007
    3
    Honestly, Jack Nicholson took over the screen, and not in a good way, Matt Damon's character was too one-sided, and we never really understood what motive the shrink girlfriend had to sleep with Di-Caprio's character... AND it was too long. The last image was just too obvious and dissapointing... as was the whole flick.
  50. D.G.
    Jan 27, 2007
    2
    This is an over-rated made for t.v dramedy. A perfect "Oscar" type film; both safe and inoffensive. The actors perform their best acting schticks (Jack Nicholson) and do it well - ho hum. It took me a while to realize that it was more comedy than drama. Watch out for the BAD photoshopped photo of the girl on the bike and the rat at the end. Also, more money should have been spent on the This is an over-rated made for t.v dramedy. A perfect "Oscar" type film; both safe and inoffensive. The actors perform their best acting schticks (Jack Nicholson) and do it well - ho hum. It took me a while to realize that it was more comedy than drama. Watch out for the BAD photoshopped photo of the girl on the bike and the rat at the end. Also, more money should have been spent on the sets rather than actor's salaries (Jack Nicholson). At least they might have elevated it beyond the look of a daytime soap. Save your money and wait until it comes out on DVD. Expand
  51. scotts
    Jan 7, 2007
    5
    Like tScorsese himself, The Departed is vastly overrated. A genre picture that barely improves on standard HBO fare...and showing the rat at the end was the most insipid call a director has made all year.
  52. DavidH.
    Feb 15, 2007
    6
    I was disappointed given all the hype. I'm a long-time Scorsese fan and thought this was nowhere near his best efforts. The film was emotionally dead. Many actors (Nicholson, Damon, Sheen) were miscast. The dialogue was crisp and witty but got tiresome - no one talks like that in real life. The script really needed a doctor. If Martin wins a best director oscar it will be for life I was disappointed given all the hype. I'm a long-time Scorsese fan and thought this was nowhere near his best efforts. The film was emotionally dead. Many actors (Nicholson, Damon, Sheen) were miscast. The dialogue was crisp and witty but got tiresome - no one talks like that in real life. The script really needed a doctor. If Martin wins a best director oscar it will be for life achievement. To tell the truth I couldn't even finish it. Expand
  53. GiovanniN.
    Feb 10, 2007
    1
    Very bad movie. Full of dramatic errors, completely illogical, sometimes even ridiculous: Why should the shrink fall in love with Damon? Why should she fall in love with di Caprio? Has she a macho-problem? And: What a strange coincidence that the two guys sleep with the same woman. Why did Costigan risk to see the shrink who worked on floor under the police? Costello knew that Costigan Very bad movie. Full of dramatic errors, completely illogical, sometimes even ridiculous: Why should the shrink fall in love with Damon? Why should she fall in love with di Caprio? Has she a macho-problem? And: What a strange coincidence that the two guys sleep with the same woman. Why did Costigan risk to see the shrink who worked on floor under the police? Costello knew that Costigan was an ex-statie: Why did he suspect him sooooo late? The police had a second mole in the Costello gang - but Costigan didn't know it? The police could have arrested Costello much more earlier: They had enough proves and more than enough witnesses? Or the scene with die Chinese guys: The head of operations tells his team that they could locate Costello by cell phones - and 30 seconds later all the cell phone signals dissappear. Evidently one member of the team must have been the mole. And what happened to the brown envelope Costigan gave the shrink? Much too long, stupid script, sometimes even unintentionally funny. And a language that is shocking nobody anymore. Expand
  54. NicolaeG.
    Feb 20, 2007
    5
    Really enjoyed DiCaprio's acting, I just think the consecutive killings at the end were a bit goofy. I also don't understand why everyone believes Scorsese has to win an "Oscar" to cement himself as a very good if not great director. There should be no " he deserves a long awaited Oscar." Thats a bunch of crap! Stop feeling sorry for the guy.
  55. RodG.
    Feb 20, 2007
    5
    Fair movie but the ending seemed hurried just to get the thing over with. [***SPOILER***] The ending could have been better if Wahlberg's character would have been hit by a car and died too. Why not kill Baldwin's character while we're at it.
  56. D.A.
    Feb 20, 2007
    3
    Enjoyable until the last 1/2 hour and then you suspend all belief feel cheated for investing time to have it taken away with random happenings. With the second mole you may as well have had John rambo come up in the left and kill the whole gang, in fact I would have prefered that, in fact im off to watch rambo and at least you know that he's gonna kill everything cause it's not Enjoyable until the last 1/2 hour and then you suspend all belief feel cheated for investing time to have it taken away with random happenings. With the second mole you may as well have had John rambo come up in the left and kill the whole gang, in fact I would have prefered that, in fact im off to watch rambo and at least you know that he's gonna kill everything cause it's not meant to be REAL like this which is so UNREALISTIC, oh well bring on Rambo 4. Expand
  57. JimD.
    Mar 11, 2007
    5
    It's really too bad that the best film of Scorsese is a just a translation of the excellent Infernal Affairs... It's a complete copycat movie and appart from the names being switched and gangs being transposed to america there's not much new... It's still worth seeing for the excellent performances of all the cast and if you haven't seen the original chinese version.
  58. JeffC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    6
    Pretty overrated. It's not really bad, but is pretty bland and didn't engage me at all.
  59. PeterM.
    Mar 20, 2007
    1
    After viewing this movie, I only wish I hadn't Departed with my money to purchase the tickets! The violence portrayed is so gratuitous and constant that by the time the climax arrivies it degenerates into a bad joke. Another title for this film could have been, "People being shot in the Head". If Americans regard this ultra vulgar, ultru violent movie as the best of the year, then After viewing this movie, I only wish I hadn't Departed with my money to purchase the tickets! The violence portrayed is so gratuitous and constant that by the time the climax arrivies it degenerates into a bad joke. Another title for this film could have been, "People being shot in the Head". If Americans regard this ultra vulgar, ultru violent movie as the best of the year, then America has problems. Not worthy of Scorsese and his team. Expand
  60. RichardB.
    Mar 4, 2007
    4
    Jeepers I'm so glad I didn't pay money to see this. What a load of cobblers. It was laugh out loud ridiculous. The way Americans are portrayed is simply insulting to you lot. Cops hitting each other in full view of staff -plain stupid.Everyone SHOUTING ALL THE TIME IS NOT HOW IT IS.The 'love interest' jeezus how weak can you get??? Best line was Di talking about how Jeepers I'm so glad I didn't pay money to see this. What a load of cobblers. It was laugh out loud ridiculous. The way Americans are portrayed is simply insulting to you lot. Cops hitting each other in full view of staff -plain stupid.Everyone SHOUTING ALL THE TIME IS NOT HOW IT IS.The 'love interest' jeezus how weak can you get??? Best line was Di talking about how cops were portrayed on TV -oh the irony !! How on earth can this be best picture ? Avoid!! Cheers Richard Expand
  61. TerryH.
    Mar 5, 2007
    5
    Fine actors, but pretty standard stuff. I didn't care much about any of the characters or what would happen to them. If this is the best, it must have been a bad year for pictures.
  62. JM
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    I have lost so much respect for all the people who raved about how good this movie was. It's a shame that THIS is the movie that scorcese wins an oscar for. Weak, convoluded plot that falls apart if you think about it too much. Absolutely no character development whatsoever.
  63. JaredC.
    May 1, 2007
    0
    Scorsese at the top of his game. Yah sure. The acting was well done and the plot was pretty good but overall the movie was unexpecdedly boring. For example: when Alec Baldwin and Mark Wahlberg were in that meeting room confronting the staff, they talked so quickly with them saying random things that just made me wonder.
  64. RichR.
    May 4, 2007
    3
    Leo was great, Jack was asleep, Matt was as boring as ever, Markie Mark was a joke. All this film does is underscore the fact that Good Fellas was one of the greatest films ever made. None of these guys can touch Ray Liotta's genius; he's America's most under-rated and underappreciated actor by far.
  65. TinaH.
    Oct 10, 2006
    1
    I hated it. I couldn't follow the plot or get involved with the characters. I was just lost a lot of the time. The violence was gratuitous and the script was a mess. I just didn't buy the whole thing. I have seen Scorsese do some great films. This was not one of them.
  66. rob
    Nov 18, 2006
    4
    Gratitous and indulgent, but well crafted of course.
  67. PaulM.
    Oct 11, 2006
    5
    A poor incarnation of it's Hong Kong forerunner. Low on suspense, poorly staged action scenes, only rescued by a great first hour and excellent acting by Nicholson.
  68. Ladyfinger
    Oct 12, 2006
    3
    Violence, blood and gore does not a movie make. There are more holes in the story than Swiss cheese. The acting was superb but there wasn't much to work with as far as the story goes. I could rip it apart but it will be deleted as spoilers. If you like endless bloodshed in which almost everyone comically buys the farm then you will like this. Not my cup of tea as it was totally Violence, blood and gore does not a movie make. There are more holes in the story than Swiss cheese. The acting was superb but there wasn't much to work with as far as the story goes. I could rip it apart but it will be deleted as spoilers. If you like endless bloodshed in which almost everyone comically buys the farm then you will like this. Not my cup of tea as it was totally ridiculous as Jack should have whacked Leonardo as there wasn't any bond between the two. Expand
  69. WalterAdamson
    Oct 15, 2006
    2
    I went to see this fim because I like the work of the leads and the Director, but in my opinion this was a complete waste of time. Lame, actors doing a job for their fees, no tension of any sort, and lots of distracting blood, guts, swearing and women with their heads in the laps of smelly old men - the main point of which seemed to be to distract from the emptiness of the whole event. II went to see this fim because I like the work of the leads and the Director, but in my opinion this was a complete waste of time. Lame, actors doing a job for their fees, no tension of any sort, and lots of distracting blood, guts, swearing and women with their heads in the laps of smelly old men - the main point of which seemed to be to distract from the emptiness of the whole event. I enjoyed the original. Hire it. Don't waste your money on this one. Expand
  70. G.D.
    Oct 15, 2006
    6
    I have to say how disappointed I was with the film after all the good reviews I seen. I guess if it says "Directed by Martin Scorsese" that's good enough for a 9 from the "critics". Well he obviously phoned this one in. The signature moves from "Goodfellas" are no where in sight. In addition, The Departed never touches the original, "Infernal Affairs", in terms of style, speed, or I have to say how disappointed I was with the film after all the good reviews I seen. I guess if it says "Directed by Martin Scorsese" that's good enough for a 9 from the "critics". Well he obviously phoned this one in. The signature moves from "Goodfellas" are no where in sight. In addition, The Departed never touches the original, "Infernal Affairs", in terms of style, speed, or just plain storytelling. The film gets bogged down after the first act and Nicholson went from stellar to laughable (not to mention his accent disappeared halfway through the film). DiCaprio and Damon are the only real reason to see the film. To say this is Scorsese at his best, really doesn't do the man justice because his best films, "Goodfellas", "Last Temptation of Christ" and "Raging Bull" are so much better. Expand
  71. Sanzen
    Oct 15, 2006
    2
    Caught The Departed last night and I have to say, its one abject failure of a remake. I was expecting it to be good, and truth be told, I wanted it to be good because it is based on Hongkong
  72. ChrisV.
    Oct 17, 2006
    6
    OVER-RATED!
  73. SanZ.
    Oct 19, 2006
    2
    Caught The Departed last night and I have to say, its one abject failure of a remake. I was expecting it to be good, and truth be told, I wanted it to be good because it is based on Hongkong
  74. KosChr
    Dec 8, 2006
    3
    Only thing good about the film is the music score and the acting. Directing and script are kind of "let's make a movie and put a known director to it". By far not the best movie of the year imo.
  75. S.Ng
    Oct 7, 2006
    1
    Is everyone else watching a different movie because if there was any common sense and justice, every publication who gave this movie such high marks should be responsible of refunding every ticket sold. Even without watching Infernal Affairs which this was remade from, The Departed is a prolonged bizarre and trite 1 hour and 50 minutes. With wiseguy dialogues that run three words too long Is everyone else watching a different movie because if there was any common sense and justice, every publication who gave this movie such high marks should be responsible of refunding every ticket sold. Even without watching Infernal Affairs which this was remade from, The Departed is a prolonged bizarre and trite 1 hour and 50 minutes. With wiseguy dialogues that run three words too long of a sentence, it also boasts senseless need of violence on screen. Do American cinema take a few steps backward every few years? The only reason why anyone would give this movie such praise is by just reviewing the credits and not watching it. Where Infernal Affairs was a well-paced film, this was, as one cinema-goer so well put it, "all over the place." Thank you very much for wasting my weekend and also for proving once again, of all the fairness and realism placed in portraying every other race, the Chinese are still made to look like numbskulls who can't even speak their own language properly. Expand
  76. EstherW
    Oct 9, 2006
    3
    A thoroughly unpleasant moviegoing experience, easily the most overrated movie of the year.
  77. LindaP.
    Jan 22, 2007
    3
    Banal Dialogue, trite acting, terrible overall.
  78. KentE.
    Jan 23, 2007
    4
    I saw the Hong Kong one and it was good but not great. After seeing this one it makes the Hong Kong one look like a masterpiece. Warner Bros did confirm that the movie is based on IA and IA 2, and if you watch some segments carefully, Scorsese does use a few things from IA 3. I guess I just found the plot to be a bit convoluted and maybe it could had done better if they deleted half and I saw the Hong Kong one and it was good but not great. After seeing this one it makes the Hong Kong one look like a masterpiece. Warner Bros did confirm that the movie is based on IA and IA 2, and if you watch some segments carefully, Scorsese does use a few things from IA 3. I guess I just found the plot to be a bit convoluted and maybe it could had done better if they deleted half and hour of nonsense and made the action more dramatic and exciting. The abundance of swearing didn't help either. I probably rent this movie again but not enough spark for me to buy it. Expand
  79. JanW
    Feb 1, 2007
    4
    As I have seen Infernal Affairs (which was a damn good movie) first, I was highly disappointed by The Departed. In comparison the characters in this movie are boring and don't seem realistic. But the worst thing to ruin the story was the ending.
  80. TheoH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    5
    I personally don't see what the big deal is with this movie. Amazing performances from Wahlberg and Alec Baldwin but the rest is average. Scorsese doesn't deserve to win for this. He deserved it for Gangs of New York and The Aviator but the award should go to Paul Greengrass this year.
  81. Jus'Nobes
    Feb 16, 2007
    5
    This movie became absurd on about the third killing, and there must be 30 of 'em. If you're a fan of Scorcese, as I am, this is a disappointment on the scale of Gangs of New York. It falls apart about 2/3 of the way through. What's a movie without a satisfying ending? Unsatisfying.
  82. CoryG.
    Feb 16, 2007
    4
    I just couldn't get into this movie. This movie is filled with plotholes and implausible themes. Best left only to be rented. Scorsese fails to deliever once again. Stick to his old time classics like Casino or Goodfellas.
  83. ClintD.
    Feb 24, 2007
    6
    Too many over-the-top performances, plot not realistic enough.
  84. ChrisJ.
    Mar 11, 2007
    5
    Great acting, but the second half is BORING. Just hurry up and shoot each other point-blank in the face already!
  85. EricC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    7
    It was a blast to watch. One of the best times I had at the movies in a while. But Best Picture? Someones trying way to hard to please some Scorsese fans. You can't call it original, since it's based on Infernal Affairs (which is far better, from what I hear). The acting is over the top and deeply lacking in depth. Leanardo is angry the whole movie (even during love scenes), It was a blast to watch. One of the best times I had at the movies in a while. But Best Picture? Someones trying way to hard to please some Scorsese fans. You can't call it original, since it's based on Infernal Affairs (which is far better, from what I hear). The acting is over the top and deeply lacking in depth. Leanardo is angry the whole movie (even during love scenes), Nicholson is crazy the whole movie (never saw that before... wait, yes I have), Damon was a jerk the whole movie. Should I keep going through the entire cast? I had fun, yeah, but I also had fun in Pirates of the Carribean and Talledega Nights. Should they have been nominated too? Expand
  86. TheoT.
    Mar 13, 2007
    2
    Boring script-story telling. As if it was made by an apprentice. Many times had to press the forward button on dvd player just to get it over with. Every time the action was building up for one of the main cop characters the movie switch over to the other parallel character without reaching any apex.An on-off pattern without any climax. Only exception the sceen at the elevetor towards the Boring script-story telling. As if it was made by an apprentice. Many times had to press the forward button on dvd player just to get it over with. Every time the action was building up for one of the main cop characters the movie switch over to the other parallel character without reaching any apex.An on-off pattern without any climax. Only exception the sceen at the elevetor towards the end of the movie. Some characters like the female shrink doctor had no reason to exist. Even when she realised the role of one of the characters she was not given any active role in the action. Only thing that saved it was the excellent play by Nicholson.Some of the images of the mob characters had the potential to project their inner feelings to the viewer and support the overall atmosphere of the movie.The images were there but not the script to support them. So they remained just the 'guys'. No doubt Scorsese deserved an Oscar but NOT for this one. Expand
  87. Phaedon
    Mar 24, 2007
    5
    My friend *finally* let me borrow his DVD of "The Departed". What a huge disappointment this movie turned out to be. I can't even believe Scorsese accepted this award with a straight-face (actually, I'm not sure he did, since I skipped the Oscars). I've never seen so many uses of "deus ex machina" in one movie in my entire life. Nicholson recorded all of his conversations? My friend *finally* let me borrow his DVD of "The Departed". What a huge disappointment this movie turned out to be. I can't even believe Scorsese accepted this award with a straight-face (actually, I'm not sure he did, since I skipped the Oscars). I've never seen so many uses of "deus ex machina" in one movie in my entire life. Nicholson recorded all of his conversations? How convenient! Nicholson trusted DiCaprio more than anyone else? How convenient! Nicholson's lawyer handed over the tapes to him? How convenient! Nicholson's got other moles in the force? How convenient! Aforementioned mole is waiting at the bottom of the elevator, and happens to be a "gung-ho" kind of mole? How convenient! Mark Wahlberg in paper slippers, what, to hand me an Oscar-winning ending? How convenient! The only thing I enjoyed about the ending - and mind you, i picked this up the second time around - is that when Damon gets shot at the end of the movie, he spills bread and milk on the floor, the same stuff that filled Nicholson filled his grocery bag with in the beginning of the movie. Expand
  88. BlisterfishCafe
    Mar 30, 2007
    5
    I don't understand the hype...The movie "feels" good but I was left feeling confused and a bit empty at the end. Plus, those two blonde kids look too much alike so that made me even more confused. Jack was good.
  89. Alex
    Mar 4, 2007
    1
    Boring script, flat characters and an ungracefully superimposed message. what a disappointment.
  90. Jabez
    Mar 6, 2007
    3
    Shockiingly bad for a Scorcese film. Even if you excuse the hammy behavior (it certainly ain't acting), THE PLOT MAKES NO SENSE. I understand the concept of suspending belief to enjoy a film, but this requires parking your frontal lobes at the door. Hey, Marty did it--why can't we. And this won the Oscar!?? At least it was better than "Crash" and "Braveheart".
  91. JimL
    Apr 16, 2007
    0
    I simply just didn't like this film. Nothing Oscar worthy. There were other better films I tell ya that. Not worth my time to complain much though. Not a true Martin Scorsese film.
  92. Bryan
    Apr 3, 2007
    5
    This is an Oscar winner? Sure, the acting is first rate, as you'd expect from any movie featuring Nicholson, DiCaprio, and Damon. But it's also filled to a ridiculous extent with truckloads of gratuitous gore and profanity, which tend to obscure rather than accentuate whatever Scorsese was trying to say. Yes, I was shocked as those moments it was intended. But I also felt This is an Oscar winner? Sure, the acting is first rate, as you'd expect from any movie featuring Nicholson, DiCaprio, and Damon. But it's also filled to a ridiculous extent with truckloads of gratuitous gore and profanity, which tend to obscure rather than accentuate whatever Scorsese was trying to say. Yes, I was shocked as those moments it was intended. But I also felt pummeled by the relentless barrage of excessive elements mentioned above. If there is any subtlety to this movie at all, it was missed on me, and I really don't care enough to see it again to catch what I missed. It may keep you entertained for two and a half hours if you like this sort of thing, but I found little redeeming about it. I really don't get the hype. Expand
  93. Lana
    Apr 30, 2007
    2
    This film is terrible. The character development is boring and the characters don't feel like they have anything to hide. This movie lacks any soul or emotion and the dialouge is mediocre at best. The actors at times seems to be reading off cue cards. Not the best of 2006, one of the most overrated.
  94. MikeN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    5
    It's a decent film, but I thought it was inferior to the original. Sure, the ending was changed, but otherwise, nothing much was added. The acting was weaker in the starring roles. The supporting cast was deeper, but not enough to make this movie worth it.
  95. MikeA
    Jun 20, 2007
    1
    This movie is bad. I can't see how people rate it anything above a 4. An all star cast can't save this. Nicholas doesn't convince as a gang leader. He doesn't scare anyone. Actually none of these actors play the tough guy well. Diacapro is just to soft to play his role. There's holes all through this film. Actually, it's so bad it's funny. The scene This movie is bad. I can't see how people rate it anything above a 4. An all star cast can't save this. Nicholas doesn't convince as a gang leader. He doesn't scare anyone. Actually none of these actors play the tough guy well. Diacapro is just to soft to play his role. There's holes all through this film. Actually, it's so bad it's funny. The scene where Dicaprio gets his injured arm smashed on the table 3 times to prove he's not a rat is hilarious! That's all it took to convince a seasoned mob boss that he wasn't a rat!? Come on! Please! I didn't actually realize that this was a remake until reading this column. To me it was a rip-off of a 90's film STATE OF GRACE, a great Irish mob film set in New York staring Sean Penn, Ed Harris and Gary Oldman. Now this is a great gangster film! There were scenes in the Departed that to me, were taken straight out of, or very similar, to SOG. The story line is very similar aswell. If you want to see what a great "Rat" film looks like, get this out. Expand
  96. BenF.
    Jun 3, 2007
    2
    Was the movie plot good? yes Was the acting good? yes...the problem I had with the movie is that it was distasteful. Extremely unrealistic. It takes extreme effort for someone to use that much profanaity in one sentance in the "real world".
  97. HomerB
    Jul 26, 2007
    1
    Awful. The original was well-balanced and this one did nothing to so-call improve on the original. A lot the characters were boring and unsympathetic to watch. There was no good psychological build-up between the characters. There is no sense of paranoia like how Infernal Affairs gave us. This movie lacked real themes and emotion. This film had far too many plot-holes and implausible Awful. The original was well-balanced and this one did nothing to so-call improve on the original. A lot the characters were boring and unsympathetic to watch. There was no good psychological build-up between the characters. There is no sense of paranoia like how Infernal Affairs gave us. This movie lacked real themes and emotion. This film had far too many plot-holes and implausible scenes. Overrated film of 2006, indeed. Expand
  98. jOSHC
    Sep 22, 2007
    0
    Do we really need Martin Scorsese? Heresy though it may appear, the question interrogates not so much the man
  99. TerryTang
    Jan 5, 2008
    4
    Had this been more original, this film would had been more astonishing. This movie just purely a carbon copy of a better movie. Scorsese should stick to being original. Adding pointless swearing and violence doesn't make a movie any better nor original. Good luck next time.
  100. JS
    Jun 12, 2009
    6
    The reviews for this movie were very misleading. I didn't realise going in that all the positive reviews were just making Scorsese a free ticket for an oscar. Its shameful that the academy gave into the hype for this movie, but insulted The Dark Knight by inferring people only liked it for Ledger. This movie was just a cheap thriller with a novel plot. You can tell the script was The reviews for this movie were very misleading. I didn't realise going in that all the positive reviews were just making Scorsese a free ticket for an oscar. Its shameful that the academy gave into the hype for this movie, but insulted The Dark Knight by inferring people only liked it for Ledger. This movie was just a cheap thriller with a novel plot. You can tell the script was written by a hollywood prince who has no dealings with the outside world. It was a lot like a Quentin Tarantino movie; no texture, just the unrealistic overuse of language you'd only hear on a 6th grade school yard, and intense random violence. Speaking of language, the movie manages to demean the Boston area police to a greater extent than they have in real life. I can't imagine professionals at a meeting for a major police agency jokingly yelling 'I did your mom!' to each other. It had a lot of good acting all around, I'll give it that. Even Alec Baldwin manages to avoid being unbearable; and thankfully he isn't in many scenes. Their attempt to make you hate Mark Wahlberg's character throughout 3/4s the movie and then flip him to being a 'good guy' didn't float with me; it actually seemed goofy. Jack Nicholson reprises his role as The Joker, which seems better this time around. The character writing is so juvenile that 12 year olds could have easily played most of the parts. I think its interesting that in most movies like this they try to show a human side to the villains... But this movie goes above and beyond: dehumanizing everyone in the world other than two characters. If you aren't a scumbag you can't relate to 98% of the people in this film. Strangely, some elements of the film reminds me of Robocop. The way several of the characters die and Jack Nicholson's randomly breaking in with his party girls reminded me of the "I'd Buy That for a Dollar!" guy. But I actually liked Robocop. Usually when I see a movie that is grossly violent I look for some kind of meaning in the whole plot. Well, there is none in The Departed. Its just a bunch of thugs who kill people violently, and then die violently themselves. With a slight amount of intrigue in between, I could easily confuse this for one of the Bourne films. Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    A new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here on its highest beams.
  2. A ferociously entertaining film.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    This reworking of a popular Hong Kong picture pulses with energy, tangy dialogue and crackling performances from a fine cast.