The Departed

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1331 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 22, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Martin Scorsese's translation of "Internal Affairs" offers nothing new or shocking except for a surprisingly well performed Wahlberg. He ends the movie with his own american twist (everybody dies) and boom, before you know it the movie is barely done. Overall its good, but he barely makes his point in "The Departed" with his overaggressive 'American' translation of the stunning original. I recommend Martin Scorsese to try better, like the time where he had the spirit to direct "Taxi Driver". Expand
  2. NidP
    Oct 11, 2006
    5
    Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the last 5 minutes should have been cut entirely and I think Marty should have had a few less 'Yes' men watch the film before it came out. The Possibly Leo's finest hour........but as with so many recent Scorcese films the ending seemed rushed and the storyline needed work -[***SPOILERS***] how 'bout Wahlberg dropping the brown envelope on the body at the end?. Maybe the last 5 minutes should have been cut entirely and I think Marty should have had a few less 'Yes' men watch the film before it came out. The Departed = Disappointed Expand
  3. AndrewH.
    Mar 25, 2007
    5
    Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's occasionally touching when the lead men interact with their shared love interest. The rest is just Tarantino-style violence/vulgarity porn for cheap thrills. Better than awful, but really the most artificial, least compelling, 2d characters, standard run of the mill crap crime movie. If you don't have integrity, you'll enjoy the whole movie. If you do, you might think it's occasionally touching when the lead men interact with their shared love interest. The rest is just Tarantino-style violence/vulgarity porn for cheap thrills. Worst Mark Wahlberg movie I've seen. WTF? Expand
  4. DZ
    Nov 1, 2006
    5
    James Hoberman was completely on target: Neither a debacle nor a bore. The film's first two-thirds were well constructed. The interlude sequence with Costello (portrayed by Nicholson) lured the audience in with a certain mood. With a technical and fictional (story telling) plan, Martin Scorsese, accompanied by his skilled editor Thelma Schoonmaker succeeded with engaging the audience James Hoberman was completely on target: Neither a debacle nor a bore. The film's first two-thirds were well constructed. The interlude sequence with Costello (portrayed by Nicholson) lured the audience in with a certain mood. With a technical and fictional (story telling) plan, Martin Scorsese, accompanied by his skilled editor Thelma Schoonmaker succeeded with engaging the audience with a tight cast of characters furthered by precise directing from Martin Scorsese Expand
  5. RowanJ.
    Oct 20, 2006
    4
    Be sure to take a pillow for the long nap.
  6. JRM.
    Oct 7, 2006
    4
    Casting Decaprio as the undercover tough guy ruined the movie. He was only convincing as the innocent young cop and since much of the movie revolved around a sense of sympathy or at least belief in the tribulations of his character, Decaprio's cardbard portrayal destroyed any emotional engagement in the characters. As usual Mark Walburg stole the show becuase his character was Casting Decaprio as the undercover tough guy ruined the movie. He was only convincing as the innocent young cop and since much of the movie revolved around a sense of sympathy or at least belief in the tribulations of his character, Decaprio's cardbard portrayal destroyed any emotional engagement in the characters. As usual Mark Walburg stole the show becuase his character was lovable but Damon really showed his prowess in creating a character of depth, with frailty and orginality. Unfortunatley brilliance on his part was dependent on Decaprio's reflection. The script was a little heavy handed and frankly seemed to try to be a little too hard in the final sequences to be a Tarintino movie. The Gen Y's I went with seemed to think it was the "pulp ficiton" of thier generation.. hopefully they will get something more uniquely thier own than this canned attempt. Expand
  7. JohnB.
    Oct 7, 2006
    6
    The critics worship at the shrine of Scorsese., but this is a good, not great, movie.. Good actors, well-directed and a pretty good story, but this film does not deserve to be called great and is way overrated. Too long, too much of the same thing... Jack's great and some of his lines are classics., but the film is , really, pretty thin and fairly average-not in the league with The critics worship at the shrine of Scorsese., but this is a good, not great, movie.. Good actors, well-directed and a pretty good story, but this film does not deserve to be called great and is way overrated. Too long, too much of the same thing... Jack's great and some of his lines are classics., but the film is , really, pretty thin and fairly average-not in the league with Goodfellows, or GF 1 and 2-as some critics are saying. Expand
  8. TreyS.
    Jul 5, 2008
    4
    It was a good movie all the way until the end. The end ruined everything. I feel like i watched 2 hours of people getting closer and closer to figuring it out for nothing..everybody just dies. stupid!
  9. F.G.
    Apr 9, 2009
    4
    The actors were great and very credible. But the plot was very blind of artfulness. I cant believe that any people can survive in this ambiance with this blindness. To far from any reality. A Movie just like a comic, nothing else.
  10. BobJ
    Oct 10, 2006
    4
    Thorough waste of time and money. Cannot for the life of me understand why it is getting all the accolades it is. Too long. People were looking at their watches way before this thing ended. Not a satisfying movie by any stretch.
  11. SteveK
    Oct 10, 2006
    4
    *MILD SPOILERS* It's an entertaining movie until the "last act" of the movie which devolves pretty quickly into something that is rather silly and pointless. The ending of a movie can make or break a movie and consider this movie thoroughly broken. I left the movie theater feeling hollow and that the first 100 minutes of the movie were a waste. It's a shame that this is what*MILD SPOILERS* It's an entertaining movie until the "last act" of the movie which devolves pretty quickly into something that is rather silly and pointless. The ending of a movie can make or break a movie and consider this movie thoroughly broken. I left the movie theater feeling hollow and that the first 100 minutes of the movie were a waste. It's a shame that this is what Scorcese came up with in the end. It really felt like a cop-out . If you don't like senseless violence, and I do mean senseless, you might want to steer clear of this one. You'll probably enjoy it if you are thoroughly desensitized to violence and the value of human life. I like to enjoy my moviegoing experience, not leave with this nihislitc feeling of "What's the point???" Expand
  12. Nathan
    Oct 8, 2006
    4
    I don't see why this movie won such praise by the critics. The acting was good but that was about it, the story seemed so worn out and done before and the movie was overly long at 2hr and 40mins.
  13. scotts
    Jan 7, 2007
    5
    Like tScorsese himself, The Departed is vastly overrated. A genre picture that barely improves on standard HBO fare...and showing the rat at the end was the most insipid call a director has made all year.
  14. DavidH.
    Feb 15, 2007
    6
    I was disappointed given all the hype. I'm a long-time Scorsese fan and thought this was nowhere near his best efforts. The film was emotionally dead. Many actors (Nicholson, Damon, Sheen) were miscast. The dialogue was crisp and witty but got tiresome - no one talks like that in real life. The script really needed a doctor. If Martin wins a best director oscar it will be for life I was disappointed given all the hype. I'm a long-time Scorsese fan and thought this was nowhere near his best efforts. The film was emotionally dead. Many actors (Nicholson, Damon, Sheen) were miscast. The dialogue was crisp and witty but got tiresome - no one talks like that in real life. The script really needed a doctor. If Martin wins a best director oscar it will be for life achievement. To tell the truth I couldn't even finish it. Expand
  15. NicolaeG.
    Feb 20, 2007
    5
    Really enjoyed DiCaprio's acting, I just think the consecutive killings at the end were a bit goofy. I also don't understand why everyone believes Scorsese has to win an "Oscar" to cement himself as a very good if not great director. There should be no " he deserves a long awaited Oscar." Thats a bunch of crap! Stop feeling sorry for the guy.
  16. RodG.
    Feb 20, 2007
    5
    Fair movie but the ending seemed hurried just to get the thing over with. [***SPOILER***] The ending could have been better if Wahlberg's character would have been hit by a car and died too. Why not kill Baldwin's character while we're at it.
  17. JimD.
    Mar 11, 2007
    5
    It's really too bad that the best film of Scorsese is a just a translation of the excellent Infernal Affairs... It's a complete copycat movie and appart from the names being switched and gangs being transposed to america there's not much new... It's still worth seeing for the excellent performances of all the cast and if you haven't seen the original chinese version.
  18. JeffC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    6
    Pretty overrated. It's not really bad, but is pretty bland and didn't engage me at all.
  19. RichardB.
    Mar 4, 2007
    4
    Jeepers I'm so glad I didn't pay money to see this. What a load of cobblers. It was laugh out loud ridiculous. The way Americans are portrayed is simply insulting to you lot. Cops hitting each other in full view of staff -plain stupid.Everyone SHOUTING ALL THE TIME IS NOT HOW IT IS.The 'love interest' jeezus how weak can you get??? Best line was Di talking about how Jeepers I'm so glad I didn't pay money to see this. What a load of cobblers. It was laugh out loud ridiculous. The way Americans are portrayed is simply insulting to you lot. Cops hitting each other in full view of staff -plain stupid.Everyone SHOUTING ALL THE TIME IS NOT HOW IT IS.The 'love interest' jeezus how weak can you get??? Best line was Di talking about how cops were portrayed on TV -oh the irony !! How on earth can this be best picture ? Avoid!! Cheers Richard Expand
  20. TerryH.
    Mar 5, 2007
    5
    Fine actors, but pretty standard stuff. I didn't care much about any of the characters or what would happen to them. If this is the best, it must have been a bad year for pictures.
  21. rob
    Nov 18, 2006
    4
    Gratitous and indulgent, but well crafted of course.
  22. PaulM.
    Oct 11, 2006
    5
    A poor incarnation of it's Hong Kong forerunner. Low on suspense, poorly staged action scenes, only rescued by a great first hour and excellent acting by Nicholson.
  23. G.D.
    Oct 15, 2006
    6
    I have to say how disappointed I was with the film after all the good reviews I seen. I guess if it says "Directed by Martin Scorsese" that's good enough for a 9 from the "critics". Well he obviously phoned this one in. The signature moves from "Goodfellas" are no where in sight. In addition, The Departed never touches the original, "Infernal Affairs", in terms of style, speed, or I have to say how disappointed I was with the film after all the good reviews I seen. I guess if it says "Directed by Martin Scorsese" that's good enough for a 9 from the "critics". Well he obviously phoned this one in. The signature moves from "Goodfellas" are no where in sight. In addition, The Departed never touches the original, "Infernal Affairs", in terms of style, speed, or just plain storytelling. The film gets bogged down after the first act and Nicholson went from stellar to laughable (not to mention his accent disappeared halfway through the film). DiCaprio and Damon are the only real reason to see the film. To say this is Scorsese at his best, really doesn't do the man justice because his best films, "Goodfellas", "Last Temptation of Christ" and "Raging Bull" are so much better. Expand
  24. ChrisV.
    Oct 17, 2006
    6
    OVER-RATED!
  25. KentE.
    Jan 23, 2007
    4
    I saw the Hong Kong one and it was good but not great. After seeing this one it makes the Hong Kong one look like a masterpiece. Warner Bros did confirm that the movie is based on IA and IA 2, and if you watch some segments carefully, Scorsese does use a few things from IA 3. I guess I just found the plot to be a bit convoluted and maybe it could had done better if they deleted half and I saw the Hong Kong one and it was good but not great. After seeing this one it makes the Hong Kong one look like a masterpiece. Warner Bros did confirm that the movie is based on IA and IA 2, and if you watch some segments carefully, Scorsese does use a few things from IA 3. I guess I just found the plot to be a bit convoluted and maybe it could had done better if they deleted half and hour of nonsense and made the action more dramatic and exciting. The abundance of swearing didn't help either. I probably rent this movie again but not enough spark for me to buy it. Expand
  26. JanW
    Feb 1, 2007
    4
    As I have seen Infernal Affairs (which was a damn good movie) first, I was highly disappointed by The Departed. In comparison the characters in this movie are boring and don't seem realistic. But the worst thing to ruin the story was the ending.
  27. TheoH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    5
    I personally don't see what the big deal is with this movie. Amazing performances from Wahlberg and Alec Baldwin but the rest is average. Scorsese doesn't deserve to win for this. He deserved it for Gangs of New York and The Aviator but the award should go to Paul Greengrass this year.
  28. Jus'Nobes
    Feb 16, 2007
    5
    This movie became absurd on about the third killing, and there must be 30 of 'em. If you're a fan of Scorcese, as I am, this is a disappointment on the scale of Gangs of New York. It falls apart about 2/3 of the way through. What's a movie without a satisfying ending? Unsatisfying.
  29. CoryG.
    Feb 16, 2007
    4
    I just couldn't get into this movie. This movie is filled with plotholes and implausible themes. Best left only to be rented. Scorsese fails to deliever once again. Stick to his old time classics like Casino or Goodfellas.
  30. ClintD.
    Feb 24, 2007
    6
    Too many over-the-top performances, plot not realistic enough.
  31. ChrisJ.
    Mar 11, 2007
    5
    Great acting, but the second half is BORING. Just hurry up and shoot each other point-blank in the face already!
  32. Phaedon
    Mar 24, 2007
    5
    My friend *finally* let me borrow his DVD of "The Departed". What a huge disappointment this movie turned out to be. I can't even believe Scorsese accepted this award with a straight-face (actually, I'm not sure he did, since I skipped the Oscars). I've never seen so many uses of "deus ex machina" in one movie in my entire life. Nicholson recorded all of his conversations? My friend *finally* let me borrow his DVD of "The Departed". What a huge disappointment this movie turned out to be. I can't even believe Scorsese accepted this award with a straight-face (actually, I'm not sure he did, since I skipped the Oscars). I've never seen so many uses of "deus ex machina" in one movie in my entire life. Nicholson recorded all of his conversations? How convenient! Nicholson trusted DiCaprio more than anyone else? How convenient! Nicholson's lawyer handed over the tapes to him? How convenient! Nicholson's got other moles in the force? How convenient! Aforementioned mole is waiting at the bottom of the elevator, and happens to be a "gung-ho" kind of mole? How convenient! Mark Wahlberg in paper slippers, what, to hand me an Oscar-winning ending? How convenient! The only thing I enjoyed about the ending - and mind you, i picked this up the second time around - is that when Damon gets shot at the end of the movie, he spills bread and milk on the floor, the same stuff that filled Nicholson filled his grocery bag with in the beginning of the movie. Expand
  33. BlisterfishCafe
    Mar 30, 2007
    5
    I don't understand the hype...The movie "feels" good but I was left feeling confused and a bit empty at the end. Plus, those two blonde kids look too much alike so that made me even more confused. Jack was good.
  34. Bryan
    Apr 3, 2007
    5
    This is an Oscar winner? Sure, the acting is first rate, as you'd expect from any movie featuring Nicholson, DiCaprio, and Damon. But it's also filled to a ridiculous extent with truckloads of gratuitous gore and profanity, which tend to obscure rather than accentuate whatever Scorsese was trying to say. Yes, I was shocked as those moments it was intended. But I also felt This is an Oscar winner? Sure, the acting is first rate, as you'd expect from any movie featuring Nicholson, DiCaprio, and Damon. But it's also filled to a ridiculous extent with truckloads of gratuitous gore and profanity, which tend to obscure rather than accentuate whatever Scorsese was trying to say. Yes, I was shocked as those moments it was intended. But I also felt pummeled by the relentless barrage of excessive elements mentioned above. If there is any subtlety to this movie at all, it was missed on me, and I really don't care enough to see it again to catch what I missed. It may keep you entertained for two and a half hours if you like this sort of thing, but I found little redeeming about it. I really don't get the hype. Expand
  35. MikeN.
    Apr 8, 2007
    5
    It's a decent film, but I thought it was inferior to the original. Sure, the ending was changed, but otherwise, nothing much was added. The acting was weaker in the starring roles. The supporting cast was deeper, but not enough to make this movie worth it.
  36. TerryTang
    Jan 5, 2008
    4
    Had this been more original, this film would had been more astonishing. This movie just purely a carbon copy of a better movie. Scorsese should stick to being original. Adding pointless swearing and violence doesn't make a movie any better nor original. Good luck next time.
  37. JS
    Jun 12, 2009
    6
    The reviews for this movie were very misleading. I didn't realise going in that all the positive reviews were just making Scorsese a free ticket for an oscar. Its shameful that the academy gave into the hype for this movie, but insulted The Dark Knight by inferring people only liked it for Ledger. This movie was just a cheap thriller with a novel plot. You can tell the script was The reviews for this movie were very misleading. I didn't realise going in that all the positive reviews were just making Scorsese a free ticket for an oscar. Its shameful that the academy gave into the hype for this movie, but insulted The Dark Knight by inferring people only liked it for Ledger. This movie was just a cheap thriller with a novel plot. You can tell the script was written by a hollywood prince who has no dealings with the outside world. It was a lot like a Quentin Tarantino movie; no texture, just the unrealistic overuse of language you'd only hear on a 6th grade school yard, and intense random violence. Speaking of language, the movie manages to demean the Boston area police to a greater extent than they have in real life. I can't imagine professionals at a meeting for a major police agency jokingly yelling 'I did your mom!' to each other. It had a lot of good acting all around, I'll give it that. Even Alec Baldwin manages to avoid being unbearable; and thankfully he isn't in many scenes. Their attempt to make you hate Mark Wahlberg's character throughout 3/4s the movie and then flip him to being a 'good guy' didn't float with me; it actually seemed goofy. Jack Nicholson reprises his role as The Joker, which seems better this time around. The character writing is so juvenile that 12 year olds could have easily played most of the parts. I think its interesting that in most movies like this they try to show a human side to the villains... But this movie goes above and beyond: dehumanizing everyone in the world other than two characters. If you aren't a scumbag you can't relate to 98% of the people in this film. Strangely, some elements of the film reminds me of Robocop. The way several of the characters die and Jack Nicholson's randomly breaking in with his party girls reminded me of the "I'd Buy That for a Dollar!" guy. But I actually liked Robocop. Usually when I see a movie that is grossly violent I look for some kind of meaning in the whole plot. Well, there is none in The Departed. Its just a bunch of thugs who kill people violently, and then die violently themselves. With a slight amount of intrigue in between, I could easily confuse this for one of the Bourne films. Expand
  38. Hughie
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    Wow.....the press swoon over another pretty pedestrian outing from MS. What a shock! A decent cop movie, nothing remarkable here.
  39. LP.
    Nov 16, 2006
    5
    AVERAGE. This movie had many good elements, a good story to work from and fine performances, but ultimately it just does not stand up to any scrutiny. There are at least two major plot lines that are just completely dropped at the end, and actions that seem contrived just to wrap it up quickly and haphazardly. For example, after much high-tech use of cell phones, the story turns on the AVERAGE. This movie had many good elements, a good story to work from and fine performances, but ultimately it just does not stand up to any scrutiny. There are at least two major plot lines that are just completely dropped at the end, and actions that seem contrived just to wrap it up quickly and haphazardly. For example, after much high-tech use of cell phones, the story turns on the handoff of an envelope. What, you couldn Expand
  40. DanaM.
    Oct 16, 2006
    5
    Sorry folks, this is one movie to avoid. Senseless violence and really crude language puts this one over the top. Folks were laughing after the killings; it became so ludicrous at the end. Dicaprio was exceptional and worth watching. Wahlberg was annoying in his role and Damon needs acting classes. Jack starts off with a horrible Boston accent and loses it midway, with over the top Sorry folks, this is one movie to avoid. Senseless violence and really crude language puts this one over the top. Folks were laughing after the killings; it became so ludicrous at the end. Dicaprio was exceptional and worth watching. Wahlberg was annoying in his role and Damon needs acting classes. Jack starts off with a horrible Boston accent and loses it midway, with over the top language. Hey, I'm from Boston and these are cartoon characters not real life people. Sorry folks, despite the star cast this movie is one to avoid. Expand
  41. VS
    Oct 17, 2006
    4
    To long. The story was all over the place. I can't believe people are comparing this to Goodfellas and Casino which were excellent movies not even in the same category. I decided after seeing this movie I was never going to waste my money on going to the theater again.
  42. TJ
    Oct 21, 2006
    6
    Scorcese has been one of the greatest, but I felt almost nothing watching this film. Scorcese's early films, like Raging Bull and Taxi Driver, had a rawness and a sense of true emotion and menace. They were a bit messy and loose and alive. This feels so tightly edited and scripted that there is no real emotion and human feeling. Just keep the plot moving. Jack in the 60's and Scorcese has been one of the greatest, but I felt almost nothing watching this film. Scorcese's early films, like Raging Bull and Taxi Driver, had a rawness and a sense of true emotion and menace. They were a bit messy and loose and alive. This feels so tightly edited and scripted that there is no real emotion and human feeling. Just keep the plot moving. Jack in the 60's and 70's was one of the greatest actors, but he's become a cartoon character--although the main problem is Scorcese allowing this excess. The actors are generally very good here, but they are let down by Scorcese. Sorry, I know that's sacrilege, but it's true The original Hong Kong film, Infernal Affairs, was better. And Marty, what was with that last shot? Was it all a joke? My goodness, that was even worse than the ending of Gangs of New York. The audience in the theater I saw the film in annoyed me by laughing at almost every killing, especially toward the end--but as I walked out of the theater I couldn't help thinking maybe they were right. Scorcese didn't invest his characters with enough real depth to make us care about anyone. Expand
  43. LewisP.
    Oct 28, 2006
    6
    What can you say about The Departed? I found it to be thoroughly entertaining but amateurish in its attempt to reflect what criminal characters and the police are really like. Very little makes sense in this picture but one is captivated by a plot that keeps the viewer thoroughly engaged. The dialogue completely lacks subtlety (do we really believe Matt Damon's character as he rants What can you say about The Departed? I found it to be thoroughly entertaining but amateurish in its attempt to reflect what criminal characters and the police are really like. Very little makes sense in this picture but one is captivated by a plot that keeps the viewer thoroughly engaged. The dialogue completely lacks subtlety (do we really believe Matt Damon's character as he rants about "homos" during the police-fireman football game? In real life, he probably would have gotten in trouble for those kinds of remarks. And what about Mark Wahlberg's staff sergeant whose foul-mouthed rants are tolerated by his superiors at every turn (could never happen in a professional police office!). Matt Damon always seems to play the same one-note, bland part whether he's the hero or the villain. Vera Farmiga's psychiatrist doesn't have much to do except pass on (off screen) a cryptic package (given to her by Leonardo DiCaprio's undercover cop) which leads the staff sergeant (who disappears for almost the second half of the movie) to take revenge on Damon. DiCaprio is probably the most convincing of all the actors but one wonders why anyone would have put themselves in so much jeopardy especially after his superiors have belittled him so much at the beginning of the film when he agrees to go undercover. Jack Nicholson, as the Mafia mob boss, is so over the top in his performance that it's laughable. But mostly it's the screenwriter's fault for making him to such an over the top character (no Mafia hood would belittle priests and a nun in a restaurant by insinuating that they're all pedophiles; Mafia characters have always shown at least (outward) respect to priests (see the Sopranos for confirmation!). And as I said the plot is thoroughly engaging (because you always want to know what happens next), it's not at all convincing. Martin Sheen's Chief would never have gone alone to meet the undercover and the assassination of the undercover and another cop from Damon's unit by a "second" undercover occurs completely out of the blue. Finally, the final shot, with the rat scurrying outside on the railing on the balcony is symptomatic of the film's lack of subtlety. I guess Scorsese will have to wait another year for his Oscar. Expand
  44. AraH.
    Jan 29, 2007
    6
    Just okay. Great acting, but very convoluted story and far-fetched plot points. How was this nominated for an Oscar over United 93?
  45. JoshG.
    Feb 14, 2007
    6
    Like a previous reviewer said, Infernal Affairs was an extremely more dramatic, complete, and simply better version of the same story copied by Departed. AND WHAT HAPPENED TO THE BROWN ENVELOPE GIVEN TO THE SHRINK? NOBODY KNOWS!
  46. Spongeee
    Feb 15, 2007
    5
    After doing a decent job building up the suspense, Marty pulls the string and the wound up rubber bands go everywhere - and end up nowhere in particular. [***SPOILER***] Having to reaffirm my suspension of disbelief a few times during the build up was not fully rewarded at the end, esp the random 2nd mole that kills Leo, wtf was that about? Flawed script - the camera and edit work were After doing a decent job building up the suspense, Marty pulls the string and the wound up rubber bands go everywhere - and end up nowhere in particular. [***SPOILER***] Having to reaffirm my suspension of disbelief a few times during the build up was not fully rewarded at the end, esp the random 2nd mole that kills Leo, wtf was that about? Flawed script - the camera and edit work were pretty nice though. Expand
  47. AndersJ.
    Feb 26, 2007
    4
    Too much violence -- it's ridiculous, repetitive, boring, and cheap. Are we really so bloodthirsty that this kind of garbage takes "Best Picture"? Our expectations are too low. We can do better. We should expect far more from the artists we've deemed "great."
  48. Joseph
    Feb 27, 2007
    6
    Excellent acting. Deserving of Best Picture? No. Deserving of all this critical acclaim? No. Also, about 30 minutes should have been trimmed from the movie (bringing it to 2 hours). It is worth seeing, but not worth owning or seeing multiple times.
  49. JackS.
    Dec 17, 2008
    5
    The ending and opening were great. The middle scenes got a little boring though. A little to harsh of language. Fair movie though. I mean Damon's Bourne series was better. And DiCaprio's "Blood Dimond" was so much better. I don't think it desrves a 10/10.
  50. BenT
    Nov 19, 2006
    4
    Well Martin ScorSese, director of "The Godfellas", hasn't made the best film of his career or the best film of the year but it was nice to see Dicaprio die and Nicholson acting again.
  51. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    Apart from some great acting,there was almost nothing in the movie worth praise.The story was unnecessarily confusing and Scorsese didnt do well to omit that confusion.I was and am still surprsied why this movie won the oscar...???
  52. HalB.
    Oct 10, 2006
    6
    Wow, what a dilemma. A very well acted and well directed film, with some scenes that will stick in my mind (and gut) for a very long time. But the language and violence and relentlessly dark/cynical tone of the film left me totally depressed. Maybe that's what Scorsese was aiming for; maybe that's what good film/art is about: an emotional and physical kick in the guts. Nicholson Wow, what a dilemma. A very well acted and well directed film, with some scenes that will stick in my mind (and gut) for a very long time. But the language and violence and relentlessly dark/cynical tone of the film left me totally depressed. Maybe that's what Scorsese was aiming for; maybe that's what good film/art is about: an emotional and physical kick in the guts. Nicholson and DiCaprio (and much of the supporting cast) are awesome. But I can only recommend this for those who can stomach lots of graphic violence and a nearly 3-hour "glimpse" into human behavior at its worst. For me, this amounted to a horror story. I like good horror films, but geesh... Expand
  53. CD.
    Oct 7, 2006
    6
    Well acted, but stays in the surface. Merely a sparring session for the greatest American director.
  54. Rostokov
    Oct 19, 2006
    6
    I love Marty, I really do. He's one of our best. Increasingly, however, he and his excellent editor Thelma Schoonmaker are relying on a shorthand editing style to tell their stories. Whilst he elicits fine performances and his shot selection still impresses, the shortness of scenes doesn't allow for the sustaining of a palpable reality (stylized or not). Thus proper depth and I love Marty, I really do. He's one of our best. Increasingly, however, he and his excellent editor Thelma Schoonmaker are relying on a shorthand editing style to tell their stories. Whilst he elicits fine performances and his shot selection still impresses, the shortness of scenes doesn't allow for the sustaining of a palpable reality (stylized or not). Thus proper depth and suspense are not achieved and the viewer feels like they are watching events from a distance. In Taxi Driver he often lets the camera linger long enough to let the sleaze of the streets seep into your worldview. In Expand
  55. DavidC.
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    MS works well with large casts and big stories, but this one seems very long and lost. Too much Jack; too little DiCaprio; hard to "feel" anything (which is why the audience laughs at the violence).
  56. BR
    Oct 12, 2006
    4
    Okay this is not 'Goodfellas'. Cartoony is the best adjective I can use to describe the film. Actually I was expecting Roger Rabbit to appear at the end and shoot Walhberg.
  57. MichelS.
    Dec 27, 2006
    6
    DiCaprio's best acting, but this promising movie falls apart in the end. Very disappointing.
  58. Apr 1, 2012
    6
    The Departed has good acting and a pretty good story but it felt like just another gangster film; violence, drugs, and a bunch of thugs after one thing, money.
  59. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    Okay. Disgraceful that it's a remake of an amazing and original film, and it wins Best Picture. Jack Nicholson is one of my favorite actors, but he does not fit in with the whole premise and cast. Leonardo is okay, Matt Damon Vera Farmiga plays a c***, and Mark Wahlberg is nothing short of annoying. No remake would have sufficed.
  60. Jan 21, 2015
    4
    The Departed is overlong, overwritten but also terribly rushed at times. Several supporting characters in the film are left not underdeveloped but undeveloped. All the characters (apart from Dicaprio's who is the only person who undergoes some some sort of emotional transformation) are wooden, almost heartless at times (Matt Damon being the worst). The love triangle forced into the filmThe Departed is overlong, overwritten but also terribly rushed at times. Several supporting characters in the film are left not underdeveloped but undeveloped. All the characters (apart from Dicaprio's who is the only person who undergoes some some sort of emotional transformation) are wooden, almost heartless at times (Matt Damon being the worst). The love triangle forced into the film made no sense. It feels completely out of place and was frankly pointless. The entire plot feels a bit too McGuffin-y and goes beyond nonsensical at times. So Costello needs not one but 2 moles in the police despite the fact that he's already under the protection of the FBI? Good move there Costello. The dialogue is terrible. It's just cursing for no real thematic purpose. And don't even get me started about that godawful ending. This wasn't Hamlet, it was just stupid and ridiculous. It's all false drama with no real emotional stakes. The Departed is all surface, no depth, all style, no substance. Expand
  61. Dec 3, 2014
    6
    I honestly do not know why many people say it's a masterpiece. For me it was a good movie, but not a masterpiece. However, the actors do a great job..
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    A new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here on its highest beams.
  2. A ferociously entertaining film.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    This reworking of a popular Hong Kong picture pulses with energy, tangy dialogue and crackling performances from a fine cast.