Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 6, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1492 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,089
Mixed:
99
Negative:
304
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JimMOct 25, 2006
WOW! This is the MUST SEE movie of the year. You won't believe the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronM.Oct 28, 2006
This movie is exciting, thrilling, and even quite funny. All the characters were fantastic, especially Jack Nicholson. See this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Oct 31, 2006
About the only thing I can say against this movie is that it was pure entertainment, and didn't have much depth. If it somehow made statements about the human condition, or whatever, and managed to be as entertaining, it would get a About the only thing I can say against this movie is that it was pure entertainment, and didn't have much depth. If it somehow made statements about the human condition, or whatever, and managed to be as entertaining, it would get a ten. But it didn't. Well--with that kind of flaw, I can live. This movie and everyone in it is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RM.Oct 30, 2006
Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards Slightly overrated. The acting was superb from all quarters, EVERYONE. But Di Caprio carried the movie. I actually wanted to see more of Mark Whalberg in this film, his character was intense. Matt was Matt (his best work for me with regards to Damon to this day still remains to be the first remake of the Bourne Identity, but he did a good job here too). Jack was Jack and you can't say anything more. But Leo was definitely the character I empathized with the most and like I said he carried the film. Maybe it was all the hype leading up to me seeing the movie that let me down a bit though the ending was really good. 8/8 Worth the $$$. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PashaL.Oct 4, 2006
Scorsese returns to his gangster roots and knocks it out of the park. Leo really lets loose and proves he is one of the best actors working today. Matt, Alec and Jack are all spectacular as well
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 5, 2006
A instant classic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Oct 6, 2006
Everything seemed Oscar worthy, from the cinematography, to editing, to the screenplay, acting, score, everything. The film is so well crafted that at almost 3 hours long, it doesn't seem to matter, and you even expect more. I never had Everything seemed Oscar worthy, from the cinematography, to editing, to the screenplay, acting, score, everything. The film is so well crafted that at almost 3 hours long, it doesn't seem to matter, and you even expect more. I never had so much fun and disgust with a crime movie in years. Definitely the best movie of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobA.Oct 6, 2006
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyI.Oct 6, 2006
You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. After waiting 30 years, we are blessed with the pairing of Jack Nicholson in a film by Martin Scorsese, and was it ever worth the wait. Just when you thought you'd seen Nicholson in every possible role, you get him in his most vile, reprehensible character yet, and once again he's perfect. In fact, everyone is perfect. Dicaprio has shed his boy wonder image and gives the most emotionally mature performance of his career, and Matt Damon holds his own in a film dripping with talent. The cinematography, editing and score all add to the brilliance of this film, but above all, it is a film by... and that's all you need to know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeoffR.Oct 6, 2006
INCREDIBLE!! The star studded cast definitely delivered this time. It was mesmerizing and exciting the entire time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamB.Oct 6, 2006
Great movie, a little bit too much violence at the end, but I think every adult should see this movie in the fall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdK.Oct 7, 2006
Not the masterpiece Goodfellas was, but A very entertaining well acted film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobROct 7, 2006
Not a great movie, possibly Scorsese's least personal (and profound) feature, but HIGHLY entertaining. I don't think the ending was terrible. May seem that way at first, but I think it's meant to be ridiculous, especially Not a great movie, possibly Scorsese's least personal (and profound) feature, but HIGHLY entertaining. I don't think the ending was terrible. May seem that way at first, but I think it's meant to be ridiculous, especially given that tongue-in-cheek ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TaureanR.Oct 7, 2006
Engrossing and intense gangster film set in present-day Boston with a strong plot, lots of interesting dialogue, and excellent acting. DiCaprio and Nicholson are standouts in a cast that seems to include half the A list Hollywood stars. This Engrossing and intense gangster film set in present-day Boston with a strong plot, lots of interesting dialogue, and excellent acting. DiCaprio and Nicholson are standouts in a cast that seems to include half the A list Hollywood stars. This is the best movie I have seen this year. Scorcese scores again. Minor nits: some of the romantic dialogue between Matt Damon's character and his love interest came off as forced and unconvincing, and occasionally Jack Nicholson's acting bordered on ham. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtOct 7, 2006
As good as crime drama gets!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EddieOct 9, 2006
Great acting across the board. Movie needs to lose about 20 mins but otherwise, a very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FantasyOct 9, 2006
Gripping tense drama with outstanding acting by all involved. Jack turns in one of his usual great performances; but it is Leonardo DiCaprio taking his profession up to another level in which equals the master scene for scene. The only Gripping tense drama with outstanding acting by all involved. Jack turns in one of his usual great performances; but it is Leonardo DiCaprio taking his profession up to another level in which equals the master scene for scene. The only negative is the extreme violence and total disregard for human life by all involved. The intensety stays with you long after you leave the theater. DiCaprio is certain of an Oscar nomination for this body of work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JM.Oct 9, 2006
Stop reading the reviews and go watch the movie! Great, great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickOct 9, 2006
An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all incredible. There wasn't a single "dragging" part in the entire movie. I would absolutely rank this as one of the 2-3 An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all incredible. There wasn't a single "dragging" part in the entire movie. I would absolutely rank this as one of the 2-3 best movies I've EVER seen. It is simply a work of art, and anyone that gives it below a phenomenal score has no idea what they're talking about. Like others have said, this is the best movie of 2006. If this doesn't sweep the Oscars, the shit is rigged. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddK.Oct 9, 2006
Possibly the best movie since Raging Bull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradleyT.Nov 9, 2007
Thrilling, airtight crime suspense with a failsafe premise that works despite Nicholson's over-the-top performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TGJan 31, 2007
A classic. Great storytelling keeps you guessing what's going to happen next. Great acting, great dialog. Scorsese's best film since Goodfellas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
billthebutcherFeb 11, 2007
I enjoyed the movie Thought the casting was terrible sometimes I felt I was watching a sloppy melting pot of the shining ,basketball diaries and good will hunting.Very unrealistic story.Definitley an asian movie.Can`t wait to see infernalI enjoyed the movie Thought the casting was terrible sometimes I felt I was watching a sloppy melting pot of the shining ,basketball diaries and good will hunting.Very unrealistic story.Definitley an asian movie.Can`t wait to see infernal affairs.Jack nicholson just ain`t cut out to play a mob boss.And Di caprio just like in gangs of new york is no good as a hardman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
M.M.Feb 12, 2007
A splendid movie which makes you to sit back till the last scene. A marvelous performance by Leo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoL.Feb 13, 2007
In spite of excessive violence and profanity, this is the best movie I have seen in a long long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinS.Feb 13, 2007
Phenomenal movie, one of the best films in a decade at least. Wahlberg is phenomenal, as are Damon and DiCaprio. The movie gets better every time I watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RayH.Feb 14, 2007
Maybe we expect too much from Scorsese. He's given us a handful of truly great films, and some merely very good. The Departed is the latter, IMO. It feels very much like Goodfellas and Casino, even without the voice-over (thank God). To Maybe we expect too much from Scorsese. He's given us a handful of truly great films, and some merely very good. The Departed is the latter, IMO. It feels very much like Goodfellas and Casino, even without the voice-over (thank God). To me the most interesting part of the film was the editing; it didn't always work, but it felt like Schoonmaker and Scorsese were trying to up the energy in the cutting. Not great, but still better than most stuff out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinZ.Feb 17, 2007
This movie is a must see! You get a taste of two sides of a story and i would agree everything works and is well put together. The movie throws out an unexpecting ending that keeps you on the edge of your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawanR.Feb 17, 2007
How whiny are we fans when the rating says that critics like The Departed better than we do? It's a good fucking movie! The acting was brilliant, and so was the action, and so was the dialogue. This movie could also win Best Picture. How whiny are we fans when the rating says that critics like The Departed better than we do? It's a good fucking movie! The acting was brilliant, and so was the action, and so was the dialogue. This movie could also win Best Picture. You guys are so whiny, you still forget that this is still one of the greatest movies of our decade, but you wouldn't even be able to pick it out if you could. Go to film class and start studying movies, and why they are classics, because you wouldn't tell apart The War of Worlds from the Godfather. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelE.Feb 19, 2007
It's just a thriller, yeah, but Scorsese shows up all other current directors of thrillers by providing a movie that contains actual characters. It's like watching real people in a comic book world. I mean that in a good way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanicaT.Feb 22, 2007
Great movie. Great Cast. Great storyline. Great performances. Great action, never bored. Captivating. I would definitely recommend it..simply put.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharltonP.Feb 25, 2007
It's about time. I thought I'd have to give up watching movies altogether. Only a fool could dislike this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RazvanT.Feb 25, 2007
Good movie but could have been better.The first half was better but the movie is overall pretty good and watcheble.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdJ.Feb 28, 2007
Love this movie. This movie is for ballers, and intellectuals. If you ain't a balla nor an intellectual, than this movie just isn't for you. Love how they represent the Boston accents, and DiCaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, and Nicholson Love this movie. This movie is for ballers, and intellectuals. If you ain't a balla nor an intellectual, than this movie just isn't for you. Love how they represent the Boston accents, and DiCaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, and Nicholson were awesome in it. West Wing's Martin Sheen and Antonio Anderson were also good in the movie. I highly recommend this to everyone I know! Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinaK.Feb 28, 2007
A brilliant film with great acting/casting, and amazing storyline directed by Martin Scorsese, who made his best film probably since Goodfellas or Raging Bull. An all around well deserved Oscar for best Director and best Picture. This is the A brilliant film with great acting/casting, and amazing storyline directed by Martin Scorsese, who made his best film probably since Goodfellas or Raging Bull. An all around well deserved Oscar for best Director and best Picture. This is the Boston version of the Godfather of the new millenium, and rocked my world from the beginning to the last drop. I hope there is a sequel, because this movie rocks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyS.Feb 28, 2007
The movie shines through with its bleak realism, gratuitous violence and witty dialogue. DiCaprio and Wahlberg do an excellent job. The stellar cast and the genius of Scorsese gives this film a nice slice of life. Great care has been made to The movie shines through with its bleak realism, gratuitous violence and witty dialogue. DiCaprio and Wahlberg do an excellent job. The stellar cast and the genius of Scorsese gives this film a nice slice of life. Great care has been made to give Boston-esque accents, which gives the film a gripping authenticity. Overall a well-deserved winner of Best Picture, much better than previous years when Chicago and The Hours won, movies that were just too boring (the Hours) or centered around an unlikeable character (chicago) who cheats on her husband and tries to make you sympathize, but gets away with it. The grittiest film to date since City of God. I love this film, and it was well-deserving of winning Best Picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohanS.Feb 28, 2007
Great film, plot, acting, everything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SocoFeb 28, 2007
Excellent movie. Very intense and thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EricC.Mar 1, 2007
It was a blast to watch. One of the best times I had at the movies in a while. But Best Picture? Someones trying way to hard to please some Scorsese fans. You can't call it original, since it's based on Infernal Affairs (which is It was a blast to watch. One of the best times I had at the movies in a while. But Best Picture? Someones trying way to hard to please some Scorsese fans. You can't call it original, since it's based on Infernal Affairs (which is far better, from what I hear). The acting is over the top and deeply lacking in depth. Leanardo is angry the whole movie (even during love scenes), Nicholson is crazy the whole movie (never saw that before... wait, yes I have), Damon was a jerk the whole movie. Should I keep going through the entire cast? I had fun, yeah, but I also had fun in Pirates of the Carribean and Talledega Nights. Should they have been nominated too? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NanH.Mar 13, 2007
Good story, great acting and well worth seeing! This movie was full of twists and turns. Keeps you on your toes! You never know what will happen next. Very unpredictable. One of DiCaprio's best acting roles by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Mar 2, 2007
This movie was so good, that it will make you wet pants with joy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveMar 22, 2007
I agree with most of the other opinions on this board. Good movie yes, but best picture, no way. I can think of several I would rate ahead of this including Pans Labyrinth, Children of Men, Volver and The Lives of Others. I did see Infernal I agree with most of the other opinions on this board. Good movie yes, but best picture, no way. I can think of several I would rate ahead of this including Pans Labyrinth, Children of Men, Volver and The Lives of Others. I did see Infernal Affairs, and yes it is a better film than Departed, though I have to say that Scorsese did a much better job of recreating the film than a vast majority of directors working in Hollywood would. So, overall a very good film, but once again the academy missed the boat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.IgnacioM.Mar 25, 2007
...I was skeptical to watch this movie....the story line did not interest me....and did not hear anyone raving about it....But I watched it on DVD a month after the Oscars....I was surprised by the contents...the complexity of the story...the...I was skeptical to watch this movie....the story line did not interest me....and did not hear anyone raving about it....But I watched it on DVD a month after the Oscars....I was surprised by the contents...the complexity of the story...the direction of the film was great.....this was a very difficult film to do.....specially with an all-star acting team on board......so that said.....I was very impressed with the fim......a winner!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FayeD.Mar 28, 2007
I have to say that a lot of you are being way too harsh regarding Martin Scorsese and his directing of the film "The Departed". This was an amazing return for him to what he does best, making gangster films. I loved every minute of the film I have to say that a lot of you are being way too harsh regarding Martin Scorsese and his directing of the film "The Departed". This was an amazing return for him to what he does best, making gangster films. I loved every minute of the film when i watched it. Although Costello was played a little O.T.T. by Nicholson at times. I'v also gladly watched the film again and again for the twists and turns in the plot which was based on the real-life gangster of Boston, John 'Whitey' Bulger. There was also the wonderful acting by the cast of Nicholson, DiCaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, Baldwin and Sheen. Along with the well played female role amongst many males, Vera Farmiga, as Madolyn. Yes, the violence is not of the quality we're all used to from past Scorsese gangsters, but thats because his approach has differed. During the 70s the violence was very strong throughout but today he prefers to portray the violence by editing, suggestions and sound effects. Also the "cat-and -rat" chase throughout the film is really compelling at the audience wonders who will succeed and finish off the other first. I'm glad that it was Martin Scorsese to direct this and that he had won Best Director Award for the film. He deserved it after the career he's had. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RirenMar 3, 2007
Nicholson turns in one of his best performances in years. Actually, so do DiCaprio and Damon. The supporting cast mostly ranges from inoffensive to good, filling out a lush world and creating an interesting, tangled plot, following two Nicholson turns in one of his best performances in years. Actually, so do DiCaprio and Damon. The supporting cast mostly ranges from inoffensive to good, filling out a lush world and creating an interesting, tangled plot, following two people are much more similar than is comfortable. The Departed also boasts great pacing and one of the best soundtracks in years. In fact, there are so many aspects of the movie that are "one of the best in years" that it's no surprise that The Departed is the year's best. Only Pan's Labyrinth can stand up to it, and it's too different a film to compare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DonQ.Mar 4, 2007
Good movie? Yes. One of the best movies of the 2006? Yes. THE best movie? No way. Shouldn't have won best picture, but oh well...let's give Scorcese his long-deserved Oscar. Still, I liked the cast and the story a lot. It'd be Good movie? Yes. One of the best movies of the 2006? Yes. THE best movie? No way. Shouldn't have won best picture, but oh well...let's give Scorcese his long-deserved Oscar. Still, I liked the cast and the story a lot. It'd be a lot more impressive if it was an original movie rather than a remake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AMovieCriticMar 6, 2007
Extremely excellent movie with great acting, exciting and interesting directing, really great writing, and overall just put together with great skill. Really an interesting movie that is complex but it only lost me towards the end; I was Extremely excellent movie with great acting, exciting and interesting directing, really great writing, and overall just put together with great skill. Really an interesting movie that is complex but it only lost me towards the end; I was well-able to follow the plot through most of it. Just, overall, great movie. My only problem was that at nearly 2 and a half hours, it stretches. Not during the movie itself, but Everything after the big shootout at the end just seems to go on for a bit too long. Otherwise, though, great movie. Not sure why Mark Wahlberg was the only one to get noticed by the academy here; DiCaprio, Damon, and Nicholson really offer fantastic performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeraldB.Apr 13, 2007
There may be one or two overripe red herrings in the last reel of The Departed, but Scorsese has made a rooted movie about a city's roots being torn up. He brings the fear back into things going bang in the night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PashaL.Apr 13, 2007
Scorsese returns to his gangster roots and knocks it out of the park. Leo really lets loose and proves he is one of the best actors working today. Matt, Alec and Jack are all spectacular as well
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CocoR.Apr 13, 2007
I think this is one of the best mob movies in awhile. Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio, and Jack Nicholson give out very strong and relistic character strength.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnO.Apr 25, 2007
It boils down to this - Scorcese is Italian-American and so he understands the culture infinetly better than he does Irish-American. Those little cultural idiosyncrasies that Scorcese packs into his other films, and uses so seamlessly in It boils down to this - Scorcese is Italian-American and so he understands the culture infinetly better than he does Irish-American. Those little cultural idiosyncrasies that Scorcese packs into his other films, and uses so seamlessly in Goodfellas and Casino, are either vacant or are too stereotyped and clumsy here. Consequently the film feels sketchy as a result. Why can't directors cast Irish actors for Irish parts - or, at the very least, actors who can pull off a convincing accent? I would have thought that perhaps after Gangs of New York Scorcese might've learned something. Instead he casts Ray Winstone (who can't even pull off an American accent), Nicholson and DiCaprio; all of whom are great actors but none of whom do anything but make you wince every time they open their mouths. Perhaps it's because I am Irish that it gets to me and I notice it. Perhaps to none Irish veiwers it might seem authentic, who knows? Scorcese is in the privileged position of being one of the few directors whose films people will go and see irrespective of the cast. Is he as hamstrung by the industry in casting as lesser directors? It's still well worth a watch and I've given it a high score because it is a decent film, but it's nowhere near in the same league as Goodfellas or Casino. I'd be very interested in hearing other people's views on the points I've made. Not abuse mind you... lol. Thanks very much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArtofReasonApr 29, 2007
A very well acted and well directed film, with some scenes that will stick in my mind (and gut) for a very long time. An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all A very well acted and well directed film, with some scenes that will stick in my mind (and gut) for a very long time. An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all incredible. There wasn't a single "dragging" part in the entire movie. I would absolutely rank this as one of the 2-3 best movies I've EVER seen. It is simply a work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeamusO.Apr 29, 2007
The best movie hands down. Great acting, great authenticity of the scenes, believable accents, every thing. And I am Irish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JMApr 29, 2007
Great character development, I was wrong, and have developed so much respect for the people who raved about the film. Great casting, acting, soundtrack, action scenes. I am an idiot who does not know the art of good films or a gangstaGreat character development, I was wrong, and have developed so much respect for the people who raved about the film. Great casting, acting, soundtrack, action scenes. I am an idiot who does not know the art of good films or a gangsta drama. I would give this an 80, but I do believe this should receive a higher grade than a 77. A 78 at least. That's why I give it a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyI.Apr 29, 2007
You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. After waiting 30 years, we are blessed with the pairing of Jack Nicholson in a film by Martin Scorsese, and was it ever worth the wait. Just when you thought you'd seen Nicholson in every possible role, you get him in his most vile, reprehensible character yet, and once again he's perfect. In fact, everyone is perfect. Dicaprio has shed his boy wonder image and gives the most emotionally mature performance of his career, and Matt Damon holds his own in a film dripping with talent. The cinematography, editing and score all add to the brilliance of this film, but above all, it is a film by... and that's all you need to know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeS.May 4, 2007
Stunning in what it is, simply. Anyone doubting its subtle brilliance is trying too hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
Martin Scorcese is among the most influential, masterfully-gifted film directors of all time. He
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joem.Jul 12, 2007
Absolutely AMAZING!!! breathtaking and interesting and I luuuved the ending! 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarryA.Sep 9, 2007
One of the best movies I have ever seen! It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The actings fantastic, the music is great. This movie is thrilling, unpredictable, and amazing!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MickiFJun 9, 2008
Good movie until the end. I need to view this film about four more times to catch everything I may have missed. Is there a sequel to explain what was in Costigan's envelope? So many unanswered questions - I don't want to spend my Good movie until the end. I need to view this film about four more times to catch everything I may have missed. Is there a sequel to explain what was in Costigan's envelope? So many unanswered questions - I don't want to spend my time after watching a movie trying to decipher the ongoings of a fictional world; is it too much to have closure at the end of a film? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chrishJul 8, 2008
An absolute masterpiece. From the beginning to the end i was captivated by the story and how the 2 worlds collided in a big way. I cannot understand what there is to not like about this movie. Also, there is talk of a sequel to this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomPAug 23, 2008
Okay Terrence, you obviously just weren't smart enough to get a grasp on this movie. (Colin wasn't able to get the undercover officer files, he never mentioned not being able to use a password.) Really good movie though. Everybody Okay Terrence, you obviously just weren't smart enough to get a grasp on this movie. (Colin wasn't able to get the undercover officer files, he never mentioned not being able to use a password.) Really good movie though. Everybody Dies! (Yay?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyC.Sep 1, 2008
The envelope contained the tapes that showed how Matt Damon's character had connections with the mob.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanOOct 11, 2006
Easily the best film of 2006, if a movie could beat out this one in the Oscar run I would be shocked. The movie was fantastic, the acting was amazing everyone was top notch, no one missed a step. It was a brutal and shocking movie that would Easily the best film of 2006, if a movie could beat out this one in the Oscar run I would be shocked. The movie was fantastic, the acting was amazing everyone was top notch, no one missed a step. It was a brutal and shocking movie that would make you jump out of your seat at times, yet there are also times when you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnR.Nov 13, 2006
Great directing, great acting, compelling situations, but the script misses the best opportunities and lacks any deeper reason to see this film other than surface engagement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KjartanA.Nov 15, 2006
It left me in a catatonic state for 2 hours after. Di Caprio is fantastic in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankZ.Nov 16, 2006
Amazing story, great acting. Can't ask for more than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbinoL.Nov 19, 2006
The BEST movie I've seen in 2006 by far!! Characters are more fleshed out and developed than Infernal Affairs. Someone give Scorsese his long overdue Oscar!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyF.Oct 12, 2006
There are extraordinary performances in all major roles. Martin Scorsese draws much more from many of his actors than they have ever displayed previously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyJ.Oct 12, 2006
Scorsese at his best. Very professional, and perhaps the most perfect "cops and robbers" movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
okNov 25, 2006
DiCaprio gives his best turn yet in what is likely the best movie of 2006. Fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SulH.Nov 28, 2006
Now THIS is how drama is done. Leo deserves an Oscar, here's hoping he actually gets it, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JWOct 13, 2006
This rating requires an asterisk, because I'm very conflicted. Never has such an obviously good movie left me feeling so much nothing afterwards. A lot of really, REALLY excellent acting is offered up in sacrifice to this movie. And This rating requires an asterisk, because I'm very conflicted. Never has such an obviously good movie left me feeling so much nothing afterwards. A lot of really, REALLY excellent acting is offered up in sacrifice to this movie. And sacrifice is the exact word for it. Martin Sheen has been and I expect will continue to be overlooked here. But he is the closest thing the movie has to a moral center, and gets just as much out of his character as a gnawing Nicholson does, in a mere fraction of the time. He also has the two most poignant moments in the film. DiCaprio deserves whatever accolades he gets for this, because he runs the show really well. People should be off his case now. Damon is as frank and flat as Jack is insane. Either this was asked of them or it was what felt right. We know both are capable enough of rounder acting, but in a strange way it doesn't matter because the decision is made easier to root against them. Scorsese has that superhero capability to draw the big cast. Hype builds around that power, like Superman bending a bus to save people. Only if nobody is saved, you're just left with a bent bus. I see Scorsese as a bender of buses.... It's about three brain-splatters too much to not make your popcorn taste bad. And I don't know what number the body count reached before people started laughing, but it was certainly smaller than the numbers you hear each night on the news. Scorsese should consider this before he bends another bus, because by the end of it he seemed to be having fun with the wrong things. Nevertheless, 9 (*) if only thanks to the all-star acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalkerR.Oct 14, 2006
Brilliant flick! Trust me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WongitOct 15, 2006
Simply amazing! Best movie i saw through the summer. I never cared for Dicaprio, but he is simply awesome in this film as well as just about everyone else. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
N.A.Oct 16, 2006
The best movie of the year. Great casting, never a dull moment. Smart script, great performances and wonderful score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueOct 16, 2006
So far, the best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilY.Oct 16, 2006
Departed thrives on its cast and is not Scorcese
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SinthaarinMarkakisofThebesOct 17, 2006
The Departed looked to be a great movie then, in the home stretch, it fell apart. I think the creative team (i.e. writer and director) got a little too clever for their own good in the third act. The acting was solid as was the bulk of the The Departed looked to be a great movie then, in the home stretch, it fell apart. I think the creative team (i.e. writer and director) got a little too clever for their own good in the third act. The acting was solid as was the bulk of the story. Scorsese's direction and the poor conclusion were the weak links of this pic. Still, it was one of the more satisfying movies of late - which, unfortunately, is not saying much given the poor state of cinema today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeROct 17, 2006
Another fine film from our greatest living director
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZachGOct 18, 2006
It's a wonder Scorsese can be so monotonic and still be considered a great director. The script's quite witty and the plot's awesome, but towards the end Scorsese is obliged to drag the ending in order to get some puddles of It's a wonder Scorsese can be so monotonic and still be considered a great director. The script's quite witty and the plot's awesome, but towards the end Scorsese is obliged to drag the ending in order to get some puddles of blood in. Also, some multi-dimensional characters would be nice. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnnL.Nov 9, 2006
One of hte best movies i've seen in my life. beautifully acted by dicaprio, nicholson, and damon. Amazingly edited.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StuartS.Oct 21, 2006
A film that was well done. But how many different versions of The Godfather is Hollywood going to produce. Great movie took, if you enjoy guns and murder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MatthewR.Dec 18, 2006
A great film but only a good Scorsese picture. Not along the lines of lets say Mean Streets and Goodfellas but the film has blood and guts and the acting is great, though Jack does some hamming from time to time, I kinda felt like I was A great film but only a good Scorsese picture. Not along the lines of lets say Mean Streets and Goodfellas but the film has blood and guts and the acting is great, though Jack does some hamming from time to time, I kinda felt like I was watching him in 'Anger Management' again but all in all this film deserves a few Oscar nobs especially for Leonardo DiCaprio who is nothing short of great and proves that he's outgrowing his celebrity boy toy status. Kudos all around for a great movie and one of the best of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonDec 29, 2006
I loved this movie another instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimM.Oct 23, 2006
wow. holy freakin crap. words do not do this film justice. this is a freakin masterpiece. one of the best films this year?... my ass. one of the best films in 10 years. this movie will blow you away. i have zero complaints whatsoever. it wow. holy freakin crap. words do not do this film justice. this is a freakin masterpiece. one of the best films this year?... my ass. one of the best films in 10 years. this movie will blow you away. i have zero complaints whatsoever. it could not have been better. i will definitely go see it again soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KishaGOct 25, 2006
Leaving the theater after this movie I was quite awe stuck . The actors all played their roles excellently. I was emotionally connected with Leonardo DiCaprio's character throughout the film. Matt Damon was very good also, I even found Leaving the theater after this movie I was quite awe stuck . The actors all played their roles excellently. I was emotionally connected with Leonardo DiCaprio's character throughout the film. Matt Damon was very good also, I even found myself hating his character, the first time I have ever hated him in a movie. Even supporting players like Alec Baldwin, Mark Walhberg, and Martin Sheen play their roles nicely. The writing was good and Scorscese always picks the right classic rock songs for the action on screen. Give Marty his Oscar, this may not be his best - Raging Bull is my personal pick- but it is time he is rewarded for his work. I have seen it twice and definitely can see it more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Oct 27, 2006
A fearless film that offers the audience no easy answers but enthrals nonetheless. Dicaprio is brilliant - one of the best actors of his generation, as he proves here (and I haven't liked him nearly as much in recent work).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeC.Oct 28, 2006
Excellent experience and awesome Jack. Mark Wahlberg and Alec Baldwin are scene stealers. The movie isn't quite up to Goodfellas standards but very few movies are. A movie I world pay to see again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SilvraNov 25, 2007
Scorsese does it again; proving to us not for the first time that he truly is the king of crime drama. DiCaprio brings life to the role of Billy, and Nicholson is certainly in his prime during the shooting of this movie, and ultimately makes Scorsese does it again; proving to us not for the first time that he truly is the king of crime drama. DiCaprio brings life to the role of Billy, and Nicholson is certainly in his prime during the shooting of this movie, and ultimately makes the movie such the success I believe it is (or should be). The cast all together makes this film an artistic (extremely violent and crude) masterpiece. But truly, would you have the film any other way? Swearing and violence and murder and vulgarity give the movie a gritty charm that draws viewers to it whenever it's on the television screen. The script was wonderfully written, and Scorsese executed it marvelously on the screen. While I doubt anyone was expecting the ending, (I know I sat through the rest of the movie in half-shock, after the main character's untimely death) it too adds to the movie's charm. These people do not value human life, they are out to win, they are out to be the best, and they are going to kill any man who attempts to hand them otherwise. Scorsese captures this rat-eat-rat world perfectly, and I wouldn't have anyone but him directing this urban nightmare onto my screen. --Yours Truly, Silvra. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SnakeP.Jan 14, 2007
An absolute masterpiece!!! Light yeas better than the HK version. Some refuse to admit or accept its triumph and grandeur cos they're simply too anti-hollywood. Departed excels greatly in characterization and narrative. The original An absolute masterpiece!!! Light yeas better than the HK version. Some refuse to admit or accept its triumph and grandeur cos they're simply too anti-hollywood. Departed excels greatly in characterization and narrative. The original Infernal Affairs is purely plot with practically no meat to the characters. Look at it this way, anyone who keeps whinning that 'Leo is no Tony' or 'Matt is no Andy', doesn't get jack about the fact that they're not supposed to even emulate them. Both Leo and Matt carry their roles well beyond the two-dimensional arcs of Tony Leung and Andy Lau. It's only in Infernal Affairs 2 and 3 do viewers actually get some inside into their characters. Hence the unjust comparison. People inadverdantly compare all three Infernal Affairs movies with Departed which is literally unfair! I.A. was never even meant to be a trilogy to begin with, only until after the first one was so successful. So to be true and proper, Departed should only be put head to head with Infernal Affairs Part1. And in that respect, Departed wins hands down. Some say Departed's getting some extra acclaim only because critics want Scorsese to get the oscar but I don't think this is true. Departed is much better than his previous attempts like Aviator and Gangs of New York. This is definitely Scorsese's time to shine and we should let the great man garner his long-overdue Oscar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
beckyDec 26, 2007
what the heck was in the brown envolpe!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentEricksonJan 23, 2007
Wow Rayman so the Chinese made a movie and Scorcesse took the idea and made a movie of it, big deal get a life buddy. I want to see all the IA movies but havent had time, but when I do see them I'm not going to be thinking the wholeWow Rayman so the Chinese made a movie and Scorcesse took the idea and made a movie of it, big deal get a life buddy. I want to see all the IA movies but havent had time, but when I do see them I'm not going to be thinking the whole time "Gee how is this like the Departed, in this acting sequence of this part of the movie at the 44:56 point of the movie it is different" like you were probably doing during the Departed. Scorsese made a good film that was fun to watch and great performances made it great, behind Letters From Iwo Jima this is the best picture of the year, but Martin will lose out again, Clint will win best director, and rightfully so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
marcvsFeb 12, 2007
the film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in athe film was great. all of the complaints people have about it are invalid. the plot was great, the acting suited the film perfectly, and character development worked well. if people can't understand the motivation of a character in a film directed this well, it's the fault of their incompetence, not poor screenwriting or directing or acting. the film is by no means "safe", the editing was very sporatic for effect and necessity and the cursing realistic... if you want to be shocked for shock's sake, watch hobos fight on the internet. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Favre4LifeFeb 14, 2007
Y'all are CRAZY that voted this movie lower than an 8. WHATCH IT AGAIN- you obviously missed a whole lot- great acting-great story-love the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SambistagirlFeb 15, 2007
This was a great movie. It was so exciting and I loved how the tension built till the end. I will not be unhappy if it wins the oscar for best picture. If you haven't seen it and you don't mind a "24" like body count, you must see This was a great movie. It was so exciting and I loved how the tension built till the end. I will not be unhappy if it wins the oscar for best picture. If you haven't seen it and you don't mind a "24" like body count, you must see this picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HC.Feb 17, 2007
Not Scorsese's best, but it's still a very good movie. There were various plot holes and head-scratching throughout, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. The direction is wonderful and the performances of supporting actors were Not Scorsese's best, but it's still a very good movie. There were various plot holes and head-scratching throughout, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. The direction is wonderful and the performances of supporting actors were outstanding. I absolutely loved Mark Walberg and Alex Baldwin. Leonardo of course turned in a great performance as well, though for some reason I've seen Matt Damon's character before--maybe he's just playing way too many of these similar roles? The ending seemed a little cheap but I still really liked the movie even with all these flaws--which says a lot, I think, about the talent involved in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndersJanssonFeb 27, 2007
This movie is well directed, excellently performed by the actors and exciting. So far so good. And it is good, actually very good. The problem is that it lacks originality. It could be any crime movie, exept for the actors. The other thing isThis movie is well directed, excellently performed by the actors and exciting. So far so good. And it is good, actually very good. The problem is that it lacks originality. It could be any crime movie, exept for the actors. The other thing is the ending. It's extremely ridicuous and ruins the film a bit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharltonP.Feb 28, 2007
It's about time. I thought I'd have to give up watching movies altogether. Only a fool could dislike this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnaMar 11, 2007
Scorses reminds us why we go to the movies with this film. That it's not special effects and big bangs, it's great characters, with the cast to handle them, and a compelling story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful