Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 6, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1457 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,061
Mixed:
97
Negative:
299
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
J.Oct 5, 2006
Marty's best in 15 years, a blistering slow-burner of a movie. The final minutes are among the best ever in ANY movie. Don't miss it for the world!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyHOct 6, 2006
Phenomenal. Definitely as good (if not better) than Goodfellas.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Oct 7, 2006
Simply an outstanding film. If you like movies, you know what to do. I read recently the Jack Nicholson, more than any other actor in Hollywood, enjoys the craft of acting, and that is borne out in a big way in this film. And Leo is Simply an outstanding film. If you like movies, you know what to do. I read recently the Jack Nicholson, more than any other actor in Hollywood, enjoys the craft of acting, and that is borne out in a big way in this film. And Leo is incredible. Freakin' incredible. Matt Damon plays Matt Damon, but his vanilla performance is not nearly enough to knock this down to a 9. If the film is not nomiated for a golden stiff, that show is more f-ed up than I already think it is. Whalberg, Winstone, Sheen - every supporting actor is phenomenal. I'm not going to reveal any plot points in this review, and I'd hate for people to spoil the experience of this film for others by doing so. Scorsese has created a worthy follow-up to Goodfellas. Again, you know what to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmarT.Oct 8, 2006
Gripping tense edge of the seat tale of mob vs the law. Otustanding starcast, story, screenplay and direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendanW.Oct 9, 2006
This movie is awesome on every level. Great directing, editing, music, and acting by a great cast. Movies don't get much better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Jan 11, 2007
So here's the crux. If you think Scorcese is one of the greatest filmmakers of our time and probably the best of the crime/mafia genre, then youl'll love this film because it's simply one of his best. If you don't, then So here's the crux. If you think Scorcese is one of the greatest filmmakers of our time and probably the best of the crime/mafia genre, then youl'll love this film because it's simply one of his best. If you don't, then you'll probably hate this film like you hate Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, and Casino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadN.Jan 19, 2007
This movie is by far the best of the year. Best movie Scorcese has made since the classic Goodfellas! And I saw Babel and Dream Girls and it will be a tragedy if it doesn't win the academy award for best picture
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadeW.Apr 30, 2007
The Departed- Leo's an enraged and violent cop infiltrating the mob, Matty-boy is a clean-slate gangster infiltrating the cops, Jackie Nickles is the puppet master with the strings on Matt, and Marky Mark is the foul-mouthed The Departed- Leo's an enraged and violent cop infiltrating the mob, Matty-boy is a clean-slate gangster infiltrating the cops, Jackie Nickles is the puppet master with the strings on Matt, and Marky Mark is the foul-mouthed spotlight-stealer. This film was genius; from its perfect cast and amazing screenplay to the twisty-turny, edge-of-your-seat story, this film just rocks. It's a cool, yet hectic and chaotic look at the Boston Mafia. Tension ensues with each and every character, true-to-life events change the outlook everyone has on each-other, and fear of being caught is within every frame of this modern crime classic. From the shocking begining to the equally shocking (some may say confusing at first, but they get it sooner or later) and clap-worthy ending, The Departed never stops thrilling or teasing or shocking. Once you think it's over, its sooo far from it. A fantastic piece of cinima and one of my favorite movies of the 21st century. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JBMay 29, 2007
Cracking bit of cinema, from opening speach to breathless ending. Superb acting, superb direction and top class casting. deserving of all plaudits it has received and more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Sep 3, 2007
Marty does it again!! and I really really hate DeCaprio (this is baseless old fashioned, old school unreasoning hate, like a clan member but instead of ethnic groups I hate the beautiful people who get to eat cheese burgers off of super Marty does it again!! and I really really hate DeCaprio (this is baseless old fashioned, old school unreasoning hate, like a clan member but instead of ethnic groups I hate the beautiful people who get to eat cheese burgers off of super model asses!) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DanD.Nov 10, 2006
One of the best I've seen in the past two years. EASILLY better than Crash, and that won a bunch of awards. Many great stars, each in which is probably my favorite of their roles in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieOct 10, 2006
An A-List Cast, Great Score, Great Photography and Scorsese is in top form. This is A must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Oct 12, 2006
This Is THE BEST MOVIE OF THIS YEAR and I hope Eastwood doesn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceROct 12, 2006
Just walked out of this picture with a huge smile on my face. Absolutely loved it, on all levels. First time I've ever enjoyed watching Leo. Every member of the cast was absolutely terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KoreyW.Oct 10, 2006
Awesome movie!! The acting was great, but the story was even better. You never know how the movie is going to end. Good feeling when watching a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanCOct 16, 2006
Excellent movie, highly recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattO.Oct 10, 2006
Completely entertaining from credit to credit. Usually, a cast with this many all-stars tends to be disappointing, but everyone was absolutely on top of their game for this one. Once again, Scorsese is king of the mountain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Oct 20, 2006
To say this is the best film of the year would be insulting it in a sea of garbage. It is a GREAT movie. Period. Great cast, great script, great Scorcese, A film for adults. What a novelty!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GBOct 20, 2006
Gorgeous, great actors, amazing direction.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyLOct 30, 2006
Fabulous. I'd like to ask Jack how long he practiced for the rat face scene... I mean.. the crew that shot that scene must have doubled up laughing... it's just unforgettable. This movie doesn't quite reach Cuckoo's Nest Fabulous. I'd like to ask Jack how long he practiced for the rat face scene... I mean.. the crew that shot that scene must have doubled up laughing... it's just unforgettable. This movie doesn't quite reach Cuckoo's Nest but dang it's close! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColleenD.Oct 5, 2006
This is what filmmaking has been trying to get at for the past few years. A piece that grabs you from the first scene and plays your emotions with mastery until the last frame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyR.Oct 5, 2006
By far, one of the best movies of the year. My favorite Scorsese movie since Goodfellas. The first one this year with a great cast that did not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenceC.Oct 6, 2006
Awesome. Well-acted. Well-written. Better than Casino or Goodfellas
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnM.Oct 6, 2006
One of the best films I have seen, ever. DiCaprio was the best in an cast of great actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenI.Oct 6, 2006
WOW mind-blowing, amazing, and etc. One of my favorite movies of all time. Give Scorsese the Oscar he deserves!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LynnOct 6, 2006
Wow wow wow. If this doesn't earn Scorsese an Oscar, nothing ever will.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanT.Oct 6, 2006
I don't want to jinx anything, but my gut tells me that Scorcese's long overdue Oscar is imminent with this instant classic of a film that is his best since "Goodfellas." The film on which it was based on, the 2003 Chinese police I don't want to jinx anything, but my gut tells me that Scorcese's long overdue Oscar is imminent with this instant classic of a film that is his best since "Goodfellas." The film on which it was based on, the 2003 Chinese police thriller "Infernal Affairs" was an excellent film; this is a great one. It doesn't arrive at greatness by way of perfection (neither did the occasionally sprawling "Goodfellas"), but it gets there by being alive, thrilling, and gleefully politically incorrect. In a year that can, with a few exceptions (like "Half Nelson", "United 93", and "A Prairie Home Companion"), only be described as disappointing, Scorcese reemerges to show us how it's done. Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllisonF.Oct 6, 2006
A classic gangster movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnM.Oct 8, 2006
Scorsese and the genre at their absolute best. There is no reason for anyone to miss this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilOct 8, 2006
Excellent, the first movie in a long time that was well worth the ticket price.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeOct 9, 2006
Really good movie. Complex and riveting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoveigoerOct 9, 2006
Brilliant, eye-popping, scalding dialog, twisting absorbing plot, excrutiating tension building to a jaw-dropping finale. Performances: Nominations for Best Picture, Director, Actor(s) DeCaprio, Damon, Best Supporting: Nicholson, Mark Brilliant, eye-popping, scalding dialog, twisting absorbing plot, excrutiating tension building to a jaw-dropping finale. Performances: Nominations for Best Picture, Director, Actor(s) DeCaprio, Damon, Best Supporting: Nicholson, Mark Wahlberg. Jack is a bit over the top (but don't we want him to be) Leo is in fine form--but it is Matt Damon that steals the movie out from under them all. He may win Best Actor for his best perf yet. Also Mark Wahlberg for best supporting actor with his brilliant venomous & profane outburts that scald your ears and the screen with their intensity. You will gasp and squirm as Scorcese the master tightens the screws. Will he finally get a Best Director nod? I think so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayK.Oct 9, 2006
DiCaprio gives one of the best performances of his career in this film. Nicholson gives a very "creepy" performances (a very good thing!), and Damon continues to get much better roles than Ben Affleck. If you are a Scorsese fan you CANNOT be DiCaprio gives one of the best performances of his career in this film. Nicholson gives a very "creepy" performances (a very good thing!), and Damon continues to get much better roles than Ben Affleck. If you are a Scorsese fan you CANNOT be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertOct 9, 2006
Superbly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamsJ.Oct 9, 2006
Best Movie of 2006! It really should win best picture! I haven
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinG.Nov 5, 2007
It seems as if the Christian fundies have invaded this site. This film is truly one of my favorite films, ever. A true gangster film, with a great story, great acting, and overall an exceptional film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VictoriaS.Jan 8, 2007
An absolutely wonderful, completely enthralling, movie-movie, "The Departed" is by far the most purely enjoyable Scorcese movie since "Raging Bull." With delightfully crackling and often extremely funny dialogue, beautifully realized details An absolutely wonderful, completely enthralling, movie-movie, "The Departed" is by far the most purely enjoyable Scorcese movie since "Raging Bull." With delightfully crackling and often extremely funny dialogue, beautifully realized details and superb acting, it creates a fascinating world, gripping until the last, deservedly silly, moment. Included is the best Jack Nicholson performance in years, and the absolute best work ever from Mark Wahlberg, far from his usual diffidence in a dynamic supporting role. Too long, by at least a half-hour, this is still the type of movie that reminds you of how magical movies can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OladeleB.Feb 16, 2007
A very easy 10 because everything about this movie works. I dont know about the old version cos I havent seen it, but this version is relevant now. I guess Josh G is one of those type of people who has to be spoon fed to get the Plot. The A very easy 10 because everything about this movie works. I dont know about the old version cos I havent seen it, but this version is relevant now. I guess Josh G is one of those type of people who has to be spoon fed to get the Plot. The brown envelope is the reason Walhberg wacked Damon... Put it together, it's really that simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieB.Feb 17, 2007
Twenty years from now it will be a definitive work from Scorsese.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SocoFeb 24, 2007
Excellent movie. Very intense and thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SacheP.Mar 4, 2008
One of the all time great films, - not Scorsese at his best but Scorsese's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
Great movie. This puts the Irish gangsters more fierce and unpredictable than the Italian gangsters today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithPSep 12, 2009
This is a great movie. I can see why it won the Academy Award for Best Picture. The actors in this movie did their roles well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ERManSep 5, 2009
The most successful movie following the infamous GoodFellows. Filled with a brilliant cast from the main characters like Leonardo Dicaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson, and Mark Wahlberg to top actors with very few scenes like Alec Baldwin. The most successful movie following the infamous GoodFellows. Filled with a brilliant cast from the main characters like Leonardo Dicaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson, and Mark Wahlberg to top actors with very few scenes like Alec Baldwin. The Departed is a bloody violent suspense. Keeping the viewer entertained with the amazing acting and compelling srory, which will be keeping you at the edge of your seat by plot twists that I never saw coming. A true action packed thriller that is more than worth your money. I highly recommend The Departed, which the critics are crazy about. See this movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoaoP.Nov 13, 2006
I'll only say this: The most accomplished work of movie directing that i saw. Ever. Martin Scorcese the best director ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesG.Oct 11, 2006
Simply awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreaMOct 11, 2006
Great cast, great movie, great story, and funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickG.Nov 24, 2006
Brutally invigorating. The perfect film...Nicholson's monologue is superb. A lock for a Best Picture nomination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GiterdoneOct 12, 2006
Wow....without a doubt the best film of the year. Acting by everyone was absolutely outstanding, particularly Leo. Gripping, suspenseful, violent, humorous....this film has it all. To those users who gave this movie anything less than a 7, Wow....without a doubt the best film of the year. Acting by everyone was absolutely outstanding, particularly Leo. Gripping, suspenseful, violent, humorous....this film has it all. To those users who gave this movie anything less than a 7, please do the world a favor and toss yourself off a bridge, cause you are the type of people that will not allow yourself to enjoy or appreciate anything in life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VamsiK.Nov 26, 2006
I think it will be the best movie of 2006. If you haven
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MaganYusufNov 3, 2006
Martin Scorsese, you're a genuis. This film is simply superb. Everyone brought their best game, especially DiCaprio. Simply amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahK.Oct 15, 2006
Excellent, definitely not your formulaic cop/mob movie. Loved it, very unique.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdarshBNov 9, 2006
Must Watch Movie for all GANG-WARS loving audience!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCOct 24, 2006
His best movie since Goodfellas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimMOct 25, 2006
WOW! This is the MUST SEE movie of the year. You won't believe the ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronM.Oct 28, 2006
This movie is exciting, thrilling, and even quite funny. All the characters were fantastic, especially Jack Nicholson. See this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 5, 2006
A instant classic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Oct 6, 2006
Everything seemed Oscar worthy, from the cinematography, to editing, to the screenplay, acting, score, everything. The film is so well crafted that at almost 3 hours long, it doesn't seem to matter, and you even expect more. I never had Everything seemed Oscar worthy, from the cinematography, to editing, to the screenplay, acting, score, everything. The film is so well crafted that at almost 3 hours long, it doesn't seem to matter, and you even expect more. I never had so much fun and disgust with a crime movie in years. Definitely the best movie of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobA.Oct 6, 2006
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyI.Oct 6, 2006
You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. After waiting 30 years, we are blessed with the pairing of Jack Nicholson in a film by Martin Scorsese, and was it ever worth the wait. Just when you thought you'd seen Nicholson in every possible role, you get him in his most vile, reprehensible character yet, and once again he's perfect. In fact, everyone is perfect. Dicaprio has shed his boy wonder image and gives the most emotionally mature performance of his career, and Matt Damon holds his own in a film dripping with talent. The cinematography, editing and score all add to the brilliance of this film, but above all, it is a film by... and that's all you need to know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeoffR.Oct 6, 2006
INCREDIBLE!! The star studded cast definitely delivered this time. It was mesmerizing and exciting the entire time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamB.Oct 6, 2006
Great movie, a little bit too much violence at the end, but I think every adult should see this movie in the fall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtOct 7, 2006
As good as crime drama gets!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JM.Oct 9, 2006
Stop reading the reviews and go watch the movie! Great, great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickOct 9, 2006
An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all incredible. There wasn't a single "dragging" part in the entire movie. I would absolutely rank this as one of the 2-3 An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all incredible. There wasn't a single "dragging" part in the entire movie. I would absolutely rank this as one of the 2-3 best movies I've EVER seen. It is simply a work of art, and anyone that gives it below a phenomenal score has no idea what they're talking about. Like others have said, this is the best movie of 2006. If this doesn't sweep the Oscars, the shit is rigged. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddK.Oct 9, 2006
Possibly the best movie since Raging Bull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradleyT.Nov 9, 2007
Thrilling, airtight crime suspense with a failsafe premise that works despite Nicholson's over-the-top performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TGJan 31, 2007
A classic. Great storytelling keeps you guessing what's going to happen next. Great acting, great dialog. Scorsese's best film since Goodfellas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoL.Feb 13, 2007
In spite of excessive violence and profanity, this is the best movie I have seen in a long long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColinS.Feb 13, 2007
Phenomenal movie, one of the best films in a decade at least. Wahlberg is phenomenal, as are Damon and DiCaprio. The movie gets better every time I watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinZ.Feb 17, 2007
This movie is a must see! You get a taste of two sides of a story and i would agree everything works and is well put together. The movie throws out an unexpecting ending that keeps you on the edge of your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawanR.Feb 17, 2007
How whiny are we fans when the rating says that critics like The Departed better than we do? It's a good fucking movie! The acting was brilliant, and so was the action, and so was the dialogue. This movie could also win Best Picture. How whiny are we fans when the rating says that critics like The Departed better than we do? It's a good fucking movie! The acting was brilliant, and so was the action, and so was the dialogue. This movie could also win Best Picture. You guys are so whiny, you still forget that this is still one of the greatest movies of our decade, but you wouldn't even be able to pick it out if you could. Go to film class and start studying movies, and why they are classics, because you wouldn't tell apart The War of Worlds from the Godfather. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharltonP.Feb 25, 2007
It's about time. I thought I'd have to give up watching movies altogether. Only a fool could dislike this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdJ.Feb 28, 2007
Love this movie. This movie is for ballers, and intellectuals. If you ain't a balla nor an intellectual, than this movie just isn't for you. Love how they represent the Boston accents, and DiCaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, and Nicholson Love this movie. This movie is for ballers, and intellectuals. If you ain't a balla nor an intellectual, than this movie just isn't for you. Love how they represent the Boston accents, and DiCaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, and Nicholson were awesome in it. West Wing's Martin Sheen and Antonio Anderson were also good in the movie. I highly recommend this to everyone I know! Go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinaK.Feb 28, 2007
A brilliant film with great acting/casting, and amazing storyline directed by Martin Scorsese, who made his best film probably since Goodfellas or Raging Bull. An all around well deserved Oscar for best Director and best Picture. This is the A brilliant film with great acting/casting, and amazing storyline directed by Martin Scorsese, who made his best film probably since Goodfellas or Raging Bull. An all around well deserved Oscar for best Director and best Picture. This is the Boston version of the Godfather of the new millenium, and rocked my world from the beginning to the last drop. I hope there is a sequel, because this movie rocks. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyS.Feb 28, 2007
The movie shines through with its bleak realism, gratuitous violence and witty dialogue. DiCaprio and Wahlberg do an excellent job. The stellar cast and the genius of Scorsese gives this film a nice slice of life. Great care has been made to The movie shines through with its bleak realism, gratuitous violence and witty dialogue. DiCaprio and Wahlberg do an excellent job. The stellar cast and the genius of Scorsese gives this film a nice slice of life. Great care has been made to give Boston-esque accents, which gives the film a gripping authenticity. Overall a well-deserved winner of Best Picture, much better than previous years when Chicago and The Hours won, movies that were just too boring (the Hours) or centered around an unlikeable character (chicago) who cheats on her husband and tries to make you sympathize, but gets away with it. The grittiest film to date since City of God. I love this film, and it was well-deserving of winning Best Picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohanS.Feb 28, 2007
Great film, plot, acting, everything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SocoFeb 28, 2007
Excellent movie. Very intense and thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NanH.Mar 13, 2007
Good story, great acting and well worth seeing! This movie was full of twists and turns. Keeps you on your toes! You never know what will happen next. Very unpredictable. One of DiCaprio's best acting roles by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Mar 2, 2007
This movie was so good, that it will make you wet pants with joy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.IgnacioM.Mar 25, 2007
...I was skeptical to watch this movie....the story line did not interest me....and did not hear anyone raving about it....But I watched it on DVD a month after the Oscars....I was surprised by the contents...the complexity of the story...the...I was skeptical to watch this movie....the story line did not interest me....and did not hear anyone raving about it....But I watched it on DVD a month after the Oscars....I was surprised by the contents...the complexity of the story...the direction of the film was great.....this was a very difficult film to do.....specially with an all-star acting team on board......so that said.....I was very impressed with the fim......a winner!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeraldB.Apr 13, 2007
There may be one or two overripe red herrings in the last reel of The Departed, but Scorsese has made a rooted movie about a city's roots being torn up. He brings the fear back into things going bang in the night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PashaL.Apr 13, 2007
Scorsese returns to his gangster roots and knocks it out of the park. Leo really lets loose and proves he is one of the best actors working today. Matt, Alec and Jack are all spectacular as well
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CocoR.Apr 13, 2007
I think this is one of the best mob movies in awhile. Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio, and Jack Nicholson give out very strong and relistic character strength.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArtofReasonApr 29, 2007
A very well acted and well directed film, with some scenes that will stick in my mind (and gut) for a very long time. An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all A very well acted and well directed film, with some scenes that will stick in my mind (and gut) for a very long time. An absolutely outstanding movie in every sense of the word. The acting, script, soundtrack, casting, etc. were all incredible. There wasn't a single "dragging" part in the entire movie. I would absolutely rank this as one of the 2-3 best movies I've EVER seen. It is simply a work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeamusO.Apr 29, 2007
The best movie hands down. Great acting, great authenticity of the scenes, believable accents, every thing. And I am Irish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JMApr 29, 2007
Great character development, I was wrong, and have developed so much respect for the people who raved about the film. Great casting, acting, soundtrack, action scenes. I am an idiot who does not know the art of good films or a gangstaGreat character development, I was wrong, and have developed so much respect for the people who raved about the film. Great casting, acting, soundtrack, action scenes. I am an idiot who does not know the art of good films or a gangsta drama. I would give this an 80, but I do believe this should receive a higher grade than a 77. A 78 at least. That's why I give it a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyI.Apr 29, 2007
You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. You can add one more title to an already lengthy list for The Best Martin Scorsese Movie ever. There are many justified arguments in favor of The Departed, in which Mr Scorsese returns to the genre that he already owns- the crime drama. After waiting 30 years, we are blessed with the pairing of Jack Nicholson in a film by Martin Scorsese, and was it ever worth the wait. Just when you thought you'd seen Nicholson in every possible role, you get him in his most vile, reprehensible character yet, and once again he's perfect. In fact, everyone is perfect. Dicaprio has shed his boy wonder image and gives the most emotionally mature performance of his career, and Matt Damon holds his own in a film dripping with talent. The cinematography, editing and score all add to the brilliance of this film, but above all, it is a film by... and that's all you need to know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeS.May 4, 2007
Stunning in what it is, simply. Anyone doubting its subtle brilliance is trying too hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
Martin Scorcese is among the most influential, masterfully-gifted film directors of all time. He
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joem.Jul 12, 2007
Absolutely AMAZING!!! breathtaking and interesting and I luuuved the ending! 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarryA.Sep 9, 2007
One of the best movies I have ever seen! It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The actings fantastic, the music is great. This movie is thrilling, unpredictable, and amazing!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chrishJul 8, 2008
An absolute masterpiece. From the beginning to the end i was captivated by the story and how the 2 worlds collided in a big way. I cannot understand what there is to not like about this movie. Also, there is talk of a sequel to this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyC.Sep 1, 2008
The envelope contained the tapes that showed how Matt Damon's character had connections with the mob.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanOOct 11, 2006
Easily the best film of 2006, if a movie could beat out this one in the Oscar run I would be shocked. The movie was fantastic, the acting was amazing everyone was top notch, no one missed a step. It was a brutal and shocking movie that would Easily the best film of 2006, if a movie could beat out this one in the Oscar run I would be shocked. The movie was fantastic, the acting was amazing everyone was top notch, no one missed a step. It was a brutal and shocking movie that would make you jump out of your seat at times, yet there are also times when you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KjartanA.Nov 15, 2006
It left me in a catatonic state for 2 hours after. Di Caprio is fantastic in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankZ.Nov 16, 2006
Amazing story, great acting. Can't ask for more than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbinoL.Nov 19, 2006
The BEST movie I've seen in 2006 by far!! Characters are more fleshed out and developed than Infernal Affairs. Someone give Scorsese his long overdue Oscar!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyF.Oct 12, 2006
There are extraordinary performances in all major roles. Martin Scorsese draws much more from many of his actors than they have ever displayed previously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyJ.Oct 12, 2006
Scorsese at his best. Very professional, and perhaps the most perfect "cops and robbers" movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful