Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 6, 2006
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1426 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,032
Mixed:
95
Negative:
299
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
imthenoobNov 11, 2016
Solid acting through out by a very talented cast. I think they got a bit full of themselves plot wise with the constant twists, Most of which were rather eh and not in the least bit surprising. There are a few needless sub plots too. At 2 andSolid acting through out by a very talented cast. I think they got a bit full of themselves plot wise with the constant twists, Most of which were rather eh and not in the least bit surprising. There are a few needless sub plots too. At 2 and a half hours, It's a bit long to sit through as it did lose my interest a little more than half way.

Overall, I didn't mind it but I didn't think that it was a movie that deserved a near 90 overall score.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
abi_abhiabiJul 31, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ohh another great movie of leonardo.. why should i be surprised? this movie is long but i never felt it was long.. it takes some time at the beginning to pick up but after the first 30 minutes, this movie is just great.. and i never predicted that kind of ending.. i didn't want leonardo to die.. thats the only thing i worry.. i give it a perfect 10.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spencieJul 24, 2016
The Departed is one of my favorite movies, it's Martin Scorsese's best film and it's Leonardo DiCaprio's best movie. This is thrilling, well-written, beautifully directed, and masterful film that deserves all the praise in the world. It willThe Departed is one of my favorite movies, it's Martin Scorsese's best film and it's Leonardo DiCaprio's best movie. This is thrilling, well-written, beautifully directed, and masterful film that deserves all the praise in the world. It will be considered a classic in the future for sure and Martin Scorsese will be remembered as the director of The Departed, the greatest gangster movie ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
talisencrwJul 21, 2016
I decided to celebrate the Summer Solstice by watching 'The Departed'. Don't ask me why. I had previously loved the Hong Kong-made 'Infernal Affairs' trilogy on which this is based. Usually I hate when international masterpieces get remade,I decided to celebrate the Summer Solstice by watching 'The Departed'. Don't ask me why. I had previously loved the Hong Kong-made 'Infernal Affairs' trilogy on which this is based. Usually I hate when international masterpieces get remade, but this was a sterling exception. This was controversial when it took in a cartload of Oscars, particularly finally a directorial nod for Scorsese, but don't be misled--it's easily one of his finest works.

This is my Golden Rule on both remakes in general, but especially American remakes of international (particularly foreign-language) great films. When in doubt, check the label:

1. Director? (check)
2. Cast? (check)
3. Script? (check)

'The proof is in the pudding!'
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
Weld1Jul 1, 2016
I really wanted to like this movie considering the cast and Scorcese, however, I found it jumped all over and was hard to follow. The plot was ok and the acting was mediocre at best as there was a lot of over-acting for dramatic effect whichI really wanted to like this movie considering the cast and Scorcese, however, I found it jumped all over and was hard to follow. The plot was ok and the acting was mediocre at best as there was a lot of over-acting for dramatic effect which diminished the realism and believability. It felt like I wasn't watching fictional characters with any depth, instead just actors acting with bad fake Bahstun accents. I think this would have been a much better movie with some quality new or unknown actors instead of the typical multi-Millionaires, of course, that isn't how the movie business works - it's all about the money and the A-listers get more cattle to the box office. Finally, the cover of Pink Floyd's classic Comfortably Numb was absolutely terrible, I actually cringed when I heard this beautiful song being completely butchered. The band, singer, and anyone involved with this decision should be lined up against a wall and pelted with rotten cantaloupe until they sob, apologize, and promise to never do this again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 26, 2016
One of my absolute favorite movies. Acting, actors, and the script is phenomenal. I highly recommend this flick.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-191-The-Departed-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Apr 20, 2016
One of my absolute favorite movies. Acting, actors, and the script is phenomenal. I highly recommend this flick.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-401-The-Departed
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
An excellent film with an outstanding cast brilliant direction and genius writing and a spectacular ending. This is one of the finest films of Scorsese since Goodfellas & Taxi Driver.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ReelViews94Mar 23, 2016
Mixing it up with modern mobsters for the first time since “Casino” 11 years ago, Martin Scorsese cooks up a juicy and bloody steak of a movie in “The Departed.”

After the elaborate exertions of the period pieces “Gangs of New York” and
Mixing it up with modern mobsters for the first time since “Casino” 11 years ago, Martin Scorsese cooks up a juicy and bloody steak of a movie in “The Departed.”

After the elaborate exertions of the period pieces “Gangs of New York” and “The Aviator,” it’s good to see Scorsese back on home turf, at least in a figurative sense, since the setting this time is Boston rather than New York. Not that he’s especially scaled down this time out; the complexity of the crises, formidable dramatis personae, hefty running time and long-arc drama make this a big picture. But the film intensely concentrates on conflict and character, thereby sweeping the viewer up in a tale of epic deceit in which nearly everyone is compromised and comes to no good.

From a plot point of view, “The Departed” closely follows its 2002 progenitor, “Infernal Affairs,” a big Asian hit and crime buff fave which, like its follow-up prequel and sequel, remained little seen in North America. Scorsese and screenwriter William Monahan (“Kingdom of Heaven”), who has stated he made a point of not watching the original film and worked only from a translation of the Chinese script, make the material their own by anchoring the story deeply in the Irish South Boston mob, in the milieu’s particular culture and societal attitudes.

For those who want reassurance Scorsese is re-embracing the “GoodFellas” aesthetic, it’s there right at the outset. With the Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter” setting the mood, an imposing man addresses a nice Irish kid at a working class soda fountain and presses money into the kid’s hand, enticing the boy into his circle.

Some years later, the older man comes into focus as crime kingpin Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson), while the kid has grown into a rising star of the Massachusetts state police force, Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon) — long since placed on this path as a mole by Costello.

The police, repped by Captain Queenan (Martin Sheen) and his right arm, Sergeant Dignam (Mark Wahlberg), long frustrated by their failure to nail Costello, carefully pick a candidate to infiltrate Costello’s inner circle. Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) is a ballsy cadet who has had no advantages in life. They stick him in jail for a time to give him credentials that may pass Costello’s muster.

Thus are two shrewd, steely young men, unbeknownst to one another, placed within the same milieu with the same contacts but at dueling purposes. It’s a wonderful set-up for a pressurized, high-wire drama with ample psychological overtones, one that’s been impressively constructed like a trap and pays off with appropriate, bitter tragedy.

Along the way, there is plenty of room for tantalizing confrontations, consideration of human beings’ capacity for courage and corruption, and stylistic doodling. Of all the ingredients in the pot, the one that jumps out and grabs you is the language. Man, can Monahan write dialogue, and not just goombah threats and vulgarities, although he’s great with those. Wahlberg, playing his boss’s bad cop other half, delivers outrageously insulting tirades faster than Rodney Dangerfield could spit out self-deprecation and has half of the script’s best lines.

Most of the rest belong to Nicholson, whose old devil likes to crudely ruminate on sexual matters — he upbraids two priests and a nun in a restaurant for their would-be perversions — and is also capable of succinct philosophizing; when told by an associate that his mother is “on the way out,” Costello replies, “We all are. Act accordingly.”

Operating a bit closer to terra firma, DiCaprio is outstanding as the audience’s main point of emotional contact, a man gravely at risk every moment of his life (one minor issue is an uncertainty over how much time the main action encompasses). In his third collaboration with Scorsese, DiCaprio has rarely been this vital, energized or passionate.

Damon delivers impressively as well. Thesp’s receding boyish qualities merge well with the role, just as a hint of his Jason Bourne hardness adds the necessary ruthless edge to the repellently interesting character.

Supporting cast is sparkling down the line, led by Wahlberg, who steals every base on the field and takes them home. Boston boys Damon and Wahlberg set the bar with their accents, while some of the interlopers, notably Nicholson, are in and out.

Craft contributions are superb. Michael Ballhaus’ widescreen lensing has a wonderful clarity to it and an unforced sense of composition, while Thelma Schoonmaker’s editing nimbly juggles the numerous characters and potentially confusing events without fuss. Kristi Zea’s production design, particularly the open look for the police h.q. and the modernism she brings out of old Boston, plays a major role in shaping the film’s character.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AliceofXFeb 28, 2016
In The Departed every actor plays to his strengths and it's a film that's worth watching just for the performances. The casting is just perfect. Leonardo DiCaprio is at his best playing the kind of character he was born to play. Matt DamonIn The Departed every actor plays to his strengths and it's a film that's worth watching just for the performances. The casting is just perfect. Leonardo DiCaprio is at his best playing the kind of character he was born to play. Matt Damon adds his typical humour to the film.

But besides that this is a film you would expect from Martin Scorcese in its combination of violence and comedy. It's a gritty crime thriller with just enough pictures of the real world to make it feel realistic.

The story is top notch. It keeps you on your toes as you observe its every twist and turn never knowing in whose favour the story might end. The characters play a cat and mouse game with one another with the roles often switching. And of course you can't not mention the music. The film's theme song is one of those catchy tunes that sticks in your head for a long time.

Perhaps the only thing I didn't like about the film is the ending which seemed abrupt. Other than that The Departed is a great film and a must see for all crime genre fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanielwWhiteNov 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good movie with really good characters (Leonardo DiCaprio and Matt Damon)and a really good plot/story line. The problem...the ending is one of the worst ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJNov 23, 2015
Amazing story, superb acting and great action! The Departed is a must watch for every single fan of the criminal movies! Thrilling till the very end!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
An excellent film with a great story, brilliant cast, and it's surprising ending, Martin Scorsese delivers in what may be the greatest gangster film of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Sep 13, 2015
Griping and entertaining, The departed blends thriller and drama perfectly. However it's rush beginning is shown but the nonetheless the case the middle and end act undoes it, making it a wonderful film by Martin Scorsese.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
The Departed is a perfect example of why remakes shouldn't be dismissed out of hand. Director Martin Scorsese and screenwriter William Monahan have taken the B-grade Hong Kong crime flick Infernal Affairs and re-imagined it as an AmericanThe Departed is a perfect example of why remakes shouldn't be dismissed out of hand. Director Martin Scorsese and screenwriter William Monahan have taken the B-grade Hong Kong crime flick Infernal Affairs and re-imagined it as an American epic tragedy. The original film was gritty and entertaining; the new version is a masterpiece - the best effort Scorsese has brought to the screen since Goodfellas (ending a decade-long drought of disappointments and near-misses). In making The Departed, Scorsese has retained the essential plot structure of Infernal Affairs but has transformed the movie into something truly his own. Characters are better defined and situations are given an opportunity to breathe. None of this is done at the cost of pacing; The Departed is as suspenseful as anything the director has previously achieved. This movie deserves mention alongside Scorsese's most celebrated movies: Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Goodfellas, and The Age of Innocence.

On-screen talent pools don't get much deeper than this one, with A-list actors like Martin Sheen, Mark Wahlberg, and Alec Baldwin accepting supporting roles. Leonardo DiCaprio and Matt Damon prove two crucial things: they are not interchangeable and, when pushed by someone who can direct actors, they can give riveting performances. DiCaprio has displayed growth in each of his appearances for Scorsese, and this is by far the best work he has done in his career. Jack Nicholson is in top form, providing a diabolical villain who can deliver a monologue with unparalleled verve. His part is showy enough that it will be virtually impossible for him to be ignored at Oscar time. Up-and-coming actress Vera Farmiga and British tough guy Ray Winstone round out a cast that, if not perfect, is close to it.

The consistent levels of intrigue and tension are among The Departed's high points. Scorsese draws viewers in with a captivating monologue delivered by Nicholson at a time in the past (the date is not specified, but it is presumably the early 1980s), which includes the most memorable two lines in Monahan's screenplay: "I don't want to be a product of my environment. I want my environment to be a product of me." After this quick introduction, the scene shifts to the present. It takes a little while for the ins-and-outs of the setup to become clear, but once the sides are established and the cat-and-mouse games begin, the suspense begins to slowly simmer. Even knowing what was coming (from having seen Infernal Affairs), I remained on the edge of my seat. Unlike many remakes, this one feels fresh, not recycled.

Thematically, The Departed fits well with the director's oeuvre. The movie concentrates on family and betrayal, and what constitute both. The lead characters are loners, but they are linked to the world of Boston gangsters by blood ties. Each also commits at least one betrayal, but the question becomes "Who are they betraying?" It's not as easy to answer as one might suspect. In the murky waters of double agents, moles, and rats, loyalty isn't a facile commodity to gauge. Every character ultimately earns his or her fate, except perhaps one.

Two technical hallmarks of Scorsese's films are in evidence. Michael Ballhaus' cinematography is intense and moody. Even though a significant portion of the movie was shot in New York City, the feel is "all Boston." Howard Shore provides the score, but the most notable aspect of the soundtrack is the near-perfect song selection. For the third time in his career, Scorsese uses the Rolling Stones' "Gimme Shelter" (see also Goodfellas and Casino). He also employs a cover of Pink Floyd's "Comfortably Numb" during a key sequence.

Since this is a gangster film, there's plenty of bloodletting and profanity, although one could argue that The Departed is tame compared to some of what Scorsese has given us in the past. Nevertheless, seeing the respected director back at the top of his game with a movie that could be both commercially and critically successful is a source of jubilation. The movies have been in the doldrums lately; The Departed is a much needed tonic. It's also one of 2006's best features.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EddyGregsApr 20, 2015
The Boston police department manages to place young cadet Billy Costigan (DiCaprio) deep undercover in the city’s Irish-American gangland, run by the violent Frank Costello (Nicholson). But gangster Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon) has also signedThe Boston police department manages to place young cadet Billy Costigan (DiCaprio) deep undercover in the city’s Irish-American gangland, run by the violent Frank Costello (Nicholson). But gangster Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon) has also signed on to join the police force, planning to leak information back to Costello.

Boston gangster Frank Costello puts his gun to the back of a woman’s head, pulls the trigger in the nonchalant manner with which he’d light a cigarette and, as she stumbles over her husband’s already-murdered corpse, casually reports, “She fell funny”. Obscene and dangerously insane, Costello is the driving force powering The Departed, Martin Scorsese’s return to his urban roots after a decade of period pieces. Then, he is played by Jack Nicholson. This marks the first teaming of America’s premier cinematic dynamos.

The set-up certainly draws out the best in a cast, led by Leonardo DiCaprio and Matt Damon, that’s probably unused to working in someone else’s shadow. Then, this is Jack Nicholson. DiCaprio is Billy Costigan, the cop working his way inside Costello’s gang; Damon is Colin Sullivan, the criminal’s protégé groomed from a young age to become a police mole, leaking information from inside the force.

When it comes to the dynamics of filmmaking, Scorsese still has few peers — an elevator shoot-out in the third act could easily be this year’s tensest scene. The Departed is a sort of time machine: it recalls the richness and moral ambiguity of Hollywood’s ’70s, presenting stories about real people absent of turn-of-the-millennium concerns. They curse, have sex, lie, fight — and sometimes die horribly. This is a superbly crafted movie that holds its own alongside, say, Serpico and The French Connection, with their amoral characters and intense, realistic action. Yet, despite its many layers, the director clearly has no ambition to break new ground. The surprising moments of humour that leaven the story suggest that he’s having fun with a film that puts him back on the mean streets, but with no intention of detailing the cogs of the criminal world.

Back to the streets and with a stellar cast, Martin Scorsese proves once again that he’s the master of urban storytelling — and of thrillingly violent filmmaking.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tjman09Mar 31, 2015
It may seem weird to say, but this is my favorite Scorsese Film. I know Scorsese's filmography is amazing, but the blend of humor, witty dialogue, great acting, and a plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat right up until theIt may seem weird to say, but this is my favorite Scorsese Film. I know Scorsese's filmography is amazing, but the blend of humor, witty dialogue, great acting, and a plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat right up until the unpredictable ending create a true modern masterpiece. The hilarious dialogue, is matched only by the great soundtrack which is both area, and time appropriate. All of this combined makes the Departed one of my favorite films of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithMar 20, 2015
A gritty, thrilling, intense, and intricately woven crime thriller. Want to see what the big deal about Scorcesse is? Watch this movie, arguably one of the best gangster dramas of all time. The direction is so tight and laser beam preciseA gritty, thrilling, intense, and intricately woven crime thriller. Want to see what the big deal about Scorcesse is? Watch this movie, arguably one of the best gangster dramas of all time. The direction is so tight and laser beam precise that I can't do it justice in writing. The acting is all great, even though Nicholson does admittedly go a little too over the top in some scenes, and the story is engrossing and filled with consuming paranoia. This is also a very excitingly violent movie. Some will argue that there are too many Scorcesse-isms that we've seen too many times before, but I never felt like the story was just going through the motions or being anything other than authentic. A great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Feb 15, 2015
Martin Scorsese adds another excellent film to his resume with The Departed. This film shows some individuality compared to his other films and boasts a cast with some of the best actors in film. Leo DiCaprio, who has been known toMartin Scorsese adds another excellent film to his resume with The Departed. This film shows some individuality compared to his other films and boasts a cast with some of the best actors in film. Leo DiCaprio, who has been known to collaborate with Scorsese is pitted against Matt Damon although neither character has much interaction with each other through the film. Jack Nicholson shows that he is just as good as he ever was in the role of the main villain. I think he could've been given an Oscar nomination for his role in this movie. Then you also have Mark Wahlberg and Martin Sheen in supporting roles. Wahlberg is excellent despite his screen time limits and he is the only actor who received an Oscar nomination in the movie (he lost to Alan Arkin). The Departed will leave you guessing right until the end, with a twist that will certainly blow your mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AkashVijayJan 21, 2015
The Departed is overlong, overwritten but also terribly rushed at times. Several supporting characters in the film are left not underdeveloped but undeveloped. All the characters (apart from Dicaprio's who is the only person who undergoesThe Departed is overlong, overwritten but also terribly rushed at times. Several supporting characters in the film are left not underdeveloped but undeveloped. All the characters (apart from Dicaprio's who is the only person who undergoes some some sort of emotional transformation) are wooden, almost heartless at times (Matt Damon being the worst). The love triangle forced into the film made no sense. It feels completely out of place and was frankly pointless. The entire plot feels a bit too McGuffin-y and goes beyond nonsensical at times. So Costello needs not one but 2 moles in the police despite the fact that he's already under the protection of the FBI? Good move there Costello. The dialogue is terrible. It's just cursing for no real thematic purpose. And don't even get me started about that godawful ending. This wasn't Hamlet, it was just stupid and ridiculous. It's all false drama with no real emotional stakes. The Departed is all surface, no depth, all style, no substance. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
Another_NerdJan 17, 2015
I don't know if it was supposed to be a serious film or what, but I did laugh a heck lot. The screenplay was really engrossing.

And it is simply put, unpredictable, and balanced. A simple thing, enhanced, as most have noticed. Scorsese
I don't know if it was supposed to be a serious film or what, but I did laugh a heck lot. The screenplay was really engrossing.

And it is simply put, unpredictable, and balanced. A simple thing, enhanced, as most have noticed. Scorsese and, definitely, Nicholson, took it away.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarickDec 3, 2014
I honestly do not know why many people say it's a masterpiece. For me it was a good movie, but not a masterpiece. However, the actors do a great job..
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
Fundamental Martin Scorsese. The film is tremendously well-written and casted. There should no comparisons to Goodfellas or The Godfather; The Departed is a new addition to the group. A worthy addition, at that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 17, 2014
The Departed is absolutely the best movie by director Martin Scorsese (in my opinion). There was never a dull moment during the 152 minutes you'd use to watch this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJun 16, 2014
A truly drama, crime thriller masterpiece in which cops and criminals struggle to find out the mole inside their own forces in an attempt to finish their businesses smoothly. While Billy Costigan gradually loses his former personality due toA truly drama, crime thriller masterpiece in which cops and criminals struggle to find out the mole inside their own forces in an attempt to finish their businesses smoothly. While Billy Costigan gradually loses his former personality due to playing the character of a criminal for too long, Colin Sullivan works on a new plan to both get rid of his boss, "godfather" Frank Costello and the informer who has infiltrated Frank's gang. I was a bit disappointed by the end of the film; Billy died trying to avenge the death of his captain, Queenan. But I still think the movie is great because Sergeant Dignam, eventually, successfully kills Colin as a worthy punishment of this smart-street criminal. Wonderful flick that i would recommend to anyone looking for a crime blockbuster Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TEMMay 21, 2014
My favorite film of all time. Leonardo DiCaprio delivers his best performance which is saying a great deal considering all the great performances he has delivered. Martin Scorsese is at his best and leads an all star cast through an amazinglyMy favorite film of all time. Leonardo DiCaprio delivers his best performance which is saying a great deal considering all the great performances he has delivered. Martin Scorsese is at his best and leads an all star cast through an amazingly perfect story. From beginning to end this movie never slows down or sees a dull moment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BetterOffDead_May 14, 2014
great movie, suspenseful great plot the acting in this this is great flawless performances by everyone this movie stays interesting the character development was great. worth buying a copy of 9/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidMay 4, 2014
Martin Scorsese has a superb movie in every decade 70s: Taxi Driver 80s: Raging Bull 90s: Goodfellas and he kept the streak alive with The Departed for the 2000s, this film has all the tools, superb casting, performances, charachterizationMartin Scorsese has a superb movie in every decade 70s: Taxi Driver 80s: Raging Bull 90s: Goodfellas and he kept the streak alive with The Departed for the 2000s, this film has all the tools, superb casting, performances, charachterization and direction. Matt Damon is great as the corrupt cop, DiCaprio is in one of his best as the undercover cop, Mark Wahlberg as the butt-kicking cop, and finally the performance that made this movie what it is Jack Nicholson as Frank Costello, in 1972 Jack was in talks to play Michael Corleone in The Godfather and i always kept thinking how Jack would play a gangster, in 2006 Jack put on one of his best perfomances as Irish Mafia Leader. I would totally recommend this movie to anyone Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 9, 2014
One of the best Martin Scorsese's movies.There is not too much action but there is an interesting story. I know it's a remake from a Japanese movie and i watched it but Scorsese's one is by far the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jan 16, 2014
Who better to helm a two-and-a-half-hour long dramatic irony marathon than one of cinema's greatest seminal filmmakers? Scorsese's Best-Picture-Winning "The Departed" surely deserves all of the hype it has received over the years, as it's anWho better to helm a two-and-a-half-hour long dramatic irony marathon than one of cinema's greatest seminal filmmakers? Scorsese's Best-Picture-Winning "The Departed" surely deserves all of the hype it has received over the years, as it's an almost infinite spiral of intrigue, tension, aesthetic merit, and wondrously playful dialogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jan 7, 2014
Como um amigo havia dito, OS INFILTRADOS uma aula de cinema em todos os sentidos.Como um amigo havia dito, OS INFILTRADOS uma aula de cinema em todos os sentidos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AverageJan 2, 2014
One of the greatest movies I've ever seen. The plot behind this movie portrays Whitey Bulger which makes the movie interesting. When I saw that Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio and Mark Wahlberg were in this movie I knew I had to see it. I wasOne of the greatest movies I've ever seen. The plot behind this movie portrays Whitey Bulger which makes the movie interesting. When I saw that Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio and Mark Wahlberg were in this movie I knew I had to see it. I was blown away at how amazing this movie was. This is number two on my favorite movies of all time (Argo is my favorite movie!) IF you haven't seen this movie, I highly recommend you to watch this movie. It will be an intense experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
The Departed is astonishing.
Incredible acting performances from Damon, Di-caprio, and Nicholas matched with top quality direction from Martin Scorsese. An unbelievably great plot with excitement and twists to leave you speechless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonNov 12, 2013
Despite the film's last act misstep, the movie's worth watching just for the journey. Scorsese remains a master, and he's working his finest magic here. He refuses to fall into the usual pitfalls of the gangster drama, and continues to findDespite the film's last act misstep, the movie's worth watching just for the journey. Scorsese remains a master, and he's working his finest magic here. He refuses to fall into the usual pitfalls of the gangster drama, and continues to find completely new nuances in genres that others have already mined nearly to death. Cops versus killers has been done to the point of improbability, but in front of Marty's lens it's a brand new game. It's not quite the masterpiece that some of this other recent films like The Aviator and Bringing Out the Dead have been, but The Departed is a work of strong vision and sharp personality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticOct 27, 2013
Okay. Disgraceful that it's a remake of an amazing and original film, and it wins Best Picture. Jack Nicholson is one of my favorite actors, but he does not fit in with the whole premise and cast. Leonardo is okay, Matt Damon Vera FarmigaOkay. Disgraceful that it's a remake of an amazing and original film, and it wins Best Picture. Jack Nicholson is one of my favorite actors, but he does not fit in with the whole premise and cast. Leonardo is okay, Matt Damon Vera Farmiga plays a c***, and Mark Wahlberg is nothing short of annoying. No remake would have sufficed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
StaticSpineOct 14, 2013
This is a criminal drama with a very strong storyline (which do not have many twists, every episode logically flows into the next one), good number of bright characters played by outstanding actors. I'd say the movie does not have a lot ofThis is a criminal drama with a very strong storyline (which do not have many twists, every episode logically flows into the next one), good number of bright characters played by outstanding actors. I'd say the movie does not have a lot of action in it, but you feel that psychological tension and wait for something cruel to happen around the next corner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
I can't shake the feeling of how much this movie reminds me of "Goodfellas".

The Departed is a slam-bam thriller, exceeding my expectations, which were already very high. The way Scorcese moves between scenes and plays this movie up is
I can't shake the feeling of how much this movie reminds me of "Goodfellas".

The Departed is a slam-bam thriller, exceeding my expectations, which were already very high. The way Scorcese moves between scenes and plays this movie up is genius.

The script is excellent, providing rich dialogue to move the gripping story along, and the cinematography is just wonderful. The angles and style of filming that Martin Scorcese is famous for emanates here, shining brighter than films of kin.

The acting is just amazing, with a star-studded cast that delivers the goods, and then some. I enjoyed Matt Damon in the title roll, and Leonardo DiCaprio trails right behind him. Jack Nicholson brings charisma to the roll of Frank Costello, and executes with Oscar-worthy style. I especially liked Mark Wahlberg and Alec Baldwin's loose cannon-like characters. They provided a stunning edge to an already sharp blade of a film.

I can go on and on about everything else that is good in this movie, how it all clicks together, but I suggest you watch it for yourself if you haven't already, and find out what all the hype is about! I would give it more than 100 if I could.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ragekoiSep 13, 2013
Jam-packed with excellent performances from an utterly stacked cast, well written characters, in-depth and genius plot, a blood-boiling climax, and possibly the greatest ending given to any film. The only downsides are that some parts tendJam-packed with excellent performances from an utterly stacked cast, well written characters, in-depth and genius plot, a blood-boiling climax, and possibly the greatest ending given to any film. The only downsides are that some parts tend to drag on, but the overall experience is phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
It was good. It is a classic Crime Picture, but it is not for 10. In every dialogue we can see that there is a bad word. I like bad words in movies but not so many!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Aug 20, 2013
Scorsese scores again with this intense crime thriller. Truly Scorsese's best mobster film since "Goodfellas". It's filled with fantastic acting, great screenplay and an intriguing story. Overall, it's a Scorsese film with a bit more pizazz.Scorsese scores again with this intense crime thriller. Truly Scorsese's best mobster film since "Goodfellas". It's filled with fantastic acting, great screenplay and an intriguing story. Overall, it's a Scorsese film with a bit more pizazz. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiJul 11, 2013
Riveting suspense and brilliant storytelling describe this masterpiece. I watched this movie only for Leonardo DiCaprio but felt like Damon, Nicholson and Wahlberg acted on the same level if not better. The music was captivating. TheRiveting suspense and brilliant storytelling describe this masterpiece. I watched this movie only for Leonardo DiCaprio but felt like Damon, Nicholson and Wahlberg acted on the same level if not better. The music was captivating. The psychiatrist subplot felt a bit contrived but it shed so much light on Costigan's character that I didn't really care. I would accept it as coincidence if the result is this brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 22, 2013
Just a fantastic film. Each and every actor does such a marvelous job and the movie leaves you wanting more, which is the key reason why this is a 10. The end was great, but yet, I still want more. I'm almost sad that the movie is over.Just a fantastic film. Each and every actor does such a marvelous job and the movie leaves you wanting more, which is the key reason why this is a 10. The end was great, but yet, I still want more. I'm almost sad that the movie is over. Highly recommend. Fantastic film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan1980sJun 12, 2013
A mesmerizing film with an excellent ensemble cast. It is certainly Martin Scorsese's best, along with his films "Taxi Driver", "Raging Bull" and "Goodfellas". Don't miss this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NYcriticMay 21, 2013
An excellent film with an outstanding cast brilliant direction and genius writing and a spectacular ending. This is one of the finest films of Scorsese since Goodfellas & Taxi Driver.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
RyanSolomonMay 4, 2013
Martin Scorsece's best film, by far. One of my favorite movies, the entire cast knocked it out of the park, especially Jack Nicholson. Scorcese's best film since Goodfellas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jedijared182Apr 14, 2013
The Departed is phenomenal to say the least. And I don't throw that word around lightly either. The story is great and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Scorsese is at his absolute finest with this film. DiCaprio gives a stellar performanceThe Departed is phenomenal to say the least. And I don't throw that word around lightly either. The story is great and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Scorsese is at his absolute finest with this film. DiCaprio gives a stellar performance as rookie "cop" Billy Costigan. Jack Nicholson was the perfect casting for Frank Costello and Martin Sheen and Mark Wahlberg are a great duo. Not to forget Matt Damon who is excellent as always. Writing: great. Casting: great. Dialogue: great. Acting: great. Cinematography: great. If you want to watch an all around solid film that will keep you guessing and waiting, this is the film to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
forestvilleMar 23, 2013
As said Peter Travers of Rolling Stone. is a new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here in its highest beams.
This film is a true masterpiece of Mr. Scorsese, if you know the amazing movie direct
As said Peter Travers of Rolling Stone. is a new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here in its highest beams.
This film is a true masterpiece of Mr. Scorsese, if you know the amazing movie direct a police-criminal in addition to adapt a script to give us a glorious orgasm film called The Departed.
The story development only increases all the virtues that contains this tape, to reach a final height of the circumstances because he has all the elements to declare it as the movie of 2006.
It's not just the plot (what script!), Is the atmosphere, the tension, the fast pace, the harshness, hardness and action, great performances. Any meeting of the leadership quality in the acting and how to bring such a complex history.
In this film should not only nominated, but rewarding in all the glorious prize Starring Leonardo Dicaprio because now if I can achieve much more than majestual, really epic, clear that Jack Nicholson is like a fish in the water doing what she likes be a perfect bastard, at home and in their actions.
Damon also does very well, shows us that we can give a good taste in their movies and last but not least the myriad of side is superb: from Mark Wahlberg Martin Sheen, all make this film is (or at least should) be remembered for raising so much wasted talent.
Undoubtedly, one of the best films of the decade 2000.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrendanCogs99Mar 13, 2013
The Departed is Martin Scorsese's most recent gangster film about two Boston state police officers (Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon) on separate sides of the law who cross paths when a rat is seeked out in both the police, and a gangster'sThe Departed is Martin Scorsese's most recent gangster film about two Boston state police officers (Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon) on separate sides of the law who cross paths when a rat is seeked out in both the police, and a gangster's (Jack Nicholson) crew of Irish gangsters. Is it better then Goodfellas, hell no. But it is one damn good crime film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuMar 13, 2013
Although I was initially disappointed by The Departed, time has seen me come around. My grievance of the film was the fact that it lacked depth. It felt too slight and flimsy to make a serious dent. That said, I now love The Departed for thatAlthough I was initially disappointed by The Departed, time has seen me come around. My grievance of the film was the fact that it lacked depth. It felt too slight and flimsy to make a serious dent. That said, I now love The Departed for that exact reason. It's colorful, light and a lot of fun. Especially Mark Wahlberg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Though I hate to admit its not Scorsese's greatest work, The Departed is thrilling and shocking at many levels, leaving in hints of humor and just flat out what the hell is gonna happen next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyFeb 14, 2013
Scorsese made again a masterpiece that blow you're mind. Everything on this movie is smart, the story, the cast, and the characters. Good story and an unexpected end. Very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFFeb 2, 2013
"I don't want to be product of my environment..I want my environment to be a product of me". Not only were these the first words uttered in this fantastic piece of cinema, but they are words that Martin Scorsese has lived and filmed by for"I don't want to be product of my environment..I want my environment to be a product of me". Not only were these the first words uttered in this fantastic piece of cinema, but they are words that Martin Scorsese has lived and filmed by for his illustrious career.
The Departed is another gold star on an almost flawless report for the director. He utilises superb story-telling, wonderfully diverse characters with exploding personalities and enough profanity to curl the greasiest of hairs, its not just the dark side of crime, its also the darkest side of the law.
A remake of Hong Kong film 'Internal Affairs', we see mob supremo Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson) luring young Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon) to a life of crime to the end of him graduating from police academy and infiltrating the Massachusetts State Police, but Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) is playing the same game, being asked by Captain Queenan (Martin Sheen) and Sergeant Dignam (Mark Whalberg) of the SIU unit within the police, to infiltrate Costellos gang due to his families ties wthin the mob.
What follows is a truly dangerous game, asking the audience just how much you can handle while under this much pressure.
Every star in this 149 minute show puts in an Oscar worthy performance, whether it me Whalbergs fantastically profanity-laced speeches, Alec Baldwin fast-paced speaking, Sheen's cold-hearted stance against the criminals he hunts ('Any of you mugs got a light") or whether it is the almost psychotic Nicholson who improvised a complete scene in this movie, but its perhaps the two centred performers who steal the show, Damon is and easy going within the police force, while Dicaprio is fearing for his life every single day he infiltrates.
Scorsese does an excellent job telling an almost even side to each story, but it is ultimately down to the fast paced story and cat and mouse near-misses that set this film up as one of the greatest of the decade, the performances in particular set it apart from other dramas of the same genre.
One Scorsese picture that cannot be forgotten
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Caubz06Jan 28, 2013
This movies is just amazing, Is on the pantheon with Taxi Driver, Raging Bull and Goodfellas. Take your breath away and amazing performances. Well deserved the Oscar!! And off course one of the best films of 2000s.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJan 22, 2013
An absolute masterpiece from director Martin Scorsese. Probably one of the most tense, edge-of-your seat thrillers ever made. The performances from Leonardo DiCaprio, Jack Nicholson, and Matt Damon really add a lot to the suspense, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Scorsese's The Departed is a new American crime classic. Every aspect of the film flows together so easily from the first frame to when the credits roll, making it compulsively watchable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
The Departed heralds Martin Scorsese's return to the top of his game and simultaneously secures for the film a place in the pantheon of the very best of American crime cinema. Welcome back to Scorsese's mean streets.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DanOSullivanSep 1, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'The Departed' is another Scorsese masterpiece. The film's clever and full of twists. The acting is top-notch from everyone, the cast is also brilliant. The story is engaging and entertaining, I didn't even get bored, considering the runtime.
My only issue is the runtime of the film, I mean I was engaged througout and it was great but it's not a film that can be watched whenever you want. Still overall I couldn't recommend 'The Departed' enough, it's just brilliant.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JPWenzelJul 8, 2012
This is a great movie for anyone who likes a good entertaining movie. The way the story lines fit together was great, and the ending was amazing, I would suggest this to anyone who likes a good action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
god-amaterasuJun 23, 2012
The Departed is a masterpiece: Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon and Jack Nicholson are wonderful together. And I'm Shipping Up To Boston is a wonderful song for a soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EverlongJun 10, 2012
Brilliant. Absolutely amazing. An intense, thrilling plot with GREAT acting. It had twists that I didn't see coming and had been on the edge of my seat. A truly great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
It is not perfect -very few movies are- but it is fantastic! Many things about this movie have been said already...I am a girl...apparently this is not the type of movie that girls adore, but I do...and I have it in my collection! :) I canIt is not perfect -very few movies are- but it is fantastic! Many things about this movie have been said already...I am a girl...apparently this is not the type of movie that girls adore, but I do...and I have it in my collection! :) I can watch it over and over and over again....well, perhaps not more than twice a year! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Apr 1, 2012
The Departed has good acting and a pretty good story but it felt like just another gangster film; violence, drugs, and a bunch of thugs after one thing, money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
This is a 10 out of 10 movie. A great mobster movie showing the American dream. Acting is pretty good. Story is really good, and so is the score. Overall, this is a really, really great movie. You really should watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Mar 31, 2012
Uninteresting. It is very overrated. It is too bad that Marty won for this film when he clearly had better work that was overlooked. The accents seem so forced and the storyline is just another gangster film.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
9
jacknofelMar 19, 2012
people like to say that this only one the Oscar because Scorsese has been snubbed so many times when he should have deserved it. while that is true he should have won the Oscar for taxi driver, raging bull and goodfellas (or at the very leastpeople like to say that this only one the Oscar because Scorsese has been snubbed so many times when he should have deserved it. while that is true he should have won the Oscar for taxi driver, raging bull and goodfellas (or at the very least one of the three), this in no way effects the fact that this was the best movie of the year and truly shows Scorsese understanding modern film making. this was almost the perfect movie if not for annoying unnecessary love interest (not unlike in gangs of new York). But while i don't approve of the addition of the love interest i appreciate that Scorsese did not spend to much time with it. this is by far one of the best movies of the 00's and gets judged to harshly because it was by no means Scorsese's best film but was the one that got him the Oscar so people think that it didn't deserve it. the truth is of the his four best this is the least deserving of the three but in no way undeserving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMar 19, 2012
The film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and theThe film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and the acting ensemble. The films writting is also masterful but, it works extremely well because of the acting. Overall a great film. Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
10
j30Feb 13, 2012
A first rate, white knuckle thrill ride from the great Martin Scorsese. Not only does The Departed build off the excellent original (Infernal Affairs) but it has a tour de force of acting performances from Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio, MarkA first rate, white knuckle thrill ride from the great Martin Scorsese. Not only does The Departed build off the excellent original (Infernal Affairs) but it has a tour de force of acting performances from Matt Damon, Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Wahlberg, and Jack Nicholson. Scorsese is at his best, there is not a dull moment in it's 151 minute run time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DongangstarDec 30, 2011
The best film I've ever seen. This picture has it all: good, exciting story, great actors, action, humor, love and good music. Dicaprio did a BRILLIANT job, top actor, if he isn't the best. I know, some might think I'm exaggerating, but I'mThe best film I've ever seen. This picture has it all: good, exciting story, great actors, action, humor, love and good music. Dicaprio did a BRILLIANT job, top actor, if he isn't the best. I know, some might think I'm exaggerating, but I'm sure that I'm not. Enjoy this piece of art, you won't regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oscarrDec 25, 2011
Overall Movie: 8 Acting: 9 Storyline: 7 Although there are gaps in the storyline, the ferocious acting makes this crime drama a hit. The only Scorsese film this beats is Taxi Driver. I'm afraid Raging Bull and Goodfellas are better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: Crime film is very thrilling, hard to stop watching. Deserving of its Best Picture Oscar.

Scorsese directs a violent update of the well-known Chinese mob film, INFERNAL AFFAIRS, from just four years prior. Set in Boston, Massachusetts, the story tells of a mob boss named Frank Costello (Jack Nicholson) who sends out a criminal, Colin Sullivan (Matt Damon). Simultaneously, the local police have sent out Billy Costigan (Leonardo DiCaprio) to infiltrate Costelloâ
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 22, 2011
This review contains spoilers. Martin Scorsese's translation of "Internal Affairs" offers nothing new or shocking except for a surprisingly well performed Wahlberg. He ends the movie with his own american twist (everybody dies) and boom, before you know it the movie is barely done. Overall its good, but he barely makes his point in "The Departed" with his overaggressive 'American' translation of the stunning original. I recommend Martin Scorsese to try better, like the time where he had the spirit to direct "Taxi Driver". Collapse
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
10
dicko45Sep 18, 2011
This Oscar-winner was a great disappointment. Implausible plot (the Matt Damon character recruited by gangsters specifically to be a mole in the police? has that ever happened? Thought not). Jack Nicholson playing the same hammy old characterThis Oscar-winner was a great disappointment. Implausible plot (the Matt Damon character recruited by gangsters specifically to be a mole in the police? has that ever happened? Thought not). Jack Nicholson playing the same hammy old character he's been playing for the last 20 years. Casting Ray Wimstone as an American gangster? How crazy is that? Nicholson's moll is there just to massage Nicholson's ego (and other places). The police shrink slows the plot down whenever she's on - she's only there to "prove" that Scorsese hasn't got a problem with women. The multiple shootings at the end were absurd, and as a viewer I didn't care about a single one of the deaths. And that porn theatre? Worst anachronism ever. Proof, if proof were needed, that the more "stars" a film has the worse it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
driesy8888Sep 6, 2011
What can I say? Martin is a genius. Perfectly casted, directed, written. Why are some people giving it 1/10? It's almost an insult to give it a low score like that. The movie is brilliant
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joe_mcfarlaneAug 31, 2011
i've never seen a more gritty and dramatic insight into mob families. will brilliant performances from the entire cast. this is a brilliant action packed movie. brilliantly directed by scorcese, this is one of my favourites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mason4tadoAug 13, 2011
Never before has a movie left me gasping in amazement. It's the movie equivalent of that rare sort of novel where you find yourself checking to see how many pages are left and hoping there are more, not fewer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MuhammadomerJul 9, 2011
One of the best movies of the decade. Leonardo di caprio is as good as hell. Jack and matt are awesome as always. Very strong plot and acting is to the point. Way better than the orignal
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ElliottFJul 6, 2011
Being a bit skeptical going into this movie knowing that it is going to be a bloodbath and use f*** as a space-marker, the story telling, acting, and overall plot totally diverts your attention away from the gruesomeness. DiCaprio'sBeing a bit skeptical going into this movie knowing that it is going to be a bloodbath and use f*** as a space-marker, the story telling, acting, and overall plot totally diverts your attention away from the gruesomeness. DiCaprio's performance deserved and Oscar as well as Scorsese's direction. Brilliant movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BillMarloJun 28, 2011
This movie is without overstating or lying my favorite movie and in my opinion, the best movie I have ever seen. A lot of people will complain because it is not as good as the Hong Kong version, but look at the differences in the respect andThis movie is without overstating or lying my favorite movie and in my opinion, the best movie I have ever seen. A lot of people will complain because it is not as good as the Hong Kong version, but look at the differences in the respect and success each have been given. The Departed was a great movie. Internal Affairs may have been a good movie but it could not match the passion or brilliance of this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Khunter4382Jun 2, 2011
Brilliant. An all star cast. Brutal realism. One of the most developed screenplays I've ever seen. This film amazes me and lends itself to mandatory repeated viewings. So much is going on here, but it is all the better for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ShahmeerMay 29, 2011
While I watched The Departed, I grew to like it more and more with every growing second. It was either the vigorous cast of DiCaprio, Damon, Nicholsan, and Whalburg, or the interesting "rat" storyline, or just the fact that people were justWhile I watched The Departed, I grew to like it more and more with every growing second. It was either the vigorous cast of DiCaprio, Damon, Nicholsan, and Whalburg, or the interesting "rat" storyline, or just the fact that people were just dropping dead for, actually, good reasons. The light humor was also very entertaining, as was the non-stop action. But I can truly tell you, this film is a must watch. The Departed takes place in the city of Boston. It follows to pure rivals; an Irish gang and the state police. During the coarse of the film, both the police and the gang have a "rat", or a mole, each coming from the other rival. It shows the police rat's side, (DiCaprio), to be the good guy. But then it also shows the gang rat's side (Dammon), to be the bad one, obviously. So the film just becomes a race to see who each other's rat is, and to get the Irish gang obilorated once and for all. You just have to see the rest to see what happens.
The acting in this film just blew your mind, right from the very moment that you saw the freakin amazing casting of Damon, DiCaprio, and Nicholsan, you knew you were getting yourself into an action packed movie. I would personally say that DiCaprio and Nicholsan were tied as the best actors in the film, for there was just so much intensity coming from the two. It was as if they had perfect chemistry, but they were scared s**tless about each other. I wouldn't have been surprised if Nicholsan won Best Supporting Actor at the Academy Awards, for this is the type of guy the Academy likes. Really, who doesnt like Nicholsan? And who doesnt like Scorsese? I can tell you that I freakin love him, and adore him for his work. It's extremely wrong that his previous films never won for Best Picture, but truly, if there had to be one film that would've won, it would've been this one. He gives a clear message at the end of the film, if you want a happy ending, sad things have GOT to happen. And that's what makes him the best director of 2006, and this the best film of 2006.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Matthews090Mar 7, 2011
A twisting, brutal knife to any other gangland story; rightly crowned as Scorsese's modern masterpiece. Di Caprio fights through the underbelly as mole Costigan while Damon schmoozes through the upper echelons of the Police force, unaware ofA twisting, brutal knife to any other gangland story; rightly crowned as Scorsese's modern masterpiece. Di Caprio fights through the underbelly as mole Costigan while Damon schmoozes through the upper echelons of the Police force, unaware of his ties with mobster Costello. The culmination of events, as both sides learn and hunt the rival moles in each others factions is gripping right until the bloody finale and epilogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
elliott23Jan 21, 2011
Mr. Scorsese just put me in a position, after watching this movie, to be appalled at how gruesome and unnecessarily violent this movie is, or to say, "What a masterpiece!" I think I'll go with the latter.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
jpeyt0n2Jan 16, 2011
One of Scorsese's most brilliant works. It may be an adaptation, but the rebirth is stronger like a phoenix. Strong, strong acting, excellent directing, and involving storyline make this mob thriller one of the highlight films of the year.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
8
TheGorillaJan 15, 2011
the movie was quite good, although it could be even better considering the cast of actors, and the great Martin Scorsese as director. i don't know if you can call it a classic, because it's forgettable in my opinion. i really was hoping to bethe movie was quite good, although it could be even better considering the cast of actors, and the great Martin Scorsese as director. i don't know if you can call it a classic, because it's forgettable in my opinion. i really was hoping to be an entertaining ride full of thrills, but i just got the entertainment. some parts may be unrealistic, but, however it is a good film. 8 - ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SacredLoveJan 5, 2011
A brilliant movie with brilliant performances.. Excellent execution, Excellent Casting.. Its the best movie released in 2006.... No Doubt. Too good.... We cant even judge the performances..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MetalMan95Dec 28, 2010
This is a great crime thriller.Scorcese directs this film with flawless ease. Everyone of the actors: Dicaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, Nicholson, Farmiga, Baldwin, and the rest of the cast are absolutely phenomenal. the only complaint i have of itThis is a great crime thriller.Scorcese directs this film with flawless ease. Everyone of the actors: Dicaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, Nicholson, Farmiga, Baldwin, and the rest of the cast are absolutely phenomenal. the only complaint i have of it is that it has a slow start. everything else: golden Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
XerxesNov 25, 2010
the best movie of 06 no doubt, with all the stars and egos involved, there was always the risk it may not quite work but it was well done and made for an awesome, action drama, well done scorcese :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
UsamahNov 10, 2010
Apart from some great acting,there was almost nothing in the movie worth praise.The story was unnecessarily confusing and Scorsese didnt do well to omit that confusion.I was and am still surprsied why this movie won the oscar...???
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
TSudNov 2, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Solid performances from all actors but once again DiCaprio especially impresses me. He's undercover, struggling with unimaginable anxiety and paranoia which he barely manages to keep a lid on through abuse of anxiolytics and he delivers us a solid and believable character.
Mark Wahlberg's outrageous swearing and in-your-face attitude reminds us there are few, if any, true heroes out there. Faced with the reality of sociopathic criminals and blood-ridden crime scenes even the good guys get gritty. And on the topic of sociopathy, Jack Nicholson unflinchingly becomes the personification of depravity. For me, the graphic violence and bad language is justified: these are men pushed to their limits. And the death of the characters (especially the unexpected death of DiCaprio's character) is shocking and therefore the violence of their deaths should also be shocking.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
1966ZodiacOct 6, 2010
This movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly peopleThis movie is pretty much an overrated remake of Infernal Affairs. When I first saw this movie I thought it would be AMAZING since it had won the oscar fo best picture and all. I was very disappointed and all I remember was mostly people saying the F word over and over again. Some parts of the movie tries to have crude humor but it fails miserably. Now I saw this movie before I saw the original infernal affairs I saw infernal affairs about a year after an thought the original was much much MUCH better. This movie lacks proper character development and we feel no emotion for the characters. The only thing better about this remake is the mob boss played by Jack Nicholson. This movie is WAY overrated and I really don't recomend watching it. I however can recomend watching the original movie. The orginal movie "Inferna Affairs" has what this movies missing(a heart). Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
7
796712Sep 27, 2010
very very very good film problem is i gave it a 7 only because he stole the idea from another film which means i have to mark it down i would have given it like a 9
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
gamefriekSep 26, 2010
Martin Scorsese did a masterful job on this movie. The way that he first of all got such great talent together on film was amazing. The actual story line is quite entertaining and keeps you wondering whats going to happen next. Overall, it'sMartin Scorsese did a masterful job on this movie. The way that he first of all got such great talent together on film was amazing. The actual story line is quite entertaining and keeps you wondering whats going to happen next. Overall, it's one of the best movies to come out that year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FLOPAD180Sep 12, 2010
This movie had me on the edge of my seat literally the whole time i watched it. Great story, great cast, and great action. The thing i like best about this movie is how they kept it pretty life like. No one took twelve bullets to the chestThis movie had me on the edge of my seat literally the whole time i watched it. Great story, great cast, and great action. The thing i like best about this movie is how they kept it pretty life like. No one took twelve bullets to the chest and kept on walking around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Not as good as Scorsese's transcendant "Goodfellas", but what film could be compared to that masterpiece other than "The Godfather"? It's pretty shocking to see that this is the only film directed by Scorsese that ever won Best Picture (notNot as good as Scorsese's transcendant "Goodfellas", but what film could be compared to that masterpiece other than "The Godfather"? It's pretty shocking to see that this is the only film directed by Scorsese that ever won Best Picture (not that it matters), because I can think of four or five films that I prefer of his over "The Departed". Maybe what this film does more than anything is show how illustrious and superb Scorsese's career has been. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KeithPSep 12, 2009
This is a great movie. I can see why it won the Academy Award for Best Picture. The actors in this movie did their roles well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ERManSep 5, 2009
The most successful movie following the infamous GoodFellows. Filled with a brilliant cast from the main characters like Leonardo Dicaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson, and Mark Wahlberg to top actors with very few scenes like Alec Baldwin. The most successful movie following the infamous GoodFellows. Filled with a brilliant cast from the main characters like Leonardo Dicaprio, Matt Damon, Jack Nicholson, and Mark Wahlberg to top actors with very few scenes like Alec Baldwin. The Departed is a bloody violent suspense. Keeping the viewer entertained with the amazing acting and compelling srory, which will be keeping you at the edge of your seat by plot twists that I never saw coming. A true action packed thriller that is more than worth your money. I highly recommend The Departed, which the critics are crazy about. See this movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleBAug 15, 2009
Amazing movie. The actors they got for this movie were all terrific. The directing and writing in this movie was fantastic and the overall plot was awesome. BRAVO!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeBJul 2, 2009
It certainly doesn't trump Scorese's past works, but you can see his brilliance in some parts. It is not the least sentimental, and I doubt that it was Oscar-worthy, compared to his last brilliances, such as Goodfellas and Taxi It certainly doesn't trump Scorese's past works, but you can see his brilliance in some parts. It is not the least sentimental, and I doubt that it was Oscar-worthy, compared to his last brilliances, such as Goodfellas and Taxi Driver. The characters are not defined at all. The only aspect of the writing that is decent is the characterization of Boston. But that doesn't make a good movie. Instead of relying on the characters, this film relies on the plot, which is a terrible mistake. I don't know how Scorsese made this screenplay into a decent movie. No one else could, and I guess that's what separates some directors from others. Only a true genius like Scorsese could make this Bourne-esque movie into a barely decent one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JSJun 12, 2009
The reviews for this movie were very misleading. I didn't realise going in that all the positive reviews were just making Scorsese a free ticket for an oscar. Its shameful that the academy gave into the hype for this movie, but insulted The reviews for this movie were very misleading. I didn't realise going in that all the positive reviews were just making Scorsese a free ticket for an oscar. Its shameful that the academy gave into the hype for this movie, but insulted The Dark Knight by inferring people only liked it for Ledger. This movie was just a cheap thriller with a novel plot. You can tell the script was written by a hollywood prince who has no dealings with the outside world. It was a lot like a Quentin Tarantino movie; no texture, just the unrealistic overuse of language you'd only hear on a 6th grade school yard, and intense random violence. Speaking of language, the movie manages to demean the Boston area police to a greater extent than they have in real life. I can't imagine professionals at a meeting for a major police agency jokingly yelling 'I did your mom!' to each other. It had a lot of good acting all around, I'll give it that. Even Alec Baldwin manages to avoid being unbearable; and thankfully he isn't in many scenes. Their attempt to make you hate Mark Wahlberg's character throughout 3/4s the movie and then flip him to being a 'good guy' didn't float with me; it actually seemed goofy. Jack Nicholson reprises his role as The Joker, which seems better this time around. The character writing is so juvenile that 12 year olds could have easily played most of the parts. I think its interesting that in most movies like this they try to show a human side to the villains... But this movie goes above and beyond: dehumanizing everyone in the world other than two characters. If you aren't a scumbag you can't relate to 98% of the people in this film. Strangely, some elements of the film reminds me of Robocop. The way several of the characters die and Jack Nicholson's randomly breaking in with his party girls reminded me of the "I'd Buy That for a Dollar!" guy. But I actually liked Robocop. Usually when I see a movie that is grossly violent I look for some kind of meaning in the whole plot. Well, there is none in The Departed. Its just a bunch of thugs who kill people violently, and then die violently themselves. With a slight amount of intrigue in between, I could easily confuse this for one of the Bourne films. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
Great movie. This puts the Irish gangsters more fierce and unpredictable than the Italian gangsters today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful