The Departed

The Departed Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This gritty crime drama from director Martin Scorsese takes us into the lives of two cops: Colin Sullivan (Damon), smart and unabashedly ambitious, appears to be on the fast track in the Massachusetts State Police Department's elite Special Investigations Unit, whose prime target is powerfulThis gritty crime drama from director Martin Scorsese takes us into the lives of two cops: Colin Sullivan (Damon), smart and unabashedly ambitious, appears to be on the fast track in the Massachusetts State Police Department's elite Special Investigations Unit, whose prime target is powerful Irish mob boss Frank Costello (Nicholson). Billy Costigan (DiCaprio), street-smart and tough, is purported to have a violent temper that costs him his badge and eventually lands him back on the rough streets of South Boston, where he is recruited into Costello's ranks. But neither man is what he seems and, as they work at cross purposes, they are plunged into a dangerous game of cat and mouse in which the stakes could not be higher. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. A movie-movie of the first rank.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    A triumphant revisiting of territory in which Scorsese is an unchallenged master -- the crime drama.
  3. 100
    A new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here on its highest beams.
  4. 89
    This is a dream cast for both Scorsese and the viewer, and everyone is working at the peak of their craft. Nicholson's flawless performance as the increasingly unhinged crime boss is a marvel of manic, paranoid ruination.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    88
    When The Departed roars to life, as it does in so many of its scenes, you feel like nobody understands movies -- the delirious highs, the unforgiving moral depths -- as well as this man does. Welcome back, Marty.
  6. Frequently excessive but never dull, The Departed is a little too much of a lot of the things that define Martin Scorsese films but it's also almost impossible to resist. Too operatic at times, too in love with violence and macho posturing at others, it's a potboiler dressed up in upscale designer clothes, but oh how that pot does boil.
  7. Is Scorsese desperate? This screenplay has the scent of it, as if he is scraping for material to feed his basic filmic interests. But the risk in this case--not evaded--was that his need led him close to painful strain. I can't remember another Scorsese moment as shockingly banal as the finishing touch here.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 406
  1. Jon
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie another instant classic.
  2. JohnnyC.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    The envelope contained the tapes that showed how Matt Damon's character had connections with the mob.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. ThisThe film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and the acting ensemble. The films writting is also masterful but, it works extremely well because of the acting. Overall a great film. Expand
  4. Harry
    Mar 24, 2007
    9
    "I'll get the rat!" is one of the most memorable quotes of Martin Scorsese's latest gangster film "The Departed". This film can be "I'll get the rat!" is one of the most memorable quotes of Martin Scorsese's latest gangster film "The Departed". This film can be seen in many ways, it can be see as an atmosphere of the contemporary urban gangster places and lives, as a cat and mice game, as a thrilling ride or as the way we would feel if we were an inhuman gangster with no feeling. What makes "The Departed" such a great film is that every time you see it, you follow one of the character's stories and have different feelings. The first time I saw it, I felt like a bad guy following Costello's life and the second time, I felt like an emotionally drained and desperate character following Costigan's life. What makes "The Departed" such a complete film is Scorsese's thrilling directing of violent gangster scenes, and emotions, making us enter a puzzle were we always get stunned as we learn the different things that get revealed. Monahan's script is a brilliant piece, making for the first time, an action film were even the police looks like crap, a very realistic and vulgar dialogue and an ending that isn't like one of a traditional Hollywood film, but more like a contemporary Shakespeare one were everyone dies. The ensemble plays a key part making us forget their poplar names and convincing the audience of their character. The standouts are obviously DiCaprio and Nicholson, being the two characters of which I followed their story. Giving a style of classic rock music and arranging the pieces of the puzzle to get even more surprised make part of Thelma Schoonamer's perfect editing. All and all, "The Departed" is one of the best films of the year. Expand
  5. DanicaT.
    Feb 22, 2007
    8
    Great movie. Great Cast. Great storyline. Great performances. Great action, never bored. Captivating. I would definitely recommend it..simply put.
  6. DavidH.
    Feb 15, 2007
    6
    I was disappointed given all the hype. I'm a long-time Scorsese fan and thought this was nowhere near his best efforts. The film was I was disappointed given all the hype. I'm a long-time Scorsese fan and thought this was nowhere near his best efforts. The film was emotionally dead. Many actors (Nicholson, Damon, Sheen) were miscast. The dialogue was crisp and witty but got tiresome - no one talks like that in real life. The script really needed a doctor. If Martin wins a best director oscar it will be for life achievement. To tell the truth I couldn't even finish it. Expand
  7. DavidS.
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    A waste of film on every level. Scorsese is in bad need of a dominatrix.

See all 406 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best

    28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: February 18, 2016
    We rank the best picture winners of the past three decades.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.
  3. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.
  4. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.
  5. Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered

    Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 14, 2010
    The star of this week's "Inception" might be adding another blockbuster to his filmography this week, but will he also be adding another critical hit? We look back at DiCaprio's best and worst films, to see where "Inception" might fit in.