The Departed

The Departed Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1329 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This gritty crime drama from director Martin Scorsese takes us into the lives of two cops: Colin Sullivan (Damon), smart and unabashedly ambitious, appears to be on the fast track in the Massachusetts State Police Department's elite Special Investigations Unit, whose prime target is powerfulThis gritty crime drama from director Martin Scorsese takes us into the lives of two cops: Colin Sullivan (Damon), smart and unabashedly ambitious, appears to be on the fast track in the Massachusetts State Police Department's elite Special Investigations Unit, whose prime target is powerful Irish mob boss Frank Costello (Nicholson). Billy Costigan (DiCaprio), street-smart and tough, is purported to have a violent temper that costs him his badge and eventually lands him back on the rough streets of South Boston, where he is recruited into Costello's ranks. But neither man is what he seems and, as they work at cross purposes, they are plunged into a dangerous game of cat and mouse in which the stakes could not be higher. (Warner Bros.) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. A movie-movie of the first rank.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    A triumphant revisiting of territory in which Scorsese is an unchallenged master -- the crime drama.
  3. 100
    A new American crime classic from the legendary Martin Scorsese, whose talent shines here on its highest beams.
  4. 89
    This is a dream cast for both Scorsese and the viewer, and everyone is working at the peak of their craft. Nicholson's flawless performance as the increasingly unhinged crime boss is a marvel of manic, paranoid ruination.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    88
    When The Departed roars to life, as it does in so many of its scenes, you feel like nobody understands movies -- the delirious highs, the unforgiving moral depths -- as well as this man does. Welcome back, Marty.
  6. Frequently excessive but never dull, The Departed is a little too much of a lot of the things that define Martin Scorsese films but it's also almost impossible to resist. Too operatic at times, too in love with violence and macho posturing at others, it's a potboiler dressed up in upscale designer clothes, but oh how that pot does boil.
  7. Is Scorsese desperate? This screenplay has the scent of it, as if he is scraping for material to feed his basic filmic interests. But the risk in this case--not evaded--was that his need led him close to painful strain. I can't remember another Scorsese moment as shockingly banal as the finishing touch here.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 402
  1. Jon
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie another instant classic.
  2. JohnnyC.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    The envelope contained the tapes that showed how Matt Damon's character had connections with the mob.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. ThisThe film is not a film like taxi driver or Raging bull but, it is instead a regular crime thriller film with scorcesse's special touch. This film would have been just an average film if it werent for 2 things. Scorcesse's direction and the acting ensemble. The films writting is also masterful but, it works extremely well because of the acting. Overall a great film. Expand
  4. Anna
    Mar 11, 2007
    9
    Scorses reminds us why we go to the movies with this film. That it's not special effects and big bangs, it's great characters, with Scorses reminds us why we go to the movies with this film. That it's not special effects and big bangs, it's great characters, with the cast to handle them, and a compelling story. Expand
  5. HC.
    Feb 17, 2007
    8
    Not Scorsese's best, but it's still a very good movie. There were various plot holes and head-scratching throughout, but I still Not Scorsese's best, but it's still a very good movie. There were various plot holes and head-scratching throughout, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. The direction is wonderful and the performances of supporting actors were outstanding. I absolutely loved Mark Walberg and Alex Baldwin. Leonardo of course turned in a great performance as well, though for some reason I've seen Matt Damon's character before--maybe he's just playing way too many of these similar roles? The ending seemed a little cheap but I still really liked the movie even with all these flaws--which says a lot, I think, about the talent involved in this movie. Expand
  6. AraH.
    Jan 29, 2007
    6
    Just okay. Great acting, but very convoluted story and far-fetched plot points. How was this nominated for an Oscar over United 93?
  7. DavidS.
    Oct 9, 2006
    0
    A waste of film on every level. Scorsese is in bad need of a dominatrix.

See all 402 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.
  2. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.
  3. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.
  4. Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered

    Leonardo DiCaprio: All Films Considered Image
    Published: July 14, 2010
    The star of this week's "Inception" might be adding another blockbuster to his filmography this week, but will he also be adding another critical hit? We look back at DiCaprio's best and worst films, to see where "Inception" might fit in.