Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2011
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 447 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
362
Mixed:
65
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
ericlprimeroDec 28, 2011
After an hour, the movie hinted that it might get interesting. It did not. I can not understand how anyone could enjoy this movie. The scenery was good and the music was tolerable, so I'll give it a 2/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
EdenDec 26, 2011
What movie did all these other people see that they liked? There is little about this film that is enjoyable. Some good acting performances is all I could muster to say positive about this. None of the characters are either believable orWhat movie did all these other people see that they liked? There is little about this film that is enjoyable. Some good acting performances is all I could muster to say positive about this. None of the characters are either believable or likeable. And why did they have to put the "F" word into the mouths of 7 year olds just to make this an "R" rated film. WEAK Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
2
alexturnerApr 13, 2012
To think this movie got its Academy award for Best Adapted Screenplay, of all things. I would say its script is among the worst of its features, and there is no shortage of bad features "The Descendents" boasts. From the cringeworthyTo think this movie got its Academy award for Best Adapted Screenplay, of all things. I would say its script is among the worst of its features, and there is no shortage of bad features "The Descendents" boasts. From the cringeworthy dialogues, to the placid performances of underwritten characters, to the cliched ending, it's a snoozefest of terrible. The voiceover is tacky and disappears mysteriously halfway through, having served its expository goal. There are F words aplenty, none of which coming naturally from its utterers - be it preteens or the always charming but never offensive Clooney. The exchanges are forced and bland. The development of character, if any, feels forced as well - one minute somebody does something portraying him in one light, the next - its opposite, there is no gradualness or shades.

I felt Clooney gave a good performance given the material he had to work with, and I was happy enough with Shailene Woodley. Somehow they even managed to get the score wrong, even though its Hawaiian music over a movie taking place on beautiful Hawaii.

All in all, I was utterly disappointed, maybe I got in with the wrong expectations on the back of so much critics' praise (are they being paid by the studio to marvel in such drivel? I can find no other explanation for so many 10/10 scores in the face of such gaping chasms in the bowels of this movie) and award nominations. Don't make the same mistake.
Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
RobinsNestMay 10, 2012
None of the characters touched me one bit. All unbelievable Mr Clooney plays his usual unemotional, twitching, sad sack (there have been notable exceptions-he was great in "Oh Brother..."). The kids were okay but what is the deal with everyNone of the characters touched me one bit. All unbelievable Mr Clooney plays his usual unemotional, twitching, sad sack (there have been notable exceptions-he was great in "Oh Brother..."). The kids were okay but what is the deal with every other word out of the young one's mouth is **** Is that supposed to be funny, when children swear, and dad gives an exasperated look? Maybe they wanted an R rating to pique some interest. What is the purpose of the boy friend? His character is inane. Perhaps the grieving daughter could get support from him; no way with this guy; every fathers nightmare that your daughter brings a guy like this home. And where was his family? He spent every minute with the Clooney clan. Mr Forster is good as usual. Once again the wrong person is blamed for the affair; in this case the man. The wife is absolved of all responsibility because she is dying, when she wanted to have the affair and cheated on her husband; but f course he feels guilty. Mr Clooney's Matt finally has time for his wife and falls in love with her in the coma, even though she lied and cheated on on him. We "see" no background just an occasional reference to his being too busy. Drama? Comedy? I could not have cared any less about the ridiculous back story (someone please help Mr Bridges to find meaningful work). You go to the trouble to make a movie in Hawaii and almost no one talks, looks, or feels Hawaiian ( except the beautiful scenery). Uninteresting people, uninteresting story, no emotion, no one to root for. It's a mess. Amazing how so many critics loved this film. Mr Clooney certainly has a stranglehold on Hollywood. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
EtanTJan 28, 2012
Renter. I nearly left the theater and in hindsight, wish I had. The pace of this movie is extremely slow. Unfortunately the slow pace does not include significant character development or storytelling. Certainly enjoyed the beautiful HawaiiRenter. I nearly left the theater and in hindsight, wish I had. The pace of this movie is extremely slow. Unfortunately the slow pace does not include significant character development or storytelling. Certainly enjoyed the beautiful Hawaii scenery and Clooney has a great narrator's voice but this project would have been much better suited to a made-for-tv splash vs big screen. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
SirEddieCookNov 27, 2011
I like George Clooney. I really like Matthew Lillard. This movie just isn't much emotionally, spiritually or even artistically. There are some nuanced moments that work, a bit of Alexander Payne's trademark irony in scenes, sure. But this wasI like George Clooney. I really like Matthew Lillard. This movie just isn't much emotionally, spiritually or even artistically. There are some nuanced moments that work, a bit of Alexander Payne's trademark irony in scenes, sure. But this was a tough 2 hours to sit through. It's a depressing film about people struggling with little or no humanity. It doesn't have a pulse. The photography and production values are dreary and uninspired. George Clooney struggles with the Oscar clips, and comes off like a bloke(a likeable guy, but he really is just an aging good looking dude.) There are no great lines. It's actually super misogynistic about the youngest daughter, the 20 something daughter, the realtor's wife and the wife in the coma. Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
2
QadoshDec 23, 2011
This movie seemed to be about finding out how many times God's Name could be blasphemed and how much cussing and swearing could be vomited from the mouth of children, NONE of which was of any use to the already boring movie. If you like to beThis movie seemed to be about finding out how many times God's Name could be blasphemed and how much cussing and swearing could be vomited from the mouth of children, NONE of which was of any use to the already boring movie. If you like to be depressed and love to hear vulgar language, then this movie is for you. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
BairdoMar 15, 2012
Awful. I had to turn this movie off after 39 minutes. No movie can redeem itself after that much crap.The performances were extremely inauthentic - I couldn't stop cringing at how much it felt like an amateur play. The "actor" who played theAwful. I had to turn this movie off after 39 minutes. No movie can redeem itself after that much crap.The performances were extremely inauthentic - I couldn't stop cringing at how much it felt like an amateur play. The "actor" who played the daughter's friend can count his performance as one of the worst in recent memory. I wouldn't be surprised if he was plucked off the street and told to act stoned. Oscar nominated?....That confirms what I already knew. I'm totally baffled that so many critics and users enjoyed this abominable turd. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
likeitisFeb 5, 2012
This movie was nominated for best picture? Oh for the days of Spencer Tracy and James Stewart. The movie did not have one breakout scene. I did not laugh. I did not cry. Clooney nominated for "best actor"?His emotional range goes all theThis movie was nominated for best picture? Oh for the days of Spencer Tracy and James Stewart. The movie did not have one breakout scene. I did not laugh. I did not cry. Clooney nominated for "best actor"?His emotional range goes all the way from A to B. There was nothing in the movie that made it stand out, unless you count all the vulgarities from the 10 and 16 year old!! Hollywood is in trouble. They are trying to manufacture stars and hype great movies. Didn't work here! At least it only cost us $5.00 Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
Usul63Jun 15, 2012
Absolutely lame. Uneventful, boring, and self-absorbed. The writers try in vain to express human pain through cinematic garbage. Clooney's character is the worst father and must be a concoction of today's liberal version of what a fatherAbsolutely lame. Uneventful, boring, and self-absorbed. The writers try in vain to express human pain through cinematic garbage. Clooney's character is the worst father and must be a concoction of today's liberal version of what a father should be like. Best film of the year? Possible since most films made today are terrible too. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 14, 2017
Drame familial particulièrement minable, plus ou moins sirupeux avec le gentil Georges Clowney, toujours pas remis de sa série Urgences puisqu'il n'a pas évolué dans son non-jeu d'un iota en plusieurs décennies. Sa meilleure performance resteDrame familial particulièrement minable, plus ou moins sirupeux avec le gentil Georges Clowney, toujours pas remis de sa série Urgences puisqu'il n'a pas évolué dans son non-jeu d'un iota en plusieurs décennies. Sa meilleure performance reste à ce jour sa réplique "what else" pour une marque de caoua en pastilles.

Il est épaulé dans son absolue médiocrité par Shailene Woodley, la fille à tronche de thon des "Divergente", égérie des ados microcéphales à cervelle d'huître. Toujours gaulée comme un croisement entre un parcmètre et une endive, son bronzage reste ce qu'elle a de mieux, vu comment elle se débat pour essayer de faire l'actrice.

Oh bien sûr, l'originalité concerne le lieu, Hawaï et ses décors de carte postale pour nous faire comprendre que même au "paradis", des "drames" se nouent et se dénouent, des psychodrames à la godille du même sous-niveau que "Plus belle la vie" à... Hawaï. Franchement, on s'en contrefout et on s'en bat l'oeil en force, pour rester poli. Allez donc vous mettre la tête dans le sable, ça nous fera des vacances.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews