The Descent

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 539 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 539

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ZS
    Jan 2, 2008
    5
    Eh, it wasn't bad at all. But it certainly wasn't all the critics made it out to be. Jumpy, sure (and it did this well...for the first hour or so...), but then it just devolves into one fight after another. And by the way...are Sarah and Juno Cave Tai Kwon Do experts or something? The Gollum ass-kicking got old quickly. They can't even walk forward without scraping against Eh, it wasn't bad at all. But it certainly wasn't all the critics made it out to be. Jumpy, sure (and it did this well...for the first hour or so...), but then it just devolves into one fight after another. And by the way...are Sarah and Juno Cave Tai Kwon Do experts or something? The Gollum ass-kicking got old quickly. They can't even walk forward without scraping against something for the first hour, and then suddenly there are whole underground fighting chambers? I didn't buy that. Great performance from most of the cast (Juno was overacted), decent concept, yet another ambiguous is-she-or-isn't-she Hollywoodesque ending. I would have felt more fulfilled if that logging truck had just taken Sarah's head off right after she blew cookies. That would have been as merciless and grim as this was supposed to be. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2011
    6
    It was a decently scary horror film, and It will scare the **** out of you if your claustrophobic and are watching it in a dark movie theater. In fact, it was really suspenseful until the middle of the movie, when the blood starts flying and the amount of gore just becomes ridiculous. Falling into a giant pool of blood and organs? The bloody massacre of the creatures when the woman finds aIt was a decently scary horror film, and It will scare the **** out of you if your claustrophobic and are watching it in a dark movie theater. In fact, it was really suspenseful until the middle of the movie, when the blood starts flying and the amount of gore just becomes ridiculous. Falling into a giant pool of blood and organs? The bloody massacre of the creatures when the woman finds a weapon? At this point, all the blood is just silly, and it personally killed the movie for me. Aside from that and the ending, though, it wasn't bad. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    The films technical qualities were unbelievable but seeing this film on dvd the technical qualities of the film did not add to any suspense. this may because i did not experience this film in theatres or there is no suspense present.
  4. Jul 24, 2014
    5
    The idea itself could be fine, but the movie is silly, not scary at all and even not as violent and brutal as many described.
    Anyway my gf almost puked but just because she's very scared about blood; she gives a 6/10 instead.
    So actually let's say 5.5/10
  5. christopherJ
    May 16, 2008
    6
    It was OK, but you practically had to turn on the subtitles to hear what those girls were mumbling. I liked the fact that the victims could sort of fight back, but the girls didn't act in realistic ways about 50% of the time. I felt the disconnect again and again, so I tuned out parts of the film. So basically it wasn't super engrossing, and it was OK.
  6. F.Valeron
    Apr 16, 2006
    4
    There's no need to avoid this film if you have a heart problem or nervous disposition, only if you think films should actually be good. It's just a gang of weird, blind monsters chasing girls around a cave. Sort of like a night out in an English nightclub.
  7. PaulK.
    Aug 3, 2006
    5
    I had high expectations after seeing the user rating on here, but I didn't think this was scary at all...granted there was one perfectly placed and unsuspecting scare, but that's it. Most parts of the plot were too far over the top and I kept getting confused between the characters since they look similar and half the time you couldn't see them. The last second of the movie I had high expectations after seeing the user rating on here, but I didn't think this was scary at all...granted there was one perfectly placed and unsuspecting scare, but that's it. Most parts of the plot were too far over the top and I kept getting confused between the characters since they look similar and half the time you couldn't see them. The last second of the movie is ridiculous. Oh, and the gore factor is relatively high, in case you were wondering...makes me curious about the original ending that was changed for audiences here in the states. Horror fans will see this in the theater, but everyone else should wait until video. Expand
  8. AlL
    Aug 4, 2006
    4
    It is distinguished from a crowded genre by the mere fact that the set up is so prolonged. Okay white girls we get it: this is not "sex in the city" but and low budget Steel Magnolia's. If I wanted to go spelunking I would go for real. Claustraphobia anyone. Once the familiar looking ghouls arrive it is the same old formula. As for Sasha O and hercrying, trembling and peeing of It is distinguished from a crowded genre by the mere fact that the set up is so prolonged. Okay white girls we get it: this is not "sex in the city" but and low budget Steel Magnolia's. If I wanted to go spelunking I would go for real. Claustraphobia anyone. Once the familiar looking ghouls arrive it is the same old formula. As for Sasha O and hercrying, trembling and peeing of her/his panties...nice try. I saw your name on Lion Gate's website. How much did you get paid??? Expand
  9. ScotM.
    Aug 4, 2006
    5
    The side story and so called "twist" are both lame and meaningless,as is the final scene. I've seen the same creatures on a much more enjoyable episode of the "X- Files", and people simply would not engage in dialog or act in the manner depicted if ever presented with this type of incredible situation. The movie is nothing like the seventies classic "Deliverance" which was mentioned The side story and so called "twist" are both lame and meaningless,as is the final scene. I've seen the same creatures on a much more enjoyable episode of the "X- Files", and people simply would not engage in dialog or act in the manner depicted if ever presented with this type of incredible situation. The movie is nothing like the seventies classic "Deliverance" which was mentioned somewhere in another review here, and I am amazed at the relatively high scores for this tiresome flick. Also the voice of one of the 6 actors is the scariest thing in the film, sharp enough to cut right thought you. All in all I've seen it many times before. Expand
  10. SuhnA.
    Aug 6, 2006
    4
    What a horrible movie. It was merely a bloodfest with no real plot and no outcome. There was no creation of fear. There were some mildly startling moments, but overall it was a yawn. The acting was horrible as well. Simply an unentertaining movie.
  11. NedA.
    Aug 7, 2006
    4
    To be quite honest, the only frightening moments of this movie were the constant jump-out shots featuring the rather unremarkably lumpy creatures; and even then, as the movie dragged on the constant attempts to make you jump became more than predictable. The gore was laughable at points, and generally unnecessary throughout the entire film. Also, much of the important suppositions in the To be quite honest, the only frightening moments of this movie were the constant jump-out shots featuring the rather unremarkably lumpy creatures; and even then, as the movie dragged on the constant attempts to make you jump became more than predictable. The gore was laughable at points, and generally unnecessary throughout the entire film. Also, much of the important suppositions in the plot completely dissolve once the slightest amount of thought is given to them. Expand
  12. PatrickB.
    Aug 7, 2006
    6
    I didn't think this film deserved the hype it received. It's a good film, just not as good as those it was compared to (Aliens? Please.) But if you like thrillers with attractive women, it might be up your alley.
  13. LynnO.
    Aug 7, 2006
    4
    How can people who get paid to review movies possibly think this will be a "classic"? Has the standard dropped that low? Just having something jump out of a dark corner does not constitute a horror classic. That's called cheap Hollywood theatrics. I give them some credi for having an interesting premise. Five years from now, no one will remember this "classic".
  14. Roquentin
    Aug 11, 2006
    5
    Nice cinematography and music, but the combination of dimly-lit scenes, muddy faces, and an excess of quick-cut editing made it difficult to follow the action or the characters. It's a lesser film without the original British ending, which adds depth and resonance. I was hardly bored in the film, and it's better than most horror offerings these days, but this film has been overhyped.
  15. RichE.
    Aug 16, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] For me, it's a mixed bag. I liked the closed, claustrophobic effect (personally, I hate being in that situation, but I liked seeing it on the screen). It added to the tension and horror of the film and helped set things up well. The movie did have it's shocking moments and handled that well. And, in general, I could understand the characters' motivations in [***SPOILERS***] For me, it's a mixed bag. I liked the closed, claustrophobic effect (personally, I hate being in that situation, but I liked seeing it on the screen). It added to the tension and horror of the film and helped set things up well. The movie did have it's shocking moments and handled that well. And, in general, I could understand the characters' motivations in their situation and how their attitude changes occurred. On the other side, I didn't get how the tragedy that occurred in the beginning applied to rest of the movie. Why couldn't the movie just have started with the women taking a trip to Appalacia to have an adventure caving? And more needed to be developed in the relationship between the two main characters, Sarah and Juno, to have the events of the latter part of the movie make more of an impact. And yes, the cave monsters are Gollum X 1000, which we've seen before. Expand
  16. Marilyn
    Aug 23, 2006
    5
    Although I am not castrophobic, I'm also not wild about caves so just having a bunch of women go into a largely unexplored cave was unnerving itself. The cave in & being lost was sufficient enough for a horror movie, but it did turn into one of the bloodiest movies I've ever seen. It quite scared me half to death and I was so glad to have it over.
  17. se
    Dec 27, 2006
    4
    After the 40th time something pops out at you, the movie starts to get a little redundant. characters unbelievable. plot stupid. waste of time.
  18. Mike
    Dec 31, 2006
    6
    Very watchable. and intresting. They go alittle overboard with the monsters. But overall, if you have nothing else to watch, it's ok.
  19. May 30, 2013
    5
    Positive: The Descent is scary!
    Negative: The Descent hasn't a good sophisticated story.
    This will entertain you but this wont haunt you for days or weeks like other movies!
  20. Jun 26, 2016
    5
    I guess this is what inspired Tomb Raider 2013. The story is pretty good, but the characters make stupid decision. The soundtrack has it's moments. The camera is a typical low FoV for horror movies which focuses on jump scares, just like this movie does.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    80
    Brutal, bloody, terrifying, astonishing... And so tense it'll leave you aching. The most significant Brit chiller since "28 Days Later."
  2. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    70
    The chills and spills keep comin' to agreeable effect in Brit-made scarefest The Descent.
  3. 70
    All in all, this is an accessible art house horror film whose trailer and premise do not do justice to the end result.