Lions Gate Films | Release Date: August 4, 2006
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 569 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
503
Mixed:
38
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
ZSJan 2, 2008
Eh, it wasn't bad at all. But it certainly wasn't all the critics made it out to be. Jumpy, sure (and it did this well...for the first hour or so...), but then it just devolves into one fight after another. And by the way...are Eh, it wasn't bad at all. But it certainly wasn't all the critics made it out to be. Jumpy, sure (and it did this well...for the first hour or so...), but then it just devolves into one fight after another. And by the way...are Sarah and Juno Cave Tai Kwon Do experts or something? The Gollum ass-kicking got old quickly. They can't even walk forward without scraping against something for the first hour, and then suddenly there are whole underground fighting chambers? I didn't buy that. Great performance from most of the cast (Juno was overacted), decent concept, yet another ambiguous is-she-or-isn't-she Hollywoodesque ending. I would have felt more fulfilled if that logging truck had just taken Sarah's head off right after she blew cookies. That would have been as merciless and grim as this was supposed to be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
brucethemooseFeb 2, 2011
It was a decently scary horror film, and It will scare the **** out of you if your claustrophobic and are watching it in a dark movie theater. In fact, it was really suspenseful until the middle of the movie, when the blood starts flying andIt was a decently scary horror film, and It will scare the **** out of you if your claustrophobic and are watching it in a dark movie theater. In fact, it was really suspenseful until the middle of the movie, when the blood starts flying and the amount of gore just becomes ridiculous. Falling into a giant pool of blood and organs? The bloody massacre of the creatures when the woman finds a weapon? At this point, all the blood is just silly, and it personally killed the movie for me. Aside from that and the ending, though, it wasn't bad. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
cabritaAug 9, 2012
The films technical qualities were unbelievable but seeing this film on dvd the technical qualities of the film did not add to any suspense. this may because i did not experience this film in theatres or there is no suspense present.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SquezeJul 24, 2014
The idea itself could be fine, but the movie is silly, not scary at all and even not as violent and brutal as many described.
Anyway my gf almost puked but just because she's very scared about blood; she gives a 6/10 instead.
So actually
The idea itself could be fine, but the movie is silly, not scary at all and even not as violent and brutal as many described.
Anyway my gf almost puked but just because she's very scared about blood; she gives a 6/10 instead.
So actually let's say 5.5/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
christopherJMay 16, 2008
It was OK, but you practically had to turn on the subtitles to hear what those girls were mumbling. I liked the fact that the victims could sort of fight back, but the girls didn't act in realistic ways about 50% of the time. I felt the It was OK, but you practically had to turn on the subtitles to hear what those girls were mumbling. I liked the fact that the victims could sort of fight back, but the girls didn't act in realistic ways about 50% of the time. I felt the disconnect again and again, so I tuned out parts of the film. So basically it wasn't super engrossing, and it was OK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
F.ValeronApr 16, 2006
There's no need to avoid this film if you have a heart problem or nervous disposition, only if you think films should actually be good. It's just a gang of weird, blind monsters chasing girls around a cave. Sort of like a night out There's no need to avoid this film if you have a heart problem or nervous disposition, only if you think films should actually be good. It's just a gang of weird, blind monsters chasing girls around a cave. Sort of like a night out in an English nightclub. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PaulK.Aug 3, 2006
I had high expectations after seeing the user rating on here, but I didn't think this was scary at all...granted there was one perfectly placed and unsuspecting scare, but that's it. Most parts of the plot were too far over the top I had high expectations after seeing the user rating on here, but I didn't think this was scary at all...granted there was one perfectly placed and unsuspecting scare, but that's it. Most parts of the plot were too far over the top and I kept getting confused between the characters since they look similar and half the time you couldn't see them. The last second of the movie is ridiculous. Oh, and the gore factor is relatively high, in case you were wondering...makes me curious about the original ending that was changed for audiences here in the states. Horror fans will see this in the theater, but everyone else should wait until video. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlLAug 4, 2006
It is distinguished from a crowded genre by the mere fact that the set up is so prolonged. Okay white girls we get it: this is not "sex in the city" but and low budget Steel Magnolia's. If I wanted to go spelunking I would go for real. It is distinguished from a crowded genre by the mere fact that the set up is so prolonged. Okay white girls we get it: this is not "sex in the city" but and low budget Steel Magnolia's. If I wanted to go spelunking I would go for real. Claustraphobia anyone. Once the familiar looking ghouls arrive it is the same old formula. As for Sasha O and hercrying, trembling and peeing of her/his panties...nice try. I saw your name on Lion Gate's website. How much did you get paid??? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ScotM.Aug 4, 2006
The side story and so called "twist" are both lame and meaningless,as is the final scene. I've seen the same creatures on a much more enjoyable episode of the "X- Files", and people simply would not engage in dialog or act in the manner The side story and so called "twist" are both lame and meaningless,as is the final scene. I've seen the same creatures on a much more enjoyable episode of the "X- Files", and people simply would not engage in dialog or act in the manner depicted if ever presented with this type of incredible situation. The movie is nothing like the seventies classic "Deliverance" which was mentioned somewhere in another review here, and I am amazed at the relatively high scores for this tiresome flick. Also the voice of one of the 6 actors is the scariest thing in the film, sharp enough to cut right thought you. All in all I've seen it many times before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SuhnA.Aug 6, 2006
What a horrible movie. It was merely a bloodfest with no real plot and no outcome. There was no creation of fear. There were some mildly startling moments, but overall it was a yawn. The acting was horrible as well. Simply an unentertaining movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NedA.Aug 7, 2006
To be quite honest, the only frightening moments of this movie were the constant jump-out shots featuring the rather unremarkably lumpy creatures; and even then, as the movie dragged on the constant attempts to make you jump became more than To be quite honest, the only frightening moments of this movie were the constant jump-out shots featuring the rather unremarkably lumpy creatures; and even then, as the movie dragged on the constant attempts to make you jump became more than predictable. The gore was laughable at points, and generally unnecessary throughout the entire film. Also, much of the important suppositions in the plot completely dissolve once the slightest amount of thought is given to them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatrickB.Aug 7, 2006
I didn't think this film deserved the hype it received. It's a good film, just not as good as those it was compared to (Aliens? Please.) But if you like thrillers with attractive women, it might be up your alley.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LynnO.Aug 7, 2006
How can people who get paid to review movies possibly think this will be a "classic"? Has the standard dropped that low? Just having something jump out of a dark corner does not constitute a horror classic. That's called cheap Hollywood How can people who get paid to review movies possibly think this will be a "classic"? Has the standard dropped that low? Just having something jump out of a dark corner does not constitute a horror classic. That's called cheap Hollywood theatrics. I give them some credi for having an interesting premise. Five years from now, no one will remember this "classic". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RoquentinAug 11, 2006
Nice cinematography and music, but the combination of dimly-lit scenes, muddy faces, and an excess of quick-cut editing made it difficult to follow the action or the characters. It's a lesser film without the original British ending, Nice cinematography and music, but the combination of dimly-lit scenes, muddy faces, and an excess of quick-cut editing made it difficult to follow the action or the characters. It's a lesser film without the original British ending, which adds depth and resonance. I was hardly bored in the film, and it's better than most horror offerings these days, but this film has been overhyped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RichE.Aug 16, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] For me, it's a mixed bag. I liked the closed, claustrophobic effect (personally, I hate being in that situation, but I liked seeing it on the screen). It added to the tension and horror of the film and helped set things [***SPOILERS***] For me, it's a mixed bag. I liked the closed, claustrophobic effect (personally, I hate being in that situation, but I liked seeing it on the screen). It added to the tension and horror of the film and helped set things up well. The movie did have it's shocking moments and handled that well. And, in general, I could understand the characters' motivations in their situation and how their attitude changes occurred. On the other side, I didn't get how the tragedy that occurred in the beginning applied to rest of the movie. Why couldn't the movie just have started with the women taking a trip to Appalacia to have an adventure caving? And more needed to be developed in the relationship between the two main characters, Sarah and Juno, to have the events of the latter part of the movie make more of an impact. And yes, the cave monsters are Gollum X 1000, which we've seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarilynAug 23, 2006
Although I am not castrophobic, I'm also not wild about caves so just having a bunch of women go into a largely unexplored cave was unnerving itself. The cave in & being lost was sufficient enough for a horror movie, but it did turn Although I am not castrophobic, I'm also not wild about caves so just having a bunch of women go into a largely unexplored cave was unnerving itself. The cave in & being lost was sufficient enough for a horror movie, but it did turn into one of the bloodiest movies I've ever seen. It quite scared me half to death and I was so glad to have it over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
seDec 27, 2006
After the 40th time something pops out at you, the movie starts to get a little redundant. characters unbelievable. plot stupid. waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeDec 31, 2006
Very watchable. and intresting. They go alittle overboard with the monsters. But overall, if you have nothing else to watch, it's ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JacobparkerMay 30, 2013
Positive: The Descent is scary!
Negative: The Descent hasn't a good sophisticated story.
This will entertain you but this wont haunt you for days or weeks like other movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FireOccatorJun 26, 2016
I guess this is what inspired Tomb Raider 2013. The story is pretty good, but the characters make stupid decision. The soundtrack has it's moments. The camera is a typical low FoV for horror movies which focuses on jump scares, just like thisI guess this is what inspired Tomb Raider 2013. The story is pretty good, but the characters make stupid decision. The soundtrack has it's moments. The camera is a typical low FoV for horror movies which focuses on jump scares, just like this movie does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews