Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jan 6, 2012
    58
    While this religio-horror effort does contain some nice scares, and a memorably unnerving turn from Crowley, The Devil Inside's biggest shock arrives when it abruptly ends - just as it hits its stride. The result is a found-footage movie whose third act remains missing.
  2. 50
    All hell breaks loose and it's a heck of a lot of fun to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 6, 2012
    50
    Despite the palpable air of deja vu that hangs over it like a light fog, The Devil Inside generates a fair amount of suspense during sizable swaths of its familiar but serviceable exorcism-centric scenario.
  4. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Mar 12, 2012
    40
    Even with The Exorcist in the world, there is still scope for a contemporary, shocking and thrilling film to be made on the subject of possession. But this is not it: some found footage should really just stay lost.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Jan 6, 2012
    40
    Whatever possessed Bell & Co. to turn a slow-burning creepfest into a frenzied freak show of multiple exorcisms (including one in a moving car), the devil only knows.
  6. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jan 6, 2012
    40
    The reality of The Devil Inside is that it's a half-hearted patchwork of ideas blatantly lifted from better films, with characters who have to act increasingly foolish in order to allow the action to go forward and an ending so anticlimactic and abrupt that the audience at the screening I attended erupted in enraged boos as the credits rolled.
  7. 40
    The mother/daughter drama should have played a bigger part in this film as the 87-minute runtime passes quickly and leaves us feeling utterly short-changed.
  8. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Jan 6, 2012
    38
    The film's contradictory and nullifying dilemma of wanting to be both scripted and vérité at once, a plight that affects so much contemporary TV, is temporarily quelled in heated scenes of curse-laden levitation and Linda Blair contortion, which dutifully deliver the scares.
  9. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Jan 11, 2012
    30
    Almost competent but not quite watchable.
  10. 30
    It has been a long time since I've heard people - many people - distinctly yell, "Boo!" Usually they just growl or moan or hiss. They don't bother actually to articulate the word "Boo!" I second their statement. The ending reeks.
  11. 30
    Never gets off the ground, trotting out the same predictable twisting heads and psycho-babble without a whiff of originality or discernible visual flair. As a result, the would-be thriller proves as scary and unsettling as a slab of devil's food cake - only considerably less satisfying.
  12. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jan 6, 2012
    25
    It's a pestilence of infectious claptrap.
  13. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jan 6, 2012
    25
    The Devil Inside joins a long, woozy-camera parade of found-footage scare pictures, among them "The Blair Witch Project," the "Paranormal Activity" films and certain wedding videos that won't go away.
  14. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 6, 2012
    20
    The Devil Inside plays like a horror film conceived on graph paper.
  15. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jan 6, 2012
    20
    The scariest thing about The Devil Inside is that a major studio like Paramount Pictures, which is distributing it, may be able to squeeze more profit out of a tedious, tediously exhausted subgenre that was already creatively tapped out when "The Blair Witch Project" spooked audiences more than a decade ago.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jan 13, 2012
    0
    The Devil Inside manages not only to scrape the barrel's bottom but to drill a hole in said bottom and funnel deeper into the scum.
  17. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 11, 2012
    0
    The Devil Inside offers proof, if any were needed, that demons run rampant in Hollywood, possessing otherwise intelligent and creative people to make absolutely shitty "gotcha!" mockumonstrosities like this one.
  18. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jan 7, 2012
    0
    No one onscreen was actor enough to make us believe we were watching actual people commit or require actual exorcisms.
  19. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jan 6, 2012
    0
    The hilariously convoluted thriller contains all the elements for a wacky parody of exorcism movies, except a sense of humor about itself: The Devil Inside never acknowledges its innate ridiculousness, so the laughs are unintentional.
User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 58
  2. Negative: 43 out of 58
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    0
    I am a great movie critic. Always rating movies lower than the average user, I usually give respect to a movie by giving it a 1. But this, no! I can't call this a movie. It's not a horror movie. It is a piece compiled of a stupid story line and horrible acting. It ties with House of the Dead for one of the worst movies ever. And what about the ending? OH WAIT, THERE IS NO ENDING! Full Review »
  2. JTD
    Jan 7, 2012
    0
    Worst movie I have ever seen. You could not pay me enough money to sit there and watch it again.

    Take Paranormal Activity, get rid of all the
    suspense and jumpy parts, add in a little commentary to give it the documentary feel and you have this movie in a nutshell. This is my first review on anything, ever. That is how bad this movie was. Full Review »
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    4
    I should've known that when this movie was promoted by the Jersey Shore cast and that they called it "good", hat it would be actually crap. I had good hope for this movie, but right from the start it took time for it to get into its "groove". Some parts were indeed scary, I'll admit that much. However, being so damn similar to other movies like Paranormal Activity(which was done on purpose) it just doesn't have the same effect. The movie even opens so questions that you expect to be answered, only to be disappointed that they are barely covered before the end. Oh and the ending, it was too predictable. Fancy in its own way, but pretty much the same crap from recent horror films. The people in the room were pissed, and so was I that I spent hard earned money on a spin-off of Paranormal Activity. It's not a horrible movie, but barely worth going to the movies for, I reccomend renting it instead when it comes out on Bluray or DVD. --------Wanna go watch a good horror exorcism movie? Go watch the Rite. Full Review »