Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 6, 2012
2.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 146 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
21
Negative:
106
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Kamal_VoltaicDec 24, 2012
I am quite biased with horror movies since it's the only genre I like, but yeah, this generally was a good movie that stays with you a long time after you've watched it. I find myself saying "Connect the Cuts" months after I watched the movieI am quite biased with horror movies since it's the only genre I like, but yeah, this generally was a good movie that stays with you a long time after you've watched it. I find myself saying "Connect the Cuts" months after I watched the movie - that line was genius. Some scenes were quite disturbing, which is great. The acting was alright as well. But the ending wasn't very good at all, which is why I'll give it an 8. ...Connect the Cuts. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
scoleyMar 17, 2012
After reading all the reviews i thought this would be a really bad movie but i really enjoyed it,For all the people who said there was no ending what did you think would happen that it would all be tied up in a nice little bow i don't thinkAfter reading all the reviews i thought this would be a really bad movie but i really enjoyed it,For all the people who said there was no ending what did you think would happen that it would all be tied up in a nice little bow i don't think evil is killed that easy and is always around so what ending did you want. My view is its worth a watch. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
SeanMcGunnigleMar 5, 2012
Best scary movie out there since Insidious! It does a good job of making you believe these characters are real and they are possessed by some kind of devil. The ending is good as well despite what others may have you believe. Packed with aBest scary movie out there since Insidious! It does a good job of making you believe these characters are real and they are possessed by some kind of devil. The ending is good as well despite what others may have you believe. Packed with a ton of scary moments and makes you think that exorcism could actually be real, even though its not. Has more true scary moments(not false ones where a cat jumped down from a table or crap like that) than the woman in black, innkeepers, and paranormal 3 combined. Even the main girl in the movie is decent to look at Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
7
PopeDizzleFeb 9, 2012
If you enjoy Paranormal Activity then you should enjoy this movie. Takes an interesting twist on exorcism movies and plays out as a documentary. Although as other reviews have said it ends abruptly. I give it a solid 7 out of 10. Its hard toIf you enjoy Paranormal Activity then you should enjoy this movie. Takes an interesting twist on exorcism movies and plays out as a documentary. Although as other reviews have said it ends abruptly. I give it a solid 7 out of 10. Its hard to find a movie with a satisfying ending anymore keep that in mind. Looking forward to part 2 (because you know there will be one). Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
psychdoctorJan 6, 2012
Just Ignore the negative reviews. They are probably the same individuals that give Alvin and the Chipmunks 3 1/2 stars and give this movie a zero. I am a horror fan. I am generally not scared at movies these days. Movies like the typicalJust Ignore the negative reviews. They are probably the same individuals that give Alvin and the Chipmunks 3 1/2 stars and give this movie a zero. I am a horror fan. I am generally not scared at movies these days. Movies like the typical Halloween slashing genre do nothing for me. My rating of The Devil Inside is based on similar genre of devil or exorcists movies. With the classic The Exorcists being the golden bar of devil movies, I have seen most every other exorcist related movies. I would put this movie (Devil Inside) at number 2 behind "the Exorcist." It is better than the Last Exorcism, much better than are the sequels (Prequels) to the Exorcist, better than Exorcisim of Emily Rose, and most recently The Rite. The movie stars slow and feeds the viewer in morsels until the awesome climax toward the end. The characters are likable with the exception of the camera guy. Good acting performance from all. There were several scenes that made me squirm in my seat. Many disturbing scenes. This is the type of movie where you will be glad to live with someone you trust and not alone. It is one of those movies that will stay with you. My guess is the negative reviews are from some people who are anti-Judeo Christian or anti-Catholicism. There is no way this movie is less than 7/10. I liked the ending as it was unexpected and different. This movie was better than expected and I recommend it be seen in the theatres. Go see it if you like this type of genre. Expand
5 of 26 users found this helpful521
All this user's reviews
7
joaolucascritFeb 10, 2012
I watched the movie and liked, the movie is good, but lacked more terror for a movie exorcism. I must confess that I took fright at some moments, however, anyway, the movie didn't convince me much! a 7 is enough.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mflyu2Mar 12, 2012
Up there with REC. I've seen quite a few exorcism movies. This is one of my favorites. I have no idea why it gets such a terrible review from critics while terrible movies like Dead Girl get a 65. That was trash.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
AKHMar 18, 2012
I cannot explain all the negative reviews that this movie is getting. I went to see it out of curiosity due to the fact that I have an interest in the subject matter. It is supposed to be a faux documentary, and as such does a very good jobI cannot explain all the negative reviews that this movie is getting. I went to see it out of curiosity due to the fact that I have an interest in the subject matter. It is supposed to be a faux documentary, and as such does a very good job of grounding itself in reality. There are some very disturbing scenes in the movie, which are done extremely well considering the budget constraints. As for the ending, I thought it made perfect sense given the type of movie this is. Do not be swayed by the high number of bad comments, this is definitely worth a watch. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
smokesouljah420Sep 14, 2012
Don't know why all the negative reviews, this movie is scary and these type of things usually don't scare me cuz They are not Real, the best horror movie of the year, the doc portions seem real, not fake and stupid like paranomal 1 and 2 orDon't know why all the negative reviews, this movie is scary and these type of things usually don't scare me cuz They are not Real, the best horror movie of the year, the doc portions seem real, not fake and stupid like paranomal 1 and 2 or blair witch, this is nothing like that, worth giving a shot, i say 8 out of ten but because people being ignorant, i say 10 out of 10 Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
OzyDec 16, 2014
I was simply flicking thru channels and came across this movie. I got real scared watching it - especially the mental hospital scene. I don't know how the movie was advertised and what people expected from it. I had no idea the movie existedI was simply flicking thru channels and came across this movie. I got real scared watching it - especially the mental hospital scene. I don't know how the movie was advertised and what people expected from it. I had no idea the movie existed until i watched it - i really had no issues with it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews