Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In 1989, emergency responders received a 9-1-1 call from Maria Rossi confessing that she had brutally killed three people. 20 years later, her daughter Isabella seeks to understand the truth about what happened that night. She travels to the Centrino Hospital for the Criminally Insane inIn 1989, emergency responders received a 9-1-1 call from Maria Rossi confessing that she had brutally killed three people. 20 years later, her daughter Isabella seeks to understand the truth about what happened that night. She travels to the Centrino Hospital for the Criminally Insane in Italy where her mother has been locked away to determine if her mother is mentally ill or demonically possessed. When she recruits two young exorcists to cure her mom using unconventional methods combining both science and religion, they come face-to-face with pure evil in the form of four powerful demons possessing Maria. Many have been possessed by one; only one has been possessed by many. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jan 6, 2012
    58
    While this religio-horror effort does contain some nice scares, and a memorably unnerving turn from Crowley, The Devil Inside's biggest shock arrives when it abruptly ends - just as it hits its stride. The result is a found-footage movie whose third act remains missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 6, 2012
    50
    Despite the palpable air of deja vu that hangs over it like a light fog, The Devil Inside generates a fair amount of suspense during sizable swaths of its familiar but serviceable exorcism-centric scenario.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Jan 6, 2012
    40
    Whatever possessed Bell & Co. to turn a slow-burning creepfest into a frenzied freak show of multiple exorcisms (including one in a moving car), the devil only knows.
  4. 30
    It has been a long time since I've heard people - many people - distinctly yell, "Boo!" Usually they just growl or moan or hiss. They don't bother actually to articulate the word "Boo!" I second their statement. The ending reeks.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jan 6, 2012
    25
    It's a pestilence of infectious claptrap.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 6, 2012
    20
    The Devil Inside plays like a horror film conceived on graph paper.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jan 6, 2012
    0
    The hilariously convoluted thriller contains all the elements for a wacky parody of exorcism movies, except a sense of humor about itself: The Devil Inside never acknowledges its innate ridiculousness, so the laughs are unintentional.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 60
  2. Negative: 44 out of 60
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Just Ignore the negative reviews. They are probably the same individuals that give Alvin and the Chipmunks 3 1/2 stars and give this movie aJust Ignore the negative reviews. They are probably the same individuals that give Alvin and the Chipmunks 3 1/2 stars and give this movie a zero. I am a horror fan. I am generally not scared at movies these days. Movies like the typical Halloween slashing genre do nothing for me. My rating of The Devil Inside is based on similar genre of devil or exorcists movies. With the classic The Exorcists being the golden bar of devil movies, I have seen most every other exorcist related movies. I would put this movie (Devil Inside) at number 2 behind "the Exorcist." It is better than the Last Exorcism, much better than are the sequels (Prequels) to the Exorcist, better than Exorcisim of Emily Rose, and most recently The Rite. The movie stars slow and feeds the viewer in morsels until the awesome climax toward the end. The characters are likable with the exception of the camera guy. Good acting performance from all. There were several scenes that made me squirm in my seat. Many disturbing scenes. This is the type of movie where you will be glad to live with someone you trust and not alone. It is one of those movies that will stay with you. My guess is the negative reviews are from some people who are anti-Judeo Christian or anti-Catholicism. There is no way this movie is less than 7/10. I liked the ending as it was unexpected and different. This movie was better than expected and I recommend it be seen in the theatres. Go see it if you like this type of genre. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    If you enjoy Paranormal Activity then you should enjoy this movie. Takes an interesting twist on exorcism movies and plays out as aIf you enjoy Paranormal Activity then you should enjoy this movie. Takes an interesting twist on exorcism movies and plays out as a documentary. Although as other reviews have said it ends abruptly. I give it a solid 7 out of 10. Its hard to find a movie with a satisfying ending anymore keep that in mind. Looking forward to part 2 (because you know there will be one). Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    4
    I should've known that when this movie was promoted by the Jersey Shore cast and that they called it "good", hat it would be actually crap. II should've known that when this movie was promoted by the Jersey Shore cast and that they called it "good", hat it would be actually crap. I had good hope for this movie, but right from the start it took time for it to get into its "groove". Some parts were indeed scary, I'll admit that much. However, being so damn similar to other movies like Paranormal Activity(which was done on purpose) it just doesn't have the same effect. The movie even opens so questions that you expect to be answered, only to be disappointed that they are barely covered before the end. Oh and the ending, it was too predictable. Fancy in its own way, but pretty much the same crap from recent horror films. The people in the room were pissed, and so was I that I spent hard earned money on a spin-off of Paranormal Activity. It's not a horrible movie, but barely worth going to the movies for, I reccomend renting it instead when it comes out on Bluray or DVD. --------Wanna go watch a good horror exorcism movie? Go watch the Rite. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2012
    1
    The trailer for this film is very misleading. The Devil Inside is far from a horror film with the 87 minutes playing out more like a strangeThe trailer for this film is very misleading. The Devil Inside is far from a horror film with the 87 minutes playing out more like a strange documentary than anything else. Everything from the acting to the "Blair Witch" style directing makes this movie hard to watch and ultimately a complete bore. Attempting to piggy back off the success of other recent horror flicks, The Devil Inside instead becomes easily forgettable. By the end, you will disappointed. Members of the theater will either remain silent or verbally ask "Is that all?" when the film ends. At least that was my experience. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    Let's see...all you need to make this movie is a HD camera, a couple of girls who don't mind acting like they are possessed, and a 12 year oldLet's see...all you need to make this movie is a HD camera, a couple of girls who don't mind acting like they are possessed, and a 12 year old or younger script writer. Pretty much like a 500 dollar budget. Everything about this movie was bad. They spent too much time talking about exorcisms, without actually really getting into detail about them. Too boring for most of the movie. Then when stuff happens it's very mediocre. The dialogue is a joke. The ending is so stupid and rushed and leaves you at that point like all the PA movies. AVOID THIS MOVIE!!!! You may like PA and think this will be just as good.....IT'S NOT!!!!!!!! Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    Worst terror film of the history. That's no sense, principally in the final, that's no time history, highlights, and the most important, it'sWorst terror film of the history. That's no sense, principally in the final, that's no time history, highlights, and the most important, it's not even a little scary. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    that movie was by far worst movie, if u can call it that, i have ever seen waste of time, please for the love of horror films do not go seethat movie was by far worst movie, if u can call it that, i have ever seen waste of time, please for the love of horror films do not go see that crap, the ending was so BAD every one in the theater booed at the end, everyone was extremely upset myself include, if your looking to be mad then you should watch this movie if not save your money Expand

See all 60 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.