Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In 1989, emergency responders received a 9-1-1 call from Maria Rossi confessing that she had brutally killed three people. 20 years later, her daughter Isabella seeks to understand the truth about what happened that night. She travels to the Centrino Hospital for the Criminally Insane in Italy where her mother has been locked away to determine if her mother is mentally ill or demonically possessed. When she recruits two young exorcists to cure her mom using unconventional methods combining both science and religion, they come face-to-face with pure evil in the form of four powerful demons possessing Maria. Many have been possessed by one; only one has been possessed by many. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Jan 6, 2012
    58
    While this religio-horror effort does contain some nice scares, and a memorably unnerving turn from Crowley, The Devil Inside's biggest shock arrives when it abruptly ends - just as it hits its stride. The result is a found-footage movie whose third act remains missing.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 6, 2012
    50
    Despite the palpable air of deja vu that hangs over it like a light fog, The Devil Inside generates a fair amount of suspense during sizable swaths of its familiar but serviceable exorcism-centric scenario.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Jan 6, 2012
    40
    Whatever possessed Bell & Co. to turn a slow-burning creepfest into a frenzied freak show of multiple exorcisms (including one in a moving car), the devil only knows.
  4. 30
    It has been a long time since I've heard people - many people - distinctly yell, "Boo!" Usually they just growl or moan or hiss. They don't bother actually to articulate the word "Boo!" I second their statement. The ending reeks.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Jan 6, 2012
    25
    It's a pestilence of infectious claptrap.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 6, 2012
    20
    The Devil Inside plays like a horror film conceived on graph paper.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Jan 6, 2012
    0
    The hilariously convoluted thriller contains all the elements for a wacky parody of exorcism movies, except a sense of humor about itself: The Devil Inside never acknowledges its innate ridiculousness, so the laughs are unintentional.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 57
  2. Negative: 42 out of 57
  1. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Just Ignore the negative reviews. They are probably the same individuals that give Alvin and the Chipmunks 3 1/2 stars and give this movie a zero. I am a horror fan. I am generally not scared at movies these days. Movies like the typical Halloween slashing genre do nothing for me. My rating of The Devil Inside is based on similar genre of devil or exorcists movies. With the classic The Exorcists being the golden bar of devil movies, I have seen most every other exorcist related movies. I would put this movie (Devil Inside) at number 2 behind "the Exorcist." It is better than the Last Exorcism, much better than are the sequels (Prequels) to the Exorcist, better than Exorcisim of Emily Rose, and most recently The Rite. The movie stars slow and feeds the viewer in morsels until the awesome climax toward the end. The characters are likable with the exception of the camera guy. Good acting performance from all. There were several scenes that made me squirm in my seat. Many disturbing scenes. This is the type of movie where you will be glad to live with someone you trust and not alone. It is one of those movies that will stay with you. My guess is the negative reviews are from some people who are anti-Judeo Christian or anti-Catholicism. There is no way this movie is less than 7/10. I liked the ending as it was unexpected and different. This movie was better than expected and I recommend it be seen in the theatres. Go see it if you like this type of genre. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    If you enjoy Paranormal Activity then you should enjoy this movie. Takes an interesting twist on exorcism movies and plays out as a documentary. Although as other reviews have said it ends abruptly. I give it a solid 7 out of 10. Its hard to find a movie with a satisfying ending anymore keep that in mind. Looking forward to part 2 (because you know there will be one). Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2012
    4
    I didn't go into the theatre expecting much from this movie. Besides the fact that you're hard pressed to find a good horror movie nowadays, I also can tell that the same format of "found footage" and adding info about the Vatican not condoning filming in the church has been done to death ever since the hit of Paranormal Activity - which I find to be great. However, the trailer of 'The Devil Inside' was definitely creepy so I was hoping for an entire movie of scares while setting aside the predicted corniness and thin story line. With this movie, though, if you've seen the trailer then you've seen the only exciting and scary parts in the whole thing. Seriously. Because of its documentary-style format there was a lot of downtime between exorcist scenes and so the viewer hopes for some scares after watching people you don't like doing Jersey Shore style confessionals that are ultimately cheesy and, frankly, hilarious. I'm a huge movie buff in general so I don't mind downtime in movies and I don't have to be entertained the entire time to keep my attention. But 'The Devil Inside' rarely kept my attention as I found myself mouthing the words I had heard over and over in the trailers. Then there's the ending. I understand their reasoning for having it end abruptly because it's an attempt to convince the viewers that they never got to finish the "documentary" because other circumstances got in the way. That being said, it was too abrupt as I was expecting some big finale that they seemed to be working up to that might've saved it a little more. But nothing really came in and saved the movie. Not even the turn of events that happen to the main four characters towards the end could save it. The reason that I gave it a four as opposed to a one or two was because had I not seen the trailers then I would've found it scary. So my advice would be to skip the theatre and wait to rent it when it comes out on DVD. Watch it with someone unfamiliar with the movie and see their reactions - cause thanks to the extended advertising the movie ends up being a waste of time. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2012
    1
    The trailer for this film is very misleading. The Devil Inside is far from a horror film with the 87 minutes playing out more like a strange documentary than anything else. Everything from the acting to the "Blair Witch" style directing makes this movie hard to watch and ultimately a complete bore. Attempting to piggy back off the success of other recent horror flicks, The Devil Inside instead becomes easily forgettable. By the end, you will disappointed. Members of the theater will either remain silent or verbally ask "Is that all?" when the film ends. At least that was my experience. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    I signed up for this site simply to give the pile of fetid dingo's kidneys a zero. At 87 minutes the movie just ends with no resolution of any of the threads. There are numerous other problems with this thing including the shaky faux documentary camera that gave me a headache. I have never felt so robbed by going to a movie. I hope the people responsible for the abomination get cancer for Christmas. Save your loved ones and warn them to stay far away! Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    0
    My expectations for this film, when I went to see him, they were not very high, but, despite this, there was very bad. I thought that at least he could entertain the audience with a little scare some small but instead ... I got bored. Despite lasted an hour and a quarter was really long. For the first half an hour it did not happen anything (and for a short film that is serious), then when it began the second half with the possessed did not do anything to fear. And then when the actors were very woody, especially in fake documentaries, must be good and make you partaker of their emotions. The only actress that I think you save is one that has played Maria Rossi. Then the ending was the worst blow of all! I never expected such a thing. This meant that they had more ideas towards the end and this thing has angered me and many of those who were in the room. The film, as I said before, it lasted an hour and a quarter and the second one could put scenes that spoke of the main characters or even a few scenes that made fear or anxiety ... time there. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    that movie was by far worst movie, if u can call it that, i have ever seen waste of time, please for the love of horror films do not go see that crap, the ending was so BAD every one in the theater booed at the end, everyone was extremely upset myself include, if your looking to be mad then you should watch this movie if not save your money Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.