User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 94
  2. Negative: 21 out of 94
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BigBob
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    This is a great movie. how many horror movies have actually had the ability to make you feel bad for the sick twisted degenerates at the end. I know the answer for me is 1, and its this movie. Plus for those that dont know, one of the whores that gets shot is the voice actor of Tommy Pickles from Rugrats... added bonus
  2. AnonymousMC
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    This movie seems to ride the middle line of personal tastes in movies. You will either love this movie or you will hate it. Obviously if your not into horror movies you will hate it. If you go into this movie expection a sequal to House of 1000 Corpses...you may also hate it. This is one of those films that you need to be ready for what you are going get. I had my expectations and I wasThis movie seems to ride the middle line of personal tastes in movies. You will either love this movie or you will hate it. Obviously if your not into horror movies you will hate it. If you go into this movie expection a sequal to House of 1000 Corpses...you may also hate it. This is one of those films that you need to be ready for what you are going get. I had my expectations and I was not let down in the least. This was a perfect departure from House. It managed to keep the 70's explotation feel and increase upon that effect with the visual filming techniques used and at the same time taking out the 'carnival' feel that House had. The dialogue isnt meant to win awards. When was the last time you heard a group of murderous rednecks really quoting some serious "Mark Twain Shit"? The dialogue, like the movie is meant to amuse / shock and entertain a select audiance. The soundtrack is pure genius and actaully got a Yankee like me into Southern Rock. I laughed my whole way through the movie...had a few times where I felt uneasy..and at the end...wished it wasnt over. A great film for me. Its up to you to decide if its for you. Expand
  3. groundfisher
    Oct 18, 2005
    4
    Saw this movie with my girlfriend, who was bored by it. Solid performances by all, excepting Sheri Moon, but one would expect solid performances since all the characters are one-dimensional. I thought that this was a poor movie of very little substance. The only people in the audience who seemed to enjoy it were teenage boys. This is light entertainment for fans of the genre. I'd Saw this movie with my girlfriend, who was bored by it. Solid performances by all, excepting Sheri Moon, but one would expect solid performances since all the characters are one-dimensional. I thought that this was a poor movie of very little substance. The only people in the audience who seemed to enjoy it were teenage boys. This is light entertainment for fans of the genre. I'd never watch it a second time. Expand
  4. S.M.
    Jul 23, 2005
    8
    What a heart warming tale.
  5. AryaM.
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    It was the best horror flick that ive seen in a long time its suspensful and pretty damn gory it was startling at times and always kept you guessing what was to happen next. I say the firefly family is the sickest and most entertaining family since Norman Bates with his mom in Phsyco and Leatherface with his family in the texas chainsaw massacre you have to appreciate this film.
  6. AaronW.
    Aug 8, 2005
    6
    The Devil's Rejects made for a very interesting watch. Everything a cult-horror fan would expect, from unabashed sadism to raunchy sex to side-slapping one-liners is included. Most of the acting was convincing, with the exception of Sheri Moon. As others have said, many people won't be able to stomach this movie. This won't be for the actual violence pictured (although The Devil's Rejects made for a very interesting watch. Everything a cult-horror fan would expect, from unabashed sadism to raunchy sex to side-slapping one-liners is included. Most of the acting was convincing, with the exception of Sheri Moon. As others have said, many people won't be able to stomach this movie. This won't be for the actual violence pictured (although there is plenty), but the mentality of the movie itself. The audience is throroughly encouraged to feel for a troop of ghastly psycho-killers. That said, the movie was successful in many ways. As stated before, most of the acting was quite convincing. Sid Haig (Capt. Spaulding) was particularly good. As well, Zombie managed to capture the feel of a late 70s B movie quite well. Everything from the 16mm film to the period music just feels right. The violent scenes do their job - that of making the audience feel queasy - to a certain extent. Now for the not-so-good stuff. I came into this movie expecting a gut-wrenching, mind-disturbing cringefest. Although there was plenty of cruelty and sadism, I still got the feeling whilst watching the film that much of the more explicit scenes had been trimmed down. I heard a rumour that Zombie was forced to cut out a few of the more pervasive scenes in order to achieve an R rating. Sadly, this additional editing seems to reverberate throughout the movie. I came in expecting to see the most brutal, shocking peice of film I had ever witnessed, but left being somewhat unimpressed with the level of gore shown. Don't get me wrong, there is violence a'plenty, but I didn't see anything more visually shocking than some of the scenes in 'The Cell' or 'Saw', for example. Perhaps I shoudln't have expected so much - maybe Zombie intended for most of the horror to play on the fact that he so readily blurs the line between good and evil, that the heros are also the villans. Either way, I still felt somehting to be desired once the movie had ended. Overall, The Devil's Rejects proved to be a well made picture, but one that falls short of excellence thanks to a sprinkling of poor acting and a sense that it was still witholding something from moviegoers. I for one say bring on the Director's Cut! Expand
  7. CharlieN.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    I loved it in it's own sick and bloody way. But it's definetely not for everyone.
  8. NeuroticRampage
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    This movie is a mix of sadistic violence, disturbing images, shocking events, and hilarious dialogue; all while being shoved into the 70's, an era with no cell phones, or computers. This, with the devilishly designed characters will leave you satisfied in the end. The DVD is also packed with content on 2 separate discs. There is a good 3-5 hours of extras. Worth a buy? Hell yeah. This movie is a mix of sadistic violence, disturbing images, shocking events, and hilarious dialogue; all while being shoved into the 70's, an era with no cell phones, or computers. This, with the devilishly designed characters will leave you satisfied in the end. The DVD is also packed with content on 2 separate discs. There is a good 3-5 hours of extras. Worth a buy? Hell yeah. I'd recommned this movie if: - You have a dark sense of humor - Enjoyed House of 1000 corpses - Want to see a good film. Period. Expand
  9. MattL
    Jul 31, 2005
    1
    Absolutly the worst sequel ive ever seen. nothing but a cops and robbers flik. me and most of the people leaving the theatre where actually talking about how bad it was. (those who stayed for the whole movie anyway.)
  10. DonnaN.
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    Although, I know that some are discouraged by the graphic nature of the film, this should not take away from the fact that it is the best "horror" film in a very, very long time. It is destined to be a cult classic to exceed original films such as Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Night of the Living Dead, etc... The soundtrack is absolutely awesome as well.
  11. tomb.
    Aug 2, 2005
    2
    I'm going to start out by saying some good things about this movie...some very good things as a matter of a fact; Rob Zombie can direct. The performances of the actors in this sequel to House of 1,000 Corpses were just great. William Forsythe is an actor I normally can't stand (except perhaps in his comedic performance long ago in "Raising Arizona") yet Rob Zombie cast him I'm going to start out by saying some good things about this movie...some very good things as a matter of a fact; Rob Zombie can direct. The performances of the actors in this sequel to House of 1,000 Corpses were just great. William Forsythe is an actor I normally can't stand (except perhaps in his comedic performance long ago in "Raising Arizona") yet Rob Zombie cast him perfectly as a Texas vigilante and he made the most of it. All of the other actors turned in good performances as well and it was fun to see a lot of familiar faces which we may have forgotten about from 1980's sitcoms and moives turn up as well. The movie looked good and the hand picked Southern rock and country tunes blended so well with each scene that it was as though they were written specifically for the movie. So what this all adds up to is that, as I said, Rob Zombie can direct and he is damn good at putting all of the elements of a movie together and getting the most mileage out of his actors. Only one problem; Rob isn't anywhere near as good of a screenwriter as he is a songwriter. While House of 1,000 Corpses may have been dismissed by some as nothing more than a gore-fest I felt that it had a mysterious and intriguing storyline and was an incredibly creative film which poked fun at the horror movies of the '70's while at the same time topping them. Plus, unlike most "horror" movies it really did "horrify" me. The Devil's Rejects, by contrast, is simply a pointless blood fest. One filled with as many crude sexual innuendos and excuses for depictions of torure as Rob could dream up and fit into a hundred minutes. How this movie avoided an NC-17 rating is beyond me; Aside from actual penetration this movie had everything that one could label "pornogrpahic" and then some; Nudity, rape, mutilation, torture, blood, guts and depictions of pointless human anguish at the hands of the film's "anti heroes" filled the entire movie without ever giving us a reason as to why any of it was going on, why we should root for any of the characters or why, for that matter, we would want to pay 8 bucks to sit through any of it. There were a few characters and situations that seemed as though they may lead somewhere interesting but then were discarded in favor of more blood and violence. Even worse, the rich characters of Captain Spaulding (Sid Haig), Otis Firefly (Bill Moseley) and Baby Firely (Sheri Moon, Rob's wife) were completely wasted on this film. If you want to see a disturbing and horrifying movie that is actually worth appreciating go rent House of 1,000 Corpses. Skip the "Devil's Rejects". Personally I am hoping that Rob makes another film only this time he gets a real screewriter and a decent story. Or better yet, maybe he should go back to making great rock albums? Expand
  12. JohnW.
    Aug 5, 2005
    8
    This film does exactly what it sets out to do and you can't take your eyes off of it while it's doing it.
  13. MarkB.
    Aug 9, 2005
    7
    Judging from the audience response this received in the multiplex Cracker Jack box I saw this in, the devil wasn't the ONLY one who rejected the pathologically sadistic (but undeniably if weirdly entertaining) Firefly family. My showing had such a heavy walkout rate that you'd think that the folks who stayed to see the whole thing consisted mostly of the cowpokes from Blazing Judging from the audience response this received in the multiplex Cracker Jack box I saw this in, the devil wasn't the ONLY one who rejected the pathologically sadistic (but undeniably if weirdly entertaining) Firefly family. My showing had such a heavy walkout rate that you'd think that the folks who stayed to see the whole thing consisted mostly of the cowpokes from Blazing Saddles settling down to a post-bean-banquet movie! Clearly, Rob Zombie's tribute to The Texas Chain Saw Massacre, The Hills Have Eyes and many lesser lights in the 1970s psycho-hillbilly drive-in grunge genre isn't for everybody (which a look at both the poster and a cursory knowledge of the writer-director's OTHER career should indicate; I can only assume that some of the viewers who didn't make it through took a left instead of a right down the hallway thinking they'd wandered into Must Love Dogs). I admittedly don't have as much of a taste or stomach for extreme gore as I used to--I waited forever to see Once Upon A Time In Mexico because I'd heard about the eye-gouging and didn't check out last year's Saw until it hit DVD--but I actually and surprisingly found this rather easy to sit through. It's nasty, hard-core stuff, to be sure, but so witty, confidently filmed, and--like Zombie's freshman effort House of 1,000 Corpses--drenched in genuine affection (among other things it's drenched in) for a type of moviemaking Zombie clearly and obviously loves that I was able to put a lot of barriers behind me and rank it second only to Robert Rodriguez' Sin City as 2005's definitive style-over-substance exercise. There's real intelligence at work here, too: how many horror movies have YOU seen in your lifetime that featured a supercilious film-critic type running down the highs and lows of both Groucho Marx's and Otto Preminger's movie careers? It's also hard not to like a movie that sets some sort of modern record for rounding up so many "whatever-happened-to" performers: Zombie gives meaty roles and juicy exposure not only to Filipino-women's-prison-movie superstar Sid Haig (as evil clown Captain Spaulding) but to Warhol/Corman fave Mary Woronov, Police Academy femme formidable Leslie Easterbrook, The Warriors' leading lady (and Ted Knight's very attractive but less flashy daughter on his sitcom Too Close For Comfort) Deborah van Valkenburgh--and, best of all, the delightful P. J. Soles, whose indelible contributions to Carrie, the original Halloween, Rock and Roll High School and Stripes in the 1970s and early 80s should have, in a just world, made her a star. Zombie's "K-Tel Greatest Southern Fried Top 40 Hits" soundtrack is an additional plus, especially the definitive anthem of the genre as played over a surprisingly heartfelt, terrifically filmed and edited climax which will put you in mind of Bonnie and Clyde or Thelma and Louise or both of the above. All in all, Zombie made it easy for me to file this in the same ethical/emotional category as the Kill Bill flicks and Pulp Fiction: yes, I know that rape, torture, murder and evisceration are bad and I shouldn't do any of it, but for a couple hours I could enjoy and appreciate the artistry (yes, I said artistry) with which the filmmaker pulled it off. I can't argue too strongly with those who were seriously offended by the movie (and I'd be willing to bet that Leonard Maltin awards it a 'BOMB' in his 2007 Movie Guide)...but even they should be willing to admit that Zombie clearly has umpteen thousand times the cleverness, intelligence and style of genre predecessors Herschell Gordon Lewis, Ted V. Mikels and Al Adamson. Can we all at least agree on that? Expand
  14. RickF.
    Nov 10, 2006
    1
    Just a trashy, revolting movie. Not even worthy of note within the horror/suspense/gore genre. Simply exploits sado-masochistic sex combined with ultra violence. Suitable only for blood lusting perverts.
  15. DZ
    Dec 2, 2006
    8
    Rob Zombie
  16. GaborA.
    Jan 30, 2006
    0
    People caught in posession of kiddy porn are thrown into jail because the type of people that would watch such a thing are likely to enact the terrible crime. What about the type of people that enjoy movies like this, let alone make them? You seriously need to have some sort of mental illness to enjoy any aspect of this movie or has descensitizing gone this far? Its not that its violent, People caught in posession of kiddy porn are thrown into jail because the type of people that would watch such a thing are likely to enact the terrible crime. What about the type of people that enjoy movies like this, let alone make them? You seriously need to have some sort of mental illness to enjoy any aspect of this movie or has descensitizing gone this far? Its not that its violent, gory, and sexually twisted. Its that its all that for the sake of being so. There is absolutely no redeeming quality to this terrible movie. Any remote idea in the picture amist all the chaos is a rip off of other much better films. Strongly consider your right to existance if you thought this was a good movie. Expand
  17. NancyM.
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    Enjoyed..it got your attention..kept it and made me think what the hell happened..hoping to see more of Ron Zombie doing movies with his merry group of outlaws. Thank you for the best movie in a loong time.
  18. ToniaW.
    Jul 30, 2006
    9
    really liked house of 1000 corsps but the devils rejects was a genius the sound track was good choices. waiting to see patientley to see what else rob has in his mind.
  19. Riren
    Jan 27, 2007
    3
    Simply an awful, rambling exploitation movie that will serve as the next step up for a generation of horror fans who are so desensitized they can't appreciate anything older than Bruce Campbell one-liners. Mostly plotless, the scenes sprawl out and bask in screaming, torture and gore without so much as a flinch of character development for a twitch of sympathy. It is unafraid to Simply an awful, rambling exploitation movie that will serve as the next step up for a generation of horror fans who are so desensitized they can't appreciate anything older than Bruce Campbell one-liners. Mostly plotless, the scenes sprawl out and bask in screaming, torture and gore without so much as a flinch of character development for a twitch of sympathy. It is unafraid to offend, but stands up for nothing as it does so. At best, it's a feature-length whining scream. At worst, it's spineless gore. Expand
  20. Robin
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    A ride into hell so perverse, violent, horrible and depraved that you can't help but love it! Rob Zombie takes it past the point of all decency, and delivers pure entertainment. If you've ever enjoyed an exploitation movie, or sided with a vicious killer, this will be a joy ride. Also has a great soundtrack that sets the mood perfectly.
  21. MikeD.
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    Great movie! a must-see.
  22. BrianS.
    Dec 25, 2005
    8
    Every scene appears to have been story-boarded.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    An uncompromising piece of horror cinema, that not everyone will love. But I did!
  24. Billy
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    Amazing!!! even better than House of 1000 Corpses. horror fans must see this.
  25. TylerD.
    Jul 22, 2005
    7
    Hick, murdering, wastoids, running amock, beyond any restraint legal or otherwise, slaughtering innocents solely because they're in the wrong place at the wrong time, sexy bimbo nookied daughter, evil henchmen with no soul...Welcome to the Bush Whitehouse. And oh yeah, while your at it, check out The Devil Rejects!
  26. Stevemain
    Jul 23, 2005
    8
    Over all story was good not bad for a sequel.
  27. RobertC.
    Jul 23, 2005
    4
    THE DEVIL
  28. BrandonB.
    Jul 23, 2005
    0
    This movie was a big disappointment i know rob zombie can do better. it was a waste of my time and money. i highly suggest not goin to see this sh*tty movie.
  29. MattR.
    Jul 23, 2005
    9
    Seriously, this is a great movie. Walked into it not having seen House of 1,000 Corpses, left wishing I had three bucks to rent it. An amazingly great film that even someone who's never seen The Hill Have Eyes could appreciate.
  30. MichaelS.
    Jul 23, 2005
    2
    Wow. i love horror movies and even terrible horror movies, but this movie is ridicuosly awful. just the absolutely mindbongly bad dialog alone would make this movie impossible to give anything above a 4 in my opinion. then take into account the horribly forced comedy, the fact that there is no plot, the terrible pacing of the film, the relatively low amount of gore, the fact that it addsWow. i love horror movies and even terrible horror movies, but this movie is ridicuosly awful. just the absolutely mindbongly bad dialog alone would make this movie impossible to give anything above a 4 in my opinion. then take into account the horribly forced comedy, the fact that there is no plot, the terrible pacing of the film, the relatively low amount of gore, the fact that it adds absolutly nothing new to the genre, some infuriating camera work, its abusrd use of some classic music, and its all around uselessness and you have something that is worse then student film. i give it a 2 points for its gritty realism and some interesting cinemtography and gore, but i would strongly advice not paying full price for this and seeing it on dvd if you have to. Expand
  31. Tania
    Jul 24, 2005
    0
    I really enjoyed the "fun house" spirit that "house of 1,000 corpses captured. I walked out 15 minutes into "The Devils Rejects" (as did about 20% of the audience). No one needs to see this film. It is offensive.
  32. barryb.
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    First, it's brilliantly written. The dialogue alone should win an academy award. In a crazy way, it reminds me of "Rocky" because sly wrote and directed a great movie. Rob Zombie skillfully uses humour, suspense, shock and sadistic violence without selling out to the media. That is, no superheros, no commercial shots of coke or pepsi, no 'war of the worlds.' Instead, he First, it's brilliantly written. The dialogue alone should win an academy award. In a crazy way, it reminds me of "Rocky" because sly wrote and directed a great movie. Rob Zombie skillfully uses humour, suspense, shock and sadistic violence without selling out to the media. That is, no superheros, no commercial shots of coke or pepsi, no 'war of the worlds.' Instead, he sticks with reality, although skewed a bit, it's still a flick that reflects the good and bad of human behavior, the characters will stick to your neurons. In other words, It Rocks! Expand
  33. Breanna
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    This is my ultime favorite movie. Rob Zombie is such a genius. Also, Sheri Moon Zombie is amazing. Otis is my personal favorite. This is a great movie for anyone who likes twisted, sick, demented things. Anyone who thinks this movie is horrible obviously doesn't know what a good horror movie is then. I could watch this movie over and over. each time you notice more and different This is my ultime favorite movie. Rob Zombie is such a genius. Also, Sheri Moon Zombie is amazing. Otis is my personal favorite. This is a great movie for anyone who likes twisted, sick, demented things. Anyone who thinks this movie is horrible obviously doesn't know what a good horror movie is then. I could watch this movie over and over. each time you notice more and different things about it. I think everyone should give this movie a try. Either you love it or you hate it...I love it! Expand
  34. ChristineM
    Jan 21, 2009
    1
    No wonder Stephen King liked this - Devil´s rejects is garbage. "Mass murderers and serial killers are sooo cool!" Juvenile, ugly trash.
  35. JohnS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    This is a film for idiots. Never before has one movie so astutely singled out the lowest common denominator from its demographic. It isn't funny, it isn't clever, its badly structured and the direction is indescribably hamfisted. A film this pointless and stupid will be forgotten soon enough, and deservedly so. I'm a huge, HUGE fan of both the horror genre, and its mid This is a film for idiots. Never before has one movie so astutely singled out the lowest common denominator from its demographic. It isn't funny, it isn't clever, its badly structured and the direction is indescribably hamfisted. A film this pointless and stupid will be forgotten soon enough, and deservedly so. I'm a huge, HUGE fan of both the horror genre, and its mid 1970's heyday. But, and this is very important, the films of that period were made by disillusioned intellectuals. not meatheaded, petulant antagonists who haven't got a clue about the artistry of the cinematic medium. Where is the subtext? Where are the genuine shocks? Where is the invention? This film is utterly, inarguably appalling. Anyone that doesn't agree, I'd wager, has problems when attempting to spell their own name. Expand
  36. Pooch
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    I thought this was possibly one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. Everything that comes out of the demented mind of Rob Zombie is pure genious. It had everything a horror/action movie should have. Guns, murder, sick twisted scenes of rape and sex, and just straight out bloody rage. I can't say that this movie is the best horror flick I have ever seen, but it ranks high. I thought this was possibly one of the most amazing movies I have ever seen. Everything that comes out of the demented mind of Rob Zombie is pure genious. It had everything a horror/action movie should have. Guns, murder, sick twisted scenes of rape and sex, and just straight out bloody rage. I can't say that this movie is the best horror flick I have ever seen, but it ranks high. Zombie's other movie, House of 1,000 Corpses, was a good one too, but this one kept me on the edge of my seat unlike the predictable horror of it predecessor. Overall, I give it a 10. Go rent it, now. Expand
  37. QuincyN.
    Nov 29, 2005
    2
    Mrs. Zombie has no business in any movie, even this debacle of an action flick.
  38. ChadS.
    Jul 23, 2005
    7
    If nothing else, "The Devil's Rejects" makes the case for the sometimes maligned genre of southern rock as being music that's not exclusively the soundtrack for wistful rednecks who think it's time for a segregation renaissance. In Paul Haggis' "Crash", Laurenz Tate sings "I'm gonna lynch me some...," over a Hank Williams song, in what he believes is to be the If nothing else, "The Devil's Rejects" makes the case for the sometimes maligned genre of southern rock as being music that's not exclusively the soundtrack for wistful rednecks who think it's time for a segregation renaissance. In Paul Haggis' "Crash", Laurenz Tate sings "I'm gonna lynch me some...," over a Hank Williams song, in what he believes is to be the genre's ideology. I thought southern rock would've been a better fit because there is a Charlie Pride, but no black equivalent of (pick your favorite) Allman. Rob Zombie's hillbillies are, surprise, liberal. Captain Spaulding(Sid Haig) befriends a black pimp. Standards by Elvin Bishop and Lynryd Skyyrd help re-imagine a south in which being "country"(one of the hostages is ridiculed because he's too urban) is more important than being white. Sicko auteur Rob Zombie goes too far, but like Robert Rodriguez's "Sin City", the violence is taking place, clearly, in an artificial world. While the level of violence in "The Devil's Rejects" isn't exactly justifiable, it is appropriate for Zombie's goal to do what Rodriguez did with the film noir. To take a genre: here, it's the drive-in movie, and pump it full of steroids. Expand
  39. FredH.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    This movie was freaking awesome I enjoyed it very much. Its the best movie I've seen lately.
  40. robertd.
    Jul 27, 2005
    8
    It's offensive, sadistic and depraved. It's also one of the best horror/exploitation movies made in the last few years. It's not for everyone, but the right audiences will love this movie.
  41. JasonT.
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    I can't think of anything better than sex, drugs, murder and guns. whoever says this movie is less than perfect isn;t worth talking to.
  42. MuyBueno
    Jan 16, 2006
    7
    pros: pure horror fun; a humongeous leap from 'house of 100 corpses'; great blend of horror, actiaon, and boobs; excellent camera work
    cons: Iffy script, humor
    overview: A good, if not great, horror film. I expected it to be horrible because of '100 corpses' but this film really shutted my mouth up. Watch it...you'll enjoy it.
  43. AntwianF.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    A classic. funny and derogative. well done. Better that 1000 corpses.
  44. pm
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    If ground fisher is a "fan" of the horror genre, he's got the wrong idea...why over-analyze a movie, with your "one-dimensional" and "substance" bulls..., that was made for pure entertainment purposes in the first place. Look at the classics for god sakes, haha yeah, Bruce Campell is a great actor, his characters jump out of the fucking screan, he's so dimensional he's If ground fisher is a "fan" of the horror genre, he's got the wrong idea...why over-analyze a movie, with your "one-dimensional" and "substance" bulls..., that was made for pure entertainment purposes in the first place. Look at the classics for god sakes, haha yeah, Bruce Campell is a great actor, his characters jump out of the fucking screan, he's so dimensional he's 3-D, and wow, what substance, he's so deep and emotional. Expand
  45. Sep 1, 2010
    5
    Rob Zombie's follow-up to the House of 1000 Corpses.
    A lot more brutal than the first film & it seems they had a bigger budget as the gore is a lot better.
    Bill Moseley is superb, portraying the quite disturbingly sick Otis & Sheri Moon is a lot more convincing this time. A bit hit & miss overall but the soundtrack is very well used &, although the Freebird scene is a little cliche,
    Rob Zombie's follow-up to the House of 1000 Corpses.
    A lot more brutal than the first film & it seems they had a bigger budget as the gore is a lot better.
    Bill Moseley is superb, portraying the quite disturbingly sick Otis & Sheri Moon is a lot more convincing this time.
    A bit hit & miss overall but the soundtrack is very well used &, although the Freebird scene is a little cliche, thought it worked well.
    Expand
  46. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    This is a Good Sequal to House of 1000 Corpses and it is Sadistic and Terrifying the Tourtre in this film is something i would never want to go through and it just is a movie to be remembered for how Crazy and Evil it is
  47. Sep 4, 2011
    7
    Sadistic, sick, and cruel. Who cares people like this are everywhere. The Devil's Rejects is one of the best sequels ever. The characters are humorous and sadistic. You got a sheriff out to destroy the Firefly clan, which composes of Captain Spaulding (a vulgar clown), Otis B. Driftwood (a grumpy individual), Mother Firefly (the "sex appealing" mother), Tiny (a gigantic heart, also serialSadistic, sick, and cruel. Who cares people like this are everywhere. The Devil's Rejects is one of the best sequels ever. The characters are humorous and sadistic. You got a sheriff out to destroy the Firefly clan, which composes of Captain Spaulding (a vulgar clown), Otis B. Driftwood (a grumpy individual), Mother Firefly (the "sex appealing" mother), Tiny (a gigantic heart, also serial killer), Rufus (a protective family member) and of course Baby Firefly (a loud and sexy killer). This movie is entertaining and the soundtrack gives it a serious outlook and a grindhouse feel. Expand
  48. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    Zombie has done it again and gives us another solid horror film that is well worth watching. While its not as great as the first film, It does give the Firefly family a solid send off.
  49. Feb 3, 2013
    6
    No where near as good as the first film imo. Solid performances by the cast and it is interesting to watch. However, The ending completely sucked imo.
  50. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    Although the storyline might be good, The Devils Rejects was not the worst movie I've ever seen, nor the best, it seems the movie never catches our attention, the movie haves its moments but it seems Rob Zombie has Gotten full of **** that he thinks the movie is great. The movie proves that the director has potential but seemed to lack on the story a little. I give this movie a 5/10Although the storyline might be good, The Devils Rejects was not the worst movie I've ever seen, nor the best, it seems the movie never catches our attention, the movie haves its moments but it seems Rob Zombie has Gotten full of **** that he thinks the movie is great. The movie proves that the director has potential but seemed to lack on the story a little. I give this movie a 5/10 because its worth watching but needs a lot more going on in the film. Expand
  51. Dec 19, 2013
    6
    The film has a good direction, is charismatic, is well developed, has good characters, and at times has a huge personality, but the biggest problem here is that it only excites at the last 20 minutes.
  52. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    Robert Cummings, better known as Rob Zombie, isn't exactly a very good director. If you've seen "House of 1000 corpses" you've probably realized that this movie is extremely chaotically written and directed. There's no straight line or anything like that to be found in the movie. To be clear, this isn't exactly always a bad thing. But for some reason, in House of 1000 corpses it justRobert Cummings, better known as Rob Zombie, isn't exactly a very good director. If you've seen "House of 1000 corpses" you've probably realized that this movie is extremely chaotically written and directed. There's no straight line or anything like that to be found in the movie. To be clear, this isn't exactly always a bad thing. But for some reason, in House of 1000 corpses it just didn't work for me. In it's sequel, "The Devil's Rejects", you'll find something which feels way more like a movie that's actually finished. Rob Zombie has a twisted mind. I'm a fan of the guy's music so that made me wondering what kind of movies he would make. Well, kind of exactly what I expected. Pretty sick and twisted. Good. I love the cast in the first place, including his beautiful wife Cherri-moon Zombie, who practically plays in all his movies. You'll follow a psychotic, sick minded family on a road rampage, actually it's nothing more than that. Which is fine in this case. It's everything this movie needs. It starts off with some cops and a sheriff surrounding the house where the family is in which ends up in a massive shoot-out. From there on it's nothing more than a bloody and sick road trip. Don't expect a deep story line or outstanding dialogues. You will not enjoy this movie if you do that. If you expect a pretty mindless, blood packed rollercoaster ride with even some family drama, you'll probably love it. There even is a chance that, like me, you'll actually somehow gonna feel sorry for one of the most psychotic families in movie history. Hell yeah, Rob Zombie! Expand
  53. May 23, 2015
    8
    Wow this movie is strange and disturbing and, **** awesome. Rob Zombie deserves some credit for managing to make the most repulsive characters imaginable endearing, for theses scenes where you start at the edge of your seat, and then burst into hysterical laughter, and then feel very, very strange, and for making a murdering psychopath look just like Jesus.
  54. Apr 1, 2015
    4
    It's really just not very good, and it kind of drags. The characters are mostly unenjoyable, especially Baby, the young female Devil's Reject. Does have some intense scenes and some funny parts as well, if you have the sense of humor for it. The only part I truly enjoyed was the soundtrack.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Evil isn't this boring.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    If you can stomach the violence -- and despite the R rating, that's a big if -- it's hard to deny that Zombie has made exactly the movie he set out to make, guaranteed to satiate his considerable fan base and sicken just about everyone else.
  3. 30
    By rubbing your nose in this hillbilly mayhem, Zombie all but dares you to acknowledge your liberal elitism, simply because just now, in Dubya's America, you don't happen to find anything particularly funny or lovable about stupid, dangerous provincials.