The Devil's Rejects

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 98
  2. Negative: 22 out of 98

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MattL
    Jul 31, 2005
    1
    Absolutly the worst sequel ive ever seen. nothing but a cops and robbers flik. me and most of the people leaving the theatre where actually talking about how bad it was. (those who stayed for the whole movie anyway.)
  2. tomb.
    Aug 2, 2005
    2
    I'm going to start out by saying some good things about this movie...some very good things as a matter of a fact; Rob Zombie can direct. The performances of the actors in this sequel to House of 1,000 Corpses were just great. William Forsythe is an actor I normally can't stand (except perhaps in his comedic performance long ago in "Raising Arizona") yet Rob Zombie cast him I'm going to start out by saying some good things about this movie...some very good things as a matter of a fact; Rob Zombie can direct. The performances of the actors in this sequel to House of 1,000 Corpses were just great. William Forsythe is an actor I normally can't stand (except perhaps in his comedic performance long ago in "Raising Arizona") yet Rob Zombie cast him perfectly as a Texas vigilante and he made the most of it. All of the other actors turned in good performances as well and it was fun to see a lot of familiar faces which we may have forgotten about from 1980's sitcoms and moives turn up as well. The movie looked good and the hand picked Southern rock and country tunes blended so well with each scene that it was as though they were written specifically for the movie. So what this all adds up to is that, as I said, Rob Zombie can direct and he is damn good at putting all of the elements of a movie together and getting the most mileage out of his actors. Only one problem; Rob isn't anywhere near as good of a screenwriter as he is a songwriter. While House of 1,000 Corpses may have been dismissed by some as nothing more than a gore-fest I felt that it had a mysterious and intriguing storyline and was an incredibly creative film which poked fun at the horror movies of the '70's while at the same time topping them. Plus, unlike most "horror" movies it really did "horrify" me. The Devil's Rejects, by contrast, is simply a pointless blood fest. One filled with as many crude sexual innuendos and excuses for depictions of torure as Rob could dream up and fit into a hundred minutes. How this movie avoided an NC-17 rating is beyond me; Aside from actual penetration this movie had everything that one could label "pornogrpahic" and then some; Nudity, rape, mutilation, torture, blood, guts and depictions of pointless human anguish at the hands of the film's "anti heroes" filled the entire movie without ever giving us a reason as to why any of it was going on, why we should root for any of the characters or why, for that matter, we would want to pay 8 bucks to sit through any of it. There were a few characters and situations that seemed as though they may lead somewhere interesting but then were discarded in favor of more blood and violence. Even worse, the rich characters of Captain Spaulding (Sid Haig), Otis Firefly (Bill Moseley) and Baby Firely (Sheri Moon, Rob's wife) were completely wasted on this film. If you want to see a disturbing and horrifying movie that is actually worth appreciating go rent House of 1,000 Corpses. Skip the "Devil's Rejects". Personally I am hoping that Rob makes another film only this time he gets a real screewriter and a decent story. Or better yet, maybe he should go back to making great rock albums? Expand
  3. RickF.
    Nov 10, 2006
    1
    Just a trashy, revolting movie. Not even worthy of note within the horror/suspense/gore genre. Simply exploits sado-masochistic sex combined with ultra violence. Suitable only for blood lusting perverts.
  4. GaborA.
    Jan 30, 2006
    0
    People caught in posession of kiddy porn are thrown into jail because the type of people that would watch such a thing are likely to enact the terrible crime. What about the type of people that enjoy movies like this, let alone make them? You seriously need to have some sort of mental illness to enjoy any aspect of this movie or has descensitizing gone this far? Its not that its violent, People caught in posession of kiddy porn are thrown into jail because the type of people that would watch such a thing are likely to enact the terrible crime. What about the type of people that enjoy movies like this, let alone make them? You seriously need to have some sort of mental illness to enjoy any aspect of this movie or has descensitizing gone this far? Its not that its violent, gory, and sexually twisted. Its that its all that for the sake of being so. There is absolutely no redeeming quality to this terrible movie. Any remote idea in the picture amist all the chaos is a rip off of other much better films. Strongly consider your right to existance if you thought this was a good movie. Expand
  5. Riren
    Jan 27, 2007
    3
    Simply an awful, rambling exploitation movie that will serve as the next step up for a generation of horror fans who are so desensitized they can't appreciate anything older than Bruce Campbell one-liners. Mostly plotless, the scenes sprawl out and bask in screaming, torture and gore without so much as a flinch of character development for a twitch of sympathy. It is unafraid to Simply an awful, rambling exploitation movie that will serve as the next step up for a generation of horror fans who are so desensitized they can't appreciate anything older than Bruce Campbell one-liners. Mostly plotless, the scenes sprawl out and bask in screaming, torture and gore without so much as a flinch of character development for a twitch of sympathy. It is unafraid to offend, but stands up for nothing as it does so. At best, it's a feature-length whining scream. At worst, it's spineless gore. Expand
  6. BrandonB.
    Jul 23, 2005
    0
    This movie was a big disappointment i know rob zombie can do better. it was a waste of my time and money. i highly suggest not goin to see this sh*tty movie.
  7. MichaelS.
    Jul 23, 2005
    2
    Wow. i love horror movies and even terrible horror movies, but this movie is ridicuosly awful. just the absolutely mindbongly bad dialog alone would make this movie impossible to give anything above a 4 in my opinion. then take into account the horribly forced comedy, the fact that there is no plot, the terrible pacing of the film, the relatively low amount of gore, the fact that it addsWow. i love horror movies and even terrible horror movies, but this movie is ridicuosly awful. just the absolutely mindbongly bad dialog alone would make this movie impossible to give anything above a 4 in my opinion. then take into account the horribly forced comedy, the fact that there is no plot, the terrible pacing of the film, the relatively low amount of gore, the fact that it adds absolutly nothing new to the genre, some infuriating camera work, its abusrd use of some classic music, and its all around uselessness and you have something that is worse then student film. i give it a 2 points for its gritty realism and some interesting cinemtography and gore, but i would strongly advice not paying full price for this and seeing it on dvd if you have to. Expand
  8. Tania
    Jul 24, 2005
    0
    I really enjoyed the "fun house" spirit that "house of 1,000 corpses captured. I walked out 15 minutes into "The Devils Rejects" (as did about 20% of the audience). No one needs to see this film. It is offensive.
  9. ChristineM
    Jan 21, 2009
    1
    No wonder Stephen King liked this - Devil´s rejects is garbage. "Mass murderers and serial killers are sooo cool!" Juvenile, ugly trash.
  10. JohnS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    This is a film for idiots. Never before has one movie so astutely singled out the lowest common denominator from its demographic. It isn't funny, it isn't clever, its badly structured and the direction is indescribably hamfisted. A film this pointless and stupid will be forgotten soon enough, and deservedly so. I'm a huge, HUGE fan of both the horror genre, and its mid This is a film for idiots. Never before has one movie so astutely singled out the lowest common denominator from its demographic. It isn't funny, it isn't clever, its badly structured and the direction is indescribably hamfisted. A film this pointless and stupid will be forgotten soon enough, and deservedly so. I'm a huge, HUGE fan of both the horror genre, and its mid 1970's heyday. But, and this is very important, the films of that period were made by disillusioned intellectuals. not meatheaded, petulant antagonists who haven't got a clue about the artistry of the cinematic medium. Where is the subtext? Where are the genuine shocks? Where is the invention? This film is utterly, inarguably appalling. Anyone that doesn't agree, I'd wager, has problems when attempting to spell their own name. Expand
  11. QuincyN.
    Nov 29, 2005
    2
    Mrs. Zombie has no business in any movie, even this debacle of an action flick.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Evil isn't this boring.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    If you can stomach the violence -- and despite the R rating, that's a big if -- it's hard to deny that Zombie has made exactly the movie he set out to make, guaranteed to satiate his considerable fan base and sicken just about everyone else.
  3. 30
    By rubbing your nose in this hillbilly mayhem, Zombie all but dares you to acknowledge your liberal elitism, simply because just now, in Dubya's America, you don't happen to find anything particularly funny or lovable about stupid, dangerous provincials.