The Devil's Rejects

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 98
  2. Negative: 22 out of 98

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 1, 2015
    4
    It's really just not very good, and it kind of drags. The characters are mostly unenjoyable, especially Baby, the young female Devil's Reject. Does have some intense scenes and some funny parts as well, if you have the sense of humor for it. The only part I truly enjoyed was the soundtrack.
  2. groundfisher
    Oct 18, 2005
    4
    Saw this movie with my girlfriend, who was bored by it. Solid performances by all, excepting Sheri Moon, but one would expect solid performances since all the characters are one-dimensional. I thought that this was a poor movie of very little substance. The only people in the audience who seemed to enjoy it were teenage boys. This is light entertainment for fans of the genre. I'd Saw this movie with my girlfriend, who was bored by it. Solid performances by all, excepting Sheri Moon, but one would expect solid performances since all the characters are one-dimensional. I thought that this was a poor movie of very little substance. The only people in the audience who seemed to enjoy it were teenage boys. This is light entertainment for fans of the genre. I'd never watch it a second time. Expand
  3. AaronW.
    Aug 8, 2005
    6
    The Devil's Rejects made for a very interesting watch. Everything a cult-horror fan would expect, from unabashed sadism to raunchy sex to side-slapping one-liners is included. Most of the acting was convincing, with the exception of Sheri Moon. As others have said, many people won't be able to stomach this movie. This won't be for the actual violence pictured (although The Devil's Rejects made for a very interesting watch. Everything a cult-horror fan would expect, from unabashed sadism to raunchy sex to side-slapping one-liners is included. Most of the acting was convincing, with the exception of Sheri Moon. As others have said, many people won't be able to stomach this movie. This won't be for the actual violence pictured (although there is plenty), but the mentality of the movie itself. The audience is throroughly encouraged to feel for a troop of ghastly psycho-killers. That said, the movie was successful in many ways. As stated before, most of the acting was quite convincing. Sid Haig (Capt. Spaulding) was particularly good. As well, Zombie managed to capture the feel of a late 70s B movie quite well. Everything from the 16mm film to the period music just feels right. The violent scenes do their job - that of making the audience feel queasy - to a certain extent. Now for the not-so-good stuff. I came into this movie expecting a gut-wrenching, mind-disturbing cringefest. Although there was plenty of cruelty and sadism, I still got the feeling whilst watching the film that much of the more explicit scenes had been trimmed down. I heard a rumour that Zombie was forced to cut out a few of the more pervasive scenes in order to achieve an R rating. Sadly, this additional editing seems to reverberate throughout the movie. I came in expecting to see the most brutal, shocking peice of film I had ever witnessed, but left being somewhat unimpressed with the level of gore shown. Don't get me wrong, there is violence a'plenty, but I didn't see anything more visually shocking than some of the scenes in 'The Cell' or 'Saw', for example. Perhaps I shoudln't have expected so much - maybe Zombie intended for most of the horror to play on the fact that he so readily blurs the line between good and evil, that the heros are also the villans. Either way, I still felt somehting to be desired once the movie had ended. Overall, The Devil's Rejects proved to be a well made picture, but one that falls short of excellence thanks to a sprinkling of poor acting and a sense that it was still witholding something from moviegoers. I for one say bring on the Director's Cut! Expand
  4. RobertC.
    Jul 23, 2005
    4
    THE DEVIL
  5. Sep 1, 2010
    5
    Rob Zombie's follow-up to the House of 1000 Corpses.
    A lot more brutal than the first film & it seems they had a bigger budget as the gore is a lot better.
    Bill Moseley is superb, portraying the quite disturbingly sick Otis & Sheri Moon is a lot more convincing this time. A bit hit & miss overall but the soundtrack is very well used &, although the Freebird scene is a little cliche,
    Rob Zombie's follow-up to the House of 1000 Corpses.
    A lot more brutal than the first film & it seems they had a bigger budget as the gore is a lot better.
    Bill Moseley is superb, portraying the quite disturbingly sick Otis & Sheri Moon is a lot more convincing this time.
    A bit hit & miss overall but the soundtrack is very well used &, although the Freebird scene is a little cliche, thought it worked well.
    Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2013
    6
    No where near as good as the first film imo. Solid performances by the cast and it is interesting to watch. However, The ending completely sucked imo.
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    Although the storyline might be good, The Devils Rejects was not the worst movie I've ever seen, nor the best, it seems the movie never catches our attention, the movie haves its moments but it seems Rob Zombie has Gotten full of **** that he thinks the movie is great. The movie proves that the director has potential but seemed to lack on the story a little. I give this movie a 5/10Although the storyline might be good, The Devils Rejects was not the worst movie I've ever seen, nor the best, it seems the movie never catches our attention, the movie haves its moments but it seems Rob Zombie has Gotten full of **** that he thinks the movie is great. The movie proves that the director has potential but seemed to lack on the story a little. I give this movie a 5/10 because its worth watching but needs a lot more going on in the film. Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2013
    6
    The film has a good direction, is charismatic, is well developed, has good characters, and at times has a huge personality, but the biggest problem here is that it only excites at the last 20 minutes.
  9. WJS
    Oct 12, 2015
    5
    I'm hard pressed to call this a horror film. It's really more of a heavy drama with horrific scenes of sadistic violence. I'm not sure how movies like this became classified as "horror" films, other than they're horrific examples of less than terrific low budget film making. This one does have decent cinematography and a fairly cool soundtrack, but the narrative is confusing and all overI'm hard pressed to call this a horror film. It's really more of a heavy drama with horrific scenes of sadistic violence. I'm not sure how movies like this became classified as "horror" films, other than they're horrific examples of less than terrific low budget film making. This one does have decent cinematography and a fairly cool soundtrack, but the narrative is confusing and all over the place. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Evil isn't this boring.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    If you can stomach the violence -- and despite the R rating, that's a big if -- it's hard to deny that Zombie has made exactly the movie he set out to make, guaranteed to satiate his considerable fan base and sicken just about everyone else.
  3. 30
    By rubbing your nose in this hillbilly mayhem, Zombie all but dares you to acknowledge your liberal elitism, simply because just now, in Dubya's America, you don't happen to find anything particularly funny or lovable about stupid, dangerous provincials.